
TCEQ REGULATORY GUIDANCE 
Financial Administration Division 
RG-397 
Revised September 2003 

Air Emissions Fee 

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality • PO Box 13087 • Austin, Texas • 78711-3087 
The TCEQ is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer. The agency does not allow discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation or veteran 
status. In  compliance  with  the Americans with Disabilities Act, this document may be requested in alternate formats by contacting the TCEQ at 512/239-0028, fax  239-4488, or  1-800-RELAY-TX ( TDD), or 
by writing  PO Box  13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087. Authorization for use or reproduction of any original material contained in  this publication, i.e., not obtained from other sources, is freely granted. The 
Commission would appreciate acknowledgment. 

printed on recycled paper 

Will I Be Charged Late Fees? 
If payment is not received in time to be credited to your 

account by the due date, the TCEQ will charge penalties 
and interest, as provided for in Chapter 12 of the agency 
rules. 

A penalty of 5 percent of the fee due will be assessed if 
the fee is not paid by the due date. If not paid within 30 
days after the due date, an additional 5 percent penalty 
will be assessed. After the bill is 60 days overdue, the 
TCEQ will assess interest charges until the balance is 
paid. 

Interest is charged at the variable rate of prime plus 1 
percent. The prime rate for the calendar year is the prime 
rate published in the Wall Street Journal on the first 
business day of the calendar year. 

Limit on Retroactive Charges. Late charges will not be 
applied retroactively to outstanding fees assessed before 
March 1, 1997. 

What If I Think the Billing Is Incorrect? 
If you want to dispute the amount of your fee, you must 

do so in writing. The TCEQ may not adjust the amount due 
if your request for adjustment is received more than one 
year after the date on which the fee was paid in full. You 
can telephone TCEQ offices to clarify questions you may 
have about your fee amount. (For phone numbers, see the 
heading “Where Do I Send Correspondence or Get More 
Information.”) 

In the correspondence, please provide your account 
name, account number, and the description of the 
suspected error. 

Why Do I Have to Return the Coupon 
with My Payment? 

The payment coupon (the top portion of your bill) 
contains an optical character reader (OCR) line. When we 
receive your payment, a computer reads your account 
number from that OCR line. Automated processing allows 
the agency to keep up with the large number of 
transactions handled. Without the coupon, your 
transaction cannot be handled by the faster, automated 

This document is for guidance only; it does not take the 
place of any laws or regulations. 

What Is This Fee? 
The Air Emissions Fee was originally adopted in fiscal 

year (FY) 1992 (state fiscal years begin September 1 and 
end August 31). The fee is based on tons of pollution 
emitted. Authority for the fee is provided under the Texas 
Health and Safety Code, Section 382.0621. Rules for 
administration of the fee are found in Title 30 of the 
Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Section 101.27 (for 
ways to obtain a copy of the rules, see this document’s 
last paragraph). The Texas Natural Resource Conservation 
Commission (predecessor to the TCEQ) adopted this fee 
in order to recover the increased cost of Titles IV and V 
programs related to the Federal Clean Air Act 
Amendments of 1990.  

How Is This Fee Assessed? 
The TCEQ annually assesses this fee for accounts that 

trigger one or more of the nine criteria associated with the 
fee rule. The reporting limit per pollutant is 4,000 tons. 
This fee is a self-report/billed fee (that is, facilities report 
their emissions to the TCEQ, and the agency calculates 
the fee due and sends a bill). 

What Is the Due Date of the Fees? 
Where Do I Send the Payment? 

The due date is 30 days after the “invoice date” shown 
on your billing statement; your payment must reach the 
TCEQ in time to be credited to your account by the due 
date. Return your payment with the payment coupon (the 
top portion of the billing statement) to the mailing address 
shown on the back of the coupon. Use the envelope 
provided for your convenience. Be sure to turn the coupon 
over so that TCEQ’s mailing address shows through the 
envelope’s window. 

Tip—to Help You Avoid Late Fees. Send your 
payment in “good order” as described in the preceding 
paragraph, and mail it 7 to 10 working days  before the 
due date. 



process. Processing “by hand” can be time-consuming 
(for example, see “If I Have More than One Account …”), 
and your account may not be credited in time to avoid late 
fees. 

If I Have More Than One Account, May I 
Send One Check for the Total Amount? 

You may send all your payments in one envelope, but 
please enclose a separate check for each coupon. If the 
number of checks does not equal the number of coupons, 
we won’t know which accounts to credit your payment to. 
We will not be able to process your transactions by the 
faster, automated process; instead, we will have to contact 
you by phone to find out how the payment should be 
credited. Processing “by hand” can become time-consuming 
(for example, playing “telephone tag”), and your account 
may not be credited in time to avoid late fees. 

What Does “FY” Mean on My Statement? 
“FY” stands for the TCEQ “fiscal year,” which runs 

from September 1 to August 31. 

Where Do I Send Correspondence and 
Forms or Get More Information? 

For facility information, address/contact changes, and 
fee packets: 

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
 
Industrial Emissions Assessment Section, MC-170  

P.O. Box 13087
 
Austin, TX 78711-3087
 

To contact one of the fee auditors,  call: 
512/239-1459. 

For account balance information, call: 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
 
Financial Administration Division 

Revenues Section
 
512/239-0354 


For TCEQ rules, publications, and other information: 
You can find the official version of TCEQ rules in the 
Texas Administrative Code on the Secretary of State’s 
Web site (www.sos.state.tx.us). 

Other ways to obtain a copy of the rules, and of TCEQ 
publications, include the following: 

C	 on the Internet, go to the TCEQ’s Web 
site at www.tceq.state.tx.us and click on 
the link to “Rules” or “Publications”; 

C	 fax orders to 512/239-4488, or order by 
voice at 512/239-0028, the TCEQ's 
publications unit; or 

C	 write to TCEQ Publications, MC 195, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087. 
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