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Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Interoffice Memorandum

To: Commissioners Date: October 15, 2021

Thru: Laurie Gharis, Chief Clerk
Toby Baker, Executive Director

From: Brent Wade, Director
Office of Waste

Docket No.: 2020-0032-RUL

Subject: Commission Approval for Rulemaking Adoption
Chapter 335, Industrial Solid Waste and Municipal Hazardous Waste
IHW Generator and Management Fees Increase
Rule Project No. 2020-010-335-WS

Background and reason(s) for the rulemaking:

Revisions to the industrial and hazardous waste (IHW) generator and management fee
rules are needed to increase revenue into the Waste Management Account, Fund 0549.
Fund 0549 is facing a declining fund balance and these fee rates have not been adjusted
since 1994.

Scope of the rulemaking:

A.) Summary of what the rulemaking will do:

This rulemaking adoption will increase the fees for generation and management of IHW.
Additionally, it will give the executive director the ability to adjust the fees on an annual
basis at or below the new adopted fee schedules.

B.) Scope required by federal regulations or state statutes:
Not applicable.

C.) Additional staff recommendations that are not required by federal rule or state
statute:
¢ 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §335.325, to increase the IHW management

fee schedule by 45% and to allow the executive director the ability to adjust the
actual IHW management fee at or below the new fee schedule amounts. The
executive director anticipates phasing in the fee increase over smaller increments
and highlighting the declining Fund 549 balance during the 2023 Legislative
Session. The executive director projects a 12% increase during the first year and
11% for the subsequent three years. The executive director will evaluate the fund
balance and projected revenue each fiscal year to determine if these fee increases
are necessary.

Per Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §361.133(d), the Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality (agency or commission) may collect up to $16 million per
year for this fee. Based on current disposal amounts, a 45% increase phased in over
four years will result in an estimated revenue close to, but below, the $16 million
cap.
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Granting the executive director the ability to adjust the fee will allow the program
area to evaluate yearly trends in disposal amounts and adjust the fee, at or below
the maximums in the new fee schedule, to keep the total revenue close to the $16
million cap.

e 30 TAC §335.323, to increase the IHW generation fee schedule from $0.50 to a
maximum of $2.00 per ton for nonhazardous waste generation, increase the IHW
generation fee schedule from $2.00 to a maximum of $6.00 per ton for hazardous
waste generation, and allow the executive director the ability to adjust the actual
IHW generator fee at or below the new fee schedule amounts. The executive
director anticipates phasing in the fee increase over four years and highlighting
the declining Fund 549 balance during the 2023 Legislative Session. The executive
director will evaluate the fund balance and projected revenue each fiscal year to
determine if these fee increases are necessary.

THSC, §361.134(c) has a statutory minimum of $50 and a maximum of $50,000 for
hazardous waste generation and $10,000 for nonhazardous waste generation.

The adopted fee schedule changes will allow the agency to equitably collect fees for waste
processing and disposal across the waste program activities.

Statutory authority:

The rulemaking is adopted under the authority of THSC, §361.024, which provides the
commission with the authority to adopt rules necessary to carry out its power and duties
under the Texas Solid Waste Disposal Act; THSC, §361.017, which establishes the
commission's jurisdiction over all aspects of the management of industrial solid waste
and hazardous municipal waste with all power necessary or convenient to carry out the
responsibilities of that jurisdiction; THSC, §361.134, which authorizes the commission to
collect an annual generation fee from each generator who produces Class I industrial
solid waste or hazardous waste; THSC, §361.136, which authorizes the commission to
collect a fee on industrial solid waste and hazardous waste managed at a facility; and
Texas Water Code, §5.103, which authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary
to carry out its power and duties.

Effect on the:

A.) Regulated community:

This rulemaking adoption will increase fees for generation and management of waste by
the regulated entities, which may alter generation and disposal amounts or methods. The
mid-range of fee payers represent about 45% of the regulated community.

B.) Public:

Although there is no anticipated direct impact to the public, the public may experience
increased fees for waste generation or passed through price increases due to increased
fees on waste management. There could be a small environmental benefit from waste
generation reductions.
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C.) Agency programs:
An increase to the fees will positively affect the agency's waste programs dependent on
Fund 0549.

Stakeholder meetings:

A stakeholder meeting was held prior to the separation of the fee increase portion from
the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act Rulemaking - Phase 2 cluster (Rule Project
No. 2019-086-335-WS). No comments were received in response to the fee increase
portion.

Public comment:

The commission held a virtual public hearing on June 29, 2021. The comment period
closed on Tuesday, July 06, 2021. The commission received written comments from
Corteva Agriscience, Day Enterprises, LLC, Heritage Environmental Services, LLC, Texas
Molecular Holdings, LLC, and US Ecology. One of the comments was in support of the
proposed rule revisions, three of the comments were against the proposed rule revisions,
one comment was neither in support of nor against the proposed rule revisions, and all
the comments suggested changes. The comment letter from Texas Molecular Holdings,
LLC, was postmarked July 6, 2021 and received on July 9, 2021.

Comments focused on the following topics: a phased implementation of the fee increases
over a period of years; increases to statutory limits; increase to municipal solid waste
disposal fees in statute; competitiveness with other states’ fee structures; additional
stakeholder involvement; advanced notification of fee changes; clarifications for language
relating to tables and figures; and clarification for the amount of increase to generation
fees.

In response to comments about a phased implementation of the fee increases over a
period of years, the executive director will phase in both fee increases incrementally over
four years as described above. This will not require a change in rule.

Significant changes from proposal:

There were no significant rule changes made; however, rule language regarding
notification of fee adjustments was added, and the titles of the figures in §335.323 and
§335.325 were revised to increase clarity and consistency.

Potential controversial concerns and legislative interest:
It is anticipated that due to the adopted fee increase the rulemaking may generate public
interest; however, the fee has not been increased since 1994.

The increase in waste generation fees could provide generators an incentive to reduce
their waste generation as a cost saving. While such reduction in waste generation would
benefit human health and the environment, there is a possibility that revenue might not
increase as much as anticipated due to lower waste generation amounts.
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Will this rulemaking affect any current policies or require development of new
policies?

This rulemaking adoption will not affect current policies or require development of new
policies.

What are the consequences if this rulemaking does not go forward? Are there
alternatives to rulemaking?

The alternative is to not increase fees and continue to maintain a budget deficit in Fund
0549.

Key points in the adoption rulemaking schedule:
Texas Register proposal publication date: June 4, 2021
Anticipated Texas Register adoption publication date: November 19, 2021
Anticipated effective date: November 25, 2021
Six-month Texas Register filing deadline: December 4, 2021

Agency contacts:

Garrett Heathman, Rule Project Manager, Waste Permits Division, (512) 239-0520
Audrey Liter, Staff Attorney, (512) 239-0684

Cecilia Mena, Texas Register Rule/Agenda Coordinator, (512) 239-6098

Attachments:
None.

cc: Chief Clerk, 2 copies
Executive Director's Office
Jim Rizk
Morgan Johnson
Brody Burks
Office of General Counsel
Garrett Heathman
Audrey Liter
Cecilia Mena
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The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, agency, or commission)

adopts the amendments to §335.323 and §335.325.

Amended §335.323 and §335.325 are adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the June 04, 2021, issue of the Texas Register (46 TexReg 3499) and,

therefore, will be republished.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted Rules

Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §361.134 and §361.136 allows the commission
to collect fees for industrial solid waste and hazardous waste generation and
management. Industrial solid waste covers what is commonly referred to as Class 1
nonhazardous waste or nonhazardous waste. Additionally, THSC, §361.133(d) sets a
collection cap up to $16 million in waste management fees annually and THSC,
§361.134(c) provides collection caps of $10,000 and $50,000 for nonhazardous and
hazardous waste generators, respectively. Fee schedules for waste generators and
waste management have not changed since 1994. The commission adopts an increase
in both the generator and management fees and the ability to adjust fees annually
under a specified maximum fee schedule. The increase in fees and the ability to adjust
fees will allow the commission to optimize existing statutory caps to manage the
Waste Management Account more adequately. The commission will utilize various

communication strategies to inform the public and regulated entities of fee changes.
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Section by Section Discussion

In addition to the adopted revisions associated with this rulemaking, various non-
substantive changes are adopted to update references or correct grammar to be

consistent throughout Chapter 335. These changes are non-substantive and are not

specifically discussed in the Section by Section Discussion portion of this preamble.

