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APPENDIX B.1 

HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE 

TITLE 5. SANITATION AND ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

SUBTITLE C. AIR QUALITY 

CHAPTER 382. CLEAN AIR ACT1 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

Sec. 382.001.  SHORT TITLE.  This chapter may be cited as 

the Texas Clean Air Act. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989. 

Sec. 382.002.  POLICY AND PURPOSE.  (a)  The policy of this

state and the purpose of this chapter are to safeguard the 

state's air resources from pollution by controlling or abating 

air pollution and emissions of air contaminants, consistent with 

the protection of public health, general welfare, and physical 

property, including the esthetic enjoyment of air resources by 

the public and the maintenance of adequate visibility. 

(b) It is intended that this chapter be vigorously

enforced and that violations of this chapter or any rule or 

order of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality result in 

expeditious initiation of enforcement actions as provided by 

this chapter. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.139, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1 (S.B. 219), Sec. 3.0893, eff. April 

2, 2015. 

Sec. 382.003.  DEFINITIONS.  In this chapter: 

(1) "Administrator" means the Administrator of the

United States Environmental Protection Agency. 

1 Text downloaded from https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/ on February 10, 2022, as current through the 87th 3rd 

Called Legislative Session, 2021.  Minor formatting changes made for easier reading. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/SB00219F.HTM
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/
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(1-a)"Advanced clean energy project" means a project 

for which an application for a permit or for an authorization to 

use a standard permit under this chapter is received by the 

commission on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 

2020, and that: 

(A) involves the use of coal, biomass, petroleum

coke, solid waste, natural gas, or fuel cells using hydrogen 

derived from such fuels, in the generation of electricity, or 

the creation of liquid fuels outside of the existing fuel 

production infrastructure while co-generating electricity, 

whether the project is implemented in connection with the 

construction of a new facility or in connection with the 

modification of an existing facility and whether the project 

involves the entire emissions stream from the facility or only a 

portion of the emissions stream from the facility; 

(B) with regard to the portion of the emissions

stream from the facility that is associated with the project, is 

capable of achieving: 

(i) on an annual basis:

(a) a 99 percent or greater reduction

of sulfur dioxide emissions; 

(b) if the project is designed for the

use of feedstock, substantially all of which is subbituminous 

coal, an emission rate of 0.04 pounds or less of sulfur dioxide 

per million British thermal units as determined by a 30-day 

average; or 

(c) if the project is designed for the

use of one or more combustion turbines that burn natural gas, a 

sulfur dioxide emission rate that meets best available control 

technology requirements as determined by the commission; 

(ii) on an annual basis:

(a) a 95 percent or greater reduction

of mercury emissions; or 

(b) if the project is designed for the

use of one or more combustion turbines that burn natural gas, a 
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mercury emission rate that complies with applicable federal 

requirements; 

(iii)  an annual average emission rate for 

nitrogen oxides of: 

(a)  0.05 pounds or less per million 

British thermal units; 

(b)  if the project uses gasification 

technology, 0.034 pounds or less per million British thermal 

units; or 

(c)  if the project is designed for the 

use of one or more combustion turbines that burn natural gas, 

two parts per million by volume; and 

(iv)  an annual average emission rate for 

filterable particulate matter of 0.015 pounds or less per 

million British thermal units; and 

(C)  captures not less than 50 percent of the 

carbon dioxide in the portion of the emissions stream from the 

facility that is associated with the project and sequesters that 

captured carbon dioxide by geologic storage or other means. 

(2)  "Air contaminant" means particulate matter, 

radioactive material, dust, fumes, gas, mist, smoke, vapor, or 

odor, including any combination of those items, produced by 

processes other than natural. 

(3)  "Air pollution" means the presence in the 

atmosphere of one or more air contaminants or combination of air 

contaminants in such concentration and of such duration that: 

(A)  are or may tend to be injurious to or to 

adversely affect human health or welfare, animal life, 

vegetation, or property; or 

(B)  interfere with the normal use or enjoyment 

of animal life, vegetation, or property. 

(3-a)  "Coal" has the meaning assigned by Section 

134.004, Natural Resources Code. 

(4)  "Commission" means the Texas Commission on 

Environmental Quality. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=NR&Value=134.004
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(4-a) "Electric vehicle" means a motor vehicle that 

draws propulsion energy only from a rechargeable energy storage 

system. 

(5)  "Executive director" means the executive director 

of the commission. 

(6)  "Facility" means a discrete or identifiable 

structure, device, item, equipment, or enclosure that 

constitutes or contains a stationary source, including 

appurtenances other than emission control equipment.  A mine, 

quarry, well test, or road is not considered to be a facility. 

