Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Navigation

Questions or Comments:
wasteval@tceq.texas.gov
You are here: Home / Permitting / Registration / Dry_Cleaners / Requirements for Dry Cleaning Solvent Distributors

Requirements for Dry Cleaning Solvent Distributors

Information about reporting and fee-collection requirements for dry cleaning solvent distributors. Reporting form for reporting and submitting solvent fees collected.

Distributors of dry cleaning solvents must do the following:

  1. Submit initial Solvent Distributor Report Form.
  2. Before selling solvent, make sure the customer is registered as a dry cleaner facility with the TCEQ.
  3. Collect solvent fees at certain dry cleaner facilities.
  4. Once each quarter, complete a report on the sales for that quarter.
  5. Send a report and the collected fees to the TCEQ.

1. Submit Initial Solvent Distributor Report Form

Dry Cleaner distributors must submit an initial Solvent Distributor Report Form containing contact information. Subsequent reports contain information on the solvents sold and the fees collected by the distributor.

2. Make Sure Your Customers Are Registered

Each dry cleaning facility in Texas must be registered with the TCEQ.

Ask to see the customer’s registration certificate from the TCEQ before you sell them any solvent.

You can also check the Registered Dry Cleaning Facilities and Drop Stations query to see if you can deliver solvent to the facility.

You must not sell dry cleaning solvent to a customer unless you can verify that the customer is current with their registration.

If you have any questions about the validity of a registration certificate, call the Dry Cleaner Registration Team at 512/239-2160.

3. Collect Solvent Fees at Certain Dry Cleaner Facilities

The law requires that solvent distributors collect a fee on the purchase of dry cleaning solvents at certain facilities with the exception of carbon dioxide (CO2).

The solvent fees are:

SolventSolvent Fee Amount
perchloroethylene ("perc") $20 per gallon
other solvents $3 per gallon

The following table lists the types of certificates and whether solvent fees should or should not be collected.

Certificate TypeSolvent Fees Collected
Drop Station Solvent should not be delivered to a drop station.
Registered
Dry Cleaning Facility
Solvent Fees should be collected from a facility with this certificate.
Participating
Non-Perchloroethylene
Solvent Fees should not be collected from a facility with this certificate, however, if perchloroethylene is delivered, it should be reported to the TCEQ.
Non-Participating
Non-Perchloroethylene
Solvent Fees should not be collected from a facility with this certificate, however, if perchloroethylene is delivered, it should be reported to the TCEQ.

Remember to calculate fees before adding the sales tax.

4. Complete a Quarterly Report

Complete and submit the Solvent Distributor Report Form on or before the due date.

The following table lists the quarterly reporting periods and the due date of each report:

Reporting
Period #
Reporting PeriodReport Due
1 September 1–November 30 December 20
2 December 1–February 28/29 March 20
3 March 1–May 31 June 20
4 June 1–August 31 September 20

5. Send Us the Report and the Fees You Have Collected

Mail the report and fees to:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Cashier's Office (MC-214)
PO Box 13088
Austin TX  78711-3088

Questions? Call Us!

For answers to your questions about the Dry Cleaner Program, call the TCEQ Dry Cleaner Registration Team at 512/239-2160.