


[bookmark: _GoBack]Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Dual Chamber Incinerators
Air Permits by Rule (PBR) Checklist
Title 30 Texas Administrative Code § 106.491
Check the most appropriate answer and include any additional information in the spaces provided. If additional space is needed, please include an extra page and reference the rule number. The permit by rule (PBR) forms, tables, checklists, and guidance documents are available from the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), Air Permits Division Web site at:  www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/air/nav/air_pbr.html.
This PBR (§ 106.491) requires registration with the commission’s Office of Air in Austin before construction begins. The facility can be registered by completing Form PI-7, “Registration for Permits by Rule,” or 
Form PI-7-CERT, “Registration and Certification for Permits by Rule.” This checklist should accompany the registration form.
For additional assistance with your application, including resources to help calculate your emissions, please visit the Small Business and Local Government Assistance (SBLGA) webpage at the following link: www.TexasEnviroHelp.org.

	Questions/Descriptions and Response

	Rule
	Applicability

	(a)
	Is the incinerator a dual-chamber design?
	[bookmark: Check18]|_| YES |_| NO

	(a)
	Will this incinerator be used to burn only waste generated on site, or illegal drugs confiscated by federal, state, or local law enforcement agencies?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Note: Incinerators used in the processing or recovery of materials or to dispose of pathological waste as defined in § 106.494 (relating to Pathological Waste Incinerators), hospital waste, infectious waste, hazardous waste, or radioactive waste are not authorized by this section).

	Rule
	Design Requirements

	(b)(1)
	Is the incinerator equipped with an afterburner automatically controlled to operate with a minimum temperature of 1,400 degrees Fahrenheit?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Indicate the temperature:	 ˚F

	(b)(1)
	Is the incinerator equipped with a continuous exhaust temperature monitor?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(b)(1)
	Is the incinerator designed and operated with a minimum gas retention time of 0.5 seconds?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Indicate the gas retention time:	 seconds

	What is the manufacturer’s rated capacity (burn rate) of the incinerator?	 lb/hr

	What is the make of the incinerator?	

	What is the model of the incinerator?	
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Dual Chamber Incinerators
Air Permits by Rule (PBR) Checklist
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	Questions/Descriptions and Response

	Rule
	Design Requirements (continued)

	(b)(2)
	What types and amounts of waste will be burned?
Attach additional sheets if necessary.

	Type:
	Amount:

	
	

	
	

	
	

	(b)(3)(A)
	What is the height of the incinerator stack?	 feet

	(b)(3)(B)
	Is there a building within 150 feet of the incinerator?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	If there is a building, indicate height:	 feet

	Note:  The incinerator stack must be at least six feet taller than the highest structure within 150 feet.

	(b)(3)(C)
	What is the distance from the incinerator to the nearest property line?	 feet

	(b)(3)(D)
	Does the stack have unobstructed vertical discharge when the incinerator is operated?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Note:  Properly installed and maintained spark arrestors are not considered obstructions.

	Rule
	Operational Limits

	(c)(1)
	Which one of the following categories of waste materials will be the only type of waste burned in the incinerator?
|_|	paper, wood, cardboard cartons, rags, combustible floor sweepings, and garbage (solid waste consisting of putrescible animal and vegetable waste materials resulting from the handling, preparation, cooking, and consumption of food, including waste materials from markets, storage facilities, and handling and sale of produce and other food products)
Answer all questions for § 106.491(c)(1)(A); skip questions regarding § 106.491(c)(1)(B) only.
|_|	drugs confiscated by law enforcement, limited to marijuana, cocaine, opiates, and methamphetamines
Answer all questions for § 106.491(c)(1)(B); skip questions regarding § 106.491(c)(1)(A) only.

	Note:  § 106.491 requires that a single incinerator may only burn one of the categories of waste described above  If the incinerator will burn both categories of wastes at the same time, or if it will burn both categories of waste alternately at different times, the incinerator is not in compliance with the requirement of the rule.
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	Questions/Descriptions and Response

	Rule
	Operational Limits (continued)

	(c)(1)(A)
	Will plastics containing polyvinyl chloride or polyvinyl fluoride be burned?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(1)(A)
	Will waste materials contain more than 10% treated papers, plastic, or rubber scraps?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(1)(A)
	Will the garbage content exceed 50%?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(1)(A)
	Will the moisture content exceed 50%?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(1)(A)
	Will noncombustible solids exceed 10% of the total weight?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(1)(B)
	Will drugs to be incinerated be limited to only marijuana, cocaine, opiates, and methamphetamines?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(1)(B)
	Indicate drug(s) to be burned:
|_|	Marijuana
|_|	Cocaine
|_|	Opiates
|_|	Methamphetamines

	(c)(2)(A)
	Will the burn rate for cocaine, opiates, and methamphetamines be limited to no more than four pounds per hour (lb/hr) and ten pounds in any eight-hour period?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(2)(A)
	Indicate the burn rate:

	Cocaine:	 lb/hr

	Opiates:	 lb/hr

	Methamphetamines:	 lb/hr

	(c)(2)(B)
	Will the burn rate for marijuana be limited to no more than 500 lb/hr and will emissions of total inhalable particulate matter (PM10) not exceed 1.0 lb/hr?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(2)(B)
	Indicate the burn rate:
Marijuana:	 lb/hr