(7)  "Federal source" means a facility, group of 

facilities, or other source that is subject to the permitting 

requirements of Title IV or V of the federal Clean Air Act 

Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549) and includes: 

(A)  an affected source as defined by Section 402 

of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7651a) as added 

by Section 401 of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 

(Pub.L. No. 101-549); 

(B)  a major source as defined by Title III of 

the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-

549); 

(C)  a major source as defined by Title V of the 

federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549); 

(D)  a source subject to the standards or 

regulations under Section 111 or 112 of the federal Clean Air 

Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7411 and 7412); 

(E)  a source required to have a permit under 

Part C or D of Title I of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 

Sections 7470 et seq. and 7501 et seq.); 

(F)  a major stationary source or major emitting 

facility under Section 302 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Section 7602); and 

(G)  any other stationary source in a category 

designated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

as subject to the permitting requirements of Title V of the 

federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549). 
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(7-a)  "Federally qualified clean coal technology" 

means a technology or process, including a technology or process 

applied at the precombustion, combustion, or postcombustion 

stage, for use at a new or existing facility that will achieve 

on an annual basis a 97 percent or greater reduction of sulfur 

dioxide emissions, an emission rate for nitrogen oxides of 0.08 

pounds or less per million British thermal units, and 

significant reductions in mercury emissions associated with the 

use of coal in the generation of electricity, process steam, or 

industrial products, including the creation of liquid fuels, 

hydrogen for fuel cells, and other coproducts.  The technology 

used must comply with applicable federal law regarding mercury 

emissions and must render carbon dioxide capable of capture, 

sequestration, or abatement.  Federally qualified clean coal 

technology includes atmospheric or pressurized fluidized bed 

combustion technology, integrated gasification combined cycle 

technology, methanation technology, magnetohydrodynamic 

technology, direct and indirect coal-fired turbines, undiluted 

high-flame temperature oxygen combustion technology that 

excludes air, and integrated gasification fuel cells. 

(7-b) "Hybrid vehicle" means a motor vehicle that 

draws propulsion energy from both gasoline or conventional 

diesel fuel and a rechargeable energy storage system. 

(8)  "Local government" means a health district 

established under Chapter 121, a county, or a municipality. 

(9)  "Modification of existing facility" means any 

physical change in, or change in the method of operation of, a 

facility in a manner that increases the amount of any air 

contaminant emitted by the facility into the atmosphere or that 

results in the emission of any air contaminant not previously 

emitted.  The term does not include: 

(A)  insignificant increases in the amount of any 

air contaminant emitted that is authorized by one or more 

commission exemptions; 

(B)  insignificant increases at a permitted 

facility; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=121
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(C) maintenance or replacement of equipment

components that do not increase or tend to increase the amount 

or change the characteristics of the air contaminants emitted 

into the atmosphere; 

(D) an increase in the annual hours of operation

unless the existing facility has received a preconstruction 

permit or has been exempted, pursuant to Section 382.057, from 

preconstruction permit requirements; 

(E) a physical change in, or change in the

method of operation of, a facility that does not result in a net 

increase in allowable emissions of any air contaminant and that 

does not result in the emission of any air contaminant not 

previously emitted, provided that the facility: 

(i) has received a preconstruction permit

or permit amendment or has been exempted pursuant to Section 

382.057 from preconstruction permit requirements no earlier than 

120 months before the change will occur;  or 

(ii) uses, regardless of whether the

facility has received a permit, an air pollution control method 

that is at least as effective as the best available control 

technology, considering technical practicability and economic 

reasonableness, that the commission required or would have 

required for a facility of the same class or type as a condition 

of issuing a permit or permit amendment 120 months before the 

change will occur; 

(F) a physical change in, or change in the

method of operation of, a facility where the change is within 

the scope of a flexible permit or a multiple plant permit; or 

(G) a change in the method of operation of a

natural gas processing, treating, or compression facility 

connected to or part of a natural gas gathering or transmission 

pipeline which does not result in an annual emission rate of a 

pollutant in excess of the volume emitted at the maximum 

designed capacity, provided that the facility is one for which: 

(i) construction or operation started on or

before September 1, 1971, and at which either no modification 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.057
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.057
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has occurred after September 1, 1971, or at which modifications 

have occurred only pursuant to standard exemptions; or 

(ii) construction started after September

1, 1971, and before March 1, 1972, and which registered in 

accordance with Section 382.060 as that section existed prior to 

September 1, 1991. 

