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The Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (commission) proposes amendments to Chapter
321, Subchapter G, §§321.101-321.107, concerning the authorization by rule of hydrostatic test

discharges.

EXPLANATION OF THE PROPOSED RULE

On September 14, 1998, the commission received authority from the United States Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) to administer the Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (TPDES). A
provision of the agreement reached between the two agencies in the transfer of this authority requires
the commission to either repeal or replace this rule, or amend it to meet the requirements of the Clean
Water Act (CWA). Until the rule is amended to include all necessary requirements under the National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES), the commission has agreed not to authorize TPDES

discharges into waters of the United States under the rules in Chapter 321.

The purpose of this subchapter is to streamline the permitting process by authorizing by rule certain
activities, thereby eliminating the need for individually issued commission permits for a subset of
specific wastewater discharges. In order for the rule to meet the requirements of the CWA, the
commission is proposing to amend the rule to limit registrations to periods no longer than five years,
with an opportunity for renewal. By amending the rule, coverage of the rule will be expanded to
include authority under the CWA. Facilities currently or potentially authorized under this rule will
have the opportunity to continue discharging without being required to obtain an individual permit, and

will need to obtain only one authorization for both state and federal coverage.
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If the rule is not amended, the parties currently registered under the rule would have to seek coverage
under a TPDES individual permit for their discharges under the CWA. New facilities would have to

obtain a TPDES individual permit for coverage under the CWA and Texas Water Code (TWC).

Proposed changes to §321.101, Definitions, adds definitions for the terms “authorization by rule” and
“registration” for clarification purposes. The definition for “water in the state” is being amended to

reflect the definition that took effect following Texas’s assumption of the NPDES program.

Proposed changes to §321.103, New Facilities, would require registration for discharges with a
duration of more than 365 days. Currently, discharges meeting the conditions for discharging without
registration are perpetually authorized. Those discharges occurring over 365 days are incompatible
with the five-year limit on registrations also being proposed. Most hydrostatic test discharges are of a
very limited duration. Therefore, it was determined that if a discharge occurs over 365 days, it signals
a situation warranting notice of the discharge to the commission through the filing of a registration

form.

Proposed changes to §321.105, Registration, are being made to establish the process for obtaining a
registration, specifying a five-year term limit for registrations, and specifying the process for renewing
an existing registration. These changes are being made to meet the requirements of the CWA. A $100

application fee is also proposed to meet the requirements of TWC, §5.235.
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Other changes to the rule are minor clarification, and to change any references to the Texas Water

Commission to the commission.

FISCAL NOTE

Bob Orozco, Strategic Planning and Appropriations Division, has determined that for the first five-year
period these proposed amendments are in effect, there will be no significant fiscal implications for state
or local government as a result of administration or enforcement of the proposed sections. The
proposed amendments will allow hydrostatic test discharges to continue to be authorized by rule,
thereby eliminating the need for individually issued commission permits for these facilities. For
purposes of this fiscal note, facilities refers to pipelines, tanks, and other vessels used in pipeline
transportation, storage, or otherwise containment of raw materials or products. The proposed
amendments would also allow the commission to fulfill the requirements of TPDES and administer one
permit program that satisfies both state and federal permit regulations. The proposed amendments will
make Chapter 321, Subchapter G of the commission’s rules consistent with EPA general permit
requirements in the CWA. It is estimated that the commission’s wastewater permit workload and the
wastewater enforcement workload will be reduced slightly by the proposed amendments. The proposed
amendments specify a new registration fee of $100 for a registration period of five years. It is
estimated that revenues deposited to the Water Resources Management Account will increase
approximately $5,000 per year due to this new registration fee. It is anticipated that the cost to
applicants will be offset by elimination of the requirement to prepare a TPDES individual permit

application which could cost businesses from $5,000 to $25,000.
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PUBLIC BENEFIT

Mr. Orozco has also determined that for each year of the first five years the proposed amendments are
in effect the public benefit anticipated from enforcement of and compliance with these amendments will
be improved processes and procedures related to wastewater discharge authorization, increased
consistency between federal and state wastewater regulations, a decrease in costs of compliance and
enforcement of hydrostatic test water regulations, and more cost-effective implementation and
enforcement of wastewater standards. The proposed amendments to the rules would authorize
discharging hydrostatic test water by rule and eliminate the requirement to obtain an individual permit.
The economic impact to persons or small businesses required to comply with the amendments as

proposed is discussed in the following section, Small Business Analysis.

