
TCEQ REGULATORY GUIDANCE 
Critical Infrastructure Division 
RG-533 ● October 2019  

TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY • PO BOX 13087 • AUSTIN, TX 78711-3087 
The TCEQ is an equal opportunity employer. The agency does not allow discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation, or veteran 
status. In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this document may be requested in alternate formats by contacting the TCEQ at 512-239-0028, fax 
512-239-4488, or 1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD), or by writing PO Box 13087, Austin TX 78711-3087. We authorize you to use or reproduce any original material contained in this publication— 
that is, any material we did not obtain from other sources. Please acknowledge the TCEQ as your source. <www.tceq.texas.gov/assets/public/permitting/tier2/RG-533-fee-schedule.pdf> 
Printed on recycled paper.         How is our customer service?        www.tceq.texas.gov/customersurvey

Texas Tier II Chemical Reporting: 
Fee Schedules 

The TCEQ’s Tier II Chemical Reporting Program is designed to collect current and 
accurate information about hazardous chemicals and their health effects, and ensure 
that the regulated community complies with state and federal community right-to-
know laws. 

The Tier II Online Reporting System is an internet reporting portal provided by the 
TCEQ to allow the regulated community to submit their Tier II reports. The system 
captures data and contact information on the facilities that store Tier II-reportable 
chemicals, as well as data related to those chemicals. 

This guidance, which is intended for owners or operators of manufacturing facilities, 
non-manufacturing facilities, or public employer facilities, describes the fees 
associated with submitting Tier II reports. It provides a general outline of the fee 
process and schedules, and tools for calculating your specific fees. 

For further information on the program, visit our “Tier II Chemical Reporting” 
webpage, <www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/tier2>. 

Fee Process and Schedules 
All annual and initial Tier II account reports will automatically be assessed a  
filing fee upon submission. The filing fee for each Tier II submission is based on the 
facility’s Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code or North American Industrial 
Classification System (NAICS) Code and the number of hazardous chemicals listed for 
each facility in the submitted Tier 2 account report. 

Interactive fee calculators are available on our Tier II “Paying Fees” webpage at, 
<www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/tier2/reporting-steps/calculate-fees>. 
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https://www.tceq.texas.gov/customersurvey
https://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/tier2/
https://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/tier2/
http://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/tier2/reporting-steps/calculate-fees
http://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/tier2/reporting-steps/calculate-fees


Texas Tier II Chemical Reporting: Fee Schedules TCEQ publication RG-533 

2 October 2019 

If you own or operate a manufacturing facility (NAICS Codes 31000–33000), consult 
Table 1 to determine the appropriate fee:  

Table 1.  
Fee Schedule for a Manufacturing Facility 

Number of  
Hazardous Chemicals Fee 

25 or fewer $100.00 

26–50 $200.00 

51–75 $300.00 

76–100 $400.00 

101 or more $500.00 

If you own or operate a non-manufacturing facility or operate a public employer 
facility (i.e., a government facility or other tax-base-supported facility), consult 
Table 2 to determine the appropriate fee:  

Table 2.  
Fee Schedule for a Non-Manufacturing Facility 

or a Public Employer Facility 
Number of  

Hazardous Chemicals Fee 

75 or fewer $50.00 

76 or more $100.00 

If you are filing for more than one facility under the same operator, you may be able 
to consolidate a limited number of facilities under a single filing fee according to the 
consolidated filing fee instructions section of this document. 
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Consolidated Filing 
If you are required to submit a Tier II account report for more than one facility,  
a limited number of facilities may be consolidated under a single filing fee, but only  
if all the following conditions are met for the facilities being consolidated:  

• The facilities must have the same operator, with the same customer 
number (CN) and the same TXT2 number. 

• Facilities must be submitted on the same draft account report. 

• Each facility must have no more than 24 reportable chemicals. 

The number of facilities that can be consolidated depends on their type, as follows:  

•  Manufacturing facilities (NAICS Codes 31000–33000): No more than 
two can be consolidated under a single filing fee ($100). 

• Non-manufacturing facilities or public employer facilities: No more than 
seven can be consolidated under a single filing fee ($50). 

Calculating Fees 
Your Tier II account report filing fee will be calculated automatically upon 
submission, but the following instructions, with examples, are provided to help 
operators of multiple facilities figure out what the total filing fee will be. 

Manufacturing Facilities 
In this subsection, we provide a worksheet (Worksheet 1) for calculating the filing  
fee for manufacturing facilities (NAICS Codes 31000–33000). To help illustrate  
the calculation, the worksheet includes an example using a hypothetical operator. 