(9-a) "Motor vehicle" means a fully self-propelled 

vehicle having four wheels that has as its primary purpose the 

transport of a person or persons, or property, on a public 

highway. 

(9-b) "Natural gas vehicle" means a motor vehicle that 

uses only compressed natural gas or liquefied natural gas as 

fuel. 

(10) "Person" means an individual, corporation,

organization, government or governmental subdivision or agency, 

business trust, partnership, association, or any other legal 

entity. 

(10-a) "Qualifying motor vehicle" means a motor 

vehicle that meets the requirements of Section 382.210(b). 

(11) "Select-use technology" means a technology that

involves simultaneous combustion of natural gas with other fuels 

in fossil fuel-fired boilers.  The term includes cofiring, gas 

reburn, and enhanced gas reburn/sorbent injection. 

(11-a) "Solid waste" has the meaning assigned by 

Section 361.003. 

(12) "Source" means a point of origin of air

contaminants, whether privately or publicly owned or operated. 

(13) "Well test" means the testing of an oil or gas

well for a period of time less than 72 hours that does not 

constitute a major source or major modification under any 

provision of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 

et seq.). 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 135, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 

1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.01, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 

485, Sec. 4, eff. June 9, 1993;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.140, 

eff. Sept. 1, 1995;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 150, Sec. 1, eff. May 19, 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.210
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.003
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1995;  Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 62, Sec. 11.04(a), eff. Sept. 1, 1999;  Acts 

1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.01, eff. June 8, 

2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1277 (H.B. 3732), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 87 (S.B. 1969), Sec. 27.001(55), eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1109 (H.B. 469), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 3, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 347 (H.B. 3272), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1003 (H.B. 2446), Sec. 2, eff. June 

14, 2013. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1 (S.B. 219), Sec. 3.0894, eff. April 

2, 2015. 

Sec. 382.004.  CONSTRUCTION WHILE PERMIT AMENDMENT 

APPLICATION PENDING.  (a)  To the extent permissible under 

federal law, notwithstanding Section 382.0518, and except as 

provided by Subsection (c), a person who submits an application 

for a permit amendment may, at the person's own risk, begin 

construction related to the application after the executive 

director has issued a draft permit including the permit 

amendment. 

(b) The commission may not consider construction begun

under this section in determining whether to grant the permit 

amendment sought in the application. 

(c) A person may not begin construction under this section

if the facility that is the subject of the permit amendment is a 

concrete batch plant located within 880 yards of a property that 

is used as a residence. 

(d) The commission shall adopt rules to implement this

section. 

Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 422 (S.B. 1740), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1134 (H.B. 2726), Sec. 1, eff. January 

1, 2020. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB03732F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/SB01969F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB00469F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB03272F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02446F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/SB00219F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB01740F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/HB02726F.HTM
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SUBCHAPTER B. POWERS AND DUTIES OF COMMISSION 
 

Sec. 382.011.  GENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES.  (a)  The 

commission shall: 

(1)  administer this chapter; 

(2)  establish the level of quality to be maintained 

in the state's air; and 

(3)  control the quality of the state's air. 

(b)  The commission shall seek to accomplish the purposes 

of this chapter through the control of air contaminants by all 

practical and economically feasible methods. 

(c)  The commission has the powers necessary or convenient 

to carry out its responsibilities. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.143, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.012.  STATE AIR CONTROL PLAN.  The commission 

shall prepare and develop a general, comprehensive plan for the 

proper control of the state's air. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.143, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.013.  AIR QUALITY CONTROL REGIONS.  The commission 

may designate air quality control regions based on 

jurisdictional boundaries, urban-industrial concentrations, and 

other factors, including atmospheric areas, necessary to provide 

adequate implementation of air quality standards. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.143, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.014.  EMISSION INVENTORY.  The commission may 

require a person whose activities cause emissions of air 

contaminants to submit information to enable the commission to 

develop an inventory of emissions of air contaminants in this 

state. 
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Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.143, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0145.  CLEAN FUEL INCENTIVE SURCHARGE.  (a)  The 

commission shall levy a clean fuel incentive surcharge of 20 

cents per MMBtu on fuel oil used between April 15 and October 15 

of each year in an industrial or utility boiler that is: 

(1)  capable of using natural gas; and 

(2)  located in a consolidated metropolitan 

statistical area or metropolitan statistical area with a 

population of 350,000 or more that has not met federal ambient 

air quality standards for ozone. 