SMALL BUSINESS ANALYSIS

The amendments to Chapter 321 will allow businesses to discharge hydrostatic test water and comply
with the requirements of the TPDES with a single permit by rule. If not amended, new discharging
facilities would have to obtain a TPDES individual permit for coverage under the CWA and TWC. The
proposed amendments to the rules would authorize discharging hydrostatic test water by rule and
eliminate the requirement to obtain an individual permit. The proposed amendments specify a
registration fee of $100 for a registration period of five years. It is anticipated that this cost will be
offset by elimination of the requirement to prepare a TPDES application which could cost businesses
from $5,000 to $25,000. In addition, if dischargers were required to obtain an individual TPDES
permit, they would have to suspend operations until their TPDES permit could be issued. This could

potentially result in loss of revenues for businesses.
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DRAFT REGULATORY IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The commission has reviewed the proposed rulemaking in light of the regulatory analysis requirements
of Texas Government Code (the Code), §2001.0225, and has determined that the rulemaking is not
subject to §2001.0225 because it does not meet the definition of a “major environmental rule” as
defined in the Code, and it does not meet any of the four applicability requirements listed in

§2001.0225(a).

Specifically, the proposed amendments are not anticipated to adversely affect in a material way the
economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the public
health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This rulemaking does not establish any new
requirements beyond those already established by federal law. In addition, the amendments are
proposed pursuant to a Memo of Agreement, between the commission and EPA, whereby the
commission implements the NPDES requirements of the CWA. The proposed amendments will
continue to protect the environment and reduce risk to human health while lessening the regulatory
burden on dischargers of hydrostatic test water in Texas. The proposed amendments will not affect the
environment or public health and safety because the amendments do not affect existing discharge water
limits. In order for the rule to satisfy the requirements of the CWA, the commission is proposing to
amend the rules to limit registrations to periods no longer than five years, with an opportunity for

renewal.
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The proposed amendments are anticipated to have a positive economic impact by allowing the
commission to fulfill the requirements of the TPDES assumption and eliminate the requirement to

obtain separate federal and state authorization for discharging hydrostatic test water in Texas.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT
The commission has prepared a takings impact assessment for these rules pursuant to the Code,

§2007.043. The following is a summary of that assessment.

The specific purpose of the Chapter 321, Subchapter G rule amendment is to allow the commission to
fully implement the NPDES hydrostatic test water discharge program in Texas by making the existing
Subchapter G rules consistent with the EPA general permit requirements in the CWA. The rule
changes will also allow the commission to fulfill the requirements of TPDES assumption and to
administer one permitting program for both NPDES and state permits. In order for the rule to meet the
requirements of the CWA, the commission is proposing to amend the rule to limit registrations to
periods no longer than five years, with an opportunity for renewal, as required by 40 Code of Federal
Regulations §122.46. The rule will also require registration for discharges with a duration of more than
365 days. In addition, the rule amendment adds a $100 registration fee, authorized by TWC,

§5.235(c).

In general, the rule streamlines the permitting process by authorizing by rule the discharge of
hydrostatic test water, thereby eliminating the need for individually issued commission permits for

hydrostatic test water discharges. Dischargers currently or potentially authorized under this
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rule will have the opportunity to continue discharging without being required to obtain an individual

permit, and will need to obtain only one authorization for both state and federal coverage.

