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Devon Ryan (MC 205)

Office of Legal Services

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 13087

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

Dear Mr. Ryan:

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on proposed revisions to the State
Implementation Plan addressing Clean Air Act section 185 (Failure to Attain Fee, Rule Project
Number 2009-009-101-EN). Our comments are enclosed.

Also enclosed are two relevant EPA guidance documents:

. January 5, 2010 Guidance on Developing Fee Programs Required by Clean Air Act
Section 185 for the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS, and

. March 21, 2008 Guidance on Establishing Emissions Baselines under Section 185 of the
Clean Air Act (CAA) for Severe and Extreme Ozone Nonattainment Areas that Fail to
Attain the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS by their Attainment [Date].

The January 5, 2010 guidance provides that a fee program for failure to attain the 1-hour
ozone standard would no longer be required if EPA determines through rulemaking that the area
is attaining the 1-hour standard or the 1997 8-hour ozone standard, based on permanent and
enforceable emissions reductions. If Texas is interested in pursuing such a determination we ask
Texas provide a request including documentation that the improvements in air quality are due to
permanent and enforceable reductions.

We look forward to continuing our work with your agency to meet the requirements of
the Clean Air Act and reduce ozone levels in Texas. If you have any questions, please contact

me or Carl Young of my staff at 214-665-6645.

Sincerely yours,

Guy R. Donaldson
Chief
Air Planning Section

cc: Kathy Pendleton (TCEQ)

Enclosures
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Enclosure 1

EPA Comments on Texas Proposed Failure to Attain (Section 185) Rule Language (Rule Project
Number 2009-009-101-EN)

General Comments

We believe that the Clean Air Act (CAA) section 185 State Implementation Plan (SIP) obligation
for the revoked 1-hour ozone standard can be met through a SIP revision containing either the
CAA section 185 fee program, or an equivalent alternative program. See also our January 5,
2010 guidance, stating that the obligation ceases if EPA determines, through notice and comment
rulemaking, that the area has attained the 1-hour ozone standard based on permanent and
enforceable emissions reductions (pages 3-4). If the State decides to adopt an alternative
program to the section 185 fee program, it must demonstrate that the alternative program is no
less stringent than the otherwise applicable section 185 fee program. The state’s demonstration

~ should consist of comparing expected fees and/or emissions reductions directly attributable to
application of section 185 to the expected fees and/or emissions reductions from the alternative
program.

An equivalent alternative program may be acceptable if it is consistent with the principles of
CAA section 172(e). Section 172(e) allows EPA through rulemaking to accept alternative
programs that are “not less stringent” where EPA has revised a national primary ambient air
quality standard to make it less stringent. We note that section 172(e) does not directly apply to
the transition from the 1-hour ozone standard to the 1997 8-hour ozone standard because that
provision applies only where the revised standard is less stringent than the standard it replaces.
However, because the CAA does not directly address anti-backsliding where there is a new more
stringent standard, EPA determined to apply the principles of section 172(e) for purposes of
addressing anti-backsliding for the transition from the 1-hour standard to the 1997 8-hour
standard.

It is important to note that the discretion to establish an equivalent alternative program does not
apply to a section 185 fee program obligation arising from failure to attain the 1997 8-hour ozone
standard because that standard has not been revoked.

director or the commissioners would have to be submitted as a SIP revision and approved by
EPA.

101.102. New Source Exemption

Clean Air Act Section 185 does not allow exemptions for new major stationary sources. Rather,
it requires that “each major stationary source” must pay the fee and that the baseline emissions
are those from the major source in the attainment year (Clean Air Act section 185(a)). The word
“each” does not lend itself to an interpretation that would exclude new major stationary sources.
As discussed in our January 5, 2010 guidance, the State may be able to craft an alternative
‘program for the 1-hour ozone standard that exempts or reduces the fee obligation for new




sources, and assigns the required fees to other less well-controlled sources as an incentive for
those sources to further reduce emissions of ozone-forming pollutants.

101.103. Baseline Amount Calculation

It is our understanding that Texas intends to correct a drafting error on computing the baseline
amount. Correction of this error would allow use of an alternative calculation method for
sources whose annual emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly from year
to year.

The proposed rules do not contain all of the elements necessary to be consistent with CAA 185
and EPA guidance for sources whose annual emissions are irregular, cyclical or otherwise vary
significantly from year to year (March 21, 2008 memorandum from William T. Harnett,
Director, Air Quality Policy Division to Regional Air Division Directors). As discussed in the
March 21, 2008 guidance, an acceptable alternative method that could be used for such sources
would be the method for calculating “baseline actual emissions” found in EPA’s regulations for
Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality (PSD) (40 CFR 52.21(b)(48)). We
recommend that use of the alternative method include the EPA requirements found in the PSD
regulations and discussed in the guidance. Among the elements not included in the Texas rule
are:

. using adequate data for calculating emissions,
. adjusting emissions downward where appropriate, and
. taking into account use of different fuel types.

Additionally, total emissions allowed under authorizations (101.103(a)(2)) should also consider
the number of allowances held under the Cap and Trade Programs for mass emissions (MECT)
or highly reactive VOC emissions.

101.105. Multiple Site Aggregation Baseline Amount

EPA anticipates that we would be able to approve a section 185 fee program that relies on a
definition of major source that is consistent with the CAA as interpreted by our existing
regulations and policy. It seems that the TCEQ proposed rules would allow broader aggregation
of sources for the purpose of 185 fees then would be allowed in other circumstances. Please

explain how the aggregation would be consistent with EPA policies and regulations for
aggregation of sources. Any criteria for the Executive Director’s approval must be spelled out in
the rule or each aggregation decision must be provided as a SIP revision.

101.107. Baseline Amount for Sources in Operation as a Minor Source on Attainment Date

We recommend that a major source in operation as a minor source on the attainment date be
treated as any other major source for the baseline amount calculation (section 101.103) if the
source: : -

. submitted an emissions inventory for the attainment year, or

. has actual emissions data for the attainment year.



101.112,101.114 and 101.115. Failure to Attain Fee Obligations

Since section 185 fees are assessed on a calendar year basis, and the inflation factor is applied in
September, we recommend that the calendar year fee be determined by using a weighted average
of the inflation adjustment. That is, 8/12 of the fee would be associated with the Consumer Price
Index adjustment for January to August, and 4/12 of the fee associated with the adjustment for
September to December. This adjustment is further discussed in our January 5, 2010
memorandum on developing section 185 fee programs (Attachment B, Inflation Adjustment for
Section 185 Fees).

