
   

    

  

    
 

 

   
  

   

   
    

      
  

         
     

            
  

      

  

      
     

 

      
     

 
 

        
 

    
     

   
   

  
    

     
   

  

   
    

TCEQ September 2021 

V. Funding 

A. Provide a brief description of your agency’s funding, including information about the most 
recent five percent budget reduction and any funding related to disaster relief or COVID-19, if 
applicable. 

The commission was appropriated approximately $398 million in FY 2020. The agency is largely funded 
with General Revenue Dedicated (GRD) Accounts or fee generating sources at 82% of the agency’s budget, 
while General Revenue is 7%, federal funds are 9%, and other funding sources are 2%. 

The agency’s 5% reduction totaled $34.1 million in potential savings related to the COVID-19 disaster 
relief. In FY 2020, the commission identified operational savings and reimbursements from the Low-
Income Repair and Assistance Program, totaling approximately $9.5 million. The remainder was realized 
in FY 2021 from operational savings and the Texas Emission Reduction Plan Account totaling $24.7 million. 

The commission applied for Federal Emergency Management Agency Public Assistance through the Texas 
Department of Emergency Management and received reimbursement in the amount of $18,335 in COVID-
19 Category B Emergency Protective Measures in FY 2020 for expenses related to the disposal of Personal 
Protective Equipment from COVID-19 testing stations. 

B. List all riders that significantly impact your agency’s budget. 

Article VI (HB1 86R) 

Rider 4. Local Air Pollution Grants Allocation. The agency is appropriated approximately $2.7 million each 
year out of the Clean Air Account No. 151 to fund grants or cooperative agreements with eligible local air 
pollution programs. 

Rider 5. Pollution Control Equipment Exemptions. The agency is appropriated $229,424 each fiscal year 
from fee revenue collected pursuant to Tax Code, Section 11.31, for the purpose of determining whether 
pollution control equipment is exempt from taxation. In addition to amounts appropriated above, any 
amounts in excess of $229,424 in each fiscal year of the biennium are appropriated to the agency. 

Rider 7. Air Quality Planning. The agency is appropriated $4.5 million for the biennium out of the Clean 
Air Account No. 151 for air quality planning activities to reduce ozone in areas not designated as 
nonattainment areas during the 2018-19 biennium and as approved by the agency. These activities may 
be carried out through interlocal agreements. Eligible areas include, but are not limited to, the cities of 
Waco, El Paso, Beaumont, Austin, Corpus Christi, Granbury, Killeen-Temple, Longview-Tyler-Marshall, and 
the counties of Victoria, Atascosa, Bandera, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson. 

Rider 10. Refinement and Enhancement of Modeling to Demonstrate Attainment with the Clean Air Act. 
The agency was appropriated $750,000 in FY 2020 out of the Clean Air Account No. 151 for research to 
obtain the data and information to refine and enhance any model used to demonstrate attainment with 
the National Ambient Air Quality Standard and to assess air quality associated with other pollutants under 
the Federal Clean Air Act. 

Rider 12. Automobile Emission Inspections. The agency is appropriated $2,004,799 each year for the 
operation of the vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance program. 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Rider 14. Environmental Radiation and Perpetual Care. The agency is appropriated $3.0 million out of 
the Environmental Radiation and Perpetual Care Account No. 5158 to remediate the Lamprecht and 
Zamzow radioactive material mitigation projects. In addition, the agency is appropriated any revenues 
from TCEQ licensees in excess of the Texas Comptroller's Biennial Revenue Estimate, including the 
proceeds of securities and interest earned, in the event of an incident involving the release of radioactive 
material at a disposal, source material recovery, processing, or storage facility licensed by the agency. 

Rider 17. Unexpended Balance Authority within the Biennium. Any unobligated and unexpended 
balances remaining as of August 31, 2020, are appropriated for the same purposes for FY 2021. 

Rider 19. Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP): Grants and Administration. The agency is appropriated 
$77.4 million each year out of the TERP Account No. 5071. The agency is authorized to reallocate 
unexpended balances between programs to meet the objectives of the TERP program, provided such 
reallocations are within the statutory limitations on the use of TERP Account No. 5071. 

Rider 24. Unexpended Balances from Cost Recovery for Site Remediation and Cleanups. The agency is 
authorized to carry forward any unobligated and unexpended balances across the biennium from cost 
recovery funds received from responsible parties. These funds are deposited to the Hazardous and Solid 
Waste Remediation Fee Account No. 550. The funds shall be used to pay the cost of site cleanups and 
remediation during the biennium. 

Rider 25. Litigation Expenses for the Rio Grande Compact Commission. The agency is authorized to carry 
forward unobligated and unexpended balances across the biennium in Strategy E.1.4, Rio Grande River 
Compact, for the purpose of covering expenses incurred by the Rio Grande Compact Commission relating 
to investigations and legal expenses resulting from litigation between the State of Texas and the State of 
New Mexico over the equitable distribution of water according to the Rio Grande Compact. The agency is 
also required to request approval of the Legislative Budget Board to expend the funds in incremental 
funding amounts of $1 million. 

Rider 27. Expedited Processing of Permit Applications. The agency is appropriated approximately $1.3 
million for the biennium in Clean Air Account No. 151 from surcharges assessed to support the expedited 
processing of air permit applications. In addition, the agency is appropriated all fee revenues collected 
and deposited to the account from expedited permit review surcharges assessed (estimated to be $0) in 
excess of the Comptroller's Biennial Revenue Estimate. Further, the agency is exempt from the provisions 
of Article IX related to the inclusion of temporary or contract workers associated with Strategy A.2.1, for 
the purposes of the expedited permit process, in the calculation of the number of full-time equivalent 
employees by a state agency. 

Rider 28. Donna Reservoir and Canal System Federal Superfund Site. The agency is appropriated $2.0 
million in FY 2020 in General Revenue-Dedicated Hazardous and Solid Waste Remediation Fee Account 
No. 550 for remediation of the Donna Reservoir and Canal System Federal Superfund Site. 

Rider 29 Emission Reductions Technologies using Supercritical Carbon Dioxide. The agency is 
appropriated $4.0 million in General Revenue funding in FY 2020 to support projects that reduce 
emissions through improvements in energy production efficiency using supercritical carbon dioxide. The 
agency transfers the $4.0 million through an interagency contract to the University of Houston for such 
purposes. 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Rider 30. Contingency for House Bill 2771. The rider transfers responsibility from the Texas Railroad 
Commission to TCEQ to issue permits for the discharge into water in this state of produced water, 
hydrostatic test water, and gas plant effluent resulting from certain oil and gas activities. 