This action will not burden private real property that is the subject of the regulation because the
amended rules will enable the commission to fully implement the NPDES program for hyrdrostatic test
discharges in Texas. The rule amendment incorporates the five-year registration term limit from the
CWA, adds a $100 registration fee, and requires registration for discharges of longer than 365 days.
The amendments which are proposed to this rule would not impose any substantive requirements on
private landowners in the way they may enjoy their property. Rather, the proposed amendments
eliminate the need to obtain separate federal and state authorization for hydrostatic test discharges.
Because dischargers will need to obtain only one authorization for both state and federal coverage, the

burden on private real property will be lessened.

Therefore, the five-year registration term and the $100 fee do not concern private real property, and the
effect of the rule amendment will be to lessen the burden on the regulated community by allowing it to
obtain only one authorization for both state and federal coverage. The rule amendment does not create

a burden on private real property.

COASTAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM
The commission has reviewed the proposed rulemaking and found that the proposal is a rulemaking

identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11, relating to Actions and
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Rules Subject to the Coastal Management Program (CMP), or will affect an action or authorization

identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11.

The commission has prepared a consistency determination for the proposed rules pursuant to 31 TAC
§505.22 and has found the proposed rulemaking consistent with the applicable CMP goals and policies.
The following is a summary of that determination. CMP goals applicable to the proposed rule include
the protection, restoration, and enhancement of the diversity, quality, quantity, functions, and values of
Coastal Natural Resource Areas (CNRA) and to ensure sound management of all coastal resources by
allowing for compatible economic development and multiple human uses of the coastal zone. CMP
policies applicable to the proposed rule include the following: 1) discharges in the coastal zone shall
comply with water-quality-based effluent limits; 2) discharges in the coastal zone that increase pollutant
loadings to coastal waters shall not impair designated uses of coastal waters and shall not significantly
degrade coastal water quality unless necessary for important economic or social development; and 3) to
the greatest extent practicable, new wastewater outfalls shall be located where they will not adversely

affect critical areas.

Promulgation and enforcement of these rules is consistent with the applicable CMP goals and policies
because the proposed rules will result in more efficient and cost-effective use of public resources
regulating wastewater facilities. Protection of the quality of the surface water resources of the state will
be maintained because the rule subjects all discharges of hydrostatic test water to effluent limitations

and other requirements set to protect water quality.
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The commission invites public comment on the consistency of the proposed rule.

SUBMITTAL OF COMMENTS

Written comments on the proposal should reference Rule Log No. 98075-321-WT and may be
submitted to Lisa Martin, Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission, Office of Policy and
Regulatory Development, MC 205, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, (512)

239-1966; or faxed to (512) 239-5687. Written comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., May 10,
1999. For further information concerning this proposal, please contact Jim Bateman, Environmental

Law Division, (512) 239-3426.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are proposed under TWC, §5.102, which provides the commission with general
powers to carry out duties under the TWC, and §§5.103, 5.105, and 5.120, which provide the
commission with the authority to adopt any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under the
provisions of the TWC and other laws of this state, and to establish and approve all general policies of
the commission. Additionally, the amendments are proposed under TWC, §26.040, which provides the
commission with authority to amend rules adopted under §26.040 prior to its amendment by House Bill

1542 in 1997.

No other rules, statutes, or codes are affected by these proposed amendments.
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SUBCHAPTER G : HYDROSTATIC TEST DISCHARGES

§§321.101 - 321.109

§321.101. Definitions.

The following words and terms, used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings, unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise.

a Authorization by rule - An authorization to discharge to surface water in the state under

rules issued by the agency.

2) Clean-up wastes - Liquid and solid wastes generated during initial clean-up of used

facilities. This includes facility draining, flushing, purging, and chemical and mechanical cleaning wastes.

3 Discharge - Deposit, conduct, drain, emit, throw, run, allow to seep, or otherwise release

or dispose of, or to allow, permit, or suffer any of these acts or omissions.

