Drive a Clean Machine Program Update
Effective September 1, 2012, eligible vehicles are:
- Model year 2013-2010 cars, SUVs, and vans;
- Model year 2013-2011 pickup trucks; and
- Model year 2013-2010 hybrid, electric, natural gas and all vehicles that have been certified to meet federal Tier 2, Bin 3 or cleaner Bin certification vehicles.
The following model year vehicles will be removed from the eligibility lists and will no longer be eligible for purchase under the DACM program after August 31, 2012. All vehicles sold on or after September 1 must meet new eligibility criteria, regardless of the voucher's date of issue or expiration, or status of ongoing sales negotiations with the dealer.
After August 31, 2012, these vehicles are no longer eligible:
- Model year 2009 cars, SUVs, and vans;
- Model year 2010 trucks
Program Changes beginning September 1, 2011
Effective September 1, 2011, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality's AirCheckTexas Drive a Clean Machine program will implement new requirements resulting from the passage of House Bill 3272 during the 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011. The changes will affect the retired vehicle and replacement vehicle eligibility.
Effective September 1, 2011:
A vehicle to be retired must be registered and have been registered in a participating county for 12 of the past 15 months preceding application for assistance.
The vehicle you purchase must meet the following requirements:
- Must be a federal Tier 2 Bin 5 or cleaner vehicle (see the list: model year 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010);
- Have an odometer reading of not more than 70,000 miles;
- Cannot cost more than:
- $35,000 before tax, title and license, or
- $45,000 for a hybrid vehicle, electric vehicle, natural gas vehicle or a vehicle certified to meet or exceed federal Tier 2, Bin 3 or cleaner certification of current or up to three model years old; before tax, title and license; and
- Must be purchased through a participating dealer.