National Audubon Society, Inc. d/b/a Audubon Texas

Texas Coastal Island Stewardship Program

Project Description:

Third-Party Administrator manages a system of island sanctuaries along the Texas coast. See Exhibit 3. These islands constitute more than 4,000 acres that are home to twenty-five species of colonial waterbirds, several of which are considered endangered or threatened. Many of the species of waterbirds nest only on islands owned or leased by Third-Party Administrator. Colonial waterbirds depend on these rookery islands for reproduction and survivability. Third-Party Administrator's coastal sanctuaries host the largest Reddish Egret and Roseate Spoonbill colonies in the world and were instrumental in helping de-list the Brown Pelican from the endangered species list. The islands include a variety of habitats such as shoreline, tidal flats, marshes, uplands, and aquatic zones. Several leased properties are man-made dredge spoil sites that have been improved with native vegetation to support nesting colonial waterbirds.

Third-Party Administrator shall use SEP Funds for a portion of its lease payments for the islands where this Project will take place. SEP Funds will also be used for predator control activities, including traps, baits, fire ant control, and fuel for accessing the islands to place the traps and baits. Contractors will also be hired periodically to conduct larger-scale predator control activities such as feral hog removal. Third-Party Administrator shall also use SEP Funds for restoration activities, including planting native trees and shrubs, herbicide for invasive species removal, equipment such as rakes and shovels for manual invasive species removal, and fuel for transporting volunteers and staff for restoration activities will also include purchase and disposal of a Bagster in order to remove collected trash from the islands. Third-Party Administrator shall also purchase materials for building nesting towers, to purchase "No Trespassing" signs and, to hire a contractor to install the signs across the islands.

Third-Party Administrator shall use SEP Funds for personnel labor through its warden program. Wardens shall conduct monitoring, habitat enhancement, and predator management. Wardens shall also conduct island management activities such as patrolling and censusing bird populations by boat during the nesting season, developing new nesting habitat through plantings, and monitoring predator activity and erosion.

Eligible Sites:

Third-Party Administrator owns a one-third interest in 100-acre Deer Island in Galveston County. The remaining areas under this Project are leased from the Texas General Land Office, local Navigation Districts, and local Port Authorities.

Environmental Benefit:

The populations of many species of waterbird located along the Texas coast have been declining. Healthy feeding and nesting habitats are essential to the waterbirds' ability to survive and successfully reproduce. This Project addresses threats to waterbird habitats such as erosion and subsidence, loss of nesting vegetation, fire ants, human disturbance, and mammal predators. This Project will also improve water quality in and around the island sanctuaries.

Eligible Areas and Counties:

This project may receive contributions from the following:

Anderson, Andrews, Aransas, Archer, Atascosa, Austin, Bailey, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Brazoria, Brazos, Brooks, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Chambers, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collin, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Crockett, Crosby, Dallas, Dawson, Denton, DeWitt, Dickens, Dimmit, Duval, Eastland, Ector, Edwards, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Fayette, Fisher, Floyd, Fort Bend, Freestone, Frio, Gaines, Galveston, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Grayson, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hamilton, Hardin, Haskell, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, Hockley, Hood, Houston, Howard, Hunt, Irion, Jack, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Kleberg, Knox, Lamb, Lampasas, La Salle, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Live Oak, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, Madison, Martin, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McCulloch, McLennan McMullen, Menard, Medina, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell Montague, Navarro, Nolan, Nueces, Palo Pinto, Parker, Parmer, Polk, Reagan, Real, Refugio, Robertson, Refugio, Runnels, San Patricio, San Saba, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Somervell, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Travis, Trinity, Upton, Uvalde, Van Zandt, Walker, Waller, Washington, Victoria, Webb, Wharton, Willacy, Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Yoakum, Young, and Zavala Counties

Minimum Contribution Amount:

\$500