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SUBCHAPTER F:  POST HEARING PROCEDURES 
§§80.251 - 80.255, 80.257, 80.259, 80.261, 80.263, 80.265, 80.267, 80.269, 

80.272 - 80.277, 80.279 
Effective March 24, 2016 

 
 

§80.251. Judge's Proposal for Decision. 
 
(a) Any application that is declared administratively complete before September 

1, 1999 is subject to this section. Any application that is declared administratively 
complete on or after September 1, 1999 is subject to §80.252 of this title (relating to 
Judge's Proposal for Decision). 

 
(b) Judge's proposal for decision. After closing the hearing record, the judge will 

file a written proposal for decision with the chief clerk within 30 working days and will 
send a copy by certified mail to the executive director and to each party. If the judge is 
unable to file the proposal within the 30 days, the judge shall request an extension from 
the commission by filing a request with the chief clerk. Neither the judge's failure to 
request an extension, the commission's failure to grant the requested extension, nor the 
judge's failure to file the proposal within the 30 day or extended period shall in any way 
affect the validity of the judge's proposal for decision or the commission's jurisdiction, 
consideration, or action relative to the proposal for decision. 

 
(c) Proposal for decision: adverse to a party. A proposal for decision shall be filed 

by the judge who conducted the hearing or by a substitute judge who has read the 
record. If the proposal for decision is adverse to a party to the proceeding, it shall 
contain a statement of the reasons for the proposal and, in underground injection 
control, Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System, and Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act permitting cases for which the commission's permitting authority is 
authorized by the federal government, proposed changes to the draft permit 
recommended by the judge in response to public comment, as well as findings of fact 
and conclusions of law which support the proposal. If any party has filed proposed 
findings of fact upon the judge's request, the judge shall include with the proposal for 
decision recommended rulings on all findings of fact so proposed. Where more than one 
judge has been assigned to hear a particular proceeding, the presiding judge will issue 
the proposal for decision and the other assigned judge or judges may file comments.  

 
(d) Proposal for decision: not adverse to any party. If the proposal for decision is 

not adverse to any party to the proceeding, the judge may informally dispose of the 
matter by proposing to the commission an order which need not contain findings of fact, 
conclusions of law, or reasons for the proposal. If the proposal for decision is not 
adverse to any party and a permit is to be issued, the judge need not propose an order to 
the commission. 
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Adopted October 24, 2001 Effective November 15, 2001 
 
§80.252. Judge's Proposal for Decision. 
 

(a) Any application that is declared administratively complete on or after 
September 1, 1999, is subject to this section. 

 
(b) Judge's proposal for decision regarding an application filed before September 

1, 2015, or applications not referred under Texas Water Code, §5.556 or §5.557. After 
closing the hearing record, the judge shall file a written proposal for decision with the 
chief clerk no later than the end of the maximum expected duration set by the 
commission and shall send a copy by certified mail to the executive director and to each 
party. 

 
(c) Judge's proposal for decision regarding an application filed on or after 

September 1, 2015, and referred under Texas Water Code, §5.556 or §5.557. After closing 
the hearing record, the judge shall file a written proposal for decision with the chief 
clerk no later than 180 days after the first day of the preliminary hearing, the date 
specified by the commission, or the date to which the deadline was extended pursuant to 
Texas Government Code, §2003.047(e-3). Additionally, the judge shall send a copy by 
certified mail to the executive director and to each party.  

 
(d) Proposal for decision: adverse to a party. A proposal for decision shall be filed 

by the judge who conducted the hearing or by a substitute judge who has read the 
record. If the proposal for decision is adverse to a party to the proceeding, it shall 
contain a statement of the reasons for the proposal as well as findings of fact and 
conclusions of law which support the proposal on any issue referred by the commission 
or added by the judge. If any party has filed proposed findings of fact upon the judge's 
request, the judge shall include with the proposal for decision recommended rulings on 
all findings of fact so proposed. Where more than one judge has been assigned to hear a 
particular proceeding, the presiding judge will issue the proposal for decision and the 
other assigned judge or judges may file comments. 

 
(e) Proposal for decision: not adverse to any party. If the proposal for decision is 

not adverse to any party to the proceeding, the judge may informally dispose of the 
matter by proposing to the commission an order which need not contain findings of fact, 
conclusions of law, or reasons for the proposal. If the proposal for decision is not 
adverse to any party and a permit is to be issued, the judge need not propose an order to 
the commission. 