Rider 31. Contingency for House Bill 723. The agency is appropriated approximately $2.2 million in FY 
2020 out of General Revenue-Dedicated Water Resource Management Account No. 153 for the agency to 
obtain or develop updated water availability models for the river basins of the Brazos River, Neches River, 
Red River, and Rio Grande River. 

Article IX (HB1 86R) 

Section 18.71. Contingency for Senate Bill 711. The agency is appropriated $800,000 in FY 2020 from the 
Clean Air Account to modify emissions analyzer software to align the safety inspection sequence to the 
items of inspection as provided in the bill. 

C. Show your agency’s expenditures by strategy. 

Exhibit 6: Expenditures by Strategy — Fiscal Year 2020 (Actual) 

Goal / Strategy Amount Spent Percent of Total Contract 
Expenditures 

Included in Total 
Amount 

A.1.1 - AIR QUALITY ASSESSMENT AND PLANNING $55,591,129 16.32% $7,890,271 

A.1.2 - WATER ASSESSMENT AND PLANNING $29,075,310 8.54% $2,288,098 

A.1.3 - WASTE ASSESSMENT AND PLANNING $6,637,738 1.95% $225,364 

A.2.1 - AIR QUALITY PERMITTING $17,424,368 5.12% $1,344,895 

A.2.2 - WATER RESOURCE PERMITTING $13,921,447 4.09% $1,176,975 

A.2.3 - WASTE MANAGEMENT AND PERMITTING $10,183,354 2.99% $1,311,049 

A.2.4 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING $1,509,991 0.44% $31,246 

A.3.1 - LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE WASTE ASSESSMENT $6,206,045 1.82% $3,143,727 

Goal A - Assessment, Planning, and Permitting Total $140,549,382 41.27% $17,411,625 

B.1.1 - SAFE DRINKING WATER $18,791,395 5.52% $6,702,040 

Goal B – Drinking Water Total $18,791,395 5.52% $6,702,040 

C.1.1 - FIELD INSPECTIONS AND COMPLAINTS $53,682,635 15.76% $3,721,214 

C.1.2 - ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE SUPPORT $14,158,708 4.16% $2,138,969 

C.1.3 - POLLUTION PREVENTION AND RECYCLING $2,462,686 0.72% $601,120 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Goal / Strategy Amount Spent Percent of Total Contract 
Expenditures 

Included in Total 
Amount 

Goal C – Enforcement and Compliance Support Total $70,304,029 20.64% $6,461,303 

D.1.1 - STORAGE TANK ADMINISTRATION AND CLEANUP $16,138,879 4.74% $11,230,365 

D.1.2 - HAZARDOUS MATERIALS CLEANUP $27,885,123 8.19% $19,320,431 

Goal D – Pollution Cleanup Total $44,024,002 12.93% $30,550,796 

E.1.1 - CANADIAN RIVER COMPACT $14,776 0.00% $0 

E.1.2 - PECOS RIVER COMPACT $119,645 0.04% $3,206 

E.1.3 - RED RIVER COMPACT $30,314 0.01% $0 

E.1.4 - RIO GRANDE RIVER COMPACT $5,018,623 1.47% $4,816,859 

E.1.5 - SABINE RIVER COMPACT $50,689 0.01% $0 

Goal E – River Compact Commissions Total $5,234,047 1.54% $4,820,065 

F.1.1 - CENTRAL ADMINISTRATION $27,298,791 8.02% $1,075,491 

F.1.2 - INFORMATION RESOURCES $26,090,402 7.66% $12,406,214 

F.1.3 - OTHER SUPPORT SERVICES $8,286,850 2.43% $2,225,746 

Goal F – Indirect Administration Total $61,676,043 18.11% $15,707,451 

GRAND TOTAL: $340,578,898 100.00% $81,653,280 

D. Show your agency’s sources of revenue. Include all local, state, and federal appropriations, all 
professional and operating fees, and all other sources of revenue collected by the agency, including 
taxes and fines. 

Exhibit 7: Sources of Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 (Actual) 

Source Amount 

Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax (3004) $17,185,625 

Motor Vehicle Registration Fees (3014) $12,842,311 

Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax – Seller Financed (3016) $25,664 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Fees (3020) $55,761,646 

Petroleum Product Delivery Fee (3080) $16,030,839 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Source Amount 

Limited Sales and Use Tax (3102) $76,820,035 

General Business Filing Fees (3133) $55,000 

Professional Fees (3175) $3,240,554 

Water/Sewer Utility Service Regulatory Assessments/Penalties (3242) $11,044,094 

Water Use Permits (3364) $9,461,044 

Business Fees – Natural Resources (3366) $27,202,273 

Boat Sewage Disposal Device Certificate (3370) $28,925 

Waste Treatment Inspection Fee (3371) $35,676,505 

Injection Well Regulation (3373) $12,000 

Underground and Above Ground Storage Tank Fees (3374) $3,450 

Air Pollution Control Fees (3375) $55,985,036 

Engineering Registration Program Fees (3386) $21,052 

Purchase of Dry-Cleaning Solvent Fees (3390) $513,184 

Health Care Facility Fees (3557) $786,725 

Health Related Professional Fees (3562) $120,697 

Hazardous Waste Cleanup Application Fees (3571) $940,864 

Tier II Forms Filing Fees (3577) $1,133,730 

Toxic Chemical Release Form Reporting Fees (3585) $133,119 

Radioactive Materials and Devices for Equipment Registration (3589) $2,934,535 

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Fees (3590) $2,822,800 

Waste Disposal Facilities, Generators, Transporters (3592) $50,965,499 

Automotive Oil Sales Fee (3596) $1,701,760 

Battery Sales Fee (3598) $23,046,031 

Judgment and Settlements (3714) $5,124 

Fees for Copies or Filing of Records (3719) $135,144 

Conference, Seminars, and Training Registration Fees (3722) $114,910 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Source Amount 

Fees for Administrative Services (3727) $184,400 

Interagency Sales of Supplies/Equipment/Services (3765) $80,325 

Administrative Penalties (3770) $7,872,703 

Reimbursements – Third Party (3802) $1,554,053 

TOTAL $416,441,656 

E. If you receive funds from multiple federal programs, show the types of federal funding sources. 

Exhibit 8: Federal Funds — Fiscal Year 2020 (Actual) 

Type of Fund State / Federal 
Match Ratio 

State Share Federal Share Total Funding 

12.113 - State Memorandum of Agreement Program for 
the Reimbursement of Technical Services 

0%/100% $0 $224,220 $224,220 

66.034 – Surveys, Studies, Research, Investigations, 
Demonstrations, and Special Purpose Activities Relating 
to the Clean Air Act 

