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January 14, 2013 

 

Ms. Charlotte Horn 

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 

Office of Legal Services 

MC-205 

P.O. Box 13087 

Austin, Texas 78711-3087 

 

RE: Rule Project No. 2009-009-101-AI 

 Proposed Rule; Severe Ozone Nonattainment Area Failure to Attain Fee  

 

Dear Ms. Horn: 

 

On behalf of the Texas Chemical Council (TCC) and the Texas Oil & Gas Association 

(TxOGA), thank you for the opportunity to submit comments on the proposed rule by the Texas 

Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), Severe Ozone Nonattainment Area Failure to 

Attain Fee.  37 Tex. Reg. 9468 (Nov. 30, 2012).  

 

TCC is a statewide trade association representing over 70 chemical manufacturers with more 

than 200 Texas facilities.  The Texas chemical industry has invested more than $50 billion in 

physical assets in the state and pays over $1 billion annually in state and local taxes.  TCC’s 

members provide approximately 70,000 direct jobs and over 400,000 indirect jobs to Texans 

across the state.  TCC member companies manufacture products that improve the quality of life 

for all Americans.   

 

TxOGA, the largest and oldest petroleum organization in Texas, represents more than 5,000 

members of the oil and gas industry.  The membership of TxOGA produces in excess of 90 

percent of Texas’ crude oil and natural gas, operates 100 percent of the state’s refining capacity, 

and is responsible for the vast majority of the state’s pipelines.  According to the most recent 

data, the oil and gas industry employs 352,000 Texans, providing payroll and benefits of over 

$41 billion in Texas alone.  In addition, large associated capital investments by the oil and gas 

industry generate significant secondary economic benefits for Texas. 

 

At the outset, TCC and TxOGA compliment the agency on the thoroughness and thoughtfulness 

of the proposed rule.  It is very evident that a tremendous of work went into drafting the proposal 

and creating a rule that fairly balances the obligation of sources to pay any fees levied under 

federal Clean Air Act § 185.  As TCEQ well knows, point sources contribute minimally to the 

ozone problem in the Houston-Galveston-Brazoria (HGB) nonattainment area.  However, under 

the federal Section 185 fee rule, point sources bear the sole burden of paying the fee for the HGB 
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area’s inability to attain the federal 1-hour ozone standard by the attainment deadline, despite the 

fact that point sources only represent approximately 15% of the overall volatile organic 

compound (VOC) emissions and 31% of the overall nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions in the 

region.  In stark contrast, area and mobile sources represent approximately 42% of the VOC 

emissions and 68% of the NOx emissions in the area (TCEQ Adopted SIP Revision, March 3, 

2010, Chapter 3, Table 3-13).  Additionally, the impacted point sources have collectively 

invested billions of dollars in the HGB area in the last 12 years to lower emissions and achieve 

dramatic air quality improvements in the air shed.  TCC and TxOGA recognize and appreciate 

that TCEQ’s proposed rule creatively addresses the disparity of emissions between mobile and 

point sources, and we support the proposed rule with the following additional specific comments. 

 

 Proposed §101.102: TCC and TxOGA support the creation of the Equivalent Alternative 

Fee Account, which will reflect equivalency credits based on revenue collected for the 

Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) program and the Vehicle Inspection and 

Maintenance (I/M) program.  This concept also appears to be consistent with the Section 

185 Fee Rule that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) recently approved 

for California’s South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) last month.  

77 Fed. Reg. 74,372 (Dec. 14, 2012).  A key component of SCAQMD’s rule is the 

establishment of an account to be funded by mobile source emission 

reduction/infrastructure improvement programs that meet certain eligibility criteria. 

 

 Proposed §101.104(c)(3): we support the proposal to prorate any amount due among the 

stationary sources obligated to pay the fee, in the event the Fee Equivalency Account 

balance is calculated to be less than zero. 

 

 Proposed §101.106(a)(2): TCC and TxOGA support the proposal that authorized 

maintenance, startup and shutdown (MSS) emissions should be used in calculating the 

total emissions allowed as an option to compute the baseline amount. 

 

 Proposed §101.106(b)(2): TCC and TxOGA support the approach that baseline emissions 

can be calculated using any 24-consecutive month period within the past 10 years (the 

“highest 2 in 10” emissions formula). This concept is supported by EPA’s own 

memorandum, “Guidance on Establishing Emissions Baselines under Section 185 of the 

Clean Air Act (CAA) for Severe and Extreme Ozone Nonattainment Areas that Fail to 

Attain the 1-Hour Ozone NAAQS by their Attainment Date,” William T. Harnett, 

Director, Air Quality Division, March 21, 2008.   

 

 Proposed §101.107(a): we strongly support TCEQ’s proposal to allow aggregation of not 

only NOx and VOC emissions, but also of multiple sites.  Further, the proposed provision 

to allow both types of aggregation simultaneously is also a key to maximum flexibility 

that TCC and TxOGA support. 