101.118. Cessation of Program

As the CAA states that the fees continue until the affected area is redesignated to attainment for
the ozone standard, cessation of fees is dependent on EPA action. Because we atre no longer
redesignating areas to attainment for the 1-hour standard under the authority of CAA section
107(d)(3), we intend to.take other action through rulemaking to stop the fee obligation. We
recommend that options (2) and (3) under sections 101.118 be removed and an option added
stating that the fees will continue until rulemaking by EPA to stop the fee obligation. We
consider that the CAA 185 anti-backsliding requirement for the 1-hour ozone standard will be
fulfilled if we determine through rulemaking that the area is attaining the 1-hour standard or the
1997 8-hour ozone standard, based on permanent and enforceable emissions reductions.

101.120. Eligibility for Equivalent Alternative Obligation

As noted earlier, the discretion to establish an equivalent alternative program does not apply to a
section 185 fee program obligation arising from failure to attain the 1997 8-hour ozone standard
because that standard has not been revoked.

101.121. Equivalent Alternative Obligation

Please explain how the use of the emission reduction credits or emission allowances would be
equivalent to expected fees and/or emissions reductions directly attributable to a section 185 fee
program. In your explanation please address any temporal issues associated with emission
reduction-credits-(ERCs)-or-discrete-emission-reduction-credits-(DERCs). oo

101.122. Using Supplemental Environmental Project to Fulfill an Equivalent Alternative
Obligation '

While we support Supplemental Environmental Projects (SEPs) to fulfill an equivalent
alternative obligation, it is not clear that a replicable procedure is being proposed for using SEPs.
In particular it is not clear how emissions reductions would be quantified and enforced.
Additionally, it is not clear that SEPs are limited to NOx and VOC reductions. (The language is
different from that in section 101.121). If a replicable procedure is not established in the rule,
these SEPs would have to be submitted as SIP revisions.
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MEMORANDUM

SUBJECT: Guidance on Developing Fee Programs Required by Clean Air Act Section 185
for the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS

FROM: Stephen D. Page, Director 5‘
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standard

TO: Regional Air Division Directors, Regions I-X

Section 185 of the Clean Air Act (CAA) requires states with ozone nonattainment areas
classified as Severe or Extreme to develop, as a revision to their state implementation plan (SIP),
. afee collection rule to be implemented in the event that an area fails to attain the ozone standards
by the required attainment date." This memorandum provides additional guidance on fee
collection programs for the 1-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard NAAQS or
standard), which are required as anti-backsliding measures during transition to the 1997 8-hour
ozone standard.

Applicability of Section 185 to Ozone NAAQS Nonattainment Areas

~ The section 185 fee program requirement applies to any ozone nonattainment area that is
classified as Severe or Extreme under the NAAQS, including any area that was classified Severe
or Extreme under the 1-hour ozone NAAQS as of the effective date of the area’s 8-hour
designation.” The EPA had previously waived the section 185 fee program requirements
applicable under the revoked 1-hour ozone NAAQS in rules issued to address the transition from

the 1-hour standard to the 1997 8-hour standard.” However, on December 23, 2006, the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit issued an opinion determining that
EPA improperly waived the application of the section 185 fee provision for Severe and Extreme
nonattainment areas that failed to attain the 1-hour ozone standard by their attainment date.
South Coast Air Quality Management District v. EPA, 472 F.3d 882 (D.C. Cir. 2006).

! See Attachment A for the text of CAA section 185. The CAA requires that fee program SIPs for
nonattainment areas initially classified as Severe or Extreme for the 1-hour ozone standard be submitted to EPA by
December 31, 2000 (see CAA section 182(d)(3)). Areas subsequently reclassified as Severe or Extreme have a SIP
submlssmn date as determined by EPA. ‘

2 The 1-hour ozone NAAQS were established in 1982 and revoked on June 15, 2004 for most areas. The
8-hour ozone NAAQS were first established in 1997. EPA is currently reconsidering the 8-hour ozone NAAQS that
was last revised in 2008. EPA intends to complete the reconsideration by August 31, 2010.

3 See 69 Fed Reg 23951 (April 30, 2004).
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Summary of Section 185 Requirements

In the event that a nonattainment area classified as Severe or Extreme fails to attain the
ozone standard by the required date, section 185 of the CAA requires cach major stationary
source of volatile organic compounds (VOC) and nitrogen oxides (NOx)* located in such area to
pay a fee to the state for each calendar year following the attainment year for emissions above a
“baseline amount.” In 1990, the CAA set the fee as $5,000 per ton of VOC and NOx emitted by
the source during the calendar year in excess of 80 percent of the “baseline amount.” The fee
must be adjusted for inflation based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI) on an annual basis.
Attachment B sets forth the fees, as adjusted for inflation, for the years 1990-2009.

. The CAA provides that the computation of a source’s “baseline amount™ must be the
lower of the amount of actual or allowable emissions under the permit applicable to the source
(or if no permit has been issued for the attainment year, the amount of VOC and NOx emissions
allowed under the applicable implementation plan) during the attainment year. The CAA also
provides that EPA may issue guidance on the calculation of the “baseline amount” as the lower
of the average actual emissions or average allowable emissions over a period of more than one
year in cases where a “source’s emissions are irregular, cyclical or otherwise vary significantly
from year to year.” Accordingly, on March 21, 2008, EPA issued a memorandum entitled
“Guidance on Establishing Emissions Baselines under Section 185 of the CAA for Severe and
Extreme Ozone Nonattainment Areas that Fail to Attain the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS by their
Attainment Date.”

The CAA does not specify how states may spend or allocate the fees collected under a
section 185 fee program. Therefore, states have discretion on how to use the fees. We believe
that one beneficial approach would be to channel the fees into innovative programs to provide
incentives for additional ozone precursor emissions reductions from stationary or mobile sources,
or for other purposes aimed at reducing ambient ozone concentrations in the affected area.

If the state fails to adopt or implement a required fee program, EPA is required to collect
the unpaid fees and may also collect interest on any unpaid fees. All revenue collected by EPA
under authority of section 185 is 1equiled to be deposited in a special fund in the United States
Treasury for licensing and other services and may be used to fund the Agency’s actzvmes for

“collecting such fees."See, CAA sections 185(d) and 502(b)(3)XC).

Alternatives to Section 185 Fee Programs

As a result of the 2006 court decision in South Coast, states with areas classified as
Severe or Extreme nonattainment for the 1-hour ozone standard at the time of the initial
nonattainment designation for the 8-hour standard are subject to the requirements of section 185.
We believe states can meet this obligation through a SIP revision containing either the fee
program prescribed in section 185, or an equivalent alternative program, as further explained

% While section 185 expressly mentions only VOC, section 182(f) extends the application of this provision
to NOx, by providing that “plan provisions required under [subpart D] for major stationary sources of [VOC] shall
also apply to major stationary sources...of [NOx].” :




below. EPA believes that an alternative program may be acceptable if it is consistent with the
principles of section 172(e) of the CAA, which allows EPA through rulemaking to accept
alternative programs that are “not less stringent” where EPA has revised the NAAQS to make it
less stringent. This discretion does not currently apply to a section 185 fee program obligation
arising from failure to attain the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS by the attainment date associated
with a Severe or Extreme classification for that NAAQS because that NAAQS has not been
revoked.