0%/100% $0 $1,430,388 $1,430,388 

66.204 – Multipurpose Grants to States and Tribes 0%/100% $0 $405,241 $405,241 

66.419 – Water Pollution Control State, Interstate, and 
Tribal Program Support 

0%/100% $0 $2,900,977 $2,900,977 

66.444 – Lead Testing in School and Child Care Program 
Drinking Water [SWDA 1464(d)] 

0%/100% $0 $65,690 $65,690 

66.454 – Water Quality Management Planning 0%/100% $0 $597,802 $597,802 

66.456 – National Estuary Program 50%/50% $467,287 $467,287 $934,574 

66.460 – Nonpoint Source Implementation Grants 40%/60% $0 $2,728,489 $2,728,489 

66.605 – Performance Partnership Grants 33%/67% $9,122,573 $19,836,191 $28,958,764 

66.608 – Environmental Information Exchange Network 
Grant Program and Related Assistance 

0%/100% $0 $47,160 $47,160 

66.802 – Superfund State, Political Subdivision, and 
Indian Tribe Site – Specific Cooperative Agreements 

0%/100% $0 $319,298 $319,298 

66.804 – Underground Storage Tank Prevention, 
Detection, and Compliance Program 

25%/75% $431,054 $1,316,119 $1,747,173 

66.805 – Leaking Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund 
Corrective Action Program 

10%/90% $246,398 $3,003,141 $3,249,539 
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Type of Fund State / Federal 
Match Ratio 

State Share Federal Share Total Funding 

66.809 – Superfund State and Indian Tribe Core Program 
Cooperative Agreements 

10%/90% $16,767 $150,909 $167,676 

66.817 – State and Tribal Response Program Grants 0%/100% $0 $410,152 $410,152 

97.041 – National Dam Safety Program 0%/100% $0 $311,514 $311,514 

97.091 – Homeland Security BioWatch program 0%/100% $0 $2,166,235 $2,166,235 

TOTAL $10,284,079 $36,380,813 $46,664,892 

Note: In some cases, state share is provided by other entities, such as local governments, which is not represented in these 
figures. 

F. If applicable, provide detailed information on fees collected by your agency. Please explain how 
much fee revenue is deposited/returned to the General Revenue Fund and why, if applicable. 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to General Revenue Fund (GR – 0001) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Television Recycling Manufacturer $2,500 Statute $2,500 22 $55,000 GR - 0001 
Registration – THSC Sections 
361.976 and 361.977; 30 TAC 
Section 328.171 (Subchapter J) 

Radioactive By-Product Gross 5% of gross Statute 5% of gross 0 $0 GR - 0001 
Receipts – THSC Section receipts receipts 
401.271(a)(1); 30 TAC Section 
336.105(i) 

Radioactive Compact Waste Gross 5% of gross Statute 5% of gross 1 $1,402,664 GR - 0001 
Receipts – THSC Sections 401.2445 receipts and 20% receipts 
and 401.271 of gross receipts 

for storage > 1 
year 

Municipal Solid Waste Application 
Fee – THSC Section 361.0675 

$2,000 per 
application 

Statute $2,000 per 
application 

3 $6,000 GR - 0001 

Closed Landfill Development $2,500 initial Rule N/A 1 $2,500 GR - 0001 
Application – THSC Section application 
361.532(c); 30 TAC Section 
330.59(h)(3) (Subchapter B) 
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Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Recovered Costs, Quarries – Texas 
Water Code (TWC) Section 26.558 

Cost Recovery Statute Varies based 
on case and 
judgments 

0 $0 GR - 0001 

Water Treatment Specialist License 
Class I, II, and III – THSC Section 
341.034(e); 30 TAC Section 30.30 
(Subchapter A) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 320 $31,067 GR - 0001 

Tier I Pollution Control Property 
Application Fee – Tax Code Section 
11.31; 30 TAC Section 17.20 

$150 application 
fee 

Rule N/A 586 $87,900 GR - 0001 

Tier II Pollution Control Property 
Application Fee – Tax Code Section 
11.31; 30 TAC Section 17.20 

$1,000 
application fee 

Rule N/A 38 $38,000 GR - 0001 

Tier III Pollution Control Property 
Application Fee – Tax Code Section 
11.31; 30 TAC Section 17.20 

$2,500 
application fee 

Rule N/A 14 $35,000 GR - 0001 

Water Quality Act Violations (Admin 
Penalties) – TWC Sections 7.051 and 
7.052 

N/A Statute $25,000 per 
day 

717 $2,702,618 GR - 0001 

Waste Disposal Act Violations 
(Admin Penalties) – TWC Sections 
7.051 and 7.052 

N/A Statute $25,000 per 
day 

807 $2,149,430 GR - 0001 

Clean Air Act Violations (Admin 
Penalties) – TWC Sections 7.051 and 
7.052 

$5,000 per day-
$25,000 per day 

Statute $25,000 per 
day 

256 $2,980,636 GR - 0001 

Quarry Water Violation – TWC $2,500-$25,000 Statute Not less than 0 $0 GR - 0001 
Sections 11.0842, 13.4151, and for discharge $50 and not 
26.556; HSC Section 341.049 violation and not 

less than $100 for 
other violations 
(TWC 26.556); 
not less than $50 
and not more 
than $5,000 (HSC 
341.049); not to 
exceed $5,000 
per day (TWC 
11.0842); not to 
exceed $5,000 
per day (TWC 
13.4151) 

more than 
$25,000 
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Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Low Level Radioactive Waste Fund Account (GRD - 0088) 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

Compact Waste Disposal Facility 
License – THSC Sections 401.229 
and 401.246; 30 TAC Section 
336.103 

$500,000 or more 
application fee 
and based on 
agency costs 
calculated 
annually 

Rule N/A 1 $455,999 GRD - 0088 

Party State Compact Low-Level 
Radioactive Waste Disposal – THSC 
Section 401.246(a)(6) 

Based on fees set 
by TCEQ to 
support the 
activities of the 
Texas Low-Level 
Radioactive 
Waste Disposal 
Compact 
Commission 

Statute N/A 1 $257,904 GRD - 0088 

Low-Level Radioactive Waste 
Disposal Fees – THSC Sections 
401.250 and 403.006 

$30,000,000 from 
each participating 
non-host state 
joining between 
Jan 11 – Aug. 31, 
2018; 
$50,000,000 from 
each non-host 
joining between 
Sept. 1, 2018 – 
Aug. 31, 2023 

Statute $50,000,000 N/A $0 GRD - 0088 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Clean Air Account (GRD - 0151) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Fee $2.00 per sticker Statute $2.00/ Collected by $44,336,819 GRD - 0151 
– THSC Section 382.0622 sold by DPS to 

inspection sticker 
DMV 

stations 
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Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Air Inspection Fees – THSC Section 
382.062, 30 TAC Section 101.24 (f) 
(Subchapter A) 

