Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Office of Air Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee September 8, 2023 10:00 A.M. – 10:18 A.M.

Minutes

Opening Remarks

Bob Adair called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M.

The following Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (Committee) members were present: Bob Adair, Charles Allred, Roland Bieber, Michelle Carder, Adam Haynes, Justin Hyland, Hugh Landrum, Bill Longley, Greg Maxim, and Cyrus Reed. Quorum was met.

Bob Adair re-stated the public comment policy. No action was taken.

Bob Adair asked for comments from Committee members. No comments.

Introduction of new TCEQ Tax Relief staff

Elizabeth Sartain with TCEQ announced new team members: Bob Gifford returned to the Stationary Source Programs Team as Team Leader and Melissa Altman joined the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Program.

Summary and status of nominations for Advisory Committee terms expiring 12/31/2023

Bob Adair requested status of nominations for the Advisory Committee.

Elizabeth Sartain with TCEQ stated nominations for each position with a term ending December 31, 2023 were received and anticipates recommendations will be presented to the commissioners for their consideration on December 13, 2023. A memo about the recommendations will be made available on November 22, 2023.

Old business

No old business was discussed.

New business

Dr. Cyrus Reed reminded the committee of new Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations such as Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 60 Subparts OOOOb and OOOOc on methane rules for oil and gas facilities and coal combustion residue regulation. He suggested that the committee stay current on the status of those rules and consider if the rules require new pollution control equipment, or if will they be covered by the existing items on the list of property that is exempt.

In addition, Dr. Cyrus Reed commented that federal funding is available for companies to invest in technologies such as direct air capture, carbon sequestration, and green hydrogen development. He stated he is not sure if those projects qualify because there is not a requirement for them. He suggested the committee discuss this at a future advisory committee

meeting.

Bob Adair commented he will take these comments under advisement and speak with industry representatives for possible discussion in a future meeting.

Adams Haynes commented regarding the taxpayer funded investment aspect of these projects and that property tax abatement should consider the taxpayer-funded aspect of these projects.

Roland Bieber asked when this discussion will be on the agenda.

Bob Adair responded he will speak to others before determining when to place the item on the agenda.

Other comments from the public

There were no comments from the public.

Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Greg Maxim with a second from Bill Longley.

The meeting adjourned at 10:18 A.M.

Closing Comment

Bob Adair made a closing comment that the Advisory Committee is a group of thirteen members and welcomes discussions, even private discussions before having public meetings as long as a quorum is not met and that calls from the public are welcome to any member.