In the example, the operator has 15 manufacturing facilities in Texas that maintain 
hazardous chemicals above the Tier II reporting thresholds, as follows:  

• 7 facilities that have 24 or fewer chemicals per facility 

• 1 facility that has 25 chemicals 

• 5 facilities that have between 26 and 50 chemicals per facility 

• 2 facilities that have between 76 and 100 chemicals per facility 

Based on these numbers and using the worksheet, the operator in this example  
would pay a total filing fee of $2,300. 
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Worksheet 1.  
Calculating the Filing Fee for Manufacturing Facilities 

Row 
No. Steps for Calculating the Fee Example Your 

Figures 

1. Enter the number of facilities with 24 or 
fewer chemicals 7 

2.* Divide the number in row 1 by 2 and 
enter here. 3.5 

3.* If the number in row 2 contains a 
decimal, round up to a whole number. 4 

4. Multiply the number in row 3 x $100 
and enter here. $400.00 

5. Enter the number of facilities with 25 
chemicals. 1 

6. Multiply the number in row 5 x $100 
and enter here. $100.00 $ 

7. Enter the number of facilities with 
26–50 chemicals. 5 

8. Multiply the number in row 7 x $200 
and enter here. $1,000.00 $ 

9. Enter the number of facilities with 
51–75 chemicals. 0 

10. Multiply the number in row 9 x $300 
and enter here. $0.00 $ 

11. Enter the number of facilities with 
76–100 chemicals. 2 

12. Multiply the number in row 11 x $400 
and enter here. $800.00 $ 

13. Enter the number of facilities with more 
than 100 chemicals. 0 

14. Multiply the number in row 13 x $500 
and enter here. $0.00 $ 

Total Add the figures in rows 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 
and 14. This is your total fee. $2,300.00 $ 

*The steps in rows 2 and 3 are used to consolidate facilities with 24 or fewer chemicals.
Up to two manufacturing facilities with 24 or fewer chemicals may be consolidated under
one filing fee (see the instructions in “Consolidated Filing,” the previous section).
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Non-Manufacturing and Public Employer Facilities 
In this subsection, we provide a worksheet (Worksheet 2) for calculating the filing  
fee for non-manufacturing and public employer facilities. To help illustrate the 
calculation, the worksheet includes an example using a hypothetical operator. 

In the example, the operator has 16 non-manufacturing facilities in Texas that 
maintain hazardous chemicals above the Tier II reporting thresholds, as follows:  

• 10 facilities that have 24 or fewer chemicals per facility 

• 2 facilities that have 25–75 chemicals per facility 

• 4 facilities that have 76 or more chemicals per facility 

Based on these numbers and using the worksheet, the operator in this example  
would pay a total filing fee of $600.00. 

Worksheet 2.  
Calculating the Filing Fee  

for Non-Manufacturing and Public Employer Facilities 
Row 
No. Steps for Fee Calculation Example Your 

Figures 

1. Enter the number of facilities with 24 or 
fewer chemicals 10  

2.* Divide the number in row 1 by 7 and 
enter here. 1.4  

3.* If the number in row 2 contains a 
decimal, round up to a whole number. 2  

4. Multiply the number in row 3 x $50 and 
enter here. $100.00 $ 

5. Enter the number of facilities with  
25–75 chemicals. 2  

6. Multiply the number in row 5 x $50 and 
enter here. $100.00 $ 

7. Enter the number of facilities with 76 or 
more chemicals. 4  

8. Multiply the number in row 7 x $100 
and enter here. $400.00 $ 

Total Add the figures in rows 4, 6, and 8. This 
is your total fee. $600.00 $ 

*The steps in rows 2 and 3 are used to consolidate facilities with 24 or fewer chemicals.  
Up to seven non-manufacturing or public employer facilities with 24 or fewer chemicals may  
be consolidated under one filing fee (see the instructions in “Consolidated Filing,” the previous 
section). 


	Texas Tier II Chemical Reporting: Fee Schedules
	Texas Tier II Chemical Reporting: Fee Schedules
	Fee Process and Schedules
	Fee Process and Schedules
	Consolidated Filing
	Consolidated Filing
	Calculating Fees
	Calculating Fees
	Manufacturing Facilities
	Manufacturing Facilities
	Non-Manufacturing and Public Employer Facilities
	Non-Manufacturing and Public Employer Facilities





Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		Texas Tier II Chemical Reporting_ Fee ScheduleFinalAccessMF.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 2



		Passed manually: 0



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 1



		Passed: 29



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Needs manual check		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Needs manual check		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Skipped		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top



