Jon Niermann, *Chairman*Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner*Catarina R. Gonzales, *Commissioner*Kelly Keel, *Executive Director*



TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

July 9, 2024

To: Persons on the attached mailing list (by mail and email as indicated)

Re: TCEQ Docket No. 2024-0967-MIS: Petition for Inquiry filed by Bill Beran seeking a review of the Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District.

This letter is in response to the Petition for Inquiry filed on June 11, 2024, by Bill Beran seeking a review of the Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District (Petition). The Petition was filed under the authority of Texas Water Code § 36.3011. A complete copy of the Petition may be obtained from the Office of Chief Clerk, TCEQ, Mail Code 105, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087.

In accordance with Title 30, section 293.23 of the Texas Administrative Code, any Groundwater Conservation District that is within or adjacent to the Groundwater Management Area that is the subject matter of the Petition may file a response to the validity of the specific claims raised in the Petition. Any responding Groundwater Conservation District shall file its response with the Chief Clerk of the TCEQ within 35 days of the date that the Petition is filed.

The Office of General Counsel invites the Executive Director and the Office of Public Interest Counsel to file briefs in response to the Petition and any Groundwater Conservation District Responses. The Executive Director's and the Office of Public Interest Counsel's response briefs must be filed with the Chief Clerk's Office no later **Tuesday**, **July 30**, **2024**. All parties will be notified by subsequent letter of the Commission meeting during which the Commissioners will consider this matter.

The response briefs referenced in this letter may be filed electronically at https://www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/efilings. All parties must also mail a copy of the response briefs to all other persons on the attached mailing list on the same day the response briefs are submitted to the Office of Chief Clerk.

If you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Todd Burkey, Assistant General Counsel, at Todd.Burkey@TCEQ.texas.gov.

Respectfully,

Mary Smith General Counsel

Mailing List

Mailing List Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District TCEQ Docket No. 2024-0967-MIS

Bill Beran 12002 Walden Rd. Montgomery, Texas 77356-8031 wberan@consolidated.net

GMA 11

Pineywoods GCD General Manager P.O. Box 635187 Nacogdoches, Texas 75963

GMA 12

Mid-East Texas GCD P.O. Box477 Madisonville, Texas 77864

Brazos Valley GCD P.O. Box 528 Hearne, Texas 77859

Lost Pines GCD 317 E. Hempstead St. Giddings, Texas 78942

Post Oak Savannah GCD P.O. Box 92 Milano, Texas 76556

GMA 14

Bluebonnet GCD P.O. Box 269 Navasota, Texas 77868

Brazoria County GCD 111 E. Locust Street Building A-29, Suite 140 Angleton, Texas 77515

Lone Star GCD 655 Conroe Park North Drive Conroe, Texas 77303 Lower Trinity GCD 602 E. Church Street, #150 Livingston, Texas 77351

Southwest Texas GCD P.O. Box 1407 Jasper, Texas 75951

Harris - Galveston Subsidence District 1660 West Bay Area Boulevard Friendswood, Texas 77546

Fort Bend Subsidence District 301 Jackson St., Suite 639 Richmond, Texas 77469

GMA 15

Fayette County GCD 255 Svoboda Lane, Room 115 LaGrange, Texas 78945

Colorado County GCD 910 Milam St. Columbus, Texas 78934

Costal Bend GCD P.O. Box 341 Wharton, Texas 77488

Coastal Plains GCD 2200 7th Street, Suite 401 Bay City, Texas 77414

TCEQ

Erin Chancellor, Director TCEQ Office of Legal Services MC 218 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, Texas 78711-3087 512/239-0600 FAX 512/239-0606 Erin.Chancellor@tceq.texas.gov Charmaine Backens, Deputy Director TCEQ Environmental Law Division MC 173 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, Texas 78711-3087 512/239-0600 FAX 512/239-0606 charmaine.backens@tceq.texas.gov

Cari-Michel La Caille, Director TCEQ Office of Water MC 148 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, Texas 78711-3087 512/239-4570 FAX 512/239-4430 cari-michel.lacaille@tceq.texas.gov

Kim Nygren, Deputy Director TCEQ Water Availability Division MC 160 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, Texas 78711-3087 512/239-4600 FAX 512/239-4430 Kim.Nygren@tceq.texas.gov

Garrett Arthur
Eli Martinez
TCEQ Office of Public Interest Counsel MC 103
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, Texas 78711-3087
512/239-6363 FAX 512/239-6377
Garrett.arthur@tceq.texas.gov
Eli.martinez@tceq.texas.gov

Docket Clerk
TCEQ Office of Chief Clerk MC 105
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, Texas 78711-3087
512/239-3300 FAX 512/239-3311
https://www14.tceq.texas.gov/epic/efiling/

Ryan Vise
David Greer
TCEQ External Relations Division MC 118
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, Texas 78711-3087
512/239-0010 FAX 512/239-5000
pep@tceq.texas.gov

Kyle Lucas
TCEQ Alternative Dispute Resolution MC 222
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, Texas 78711-3087
512/239-0687 FAX 512-239-4015
Kyle.lucas@tceq.texas.gov