@ Facilities - Pipelines, tanks, and other vessels used in pipeline transportation, storage, or

otherwise containment of liquid or gaseous raw materials or products.

(8] Grab sample - An individual sample collected in less than 15 minutes.

6 Hydrostatic test discharge [discharges] - Discharge into or adjacent to any water in the
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state of test water that is made following pressure testing of facilities.

()] New facilities - Facilities that [which] have not previously contained raw materials or

products.

[TWC - Texas Water Commission]

()] Registration - Authorization by rule to discharge under the terms and requirements of this

subchapter.

9 Used facilities - Facilities that [which] have been used to store, transport, or otherwise

contain a liquid or gaseous raw material or product.

(10) Water in the state - Groundwater, percolating or otherwise, lakes, bays, ponds,
impounding reservoirs, springs, rivers, streams, creeks, estuaries, wetlands, marshes, inlets, canals, the
Gulf of Mexico, inside the territorial limits of the state, and all other bodies of surface water, natural or
artificial, inland or coastal, fresh or salt, navigable or nonnavigable, and including the beds and banks of
all watercourses [water courses] and bodies of surface water, that are wholly or partially inside or bordering

the state or inside the jurisdiction of the state.

§321.102. Purpose and Applicability.

(a) (No change.)
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(b) This subchapter does not apply to [and other permitting requirements are not applicable to]:

(1) discharges that [which] are not into or adjacent to water in the state; and

(2) _discharges [discharge] into or adjacent to water in the state of hydrostatic test water

from natural gas and crude oil facilities, which are regulated by the Railroad Commission of Texas.

(c) This subchapter does not authorize the use of surface water for conducting the hydrostatic test.
A separate application for temporary water use shall be submitted, as necessary, to the commission

[Commission].

(d) For discharges into or adjacent to water in the state located in or within ten [10] stream miles

upstream of the Edwards Aquifer recharge zone as defined in Chapter 213 [313] of this title (relating to

Edwards Aquifer), separate authorization may be required.

§321.103. New Facilities.

(a) Registration not required.

(1) The test waters may be discharged into or adjacent to water in the state from new facili-

ties without registration provided the following conditions are met:

(A) water used for the hydrostatic test meets the effluent limitations in [as a
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minimum is of dischargeable quality as defined by] §321.107(c)[(3)] of this title (relating to Effluent

Limitations);

(B) (No change.)

(C) the discharge is controlled at a rate to prevent flooding [and/]or erosion of the

discharge area; [and]

(D) the discharge does not cause any nuisance conditions to adjacent land owners

along the discharge route; and [.]

(E) the duration of discharges from hydrostatic tests at individual sites is less than

365 days.

(2) Individual hydrostatic test discharge registration is not required for new facilities if test
waters are disposed of according to [in accordance with] §321.104(a) of this title (relating to Used [used]

Facilities).

(b) Registration required. Individual hydrostatic test discharge registration is required for new
facilities that do not meet the conditions of subsection (a) of this section. [and] Discharges shall be regulated
under [by the requirements in] §§321.105-321.107 of this title (relating to Registration; General

Requirements for Discharges; and Specific Requirements for Discharges).
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§321.104. Used Facilities.
(a) Registration not required. Individual hydrostatic test discharge registration for used facilities

is not required under the following conditions [provisions]:

(1) hydrostatic test water is collected [and/]or transported to a wastewater treatment system
that is permitted by the commission [Texas Water Commission]. The hydrostatic test water must be similar

to other wastes treated in the treatment system and not likely to cause a permit violation;

(2) hydrostatic test water is collected [and/]or transported to a publicly owned treatment

works permitted by the commission [Texas Water Commission];

(3) hydrostatic test water is collected [and/]Jor transported to a disposal well that is

permitted by the commission [Texas Water Commission] to receive such wastes; or

(4) hydrostatic test water [which] is discharged from facilities that [which] formerly

contained only elemental gases (e.g., hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen, etc.) provided the discharge meets the

requirements of §321.103(a)(1)(A- (E)[(D)] of this title (relating to New Facilities).