Subchapter J: Hazardous Waste Generation, Facility and Disposal Fee System

§335.323, Generation Fee Assessment

The commission adopts the amendments to the tables located in §335.323(e)(1) and (2)
to provide for increases to the generator fee for both hazardous and Class 1
nonhazardous waste generators. The commission adopts §335.323(e)(3) to allow the
executive director to adjust the fees on an annual basis at or below the established
maximum annual fee schedules in the revised tables located in §335.323(e)(1) and (2).
Since the proposal, the tables in §335.323(e)(1) and (2) are amended to include table
numbers and titles. The table in §335.323(e)(2) is amended to clarify the classification
of waste. The commission is making these changes to clarify the names of the fee

schedules in response to comments.

In response to comments, the agency is further describing how the executive director
will inform regulated entities of the fee change. For generator fees, which are paid
annually on the calendar year, the executive director plans to provide communication

of changes 30 days before the initial fee rate change and 90 days before any future
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changes to the fee rate. If adopted, the executive director would charge the new fee
rate to waste generated on or after January 1, 2022 and would send communication of
changes for the 2022 fee schedule by December 1, 2021. After the initial rollout,
communication of yearly fee adjustments would occur no later than October 1 of the
year prior to the effective date of the fee adjustments. Since the proposal, language
has been added to §335.323(e)(3) stating the executive director will notify fee payers of
the new fee rate before the rates go into effect. Additionally, the executive director
made a non-substantive clarification by replacing "up to" with "below" to better
describe that the executive director must set fee rates at or below the fee schedules in

rule.

In response to comments, the executive director anticipates increasing the generation
fee in four equivalent increases over a period of four years. For generator fees, the
executive director will begin charging increased fees for the first adjustment on
January 1, 2022, and future adjustments on each subsequent January 1. The executive
director will monitor fund balances and projected revenue each fiscal year to

determine if adjustments are necessary.

§335.325, Industrial Solid Waste and Hazardous Waste Management Fee Assessment
The commission adopts the amendments to the tables located in §335.325(j)(1) and (2)
to provide for increases to the waste management fee for both hazardous and Class 1

nonhazardous waste management facilities. The commission adopts §335.325()(3) to
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allow the executive director to adjust the fees on an annual basis at or below the
established maximum fee schedules in the revised tables located in §335.325(j)(1) and
(2). Since the proposal, the tables in §335.325(j)(1) and (2) are amended to include table

numbers and titles. The commission is making this change to clarify the names of the

tables in response to comments.

In response to comments, the agency is further describing how the executive director
will inform regulated entities of the fee change. For management fees, which are paid
monthly, the executive director plans to provide communication of changes 90 days
before the initial fee rate change and 90 days before any future changes to the fee rate.
If adopted, the executive director would charge the new fee rate to waste managed on
or after March 1, 2022, and communication of changes would be provided by
December 1, 2021. After the initial rollout, the fees would be adjusted annually, on
September 1 of each year, and communication of changes would be provided by June 1
of each year. Since the proposal, language has been added to §335.325(j)(3) stating the
executive director will notify fee payers of the new fee rate before the rates go into effect.
Additionally, the executive director made a non-substantive clarification by replacing
"up to" with "below" to better describe that the executive director must set fee rates at or

below the fee schedules in rule.

In response to comments, the executive director anticipates increasing the

management fee in four nearly equivalent increases over a period of three and a half
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years. For management fees, the executive director will begin charging increased fees
for the first adjustment on March 1, 2022, and on September 1, 2023, for the second
adjustment, and future adjustments, if necessary, on each subsequent September 1.

The executive director will monitor fund balances and projected revenue each fiscal

year to determine if adjustments are necessary.

Final Regulatory Impact Determination

The commission reviewed the rulemaking adoption in light of the regulatory analysis
requirements of the Texas Government Code, §2001.0225. The commission
determined that the action is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225,
because it does not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as defined in
that statute. A "major environmental rule" is a rule with the specific intent to protect
the environment or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure, and
that may adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy,
productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the public health and safety of the

state or a sector of the state.

The specific intent of the rulemaking adoption is not to protect the environment or to
reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure. The intent of the
rulemaking adoption is to provide additional revenue for the commission's waste fund,
thus the rulemaking adoption is not a major environmental rule. Additionally, this

rulemaking does not adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a section of the
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economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the public health and

safety of the state or a sector of the state.

Furthermore, even if the rulemaking adoption did meet the definition of a "major
environmental rule," the adopted rules do not meet any of the four applicability
requirements listed in Texas Government Code, §2001.0225. Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225 applies to a major environmental rule, the result of which is to: (1) exceed
a standard set by federal law, unless the rule is specifically required by state law; (2)
exceed an express requirement of state law, unless the rule is specifically required by
federal law; (3) exceed a requirement of a delegation agreement or contract between
the state and an agency or representative of the federal government to implement a
state and federal program; or (4) adopt a rule solely under the general powers of the

agency instead of under a specific state law.

First, the rulemaking will not exceed a standard set by federal law because the
commission is adopting this rulemaking within the authority given by the federal

hazardous waste program.

Second, the rulemaking will not adopt requirements that are more stringent than
existing state laws. The THSC authorizes the commission to collect an annual
generation fee from each generator who generates Class I industrial solid waste or

hazardous waste and to collect a fee on industrial solid waste and hazardous waste
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managed at a facility, and the rulemaking adoption seeks to adjust fees consistent with

state law.

Third, the rulemaking adoption will not exceed a requirement of a delegation
agreement or contract between the state and an agency or representative of the federal
government, where the delegation agreement or contract is to implement a state and
federal program. Rather, the commission is adopting rules necessary to maintain the

budget for the authorized state hazardous waste program.

Fourth, this rulemaking adoption does not seek to adopt a rule solely under the
general powers of the agency because sections of the THSC authorize this rulemaking.
The Statutory Authority section of this preamble cites to the sections of the THSC that

authorize this rulemaking.

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft Regulatory Impact
Analysis Determination during the public comment period. No comments were

received on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination.

Takings Impact Assessment
The commission evaluated the rulemaking adoption and performed analysis of
whether the rulemaking adoption constitutes a taking under Texas Government Code,

Chapter 2007. The specific purpose of the rulemaking adoption is to provide the
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additional revenue necessary to operate commission waste program activities funded
by the Waste Management Account in a manner that is consistent with the statutory
requirements set forth in the THSC. The rulemaking adoption will substantially
advance this stated purpose by increasing the fees for industrial solid waste and

hazardous waste generation and management and enabling the commission to adjust

fees annually in accordance with existing statutory caps.

Promulgation and enforcement of the rulemaking adoption will be neither a statutory
nor a constitutional taking of private real property. Specifically, the subject adopted
regulations will not affect a landowner's rights in private real property because this
rulemaking will not burden (constitutionally) nor restrict or limit the owner's right to
property and reduce its value by 25% or more beyond that which would otherwise exist
in the absence of the regulations. In other words, the rulemaking adoption will not
burden private real property because it will amend a fee rule relating to funding for

the commission's waste program activities.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed this rulemaking adoption for consistency with the Coastal
Management Program (CMP) goals and policies in accordance with the regulations of
the Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee and determined that the amendments
are consistent with CMP goals and policies. The amendments are consistent with CMP

goals and policies because the rulemaking is a fee rule, which is a procedural
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mechanism for paying for commission programs; will not have direct or significant
adverse effect on any coastal natural resource areas; will not have a substantive effect
on commission actions subject to the CMP; and promulgation and enforcement of the

amendments will not violate (exceed) any standards identified in the applicable CMP

goals and policies.

