TCEQ REGULATORY GUIDANCE

Financial Administration Division RG-289 • Revised July 2016

Municipal Solid Waste Quarterly Report Requirements and Disposal Fee

This document is for guidance only; it does not take the place of any laws or regulations.

What Is This Fee?

Facilities that dispose of municipal solid waste (MSW) or process MSW for disposal are required to pay a fee to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) for all waste disposed within the state.

Two types of facilities are required to report each quarter the amounts of waste received and to pay a fee:

- MSW landfills; and
- Facilities that **process (excluding "transfer")** MSW or medical waste for disposal by means other than landfilling (for example, incineration, composting, autoclaving, chemical disinfection, and other processes).

Legal Authority. Detailed rules about this fee appear in Title 30, Texas Administrative Code (30 TAC), Sections 330.673 and 326.87. Authority for this fee appears in the Solid Waste Disposal Act, Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 361.

Purpose. The fee funds programs that regulate the collection, handling, storage, processing, and disposal of nonhazardous municipal solid waste. These programs protect the environment and the health and safety of the people of Texas.

How Is the Fee Assessed?

A facility's fees are calculated using the waste volume and/or weight reported through the State of Texas Environmental Electronic Reporting System (STEERS) at <www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/steers/>. If you do not report through STEERS, you will need to download the Municipal Solid Waste Quarterly Report form from the TCEQ website at <www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/msw-quarterly-report>.

Reports are due no later than 20 days after the end of the quarter for which the report is applicable. If you fail to submit the required report by the due date, the TCEQ can revoke the facility's authorization. Other information necessary to track the amount of waste generated, recovered, or recycled may be required. Fee rates appear in the accompanying table.

Table 1. Fee rates effective June 1, 2013, for waste received at the gate by landfills and processors
for disposal (applied beginning with the fourth quarter of fiscal year 2013).

Unit of Measure	Landfills	Processors for Disposal*
Ton	\$0.94 per ton	\$0.47 per ton
Cubic yard (compacted)	\$0.30 per cubic yard	\$0.15 per cubic yard
Cubic yard (uncompacted)	\$0.19 per cubic yard	\$0.095 per cubic yard

^{*} Processors for disposal category includes incinerators, composting and shredding facilities, and similar facilities or processes.

What Is the Due Date of the Fees? Where Do I Send the Payment?

The due date is 30 days after the "invoice date" shown on your billing statement; your payment must reach the TCEQ in time to be credited to your account by the due date.

Pay online. You may pay this fee by credit card or ACH (electronic check). Please go to ">https://www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/epay

You can also mail your payment along with the payment coupon (the bottom portion of the billing statement) to the address shown on the back of the coupon. Use the envelope provided for your convenience. Be sure to turn the coupon over so that the TCEQ's mailing address shows through the envelope. Tip: to avoid late fees, please mail your payment 7 to 10 working days before the due date.

Will I Be Charged Late Fees?

If the TCEQ does not receive payment in time for it to be credited to your account by the due date, the agency will charge penalties and interest, as stated in 30 TAC 12.3. A penalty of 5 percent will be assessed if the fee is not paid by the due date. After another 30 days, an additional 5 percent penalty will be assessed.

After the bill is 60 days overdue, until the balance is paid, the TCEQ will assess interest charges at the variable rate of prime plus 1 percent (for the calendar year as published in the Wall Street Journal on the first business day of that year).

Recovery of collection costs. Since Sept. 1, 2010, the TCEQ has assessed a charge of up to 30 percent to accounts referred to its collection agency. This applies only to delinquent accounts referred for collection after 90 days of nonpayment.

What If I Think the Billing Is Incorrect?

If you want to dispute the amount of your fee, you must do so in writing. The TCEQ may not adjust the amount due if it receives your request for adjustment more than one year after the date on which the fee was paid in full. You can contact us to clarify questions you may have about your fee amount. (For contact information, see "Where Do I Send Correspondence or Get More Information?" below.)

In the correspondence, please give your account name and number, and describe the suspected error.

Why Do I Have to Return the Coupon with My Payment?

The payment coupon contains an optical-character-reader line. When we receive your payment, a computer reads your account number from that line.

Automated processing allows the agency to keep up with the large number of transactions handled. Without the coupon, your transaction cannot be handled by the faster automated process. Processing by hand can be time- consuming (for example, see "If I Have More than One Account …"), and your account may not be credited in time to avoid late fees.

If I Have More Than One Account, May I Send One Check for the Total Amount?

You may send all your payments in one envelope, but please enclose a separate check for each coupon. If the number of checks does not equal the number of coupons, we won't know which accounts to credit your payment to. We will not be able to process your transactions by the faster, automated process; instead, we will have to contact you by phone to find out how the payment should be credited.

What Does "FY" Mean on My Statement?

"FY" means the TCEQ's fiscal year, which runs from September 1 through August 31. Remember, the solid waste disposal fee is assessed by fiscal quarter (for example, for September through November, and so on), and reports are due 20 days after the end of the reporting period.

Where Do I Send Correspondence or Get More Information?

For facility contact information, address, or e-mail changes

MC 126 Waste Permits Division Texas Commission on Environmental Quality PO Box 13087 Austin TX 78711-3087 512-239-2335 mswper@tceq.texas.gov

For account-balance information

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Financial Administration, Revenue Operations Section 512-239-0300

For TCEQ rules, publications, and other information:

You can find the official version of TCEQ rules in the Texas Administrative Code on the Secretary of State's website at <www.sos.texas.gov/tac/>.

You can also download copies of TCEQ rules, publications, and forms from the TCEQ website at <www.tceq.texas.gov>.