Texas Commission on Environmental Quality



A RESOLUTION Consideration of the Nomination and Appointment of Six Members to the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee. Docket No. 2023-0999-RES

WHEREAS, Section 5.107 of the Texas Water Code provides the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (Commission) with the authority to create and consult with advisory committees; and

WHEREAS, Section 5.7 of 30 Texas Administrative Code states that all members of advisory committees are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Texas Tax Code Section 11.31(n), the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (the Advisory Committee) is composed of: six representatives from industry; two representatives from appraisal districts; two representatives from taxing units; one representative from an environmental group; one representative who is not a member of any of the aforementioned groups, but has substantial expertise in pollution control technology and environmental engineering; and a representative of a school district or junior college district in which property is located that is or previously was subject to an exemption under Section 11.31 of the Texas Tax Code;

WHEREAS, on December 13, 2023, the Commission discussed in an open meeting the appointment of six members to the Advisory Committee to serve four-year terms;

WHEREAS, the terms of the following six members of the Advisory Committee expire on December 31, 2023:

- Lloyd Graham, as a representative from a school district or junior college district;
- Adam Haynes, as a representative from a taxing unit;
- Justin Hyland, as a representative from industry;
- Gregory Maxim, as a representative from industry;
- Michael Nasi, as a representative from industry;
- Dr. Cyrus Reed, as a representative from an environmental group;

WHEREAS, the Commission published notice in the June 30, 2023 issue of the Texas Register soliciting nominations for the Advisory Committee.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE TEXAS COMMISSION ON **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY** that the following individuals are appointed as members of the Advisory Committee to serve four-year terms expiring December 31, 2027:

- 1) Lloyd Graham, as a representative from a school district or junior college district:
- 2) Adam Haynes, as a representative from a taxing unit;
- 3) Justin Hyland, as a representative from industry;
- 4) Gregory Maxim, as a representative from industry;
- 5) Michael Nasi, as a representative from industry;
- 6) Dr. Cyrus Reed, as a representative from an environmental group;

TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Jon Miermann, Chairman

 $\frac{12/21/23}{\text{Date Signed}}$