The commission invited public comment regarding the consistency with the CMP

during the public comment period. No comments were received regarding the CMP.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on June 29, 2021. The comment period closed
on July 06, 2021. The commission received comments from Corteva Agriscience (CA),
Day Enterprises, LLC (DE), Heritage Environmental Services, LLC (HES), Texas Molecular
Holdings LLC (TM), and US Ecology (USE). One of the comments was in support of the
proposed rule revisions, three of the comments were against the proposed rule
revisions, one comment was neither in support of nor against the proposed rule
revisions, and all of the comments suggested changes to the proposed rules or fee

structures.

Response to Comments
Comment

CA disagreed with the increase to the maximum generation fee schedule that would
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allow an increase to the maximum fee in one year and recommended capping
generation fee increases with a maximum annual percentage. HES recommended a
phased approach to fee increases. USE asked if it is necessary for the commission to

increase the fees to the maximum, or if a phased increase could meet the commission's

needs.

Response

The Waste Management Account, Fund 0549, is facing a declining fund balance, and
an increase in revenue is necessary for the commission to carry out its duties for
waste management programs. After considering the comments received, the
commission agrees that a phased approach is appropriate to increase fee rates, up
to the maximum schedules. The executive director will utilize the flexibility in
newly adopted 30 TAC §335.323(e)(3) and §335.325(j)(3) to incrementally increase
the fee rates and anticipates four equivalent increases over a period of three and a
half years for the management fee and four years for the generation fee. The
executive director will monitor fund balances and projected revenue each fiscal
year to determine if increases are necessary. The commission has made no changes

in rule in response to these comments.

Comment
DE recommended that the commission increase the waste management annual fee cap

under THSC, §361.133(d) and to adjust the cap and fee annually based on inflation to



Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Page 11
Chapter 335 - Industrial Solid Waste and Municipal Hazardous Waste
Rule Project No. 2020-010-335-WS

provide additional support to the commission’s waste program activities.

Response

The Texas state legislature initiates revisions to statutory fee cap, and the
commission’s role is to implement rules in accordance with the legislation pursuant
to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001. The commission has the authority to
increase the fees for hazardous and Class 1 nonhazardous waste management
under THSC, §361.136, but must remain within the statutory fee cap established in
THSC, §361.133(d). The adopted fee increase was developed to allow the
commission to meet but not exceed the statutory limit. The commission does not
have the authority to adjust the statutory cap. Therefore, the commission cannot
adjust the fee cap based on inflation. The commission has made no changes in

response to this comment.

Comment

HES and USE commented that the proposed fee increases could reduce Texas industry
competitiveness with industries in other states, and USE commented that if customers
doing business in Texas utilize out of state disposal options there could be a revenue

reduction.

Response

The commission considered the fee rate structures used by other states and



Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Page 12
Chapter 335 - Industrial Solid Waste and Municipal Hazardous Waste

Rule Project No. 2020-010-335-WS

determined that the adopted fee structure is comparable. However, as described in
the above response to comment, the commission will utilize a phased incremental
increase in fee rates, up to the maximum schedules, and anticipates four equivalent
increases over a period of three and a half to four years. The executive director will
monitor fund balances and projected revenue each fiscal year to determine if
increases are necessary. Additionally, and as discussed in a response to comment
below, the executive director will analyze waste management and disposal trends
over the previous 18 months before setting the waste management fee rate for the
upcoming year. The commission has made no changes in rule in response to this

comment.

Comment
HES and USE recommended that the commission initiate a new stakeholder group to

further address the fee increases.

Response

The commission requested comments and guidance from the regulated community
through a stakeholder meeting and 30-day comment period in July 2019 and
received no substantive comments. The commission has made no changes in

response to this comment.

Comment
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USE recommends increasing the statutory cap for municipal solid waste (MSW) fees in

lieu of the proposed industrial and hazardous waste fees increase.

Response

The Texas state legislature initiates revisions to statutory fee caps, and the
commission’s role is to implement rules in accordance with the legislation pursuant
to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001. The commission has the authority to
increase the fees for hazardous and Class 1 nonhazardous waste generators and
management under THSC, §361.134 and §361.136 subject to statutory caps. This
rule increases the fees while remaining within the statutory cap provided by THSC,
§361.134(c) and §361.133(d). The commission does not have the authority to raise
the MSW fees above the rates set in THSC, §361.013. Moreover, any revisions to
MSW fees are beyond the scope of this rulemaking. Thus, the commission has made

no changes in response to this comment.

Comment
USE recommended revisions to the proposed management fee structure to avoid

exceeding the revenue caps or issuing rebates.

Response
The management fee increase was developed to meet but not exceed the statutory

limit in THSC, §361.133(d). The purpose of the ability to adjust the fee in the future
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is to prevent overcollection caused by increased waste volumes. The executive
director will analyze waste management and disposal trends over the previous 18

months before setting the fee for the upcoming year. The commission has made no

changes in response to this comment.

Comment

USE and TM recommend revising the proposed regulations to include advance
notification for fee revisions and the commission's plans to annually adjust the fees to
allow the regulated community to plan for the adjustments. TM recommends a 60-day

minimum advance notification.

Response

The commission acknowledges the impact fee adjustments may have in fee payers'
budgeting processes and will communicate changes 90 days before the new fees
become effective. Communications will include updates to agency forms and
websites, along with notification through GovDelivery listservs and other email

communication.

For management fees, which are paid monthly, the executive director plans to
provide communication of changes 90 days before the initial fee rate change and 90
days before any future changes to the fee rate. If adopted, the executive director

would charge the new fee rate to waste managed on or after March 1, 2022, and
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communication of changes would be provided by December 1, 2021. After the

initial rollout, the fees would be adjusted annually, on September 1 of each year,

and communication of changes would be provided by June 1 of each year.

For generator fees, which are paid annually on the calendar year, the executive
director plans to provide communication of changes 30 days before the initial fee
rate change and 90 days before any future changes to the fee rate. If adopted, the
executive director would charge the new fee rate to waste generated on or after
January 1, 2022 and would send communication of changes for the 2022 fee
schedule by December 1, 2021. After the initial rollout, communication of fee
adjustments would occur no later than October 1 of the year prior to the effective

date of the fee adjustments.

The commission has added language in rule that requires the executive director to

notify fee payers of fee adjustments before adjusted rates go into effect.

Comment
TM commented that the increase in generator fees will likely impact disposal costs and
requested clarification for the increases to the generator fees for both hazardous and

Class 1 nonhazardous wastes.

Response
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The commission has the authority to increase the fees for hazardous and Class 1
nonhazardous waste generators and management under THSC, §361.134 and
§361.136 subject to statutory caps. Revisions to the industrial and hazardous waste
generator and management fee rules are needed to increase revenue into the Waste
Management Account which is facing a declining fund balance. The increased fee
rates will allow the commission to increase revenue while remaining within the
statutory caps and equitably collect fees for waste processing and disposal across
the hazardous and municipal waste program activities. As described in above
response to comments, the commission will utilize a phased incremental increase in
fee rates, up to the maximum schedules, and anticipates four equivalent increases
over a period of three and a half to four years. The executive director will monitor
fund balances and projected revenue each fiscal year to determine if increases are
necessary. The commission has made no changes in rule in response to this

comment.

Comment
TM recommended rule language changes to §335.323(e)(2) regarding “Class 1
Nonhazardous Waste,” and the clarification on the use of “Table,” “Figure,” and

“Schedule” in the fee schedules.

Response

The commission has made revisions to clarify the use of “Table” in reference to the
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fee schedules in §335.323 and §335.325. The commission has also made a revision

to §335.323(e)(2) to specify “Class 1” in “Class 1 Nonhazardous Waste.”

Comment
TM commented appreciation for the consistent increase across all disposition

methods.

Response
The commission acknowledges the comment. The commission has made no

changes in response to this comment.
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SUBCHAPTER J: HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATION, FACILITY AND DISPOSAL FEE
SYSTEM

§335.323, §335.325

Statutory Authority

The rules are adopted under the authority of Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.102,
concerning general powers of the commission; TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the
commission to adopt any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties; TWC,
§5.105, which authorizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy of
the commission by rule; Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §361.024, which
provides the commission with the authority to adopt rules necessary to carry out its
powers and duties under THSC, Chapter 361; and THSC, §361.017, which establishes
the commission's jurisdiction over all aspects of the management of industrial solid
waste and municipal hazardous waste with all powers necessary or convenient to carry

out the responsibilities of that jurisdiction.