$80,000 max; 
2003 rule rates 
range from $840 
to $25,090 based 
on manufacturing 
type and amount 
of emission; 2003 
rate adjusted 
annually by CPI 

Rule $80,000 2,269 $7,406,284 GRD - 0151 

Air Temporary/Emergency Order – 
TWC Section 5.515; 30 TAC Section 
35.30 (Subchapter C) 

$500 per order 
plus cost of 
required notice 

Rule $500 per 
order plus 
cost notice 

Not assessed 
at this time 

$0 GRD - 0151 

Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection $0.50 per vehicle Rule $0.50 per Collected by $4,900,063 GRD - 0151 
Fee – THSC Section 382.202(e); 30 (20% x $2.50 vehicle (20% x DMV 
TAC Section 114.53 (Subchapter C; sticker fee) $2.50 sticker 
Division 1); GAA Article VI Rider 12 fee) 

Auto Emission Inspection, On-board 
Diagnostic – THSC Sections 
382.209(a) and (b) and 382.302(c); 
30 TAC Sections 114.53 (Subchapter 
C; Division 1) and 114.87 

$6.00 to TCEQ for 
OBD test on ’96 
or newer cars; 
$8.50 total is $6 
OBD + $2.50 
inspection and 
maintenance 

Rule $8.50 Collected by 
DMV; 
currently no 
participating 
counties 

$0 GRD - 0151 

Air Permit Fees – THSC Section 
382.062; 30 TAC Sections 116.141 
(Subchapter B; Division 4) and 
116.750 (Subchapter G) 

0.30% of capital 
cost or $32 per 
ton under flexible 
permit; $900 min 
$80,000 max 

Rule $80,000 1,815 $3,396,392 GRD - 0151 

Air Permit Renewal Fees – THSC $600-$10,000 Rule $10,000 294 $897,066 GRD - 0151 
Section 382.062; 30 TAC Section based on 
116.313 (Subchapter D) emission 

tonnage; issued 
for 5 years 

Air Permit Amendment Fee – THSC 0.30% of capital Rule $80,000 376 $2,237,854 GRD - 0151 
Section; 30 TAC Section 116.141 cost; $900 min, 
(Subchapter B; Division 4) $80,000 cap by 

statute 

Air Permit Expedited Fee – THSC $500 - $20,000 Rule N/A 986 $1,252,380 GRD - 0151 
Section 382.05155 (d); 30 TAC plus any 
Section 101.601 (Subchapter J) additional costs 

to expedite the 
permit 
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Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

Permit by Rule Fee – THSC Section 
382.062; 30 TAC Section 106.50 
(Subchapter B) 

$100 for small 
businesses, cities, 
and independent 
school districts 
less than 10,000; 
$450 for all 
others 

Rule $80,000 4,696 $1,360,900 GRD - 0151 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Operating Permit Fee Account (GRD – 5094) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Air Inspection Fees – THSC Section 
382.062; 30 TAC Section 101.24 (f) 
(Subchapter A) 

$80,000 max; 
2003 rule rates 
range from $840 
to $25,090 based 
on manufacturing 
type and amount 
of emission; 2003 
rates are adjusted 
annually by CPI 

Rule $80,000 391 $6,199,280 GRD - 5094 

Air Emissions Fees – THSC Section 
382.0621; 30 TAC Section101.27 
(Subchapter A) 

Based on formula 
(rate per ton = 
$25 X (1 - CO) X (1 
+ {(CPI -
122.15)/122.15}); 
4,000-ton cap; 
CO= tons of 

Rule 4,000 tons 
cap per year 
from any 
source 

879 $33,234,880 GRD - 5094 

carbon monoxide 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Water Resource Management Account (GRD – 0153) 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

Wastewater Treatment Research 
Council Fee – THSC Section 367.010 

$10 per 
application for an 
on-site septic 
facility 

Statute $10 2,042 $426,115 GRD - 0153 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Automotive Oil Sales Fee – THSC $0.01 per quart Statute $0.04 per Collected by $1,701,760 GRD – 0153 
Section 371.062 (i) or $0.04 per 

gallon gallon 
Comptroller 

General Permits Storm Water $100 application Rule N/A 6,502 $1,690,625 GRD – 0153 
(Multi-sector, Municipal Separate fee, $100-$200 
Storm Sewer System, and annual water 
Construction) – TWC Sections quality fee, and 
26.040, 26.021, and 26.029; 30 TAC $225-$325 
Section 205.6 (Subchapter A) construction fee 

General Permit Wastewater $100 application Rule N/A 835 $853,634 GRD – 0153 
Livestock Manure Compost fee; $100 annual 
Operation – TWC Section 26.040; 30 water quality fee 
TAC Section 205 (Subchapter A) 

Consolidated Water Quality Fee – 
TWC Sections 26.0291 and 
26.0135(h); 30 TAC Section 21.3 

$620 to $124,654 
depending on 
volume, 
pollutants, 
toxicity, etc. FY 
2021 max 

Rule Amount is 
adjusted 
annually by 
CPI up to a 
maximum of 
$150,000 

2,982 $28,664,935 GRD – 0153 

$124,654 

Water Use Assessment Fee – TWC 
Section 26.0135(h); 30 TAC Section 
21.3(c) 

For consumptive 
use, $0.385 < 
20,000 per acre 
foot < $.08; for 
non-consumptive 
use $0.021 < 

Rule $124,654; 
Amount is 
adjusted 
annually by 
CPI up to a 
maximum of 

342 $1,298,922 GRD – 0153 

20,000 per acre 
foot < $.0021; 
Hydro $0.04 < 
20,000 per acre 
foot < $.004 

$150,000 

(2010 Rates 
$.0385 for 
consumptive and 
$0.021 non-
consumptive per 
acre foot); FY 
2021 max 
$124,654 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Boat Sewage Disposal Device 
Certification – TWC Section 26.044; 
30 TAC Sections 321.7 and 321.8 
(Subchapter A) 

$15 fee for 
marine sanitation 
device; $35 for 
initial 
certification of 
pump out facility 
with $25 dollar 
renewal fee 

Rule $35 for initial 
certification 
of pump out 
facility with 
$25 renewal 
fee 

1,904 $28,925 GRD – 0153 

Water Utility Regulatory 
Assessment Fee – TWC Section 
5.701(n); 30 TAC Section 291.76 
(Subchapter D) 

0.5% to 1% of 
utility companies' 
retail water 
service charges 

Rule 0.5% to 1% of 
utility 
companies' 
retail water 
service 
charges 

2,152 $11,042,308 GRD – 0153 

Water Utility Bond Issue Application 
Fee – TWC Section 5.701(f); 30 TAC 
Section 293.43 (Subchapter E) 