(b)  The commission may not levy the clean fuel incentive 

surcharge on: 

(1)  waste oils, used oils, or hazardous waste-derived 

fuels burned for purposes of energy recovery or disposal, if the 

commission or the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

approves or permits the burning; 

(2)  fuel oil used during: 

(A)  any period of full or partial natural gas 

curtailment; 

(B)  any period when there is a failure to 

deliver sufficient quantities of natural gas to satisfy 

contractual obligations to the purchaser; or 

(C)  a catastrophic event as defined by Section 

382.063; 

(3)  fuel oil used between April 15 and October 15 in 

equipment testing or personnel training up to an aggregate of 

the equivalent of 48 hours full-load operation; or 

(4)  any firm engaged in fixed price contracts with 

public works agencies for contracts entered into before August 

28, 1989. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 136, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.  Amended 

by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.143, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.063


Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 12 

 
 

Sec. 382.015.  POWER TO ENTER PROPERTY.  (a)  A member, 

employee, or agent of the commission may enter public or private 

property, other than property designed for and used exclusively 

as a private residence housing not more than three families, at 

a reasonable time to inspect and investigate conditions relating 

to emissions of air contaminants to or the concentration of air 

contaminants in the atmosphere. 

(b)  A member, employee, or agent who enters private 

property that has management in residence shall: 

(1)  notify the management, or the person then in 

charge, of the member's, employee's, or agent's presence; and 

(2)  show proper credentials. 

(c)  A member, employee, or agent who enters private 

property shall observe that establishment's rules concerning 

safety, internal security, and fire protection. 

(d)  The commission is entitled to the remedies provided by 

Sections 382.082-382.085 if a member, employee, or agent is 

refused the right to enter public or private property as 

provided by this section. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.144, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.016.  MONITORING REQUIREMENTS; EXAMINATION OF 

RECORDS.  (a)  The commission may prescribe reasonable 

requirements for: 

(1)  measuring and monitoring the emissions of air 

contaminants from a source or from an activity causing or 

resulting in the emission of air contaminants subject to the 

commission's jurisdiction under this chapter; and 

(2)  the owner or operator of the source to make and 

maintain records on the measuring and monitoring of emissions. 

(b)  A member, employee, or agent of the commission may 

examine during regular business hours any records or memoranda 

relating to the operation of any air pollution or emission 

control equipment or facility, or relating to emission of air 
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contaminants.  This subsection does not authorize the 

examination of records or memoranda relating to the operation of 

equipment or a facility on property designed for and used 

exclusively as a private residence housing not more than three 

families. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.145, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0161.  AIR POLLUTANT WATCH LIST.  (a)  The 

commission shall establish and maintain an air pollutant watch 

list.  The air pollutant watch list must identify: 

(1)  each air contaminant that the commission 

determines, on the basis of federal or state ambient air quality 

standards for the contaminant, should be included on the air 

pollutant watch list; and 

(2)  each geographic area of the state for which 

ambient air quality monitoring data indicates that the 

individual or cumulative emissions of one or more air 

contaminants identified by the commission under Subdivision (1) 

may cause short-term or long-term adverse human health effects 

or odors in that area. 

(b)  The commission shall publish notice of and allow 

public comment on: 

(1)  an addition of an air contaminant to or removal 

of an air contaminant from the air pollutant watch list; or 

(2)  an addition of an area to or removal of an area 

from the air pollutant watch list. 

(c)  When considering the addition or removal of an area to 

or from the air pollutant watch list, the commission shall 

provide the monitoring data related to the area to the state 

senator and representative who represent the area. 

(d)  The commission may hold a public meeting in an area 

listed on the air pollutant watch list to provide residents of 

the area with information regarding: 
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(1)  the reasons for the area's inclusion on the air 

pollutant watch list; and 

(2)  commission actions to reduce the emissions of air 

contaminants contributing to the area's inclusion on the air 

pollutant watch list. 

(e)  The air pollutant watch list and the addition or 

removal of a pollutant or area to or from the list are not 

matters subject to the requirements of Subchapter B, Chapter 

2001, Government Code. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 780 (H.B. 1981), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.017.  RULES.  (a)  The commission may adopt rules.  

The commission shall hold a public hearing before adopting a 

rule consistent with the policy and purposes of this chapter. 

(b)  If the rule will have statewide effect, notice of the 

date, time, place, and purpose of the hearing shall be published 

one time at least 20 days before the scheduled date of the 

hearing in at least three newspapers, the combined circulation 

of which will, in the commission's judgment, give reasonable 

circulation throughout the state.  If the rule will have effect 

in only a part of the state, the notice shall be published one 

time at least 20 days before the scheduled date of the hearing 

in a newspaper of general circulation in the area to be 

affected. 

