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Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Interoffice Memorandum

To: Commissioners Date: January 16, 2015
Thru: Bridget C. Bohac, Chief Clerk

Richard A. Hyde, P.E., Executive Director
From: Brent Wade, Deputy Director

Office of Waste

Docket No.: 2014-1080-RUL

Subject: Commission Approval for Rulemaking Adoption
Chapter 336, Radioactive Substance Rules
Maximum Disposal Rates - Amend §8336.1310
Rule Project No. 2014-031-336-WS

Background and reason(s) for the rulemaking:

Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), 8401.245, requires the commission by rule to adopt
and periodically revise party state compact waste disposal fees. On November 6, 2013, the
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commission) adopted the
maximum disposal rates by rule in 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §336.1310.

On June 19, 2014, Waste Control Specialists (WCS) submitted a volume adjustment
request to the commission to calculate the annual volume adjustment to the low-level
radioactive waste (LLRW) disposal rates charged at the Compact Waste Disposal Facility in
Andrews County, Texas. WCS' volume adjustment proposes to reduce the disposal rate for
Class A Low-Level Waste (LLW) - Shielded from $250 per cubic foot to $180 per cubic
foot. After a review of WCS' request, staff agrees that this change in rate is necessary in
order to reflect material changes to the volume of waste expected to be received at the
Compact Waste Disposal Facility. Accordingly, the executive director (ED) initiated a rate
revision to lower the maximum disposal rate for Class A LLW - Shielded to $180 per cubic
foot.

On July 18, 2014, the ED published notice of the proposed rate change in the Texas
Register. Additionally, on July 22, 2014, WCS mailed the notice to all known customers
that will ship or deliver waste to the Compact Waste Disposal Facility. The proposed rate
change was subject to a contested case hearing if a party state generator requested one.
TCEQ did not receive a request for a contested case hearing. Therefore, pursuant to
8336.1305(g), the ED approved the reduction in rate for the Class A LLW - Shielded as an
uncontested matter.

THSC, 8401.245 requires the commission to adopt the maximum disposal rates by rule.
Therefore, an expedited rulemaking is necessary in order for this rate change to become
effective and reflected in the rate schedule that was adopted by rule in §336.1310.

Scope of the rulemaking:
Amended §336.1310 would reduce the maximum disposal rate that a licensee may charge
generators for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded.
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A.) Summary of what the rulemaking will do:

Amended §336.1310 would reduce the maximum disposal rate that a licensee may charge
generators for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded from $250 per cubic foot to $180 per
cubic foot.

B.) Scope required by federal regulations or state statutes:

Federal regulations do not apply to this rulemaking. THSC, §8401.245 requires the
commission by rule to adopt and periodically revise party state compact waste disposal
fees.

C.) Additional staff recommendations that are not required by federal rule or
state statute:
None. This rulemaking is required in both Texas statute and TCEQ rules.

Statutory authority:
THSC, §401.245

Effect on the:

A.) Regulated community:

Both the licensee and generators of LLRW will be affected. The disposal rates serve as a
floor for rates charged by the licensee to nonparty generators and the ceiling for rates
charged to party state generators for disposal of LLRW.

B.) Public:
There is no direct impact to the public.

C.) Agency programs:
Rate fee schedule forms will need to be updated.

Stakeholder meetings:
There were no stakeholder meetings associated with this rulemaking; however, there was a
public hearing for this rulemaking on December 4, 2014, in Austin, Texas.

Public comment:

The commission received two written comments. One comment from Waste Control
Specialists stated its support of the new rule without changes. One comment from Energy
Solutions asked for the terms Class A LLW — Routine and Class A LLW — Shielded to be
defined in the rulemaking. The commission responds that additional definitions are not
necessary. The commission considers Class A LLW — Shielded to be defined as
Containerized Class A waste. Containerized Class A waste is defined in 30 TAC
8336.702(7) as “Class A low-level radioactive waste which presents a hazard because of
high radiation level. High radiation levels are radiation levels from an unshielded container
that could result in an individual receiving a dose equivalent in excess of 0.1 rem (1
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millisievert) in one hour at 30 centimeters from any surface of the container that the
radiation penetrates.” The commission considers Class A LLW — Routine to be all other
Class A waste which does not meet the above definition.