 
Adopted December 9, 2015 Effective December 31, 2015 
 
§80.253. Enforcement Proposal for Decision. 
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(a) In an enforcement case, a proposal for decision shall also include a proposal 
for remedial relief (technical ordering provisions) where appropriate, and one of the 
following recommendations: 

 
(1) that a violation has occurred and that a specific amount of penalties 

should be assessed; 
 
(2) that a violation has occurred but that no penalty should be assessed; or 
 
(3) that no violation has occurred. 

 
(b) When recommending an administrative penalty, the judge shall analyze each 

factor prescribed by the applicable statute to be considered by the commission in 
determining the amount of the penalty. The judge shall recommend to the commission 
an appropriate penalty amount based upon the evidence presented at the hearing and 
the factors given in the applicable statutes. 

 
(c) Weight to be given by the judge to individual statutory factors for determining 

penalty amount need not be equal and may vary depending on the facts of the particular 
case. The absence of evidence as to any particular factor does not negate the ability of 
the judge to arrive at a finding of an appropriate penalty based upon the totality of the 
circumstances, though such lack of evidence may be a factor in determining the penalty 
amount. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.254. Settlement of Enforcement Cases. 

 
The executive director and the respondent may reach an agreement, or 

settlement, in an enforcement action such that an agreed order is entered into in 
accordance with §70.10 of this title (relating to Agreed Orders). If there is a party to the 
case that dissents from the proposed settlement, the judge shall give such party a 
reasonable time to file comments, and shall forward all timely filed comments to the 
commission together with the proposed settlement. After any required public notice and 
opportunity for comment on proposed settlements and consideration of the record, the 
commission or the executive director may either approve the proposed settlement, or 
disapprove it and remand the case to the State Office of Administrative Hearings for 
hearing.  

 
Adopted June 30, 2010 Effective July 22, 2010 
 
§80.255. Waiver of Right to Review Judge's Proposal. 
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Any party may waive the right to review and comment upon the judge's proposal 
for decision. The waiver shall be either in writing or stated on the record at the hearing. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.257. Pleadings Following Proposal for Decision. 

 
(a) Pleadings. Unless right of review has been waived, any party may within 20 

days after the date of issuance of the proposal for decision, file exceptions or briefs. The 
request shall be served on the parties and the judge, shall specify the issues to be briefed 
and shall set reasonable deadlines for the executive director's response and the parties 
replies to that response, avoiding delay of the matter to the extent practicable. Proposed 
findings of fact may be filed when permitted or requested by the commission. Any 
replies to exceptions, briefs, or proposed findings of fact shall be filed within 30 days 
after the date of issuance on the proposal of decision.  

 
(b) Change of filing deadlines. On his own motion or at the request of a party, the 

general counsel may change the deadlines to file pleadings following the proposal for 
decision. A party requesting a change must file a written request with the chief clerk, 
and must serve a copy on the general counsel, the judge, and the other parties. The 
request must explain that the party requesting the change has contacted the other 
parties, and whether the request is opposed by any party. The request must include 
proposed dates (preferably a range of dates) and must indicate whether the judge and 
the parties agree on the proposed dates. 
 
Adopted April 11, 2012 Effective May 3, 2012 
 
§80.259. Amending the Proposal for Decision. 

 
The judge may file an amended proposal for decision in response to exceptions, 

replies, or briefs submitted by the parties. The parties are not entitled to file exceptions 
or briefs in response to the amended Proposal for Decision (PFD), but may raise any 
issues before the commission as permitted by the commission at the time of oral 
presentation. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.261. Scheduling Commission Meetings. 

 
(a) The chief clerk, in coordination with the judge, shall schedule motions by 

parties requiring commission action and the presentation of the proposal for decision. 
The judge, when transmitting the proposal for decision, shall notify the parties of the 
date of the commission meeting and the deadlines for the filing of exceptions and 
replies. The general counsel, either by agreement of the parties and the judge, or on the 
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general counsel's own motion, may reschedule the presentation of the proposal for 
decision. The chief clerk shall send notice of the rescheduled meeting date to the parties 
no later than ten days before the rescheduled meeting.  

 
(b) Consistent with notices required by law, the commission may consolidate 

related matters if the consolidation will not injure any party and may save time and 
expense or otherwise benefit the public interest and welfare.  

 
(c) The commission may sever issues in a proceeding or hold special hearings on 

separate issues if doing so will not injure any party and may save time and expense or 
benefit the public interest and welfare. 
 
Adopted April 11, 2012 Effective May 3, 2012 
 
§80.263. Oral Presentation before the Commission. 

