Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Navigation

Questions or Comments:
You are here: Home / News / Releases / TCEQ Accepting Applications for Light-Duty Purchase or Lease Incentive Program

TCEQ Accepting Applications for Light-Duty Purchase or Lease Incentive Program

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - Up to $2,500 for the purchase or lease of eligible new vehicles powered by compressed natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas, or electric drives.
ContactLisa Wheeler
Phone512-239-5003
Pager512-606-3681

 

Visit  terpgrants.org or call 1-800-919-TERP (8377) to apply.

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality today announced that up to $7.7 million in financial incentives is being made available toward the purchase or lease of eligible new vehicles powered by compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied petroleum gas (propane), or electric drives.

Senate Bill 1727, enacted by the 83rd Texas Legislature, revised the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan’s Light-Duty Motor Vehicle Purchase or Lease Incentive Program as a statewide program to provide up to $2,500 per eligible vehicle.  

Owners or lessees are eligible for the following incentive amounts:

•    Purchase - $2,500
•    Lease - $2,500 (4-year lease term); $1,875 (3-year to <4-year lease term); $1,250 (2-year to < 3-year lease   term); and $625 (1-year to < 2-year lease term).

The TCEQ has compiled a list of vehicle makes and models that vehicle and conversion system manufacturers report may meet the eligibility criteria and be available for sale or lease in Texas.  This list will be updated whenever a manufacturer submits new information.

The application period will run through June 2015, until all funding is depleted or the limits on the maximum number of vehicles are reached. The maximum number of vehicles allowed is 2,000 electric drive vehicles and 2,000 CNG and propane vehicles.

Only vehicles sold through a franchised dealer in Texas, or leased from a leasing company licensed to do business in Texas, may be eligible.  Vehicles purchased from the manufacturer or from an out-of-state dealer would not be eligible.  For leased vehicles, the vehicle must be purchased by the leasing company from a franchise dealer in Texas as well.  Recipients of the grant will be required to title, register, and operate the vehicle in Texas for one year.