Significant changes from proposal:
There were no changes to this rule from proposal.

Potential controversial concerns and legislative interest:

The notice of the maximum disposal rate change that was published in the Texas Register
and mailed to all known customers that will ship or deliver waste to the Compact Waste
Disposal Facility included an opportunity to request a contested case hearing. The TCEQ
did not receive any requests for a hearing.

Does this rulemaking affect any current policies or require development of
new policies?
No.

What are the consequences if this rulemaking does not go forward? Are there
alternatives to rulemaking?

This rulemaking is required in both Texas statute and TCEQ rules. THSC, §401.245
requires the commission to adopt the maximum disposal rates by rule. If this rulemaking
does not go forward, the proposed rate change for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded will
not become effective or reflected in the rate schedule established by rule in §336.1310.
There are no other alternatives to this rulemaking that will satisfy the requirements set
forth in the law.

Key points in the adoption rulemaking schedule:
Texas Register proposal publication date: November 7, 2014
Anticipated Texas Register adoption publication: February 20, 2015
Anticipated effective date: February 26, 2015
Six-month Texas Register filing deadline: May 7, 2015

Agency contacts:

Bobby Janecka, Rule Project Manager, (512) 239-6415, Radioactive Materials Division
Ron Olson, Staff Attorney, (512) 239-0608

Kris Hogan, Texas Register Coordinator, (512) 239-6812

Attachments
None.

cc: Chief Clerk, 2 copies
Executive Director's Office
Marshall Coover
Pattie Burnett
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Stephen Tatum

Office of General Counsel
Bobby Janecka

Kris Hogan
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The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, agency, or commission) adopts
the amendment to §336.1310, without change to the proposed text as published in the

November 7, 2014, issue of the Texas Register (39 TexReg 8682); and therefore will not be

republished.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted Rule
Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), 8401.245, requires the commission by rule to adopt

and periodically revise party state compact waste disposal fees.

On June 19, 2014, Waste Control Specialists (WCS) submitted a volume adjustment
request to the commission to calculate the annual volume adjustment to the low-level
radioactive waste (LLRW) disposal rates charged at the Compact Waste Disposal Facility in
Andrews County, Texas. WCS' volume adjustment proposes to reduce the disposal rate for
Class A Low-Level Waste (LLW) - Shielded from $250 per cubic foot to $180 per cubic
foot. After a review of WCS' request, staff agrees that this change in rate is necessary in
order to reflect material changes to the volume of waste expected to be received at the
Compact Waste Disposal Facility. Accordingly, the executive director (ED) initiated a rate
revision to lower the maximum disposal rate for Class A LLW - Shielded to $180 per cubic

foot.

On July 18, 2014, the ED published notice of the proposed rate change in the Texas

Register (39 TexReg 5635). Additionally, on July 22, 2014, WCS mailed the notice to all
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known customers that will ship or deliver waste to the Compact Waste Disposal Facility.
The proposed rate change was subject to a contested case hearing if a party state generator
requested one. TCEQ did not receive a request for a contested case hearing. Therefore,

pursuant to 8336.1305(g), the ED approved the reduction in rate for the Class A LLW -

Shielded as an uncontested matter.

THSC, 8401.245 requires the commission to adopt the maximum disposal rates by rule.
Therefore, an expedited rulemaking is necessary in order for this rate change to become
effective and reflected in the rate schedule established in §336.1310. This rulemaking
would amend 8336.1310 by reducing the maximum disposal rate for Class A LLW -

Shielded.

Section Discussion

§336.1310, Rate Schedule

The commission adopts an amendment to §336.1310 that will reduce the maximum
disposal rate that a licensee may charge party-state generators for disposal of Class A LLW

- Shielded waste.