(c)  Any person may appear and be heard at a hearing to 

adopt a rule.  The executive director shall make a record of the 

names and addresses of the persons appearing at the hearing.  A 

person heard or represented at the hearing or requesting notice 

of the commission's action shall be sent by mail written notice 

of the commission's action. 

(d)  Subsections (a) and (b) notwithstanding, the 

commission may adopt rules consistent with Chapter 2001, 

Government Code, if the commission determines that the need for 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001.021
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB01981F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001


Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 15 

 
 

expeditious adoption of proposed rules requires use of those 

procedures. 

(e)  The terms and provisions of a rule adopted by the 

commission may differentiate among particular conditions, 

particular sources, and particular areas of the state.  In 

adopting a rule, the commission shall recognize that the 

quantity or characteristic of air contaminants or the duration 

of their presence in the atmosphere may cause a need for air 

control in one area of the state but not in other areas.  In 

this connection, the commission shall consider: 

(1)  the factors found by it to be proper and just, 

including existing physical conditions, topography, population, 

and prevailing wind direction and velocity; and 

(2)  the fact that a rule and the degrees of 

conformance with the rule that may be proper for an essentially 

residential area of the state may not be proper for a highly 

developed industrial area or a relatively unpopulated area. 

(f)  Except as provided by Sections 382.0171-382.021 or to 

comply with federal law or regulations, the commission by rule 

may not specify: 

(1)  a particular method to be used to control or 

abate air pollution; 

(2)  the type, design, or method of installation of 

equipment to be used to control or abate air pollution; or 

(3)  the type, design, method of installation, or type 

of construction of a manufacturing process or other kind of 

equipment. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 137, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 

1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.33, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 

76, Sec. 5.95(49), 11.145, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0171.  ALTERNATIVE FUELS AND SELECT-USE 

TECHNOLOGIES.  (a)  In adopting rules, the commission shall 

encourage and may allow the use of natural gas and other 
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alternative fuels, as well as select-use technologies, that will 

reduce emissions. 

(b)  Any orders or determinations made under this section 

must be consistent with Section 382.024. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 138, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.  Amended 

by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.146, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0172.  INTERNATIONAL BORDER AREAS.  (a)  In order 

to qualify for the exceptions provided by Section 179B of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7509a), as added by 

Section 818 of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 

(Pub.L. No. 101-549), the commission, in developing rules and 

control programs to be included in an implementation plan for an 

international border area, shall ensure that the plan or 

revision: 

(1)  meets all requirements applicable to the plan or 

revision under Title I of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments 

of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549), other than a requirement that the 

plan or revision demonstrates attainment and maintenance of the 

relevant national ambient air quality standards by the 

attainment date specified by the applicable provision of Title I 

of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-

549) or by a regulation adopted under that provision; and 

(2)  would be adequate to attain and maintain the 

relevant national ambient air quality standards by the 

attainment date specified by the applicable provision of Title I 

of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-

549) or by a regulation adopted under that provision, but for 

emissions emanating from outside the United States. 

(b)  For purposes of any emissions control or permit 

program adopted or administered by the commission and subject to 

Subsection (c), the commission, to the extent allowed by federal 

law, may: 

(1)  authorize the use of emissions reductions 

achieved outside the United States to satisfy otherwise 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.024
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applicable emissions reduction requirements if the commission 

finds that the emissions reductions achieved outside the United 

States are surplus to requirements imposed by applicable law and 

are appropriately quantifiable and enforceable; and 

(2)  allow the use of reductions in emissions of one 

air contaminant to satisfy otherwise applicable requirements for 

reductions in emissions of another air contaminant if the 

commission finds that the air contaminant emissions reductions 

that will be substituted are of equal or greater significance to 

the overall air quality of the area affected than reductions in 

emissions of the other air contaminant. 

(c)  The commission may authorize or allow substitution of 

emissions reductions under Subsection (b) only if: 

(1)  reductions in emissions of one air contaminant 

for which the area has been designated as nonattainment are 

substituted for reductions in emissions of another air 

contaminant for which the area has been designated as 

nonattainment; or 

(2)  the commission finds that the substitution will 

clearly result in greater health benefits for the community as a 

whole than would reductions in emissions at the original 

facility. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.02, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.147, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 960, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 820 (S.B. 784), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 2481), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0173.  ADOPTION OF RULES REGARDING CERTAIN STATE 

IMPLEMENTATION PLAN REQUIREMENTS AND STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE 

FOR CERTAIN SOURCES.  (a)  The commission shall adopt rules to 

comply with Sections 110(a)(2)(D) and 111(d) of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7410 and 7411).  In adopting 

the rules, at a minimum the commission shall adopt and 

incorporate by reference 40 C.F.R. Subparts AA through II and 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB00784F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02481F.HTM
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Subparts AAA through III of Part 96 and 40 C.F.R. Subpart HHHH 

of Part 60.  The commission shall adopt a state implementation 

plan in accordance with the rules and submit the plan to the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency for approval 

according to the schedules adopted by that agency. 