$500 plus cost of 
notice 

Rule N/A 288 $143,600 GRD – 0153 

Water Utility Bond Issue Proceeds 
Fee – TWC Section 5.701(f); 30 TAC 
Section 293.45 (Subchapter E) 

0.25% of bond 
issue principal 

Rule 0.25% of 
bond issue 
principal 

285 $3,982,394 GRD – 0153 

Public Health Service Fee – THSC <25 connections Rule N/A 6,758 $25,599,945 GRD – 0153 
Section 341.041; 30 TAC Section – up to $200; 25-
290.51(a) (Subchapter E) 160 connections 

up to $300; 
>/=161 
connections – up 
to $4.00 per # of 
retail connections 

Aggregate Production Operations – 0-10 acres $474; Rule $1,500 1,071 $478,625 GRD – 0153 
TWC Section 28A.101; 30 TAC <10and<=50 
Section 342.26 (Subchapter B) acres $790; 

>50and<=100 
acres $1,106; 
>100 acres 
$1,500 rates 
effective March 
1, 2021 

Edwards Aquifer Development 
Application Fee (San Antonio 
Region) – TWC Section 26.0461(d); 
30 TAC Section 213.14 (Subchapter 
A) 

$650 - $10,000 
based on 
acreage, sewage 
system, linear 
feet of pipe, etc. 

Rule $13,000 232 $747,972 GRD – 0153 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Edwards Aquifer Development $650 - $10,000 Rule $13,000 523 $1,752,845 GRD – 0153 
Application Fee (Austin Region) – based on 
TWC Section 26.0461(d); 30 TAC acreage, sewage 
Section 213.14 (Subchapter A) system, linear 

feet of pipe, etc. 

Water Use Permit Application Fee – 
TWC Section 5.701(c); 30 TAC 
Sections 295.132 (Subchapter B) 
and 295.139(d) 

$100-$2,000 per 
application based 
on acre feet 

Rule $2,000 403 $345,572 GRD – 0153 

Water District Creation Application 
Fee – TWC Section 5.701(e); 30 TAC 
Section 293.11 (Subchapter B) 

$700 plus cost of 
notice 

Rule $700 plus cost 
of notice 

40 $26,700 GRD – 0153 

Temporary or Emergency Water Use 
Permits – TWC Section 11.138(g); 30 
TAC Sections 295.132 and.134 
(Subchapter B) 

$100 - $250, 
based on # acre-
feet, plus notice, 
max $500 

Rule $500 381 $44,041 GRD – 0153 

Miscellaneous Water District 
Application Fees – TWC Section 
5.701(b); 30 TAC Section 293.80 
(Subchapter G) 

$100 plus cost of 
notice 

Rule $100 plus cost 
of notice 

216 $26,938 GRD – 0153 

Water Use Permit (Construction 
Delay) – TWC Section 11.145; 30 
TAC Section 295.132 and 295.134 
(Subchapter B) 

Varies based on # 
acre-feet, plus 
cost of notice, 
$2,000 max 

Rule $2,000 5 $6,172 GRD – 0153 

Water Quality Permit Application 
Fee – TWC Section 5.701; 30 TAC 
Section 305.53 (Subchapter C) 

$100 - $2,000 Rule $2,000 806 $756,840 GRD – 0153 

Water Rate Appeals Filing, $100 application Statute $100 0 $0 GRD – 0153 
Application, Petition, Recording 
Fees – TWC Sections 5.701(b) and 
11.041(b) 

+ $25 deposit application + 
$25 deposit 

Disposal Waste, Injection, or Gas Application fee, Rule N/A 22 $12,000 GRD – 0153 
Well Fee – TWC Section 27.014; 30 $100 non-
TAC Section 305.53 (Subchapter C) hazardous and 

$2,000 hazardous 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

General Permit Wastewater 
Discharge (Concrete Production, 
Aqua Culture, Petroleum Bulk 
Station and Terminals, Hydrostatic 
Test Water, Petroleum Fuel or 
Substance, and CAFO) – TWC 
Section26.040; 30 TAC Section 
205.6 (Subchapter A) 

$100-$300 
application; $100-
$800 annual fee 
depending on 
permit type 

Rule N/A 9,710 $1,966,495 GRD – 0153 

Municipal Waste Permit – TWC 
Section 5.701; 30 TAC Section 
330.59(h)(2) (Subchapter B) 

$100 application 
+ $50 notice 

Rule N/A 48 $8,200 GRD – 0153 

On-Site Sewage Disposal System 
Permit (Wastewater Treatment 
Inspection) – THSC Section 366.058; 
30 TAC Section 285.21 (Subchapter 
C) 

$200 for single 
family dwelling, 
$400 for other 

Rule N/A 1,206 $265,100 GRD – 0153 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Watermaster Administration Account (GRD – 0158) 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

South Texas Watermaster 
Assessment – TWC Section 11.329; 
30 TAC Section 304.62(b) 
(Subchapter G) 

0.1904 per acre 
foot irrigation, 
0.2380 an acre 
foot municipal 

(rates change 
annually) 

Rule N/A 852 $758,119 GRD - 0158 

Rio Grande Watermaster 
Assessment – TWC Section 11.329; 
30 TAC Section 303.72(b) 
(Subchapter H) 

0.3411 per acre 
foot irrigation, 
0.4264 an acre 
foot municipal 
(rates change 
annually) 

Rule N/A 684 $980,270 GRD - 0158 

Brazos Watermaster Assessment – 
TWC Section 11.329; 30 TAC Section 
304.62(b) (Subchapter G) 

0.1302 per acre 
foot irrigation, 
0.1628 an acre 
foot municipal 
(rates change 
annually) 

Rule N/A 839 $844,191 GRD - 0158 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Concho River Watermaster 
Assessment – TWC Section 11.329; 
30 TAC Section 304.62(b) 
(Subchapter G) 

0.6781 per acre 
foot irrigation, 
0.8476 an acre 
foot municipal 
(rates change 
annually) 

Rule N/A 231 $238,959 GRD - 0158 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Occupational Licensing Account (GRD – 0468) 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

Occupational Training Approval – 
TWC Sections 37.003 and 37.009; 30 
TAC Section 30.28 (Subchapter A) 

Classroom 
(existing 
material), 
association 
meeting, and 
conferences 
training $10 per 
hour, minimum 
$50; Classroom 
(new material), 
technology 
based, and 
correspondence 
training $25 per 
hour, minimum 
$100; Association 
meeting review 
single $100 and 
multiple $400 
chapters 

Rule N/A 164 $23,294 GRD - 0468 

Underground Storage Tank 
Contractors License Fee – TWC 
Sections 26.452, 26.456, and 
37.003; 30 TAC Sections 30.315 and 
30.30 (Subchapter I) 