Final Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination
The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking in light of the regulatory analysis
requirements of Texas Government Code, §2001.0225, and determined that the

rulemaking is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does not meet
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the definition of a "major environmental rule” as defined in the Texas Administrative
Procedure Act. A "major environmental rule" is a rule that is specifically intended to
protect the environment or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure,

and that may adversely affect in a material way the economy, productivity, competition,

jobs, the environment, or the public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state.

This rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition of a "major environmental rule™
because it is not the specific intent of the rule amendment to protect the environment or
reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure. The specific intent of the
adopted rulemaking is to amend the LLRW maximum disposal rate that a licensee may

charge for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded waste.

Further, the rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition of a "major environmental
rule” because the adopted amendment will not adversely affect in a material way the
economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The cost of complying with the
adopted amendment is not expected to be significant with respect to the economy as a
whole or a sector of the economy; therefore, the adopted rulemaking will not adversely
affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition,

or jobs.

Furthermore, the adopted rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition of a "major
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environmental rule"” because it does not meet any of the four applicability requirements
listed in Texas Government Code, 82001.0225(a). This section only applies to a major
environmental rule, the result of which is to: (1) exceed a standard set by federal law,
unless the rule is specifically required by state law; (2) exceed an express requirement of
state law, unless the rule is specifically required by federal law; (3) exceed a requirement of
a delegation agreement or contract between the state and an agency or representative of
the federal government to implement a state and federal program; or (4) adopt a rule solely
under the general powers of the agency instead of under a specific state law. The adopted
rulemaking does not meet the four applicability requirements because the adopted
amendment: (1) does not exceed a standard set by federal law; (2) does not exceed an
express requirement of state law; (3) does not exceed a requirement of federal delegation
agreement or contract between the state and an agency or representative of the federal
government to implement a state and federal program as no such federal delegation
agreement exists with regard to the adopted rule; and (4) is not an adoption of a rule solely
under the general powers of the commission as the adopted amendment is required by

THSC, §401.245.

The commission invited public comment of the draft regulatory impact analysis
determination during the public comment period. The commission did not receive any

comment regarding the regulatory impact analysis determination.
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Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this adopted rulemaking and performed an assessment of
whether the adopted rulemaking constitutes a taking under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 2007. The commission adopted this rulemaking for the specific purpose of
amending the LLRW maximum disposal rate that a licensee may charge for disposal of
Class A LLW - Shielded waste. The adopted rulemaking amends §336.1310. The
commission’s analysis revealed that amending this rule section would achieve consistency
with THSC, 8401.245. Amended §336.1310 would reduce the maximum rate that a licensee

may charge a party state generator for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded waste.

A "taking" under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007 means a governmental action
that affects private real property in a manner that requires compensation to the owner
under the United States or Texas Constitution, or a governmental action that affects real
private property in a manner that restricts or limits the owner's right to the property and
reduces the market value of affected real property by at least 25%. Because no taking of
private real property would occur by amending the maximum disposal rate that a licensee
may charge a party state generator for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded waste, the
commission has determined that promulgation and enforcement of this adopted
rulemaking would be neither a statutory nor a constitutional taking of private real
property. Specifically, there are no burdens imposed on private real property under the
rule because the adopted rulemaking neither relates to, nor has any impact on, the use or

enjoyment of private real property, and there would be no reduction in real property value
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as a result of the rulemaking. Therefore, the adopted rulemaking would not constitute a

taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the adopted rule and found that it is neither identified in Coastal
Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will it affect any
action/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC
8505.11(a)(6). Therefore, the adopted rule is not subject to the Texas Coastal Management

Program (CMP).

The commission invited public comment regarding the consistency with the CMP during

the public comment period. No comments were received on the CMP.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on December 4, 2014, at 10:00 a.m. in Austin,
Texas, at the commission's central office located at 12100 Park 35 Circle. The comment
period closed on December 8, 2014. The commission received comments from WCS and

Energy Solutions during the comment period.