(b)  The commission may require emissions reductions in 

conjunction with implementation of the rules adopted under 

Subsection (a) only for electric generating units.  The 

commission shall make permanent allocations that are reflective 

of the allocation requirements of 40 C.F.R. Subparts AA through 

HH and Subparts AAA through HHH of Part 96 and 40 C.F.R. Subpart 

HHHH of Part 60, as applicable, at no cost to units as defined 

in 40 C.F.R. Sections 51.123 and 60.4102 using the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency's allocation method as specified 

by 40 C.F.R. Section 60.4142(a)(1)(i) or 40 C.F.R. Section 

96.142(a)(1)(i), as applicable, with the exception of nitrogen 

oxides which shall be allocated according to the additional 

requirements of Subsection (c).  The commission shall maintain a 

special reserve of allocations for new units commencing 

operation on or after January 1, 2001, as defined by 40 C.F.R. 

Subparts AA through HH and Subparts AAA through HHH of Part 96 

and 40 C.F.R. Subpart HHHH of Part 60, as applicable, with the 

exception of nitrogen oxides which shall be allocated according 

to the additional requirements of Subsection (c). 

(c)  Additional requirements regarding NOx allocations: 

(1)  The commission shall maintain a special reserve 

of allocations for nitrogen oxide of 9.5 percent for new units.  

Beginning with the 2015 control period, units shall be 

considered new for each control period in which they do not have 

five years of operating data reported to the commission prior to 

the date of allocation for a given control period.  Prior to the 

2015 control period, units that commenced operation on or after 

January 1, 2001, will receive NOx allocations from the special 

reserve only. 

(2)  Nitrogen oxide allowances shall be established 

for the 2009-2014 control periods for units commencing operation 
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before January 1, 2001, using the average of the three highest 

amounts of the unit's adjusted control period heat input for 

2000 through 2004, with the adjusted control period heat input 

for each year calculated as follows: 

(A)  if the unit is coal-fired during the year, 

the unit's control period heat input for such year is multiplied 

by 90 percent; 

(B)  if the unit is natural gas-fired during the 

year, the unit's control period heat input for such year is 

multiplied by 50 percent; and 

(C)  if the fossil fuel fired unit is not subject 

to Paragraph (A) or (B) of this subdivision, the unit's control 

period heat input for such year is multiplied by 30 percent. 

(3)  Before the allocation date specified by EPA for 

the control period beginning January 1, 2018, and every five 

years thereafter, the commission shall adjust the baseline for 

all affected units using the average of the three highest 

amounts of the unit's adjusted control period heat input for 

periods one through five of the preceding nine control periods, 

with the adjusted control period heat input for each year 

calculated as follows: 

(A)  for units commencing operation before 

January 1, 2001: 

(i)  if the unit is coal-fired during the 

year, the unit's control period heat input for such year is 

multiplied by 90 percent; 

(ii)  if the unit is natural gas-fired 

during the year, the unit's control period heat input for such 

year is multiplied by 50 percent; and 

(iii)  if the fossil fuel fired unit is not 

subject to Subparagraph (i) or (ii) of this paragraph, the 

unit's control period heat input for such year is multiplied by 

30 percent; and 

(B)  for units commencing operation on or after 

January 1, 2001, in accordance with the formulas set forth by 
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USEPA in 40 C.F.R. 96.142 with any corrections to this section 

that may be issued by USEPA prior to the allocation date. 

(d) This section applies only while the federal rules

cited in this section are enforceable and does not limit the 

authority of the commission to implement more stringent 

emissions control requirements. 

(e) In adopting rules under Subsection (a), the commission

shall incorporate any modifications to the federal rules cited 

in this section that result from: 

(1) a request for rehearing regarding those rules

that is filed with the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency; 

(2) a petition for review of those rules that is

filed with a court; or 

(3) a final rulemaking action of the United States

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(f) The commission shall take all reasonable and

appropriate steps to exclude the West Texas Region and El Paso 

Region, as defined by Section 39.264(g), Utilities Code, from 

any requirement under, derived from, or associated with 40 

C.F.R. Sections 51.123, 51.124, and 51.125, including filing a

petition for reconsideration with the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency requesting that it amend 40 

C.F.R. Sections 51.123, 51.124, and 51.125 to exclude such

regions. The commission shall promptly amend the rules it adopts 

under Subsection (a) of this section to incorporate any 

exclusions for such regions that result from the petition 

required under this subsection. 