$232 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 68 $15,776 GRD - 0468 

Underground Storage Tank 
Installers License Fee – TWC 
Sections 26.452, 26.456, and 
37.003; 30 TAC Section 30.30 
(Subchapter I) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 169 $18,353 GRD - 0468 

Board of Irrigators Fee (IRR) – TWC 
Section 37.003; Texas Occupations 
Code (TOC) Section 1903.251; 30 
TAC Section 30.30 (Subchapter D) 

$111 new or 
renewal, both 
irrigators and 
installers 

Rule N/A 3,456 $379,989 GRD - 0468 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Water System Operators License Varies based on # Rule N/A 6,781 $756,294 GRD - 0468 
and Water System Operating of facilities 
Company Registration – TWC served: 0-4 = 
Section 37.003; THSC Sections $122; 5-9 = $240; 
341.034(a) and (b); 30 TAC Section 10-19 = $399; 20 
30.30 (Subchapter K and Ch. 290) or more = $636 

Backflow Prevention Assembly 
Tester Licenses – TWC Section 
37.003; THSC Section 341.034; 30 
TAC Section 30.30 (Subchapter B) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 2,430 $266,783 GRD - 0468 

Customer Service Inspector License 
– TWC Section 37.003; THSC Section 
341.034(d); 30 TAC Section 30.30 
(Subchapter C) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 912 $100,626 GRD - 0468 

Petroleum Storage Tank Corrective 
Action Specialist Fee – TWC Sections 
26.364, 26.367, and 37.003; 30 TAC 
Sections 30.190 and 30.192 
(Subchapter E) 

$232 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 85 $19,720 GRD - 0468 

Leaking Petroleum Storage Tank 
(LPST) Project Manager Fee – TWC 
Sections 26.366 and 37.003; 30 TAC 
Section 30.30 (Subchapter E) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 12 $1,332 GRD - 0468 

Municipal Solid Waste Supervisor 
License – TWC Sections 26.366 and 
37.003; 30 TAC Section 30.30 
(Subchapter F) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 345 $38,204 GRD - 0468 

Aerobic System (OSSF) Maintenance 
Provider – TWC Section 37.003; 
THSC 366.071; 30 TAC Section 30.30 
(Subchapter G) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 745 $87,000 GRD - 0468 

Wastewater Operator Certification 
Fee – TWC Sections 26.0301(c) and 
37.003; 30 TAC Section 30.30 
(Subchapter J) 

Varies based on # 
of facilities 
served: 0-4 = 
$122; 5-9 = $240; 
10-19 = $399; 20 
or more = $636 

Rule N/A 4,535 $560,000 GRD - 0468 

On-Site Septic Installers Certification 
Fee – TWC Section 37.003; THSC 
Section 366.071; 30 TAC Section 
30.30 (Subchapter G) 

$111 new or 
renewal 

Rule N/A 2,401 $290,000 GRD - 0468 

V. Funding 85 



   

    

    

     

    
 

   
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 
 

  
 

 

 

  
 

 
 

  
 
 
 

 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

       

 
    

 
 

 

       

 
 

 

 

 

       

  
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

       

 
 

  

       

 
   

  
 

 
 

 
 

       

TCEQ September 2021 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Waste Management Account (GRD – 0549) 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

Radioactive Disposal Site License 
Fees – THSC Section 401.301; 30 
TAC Section 336.105 (Subchapter B) 

Sub F & K: 
$50,000 app, 
$25,000 annual; 
Sub G: $10,000 
app, $8,400 
annual; Sub L: 
$463,096 or 
$322,633 or 
$325,910 or 
$374,729 based 
on mining type 
app, $60,929.50 
or $52,011.50 
annual based on 
operational 
status; Sub M: 
$3,850 or 
$39,959 or 
$94,661 or 
$273,800 app and 
annual based on 
waste class 

Rule N/A 13 $975,692 GRD - 0549 

Toxic Chemical Release Reporting 
Fee – THSC Section 370.008 

$25 per release 
report form, $250 
max 

Statute $250 1,568 $122,119 GRD - 0549 

Hazardous Waste Facility Fee (HWF) 
– THSC Section 361.135; 30 TAC 
Section 335.324 (Subchapter J) 

$2,500-$25,000 
annually based 
on capacity 

Rule $25,000 134 $1,622,267 GRD - 0549 

Hazardous Waste Generation Fee 
(HWG) – THSC Section 361.134; 30 
TAC Section 335.323 (Subchapter J) 

$100 for 1 to 50 
tons; $2.00 per 
ton if total more 
than 50 tons; 
$50,000 max 

Rule $50,000 1,478 $2,663,777 GRD - 0549 

Non-Hazardous Waste Facility Fee 
(NWF) – THSC Section 361.135; 30 
TAC Section 335.324 (Subchapter J) 

$500-$5,000 
annually based 
on capacity 

Rule $5,000 40 $113,002 GRD - 0549 

Non-Hazardous Waste Generation 
Fee (NWG) – THSC Section 361.134; 
30 TAC Section 335.323 (Subchapter 
J) 

$50 for 1 to 100 
tons; $0.50 per 
ton if total more 
than 100 tons; 
$10,000 max 

Rule $10,000 1,484 $959,596 GRD - 0549 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Hazardous Waste Permit 
Application Fee – THSC Section 
361.137; 30 TAC Section 305.53 
(Subchapter C) 

$2,000- $50,000 Rule $50,000 222 $114,342 GRD - 0549 

Municipal Setting Designation 
Application Fee – THSC Section 
361.804(b) 

$1,000 per 
application 

Statute $1,000 21 $21,000 GRD - 0549 

Sludge Class B Land Application 
Permits – THSC Section 361.121; 30 
TAC Section 312.9 (Subchapter A) 

$1,000 to $5,000 
depending on 
volume 

Rule N/A 13 $20,100 GRD - 0549 

Aboveground Storage Tank 
Registration Fee (AST) – TWC 
Section 26.358(f); 30 TAC Section 
334.128 (Subchapter F) 

$25 per tank Rule N/A 0 $0 GRD - 0549 

Voluntary Cleanup Program Fee $1,000 initial Statute $1,000 initial 457 $867,209 GRD - 0549 
(VCP) – THSC Section 361.604 application then 

hourly thereafter 
application 
then hourly 
thereafter 

Radioactive By-Product Fees – THSC $60,929.50 Rule N/A 1 $54,612 GRD - 0549 
Sections 401.2625 and 401.412 annual licensing 
(b)(c), (d), and (f); 30 TAC Section fee 
336.105(b)(4) (Subchapter B) 

Class 1 Commercial Waste 
Management Fee (25% of 
commercial goes to counties) – 
THSC Sections 361.136 (b)(1)(B) and 
(b)(2); 30 TAC Section 335.325(j)(2) 
(Subchapter J) 

