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This document is for guidance only. lt does not take 

the place of the official rules and regulations. 

What Is This Fee? 
The lnnocent Owner/Operator Program (lOP) fee 

covers costs of the Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality (TCEQ) for oversight, review, and approval of 
site investigation reports. The lOP is used when a 
property becomes contaminated through no fault of the 
owner or operator by contamination that has migrated 
onto the property from off-site. After appropriate 
verification, the lOP provides innocent owner or 
operators with certification that: 
•	 their property is contaminated as a result of a release 

or migration of contaminants from a source or sources 
not located on the property; and 

•	 they did not cause or contribute to the source or 
sources of contamination. 

Program costs include all direct, indirect, overhead, 
salaries, equipment, utilities, legal, management, and 
support costs fairly attributable to the lOP. 

Legal Authority. The lOP was created through House 
Bill 2776 of the 75th Texas Legislature. Collection of the 
lOP fee is authorized by Chapter 361.753 of the Health and 
Safety Code, which went into effect September 1, 1997. The 
lOP rules can be found in the Texas Administrative Code 
(TAC), Chapter 333, Subchapter B. 

How Is the Fee Assessed? 
The lOP applicant, also referred to as the "innocent 

party,"submits a $1,000 fee with the application. After the 
initial $1,000 is expended in review and oversight, the 
TCEQ will send an invoice on a monthly basis to the 
innocent party to cover state expenses. Because the 
amount of time required to provide oversight by TCEQ 
staff varies based on the complexity of the site, it is not 
possible to provide a specific total cost figure. The 

TCEQ's billing rates, which can change yearly, are 
published in the Texas Register. 

I Have a Credit Balance on My Account. 
What Does This Mean? 

The account will show a credit balance if the 
expenses charged to the project are less than the initial 
$1,000 application fee. Subsequent expenses will further 
reduce this balance. lf your statement shows a credit 
balance, it was sent for informational purposes only. 
Please do not submit payment for a credit balance. Any 
portion of the application fee not incurred or obligated in 
the review of the application must be refunded. 

What Is the Due Date of the Fees? 
Where Do I Send the Payment? 

The due date is 30 days after the "invoice date" 
shown on your billing statement; your payment must 
reach the TCEQ in time to be credited to your account by 
the due date. Return your payment with the payment 
coupon (the top portion of the billing statement) to the 
mailing address shown on the back of the coupon. Use the 
envelope provided for your convenience. Be sure to turn 
the coupon over so that TCEQ's mailing address shows 
through the envelope's window. 

Enforcement Provisions. lf the TCEQ does not 
receive your payment within 30 days of the invoice date, 
the agency may ask the state attorney general to take legal 
action "to recover the amount owed and reasonable legal 
expenses, including attorneys' fees, witness costs, court 
costs, and deposition costs." 

What If I Think the Billing Is Incorrect? 
lf you want to dispute the amount of your fee, you 

must do so in writing. The TCEQ may not adjust the 
amount due if your request for adjustment is received 
more than one year after the date on which the fee was 
paid in full. You can telephone TCEQ offices to clarify 
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questions you may have about your fee amount. (For 
phone numbers, see the heading "Where Do l Send 
Correspondence or Get More lnformation?") 

ln the correspondence, please provide your account 
name, account number, and the description of the 
suspected error. 

Why Do I Have to Return the Coupon 
with My Payment? 

The payment coupon (the top portion of your bill) 
contains an optical character reader (OCR) line. When we 
receive your payment, a computer reads your account 
number from that OCR line. Automated processing allows 
the agency to keep up with the large number of transactions 
handled. Without the original coupon, there will be a delay 
in processing your payment. 

If I Have More Than One Accountt May I Send 
One Check for the Total Amount? 

You may send all your payments in one envelope, but 
please enclose a separate check for each coupon. lf the 
number of checks does not equal the number of coupons, 
we won't know which accounts to credit your payment to. 
We will not be able to process your transactions by the 
faster, automated process; instead, we will have to contact 
you by phone to find out how the payment should be 
credited. 

Where Do I Send Correspondence 
or Get More Information? 

lf you have questionspaboutpthepexpensespchargedpto 
yourpproject or if you would like to inquire aboutpthe 
workpbeingpdone, please call 512/239-5891 and ask for 
your lOP project manager. 

Send projectpin/ormation,paddresspchanges,pand 
disputes to: 

Texas Commission Environmental Quality 
lnnocent Owner/Operator Program, MC 221 
PO Box 13087 
Austin, TX  78711-3087 
512/239-5891 

For accountpbalancepin/ormation, call: 
Texas Commission Environmental Quality 
Financial Administration 
Revenues Section 
512/239-0343 

ForpTCEQprules,ppublications,pandpother 
in/ormation:pYou can find the official version of TCEQ 
rules in the Texas Administrative Code on the Secretary of 
State's Web site at www.sos.state.tx.us. 

Other ways to obtain a copy of the rules, and of 
TCEQ publications, include the following: 
•	 Go to www.tceq.state.tx.us, and-under the "Site 

Navigation" bar-follow the links "Forms & 
Publications" and "Rules, Policy & Legislation." 

•	 You can also contact the TCEQ Publications Unit at 
512/239-0028. Try to give rule, publication, or form 
numbers as well as the title; this information will 
help the TCEQ staff get the correct item to you as 
quickly as possible. You may also fax your order to 
512/239-4488, or write to TCEQ Publications, MC 
195; PO Box 13087; Austin, TX 78711-3087. 

TNRCC = TCEQ 

Same Agency, New Name! 

(from Sept. 1, 2002) 
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