(g) The commission shall study the availability of mercury

control technology.  The commission shall also examine the 

timeline for implementing the reductions required under the 

federal rules, the cost of additional controls both to the plant 

owners and consumers, and the fiscal impact on the state of 

higher levels of mercury emissions between 2005 and 2018, and 

consider the impact of trading on local communities.  The 

commission shall report its findings by September 1, 2006. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=UT&Value=39.264
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Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 2481), Sec. 2, eff. September 

1, 2005. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 56 (S.B. 1672), Sec. 1, eff. May 10, 

2007. 

Sec. 382.018.  OUTDOOR BURNING OF WASTE AND COMBUSTIBLE 

MATERIAL.  (a)  Subject to Section 352.082, Local Government 

Code, and except as provided by Subsections (b) and (d), the 

commission by rule may control and prohibit the outdoor burning 

of waste and combustible material and may include requirements 

concerning the particular method to be used to control or abate 

the emission of air contaminants resulting from that burning. 

(b) The commission by rule shall authorize outdoor burning

of waste if the waste: 

(1) consists of trees, brush, grass, leaves, branch

trimmings, or other plant growth; and 

(2) is burned:

(A) in an area that meets the national ambient

air quality standards and that does not contain any part of a 

city that does not meet national ambient air quality standards; 

and 

(B) on the property on which it was generated

and by the owner of the property or any other person authorized 

by the owner. 

(c) Rules adopted under Subsection (b) may not:

(1) require prior commission approval of the burning;

or 

(2) authorize the burning only when no practical

alternative to burning exists. 

(d) The commission may not control or prohibit outdoor

burning of waste consisting of trees, brush, grass, leaves, 

branch trimmings, or other plant growth if: 

(1) the person burning the waste is doing so at a

site: 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02481F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB01672F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=LG&Value=352.082
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(A) designated for consolidated burning of waste

generated from specific residential properties; 

(B) located in a county with a population of

less than 50,000; 

(C) located outside of a municipality; and

(D) supervised at the time of the burning by:

(i) an employee of a fire department who is

part of the fire protection personnel, as defined by Section 

419.021, Government Code, of the department and is acting in the 

scope of the person's employment; or 

(ii) a volunteer firefighter acting in the

scope of the firefighter's volunteer duties; and 

(2) the waste was generated from a property for which

the site is designated. 

(e) A fire department employee who will supervise a

burning under Subsection (d)(1)(D) shall notify the commission 

of each burning supervised by the employee, and the commission 

shall provide the employee with information on practical 

alternatives to burning. 

(f) If conduct that violates a rule adopted under this

section also violates a municipal ordinance, that conduct may be 

prosecuted only under the municipal ordinance, provided that: 

(1) the violation is not a second or subsequent

violation of a rule adopted under this section or a municipal 

ordinance; and 

(2) the violation does not involve the burning of

heavy oils, asphaltic materials, potentially explosive 

materials, or chemical wastes. 

(g) Notwithstanding Section 7.002, Water Code, the

provisions of this section and rules adopted under this section 

may be enforced by a peace officer as described by Article 2.12, 

Code of Criminal Procedure. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.147, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 419 (S.B. 1710), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=419.021
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=CR&Value=2.12
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB01710F.HTM
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Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 904 (H.B. 39), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Reenacted and amended by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 921 (H.B. 3167), 

Sec. 8.001, eff. September 1, 2007. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 145 (H.B. 1619), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 478 (H.B. 2386), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

Sec. 382.019.  METHODS USED TO CONTROL AND REDUCE EMISSIONS 

FROM LAND VEHICLES.  (a)  Except as provided by Section 

382.202(j), or another provision of this chapter, the commission 

by rule may provide requirements concerning the particular 

method to be used to control and reduce emissions from engines 

used to propel land vehicles. 

(b) The commission may not require, as a condition

precedent to the initial sale of a vehicle or vehicular 

equipment, the inspection, certification, or other approval of 

any feature or equipment designed to control emissions from 

motor vehicles if that feature or equipment has been certified, 

approved, or otherwise authorized under federal law. 