The adopted rules implement THSC, §§361.133(d), 361.134, 361.134(c), and 361.136.

§335.323. Generation Fee Assessment.

(a) An annual generation fee is hereby assessed each industrial or hazardous

solid waste generator that is required to notify under §335.6 of this title (relating to
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Notification Requirements) and which generates Class 1 industrial solid waste or
hazardous waste or whose act first causes such waste to become subject to regulation
under Subchapter B of this chapter (relating to Hazardous Waste Management General
Provisions) on or after September 1, 1985. These fees shall be deposited in the
hazardous and solid waste fee fund. The amount of a generation fee is determined by
the total amount of Class 1 nonhazardous waste or hazardous waste generated during
the previous calendar year. The annual generation fee may not be less than $50. The
annual generation fee for hazardous waste shall not be more than $50,000 and for

nonhazardous waste not more than $10,000.

(b) Wastewaters are exempt from assessment under the following conditions.

(1) Wastewaters containing hazardous wastes which are designated as
hazardous solely because they exhibit a hazardous characteristic as defined in 40 Code
of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 261, Subpart C, concerning characteristics of

hazardous waste, and are rendered nonhazardous [non-hazardous] by neutralization

or other treatment on-site in totally enclosed treatment facilities or wastewater
treatment units for which no permit is required under §335.2 of this title (relating to
Permit Required) or §335.41 of this title (relating to Purpose, Scope and Applicability)

are exempt from the assessment of hazardous waste generation fees.
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(2) Wastewaters classified as Class 1 industrial solid wastes because
they meet the criteria for a Class 1 waste under the provisions of §335.505 of this title
(relating to Class 1 Waste Determination) and are treated on-site in totally enclosed
treatment facilities or wastewater treatment units for which no permit is required

under §335.2 of this title or §335.41 of this title and no longer meet the criteria for a

Class 1 waste are exempt from the assessment of waste generation fees.

(3) Wastewaters containing hazardous wastes which are designated as
hazardous solely because they exhibit a hazardous characteristic as defined in 40 CFR
Part 261, Subpart C, concerning characteristics of hazardous waste, and are
transported via direct hard pipe connection to a publicly-owned treatment works
(POTW) and rendered nonhazardous by neutralization or other treatment are exempt

from the assessment of hazardous waste generation fees.

(4) Wastewaters classified as Class 1 industrial solid wastes because
they meet the criteria for a Class 1 waste under the provisions of §335.505 of this title
and are transported via direct hard pipe connection to a POTW for treatment and no
longer meet the criteria for a Class 1 waste are exempt from the assessment of waste

generation fees.

(5) Wastewaters which are designated as hazardous waste solely under 40

CFR §261.3(a)(2)(iv) that are generated at terminal operations due to de minimis losses
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of commercial chemical products and chemical intermediates listed in 40 CFR §261.33
and are treated on-site or off-site at a POTW are exempt from the assessment of
hazardous waste generation fees, provided that any discharge to a POTW is via a direct

hardpipe connection. For the purposes of this section, de minimis losses shall have the

meaning described in 40 CFR §261.3(a)(2)(@iv)(D).

(6) These exemptions or adjustments in fee assessment in no way limit a
generator's obligation to report such waste generation or waste management activity

under any applicable provision of this chapter.

(7) A wastewater stream treated to meet a different waste classification

is subject to only one assessment under this section.

(c) Wastes generated in a removal or remedial action accomplished through the
expenditure of public funds from the hazardous and solid waste remediation fee fund

shall be exempt from any generation fee assessed under this section.

(d) Wastes which are recycled shall be exempt from any generation fee assessed

under this section.
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(e) Generation fees are to be assessed up to the maximum annual fee according

to the schedules in the tables in Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(1) and (2) in this

subsection. -Tablestocated-in-this-stubseetion: [following schedule:]

(1) Table 1: Hazardous Waste Schedule [hazardous] waste-schedte. [:]

Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(1)

[Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(1)]
Table 1

Hazardous Waste Schedule

Waste Reported (Tons) Aﬁ%e
Less than 1 ton No charge
from 1 - 25 [1 - 50] tons $150[$100]

$6.00

Greater than 25 [50] tons [$2.00] per ton

(2) Table 2: Class 1 Nonhazardous Waste Schedule [nonhazardous] waste

schedude. [:]

Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(2)

[Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(2)]

Table 2
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Class 1 Nonhazardous Waste Schedule

Maximum

Waste Reported (Tons) Annual Fee

Less than 1 ton No charge

From 1 - 50 [1 - 100] tons $100 [$50]

Greater than 50 [100] tons $2.00[$.50]
per ton

(3) The executive director may adjust fees at or below up-te the annual

fee specified in the fee schedules in this subsection, on an annual basis:, and will

notify fee payers of the upcoming fee rate before the rates go into effect.

(f) Any claim of exemption from or adjustment to the assessment of a
generation fee under this section must be made in writing to the executive director

prior to the due date of the assessment.

§335.325. Industrial Solid Waste Generation, Facility and Disposal Fee System.

(a) A fee is hereby assessed on each owner or operator of a waste storage,

processing, or disposal facility, except as provided in subsections (b) - (e) of this

section. A fee is assessed for hazardous wastes which are stored, processed, disposed,
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or otherwise managed and for Class 1 industrial wastes which are disposed at a
commercial facility. For the purpose of this section, the storage, processing, or
disposal of hazardous waste for which no permit is required under §335.2 of this title

(relating to Permit Required) or §335.41 of this title (relating to Purpose, Scope and

Applicability) is not subject to a hazardous waste management fee.

(b) A fee imposed on the owner or operator of a commercial hazardous waste
storage, processing, or disposal facility for hazardous wastes which are generated in
this state and received from an affiliate or wholly owned subsidiary of the commercial
facility, or from a captured facility, shall be the same fee imposed on a noncommercial
facility. For the purpose of this section, an affiliate of a commercial hazardous waste

facility must have a controlling interest in common with that facility.

(c) The storage, processing, or disposal of industrial solid waste or hazardous
wastes generated in a removal or remedial action accomplished through the
expenditure of public funds from the hazardous and solid waste remediation fee fund

shall be exempt from the assessment of a waste management fee under this section.

(d) A fee shall not be imposed on the owner or operator of a waste storage,
processing, or disposal facility for the storage of hazardous wastes if such wastes are
stored within the time periods allowed by and in accordance with the provisions of

§335.69 of this title (relating to Accumulation Time).
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(e) A fee may not be imposed under this section on the operation of a facility
permitted under the Texas Water Code, Chapter 26, or the federal National Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System program for wastes treated, processed, or disposed of in
a wastewater treatment system that discharges into surface waters of the state. For the
purpose of this section, the management of a hazardous waste in a surface
impoundment which is not exempt from assessment under this subsection will be

assessed the fee for processing under subsection (j) of this section.

(f) The waste management fee authorized under this section shall be based on
the total weight or volume of a waste except for wastes which are disposed of in an
underground injection well, in which case the fee shall be based on the dry weight of
the waste, measured in dry weight tons (dwt), as defined in §335.322 of this title
(relating to Definitions) and §335.326 of this title (relating to Dry Weight

Determination).

(g) The hazardous waste management fee for wastes generated in this state shall

not exceed $40 per ton for wastes which are landfilled.

(h) The operator of a waste storage, processing, or disposal facility receiving
industrial solid waste or hazardous waste from out-of-state generators shall be

assessed the fee amount required on wastes generated in state plus an additional
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increment to be established by rule, except as provided in subsection (k) of this

section.

(i) For the purposes of subsection (j) of this section, energy recovery means the
burning or incineration of a hazardous waste fuel and fuel processing means the
handling of a waste fuel, including storage and blending, prior to its disposal by

burning.