$3.20-$7.50 per 
ton based on 
source and 
method of 
disposal 

Rule annual 
collection 
shall not 
exceed $16 
million after 
making 
payments to 
counties 

386 $1,413,500 GRD - 0549 

Hazardous Waste Management Fee 
– THSC Sections 361.136 (b)(1)(A) 
and (d); 30 TAC Section 335.325 
(j)(1) (Subchapter J) 

$1.00-$37.50 per 
ton based on 
source and 
method of 
disposal 

Rule annual 
collection 
shall not 
exceed $16 
million after 
making 
payments to 
counties 

827 $4,048,513 GRD - 0549 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Hazardous and Solid Waste Remediation Account (GRD – 0550) 

Fee Description / Program/ Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Hazardous Waste Management Fee 
(25% of commercial to counties) – 
THSC Section 361.136(b)(1)(A)(d); 
30 TAC Section 335.325 (b) 
(Subchapter J) 

$1.00-$37.50 per 
ton based on 
source and 
method of 
disposal 

Rule annual 
collection 
shall not 
exceed $16 
million after 
making 

824 $4,039,525 GRD - 0550 

payments to 
counties 

Class 1 Commercial Waste $3.20-$7.50 per Rule annual 386 $1,413,501 GRD - 0550 
Management Fee (25% of ton based on collection 
commercial goes to counties) – source and shall not 
THSC Section Code 361.136(b)(1)(B) method of exceed $16 
and (b)(2); 30 TAC Section disposal million after 
335.325(j)(2) (Subchapter J) making 

payments to 
counties 

Lead-Acid Battery Fee (collected by $2.00 on each Statute $2.00 on Collected by $23,046,031 GRD - 0550 
the Comptroller for TCEQ) – THSC retail sale of battery <12 Comptroller 
Section 361.138(b) battery <12 volts; volts; $3.00 

$3.00 on battery on battery 
12+ volts 12+ volts 

Innocent Landowner Program Fee $1,000 initial Rule N/A 68 $73,655 GRD - 0550 
(ILP) – THSC Section 361.753(b); 30 application 
TAC Section 333.35(b)(E)(3) 
(Subchapter B) 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Petroleum Storage Tank Remediation Account (GRD – 0655) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Petroleum Storage Delivery Fee – Delivery fee Rule (1) <$3.75 for Collected by $16,030,839 GRD - 0655 
TWC Section 26.3574(b); 30 TAC rates: $1.70< each delivery Comptroller 
Section 334.19 2,500 gallons; into a cargo 

$3.45 for 2,500- tank having a 
5,000 gallons; capacity of 
$5.45 for 5,000- <2,500 
8,000 gallons; gallons; 
$6.95 for 8,000-
10,000 gallons; 
$3.45 for every 
5,000 gallons 
above 10,000. 

(2) <$7.50 for 
each delivery 
into a cargo 
tank having a 
capacity of 
2,500 to 
4,999 gallons; 

(3) <$11.75 
for each 
delivery into a 
cargo tank 
having a 
capacity of 
5,000 to 
7,999 gallons; 

(4) <$15.00 
for each 
delivery into a 
cargo tank 
having a 
capacity of 
8,000 to 
9,999 gallons; 
and 

(5) <$7.50 for 
each 
increment of 
5,000 gallons 
or any part 
thereof 
delivered into 
a cargo tank 
having a 
capacity of 
10,000 
gallons or 
more 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Workplace Chemicals List Account (GRD – 5020) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

TCOT Specialty License Plate – Texas $30 fee; TCEQ Statute $30 fee Collected by $1,358 GRD - 5020 
Transportation Code (TTC) Section receives $22 DMV 
504.801(d-e) 

Tier II Manufacturing – THSC Section 
505.016 

$100 for 1-25 
chemicals; $200 
for 26-50 

Statute $500 for 101 
or more 
chemicals 

2,140 $379,552 GRD - 5020 

chemicals; $300 
for 51-75 
chemicals; $400 
for 76-100 
chemicals; $500 
for 101 or more 
chemicals 

Tier II Non-Manufacturing – THSC 
Section 507.013 

$100 for 1-25 
chemicals; $200 
for 26-50 

Statute $500 for 101 
or more 
chemicals 

4,001 $679,488 GRD - 5020 

chemicals; $300 
for 51-75 
chemicals; $400 
for 76-100 
chemicals; $500 
for 101 or more 
chemicals 

Tier II Public Employer – THSC 
Section 506.017 

$100 for 1-25 
chemicals; $200 
for 26-50 

Statute $500 for 101 
or more 
chemicals 

968 $74,690 GRD - 5020 

chemicals; $300 
for 51-75 
chemicals; $400 
for 76-100 
chemicals; $500 
for 101 or more 
chemicals 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Environmental Testing Lab Accreditation Account (GRD – 5065) 

Fee Description / Program / 
Statutory Citation 

Current Fee Fees Set 
by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Statutory 
Maximum or 

Minimum 

Number of 
Persons or 

Entities 
Paying Fee 

FY 2020 Fee 
Revenue 

Where Fee 
Revenue is 
Deposited 

Environmental Lab Accreditation – 
TWC Section Water 5.803; 30 TAC 
Section 25.30 (Subchapter B) 

$500 primary, 
$350 secondary + 
$255-$510 fee 
per media type 

Rule N/A 305 $786,725 GRD - 5065 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Texas Emission Reduction Plan Account (GRD – 5071) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

TERP Fees Motor Vehicle Sales and 
Use – THSC Section 386.251; Tax 
Code Section 152.0215 

2.5% on diesel 
vehicles made 
before 1997 and 

Statute 2.5% on 
diesel vehicles 
made before 

Collected by 
Comptroller 

$17,185,625 GRD - 5071 

1% on vehicles 1997 
since 1997 based 
on total 
consideration 

TERP Motor Vehicle Certified Titles $15 fee for Statute $20 fee for Collected by $138,851,750 GRD - 5071 
- THSC Section 386.251; TTC attainment and non- Tx DoT 
Section 501.138 $20 fee for non- attainment 

attainment 

TERP Motor Vehicle Registration - 10% of the total Statute 10% of the Collected by $12,840,952 GRD - 5071 
THSC Section 386.251; TTC Section registration fees total Comptroller 
502.358 due registration 

fees due 

TERP Motor Vehicle Inspection – $10 per Statute $10 per Collected by $6,384,312 GRD - 5071 
THSC Section 386.251; TTC Section inspection inspection DPS 
548.5055 

