Jon Niermann, *Chairman* Emily Lindley, *Commissioner* Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner* Toby Baker, *Executive Director*



TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

July 21, 2022

Laurie Gharis, Chief Clerk Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Office of the Chief Clerk (MC - 105) P.O. Box 13087 Austin, Texas 78711-3087

RE: Port of Corpus Christi Authority of Nueces County

SOAH Docket No. 582-20-1895 TCEQ Docket No. 2019-1156-IWD

Dear Ms. Gharis:

Please find the Executive Director's Reply to Exceptions to the Proposal for Decision on Remand for the above referenced matter.

Best Regards,

Harrison Cole Malley TCEQ Staff Attorney

cc: Rebecca Smith, Administrative Law Judge, State Office of Administrative

Hearings

Cassandra Quinn, Administrative Law Judge, State Office of Administrative

Hearings

SOAH DOCKET NO. 582-20-1895 TCEQ DOCKET NO. 2019-1156-IWD

APPLICATION OF	§	BEFORE THE STATE OFFICE
PORT OF CORPUS CHRISTI	§	
AUTHORITY OF NUECES	§	
COUNTY FOR TEXAS	§	OF
POLLUTANT DISCHARGE	§	
ELIMINATION SYSTEM	§	
PFRMIT NO. WO0005253000	8	ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPLY TO EXCEPTIONS TO THE PROPOSAL FOR DECISION ON REMAND

I. Overview

The Executive Director maintains his position that the draft permit, with the additional recommendations from the Administrative Law Judges, meets the requirements of the applicable statutory and regulatory requirements and will be protective of human health and the environment. PAC and the Steves/Kings continue to reargue issues that were thoroughly vetted during the remand hearing.

The Executive Director supports the ALJs' finding that the POCC met its burden of proof on all referred issues and their recommendation to issue the Executive Director's proposed permit. Therefore, the Executive Director respectfully requests that the Commission adopt the ALJs' proposed order with the Executive Director's recommended changes presented in his Exceptions to the PFD and issue the proposed permit with the changes recommended by the ALJs and the Executive Director.

Respectfully submitted,

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Toby Baker, Executive Director

Charmaine Backens, Deputy Director **Environmental Law Division**

Kathy Humphreys

Staff Attorney

Environmental Law Division

State Bar of Texas No. 24006911

P.O. Box 13087, MC-173

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

Phone: (512) 239-3417 Fax: (512) 239-0606

Bobby Salehi, Staff Attorney **Environmental Law Division** State Bar No. 24103912

P.O. Box 13087, MC 173

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

Phone (512) 239-5930 Fax: (512) 239-0606

Harrison Cole Malley, Staff Attorney

Environmental Law Division

State Bar No. 24116710

P.O. Box 13087, MC 173

Austin, Texas 78711-3087

(512) 239-1439 (phone)

Fax: (512) 239-0606

REPRESENTING THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL **QUALITY**

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on July 21, 2022, the "Executive Director's Reply to Exceptions to the Proposal for Decision on Remand" was served: electronically, by first class mail, or hand delivered to the parties listed below.

Harrison Cole Malley

Maur Cde Mill

Staff Attorney

TCEQ's Environmental Law Division State Bar of Texas No. 24116710

SERVICE LIST - SOAH DOCKET NO. 582-20-1895

TCEQ Public Interest Counsel

Sheldon P. Wayne - sheldon.wayne@tceq.texas.gov

TCEQ Office of the Chief Clerk- for filings only

Laurie Gharis: (via e-Filings): https://www14.tceq.texas.gov/epic/eFiling/

Port of Corpus Christi

- 1. Ernest Wotring, Attorney ewotring@bakerwotring.com
- 2. Debra Baker, Attorney dbaker@bakerwotring.com
- 3. John Muir, Attorney jmuir@bakerworting.com
- 4. Amanda Guerrero aguerrero@bakerworting.com

City of Port Aransas

- 1. Emily Rogers erogers@bickerstaff.com
- 2. Bill Dugat, III <u>bdugat@bickerstaff.com</u>

Port Aransas Conservancy

- 1. Kirk D. Rasmussen krasmussen@jw.com
- 2. Benjamin Rhem brhem@jw.com
- 3. Craig R. Bennett cbennett@jw.com
- 4. Sue Ayers sayers@jw.com

Port Aransas Conservancy and Mary Anderson Abell, Jack Guenther, Sr., Jack Guenther, Jr., Valerie Guenther, Bill Johnson, Kathy Mays Johnson, James Harrison King, Tammy King, Edward Steves, Nancy Steves, Sam Steves, Sarah Steves

- 1. Richard Lowerre rl@lf-lawfirm.com
- 2. David Frederick dof@lf-lawfirm.com
- 3. John Bedecarre johnb@txenvirolaw.com

Audubon Texas

1. Scott Moorhead - scott.moorhead@audubon.org

<u>Individual Protestants</u>

- 1. Phillip Bartlett pvb@srcaccess.net
- 2. Stacey Bartlett <u>- ssbartlett1129@gmail.com</u>
- 3. Margo Branscomb mbranscomb@gmail.com
- 4. Cara Denney <u>- cara@ibilky.com</u>
- 5. Aldo Dver aldo.dver@gmail.com
- 6. Barney Farley bc13farley@gmail.com
- 7. Mark Grosse markgrosse1972@gmail.com

- 8 Jo Krueger <u>jkrueger22@gmail.com</u>
- 9. Cameron Pratt <u>- campratt@gmail.com</u>
- 10. Sarah Searight <u>sarahsearight@me.com</u> 11. Susan Simpson NO EMAIL
- 12. Lisa Turcotte <u>lisaturcotte55@gmail.com</u>

No Email Available

1. Susan Simpson 413 Trojan St., Unit 4 Port Aransas, TX 78373-5431