(j) Except as provided in subsections (k) - (q) of this section, waste management

fees shall be assessed up to the maximum fee according to the schedules in the tables

in Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(j)(1) and (2) in this subsection. Fablestocated-inthis

subseetion: [following schedule.]

(1) Table 1: Hazardous Waste Schedule waste-schedule.

Figure: 30 TAC §335.325()(1)

[Figure: 30 TAC §335.325()(1)]
Table 1

Hazardous Waste Schedule

Maximum Fee
Noncommercial
[Noncommercial]

Maximum Fee
Commercial [Commercial]

Disposition In State Imported In State Imported
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Landfill $21.75/ton $27.55/ton $40/ton $50/ton
[$15/ton] [$19/ton] [$30/ton] [$37.50/ton]
$17.40/ton $21.75/ton $34.80/ton $43.50/ton
Land Treatment [$12/ton] | [$15/ton] | [$24/ton] | [$30/ton]
L $13.05/dwt $15.95/dwt $26.10/dwt $32.63/dwt
Underground Injection | ™ ¢q /4. [$11/dwt] | [$18/dwt] | [$22.50/dwt]
) . $11.60/ton $14.50/ton $23.20/ton $29/ton
Incineration [$8/ton] [$10/ton] [$16/ton] [$20/ton]

. $5.80/ton $7.25/ton $11.60/ton $14.50/ton
Processing [$4/ton] [$5/ton] [$8/ton] [$10/ton]
Storage $1.45/ton $1.45/ton $2.90/ton $2.90/ton

& [$1/ton] [$1/ton] [$2/ton] [$2/ton]
$5.80/ton $5.80/ton $11.60/ton $11.60/ton

Energy Recovery [$4,/ton] [$4/ton] $8,/ton] [$8/ton]
. $4.35/ton $4.35/ton $8.70/ton $8.70/ton

Fuel Processing [$3/ton] [$3/ton] [$6/ton] [$6/ton]

(2) Table 2: Class 1 Nonhazardous Waste Schedule nonhazardous [non-

hazardous] waste-schedule.

Figure: 30 TAC §335.325(G)(2)

[Figure: 30 TAC §335.325(j)(2)]

Table 2

Class 1 Nonhazardous Waste Schedule

Maximum Fee
Noncommercial
[Noncommercial]

Maximum Fee
Commercial [Commercial]
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Disposition In State Imported In State Imported
Landfill N/A N/A $8.00/ton $10/ton

[$6/ton] [$7.50/ton]

Land Treatment N/A N/A $6.96/ton $8.70/ton
[$4.80/ton] [$6/ton]

Underground Injection N/A N/A $5.22/dwt $6.53/dwt
[$3.60/dwt] | [$4.50/dwt]

Incineration N/A N/A $4.64/ton $5.80/ton

[$3.20/ton] [$4/ton]

(3) The executive director may adjust fees at or below up-to the fee

specified in the fee schedule, on an annual basis:, and will notify fee payers of the

upcoming fee rate before the rates go into effect.

(k) For wastes which are generated out-of-state, the fee will be that specified in
subsection (j) of this section, except that the fee for the storage, processing,
incineration, and disposal of hazardous waste fuels shall be the same for wastes

generated out-of-state and in-state.

(I) Except as provided in subsection (m) of this section, only one waste
management fee shall be paid for a waste managed at a facility. In any instance where
more than one fee could be applied under this section to a specific volume of waste,

the higher of the applicable fees will be assessed.
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(m) A fee for storage of hazardous waste shall be assessed in addition to any fee
for other waste management methods at a facility. No fee shall be assessed under this
section for the storage of a hazardous waste for a period of less than 90 days as
determined from the date of receipt or generation of the waste (or the effective date of
this section). The fee rate specified in the schedule under subsection (j) of this section
shall apply to the quantity of waste in any month which has been in storage for more
than 90 days or the number for which an extension has been granted under §335.69 of

this title.

(n) A facility which receives waste transferred from another facility shall pay
any waste management fee applicable under this section and shall not receive credit

for any fee applied to the management of the waste at the facility of origin.

(0) The fee rate for incineration of aqueous wastes containing 5.0% or less of
total organic carbon will be 10% of the fee for incineration under the schedule in

subsection (j) of this section.

(p) A commercial waste disposal facility receiving solid waste not subject to
assessment under this section shall pay any assessment due under Chapter 330,
Subchapter P of this title (relating to Fees and Reporting [Reports]). No fee for disposal
of a solid waste under Chapter 330, Subchapter P of this title, shall be assessed in

addition to a fee for disposal under this section.
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(q) An operator of a hazardous waste injection well electing to separately
measure inorganic salts in the determination of dry weight under the provisions of
§335.326(c) of this title shall pay a fee equivalent to 20% of the fee for underground
injection assessed in subsection (j) of this section for the components of the waste

stream determined to be inorganic salts.
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30 TAC §335.323, §335.325

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) proposes amendments to §335.323
and §335.325.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed
Rules

Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §361.134 and §361.136
allows the commission to collect fees for industrial solid waste
and hazardous waste generation and management. Industrial
solid waste covers what is commonly referred to as Class 1 non-
hazardous waste or nonhazardous waste. Additionally, THSC,
§361.133(d) sets a collection cap up to $16 million in waste man-
agement fees annually and THSC, §361.134(c) provides collec-
tion caps of $10,000 and $50,000 for nonhazardous and haz-
ardous generators, respectively. Fee schedules for waste gen-
erators and waste management have not changed since 1994.
The commission proposes an increase in both the generator and
management fees and the ability to adjust fees annually under
a specified maximum fee schedule. The increase in fees and
the ability to adjust fees would allow the commission to optimize
existing statutory caps to manage the Waste Management Ac-
count more adequately. The commission would utilize various
communication strategies to inform the public and regulated en-
tities of fee changes.

Section by Section Discussion

In addition to the proposed revisions associated with this rule-
making, various non-substantive changes are proposed to up-
date references or correct grammar to be consistent throughout
Chapter 335. These changes are non-substantive and are not
specifically discussed in the Section by Section Discussion por-
tion of this preamble.

Subchapter J: Hazardous Waste Generation, Facility and Dis-
posal Fee System

§335.323, Generation Fee Assessment

The commission proposes to amend the figures located in
§335.323(e)(1) and (2) to provide for increases to the gener-
ator fee for both hazardous and Class 1 nonhazardous waste
generators. The commission proposes §335.323(e)(3) to allow
the executive director to adjust the fees on an annual basis at
or below the established maximum annual fee schedules in the
revised figures located in §335.323(e)(1) and (2).

§335.325, Industrial Solid Waste and Hazardous Waste Man-
agement Fee Assessment

The commission proposes to amend the figures located in
§335.325(j)(1) and (2) to provide for increases to the waste
management fee for both hazardous and Class 1 nonhaz-
ardous waste management facilities. The commission proposes
§335.325(j)(3) to allow the executive director to adjust the fees
on an annual basis at or below the established maximum fee
schedules in the revised figures located in §335.323(j)(1) and
).

Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government

Jené Bearse, Analyst in the Budget and Planning Division, de-
termined that for the first five-year period the proposed rules
would be in effect, fiscal implications would be anticipated for
the agency and for other units of state or local government as a
result of administration or enforcement of the proposed rulemak-
ing. This rulemaking addresses a proposed fee increase for the

generation and management fees and the ability to adjust fees
annually within the fee schedule.

The proposed rulemaking would increase the management fee
schedule by 45%. The executive director would have the option
of raising fees to the maximum or phasing in the increase. The
agency estimates that the maximum revenue increase for the
management fee would be $4,848,962 per year for the next five
years. In accordance with state law, half of the funds would be
deposited into General Revenue Account 0549 Waste Manage-
ment, a dedicated account which has experienced a declining
fund balance. The other half of the revenue would be deposited
into General Revenue Account 0550 Hazardous and Solid Waste
Remediation Fees.