TERP Diesel Equipment Surcharge The fee is 1.5% of Statute 1.5% of sale Collected by $76,820,035 GRD - 5071 
– THSC Section 386.251; Tax Code sale or rental or rental price Comptroller 
Section 151.0515 price 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Motor Vehicle Sale and Seller 
Finance – THSC Section 386.251; 
Tax Code Sections 152.0215 and 
152.047 

2.5% on vehicles 
made before 
1997 and 1% on 
vehicles since 
1997 based on 
total 
consideration 

Statute 2.5% on 
vehicles made 
before 1997 
and 1% on 
vehicles since 
1997 based 
on total 
consideration 

Collected by 
Comptroller 

$25,664 GRD - 5071 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Dry Cleaning Facility Release Fund Account (GRD – 5093) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Dry Cleaning Facility Registration – 
THSC Section 374.102 

Facility: $250 per 
yr if < $150K 
annual receipts or 
nonparticipating, 
otherwise $2,500 
per yr; Drop 
Stations $250 if < 
$150k, $750 if > 
$150k, $125 if 
nonparticipating 

Statute $2,500 per yr 1,606 $2,768,522 GRD - 5093 

Dry Cleaning Penalties – THSC $1,000 - $10,000 Statute $10,000 per 6 $3,718 GRD - 5093 
Section 374.252 and TWC Section for violation; $5- violation 
7.0525 $50 per day for 

expired permit 

Dry Cleaning Solvent Fees – THSC 
Section 374.103 

$20 per gallon on 
perchloroethylen 
e (perc); $3 per 
gallon on other 
solvents 

Statute $20 per gallon 
on 
perchloroethy 
lene 

51 $513,184 GRD - 5093 

Dry Cleaning Deductible – THSC 
Section 374.203 

$5,000 deductible 
toward corrective 
action costs 

Statute $5,000 
deductible 
toward 
corrective 
action costs 

0 $0 GRD - 5093 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Waste Management Account at 66.7% and Solid Waste Disposal Fee Account at 
33.3% (GRD – 0549/5000) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Sludge Hauler Registration Fee 
(WMS) – THSC Section 361.013(c); 
30 TAC Section 312.9 (c) 
(Subchapter A) 

$100-$500 per 
year based on 
volume hauling 

Rule $500 1,486 $617,790 GRD -
0549/5000 

Sludge Beneficial Land Use Fee – 
THSC Section 361.013(a); 30 TAC 
Section 312.9(b) (Subchapter A) 

$.75 per dry ton 
for beneficial use, 
$100 minimum 

Rule N/A 128 $112,326 GRD -
0549/5000 

Sludge Hauler Sticker Fee (WSS) – 
THSC Section 361.013(c); 30 TAC 
Section 312.142 (Subchapter G) 

$10 per motor 
transport vehicle 

Rule $500 1,322 $52,250 GRD -
0549/5000 

Sludge Beneficial Land Use Permit 
Fee – THSC Section 361.013(a); 30 
TAC Section 312.9(g)(4) (Subchapter 
A) 

$100-$500 based 
on quantity 

Rule N/A 8 $1,792 GRD -
0549/5000 

Sludge Surface Disposal Permit Fee $1.25 per ton, Rule N/A 7 $24,525 GRD -
– THSC Section 361.013(a); 30 TAC 
Section 312.9(b)(3)(4) (Subchapter 
A) 

$100 minimum 0549/5000 

Medical Waste Transport Fee – 
THSC Section 361.013(a); 30 TAC 
Section 326.87(b) (Subchapter G) 

$100-$500 Based 
on weight 

Rule N/A 79 $32,184 GRD -
0549/5000 

Solid Waste Disposal Permit Fees – 
THSC Section 361.013(a); 30 TAC 
Section 305.59 (Subchapter C) 

$100 application 
fee and $50 per 
notice 

Rule N/A 83 $10,075 GRD -
0549/5000 
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TCEQ September 2021 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by 

Statute 
or Rule? 

Maximum or 
Minimum 

Persons or 
Entities 

Paying Fee 

Revenue Revenue is 
Deposited 

Solid Waste Disposal Fee (SWD) – 330.673 Rule 330.673 232 $32,269,575 GRD -
THSC Section 361.013(a); 30 TAC 
Sections 330.673 (Subchapter P) 
and 326.87(a) (Subchapter G) 

$0.94 per ton by 
weight. By 
volume, $0.30 

$0.94 per ton 
by weight. By 
volume, $0.30 

0549/5000 

per cu. yd. per cu. yd. 
compacted, $0.19 compacted, 
per cu. yd. un- $0.19 per cu. 
compacted yd. un-

compacted 

326.87 

$0.47 per ton by 
326.87 

weight. By $0.47 per ton 
volume, $0.15 by weight. By 
per cu. yd. volume, $0.15 
compacted, per cu. yd. 
$0.095 per cu. yd. compacted, 
un-compacted $0.095 per cu. 

yd. un-
compacted 

Exhibit 9: Fee Revenue — Fiscal Year 2020 

Fees Deposited to Environmental Radioactive Perpetual Care Account (GRD – 5158) 

Fee Description / Program / Current Fee Fees Set Statutory Number of FY 2020 Fee Where Fee 
Statutory Citation by Maximum or Persons or Revenue Revenue is 

Statute Minimum Entities Deposited 
or Rule? Paying Fee 

Nonparty Compact Waste Surcharge 
– THSC Sections 401.207(g) and 
401.249 

20% surcharge on 
the gross 
amounts of 
nonparty waste 
disposed at the 
compact waste 
disposal facility 

Statute 20% 
surcharge on 
gross 
amounts of 
nonparty 
waste 
disposed 

1 $2,564,896 GRD - 5158 

Radioactive License Surcharge – 5% surcharge on Statute 5% surcharge 11 $45,568 GRD - 5158 
THSC Section 401.301(d) radioactive on radioactive 

license fees license fees 

V. Funding 94 


	AAA-SER-breakdown 1
	AAA-SER-breakdown 2
	AAA-SER-breakdown 3
	AAA-SER-breakdown 4
	AAA-SER-breakdown 5
	AAA-SER-breakdown 6
	AAA-SER-breakdown 7
	AAA-SER-breakdown 8
	AAA-SER-breakdown 9
	AAA-SER-breakdown 10
	AAA-SER-breakdown 11
	AAA-SER-breakdown 12
	AAA-SER-breakdown 13
	AAA-SER-breakdown 14
	AAA-SER-breakdown 15
	AAA-SER-breakdown 16
	AAA-SER-breakdown 17
	AAA-SER-breakdown 18
	AAA-SER-breakdown 19
	AAA-SER-breakdown 20
	AAA-SER-breakdown 21
	AAA-SER-breakdown 22
	AAA-SER-breakdown 23
	AAA-SER-breakdown 24
	AAA-SER-breakdown 25
	AAA-SER-breakdown 26