(b) Registration required. Individual [Unless exempted by subsection (a) of this section,

individual] hydrostatic test registration is required for all discharges from used facilities, unless exempted

by subsection (a) of this section. [and] Discharges shall be regulated under [by the requirements in]

§§321.105-321.107 of this title (relating to Registration; [,] General Requirements for Discharges; and

Specific Requirements for Discharges).
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§321.105. Registration.

(a) A [Unless exempted by §321.103(a) of this title (relating to New Facilities) or §321.104(a) of
this title (relating to Used Facilities), a] registration form [as] provided by the executive director must be

submitted to the agency’s central [TWC Austin] office before [prior to] a discharge into or adjacent to water

in the state, unless exempted by §321.103(a) of this title (relating to New Facilities) or §321.104(a) of this

title (relating to Used Facilities). Submittal of the registration form is sufficient notice to initiate discharge

under [in accordance with] this subchapter. The registration form must be sent to: Wastewater Permits

Section, Water Quality Division, MC 148, Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission, P.O. Box

13087, Austin, Texas 78711. The executive director will send an acknowledgment of the registration form

to the discharger.

(b) In the event of an emergency repair[/] or replacement, a registration form may be submitted

within five days after discharge.

(c) A registration shall be valid for a period not to exceed five years. In order to renew a

registration, a new registration form must be filed with the executive director at least ten days before the

registration expiration date. Submittal of a registration form is sufficient notice to renew a registration and

to authorize continued discharging under this subchapter. The executive director will send an

acknowledgment of the registration form to the discharger.

(d) If renewal procedures have been initiated before the registration expiration date, the existing
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registration will remain in full force and effect and will not expire until commission action on the

application for renewal is final.

(e) A registration form submitted to the executive director shall include an application fee of $100.

§321.106. General Requirements for Discharges.

The [Unless exempted by §321.103(a) of this title (relating to New Facilities) or §321.104(a) of

this title (relating to Used Facilities), the] following general requirements apply unless exempted by

§321.103(a) of this title (relating to New Facilities) or §321.104(a) of this title (relating to Used Facilities).

(1) The discharger shall notify the appropriate agency regional [TWC district] office by
telephone at least two days before [prior to] discharge. For emergency facility repair or replacement, the
discharger shall notify the appropriate agency regional [TWC district] office by telephone as soon as

possible.

(2) The discharge shall not cause any nuisance conditions to adjacent landowners along

the discharge route.

(3) The discharger shall take all steps necessary to prevent any adverse effect to human

health or safety, or to the environment. Immediately upon the notification from the agency’s regional office

[supervisor of the TWC District Office] that the discharge is presenting a hazard to the uses of the receiving

water, the discharger shall terminate such discharge. The discharge shall cease immediately whenever
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problems associated with the discharge may endanger human health or safety, or the environment, and the
problems shall be reported to the agency’s central [TWC Austin] and appropriate regional [district] offices

as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours following their discovery. A written report shall be

submitted to the agency’s central [TWC Austin] and regional [district] offices within five working days.

The report shall contain;

(A) a description of the location;

(B) the exact date and time the problem was first identified;

(©) the potential danger to human health or safety, or the environment;

(D) the immediate steps that were taken to correct the problem;

(E) steps planned and[/or] taken to mitigate any adverse effects; and

(B) plans to prevent the reoccurrence of similar problems during other hydrostatic

test discharges. The discharge of hydrostatic test water shall not be acutely toxic to aquatic life.

(4) Concentration of taste and odor producing substances shall not interfere with the
production of potable water by reasonable water treatment methods, impart unpalatable flavor to food fish
including shellfish, result in offensive odors arising from the waters, or otherwise interfere with the

reasonable use of the water in the state.
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(5) Any earthen pits or surface impoundments used in conjunction with the disposal of
hydrostatic test water shall be properly designed and constructed to prevent percolation and to protect

groundwater in the state.