The proposed rulemaking would increase the generation fee
from $0.50 to a maximum of $2.00 per ton for Class 1 nonhaz-
ardous waste generators and from $2.00 to a maximum of $6.00
per ton for hazardous waste generators. The agency estimates
that the maximum revenue increase for the generation fee would
be $3,889,305 per year for the next five years. The revenue
would be deposited into General Revenue Account 0549 Waste
Management.

The proposed fee increase may impact units of local govern-
ment. Twenty-five percent of the fees collected for the manage-
ment of hazardous and Class 1 nonhazardous waste at commer-
cial facilities is sent to the county in which the facility is located.
At the maximum rate, the agency estimates that the proposed
rules would generate an additional $835,564 for these counties
per year.

Based on agency data for fiscal year 2020, six governmental
entities and 81 waste generators owned or operated by a unit
of government are expected to be affected. Additional facilities
may be impacted if they begin to manage or generate waste.
The estimated average increase of the proposed management
fees on these facilities would be $1,616 per facility per year.
The estimated average increase of the proposed generation fees
on these facilities with Class 1 nonhazardous waste would be
$1,586 per facility per year, and the estimated average increase
for hazardous waste would be $3,529 per facility per year. The
methodology used to determine the revenue estimates included
averaging agency data from fiscal years 2019 and 2020.

Public Benefits and Costs

Ms. Bearse determined that for each year of the first five years
that the proposed rules would be in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated would be increased stability in the General Revenue
Account 0549 Waste Management, which has had a decreasing
fund balance in recent years. The funds from this dedicated ac-
count are used to regulate industrial solid and hazardous waste,
as stated in the THSC, §361.132. The regulation of this waste is
required by law to protect human health and the environment.

The proposed rulemaking is anticipated to result in fiscal implica-
tions for certain businesses or individuals, specifically all permit-
ted and active industrial hazardous waste facilities. The agency
estimates there are 176 waste management facilities and 2,404
industrial or hazardous solid waste generators.

The proposed rulemaking would increase the management fee
schedule by 45%. The executive director would have the option
of raising fees to the maximum or phasing in the increase. The
estimated management fee increase will be $53,058 per facility
per year. The proposed rulemaking would increase the genera-
tion fee from $0.50 to a maximum of $2.00 per ton for Class 1
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nonhazardous waste generators, and from $2.00 to a maximum
of $6.00 per ton for hazardous waste generators. The estimated
average increase of the proposed management fees on these
facilities would be $1,616 per facility per year. The estimated
average increase of the proposed generation fees on these fa-
cilities with Class 1 nonhazardous waste would be $1,586 per fa-
cility per year, and the estimated average increase for hazardous
waste would be $3,529 per facility per year. The methodology
used to determine the estimates included averaging agency data
from fiscal years 2019 and 2020.

Local Employment Impact Statement

The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that a Local Employment Impact Statement is not required
because the proposed rulemaking would not adversely affect a
local economy in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules would be in effect.

Rural Communities Impact Assessment

The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that the proposed rulemaking would not adversely affect
rural communities in a material way for the first five years that
the proposed rules would be in effect. The amendments would
apply statewide and have the same effect in rural communities
as in urban communities.

Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment

No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or micro-
businesses due to the implementation or administration of the
proposed rulemaking for the first five-year period the proposed
rules would be in effect.

Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that a Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not
required because the proposed rulemaking would not adversely
affect a small or micro-business in a material way for the first five
years the proposed rules would be in effect.

Government Growth Impact Statement

The commission prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking would not create or eliminate a government program
and would not require an increase or decrease in future leg-
islative appropriations to the agency. The proposed rulemaking
would not require the creation of new employee positions nor
eliminate current employee positions. The proposed rulemaking
would increase fees paid to the agency. The proposed rulemak-
ing would not create, expand, repeal or limit an existing regula-
tion, nor would the proposed rulemaking increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to its applicability. During the
first five years, the proposed rulemaking should not have a pos-
itive or negative impact on the state's economy.

Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the proposed rulemaking in light of
the regulatory analysis requirements of the Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225. The commission determined that the action
is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225, because
it does not meet the definition of a "Major environmental rule" as
defined in that statute. A "Major environmental rule" is a rule with
the specific intent to protect the environment or reduce risks to
human health from environmental exposure, and that may ad-
versely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the

economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state.

The specific intent of the proposed rulemaking is not to protect
the environment or to reduce risks to human health from envi-
ronmental exposure. The intent of the rulemaking is to provide
additional revenue for the agency's waste fund, so the proposed
rulemaking is not a major environmental rule.

Furthermore, even if the proposed rulemaking did meet the defi-
nition of a "Major environmental rule", the proposed rules do not
meet any of the four applicability requirements listed in Texas
Government Code, §2001.0225. Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225 applies to a major environmental rule, the result of
which is to: (1) exceed a standard set by federal law, unless
the rule is specifically required by state law; (2) exceed an
express requirement of state law, unless the rule is specifically
required by federal law; (3) exceed a requirement of a delega-
tion agreement or contract between the state and an agency or
representative of the federal government to implement a state
and federal program; or (4) adopt a rule solely under the general
powers of the agency instead of under a specific state law. The
proposed rulemaking does not meet any of the four applicability
requirements listed in Texas Government Code, §2001.0225.

First, the rulemaking would not exceed a standard set by federal
law because the commission is proposing this rulemaking within
the authority given by the federal hazardous waste program.

Second, the rulemaking would not propose requirements that are
more stringent than existing state laws. The THSC authorizes
the commission to collect an annual generation fee from each
generator who generates Class | industrial solid waste or haz-
ardous waste and to collect a fee on industrial solid waste and
hazardous waste managed at a facility, and the proposed rule-
making seeks to adjust fees consistent with state law.

Third, the proposed rulemaking would not exceed a requirement
of a delegation agreement or contract between the state and an
agency or representative of the federal government, where the
delegation agreement or contract is to implement a state and
federal program. On the contrary, the commission is proposing
rules necessary to maintain the budget for the authorized state
hazardous waste program.

Fourth, this rulemaking would not seek to adopt a rule solely
under the general powers of the agency. Rather, sections of the
THSC would authorize this rulemaking, which are cited in the
Statutory Authority section of this preamble.

The commission invites public comment regarding the Draft Reg-
ulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public com-
ment period. Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact
Analysis Determination may be submitted to the contact person
at the address listed under the Submittal of Comments section
of this preamble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated the proposed rules and performed
analysis of whether the proposed rules constitute a taking under
Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. The specific purpose
of the proposed rules is to provide the commission with the ad-
ditional revenue necessary to operate agency waste program
activities funded by the Waste Management Account in a man-
ner that is consistent with the statutory requirements set forth in
the THSC. The proposed rules would substantially advance this
stated purpose by increasing the fees for industrial solid waste
and hazardous waste generation and management and enabling
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the commission to adjust fees annually in accordance with exist-
ing statutory caps.

Promulgation and enforcement of these proposed rules would
be neither a statutory nor a constitutional taking of private real
property. Specifically, the subject proposed regulations would
not affect a landowner's rights in private real property because
this rulemaking would not burden (constitutionally) nor restrict or
limit the owner's right to property and reduce its value by 25% or
more beyond that which would otherwise exist in the absence
of the regulations. In other words, the proposed rules would
not burden private real property because they amend a fee rule
which relates to funding for the commission's waste program ac-
tivities.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed this rulemaking for consistency with
the Coastal Management Program (CMP) goals and policies in
accordance with the regulations of the Coastal Coordination Ad-
visory Committee and determined that the amendments are con-
sistent with CMP goals and policies. The amendments are con-
sistent with CMP goals and policies because the rulemaking is
a fee rule, which is a procedural mechanism for paying for com-
mission programs; would not have direct or significant adverse
effect on any coastal natural resource areas; would not have a
substantive effect on commission actions subject to the CMP;
and promulgation and enforcement of the amendments would
not violate (exceed) any standards identified in the applicable
CMP goals and policies.

Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Announcement of Virtual Hearing

The commission will hold a virtual public hearing on this proposal
onJune 29, 2021, at 10:00 a.m.. The virtual hearing is structured
for the receipt of oral comments by interested persons. Individu-
als who register may present oral statements when called upon
in order of registration. Open discussion will not be permitted
during the virtual hearing; however, agency staff members will
be available to discuss the proposal 30 minutes prior to the vir-
tual hearing.

