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Waste Generation Fee

This document is for guidance only; it does not take
the place of any laws or regulations.

What Is This Fee?

This annual fee is charged on each generator of
hazardous waste and/or industrial Class 1 waste. The
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)
uses the fees collected to carry out its responsibilities for
regulating hazardous and industrial waste in Texas.
Authority for the fee comes from the Texas Health and
Safety Code, Section 361.134; and from Title 30, Texas
Administrative Code (TAC) Subchapter J, Section
335.323.

How Is the Fee Assessed?

The fee total is based on the amount of hazardous
and/or industrial Class 1 waste you reported as generated
in the previous calendar year. The following table shows
fee rates and maximum fees.

Waste Reported | Annual Fee

HAZARDOUS WASTE
(Maximum fee $50,000)

1-50 tons $100

over 50 tons $2.00 per ton

CLASS 1 INDUSTRIAL WASTE
(Maximum fee $10,000)

1-100 tons $50

over 100 tons ‘ $0.50 per ton

What Is the Due Date of the Fees?
Where Do | Send the Payment?

The due date is 30 days after the “invoice date” shown
on your billing statement; your payment must reach the
TCEQ in time to be credited to your account by the due
date. Return your payment with the payment coupon (the
top portion of the billing statement) to the mailing address

shown on the back of the coupon. Use the envelope
provided for your convenience. Be sure to turn the
coupon over so that TCEQ’s mailing address shows
through the envelope’s window.

Tip—to Help You Avoid Late Fees. Send your
payment in “good order” as described in the preceding
paragraph, and mail it 7 to 10 working days before the
due date.

What Does “FY” Mean on My Statement?

“FY” stands for the TCEQ’s fiscal year, which runs
from September 1 through August 31. However, the
waste generation fee is based on waste your company
generated in the prior full calendar year, January 1
through December 31. For example, the billing for
“FYO01” is based on waste generation reported for
calendar year 1999.

Will | Be Charged Late Fees?

If payment is not received in time to be credited to your
account by the due date, the TCEQ will charge penalties
and interest, as provided for in Chapter 12 of the agency
rules. A penalty of 5 percent of the fee due will be
assessed if the fee is not paid by the due date. If not paid
within 30 days after the due date, an additional 5 percent
penalty will be assessed.

After the bill is 60 days overdue, the TCEQ will assess
interest charges until the balance is paid. Interest is charged at
the variable rate of prime plus 1 percent. The prime rate for
the calendar year is the prime rate published in the Wall
Street Journal on the first business day of the calendar year.

Limit on Retroactive Charges. Late charges will not be
applied retroactively to outstanding fees assessed before
March 1, 1997.

What If | Think the Billing Is Incorrect?

Disputing a Fee Amount. Any disputes about the
amount of your fee must be made in writing. If the dispute
involves a reporting question, contact the Registration and
Reporting Section of the Registration, Review, and Reporting
Division. If the dispute involves a waste classification or
technical question, contact the IHW Permits Section of the

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality « PO Box 13087 « Austin, Texas * 78711-3087

The TCEQ is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer. The agency does not allow discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation or veteran
status. In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this document may be requested in alternate formats by contacting the TCEQ at 512/239-0028, fax 239-4488, or 1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD), or

by writing PO Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087. Authorization for use or reproduction of any original material contained in this publication, i.e., not obtained from other sources, is freely granted. The

Commission would appreciate acknowledgment.

printed on recycled paper



Waste Permits Division. If the dispute involves the actual fee
calculation, contact the Fee Coordinator in the Waste Permits
Division. (For phone numbers and addresses, see “Where Do
I Send Correspondence or Get More Information.”)

Disputing a Fee-Exemption Denial
or Claiming a Fee Exemption

Claims for exemption from fees must be requested on the
Annual Waste Summary (AWS). Your fee is based on the
AWS information you submitted. If you feel that you are due
an exemption you did not claim or that incorrect reporting
resulted in an exemption denial, you must send the TCEQ a
revised AWS. Clearly identify all new or corrected
information (for example, by circling it). This revised AWS
information and a request for review must reach the TCEQ
before the due date of the invoice, or the claim cannot be
considered.

Why Do I Have to Return the Coupon
with My Payment?

The payment coupon (the top portion of your bill) contains
an optical character reader (OCR) line. When we receive your
payment, a computer reads your account number from that
OCR line. Automated processing allows the agency to keep
up with the large number of transactions handled. Without the
coupon, your transaction cannot be handled by the faster,
automated process. Processing “by hand” can be time-
consuming (for example, see “If I Have More than One
Account ... ”), and your account may not be credited in time
to avoid late fees.

If | Have More Than One Account, May |
Send One Check for the Total Amount?

You may send all your payments in one envelope, but
please enclose a separate check for each coupon. If the
number of checks does not equal the number of coupons, we
won’t know which accounts to credit your payment to. We
will not be able to process your transactions by the faster,
automated process; instead, we will have to contact you by
phone to find out how the payment should be credited.
Processing “by hand” can become time-consuming (for
example, playing “telephone tag”), and your account may not
be credited in time to avoid late fees.

Where Do | Send Correspondence
or Get More Information?

For an invoice you think contains an error or for invoice
address correction/changes, write or call:
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration,
Waste Permits Division
Attn: IHW Fee Coordinator, MC-126

P.O. Box 13087
Austin TX 78711-3087
(512) 239-6855

For reporting questions, facility information, and facility
mailing address changes, write or call:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration,

Registration, Review, and Reporting Division

Registration and Reporting Section, MC-129

P.O. Box 13087

Austin, TX 78711-3087

512/239-6832

For recycling, waste classification, and waste and
wastewater treatment issues, write or call:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration

Waste Permits Division

IHW Permits Sec., Technical Analysis Team, MC-130

P.O. Box 13087

Austin, TX 78711-3087

512/239-6412

For account balance information, call:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Financial Administration Division, Revenues Section
512/239-0366

For TCEQ rules, publications, and other information:
You can find the official version of TCEQ rules in the Texas
Administrative Code on the Secretary of State’s Web site at
WWW.sos.state.tx.us.

Other ways to obtain a copy of the rules, and of TCEQ
publications, include the following:

. on the Internet, go to the TCEQ’s Web site
at www.tceq.state.tx.us and click on the link
to “Rules” or “Publications”;

. fax orders to (512) 239-4488, or order by
voice at (512) 239-0028, the TCEQ's
publications unit; or

. write to TCEQ Publications, MC 195, P.O.
Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087.

For information about industrial and hazardous waste, visit
TCEQ’s Web site (address given above) and look for a link to
that topic or to related topics “Waste Management” or
“Waste Evaluation.”
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