 

 Proposed §101.107(b)(1): TCC and TxOGA recommend striking the phrase “the same 

time period” under pollution aggregation section.  For those companies that are 

aggregating multiple sites, the inclusion of this phrase does not make sense as it is 
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unlikely that a company will choose to use the same 24-consecutive month period for all 

of its sites that it chooses to aggregate. 

 

 Proposed §101.109(b): TCC and TxOGA recommend that TCEQ lengthen the deadline 

from 90 calendar days to 180 calendar days for the submission of data required when a 

site changes ownership or control of emission units. 

 

 Proposed §101.110: TCC and TxOGA believe that the proposed rule should allow an 

exclusion for new emissions units as new units installed in the HGB nonattainment area 

after the attainment date undergo a rigorous Best Available Control Technology (BACT) 

or Lowest Achievable Emission Rate (LAER) analysis process, a thorough impacts 

analysis and already have state-of-the-art controls.  Furthermore, a new source obtaining 

a nonattainment New Source Review (NNSR) permit is required to offset its VOC and/or 

NOx emissions at a ratio of 1.3 to 1.  That 0.3 portion is retired, theoretically improving 

the air quality of the area.  That retired 0.3 portion exceeds the amount of emissions 

(20%) that the fee would be based on, so in essence, new sources have already paid their 

fee via the 0.3 offset.   

 

In the alternative, should TCEQ opt to include new sources in the rule, TCC and TxOGA 

request that TCEQ consider that many new sources are not fully and/or consistently 

operational within the first year, and establishing a baseline that first year would create a 

disadvantage to that source.  We propose one of the following approaches to address this 

potential problem for new sources: 1) the rule should require that the baseline represent a 

full year of data associated with only normal operations, or 2) the rule should allow the 

source to establish a baseline after the first two full years of actual operations and 

compare the permit limits (rather than actuals) in those first two years (similar to how 

new sources are handled in NSR permitting). 

 

Finally, under proposed §101.110, subsection (c) poses a concern for TCC and TxOGA 

members.  In the case where a site is utilizing a piece of equipment more often than in the 

past as part of a new project, this condition would not allow that site to take advantage of 

any permitting efforts associated with that additional utilization of the existing 

equipment.  One example is a flare or a heater that has unused capacity and a project’s 

ability to utilize that capacity as part of the new project, even if that project (with the 

additional utilization of existing sources) is being permitted under a NNSR permit.  It 

appears that under the proposed rule, the site would be penalized in the fee calculation for 

utilizing that extra capacity as part of a project.  TCC and TxOGA request clarification on 

this provision and our interpretation of it.   

 

 Proposed §101.116(b): TCC and TxOGA strongly support the proposal that the first 

payment of any fee levied is due and is calculated using the actual emissions from the 

emissions inventory for the calendar year preceding the adoption of the rule.  As EPA 

recently recognized in its final rule determining that Baltimore is now in attainment with 

the 1-hour ozone standard, the retroactive collection of fees dating back to the HGB 

region’s failure to attain date (2007) “would likely impose large costs on the states,… 

even though they were not on notice at the time.”  77 Fed. Reg. 34,810, 34, 815 (June 12, 
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2012).  Even EPA agreed in the Baltimore notice that “giving retroactive effect to EPA’s 

determination of failure to attain the standard… would be unreasonable, and…would 

only make the situation worse.”  Id. at 34,816. 

 

 Proposed §101.118(b): TCC and TxOGA also strongly support the ability of the 

Executive Director to place the fee collection in abeyance in the event that an attainment   

demonstration with the 1-hour ozone standard is submitted to EPA for approval.  In the 

Baltimore notice, EPA stated that, “EPA’s determination that the area has been attaining 

the 1-hour ozone standard since 2008, and continues to attain the standard, provides 

independent and sufficient grounds for concluding that the 1-hour contingency measure 

anti-backsliding requirement is satisfied.  No additional reductions from contingency 

measures – or any other measures – are needed to bring about attainment of the 1-hour 

ozone standard or reasonable progress toward that attainment, which has already been 

achieved.”  Id. at 34,816.  Accordingly, it follows that EPA should approve a rule which 

allows the Executive Director to place the fees in abeyance once an attainment 

demonstration has been sent to EPA for approval since the fee will no longer apply from 

the attainment date. 

 

Thank you for your consideration of these comments.  If you have any questions, please do not 

hesitate to contact TCC or TxOGA representatives at the contact information listed below. 

 

Yours respectfully, 

 

       

       
 

Christina T. Wisdom    Mari Ruckel 

Vice President & General Counsel  Vice-President  

Texas Chemical Council   Government & Regulatory Affairs 

wisdom@txchemcouncil.org   Texas Oil & Gas Association 

(512) 646-6403    mruckel@txoga.org 

      (512) 478-6631 
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