 
In proceedings where a judge has held a public hearing and has issued a proposal 

for decision or other report to the commission, all oral presentations before the 
commission shall be limited to five minutes each, excluding time for answering 
questions, unless the chairman or general counsel establishes other limitations. Before 
the commission meeting, the general counsel may allot time for oral presentations. Oral 
presentations and responses to questions shall be directed to the commission. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.265. Reopening the Record. 

 
The commission, on the motion of any party or on its own motion, may order the 

judge to reopen the record for further proceedings on specific issues in dispute. The 
commission's order shall include instructions as to the subject matter of further 
proceedings and the judge's duties in preparing supplemental materials or revised 
orders based upon those proceedings for the commission's adoption. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.267. Decision. 
 

(a) Decision. The commission shall make its decision upon the expiration of 30 
days or later following service of the judge's proposal for decision, unless the parties 
have waived review. The decision, if adverse to any party, shall include findings of fact 
and conclusions of law separately stated. If any party has filed proposed findings of fact 
at the request of the judge, the commission will include in its decision a ruling on the 
proposed findings of fact, unless waived by the party. 
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(b) Prompt decision. The commission's decision or order should be signed not 
later than 60 days after the date that the hearing is finally closed. In a contested case 
heard by an administrative law judge, the agency or the administrative law judge who 
conducts the contested case hearing may extend the period in which the decision or 
order may be signed. 

 
Adopted December 9, 2015 Effective December 31, 2015 
 
§80.269. Commission's Decision after Contested Enforcement Case 
Hearing. 

 
(a) In an enforcement case, a decision shall also include provisions requiring 

remedial relief (technical ordering provisions), as necessary, and one of the following 
findings: 

 
(1) that a violation has occurred and that a specific amount of penalties 

should be assessed; 
 
(2) that a violation has occurred but that no penalty should be assessed; or 
 
(3) that no violation has occurred. 

 
(b) When assessing an administrative penalty, the commission shall analyze each 

factor prescribed by the applicable statute to be considered by the commission in 
determining the amount of the penalty. 

 
(c) Weight to be given by the commission to individual statutory factors for 

determining penalty amount need not be equal and may vary depending on the facts of 
the particular case. The absence of evidence as to any particular factor does not negate 
the ability of the commission to arrive at a finding of an appropriate penalty based upon 
the totality of the circumstances, though such lack of evidence may be a factor in 
reducing or increasing the penalty amount. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.272. Motion for Rehearing. 
 

(a) Any decision in an administrative hearing before the commission that is 
subject to this section.  

 
(b) Filing motion. A motion for rehearing is a prerequisite to appeal. The motion 

shall be filed with the chief clerk not later than 25 days after the date that the decision or 
order is signed, unless the time for filing the motion for rehearing has been extended 
under Texas Government Code, §2001.142, and §80.276 of this title (relating to Request 
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for Extension to File Motion for Rehearing), by agreement under Texas Government 
Code, §2001.147, or by the commission's written order issued pursuant to Texas 
Government Code, §2001.146(e). On or before the date of filing of a motion for 
rehearing, a copy of the motion shall be mailed or delivered to all parties with 
certification of service furnished to the commission. Copies of the motion shall be sent 
to all other parties using the following notification procedures: 

 
(1) personally; 
 
(2) if agreed to by the party or attorney to be notified, by electronic means 

sent to the current email address or telecopier number of the party's attorney of record 
or of the party if the party is not represented by counsel; or 

 
(3) by first class, certified, or registered mail sent to the last known 

address of the party's attorney of record or of the party if the party is not represented by 
counsel. 

 
(c) The motion shall contain:  
 

(1) the name and representative capacity of the person filing the motion;  
 
(2) the style and official docket number assigned by SOAH, and official 

docket number assigned by the commission;  
 
(3) the date of the decision or order;  
 
(4) the findings of fact or conclusions of law, identified with particularity, 

that are the subject of the complaint and any evidentiary or legal ruling claimed to be 
erroneous; and 

 
(5) a statement of the legal and factual basis for the claimed error.  
 

(d) Reply to motion for rehearing. A reply to a motion for rehearing must be filed 
with the chief clerk not later than 40 days after the date that the decision or order is 
signed, or not later than 10 days after the date that a motion for rehearing is filed if the 
time for filing the motion for rehearing has been extended by an agreement under Texas 
Government Code, §2001.147 or by a written order issued by the commission pursuant 
to Texas Government Code, §2001.146(e). Copies of the reply shall be sent to all other 
parties using the following notification procedures: 

 
(1) personally; 
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(2) if agreed to by the party or attorney to be notified, by electronic means 
sent to the current email address or telecopier number of the party's attorney of record 
or of the party if the party is not represented by counsel; or 

 
(3) by first class, certified, or registered mail sent to the last known 

address of the party's attorney of record or of the party if the party is not represented by 
counsel. 