Persons who do not have internet access or who have special
communication or other accommodation needs who are plan-
ning to participate in the virtual hearing should contact 1-800-RE-
LAY-TX (TDD) to register. Accommodation requests should be
made as far in advance as possible.

Registration

The hearing will be conducted remotely using an internet meet-
ing service. Individuals who plan to attend the hearing and want
to provide oral comments or want their attendance on record
must register by Friday, June 25, 2021. To register for the hear-
ing, please email Rules@tceq.texas.gov and provide the follow-
ing information: your name, your affiliation, your email address,
your phone number, and whether or not you plan to provide oral
comments during the hearing. Instructions for participating in the
hearing will be sent on June 28, 2021 to those who register for
the hearing.

For the public who do not wish to provide oral comments but
would like to view the hearing may do so at no cost at:

https.//teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_ZG-
JmNjliZDQtYTM2ZCOONDVKLWEOMGMtNTA1ODNKkODA3Y-

Tkx%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22871a83
a4-alce-4b7a-8156-3bcd93a08fba%22%2c%220id%22%3a-
%220ab3b264-6a49-48c6-afc8-8225e4a7b0ac%22%2¢%22ls-
BroadcastMeeting%22% 3atrue % 7d&btype=a&role=a

Submittal of Comments

Written comments may be submitted to Gwen Ricco, MC 205,
Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, or faxed
to fax4808@fceq.texas.gov. Electronic comments may be sub-
mitted at: https://wwwé.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments/. File
size restrictions may apply to comments being submitted via
the eComments system. All comments should reference Rule
Project Number 2020-010-335-WS. The comment period closes
on July 6, 2021. Please choose only one of the methods pro-
vided to submit your written comments.

Copies of the proposed rulemaking can be obtained from the
commission's website at hftps://www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/prop.
html. For further information, please contact Garrett Heathman,
Waste Permits Division, (512) 239-0520.

Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under the authority of Texas Water
Code (TWC), §5.102, concerning general powers of the com-
mission; TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the commission to
adopt any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties;
TWC, §5.105, which authorizes the commission to establish
and approve all general policy of the commission by rule; Texas
Health and Safety Code (THSC), §361.024, which provides
the commission with the authority to adopt rules necessary to
carry out its powers and duties under THSC, Chapter 361; and
THSC, §361.017, which establishes the commission's jurisdic-
tion over all aspects of the management of industrial solid waste
and municipal hazardous waste with all powers necessary or
convenient to carry out the responsibilities of that jurisdiction.

The proposed rules implement THSC, §§361.133(d), 361.134,
361.134(c), and 361.136.

$335.323.  Generation Fee Assessment.

(a) An annual generation fee is hereby assessed each indus-
trial or hazardous solid waste generator that is required to notify under
§335.6 of this title (relating to Notification Requirements) and which
generates Class 1 industrial solid waste or hazardous waste or whose
act first causes such waste to become subject to regulation under Sub-
chapter B of this chapter (relating to Hazardous Waste Management
General Provisions) on or after September 1, 1985. These fees shall
be deposited in the hazardous and solid waste fee fund. The amount of
a generation fee is determined by the total amount of Class 1 nonhaz-
ardous waste or hazardous waste generated during the previous calen-
dar year. The annual generation fee may not be less than $50. The an-
nual generation fee for hazardous waste shall not be more than $50,000
and for nonhazardous waste not more than $10,000.

(b) Wastewaters are exempt from assessment under the follow-
ing conditions.

(1) Wastewaters containing hazardous wastes which are
designated as hazardous solely because they exhibit a hazardous
characteristic as defined in 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part
261, Subpart C, concerning characteristics of hazardous waste, and
are rendered nonhazardous [nen-hazardeus| by neutralization or other
treatment on-site in totally enclosed treatment facilities or wastewater
treatment units for which no permit is required under §335.2 of this
title (relating to Permit Required) or §335.41 of this title (relating to
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Purpose, Scope and Applicability) are exempt from the assessment of
hazardous waste generation fees.

(2) Wastewaters classified as Class 1 industrial solid wastes
because they meet the criteria for a Class 1 waste under the provisions
of §335.505 of this title (relating to Class 1 Waste Determination) and
are treated on-site in totally enclosed treatment facilities or wastewater
treatment units for which no permit is required under §335.2 of this
title or §335.41 of this title and no longer meet the criteria for a Class
1 waste are exempt from the assessment of waste generation fees.

(3) Wastewaters containing hazardous wastes which are
designated as hazardous solely because they exhibit a hazardous
characteristic as defined in 40 CFR Part 261, Subpart C, concerning
characteristics of hazardous waste, and are transported via direct hard
pipe connection to a publicly-owned treatment works (POTW) and
rendered nonhazardous by neutralization or other treatment are exempt
from the assessment of hazardous waste generation fees.

(4) Wastewaters classified as Class 1 industrial solid wastes
because they meet the criteria for a Class 1 waste under the provisions
of §335.505 of this title and are transported via direct hard pipe con-
nection to a POTW for treatment and no longer meet the criteria for a
Class 1 waste are exempt from the assessment of waste generation fees.

(5) Wastewaters which are designated as hazardous waste
solely under 40 CFR §261.3(a)(2)(iv) that are generated at terminal op-
erations due to de minimis losses of commercial chemical products and
chemical intermediates listed in 40 CFR §261.33 and are treated on-site
or off-site at a POTW are exempt from the assessment of hazardous
waste generation fees, provided that any discharge to a POTW is via a
direct hardpipe connection. For the purposes of this section, de minimis
losses shall have the meaning described in 40 CFR §261.3(a)(2)(iv)(D).

(6) These exemptions or adjustments in fee assessment in
no way limit a generator's obligation to report such waste generation
or waste management activity under any applicable provision of this
chapter.

(7) A wastewater stream treated to meet a different waste
classification is subject to only one assessment under this section.

(c) Wastes generated in a removal or remedial action accom-
plished through the expenditure of public funds from the hazardous and
solid waste remediation fee fund shall be exempt from any generation
fee assessed under this section.

(d) Wastes which are recycled shall be exempt from any gen-
eration fee assessed under this section.

(e) Generation fees are to be assessed up to the maximum an-
nual fee according to the schedules in the Tables located in this subsec-
tion. follewing schedule:]

(1) Hazardous [hazardeus| waste schedule. [:]
Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(1)
[Eigure: 30 FAC §335323(e)( D]
(2) Nonhazardous [renhazardeus] waste schedule. [:]
Figure: 30 TAC §335.323(e)(2)
[Eigure: 30 FAC §335323(e)D)]
(3) The executive director may adjust fees at or up to the

annual fee specified in the fee schedules in this subsection, on an annual
basis.

() Any claim of exemption from or adjustment to the assess-
ment of a generation fee under this section must be made in writing to
the executive director prior to the due date of the assessment.

$335.325.  Industrial Solid Waste Generation, Facility and Disposal
Fee System.

(a) A fee is hereby assessed on each owner or operator of a
waste storage, processing, or disposal facility, except as provided in
subsections (b) - (e) of this section. A fee is assessed for hazardous
wastes which are stored, processed, disposed, or otherwise managed
and for Class 1 industrial wastes which are disposed at a commercial
facility. For the purpose of this section, the storage, processing, or dis-
posal of hazardous waste for which no permit is required under §335.2
of this title (relating to Permit Required) or §335.41 of this title (relat-
ing to Purpose, Scope and Applicability) is not subject to a hazardous
waste management fee.

(b) A fee imposed on the owner or operator of a commercial
hazardous waste storage, processing, or disposal facility for hazardous
wastes which are generated in this state and received from an affiliate or
wholly owned subsidiary of the commercial facility, or from a captured
facility, shall be the same fee imposed on a noncommercial facility. For
the purpose of this section, an affiliate of a commercial hazardous waste
facility must have a controlling interest in common with that facility.