Section 172(e) is an anti-backsliding provision of the CAA that requires EPA to develop
regulations to ensure that controls are “not less stringent” than those that applied prior to relaxing
a standard where EPA has revised a NAAQS to make it less str ingent. In the implementation
rule for the 1997 ozone NAAQS, EPA determined that although section 172(¢) does not directly
apply where EPA has strengthened the NAAQS, as it did in 1997, it was reasonable to apply the
same principle for the transition from the 1-hour NAAQS to the 1997 8-hour NAAQS. As part
of applying the principle in section 172(e) for purposes of the transition from the 1-hour standard
to the 1997 8-hour standard, EPA can either require states to retain programs that applied for
purposes of the 1-hour standard, or alternatively can allow states flexibility to adopt alternative
programs, but only if such alternatives are “not less stringent” than the mandated program.

EPA is electing to consider alternative programs to satisfy the section 185 fee program
SIP revision requirement. The remainder of this memorandum describes the circumstances
under which we believe we can approve an alternative program that is “no less stringent.” These
interpretations will only be finalized through EPA actions taken under notice-and-comment
rulemaking to address the fee program obligations associated with each applicable nonattainment
area. If a state chooses to adopt an alternative program to the section 185 fee program, the state
must demonstrate that the alternative program is no less stringent than the otherwise applicable
section 185 fee program. If our preliminary assessment indicates that the alternative program is
not less stringent, we would issue a notice in the Federal Register proposing to make such a
determination at the same time we propose and take action on any accompanying SIP revision
pursuant to section 110(k).

EPA believes that for an area that we determine is attaining either the 1-hour or 1997 §-
hour ozone NAAQS, based on permanent and enforceable emissions reductions, the area would .
no longer be obligated to submit a fee program SIP revision to satisfy the anti-backsliding - , T

requirements associated with the transition from the 1-hour standard to the 1997 §-hour standard.
In such cases an area’s existing SIP should be considered an adequate alternative program. Our -
reasoning follows from the fact that an area’s existing SIP measures, in conjunction with other
enforceable federal measures, are adequate for the area to achieve attainment, which is the
purpose of the section 185 program. The section 185 fee program is an element of an area’s
attainment demonstration, and its object is to bring about attainment after a failure of an area to
attain by its attainment date. Thus, areas that have attained the 1-hour standard, the standard for
which the fee program was originally required, as a result of permanent and enforceable
emissions reductions, would have a SIP that is not less stringent than the SIP required under
section 185. Also, once an area attains the 1997 8-hour ozone standard, which replaced the now
revoked 1-hour standard, the purpose of retaining the section 185 fee program as an anti-
backsliding measure would also be fulfilled as the area would have attained the 8-hour standard



for which the fee program was retained as a transition measure. We believe that it would
unfairly penalize sources in these areas to require that fees be paid after an area has attained the
8-hour standard due to permanent and enforceable emission reductions because the fees were
imposed due to a failure to meet the applicable attainment deadline for the 1-hour standard, not
any failure to achieve the now applicable 8-hour standard by its attainment date. Similarly, for
the reasons described above, areas that must still develop and submit a fee program may submit
an alternative that provides that the fees end at the time that the area attains either the 1-hour or
1997 8-hour standard due to the existence of permanent and enforceable measures.

There is also an additional, independent basis for EPA's approach to determining that the
anti-backsliding requirements associated with section 185 have been satisfied. Although section
185 provides that fees are to continue until the area is redesignated for ozone, EPA no longer
promulgates redesignations for the 1-hour standard because that standard has been revoked.
Therefore, relief from thel-hour fee program requirements under the terms of the statute is an
impossibility, since the conditions the statute envisioned for relieving an area of its fee program
obligation no longer can exist. There is, thus, a gap in the statute which must be filled by EPA.
We believe that under these circumstances we must exercise our discretion under Chevron USA
Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, 467 U.S. 837 (1984), to fill this gap, so as to carry
out Congressional intent in the unique context of anti-backsliding requirements for a revoked
standard. We believe that it is reasonable for the fee program obligation that applies for
purposes of anti-backsliding to cease upon a determination, based on notice-and-comment
rulemaking, that an area has attained the 1-hour or 8-hour standard due to permanent and
enforceable measures. This determination centers on core criteria for redesignations under CAA
section 107(d)(3). We believe these criteria provide reasonable assurance that the purpose of the
I-hour anti-backsliding fee program obligation has been fulfilled in the context of a regulatory
regime where the area remains subject to other applicable 1-hour anti-backsliding and 8-hour
measures. Under these circumstances, retention of the fee program under the anti-backsliding
rule is no longer necessary for the purpose of achieving attainment of the 8-hour standard.

Additional Potential Equivalent Alternative Program Concepts

Following is a summary of concepts for additional alternative programs that a state might
consider if all 1-hour nonattainment areas subject to the section 185 fee program anti-backsliding
requirements within that state are not eligible for the EPA determination set forth in the section

above, and/or if the state chooses to develop another alternative program that is no less stringent
than a section 185 fee program. While section 185 focuses most directly on assessing emissions
fees, we believe it is useful to interpret section 185 within the context of the CAA’s ozone
implementation provisions of subpart 2 (which includes section 185). The subpart 2 provisions
are designed to provide an ever-growing incentive to reduce ozone-forming pollutant emissions
to levels that achieve attainment of the ozone NAAQS. In this context, to satisfy the
requirements of section 185 associated with the 1-hour NAAQS we believe it is appropriate for
states to focus on fee assessments, achieving further emissions reductions, or some combination
of both in developing an alternative program. For any alternative program adopted by a state, the
state’s demonstration that the program is no less stringent should consist of comparing expected
fees and/or emissions reductions directly attributable to application of section 185 to the
expected fees and/or emissions reductions from the proposed alternative program. For a valid




demonstration to ensure equivalency, the state’s submission should not underestimate the
expected fees and/or emissions reductions from the section 185 fee program, nor overestimate
the expected fees and/or emissions reductions associated with the proposed alternative program.

Recently, a task force composed of members of the Clean Air Act Advisory Committee
(CAAAC) was formed to discuss alternate ideas on complying with section 185.° The concepts
described here were discussed by the task force, and the CAAAC forwarded a list of potential
program features to EPA for review. EPA’s assessment of whether and how certain program
features identified by the CAAAC can be used in the context of satisfying the requirements of
section 185 is included as Attachment C to this memorandum.

