Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Questions or Comments:
You are here: Home / Permitting / Water Rights and Availability / Watermasters / South Texas Watermaster Program / South Texas Watermaster Program

South Texas Watermaster Program

About the South Texas Watermaster Program, the area under its jurisdiction, and how to contact the office.


About the South Texas Watermaster Program

The South Texas Watermaster Program is responsible for an area that encompasses 50 counties in south central Texas. Five field deputies patrol these counties from offices located near their jurisdictional areas. Water-right management is based on “run of the river rights.” That means the deputies oversee a constantly changing, dynamic surface-water system of rivers and tributaries that allow diversions as water is available and as it passes individual diversion points.

The watermaster program informs individuals and groups as needed concerning water rights and other matters related to availability of surface water. The program also responds to complaints and may follow up with enforcement actions if necessary.

Deputies also provide services such as measuring reservoirs to insure compliance with state law requirements. They perform Doppler measurements on diversion water pipes and may set stream-flow markers to help water-right holders comply with guidelines. Databases are kept to document amounts of water authorized and used.

The watermaster program will also update and maintain water-right ownerships and assessments due on each water-right account.

South Texas Watermaster’s Office

South Texas Watermaster
14250 Judson Road
San Antonio, TX 78233-4480
Voice: 1-800-733-2733
Fax: (210) 545-4329


River BasinCounties
Guadalupe Bandera, Bastrop, Blanco, Caldwell, Calhoun, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Victoria, Wilson
Lavaca Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Jackson, Lavaca, Wharton
Lavaca-Guadalupe Coastal Calhoun, DeWitt, Jackson, Lavaca, Victoria
Nueces Atacosta, Bandera, Bee, Bexar, Dimmit, Duval, Edwards, Frio, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Live Oak, Maverick, McMullen, Medina, Nueces, Real, San Patricio, Uvalde, Webb, Wilson, Zavala
Nueces–Rio Grande Coastal Brooks, Duval, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Nueces, Starr, Webb, Willacy
San Antonio Bandera, Bexar, Comal, DeWitt, Goliad, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Medina, Victoria, Wilson
San Antonio–Nueces Coastal Aransas, Bee, Goliad, Karnes, Refugio, San Patricio