Response to Comments

A comment from WCS stated its support of the amended rule without changes.
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A comment from Energy Solutions asked for the terms Class A LLW - Routine and Class A
LLW - Shielded to be defined in the rulemaking. The commission responds that additional
definitions are not necessary. The commission considers Class A LLW - Shielded to be
defined as Containerized Class A waste. Containerized Class A waste is defined in
8336.702(7) as "Class A low-level radioactive waste which presents a hazard because of
high radiation level. High radiation levels are radiation levels from an unshielded container
that could result in an individual receiving a dose equivalent in excess of 0.1 rem (1
millisievert) in one hour at 30 centimeters from any surface of the container that the
radiation penetrates.” The commission considers Class A LLW - Routine to be all other

Class A waste which does not meet that definition.
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SUBCHAPTER N: FEES FOR LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE WASTE DISPOSAL

§336.1310

Statutory Authority

The amendment is adopted under the Texas Radiation Control Act, Texas Health and
Safety Code (THSC), 8401.011, which provides the commission authority to regulate and
license the disposal of radioactive substances; and THSC, §401.245, which requires the
commission, by rule, to adopt and periodically revise party state compact waste disposal
fees. The adopted amendment is also authorized by Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.103,
which provides the commission with the authority to adopt rules necessary to carry out its

powers and duties under the TWC and other laws of the state.

The adopted amendment implements THSC, §401.245.

8336.1310. Rate Schedule.

Fees charged for disposal of party-state compact waste must be equal to or less than
the compact waste disposal fees under this section. Additionally, fees charged for disposal
of nonparty compact waste must be greater than the compact waste disposal fees under
this section.

Figure: 30 TAC 8336.1310
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Disposal Rate for the Compact Waste Disposal Facility

1. Base Disposal Charge:

1A. Waste Volume Charge

Charge per cubic foot ($/t3)

Class A LLW - Routine $100

Class A LLW - Shielded $180 [$250]
Class B and C LLW $1,000
Sources $500
Biological Waste (Untreated) $350

1B. Radioactivity Charge

Curie Inventory Charge ($/mCi) $0.55
Maximum Curie Charge (per shipment) (excluding C-14) $220,000/shipment
Carbon-14 Inventory Charge ($/mCi) $1.00
Special Nuclear Material Charge ($/gram) $100

2. Surcharges to the Base Disposal Charge:

2A. Weight Surcharge - Weight (Ibs.) of Container

Surcharge ($/container)

10,000 to 50,000 Ibs

$10,000

Greater than 50,000 Ibs

$20,000

2B. Dose Rate Surcharge - Surface Dose Rate (R/hour) of

Surcharge per cubic foot

Container ($/1t3)
1-5 R/hour $100
Greater than 5 to 50 R/hour $200
Greater than 50 to 100 R/hour $300
Greater than 100 R/hour $400

2C. Irradiated Hardware Surcharge

Surcharge for special handling per shipment

$75,000/shipment

2D. Cask (Shielding Waste) Surcharge

Cask handling surcharge per cask

$2,500/cask
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TITLE 30. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

PART 1. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 336. RADIOACTIVE SUBSTANCE
RULES

SUBCHAPTER N. FEES FOR LOW-LEVEL
RADIOACTIVE WASTE DISPOSAL

30 TAC §336.1310

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) proposes an amendment to §336.1310.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed
Rule

Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §401.245, requires the
commission by rule to adopt and periodically revise party state
compact waste disposal fees.

On June 19, 2014, Waste Control Specialists (WCS) submit-
ted a volume adjustment request to the commission to calcu-
late the annual volume adjustment to the low-level radioactive
waste (LLRW) disposal rates charged at the Compact Waste Dis-
posal Facility in Andrews County, Texas. WCS' volume adjust-
ment proposes to reduce the disposal rate for Class A Low-Level
Waste (LLW) - Shielded from $250 per cubic foot to $180 per cu-
bic foot. After a review of WCS' request, staff agrees that this
change in rate is necessary in order to reflect material changes
to the volume of waste expected to be received at the Compact
Waste Disposal Facility. Accordingly, the executive director (ED)
initiated a rate revision to lower the maximum disposal rate for
Class A LLW - Shielded to $180 per cubic foot.