EPA cannot conclude at this time whether specific state-developed programs relying on
these concepts or containing any of the features presented by the CAAAC would be approvable
because such a determination would be based on the specific parameters of the program adopted.
Further, any such determination would need to be made through notice-and-comment
rulemaking. States may decide to develop unique alternative programs for each applicable
nonattainment area, and we will independently evaluate the approvability of each alternative
program. To assure a valid demonstration that an alternative is no less stringent, we recommend
that states work with EPA on a case-by-case basis.

Additional Fee-Equivalent Alternative Programs

We anticipate (subject to notice-and-comment rulemaking as noted above) that we could
approve a program that clearly raises at least as much revenue as the otherwise required section
185 fee program if the proceeds are spent to pay for emissions reductions of ozone-forming
pollutants (NOx and/or VOC) in the same geographic area subject to the section 185 program.
Under this approach, the state would estimate revenues that would result under the section 185
fee program if all section 185 sources paid fees for each applicable calendar year, develop an
alternative program that would raise at least that much revenue, and establish a process where the
revenues would be used to pay for emissions reductions that will further improve ozone air
quality.

Under this concept, states could develop programs that shift the fee burden from the
specific set of major stationary sources that are otherwise required to pay fees according to

~section 185; to other non-major sources of emissions, including owners/operators of mobile
sources. This could allow states to recognize through reduced fees those major sources of
emissions that have already installed the latest technology, and assess the remainder of the total
required fees on other sources that are not already as well controlled. EPA recognizes that
section 185 is not strategic in imposing emissions fees on all major stationary sources, including
already well-controlled sources that have few, if any, options for avoiding fees by achieving
additional reductions. States can be more strategic by crafting alternative programs that exempt
or reduce the fee obligation on well-controlled sources, and assign the required fees to less well-
controlled sources as an incentive for those sources to further reduce emissions of ozone-forming
. pollutants. The alternative program should not rely on emissions reductions already required by

’ For more information on the CAAAC and the proceedings of the Task Force on section 185 fee programs,
visit the following Web site: htip.//www.epa.gov/air/caaac/] 85.html :




the applicable SIP, since the goal is to achieve further reductions to move the area expeditiously
to attainment.

Additional Emissions-Equivalent Alternative Programs

EPA believes that as an alternative to the section 185 fee program a state could adopt a
program that achieves at least as much additional emissions reductions as would be expected to
result from the fee-minimization incentive of the section 185 fee program. EPA believes this
would clearly be demonstrated if the alternative program achieves emissions reductions each
year that are equal to or greater than the amount of emissions against which fees would be
assessed each year under the secuon 185 fee program (i.e., actual emissions in excess of 80
percent of the baseline emissions).® For purposes of esumatmg the emissions reductions required
in such a program, the state would assume that sources would reduce their emissions to the fee
applicability threshold. This conservative approach would assure that emissions reductions from
the alternative program are at least as great as reductions that might have occurred if the statutory
fee program resulted in all major stationary sources reducing their emissions to no more than 80

~percent of the baseline emissions. The emissions reductions in the alternative program could
come from the same set of major sources subject to section 185, or from a different set of
sources, in whole or in part, so long as all reductions come from within the nonattainment area
and ate equally beneficial in reducing ozone formation. The alternative program should not rely
on emissions reductions already required by the applicable SIP, since the goal is to achieve
further reductions to move the area expeditiously to attainment,

- Under this approach, states would first calculate the emissions baseline for the major
stationary sources of VOC and NOx in accordance with the methodology required under CAA
section 185(b)(2) and as further described in the March 21, 2008 guidance memorandum. Once
a state calculates the baseline amount of each pollutant for each source affected by section 185,
the amount of emissions in excess of 80 percent of the baseline would be the amount of
emissions of each pollutant that sources within the area would need to reduce on a calendar year
basis in each year following the 1-hour ozone attainment year until such time as the fee program
no longer applies.

-Additional Alternative Programs Combining Emissions Reductions and Fees

~“A’program that combines features of an emissions-equivalent program with a fee-
equivalent program could also be adopted. For example, some portion of the emissions
reductions necessary to demonstrate equivalence (as explained above) could be offset by fees
collected on each ton of emissions that is offset. To illustrate, assume that 1000 tons of
emissions reductions is needed to demonstrate equivalence. The state could instead adopt a
program that obtains 600 tons of emissions reductions and collect fees totaling $2.0 rmlhon
(calculated as the remaining 400 tons times $5,000 per ton).

¢ A program that achieves less than this amount of emissions reductions may also be approvable depending on the
case-specific circumstances.




-EPA Assistance

My office is available to provide any additional guidance and to consult with any state
that wants to develop an alternative equivalent program to the section 185 fee program. For
additional consultation you may contact Denise Gerth, 919-541-5550.




ATTACHMENT A
Text of CAA Section 185.

SEC. 185. ENFORCEMENT FOR SEVERE AND EXTREME OZONE NONATTAINMENT
AREAS FOR FAILURE TO ATTAIN.

- (a) General Rule.- Each implementation plan revision required under section 182 (d) and (e)
(relating to the attainment plan for Severe and Extreme ozone nonattainment areas) shall provide
that, if the area to which such plan revision applies has failed to attain the national primary
ambient air quality standard for ozone by the applicable attainment date, each major stationary
source of VOCs located in the area shall, except as otherwise provided under subsection (c), pay
a fee to the State as a penalty for such failure, computed in accordance with subsection (b), for
each calendar year beginning after the attainment date, until the area is redesignated as an
attainment area for ozone. Each such plan revision should include procedures for assessment and

~collection of such fees.

(b) Computation of Fee.-

(1) Fee amount.- The fee shall equal $5,000, adjusted in accordance with paragraph (3), per
ton of VOC emitted by the source during the calendar year in excess of 80 percent of the baseline
amount, computed under paragraph (2).

(2) Baseline amount.- For purposes of this section, the baseline amount shall be computed,

-in accordance with such guidance as thé Administrator may provide, as the lower of the amount
of actual VOC emissions ("actuals") or VOC emissions allowed under the permit applicable to .
the source (or, if no such permit has been issued for the attainment year, the amount of VOC
emissions allowed under the applicable implementation plan "allowables")) during the
attainment year. Notwithstanding the preceding sentence, the Administrator may issue guidance
authorizing the baseline amount to be determined in accordance with the lower of average
actuals or average allowables, determined over a period of more than one calendar year. Such
guidance may provide that such average calculation for a specific source may be used if that
source's emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly from year to year.

(3) Annual adjustment.- The fee amount under paragtaph (1) shall be adjusted annually,
beginning in the year beginning after the year of enactment, in accordance with section
502(b)(3)(B)(v) (relating to inflation adjustment)

(c) Exception.- Notwithstanding any p10v1510n of this section, no source shall be zequned to pay
any fee under subsection (a) with respect to emissions during any year that is treated as an
Extension Year under section 181(a)(5).

