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General Permit Storm Water and

General Permit Wastewater Fee

This document is for guidance only; it 
does not take the place of the official rules 
and regulations. 

What Is This Fee? 
The General Permit Storm Water 

(GPS) and General Permit Wastewater 
(GPW) fee provides funding for 
administration of water quality programs.  
The annual fee assessment authority is 
provided under Texas Water Code, 
26.0291, and 30 Texas Administrative 
Code (TAC), Chapter 205. 

How Is This Fee Assessed? 
Fee assessments are determined by the 

general permit and permit by rule.  Fees 
are assessed on the authorizations in effect 
on September 1. 

TPDES Multi-Sector 
Storm Water Runoff 
(Industrial Notice of 
Intent) 

$100 GPS 
Fee 

TPDES Construction 
Storm Water Runoff 
(Construction Notice of 
Intent) 

$100 GPS 
Fee 

TPDES Concrete 
Production Facilities 
(Notice of Intent) 

$500 GPW 
Fee 

TPDES Petroleum Bulk 
Stations and Terminals 
(Notice of Intent) 

$500 GPW 
Fee 

 

 

 

TCEQ Livestock 
Manure Composting 
Operations 
(Notice of Intent) 

$100 GPW
Fee 

TCEQ Concentrated 
Animal Feeding 
Operations 
(Notice of Intent) 

$800 GPW
Fee 

TCEQ Hydrostatic Test 
Waters 
(Notice of Intent) 

$100 GPW
Fee 

What Is the Due Date of the Fees? 
Where Do I Send the Payment? 

The due date is 30 days after the 
"invoice date" shown on your billing 
statement; your payment must reach the 
TCEQ in time to be credited to your 
account by the due date. Return your 
payment with the payment coupon (the top 
portion of the billing statement) to the 
mailing address shown on the back of the 
coupon. Use the envelope provided for 
your convenience. Be sure to turn the 
coupon over so that TCEQ's mailing 
address shows through the envelope's 
window. 

Tip–to Help You Avoid Late Fees. Send 
your payment in "good order" as described 
in the preceding paragraph, and mail it 7 
to 10 working days before the due date. 



Will I Be Charged Late Fees? 
If payment is not received in time to 

be credited to your account by the due 
date, the TCEQ will charge penalties and 
interest, as provided for in 30 TAC 
Chapter 12 of the agency rules. A penalty 
of 5 percent of the fee due will be assessed 
if the fee is not paid by the due date. If not 
paid within 30 days after the due date, an 
additional 5 percent penalty will be 
assessed. After the bill is 60 days overdue, 
the TCEQ will assess interest charges until 
the balance is paid. Interest is charged at 
the variable rate of prime plus 1 percent. 
The prime rate for the calendar year is the 
prime rate published in the Wall Street 
Journal on the first business day of the 
calendar year. 

What If We Can't Submit Payment 
by the Due Date? Will Late Fees Be 
Accrued? 

Yes. The General Permit Storm Water 
and General Permit Wastewater fees are 
assessed annually. The authorization 
holder has the opportunity to plan for 
payment of these fees before billing. 

In addition, TCEQ fees can now be paid 
online by credit card or ACH (electronic 
check) at www.tceq.state.tx.us/epay. 

How can I transfer credit from one 
account to another? 

You must provide written 
authorization to transfer the credit from 
one account to another. In your 
correspondence, please provide the 
account number with the credit and the 
Waste Water GPW or GPS account 
number. Send your letter to: 

Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality 

Financial Administration Division 
Revenue Section MC 214 
P.O. Box 13087

Austin, Texas 78711-3087


What If I Think I Should Not Have 
Been Billed or My Fee Is Incorrect? 

TCEQ generates invoices for all 
authorizations in effect on September 1. 
The invoices are mailed using the last 
address the TCEQ has on record. The 
authorization holder at the time of billing 
is required to pay the fee. 

If you want to dispute your fee, you 
must do so in writing. The TCEQ may not 
adjust the amount due if your request for 
adjustment is received more than one year 
after the date on which the fee was paid in 
full. You can telephone TCEQ offices to 
clarify questions you may have about your 
fee. (For phone numbers, see the heading 
"Where Do I Send Correspondence or Get 
More Information.") 

In the correspondence, please provide 
your account name, account number, 
permit number, and the description of the 
suspected error. Send your letter to: 

Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality 

Wastewater Permitting Section 
Storm Water & Pretreatment Team, 

MC148 
P.O. Box 13087

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

512/239-4433


Why Didn't I Receive a Fee 
Adjustment? 

When a dispute does not result in an 
adjustment of the fee, it is usually due to 
one of the following reasons. 

Change in Ownership or Operator. 
When the owner and/or operator has 
changed and the current authorization 
holder did not submit a Notice of 
Termination to be effective before 
September 1, the current authorization 
holder on record with the TCEQ is still 
responsible for the fee. For a change in 
owner and/or operator, the current 
authorization holder must submit a Notice 
of Termination, and the new owner and/or 
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operator must file a Notice of Intent 10 
days prior to the change. 

Address Change. When the 
authorization holder did not receive the 
bill, or received it late, because of an 
outdated or incorrect address filed with the 
TCEQ, late fees are still due.  The owner 
and/or operator must submit a Notice of 
Change. 

Termination of Authorization. If an 
authorization holder did not request 
termination of the authorization to be 
effective before September 1, the fee for 
that year is still due. The owner and/or 
operator must submit a Notice of 
Termination. 

You can often avoid problems like 
these by promptly notifying the TCEQ 
about important changes in your facility's 
status. To terminate an authorization or to 
make changes to an address, obtain the 
necessary form or instructions for 
providing notice from the contact listed 
under the section Where Do I Send 
Correspondence or Get More Information? 