On July 18, 2014, the ED published notice of the proposed rate
change in the Texas Register (39 TexReg 5635). Additionally,
on July 22, 2014, WCS mailed the notice to all known customers
that will ship or deliver waste to the Compact Waste Disposal
Facility. The proposed rate change was subject to a contested
case hearing if a party state generator requested one. TCEQ did
not receive a request for a contested case hearing. Therefore,
pursuant to 30 TAC §336.1305(g), the ED approved the reduc-
tion in rate for the Class A LLW - Shielded as an uncontested
matter.

THSC, §401.245 requires the commission to adopt the maximum
disposal rates by rule. Therefore, an expedited rulemaking is
necessary in order for this rate change to become effective and
reflected in the rate schedule established in §336.1310. This
rulemaking would amend §336.1310 by reducing the maximum
disposal rate for Class A LLW - Shielded.

Section Discussion
§336.1310, Rate Schedule

The commission proposes to amend §336.1310 by reducing the
maximum disposal rate that a licensee may charge party-state
generators for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded waste.

Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government

Jeffrey Horvath, Analyst in the Chief Financial Officer Division,
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed

rule is in effect, fiscal implications are anticipated for the state
and Andrews County in the form of increased revenue collec-
tions. The anticipated increase in revenue will be deposited into
the General Revenue Fund and will also be distributed to An-
drews County as required by statute.

The State of Texas and the State of Vermont entered into the
Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact agreement in
2004 subsequent to the departure of the state of Maine from the
compact. A private company, WCS located in Andrews County
is currently licensed to operate the LLRW disposal facility. The
commission by rule sets the maximum disposal rates that the li-
censee can assess to waste generators in the compact. Dur-
ing the 82nd Texas Legislative Session, 2011, the facility re-
ceived authorization to accept non-compact waste (waste gen-
erated outside of Texas or Vermont). The maximum rates set
by the commission also serve as the minimum rates that can be
charged to non-compact generators who dispose of LLW at the
site.

The proposal would amend Chapter §336.1310, and would re-
duce the maximum disposal rate that the licensee may charge
generators for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded from $250 per
cubic foot to $180 per cubic foot.

The reduction in the rate is necessary in order to reflect material
changes to the volume of waste expected to be received at the
compact waste disposal facility. The volume received in 2013
was less than the estimated amount in the licensee's rate ap-
plication and the TCEQ rate schedules. In order to bring the
revenue in line with the revenue target that formed the basis of
the adopted rate, the "waste volume charge" for shielded Class
A waste would be reduced. A reduction of that rate will increase
volume of shielded Class A waste from out-of-compact genera-
tors while still leaving more than adequate capacity for in-com-
pact generators. As a result of the rate reduction, the facilities
operator projects an additional 12,000 cubic feet of Class A LLW
- Shielded waste from non-compact generators to be disposed of
at the site. This potential additional waste would not be disposed
of at the Andrews facility if the rates were not reduced. The pro-
posed rates will only apply to new contracts entered into by the
facility. The facility's previously agreed upon LLW disposal con-
tracts rates will remain in place and not be impacted by the rule
proposal.

Utilizing the proposed minimum of $180 per cubic foot and ap-
plying it to the facilities projected additional 12,000 cubic feet
of Class A LLW - Shielded, from non-compact generators the
agency projects an additional $540,000 will be generated for
the state in additional revenue over the next five years. The
agency projects that $432,000 will be generated from the 20%
surcharge on non-compact waste receipts and $108,000 will be
generated from the 5% fee assessed on the gross receipts of
all waste disposed of in the Compact Waste Facility as a result
of this rule change. The additional revenue will come from the
compact facility operator and be deposited to the credit of the
General Revenue Fund. The operator will pass along the cost to
the non-compact generators who they establish disposal agree-
ments with.