(d).Fee Collection by the Administrator.- If the Administrator has found that the fee provisions— -

of the implementation plan do not meet the requirements of this section, or if the Administrator
makes a finding that the State is not administering and enforcing the fee required under this
section, the Administrator shall, in addition to any other action authorized under this title, collect,
in accordance with procedures promulgated by the Administrator, the unpaid fees required under
subsection (a). If the Administrator makes such a finding under section 179(a)(4), the
Administrator may collect fees for periods before the determination, plus interest computed in
accordance with section 6621(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (relating to
computation of interest on underpayment of Federal taxes), to the extent the Administrator finds
such fees have not been paid to the State. The provisions of clauses (ii) through (iii) of section
502(b)(3)(C) (relating to penalties and use of the funds, respectively) shall apply with respect to
fees collected under this subsection.




(¢) Exemptions for Certain Small Areas.- For areas with a total population under 200,000 which
fail to attain the standard by the applicable attainment date, no sanction under this section or
under any other provision of this Act shall apply if the area can demonstrate, consistent with
guidance issued by the Administrator, that attainment in the area is prevented because of ozone
or ozone precursors transported from other areas. The prohibition applies only in cases in which
the area has met all requirements and implemented all measures applicable to the area under this
Act.

42 U.S.C. 7511d]




, ATTACHMENT B
Inflation Adjustment for Section 185 Fees

Section 185 cross-references the methodology in section 502(b)(3)(B)(v) of the CAA.
This method has been interpreted for use in determining permit fees in a 1992 EPA
memorandum. (See, Memorandum of October 15, 1992, from Frank Bunyard, “Calculating Fees
for Operating Permits.”) EPA has used this method to calculate the Part 70 permit fee rate since
1990, and will continue to update the rate every year in September, when the August values are
available. The adjusted section 185 fee, then, would be prorated to that adjusted permit fee, as
shown in Table 1 below, by multiplying the Part 70 permit fee rate by 200 ($5000/$25). Since
section 185 fees are assessed on a calendar year basis, and the inflation factor is applied in
September, the calendar year fee is determined as a weighted average (8/12 of the fee associated
with January to August, and 4/12 of the fee associated with September to December). The
weighted fees appear in Table 2 below. These will be updated each year in the fall.

TABLE 1: SECTION 185 FEE RATE BASED ON PART 70 PERMIT FEE RATE

Part 70 Permit :

Effective Dates Fee Rate* Sect. 185 Fee Rate
Sept 1989-Aug 1990 $25.00 $5,000.00
Sept 1990-Aug 1991 $26.21 $5,242.00
Sept 1991-Aug 1992 $27.59 $5,518.00
Sept 1992-Aug 1993 $28.43 ' $5,686.00
Sept 1993-Aug 1994 $29.30 $5,860.00
Sept 1994-Aug 1995 $30.07 $6,014.00
Sept-1995~-Aug 1996 $30.93. $6,186.00
Sept 1996~Aug 1997 $31.78 $6,356.00
Sept 1997-Aug 1998 $32.65 $6,530.00
Sept 1998-Aug 1999 $33.21 $6,642.00
Sept 1898—-Aug 2000 $33.82° $6,764.00
Sept 2000-Aug 200t $34.87 $6,974.00
Sept 2001~-Aug 2002 $36.03 $7,206.00
Sept 2002~Aug 2003 $36.60 : $7,320.00
' Sept 2003-Aug 2004 $37.43 $7,486.00
Sept 2004-Aug 2005 $38.29 $7,658.00
-~ Sept-2005=Aug 2006~ |- §39:48 - $7-896.00
Sept 2006-Aug 2007 $41.02 $8,204.00
Sept 2007-Aug 2008 $41.96 $8,392.00
Sept 2008~Aug 2009 $43.75 $8,750.00
Sept 2009-Aug 2010 $43.83 $8,766.00

* From www.epa.gov/oar/oagps/permits/historicalrates.html




TABLE 2: ANNUALIZED SECTION 185 FEE RATE

Sect. 185 Year | Annualized Sect. 185 Fee Rate
1990 . $5,080.67
1991 - $5,334.00
1992 $5,574.00
1993 . $5,744.00
1994 $5,911.33
1995 $6,071.33
1996 $6,242.67
1997 $6,414.00
1998 $6,567.33
1999 - $6,682.67
2000 $6,834.00
2001 $7.051.33
2002 $7.244.00
2003 $7,375.33
2004 $7,543.33
2005 $7.737.33
2006 $7,098.67
2007 $8,266.67
2008 $8,511.33 .
2009 $8,755.33




ATTACHMENT C
Response to CAAAC Task Force Options

EPA’s Clean Air Act Advisory Committee (CAAAC) submitted a letter to EPA dated
May 15, 2009, asking whether “it is legally permissible under either section 185 or 172(e) for a
state to exercise the discretion identified” in 10 bullet points listed in an attachment to the letter
(see Attachment D). In general, we believe the language in section 185 is relatively clear
regarding the provisions that must comprise an approvable program and, as indicated in the
discussion below, we do not believe that many of the flexibilities raised by the CAAAC would
be approvable provisions of a state-adopted section 185 fee program. However, EPA believes
that an alternative program that contains some of these flexibilities may be acceptable if it is
consistent with the principles of section 172(e) of the CAA, which allows EPA through
rulemaking to accept alternative programs that are “not less stringent” where EPA has revised
the NAAQS. Although the anti-backsliding provisions of section 172(¢) facially apply only
where EPA has revised the NAAQS to make it less stringent, in its implementation rule
governing the transition from the 1-hour ozone standard to the more stringent 1997 8-hour
standard, EPA concluded that it made sense to rely on the governing principles in section 172(e).
Applying this principle for the transition from the 1-hour standard to the 1997 8-hour ozone
standard, EPA can either require states to retain a specific program that applied for purposes of
the 1-hour standard, or alternatively can allow states flexibility to adopt alternative programs, but
only if such alternatives are “not less stringent” than the mandated program. EPA has not yet
concluded whether to apply the principles of section 172(e) to any future transitions from the
1997 ozone NAAQS to any new or revised ozone NAAQS.

Consistent with the preceding distinction between a section 185 fee program and an
alternative program that is “not less stringent,” we address each of the 10 points separately
below.

Point A asks whether a state may “authorize multi-facility operators to aggregate
emissions from commonly-owned and -operated facilities within a single nonattainment. area for
the purpose of calculating the fee.” We have defined “major stationary sources” in many
contexts and have interpreted that definition in certain circumstances to allow for aggregation of
sources. We anticipate that we would be able to approve a section 185 fee program SIP that
relies on a definition of “major stationary source” that is consistent with the CAA as interpreted

-in-our existing regulations-and.policies.--

Point B asks whether a state “may permit major sources to aggregate their VOC and NOx
emissions on a site-wide basis in calculating the fee” and includes a description of certain
limitations that would be assumed for such aggregation. Provided that aggregation is not used to
avoid a “major source” applicability finding, and aggregation is consistent with the attainment
demonstration (e.g., if the area has received a NOx waiver under section 182(f), then NOx
reductions cannot be substituted for VOC reductions), we believe states have discretion to allow
a major source to aggregate VOC and NOx emissions.