(6) Solid [disposal of solid] wastes, including cleanup wastes, shall be disposed of under

[in accordance with] the Solid Waste Disposal Act, Article 4477-7.

§321.107. Specific Requirements for Discharges.

Unless exempted by §321.103(a) of this title (relating to New Facilities) or §321.104(a) of this title

(relating to Used Facilities), the following specific requirements apply.

(1) Point of discharge.

(A) The discharge shall be to a splash pad to aerate the hydrostatic test water.

(B) AIll hydrostatic test water shall be discharged through a filter media, such as

hay bales, for filtering of suspended solids. The filter media shall be properly located and anchored to

prevent bypassing.

(C) The rate of discharge shall be controlled to prevent flooding and erosion.

(2) Monitoring.
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(A) The discharger shall maintain authorized personnel at the site at all times to

monitor and sample the discharge.

(B) Grab samples shall be collected in wide mouth, clear jars every two hours
during the discharge and inspected for the appearance of oil and grease or the detection of a chemical odor.
The discharge shall cease immediately if contamination is evident and the appropriate agency regional
[TWC district] office shall be notified within 24 hours. The remaining test water shall be evaluated for

additional treatment or alternate means of disposal.

(C) Atleast two grab samples for analysis shall be collected during the discharge.
The initial grab sample shall be collected within the first hour of discharge, and the final grab sample shall
be collected during the last hour of discharge. Individual samples shall be analyzed for chemical oxygen

demand or total organic carbon, and the maximum concentration reported as required in paragraph (4) of

this section. The sampling point shall be downstream of the filter media, or following any other treatment

unit that is used [may be utilized].

(D) Grab samples for oil and grease analysis shall be collected during the first and
last hours of the discharge. Each sample shall be analyzed separately and the maximum oil and grease
concentration reported as required in paragraph (4) of this section. The sampling point shall be downstream

of the filter media, or following any other treatment unit that is used [may be utilized].

(E) Grab samples for pH analysis shall be collected once each day of discharge
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and reported as required in paragraph (4) of this section. The sample point shall be downstream of the

filter, or following any other treatment unit that is used [may be utilized].

(F) All sample collection shall be conducted according to recommendations found
in the latest edition of "Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater” (prepared and
published jointly by the American Public Health Association, the American Waterworks Association, and
the Water Pollution Control Federation), or Environmental Protection Agency, "Methods for Chemical
Analysis of Water and Wastes" (1979), or Environmental Protection Agency, "Biological Field and

Laboratory Methods for Measuring the Quality of Surface Waters and Effluents" (1973).

(G) Sample containers, holding times, preservation methods, and the physical,

chemical, and microbiological analyses of effluents shall meet the requirements [specified in regulations

published] in 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 136, as amended. [pursuant to the Federal Water

Pollution Control Act, §304(g), and] All analyses shall be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136, as

amended, [this federal regulation] or the latest edition of "Standard Methods for the Examination of Water

and Wastewater."

(3) Effluent limitations.

(A) The following daily maximum effluent limitations apply to all discharges of

hydrostatic test water: Figure: 30 TAC §321.107(3)(A)
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Daily Maximum

Parameter Limitation Sample Type
Chemical Oxygen Demand* 250 mg/1 Grab
Total Organic Carbon* 85 mg/1 Grab
Oil and Grease 15 mg/1 Grab

* Analyze and report either Chemical Oxygen Demand or Total Organic Carbon

(B) The pH of the discharge shall not be less than 6.0 nor greater than 9.0 standard
units; and
(C) There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible foam other than in

trace amounts, and no discharge of visible oil.

(4) Reporting. All analytical results shall be reported to the agency’s central [TWC Austin] office
on the "Hydrostatic Test Report" form provided by the executive director. All violations of effluent
limitations shall be noted on the form and plans discussed to prevent similar violations during other hydro-
static test discharges. Results shall be submitted to the commission within 25 days after termination of the

discharge.