Andrews County, which is the host county for the facility, will col-
lect an estimated $108,000 from the 5% fee that is assessed
on gross receipts of all waste disposed. Governmental enti-
ties located in the compact states that generate Class A LLW
- Shielded waste could see a decrease in contracted per cu-
bic foot level as a result of the proposed rule. In Fiscal Year
(FY) 2014, the facility received approximately 4,200 cubic feet
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of Class A LLW - Shielded waste from compact generators. The
TCEQ estimates that 10% of the volume of all waste disposed
at the compact facility will come from academic, medical, and
non-power generation sources. Many of these sources are clas-
sified as governmental entities.

Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Horvath has also determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed rule is in effect, there is no direct pub-
lic benefit anticipated from the changes seen in the proposed
rule other than an increase in General Revenue Funding and an
increase in funding for public projects for Andrews County. The
lower rate may help to ensure that Class A LLW - Shielded waste
is being properly disposed of at the compact facility and not re-
maining on the premises of generators.

Fiscal implications are anticipated for businesses that generate
Class A LLW - Shielded waste and the operator of the compact
facility. No direct fiscal implications are anticipated for individu-
als.

The owner or operator of a private facility located in the compact
states that generate Class A LLW - Shielded waste could see
a decrease in the contracted per cubic foot rate as a result of
the proposed rule. Generators that are not located in the com-
pact states will likely see a decrease in contracted per cubic foot
level as a result of the proposed rule. The proposed rates will
only apply to new contracts entered into by the facility. The fa-
cilities previously agreed upon LLW disposal contracts rates will
remain in place and not be impacted by the rule proposal. The
additional fee of 20% and 5% surcharge revenue are deposited
to the General Revenue Fund.

In FY 2014 the facility received approximately 9,000 cubic feet
of Class A LLW - Shielded waste. Of the total approximated
volume, 4,200 cubic feet came from compact generators and
4,800 cubic feet were from non-compact generators. The TCEQ
estimates that 90% of the volume of all waste disposed at the
compact facility will come from nuclear utilities generators. As
a result of the reduction, the facility's operator projects an addi-
tional 12,000 cubic feet of Class A LLW - Shielded waste from
non-compact generators will be disposed of at the site. The pro-
posed rates will only apply to new contracts entered into by the
facility. The facility's previously agreed upon LLW disposal con-
tracts rates will remain in place and not be impacted by the rule
proposal.

Utilizing the proposed minimum of $180 per cubic foot and ap-
plying it to the facility's projected additional 12,000 cubic foot of
Class A LLW - Shielded waste, from non-compact generators,
the agency projects an additional $2.1 million will be generated
in additional revenue over the next five years, by the compact
facility operator as result of this rule change. The operator will
pass the additional cost along to the non-compact generators
who they establish disposal contracts with. The proposed rates
will only apply to new contracts entered into by the facility. The
facility's previously agreed upon LLW disposal contracts rates
will remain in place and not be impacted by the rule proposal.

Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment

No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or micro-
businesses as a result of the proposed rule. The proposed rule
would have the same effect on a small business as it does on a
large business. The amount of any savings for disposal of Class
A LLW - Shielded waste would depend on the rate set by the
licensee.

Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a small business regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required because the proposed rule is a component of the state's
plan to protect the environment and reduce risks to human health
from environmental exposure to air pollutants; and the proposed
rule does not adversely affect a small or micro-business in a ma-
terial way for the first five years that the proposed rule is in effect.

Local Employment Impact Statement

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a local employment impact statement is not re-
quired because the proposed rule does not adversely affect a
local economy in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rule is in effect.

Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the proposed rulemaking in light of the
regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225, and determined that the rulemaking is not subject
to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does not
meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as defined
in the Texas Administrative Procedure Act. A "major environ-
mental rule" is a rule that is specifically intended to protect the
environment or reduce risks to human health from environmen-
tal exposure, and that may adversely affect in a material way the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state.

This rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition of a "major
environmental rule" because it is not the specific intent of the rule
amendment to protect the environment or reduce risks to human
health from environmental exposure. The specific intent of the
proposed rulemaking is to amend the LLRW maximum disposal
rate that a licensee may charge for disposal of Class A LLW -
Shielded waste.

Further, the rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition
of a "major environmental rule" because the proposed rule will
not adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of
the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The
cost of complying with the proposed amendment is not expected
to be significant with respect to the economy as a whole or a
sector of the economy; therefore, the proposed rulemaking will
not adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of
the economy, productivity, competition, or jobs.

Furthermore, the proposed rulemaking does not meet the statu-
tory definition of a "major environmental rule" because it does
not meet any of the four applicability requirements listed in Texas
Government Code, §2001.0225(a). This section only applies to
a major environmental rule, the result of which is to: (1) exceed
a standard set by federal law, unless the rule is specifically re-
quired by state law; (2) exceed an express requirement of state
law, unless the rule is specifically required by federal law; (3)
exceed a requirement of a delegation agreement or contract be-
tween the state and an agency or representative of the federal
government to implement a state and federal program; or (4)
adopt a rule solely under the general powers of the agency in-
stead of under a specific state law. The proposed rulemaking
does not meet the four applicability requirements because the
proposed amendment: (1) does not exceed a standard set by
federal law; (2) does not exceed an express requirement of state
law; (3) does not exceed a requirement of federal delegation

PROPOSED RULES November 7, 2014 39 TexReg 8683



agreement or contract between the state and an agency or rep-
resentative of the federal government to implement a state and
federal program as no such federal delegation agreement exists
with regard to the proposed rule; and (4) is not an adoption of a
rule solely under the general powers of the commission as the
proposed amendment is required by THSC, §401.245.

The commission invites public comment of the draft regulatory
impact analysis determination. Written comments may be sub-
mitted to the contact person at the address listed under the Sub-
mittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this proposed rulemaking and per-
formed an assessment of whether the proposed rulemaking
constitutes a taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter
2007. The commission proposed this rulemaking for the specific
purpose of amending the LLRW maximum disposal rate that a
licensee may charge for disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded
waste. The proposed rulemaking amends §336.1310. The
commission's analysis revealed that amending this rule section
would achieve consistency with THSC, §401.245. Amended
§336.1310 would reduce the maximum rate that a licensee may
charge a party state generator for disposal of Class A LLW -
Shielded waste.

A "taking" under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007 means
a governmental action that affects private real property in a man-
ner that requires compensation to the owner under the United
States or Texas Constitution, or a governmental action that af-
fects real private property in a manner that restricts or limits the
owner's right to the property and reduces the market value of
affected real property by at least 25%. Because no taking of pri-
vate real property would occur by amending the maximum dis-
posal rate that a licensee may charge a party state generator for
disposal of Class A LLW - Shielded waste, the commission has
determined that promulgation and enforcement of this proposed
rulemaking would be neither a statutory nor a constitutional tak-
ing of private real property. Specifically, there are no burdens
imposed on private real property under the rule because the pro-
posed rulemaking neither relates to, nor has any impact on, the
use or enjoyment of private real property, and there would be
no reduction in real property value as a result of the rulemaking.
Therefore, the proposed rulemaking would not constitute a tak-
ing under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the proposed rule and found that it
is neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation
Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will it affect any ac-
tion/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Imple-
mentation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(a)(6). Therefore, the pro-
posed rule is not subject to the Texas Coastal Management Pro-
gram.

Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Announcement of Hearing

The commission will hold a public hearing on this proposal on
December 4, 2014, at 10:00 a.m. in Austin, Texas, at the com-
mission's central office located at 12100 Park 35 Circle. The
hearing is structured for the receipt of oral or written comments

by interested persons. Individuals may present oral statements
when called upon in order of registration. Open discussion will
not be permitted during the hearing; however, commission staff
members will be available to discuss the proposal 30 minutes
prior to the hearing.

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should contact
Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services, at (512) 239-1802. Re-
quests should be made as far in advance as possible.