Points C and D concern whether states may allow a discount for certain “pre-attainment
year or attainment year” controls. We do not believe that section 185 allows for any such
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consideration. The statutory language is clear that the baseline emissions are the lower of the
actual emissions or emissions allowed under the applicable permit during the attainment year or
allowed under the SIP during the attainment year where there is no such permit The only
exception to this calculation for baseline emissions is where a source’s emission are “irregular,
cyclical or otherwise vary significantly from year to year.’ * EPA has previously issued guidance
addressing this exception. Although consideration of these controls is not consistent with the
express terms of section 183, states may be able to develop a “no less stringent” program
consistent with the principles in section 172(e), taking into consideration such pre-attainment
controls. See discussion of point I below.

Point E asks whether the purchase of emission reduction credits, or allowances, that are
part of an area’s attainment control measures “may reduce the amount of emissions upon which
the fee is based or constitute an investment that should be credited against the fee.” In the
context of calculating both the attainment-year baseline emissions and the post-attainment year
emissions, section 185 requires such emissions be the lower of actual or allowable emissions.
We believe allowable emissions can include emission reduction credits or emissions allowances
held by a source subject to fees. Whether holding the emissions allowances will affect a source’s
fee obligation depends on the amount that is determined to be the lower of actual or allowable
emissions for that source. If states wish to provide some other form of credit for sources that
purchase market-based control measures, they may be able to do so in the context of a program
that is no less stringent than a section 185 program consistent w1th the principle in section
172(e). See discussion of point [ below.

Point F asks whether sources may receive credit for post-attainment year emissions
reductions or ait quality investments. The Act is clear that post-attainment year emission
reductions will be credited to the extent that they reduce emission levels from the baseline year.
For example, if a source has 1000 tons of emissions in the attainment “baseline” year, the CAA
requires that source to pay fees on any emissions in excess of 800 tons (80 percent of baseline) in
each post-attainment year. If the source is able to reduce post-attainment year emissions from
1000 tons to 900 tons, then the source will pay fees on only 100 tons of emissions. With regard
to crediting emission-reducing or air-quality investments, we note that section 185 does not -
specify how collected fees must be spent. In general, we believe that a state may choose to use
collected fees to support air quality improvement projects at sources. However, we caution that
any such provisions should not be developed in a way such that the provisions would appear to

defeat the purpose.of section. 185, which is to encourage emission reductions that willbringthe . ... . . |-

area into attainment with the ozone NAAQS in the near-term.

Point G asks whether post-attainment year new sources must be subject to the fees. We
believe it is clear that the fee imposed is on major sources. Thus, to the extent a “new source” is
considered a part of a major source that existed in the attainment year, the emissions from the
new source must be considered as emissions from that major source. For new major sources that
are not part of existing major sources, we believe section 185 does not provide a clear
interpretation of the source’s fee obligation. Therefore, we believe states have discretion in
determining how fees apply to these sources. States should consider that section 185 requires
“each major stationary source” to pay a fee; however, the baseline amount for sources that did
not have a permit in the attainment year is calculated according to what the SIP “allowed” during




the attainment year. Therefore, states should examine how the applicable SIP addressed
emissions from potential new major sources in the attainment year. For example, a state could
determine that the SIP’s new source review (NSR) requirements would provide that a new source
employ emissions control that meets the requirements of “Jowest achievable emissions rate”
(LAER). Therefore, the attainment-year baseline for a new source is the level allowable after
application of LAER. Alternatively, a state could determine the SIP’s NSR requirements would
provide that a new source’s net emissions impact be no greater than zero (i.e., emissions levels
after application of LAER must be offset at a ratio of at least 1 to 1). Therefore the attainment-
year baseline for a new source is zero, subjecting the entire amount of a source’s post-attainment
year emissions to the per-ton emissions fee. Also, states may be able to develop “not less
stringent” programs consistent with the principles in section 172(e), that exempt new major
sources from fees, provided the alternative programs meet the 172(e) standard of equivalence.
See discussion of point I below.

With regard to Point H, which references state discretion regarding the use of collected
fees, we point to our response above for Point F. '

Point I asks whether section 172(e) authorizes a state to develop an alternative program to
that mandated under section 185. As an initial matter, we note that section 172(e) does not
directly apply here, where we are transitioning from the 1-hour ozone standard to the more
stringent 1997 8-hour standard. However, in developing our anti-backsliding rules in the Phase 1
Rule for Implementing the 8-hour Standard (69 FR 23951, April 30, 2004), we indicated that
although section 172(e) did not directly apply, we were relying on the principles in section
172(e), as well as other indications of Congressional intent, in developing our anti-backsliding
rules. In South Coast Air Quality Management District v. EPA, 472 F.3d 882 (D.C. Cir. 2006),
the Court rejected our waiver of the section 185 fee program for the 1-hour standard, holding that
such program was a “control applicable” to the area as that phrase is used in section 172(¢) and
thus must be retained under EPA’s decision to apply section 172(e) to the transition from the I-
hour standard to the more stringent 8-hour standard. Not before the Court was the issue of the
remaining language in section 172(e) that provides that EPA “shall promulgate requirements ...
to provide for controls which are not less stringent than the controls applicable to areas
designated nonattainment before such relaxation.” EPA believes that this language clearly
allows EPA by fegulation to accept alternative control programs that “are not less stringent” than
those that were mandated by the Act for the standard that has been replaced (i.e., the 1-hour
_standard).

Point J requests that EPA “clearly indicate the conditions under which the collection of
fees may be terminated.” Furthermore, it indicates that some members of the task force “would
like the authority to terminate the section 185 fee program upon the first year in which an area
achieves the relevant standard.” EPA believes that for an area EPA determines through notice-
and-comment rulemaking is attaining either the 1-hour or 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS based on
permanent and enforceable emissions reductions, the area would no longer be obligated to
submit a fee program SIP revision, nor be obligated to continue implementing a section 185 fee
program (or approved alternative equivalent program). The bases for EPA to make such a
determination through notice-and-comment rulemaking are provided in the memorandum
associated with this Attachment.