 
(e) Ruling on motion for rehearing.  
 

(1) Upon the request of the general counsel or a commissioner, the motion 
for rehearing will be scheduled for consideration during a commission meeting. Unless 
the commission extends time or rules on the motion for rehearing not later than 55 days 
after the date that the decision or order is signed, the motion is overruled by operation 
of law.  

 
(2) A motion for rehearing may be granted in whole or in part. When a 

motion for rehearing is granted, the decision or order is nullified. The commission may 
reopen the hearing to the extent it deems necessary. Thereafter, the commission shall 
render a decision or order as required by this subchapter.  

 
(f) Extension of time limits. With the agreement of the parties, on a motion of any 

party for cause shown, or on their own motion, the commission or the general counsel 
may, by written order, extend the period of time for filing motions for rehearing and 
replies and for taking action on the motions so long as the period for taking agency 
action provided that the agency extends the time or takes the action not later than the 
10th day after the date that the period for filing a motion or reply or taking agency 
action expires. The commission may not extend the period for taking agency action 
beyond 100 days after the date that the decision or order is signed.  

 
(g) Motion overruled. In the event of an extension, the motion for rehearing is 

overruled by operation of law on the date fixed by the order, or in the absence of a fixed 
date, 100 days after the date that the decision or order is signed. 

 
(h) Subsequent motion for rehearing. A subsequent motion for rehearing is not 

required after the commission rules on a motion for rehearing unless the order 
disposing of the original motion for rehearing: 

 
(1) modifies, corrects, or reforms in any respect the decision or order that 

is the subject of the complaint, other than a typographical, grammatical, or other clerical 
change identified as such by the agency in the order, including any modification, 
correction, or reformation that does not change the outcome of the contested case; or 
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(2) vacates the decision or order that is the subject of the motion and 
provides for a new decision or order. 

 
(i) A subsequent motion for rehearing required by subsection (h) of this 

subsection must be filed not later than 20 days after the date the decision or order 
disposing of the original motion for rehearing is signed. 

 
Adopted December 9, 2015 Effective December 31, 2015 
 
§80.273. Decision Final and Appealable. 
 

Except as provided in §80.274 of this title (relating to Motion for Rehearing Not 
Required in Certain Cases), in the absence of a timely motion for rehearing, a decision 
or order of the commission is final on the expiration of the period for filing a motion for 
rehearing. If a party files a motion for rehearing, a decision or order of the commission 
is final and appealable on the date of the order overruling the final motion for rehearing 
or on the date the motion is overruled by operation of law. 

 
Adopted December 9, 2015 Effective December 31, 2015 
 
§80.274. Motion for Rehearing Not Required in Certain Cases. 
 

(a) A motion for rehearing is not required, and §80.272 and §80.273 of this title 
(relating to Motion for Rehearing and Decision Final and Appealable) do not apply 
when a final commission order is issued under Texas Government Code, 
§2001.144(a)(3) or (4).  

 
(b) The commission may issue an order that is final under Texas Government 

Code, §2001.144(a)(4) if all parties agree to the specified date in writing or on the 
record, and if the specified date is not before the date the order is signed. The 
commission is not required to issue an order under Texas Government Code, 
§2001.144(a)(4) even when requested by all parties. When the parties request, and the 
commission agrees, to issue a final order under Texas Government Code, 
§2001.144(a)(4), each party shall thereby waive any allegations of error not in the 
party's exceptions to the proposal for decision, reply to exceptions, or discussed as an 
issue in the judge's proposal for decision. 
 
Adopted December 9, 2015 Effective December 31, 2015 
 
§80.275. Appeal of Final Decision. 

 
(a) Petition. A person affected by a final decision or order of the commission may 

file a petition for judicial review within 30 days after the decision or order is final and 
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appealable. General procedures for appealing an order of the commission in contested 
cases are governed by the APA. 