Submittal of Comments

Written comments may be submitted to Kris Hogan, MC 205,
Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087 or faxed
to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be submitted
at:  http://wwwhb.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments/.  File size
restrictions may apply to comments being submitted via the
eComments system. All comments should reference Rule
Project Number 2014-031-336-WS. The comment period
closes on December 8, 2014. Copies of the proposed rule-
making can be obtained from the commission's Web site at
http://www.tceq.texas.gov/nav/rules/propose_adopt.html.  For
further information, please contact Bobby Janecka, Radioactive
Materials Division, (512) 239-6415 or Ron Olson, Environmental
Law Division, (512) 239-0608.

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Texas Radiation Con-
trol Act, Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), Chapter 401,
§401.011, which provides the commission authority to regulate
and license the disposal of radioactive substances; and THSC,
§401.245, which requires the commission, by rule, to adopt and
periodically revise party state compact waste disposal fees. The
proposed amendment is also authorized by Texas Water Code
(TWC), §5.103, which provides the commission with the author-
ity to adopt rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties
under the TWC, and other laws of the state.

The proposed amendment implements THSC, §401.245.
$336.1310. Rate Schedule.

Fees charged for disposal of party-state compact waste must be equal
to or less than the compact waste disposal fees under this section. Ad-
ditionally, fees charged for disposal of nonparty compact waste must
be greater than the compact waste disposal fees under this section.
Figure: 30 TAC §336.1310

[Figure: 30 TAC §336.1310]

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 24,
2014.

TRD-201404983

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Earliest possible date of adoption: December 7, 2014
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢
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Figure: 30 TAC §336.1310

Disposal Rate for the Compact Waste Disposal Facility

1. Base Disposal Charge:

1A. Waste Volume Charge Charge per cubic foot ($/1t3)
Class A LLW - Routine $100

Class A LLW - Shielded $180

Class B and C LLW $1,000
Sources $500
Biological Waste (Untreated) $350

1B. Radioactivity Charge

Curie Inventory Charge ($/mCi) $0.55
Maximum Curie Charge (per shipment) (excluding C-14) $220,000/shipment
Carbon-14 Inventory Charge ($/mCi) $1.00
Special Nuclear Material Charge ($/gram) $100

2. Surcharges to the Base Disposal Charge:

2A. Weight Surcharge - Weight (Ibs.) of Container

Surcharge ($/container)

10,000 to 50,000 Ibs

$10,000

Greater than 50,000 Ibs

$20,000

2B. Dose Rate Surcharge - Surface Dose Rate (R/hour) of Container

Surcharge per cubic foot ($/t3)

1-5 R/hour $100
Greater than 5 to 50 R/hour $200
Greater than 50 to 100 R/hour $300
Greater than 100 R/hour $400

2C. Irradiated Hardware Surcharge

Surcharge for special handling per shipment

$75,000/shipment

2D. Cask (Shielding Waste) Surcharge

Cask handling surcharge per cask

$2,500/cask
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Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULE
Docket No. 2014-1080-RU
Rule Project No. 2014-031£336-WS

On February 4, 2015, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
(Commission) adopted amended 8§ 336.1310 030 TAC Chapter 336, concerning
Radioactive Substance Rules. The proposed«ule was published for comment.in the
November 7, 2014, issue of the Texas Register (39 TexReg 8682).

IT ISTHEREFORE ORDERED BY THE COMMISSION that the amended rule is
hereby adopted. The Commission further.authorizes staff to make any non-substantive
revisions to the rule necessary to comply withyTexas Register requirements. The
adopted rule and the preamble to the adopted ruleare incorpoerated by reference in this
Order as if set forth at length verbatim in this Order.

This Order constitutes the Order of the Commission required by the
Administrative Procedure Act, Government Code, § 2001.033.

If any portion of this Order Is forany reason held to be invalid by a court of

competentjurisdiction, the'invalidity of any portion shall not affect the validity of the
remaining portions:

Issued date:

TEXAS COMMISSION ON
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Bryan W. Shaw, Ph.D., P.E., Chairman
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