ATTACHMENT D
CAAAC Letter

United States Environmental Protection Agency
Clean Air Act Advisory Committee

May 15, 2009

The Honorable Elizabeth Craig
Acting Assistant Administrator
Office of Air and Radlatlon

U.S. EPA

Ariel Rios North

1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Mail Code 6101A

Washington, DC 20460

Re: Clean Air Act Sections 185 and 172(e)

Dear Assistant Administrator Craig:

At the May 14, 2009 meeting of the US EPA Clean Air Act Advisory Committee, on a
unanimous vote, the Committee resolved to urge the Agency to provide prompt guidance to the States
regarding the following question arising under the Clean Air Act:

Is it legally permissible under either section 185 or ] 72(c ) for a State 1o exercise
the discretion identified in Options A-J?

The Clean Air Act Section 185 Task Force, a work group established under the Clean Air Act
‘Advisory Committee, identified ten areas (A-J) of potential state discretion. These options are listed in
the attachment to this letter. The Committee took no position on the reasonableness or legal
permissibility of any option.

As several States are in thc process of developing their section 185 nonauammenl fee programs,
time is of the essence in providing appropriate legal and policy guidance,

Thank you sincerely,

Co-Chairs of the Section 185 Task Force:

Eddie Terrill Robert A. Wyman
Director Latham & Watkins LLP
Department of Environmental Quality 355 South Grand Avenue
Air Quality Division : Los Angeles, CA

707 North Robinson 90071

Oklahoma City, OK 73101-1677




Aggregation of Emissions Among Commonly-Owned Facilities

At its option, a State may authorize multi-facility operators to aggregate emissions
from commonly-owned and —operated facilities within a single nonattainment
area for the purpose of calculating the fee.

Aggregation of VOC and NOx Emissions

At its option, a State may permit major sources to aggregate their VOC and NOx
emissions on a site-wide basis in calculating the fee to the extent such aggregation
is consistent with attainment modeling previously submitted by the State for the
applicable air quality control region. Such aggregation is not to be used for the
purpose of avoiding a “major source” applicability finding (e.g., by spreading
emissions over multiple sources so as to render the average facility emissions less
than the major source threshold).

- Consideration of Pre-Attainment Year or Attainment Year Installation of BACT

or LAER

. At its option, a State may consider to an appropriate extent pre-attainment or -

attainment year emission control investments by major sources. Without
intending to define the precise boundaries of a State’s discretion to recognize the
degree of control already achieved by a source, the participants determined that
sources that had recently (e.g., within five (5) years of the year for which the fee
would be imposed) undergone new source review and, as a result, installed BACT
or LAER, should not be required to mclude emissions from such equlpment in
calculating the fee.

Consideration of Pre-Attainment Year or Attainment Year Installation of Retrofit
Controls.

In addition, at its option under appropriate circumstances, a State may designate
emission performance standards that it has determined represent well-controlled

- (e.gyin the range of or superior to BACT or LAER) units for a given period of ~

time and authorize a facility to demonstrate what portion of its emissions should
be excluded from the fee calculation on that basis. :

Consideration of Market-Based Programs

At its option under appropriate circumstances, a State may determine that
purchases of emission reduction credits, or allowances, as part of a State’s
market-based attainment control measure may reduce the amount of emissions
upon which the fee is based or constitute an investment that should be credited
against the fee.




H.

~~demonstrateequivalency.

Credit Sources for Post-Attainment Year Emissions-Reducing or Air Quality
Investments

At its option, a State should recognize and appropriately credit qualifying post-
attainment year emissions-reducing or air quality-beneficial investments by major
sources. These investments should be credited to such sources in a manner that
reduces or eliminates fees that otherwise would be due under the program. States
should identify the qualifications for such investments based on their unique
attainment needs.

Post-Attainment Year New Sources

. There was agreement that new sources constructed after the attainment year

would not have a baseline; would already have installed BACT or LAER, would
already have provided offsets, and therefore should not be subject to the fee for
such equipment.

Use of Program Revenues

States retain full discretion regarding the use of collected revenues. Participants
encouraged States to tailor strategies to their unique attainment challenges and to
consider ways to address under-regulated sources (e.g., legacy vehicles and
engines and certain area sources).

Equivalent Programs

Under section 172(e), a State should have the option of collecting equivalent or
greater fees, or of requiring equivalent or greater emission reductions, by shifting
the program target in part or in whole to under-regulated sources (e.g., legacy
vehicles and engines, under-regulated area sources) or by applying the program in
a manner that addresses other attainment gaps. Likewise, the task force
envisioned that any recommended strategy not directly approvable under section
185 should be considered as an equivalent alternative program under 172(e). In
such circumstances, the state may need to shift the fee bm den among sources to

Program Sunset

EPA needs to clearly indicate the conditions under which the collection of fees
may be terminated. Some members of the taskforce would like the authority to
terminate the section 185 fee program upon the ﬁx st year in which an area
achieves the relevant standard.
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MEMORANDUM

SUBJECT:  Guidance on Establishing Emissions Baselines under Section 185 of the
‘Clean Air Act (CAA) for Severe and Extreme Ozone Nonattainment
Areas that Fail to Attain the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS by their ttainment

FROM: William T. Harnett, Director (,ULQQXA,M’(/ ﬂ&’\/ -

Air Quality Policy Division (C539-01)

TO: Regional Air Division Directors, Regions I-X

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide guidance on establishing the
“baseline amount” for the imposition of penalty fees under section 185 of the Clean Air
Act (CAA) for severe and extreme areas that fail to attain the 1-hour ozone national
ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) by their attainment date.! Under section 185,
‘major stationary sources of volatile organic compounds (VOC) -and nitrogen oxides
(NOx) in severe and extreme ozone nonattainment areas are subject to penalty fees in
these circumstances for emissions in excess of 80 percent of the baseline amount. 2
Under the CAA, the affected States generally should impose the fees on such sources
based on their “baseline amount,” which generally is based on applicable source
emissions information in the attainment year inventory. However, where source
emissions are irregular, cyclical or otherwise vary significantly, the CAA provides that
the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) may issue guidance providing an
alternative method to calculate the baseline amount. This memorandum contains such

- guidance-for an-alternative method for calculating the emissions baseline

Background

Section 185 of the CAA requires States to impose fees on major stationary
sources of VOC and NOx in severe and extreme ozone nonattainment areas that fail to

! For background on the 1-hour standard, its revocation and relationship to the section 185 fee provisions,
see the following documents: 40 CFR 50.9(b); 69 FR 23951 at 23968 (April 30, 2004); 70 FR 44470
(August 3, 2005); and South Coast Air Quality Management Dist. v. EPA, 472 F.3d 882 (D.C. Cir. 2006).
2 While section 185 expressly mentions only VOC, section 182(f) extends the application of this provision
to NOx, by providing that “plan provisions required under [subpart D] for major stationary sources of
[VOC] shall also apply to major stationary sources ... of [NOx}.” :
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attain the ozone national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS or standard) by their -
attainment date. In 1990, the CAA set the fee as $5,000 per ton of VOC and NOx
emitted by the source during the calendar year in excess of 80 percent of the “baseline
amount” for each year beginning after the attainment date until the area is redesignated to
attainment for ozone [see section 185(b)(1)]. The fee must be adjusted for inflation based
on the Consumer Price Index (CPI) on an annual basis. For 2007, the penalty fee would
be $8,040 based on the CPL’ :

The CAA further states that the computation of a source’s “baseline amount”
must be the lower of the amount of actual or allowable emissions under the permit
applicable to the source (or if no permit has been issued for the attainment year, the
amount of VOC and NOx emissions allowed under the applicable implementation plan)
during the attainment year. The CAA also provides that EPA may issue guidance on the
calculation of the “baseline amount” as the lower of the average actuals or average
allowables over a period of more than one year in cases where a “source’s emissions are
irregular, cyclical or otherwise vary significantly from year to year.”