(c) The storage, processing, or disposal of industrial solid
waste or hazardous wastes generated in a removal or remedial action
accomplished through the expenditure of public funds from the haz-
ardous and solid waste remediation fee fund shall be exempt from the
assessment of a waste management fee under this section.

(d) A fee shall not be imposed on the owner or operator of
a waste storage, processing, or disposal facility for the storage of haz-
ardous wastes if such wastes are stored within the time periods allowed
by and in accordance with the provisions of §335.69 of this title (relat-
ing to Accumulation Time).

(e) A fee may not be imposed under this section on the opera-
tion of a facility permitted under the Texas Water Code, Chapter 26, or
the federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System program
for wastes treated, processed, or disposed of in a wastewater treatment
system that discharges into surface waters of the state. For the purpose
of this section, the management of a hazardous waste in a surface im-
poundment which is not exempt from assessment under this subsection
will be assessed the fee for processing under subsection (j) of this sec-
tion.

(f) The waste management fee authorized under this section
shall be based on the total weight or volume of a waste except for wastes
which are disposed of in an underground injection well, in which case
the fee shall be based on the dry weight of the waste, measured in dry
weight tons (dwt), as defined in §335.322 of this title (relating to Def-
initions) and §335.326 of this title (relating to Dry Weight Determina-
tion).

(g) Thehazardous waste management fee for wastes generated
in this state shall not exceed $40 per ton for wastes which are landfilled.

(h) The operator of a waste storage, processing, or disposal
facility receiving industrial solid waste or hazardous waste from out-
of-state generators shall be assessed the fee amount required on wastes
generated in state plus an additional increment to be established by rule,
except as provided in subsection (k) of this section.

(i) For the purposes of subsection (j) of this section, energy re-
covery means the burning or incineration of a hazardous waste fuel and
fuel processing means the handling of a waste fuel, including storage
and blending, prior to its disposal by burning.

(j) Except as provided in subsections (k) - (q) of this section,
waste management fees shall be assessed up to the maximum fee
according to the schedules in the Tables located in this subsection.

[feHowing sehedule:]
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(1) Hazardous waste schedule.
Figure: 30 TAC §335.325(j)(1)

[Eigare: 30 FAC §335325(h)]

(2) Class 1 nonhazardous [nen-hazardeus| waste schedule.
Figure: 30 TAC §335.325(3)(2)
|Figure: 30 TAC §335.325(j)(2)]

(3) The executive director may adjust fees at or up to the
fee specified in the fee schedule, on an annual basis.

(k) For wastes which are generated out-of-state, the fee will
be that specified in subsection (j) of this section, except that the fee for
the storage, processing, incineration, and disposal of hazardous waste
fuels shall be the same for wastes generated out-of-state and in-state.

(1) Except as provided in subsection (m) of this section, only
one waste management fee shall be paid for a waste managed at a fa-
cility. In any instance where more than one fee could be applied under
this section to a specific volume of waste, the higher of the applicable
fees will be assessed.

(m) A fee for storage of hazardous waste shall be assessed in
addition to any fee for other waste management methods at a facility.
No fee shall be assessed under this section for the storage of'a hazardous
waste for a period of less than 90 days as determined from the date of
receipt or generation of the waste (or the effective date of this section).
The fee rate specified in the schedule under subsection (j) of this section
shall apply to the quantity of waste in any month which has been in
storage for more than 90 days or the number for which an extension
has been granted under §335.69 of this title.

(n) A facility which receives waste transferred from another
facility shall pay any waste management fee applicable under this sec-
tion and shall not receive credit for any fee applied to the management
of the waste at the facility of origin.

(0) The fee rate for incineration of aqueous wastes containing
5.0% or less of total organic carbon will be 10% of the fee for inciner-
ation under the schedule in subsection (j) of this section.

(p) A commercial waste disposal facility receiving solid waste
not subject to assessment under this section shall pay any assessment
due under Chapter 330, Subchapter P of this title (relating to Fees and
Reporting [Reperts]). No fee for disposal of a solid waste under Chap-
ter 330, Subchapter P of this title, shall be assessed in addition to a fee
for disposal under this section.

(qQ) An operator of a hazardous waste injection well electing to
separately measure inorganic salts in the determination of dry weight
under the provisions of §335.326(c) of this title shall pay a fee equiva-
lent to 20% of the fee for underground injection assessed in subsection
(j) of this section for the components of the waste stream determined
to be inorganic salts.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 21, 2021.

TRD-202102044

Robert Martinez

Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 4, 2021

For further information, please call: (512) 239-2678

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 37.
TIONS

PART 9. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
JAIL STANDARDS

CHAPTER 275. SUPERVISION OF INMATES
37 TAC §275.3

The Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes a new
§275.3, concerning temporary jailers. The proposed new rule
adds §275.3 to 37 TAC. HB 4468, 87th legislative session,
amended Occupations Code §1701.310(f) to prohibit a county
jailer appointed on a temporary |basis from being promoted to
a supervisory position in a county jail. Current jail standards
§275.2 requires jailer supervisors to be licensed but does not
state clearly that temporary jailers may not supervise. The
proposed rule will clarify explicitly| that temporary jailers may not
supervise other jailers and will make reference to Occupations
Code §1701.310(f) as the statutory source of the rule.

Brandon S. Wood, Executive Director, has determined that for
the first five-year period of this ryle there is no foreseeable im-
plication to the costs or revenues) of state or local governments
as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-

Mr. Wood has determined that ffor each year of the first five
years the rules are in effect, the public will benefit from the
adoption of the rules by ensuring that all jailer supervisors have
the proper training and experience necessary to work within the
Texas county jail system. Mr. od has also determined that
this rule during each of the first five years of its effect will neither
create nor eliminate a government program, will not require the
creation of new employee positions or the elimination of existing
employee positions, will not requife an increase or decrease in
future legislative appropriations tp the agency, will not require
an increase or decrease in fees|paid to the agency, and will
not increase or decrease the nbmber of individuals subject
to the rule's applicability. However, the new rule will expand
existing regulation, which currently states only that a county
jailer with a temporary license shall not be appointed as Jail
Administrator or to any other supegrvisory position and shall not
be assigned supervisory duties. Mr. Wood does not anticipate
any cost to individuals, small businesses/micro-businesses or
rural communities as a result of these rules for each year of the
first five years of their effect.

Comments on the proposed rule may be submitted by June 11,
2021, to William Turner, P.O. Box|12985, Austin, Texas 78711,
Fax (5612) 463-3185, or e-mail at will.turner@tcjs.state.tx.us.

The amendment is proposed undef Government Code, Chapter
511, which provides the Texas Commission on Jail Standards
with the authority to adopt reasongble rules and procedures es-
tablishing minimum standards for the construction, equipment,
maintenance, and operation of cojnty jails.

The proposed rule implements Ocgupations Code §1701.310(f).
$275.3.  Temp Jailers May Not Supenvise.

In accordance with Occupations Codg §1701.310(f), a county jailer
with a temporary license shall not be apgpointed as Jail Administrator or
to any other supervisory position and shall not be assigned supervisory
duties.
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Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES

Docket No. 2020-0032-RUL
Rule Project No. 2020-010-335-WS

On November 3, 2021, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
(Commission) adopted amended rules in 30 Texas Administrative Code Chapter
335, concerning Industrial Solid Waste and Municipal Hazardous Waste. The
proposed rules were published for comment in the June 4, 2021 issue of the Texas
Register (46 TexReg 3499).

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED BY THE COMMISSION that the amended rules are
hereby adopted. The Commission further authorizes staff to make any non-
substantive revisions to the rules necessary to comply with Texas Register
requirements. The adopted rules and the preamble to the adopted rules are
incorporated by reference in this Order as if set forth at length verbatim in this
Order.

This Order constitutes the Order of the Commission required by the
Administrative Procedure Act, Tex. Gov't Code Ann., Chapter 2001 (West 2016).

If any portion of this Order is for any reason held to be invalid by a court of
competent jurisdiction, the invalidity of any portion shall not affect the validity of
the remaining portions.

TEXAS COMMISSION ON
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Jon Niermann, Chairman

Date Signed
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