Jon Niermann, *Chairman* Emily Lindley, *Commissioner* Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner* Toby Baker, *Executive Director*



TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

January 24, 2020

The Honorable Jayne Harkins, P.E. Commissioner U.S. International Boundary and Water Commission 4191 N. Mesa El Paso, Texas 79902

Dear Commissioner Harkins:

Thank you for hosting the meeting between the International Boundary and Water Commission (IBWC) and representatives from Texas on December 5, 2019. In this meeting, the IBWC provided a presentation on the dam safety report from the United States Army Corps of Engineers on Amistad Dam. The presentation was very informative and discussed the structural issues with Amistad Dam that could result in dam failure.

Texas shares your concerns with Amistad Dam. The report also estimates a high probability of life loss and dam failure. As stated in the report, Amistad Dam provides flood risk management, hydropower, water supply, water quality, fish and wildlife enhancement, and recreational benefits to the area with an estimated annual value of \$76 million.

The integrity and stability of Amistad Dam is very important to the State of Texas, first and foremost for the protection of our citizens. In addition, with a total capacity of 3.2 million acre-feet (1.8 million of that being the United States' share), Amistad is critical for water supply in the region. If the Amistad Dam fails, the loss of the water supply would be economically devastating. Consequently, I am writing to urge the IBWC to prioritize the repair of Amistad Dam.

Please let me know if I can be of assistance, as the repair of Amistad Dam is vital to Texas. You can contact me at 512-239-5500 or by email at Emily.Lindley@tceq.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Emily Lindley

Commissioner

CC:

The Honorable Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas

The Honorable Ruth R. Hughs, Texas Secretary of State

The Honorable John Cornyn, U.S. Senate

The Honorable Ted Cruz, U.S. Senate

The Honorable Will Hurd, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Henry Cuellar, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Vicente Gonzalez, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Filemon Vela, U.S. House of Representatives