What If My Facility is Not In 
Operation, But We Want to Retain 
the Authorization? Will We Still Be 
Assessed Fees? 

Yes. Fees will still be assessed based 
on the current authorization. 

Are the General Permit Storm Water 
and General Permit Wastewater 
Fees Prorated? 

No. General Permit Storm Water and 
General Permit Wastewater fees are 
assessed based on the authorization in 
effect on September 1. The permittee is 
required to pay the full amount, even 
though the authorization may be 
terminated after September 1. A Notice of 
Intent or Notice of Termination will not be 
processed until all annual fees are paid. 

Will Payment of the Annual Fee 
Renew the Authorization? 

No. The General Permit Storm Water 
and General Permit Wastewater fee that is 
assessed annually does not apply towards 
the Notice of Intent application fee. When 
a general permit is renewed, to continue 
authorization, a Notice of Intent may be 
required. If a Notice of Intent is required, 
an application fee must be submitted with 
the Notice of Intent. You can get a Notice 
of Intent form and check the requirements 
of the general permit from the Storm 
Water & Pretreatment Team Web page 
shown under the heading "Where Do I 
Send Correspondence or Get More 
Information." 

Why Do I Have to Return the 
Coupon with My Payment? 

The payment coupon (the top portion 
of your bill) contains an optical character 
reader (OCR) line. When we receive your 
payment, a computer reads your account 
number from that OCR line. Automated 
processing allows the agency to keep up 
with the large number of transactions 
handled. Without the coupon, your 
transaction cannot be handled by the 
faster, automated process. Processing "by 
hand" can be time-consuming (for 
example, see "If I Have More than One 
Account..."), and your account may not be 
credited in time to avoid late fees. 

If I Have More Than One Account, 
May I Send One Check for the Total 
Amount? 

You may send all your payments in 
one envelope, but please enclose a 
separate check for each coupon. If the 
number of checks does not equal the 
number of coupons, we won't know which 
accounts to credit your payment to. We 
will not be able to process your 
transactions by the faster, automated 
process; instead, we will have to contact 
you by phone to find out how the payment 
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should be credited. Processing "by hand" 
can become time-consuming (for example, 
playing "telephone tag"), and your account 
may not be credited in time to avoid late 
fees. 

What Does "FY" Mean on My 
Statement? 

"FY" stands for the TCEQ's "fiscal 
year," which runs from September 1 
through August 31. The fee assessment 
and payment correspond to that time 
period. 

Where Do I Send Correspondence 
or Get More Information? 

For a Copy of Your Authorization 
Acknowledgment Letter. You routinely 
receive an acknowledgment letter after 
your Notice of Intent has been deemed 
administratively complete. Additional 
copies of your authorization may be 
purchased from the TCEQ's Records 
Services Section, 512/239-2900. There is a 
small fee for copying. 

For TCEQ rules, publications, and 
other information. You can find the 
official version of the TCEQ Wastewater 
General Permits and related forms for 
Storm Water General Permits on the 
TCEQ Web site www.tceq.state.tx.us.  

Other ways to obtain a copy of the rules, 
and of TCEQ publications, include the 
following: 
• Go to www.tceq.state.tx.us, and—under 
the "Site Navigation" bar—follow the 
links "Forms and Publications" and 
"Rules, Policy & Legislation." 
• You can also contact the TCEQ 
Publications Unit at 512/239-0028. Try to 
give rule, publication, or form numbers as 
well as the title; this information will help 
the TCEQ staff get the correct item to you 
as quickly as possible. You may also fax 
your order to 512/239-4488, or write to 
TCEQ Publications, MC 195; PO Box 
13087; Austin, TX 78711-3087. 

• The Texas Administrative Code can be 
found on the Secretary of State's Web site 
at www.sos.state.tx.us. 

For Technical Information. For 
technical information about the TCEQ's 
regulatory program, contact: 

Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality 

Wastewater Permitting Section 
Storm Water and Pretreatment Team, 

MC 148 
P.O. Box 13087

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

512/239-4671

For Submitting Wastewater General 

Permit Forms. For submitting forms such 
as a Notice of Intent, Notice of 
Termination, or Notice of Change, send 
to: 

Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality 

Customer Information and 
Applications Processing Section 

Applications Review and Processing 
Team, MC 146 

P.O. Box 13087

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

512/239-4671

For Submitting Storm Water 

Forms.  For submitting storm water forms 
such as a Notice of Intent, Notice of 
Termination,or Notice of Change, send to: 

Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality 

Wastewater Permitting Section 
Storm Water & Pretreatment Team, 

MC 228 
P.O. Box 13087 
Austin, Texas 78711-3087 
or e-mail swpermit@tceq.state.tx.us 
For Submitting a Storm Water 

Form Electronically.  To submit a Storm 
Water Notice of Intent or No Exposure 
Certification form, or to terminate an 
authorization electronically through 
STEERS, go to 
www.tceq.state.tx.us/steers for the 

General Permit Storm Water and General Permit Wastewater Fee 
TCEQ publication RG-412 # Revised # November 2005 4 

mailto:swpermit@tceq.state.tx.us


STEERS Participation Agreement form to 
sign up. 

For Fee Information. For answers to 
questions about the General Permit Storm 
Water and General Permit Wastewater fee 
assessment, contact: 

Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality 

Wastewater Permitting Section 
Storm Water & Pretreatment Team, 

MC148 
P.O. Box 13087

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

512/239-0113

For Account Balance Information. 

Call: 
Texas Commission on Environmental 

Quality 
Financial Administration Division, 

Revenue Section 
512/239-0344 (a-m); 
512/239-0355 (n-z) 
For Other Information. The TCEQ 

Web site (www.tceq.state.tx.us) has 
information about the agency, its rules, 
and the environmental services the agency 
provides. 
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