 
(b) The record. The record in a contested case shall include the following: 

 
(1) all pleadings, motions, and intermediate rulings; 
 
(2) evidence received or considered; 
 
(3) a statement of matters officially noticed; 
 
(4) questions and offers of proof, objections, and rulings on them; 
 
(5) summaries of the results of any conferences held before or during the 

hearing; 
 
(6) proposed findings, exceptions, and briefs; 
 
(7) any decision, opinion, or report by the officer presiding at the hearing; 
 
(8) prefiled testimony; 
 
(9) all staff memoranda or data submitted to or considered by the judge or 

commissioners who are involved in the decision; and 
 
(10) the final order and all interlocutory orders. 

 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.276. Request for Extension to File Motion for Rehearing. 
 

(a) If an adversely affected party or the party's attorney of record does not receive 
the notice or acquire actual knowledge of a signed commission decision or order before 
the 15th day after the date that the decision or order is signed, a period specified by or 
agreed to under Texas Government Code, §§2001.144(a), 2001.146, 2001.147, 
2001.176(a), or §80.272 of this title (relating to Motion for Rehearing) relating to a 
decision or order or motion for rehearing begins, with respect to that party, on the date 
the party receives the notice or acquires actual knowledge of the signed decision or 
order, whichever occurs first. The period may not begin earlier than 15 days or later than 
90 days after the date that the decision or order was signed. 

 
(b) To establish a revised period under subsection (a) of this section, the 

adversely affected party must prove, on sworn motion and notice, that the date the party 
received notice from the commission or acquired actual knowledge of the signing of the 
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decision or order was at least 15 days after the date that the decision or order was 
signed. 

 
(c) The commission must grant or deny the sworn motion not later than the date 

of the commission's next agenda meeting for which proper notice can be provided. 
 
(d) If the commission fails to grant or deny the motion at the commission's next 

agenda meeting for which proper notice can be provided, the motion is considered 
granted. 

 
(e) If the sworn motion filed under subsection (b) of this section is granted with 

respect to the party filing that motion, all the periods specified by or agreed to under 
Texas Government Code, §§2001.144(a), 2001.146, 2001.147, 2001.176(a), or §80.272 of 
this title relating to a decision or order, or motion for rehearing, shall begin on the date 
specified in the sworn motion that the party first received the notice required by Texas 
Government Code, §2001.142(a) and (b) or acquired actual knowledge of the signed 
decision or order. The date specified in the sworn motion shall be considered the date 
the decision or order was signed. 

 
Adopted December 9, 2015 Effective December 31, 2015 
 
§80.277. Appeals of Enforcement Orders. 

 
(a) Within the 30-day period immediately following the day on which the 

commission's order in a contested case is final, in accordance with the APA, the person 
charged with a penalty shall pay the penalty in full. 

 
(b) The person assessed a penalty by the commission may suspend enforcement 

of the penalty while seeking judicial review by forwarding the amount of the penalty to 
the commission for placement in an escrow account or posting with the commission a 
supersedeas bond payable to the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission for 
the amount of the penalty, within the 30-day period immediately following the day on 
which the commission's order is final. 

 
(c) In the event the person assessed fails to take any of the actions in subsections 

(a) or (b) of this section, the executive director or an authorized representative may 
forward the matter to the attorney general for enforcement. 

 
(d) In the event that the final appellate determination is against the person 

assessed a penalty, he or she shall pay the commission the full amount of the penalty, 
and the commission shall deposit the amount of the penalty in the state treasury to the 
credit of the general revenue fund. 
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(e) To the extent that the final appellate determination is in favor of the person 
assessed, he or she shall be absolved of liability for payment of that portion of the 
amount of the penalty as is required to comply with that determination, and the 
commission shall return that amount of the penalty assessed which is excessive 
according to that determination, or any amount of the supersedeas bond or escrow 
account filed with the commission for the purpose of suspending the enforcement of the 
penalty while seeking judicial review which is in excess of the final penalty 
determination with a certificate of its return. 

 
(f) Any supersedeas bond or escrow account filed with the commission for the 

purpose of suspending the enforcement of the penalty while seeking judicial review of 
the final decision of the commission shall be drawn according to a form on file in the 
Office of the Chief Clerk. Upon request, the chief clerk shall certify the receipt of the 
amount of any penalty received by the commission for the purpose of suspending the 
enforcement of the penalty while seeking judicial review. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
 
§80.279. Costs of Record on Appeal. 

 
A party who appeals a final decision in a contested case shall pay all costs of 

preparation of the original or a certified copy of the record of the agency proceeding that 
is required to be transmitted to the reviewing court. A charge imposed as provided by 
this section is considered to be a court cost and may be assessed by the court in 
accordance with the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 
Adopted May 8, 1996 Effective June 6, 1996 
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