Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Office of Air Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee May 4, 2023 Meeting held in person, online, and by phone 10:00 A.M. – 10:09 A.M.

Minutes

Opening Remarks

Bob Adair called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M.

The following Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (Committee) members were present: Bob Adair, Charles Allred, Roland Bieber, Michelle Carder, Justin Hyland, Hugh Landrum, Martha Landwehr, Bill Longley, and Michael Nasi. Quorum was met.

Bob Adair re-stated the public comment policy. No action was taken.

Bod Adair asked for comments from Committee members or TCEQ staff.

Kristin Jacobsen with the TCEQ announced Cheryl Covone's upcoming retirement and that Joe Thomas left the agency. Kristin also announced new team member, Everlynne Morel, joined the Tax Relief program for Pollution Control Property.

Summary and status of current legislative bills related to Tax Code §11.31

Bob Adair requested an overview of legislation affecting Tax Code §11.31 and stated this is to give the public an overview of what is pending in the legislature at this time.

Elizabeth Sartain with the TCEQ gave an update on two pieces of legislation. Elizabeth gave a brief overview of House Bill (HB) 3355 and House Joint Resolution (HJR) 175 and stated that both are still pending in committee as of this morning.

Update on new or pending environmental regulations (possible consideration of supplement to the Advisory Committee's 12/1/2022 advice regarding a triennial review of Expedited Review List and Tier I Table)

Bob Adair asked for updates on methane rules or other federal rules.

Elizabeth Sartain with the TCEQ stated there are no updates on the supplemental proposal regarding Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 60 Subparts OOOOb and OOOOc. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is reviewing the comments on the methane rules for oil and gas facilities and there is no update on when the rules will be finalized.

Old business

No old business was discussed.

New business

Bob Adair stated that approximately half of the committee's term are due to expire at the end of 2023.

Elizabeth Sartain with TCEQ provided an overview of the process and timeline for nominations to fill upcoming committee vacancies. The process is to publish the request for nominations in the *Texas Register* and the Tax Relief websites. The TCEQ expects to publish the request for nominations and start accepting nominations on June 30th and accept nominations through July 31st. The nominations are scheduled to be presented to the commissioners on December 13th. If committee members with expiring terms wish to reapply for their current position, they must submit a nomination or have a nomination submitted for them.

Bob Adair listed the committee members that are due to expire at the end of this year: Justin Hyland, Greg Maxim, Michael Nasi, Lloyd Graham, Adam Haynes, and Cyrus Reed. The remaining members' term expire at the end of 2025.

Other comments from the public

There were no comments from the public.

Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Justin Hyland with a second from Roland Bieber.

The meeting adjourned at 10:09 A.M.