Alternative Method ‘for Calculating “Baseline Amount”

Under the presumptive calculation method provided in the CAA, a State would
calculate the “baseline amount” for each source that may be affected by the section 185
penalty fees by determining the actual emissions for a source (e.g., by reviewing the State
emissions inventory for the applicable attainment year) or by reviewing the permits for
such source to determine the source’s allowable emissions. In some cases, however, the
amount calculated for a particular source in the aftainment year may not be considered
- representative of the source’s normal operating conditions. Inthese cases, the CAA
allows for use of an alternative calculation method for sources whose annual emissions
are “irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly from year to year.”

We believe an acceptable alternative method that could be used for calculating the
“paseline amount” for such sources would be the method for calculating “baseline actual
emissions” found in EPA’s regulations for Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air
Quality (PSD) (40 CFR 52.21(b)(48)).4 “Baseline actual emissions” is defined in the:
PSD rule for purposes of establishing a pre-change average emissions rate to bea

- baseline emissions rate-for sources proposing to-undergo physical or operational changes

that result in an emissions increase. This definition of “baseline actual emissions™
enables a source to calculate its baseline rate using the actual operational data from a
period other than the period immediately preceding a proposed change in order to select a
period of time that is more representative of the source’s normal operation. Under the
PSD regulations, sources generally may use the relevant source records for any

3 See hitp://www.bls.gov/cpi/ which provides a tool for calculating adjustments based on the CP1.

“ This alternative method is provided for States to use at their discretion when they conclude that the
“paseline amount” as calculated under section 185(b)(2) is not appropriate for purposes of setting the
section 185 penalty fee because the source’s emissions vary significantly from year-to-year.




24-consecutive month period within the past 10 years (“2-in-10" concept) to calculate an
average actual annual emissions rate (tons per year).

In the PSD context EPA determined that is fair and reasonable for a source to use
a 10-year look back period for calculating “baseline actual emissions” because it allows
the source to consider a full business cycle in setting a baseline emissions rate that
represents normal operation of the source for that time period. However, the PSD rule’s
“2.in-10” concept does not apply to electrical utility steam generating units. For utilities,
the PSD rules require use of a 24-consecutive month period within the past 5 years, or a
different 5 year historical period if the State determines that it is more representative of
normal source operations for a particular source.

The PSD rules require adequate source information for the selected
24-consecutive month_period.7 As indicated in the PSD rules, the data (needed to
calculate the actual emissions factors, utilization rate, etc.) must adequately describe the
operation and associated pollution levels for each emissions unit. Otherwise, another
24-consecutive month period must be selected (40 CFR 52.21(b)(48)(1)(d) and (ii)(e).
Once calculated, the average annual emissions rate must be adjusted downward to reflect
(1) any noncompliant emissions® (40 CFR 52.21(b)(48)(i)(b) and (ii)(b), and (2) for each
non-utility emissions unit, the most current legally enforceable emissions limitations™ that
restrict the source’s ability to emit a particular pollutant or to operate at the levels that
existed during the 24-month period that was selected (40 CFR 52.212(b)(48)(ii)(c)-

For a source with emissions units capable of burning more than one type of fuel,
the current emissions factors must be related to the fuel or fuels that were actually used
during the selected 24-consecutive month period. For example, when calculating the
baseline emissions for a source that burned natural gas for a portion of the 24-month
period and fuel oil for the remainder, the PSD rules require States to retain that fuel
apportionment, but to also use the current Jegally enforceable emissions factors for
natural gas and fuel oil, respectively, to calculate the baseline emissions. If, however, the

5 In establishing the “2-in-10” concept for the PSD rules, EPA relied on a 1997 study of business cycles for
several industries. The study examined the business fluctuations for certain source categories using

_industry output data for the years 1982 1o 1994, inclusive, based on the Office of Management and
Budget’s SIC codes for individual industries (OMB, 1987). " S
¢ For utilities, we determined that a 5-year cycle, rather than a 10-year cycle, generally was appropriate for
addressing the emissions variability associated with demand for electricity as influenced by annual
variability in climate and economic conditions as well as changes at other plants in the utility system that
affect dispatch of a particular plant. :
7 The adequacy of given source operating data for the selected time period is to be determined on a case-by-
case basis by the reviewing authority.
8 The result of this restriction is that the plant capacity utilized during a particular period of time (assuming
that capacity was within allowable levels) may be referenced, but not the non-compliant pollution levels.
The second restriction similarly limits baseline emissions to levels that are consistent with current legally
allowable emissions rates. ‘
? Such legally enforceable emission limits would include, but not be limited to, any State, or Federal
requirements such as RACT, BACT, LAER, NSPS and NESHAP, processing limits, fuel limitations, or
other limitations voluntarily accepted by the source for netting, emissions offsets or the creation of
emission reduction credits.




source is no longer allowed or able to use one of those fuel types, then the calculations
" must assume use of the currently allowed fuel for the entire 24-month period. This
applies to sources that use multiple feedstock or raw materials, which may vary in use
during the source’s ongoing production process.

The intent of this guidance document is to set forth EPA's views on the issues
discussed herein. The statutory provisions and EPA regulations described in this
document contain legally binding requirements. This document is not a regulation in
itself nor does it change or substitute for those provisions and regulations. Thus, it does
not impose legally binding requirements on EPA, States or the regulated community.
EPA and other decision makers retain the discretion to adopt approaches on a case-by-
case basis that differ from those described in this guidance where appropriate. When '
EPA issues final rules based on its views, those rules will be binding on the States, the
public and EPA as a matter of law. We will work with your staff to answer any
additional questions including how this guidance applies to individual sources that are
covered by emissions cap-and-trade programs.

If you have any questions on the section 185 fee provisions, please contact Denise
Gerth at 919-541-5550, and if you have questions on the alternative method for
calculating the emissions baseline based on the PSD rule, please contact Dan DeRoeck at
919-541-5593.