	(c)(2)(B)
	Will the emissions of total inhalable particulate matter (PM10) from the burning of marijuana exceed 1.0 lb/hr?
	|_| YES |_| NO
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	Questions/Descriptions and Response

	Rule
	Operational Limits (continued)

	(c)(2)(B)
	Indicate the PM10 emission rate:
PM10:	 lb/hr

	(c)(3)
	What type of fuel is used to operate the incinerator?
Check all that apply:
|_|	Sweet Natural Gas
|_|	Liquid Petroleum Gas
|_|	Number 2 fuel oil with less than 0.5% sulfur by weight
|_|	Electric Power

	(c)(4)
	Will the manufacturer’s recommended operating instructions be posted on the incinerator and the incinerator operated in accordance with the instructions and maintained in good working order?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(c)(5)
	Will the opacity of the visible emissions exceed 5.0% averaged over any six-minute period as determined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency Test Method 9?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Rule
	Compliance and Administrative Requirements

	(d)(1)
	Did you provide Form PI-7 or Form PI-7-CERT as part of this registration request?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	|_|	Form PI-7
	|_|	Form PI-7-CERT

	(d)(3)(A)
	If the facility processes confiscated drugs, will sampling be provided within 180 days of the start of operation?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Note:  Similar facility sampling may be used if documentation is provided, including the model number, burn rate, materials burned, and all relevant operating conditions, that demonstrates the previously sampled incinerator is equivalent to the facility being registered.

	Why or Why Not:



	(d)(3)(B)
	Have you provided a description addressing the applicability of
40 CFR Part 60, NSPS Subpart CCCC?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Note:  If the federal regulation applies, commercial and industrial solid waste incinerators must demonstrate compliance with the requirements including initial stack sampling, opacity readings, reporting, and record keeping.

	Why or Why Not:
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	Questions/Descriptions and Response

	Rule
	Compliance and Administrative Requirements (continued)

	(d)(3)(C)
	Upon request of the commission or any local air pollution control program having jurisdiction over the site, will compliance with § 111.121 (relating to Single, Dual, and Multiple-Chamber Incinerators) and § 111.125 (relating to Testing Requirements) be demonstrated?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	(d)(4)
	Will the incinerator owner or operator install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a monitoring device that continuously measures and records the temperature of the exhaust gas of the incinerator, in addition to any monitoring required by an appropriate New Source Performance Standard (NSPS) subpart?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	(d)(5)
	Will records be kept of the type and amount of waste charged/ burned?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	(d)(5)
	Will records be kept of the type and amount of fuel usage, including the sulfur content of the fuel if fuel oil is used?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	(d)(5)
	Will records be kept of the monitoring and testing results?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	(d)(5)
	Will records be kept of the hours of operation?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	(d)(5)
	Will records be kept of routine maintenance of abatement systems sufficient to demonstrate each of the rule requirements?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:
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	Questions/Descriptions and Response

	Rule
	Compliance and Administrative Requirements (continued)

	(d)(5)
	Will records be retained for a minimum rolling two-year period and comply with § 106.8 (relating to Recordkeeping)?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	Other Applicable Rules and Regulations

	Is the facility subject to 30 TAC §§ 115.120-129?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	Is the facility subject to 30 TAC §§ 117.210-223?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	Is the facility subject to 40 CFR Part 60, NSPS Subpart E?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	Is the facility subject to 40 CFR Part 60, NSPS Subpart CCCC?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	Is the facility subject to 40 CFR Part 60, NSPS Subpart DDDD?
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:



	Is the facility subject to 40 CFR Part 63, MACT Subpart EEE
	|_| YES |_| NO

	Why or Why Not:
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Record Keeping:  In order to demonstrate compliance with the general and specific requirements of this PBR, sufficient records must be maintained to demonstrate that all requirements are met at all times. Records must include the type and amount of waste charged/burned; type and amount of fuel usage, including sulfur content for fuel oil; monitoring and testing results; hours of operation; and routine maintenance of abatement systems sufficient to demonstrate all requirements are met. The registrant should also become familiar with the additional record keeping requirements in 30 TAC § 106.8. The records must be made available immediately upon request to the commission or any air pollution control program having jurisdiction. If you have any question about the type of records that should be maintained or testing requirements, contact the Air Program in the TCEQ Regional Office for the region in which the site is located
Recommended Calculation Methods:  In order to demonstrate compliance with this PBR, the registrant may use the emission factors for each air contaminant from the EPA Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-42), Fifth Edition, Volume I, Chapter 2: Solid Waste Disposal at:  www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/ap42/index.html. The registrant may also use the calculation method for dual incinerators as described in the TCEQ guidance for Combustion Sources at web address: www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/air/nav/air_combustsources.html.
TCEQ 20272 (APDG 5531v6, Revised 05/15) PBR Checklist 106.491 – Dual Chamber Incinerators
This form is used by facilities subject to air quality permit requirements and
may be revised periodically.	Page 1 of 1
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