RG-038 • Revised August 2023

# **Waste Generation Fee**

This document provides guidance about generation fees for hazardous and industrial Class 1 wastes. This guidance does not replace any laws or regulations.

## **Understanding Your Fee**

#### What Is the Fee?

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality charges an annual fee for generators of hazardous waste and industrial Class 1 waste. The agency uses the fees collected to carry out its responsibilities for regulating hazardous and industrial waste in Texas. Authority for the fee comes from the Texas Health and Safety Code 361.134 and from Title 30 Texas Administrative Code (30 TAC) 335.3231.

#### **How Is It Assessed?**

TCEQ will assess waste generation fees based on the quantity of hazardous or Class 1 Industrial waste you reported generating on your facility's Annual Waste Summary in the previous calendar year. In November 2021, TCEQ adopted regulations to revise the annual fees for hazardous and Class 1 Industrial waste.

The annual fees shown in Tables 1 and 2 apply to waste generated and reported on or after January 1, 2022.

**Table 1. Hazardous Waste Fees** 

Waste Weight	Annual Fee	
Less than 1 ton	No charge	
1-25 tons	\$75	
Greater than 25 tons	\$3.00 per ton	

**Table 2. Industrial Class 1 Waste Fees** 

Waste Weight	Annual Fee	
Less than 1 ton	No charge	
1-50 tons	\$44	
Greater than 50 tons	\$0.88 per ton	

<sup>1</sup> www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/view-30tac

### What Triggers the Fees?

To determine what the fees are for, you will need to review the information in the description area of the invoice.

DESCRIPTION		AMOUNT	
REG_NUMBER	#####	FY25	150.87
NHAZ WASTE	GEN FE TONS	301.73	

Image 1. Sample invoice showing the description area of the invoice.

The five-digit number after "REG\_NUMBER" indicates the solid waste registration number for the facility for which TCEQ has charged the fees. To determine the location for the registration:

- Go to the Central Registry Query—Additional ID Search<sup>2</sup>.
- Enter the SWR number in the "Program ID" field.
- Select "Industrial and Hazardous Waste" in the "Program" field.
- Click the "Search" button.

"HAZ WASTE GEN FEE TONS" indicates that the fees are for hazardous waste. Similarly, "NHAZ WASTE GEN FE TONS" indicates that the fees are for Class 1 Industrial (nonhazardous) waste. The number after "TONS" shows the total quantity of the waste generated and reported.

"FY" stands for TCEQ's fiscal year, which runs from September 1 through August 31.

#### What Time Period Does the Fee Cover?

TCEQ charges the waste generation fee based on the amount of waste your company reported generating in the prior full calendar year, January 1 through December 31. Since the Revenue Section sends the invoices at the beginning of the following fiscal year, the fiscal year on your invoice will be 2 years ahead of the calendar year of the waste generation. For example, "FY25" will appear in the description area of the invoice for waste generation reported for calendar year 2023.

## **Paying Your Fee**

#### What Is the Due Date?

TCEQ will send an invoice to the billing address that we have on file if your facility owes any fees. TCEQ's Revenue Section generally sends the invoices in September of each year. To ensure timely receipt of your invoice, send an email to <a href="https://deca.texas.gov">AcctRec@tceq.texas.gov</a> referencing your account number(s) and billing email. TCEQ will add the information to your account(s) to send you future invoices via email.

The due date for the fee payment is 30 days after the "invoice date" shown on your invoice. Your payment must reach the TCEQ in time to be credited to your account by

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> www15.tceq.texas.gov/crpub/index.cfm?fuseaction=addnid.IdSearch

the due date. To help you avoid late fees, send your payment to TCEQ **7 to 10 business days prior to the due date**.

## Where Do I Send the Payment?

- Online using ePay<sup>3</sup> You can pay online by credit card using a single transaction of up to \$80,000.00 or ACH (electronic check) for any amount, or
- By mail to the address shown on the back of the coupon. Return your payment with the payment coupon (the bottom portion of the invoice). Use the envelope provided for your convenience. Make sure that TCEQ's mailing address shows through the envelope's window.

#### Returning the Coupon Decreases Processing Time

The payment coupon (the bottom portion of your bill) contains an optical character reader (OCR) line. When we receive your payment, a computer reads your account number from that OCR line. Automated processing allows the agency to keep up with the large number of transactions handled. Without the coupon, the faster automated process cannot handle your transaction. Manual processing "by hand" can take time and your account may accrue late fees.

# If I Have More Than One Account, Can I Send Payments Together?

You may submit electronic payments using <u>TCEQ's ePay system</u> for up to 10 accounts in one transaction. The ePay system accepts a single credit card payment of up to \$80,000.00 or ACH payments in any amount.

For checks sent to us via postal mail, you may send all your payments in one envelope. However, you need to enclose a separate check for each coupon. If the number of checks does not equal the number of coupons, we won't know which accounts to credit your payment to. We will have to contact you to find out how to credit the payment. As described in the "Returning the Coupon Decreases Processing Time" section, this manual process takes time and may result in your account accruing late fees.

## Will I Be Charged Late Fees?

Yes, if TCEQ does not receive your payment by the due date, TCEQ will charge penalties and interest, as outlined in 30 TAC Chapter 12, Payment of Fees. TCEQ will assess a penalty of 5% of the fee for payments not received by the due date. If you do not pay the fee within 30 days after the due date, TCEQ will assess an additional 5% penalty.

After the bill is 60 days overdue, the TCEQ will assess interest charges until you have paid the balance. The interest rate charged is the variable rate of prime plus 1%. The prime rate for the calendar year is the prime rate published in the Wall Street Journal on the first business day of the calendar year.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> www3.tceq.texas.gov/epay/

<sup>4</sup> www3.tceq.texas.gov/epay/

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/view-30tac

### What If I Think the Billing Is Incorrect?

Submit any disputes about the amount of your fee in writing. If the dispute involves either a reporting question or the fee calculation, contact the Registration and Reporting Section of the Occupational Licensing & Registration Division. If the dispute involves a waste classification or technical question, contact the IHW Permits Section of the Waste Permits Division. See the "Contact Us" section for contact information.

# Disputing a Fee Exemption Denial or Claiming a Fee Exemption

You must request any fee exemptions from fees on your Annual Waste Summary. If you determine that you need to request an exemption you did not claim, or that you reported incorrect information on your AWS which resulted in an exemption denial, you must send a revised AWS to request the exemption. Submit only new or corrected information on your AWS revision. The Registration and Reporting Section can only accept AWS revisions for fee exemptions dating back to the past 3 calendar years.

#### **Contact Us**

For reporting questions, invoice errors, facility information, and facility mailing and billing address changes, email, write, or call:

wasteval@tceq.texas.gov

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Occupational Licensing & Registration Division Registration and Reporting Section, MC-129 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, TX 78711-3087 512-239-6413

For *recycling, waste classification, and waste and wastewater treatment issues*, email, write, or call:

ihwper@tceq.texas.gov

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Waste Permits Division IHW Permits Section, MC-130 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, TX 78711-3087 512-239-2335

For *account balance and late fee information*, email or call:

AcctRec@tceq.texas.gov Financial Administration Division, Revenues Section 512-239-0369