Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Complaint Arrow Questions or Comments:
You are here: Home / Permits, Registrations, and Reporting / Interstate River Compact Commissions / What Are the Interstate River Compact Commissions?

What Are the Interstate River Compact Commissions?

How and why interstate river compacts are established. How the compacts are administered and how Texas is represented.

Texas is a member of five interstate river compacts. Each of these compacts is an agreement to water rights in a specific river basin, dividing the rights to that water between the member states. Each compact is administered by an interstate commission that protects each member state’s rights under that compact.

Texas Intrastate River Compact Commissions

The Texas Legislature established the following five intrastate compact commissions as state agencies to represent Texas on the five interstate commissions. The TCEQ maintains the database of river flows, diversions, and other technical information to support these intrastate compact commissions.