(c) The commission or any other state agency may not adopt

a rule requiring the use of Stage II vapor recovery systems that 

control motor vehicle refueling emissions at a gasoline 

dispensing facility in this state until the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency determines that the use of the 

system is required for compliance with the federal Clean Air Act 

(42 U.S.C. 7401 et seq.), except the commission may adopt rules 

requiring such vapor recovery systems installed in nonattainment 

areas if it can be demonstrated to be necessary for the 

attainment of federal ozone ambient air quality standards or, 

following appropriate health studies and in consultation with 

the Department of State Health Services, it is determined to be 

necessary for the protection of public health. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.24, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1995, 

74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.147, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 

965, Sec. 15.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 

10.008(b), eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB00039F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB03167F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/HB01619F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/HB02386F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
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Amended by:  

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1 (S.B. 219), Sec. 3.0895, eff. April 

2, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0191.  IDLING OF MOTOR VEHICLE.  (a)  In this 

section, "idling" means allowing an engine to run while the 

motor vehicle is not engaged in forward or reverse motion. 

(b)  The commission may not prohibit or limit the idling of 

any motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating greater 

than 8,500 pounds that is equipped with a 2008 or subsequent 

model year heavy-duty diesel engine or liquefied or compressed 

natural gas engine that has been certified by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency or another state environmental 

agency to emit no more than 30 grams of nitrogen oxides 

emissions per hour when idling. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 390 (S.B. 493), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0195.  COMMERCIAL INFECTIOUS WASTE INCINERATORS.  

(a)  The commission shall adopt rules prescribing the most 

effective emissions control technology reasonably available to 

control emissions of air contaminants from a commercial 

infectious waste incinerator. 

(b)  Rules adopted under this section must require that the 

prescribed emissions control technology be installed as soon as 

practicable at each commercial infectious waste incinerator. 

(c)  In this section, "commercial infectious waste 

incinerator" means a facility that accepts for incineration 

infectious waste generated outside the property boundaries of 

the facility. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 139, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.  Amended 

by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.148, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.020.  CONTROL OF EMISSIONS FROM FACILITIES THAT 

HANDLE CERTAIN AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS.  (a)  The commission, when 

it determines that the control of air pollution is necessary, 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/SB00219F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB00493F.HTM
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shall adopt rules concerning the control of emissions of 

particulate matter from plants at which grain, seed, legumes, or 

vegetable fibers are handled, loaded, unloaded, dried, 

manufactured, or processed according to a formula derived from 

the process weight of the materials entering the process. 

(b)  A person affected by a rule adopted under this section 

may use: 

(1)  the process weight method to control and measure 

the emissions from the plant; or 

(2)  any other method selected by that person that the 

commission or the executive director, if authorized by the 

commission, finds will provide adequate emission control 

efficiency and measurement. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0201.  PROHIBITION ON COMMISSION RULE RELATING TO 

EMISSIONS FROM CERTAIN HOSPITAL OR MEDICAL DISINFECTANTS.  (a)  

In this section, "hospital or medical disinfectant" means an 

antimicrobial product that is registered with and meets the 

performance standards of the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 

Rodenticide Act (7 U.S.C. Sections 136, 136a). 

(b)  Except as specifically required to comply with federal 

law or regulation, the commission may not adopt a rule that 

lessens the efficacy of a hospital or medical disinfectant in 

killing or inactivating agents of an infectious disease, 

including a rule restricting volatile organic compound content 

of or emissions from the disinfectant. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 364, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0205.  SPECIAL PROBLEMS RELATED TO AIR CONTAMINANT 

EMISSIONS.  Consistent with applicable federal law, the 

commission by rule may control air contaminants as necessary to 

protect against adverse effects related to: 
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(1)  acid deposition; 

(2)  stratospheric changes, including depletion of 

ozone; and 

(3)  climatic changes, including global warming. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.03, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.021.  SAMPLING METHODS AND PROCEDURES.  (a)  The 

commission may prescribe the sampling methods and procedures to 

be used in determining violations of and compliance with the 

commission's rules, variances, and orders, including: 

(1)  ambient air sampling; 

(2)  stack-sampling; 

(3)  visual observation; or 

(4)  any other sampling method or procedure generally 

recognized in the field of air pollution control. 

(b)  The commission may prescribe new sampling methods and 

procedures if: 

(1)  in the commission's judgment, existing methods or 

procedures are not adequate to meet the needs and objectives of 

the commission's rules, variances, and orders; and 

(2)  the scientific applicability of the new methods 

or procedures can be satisfactorily demonstrated to the 

commission. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0215.  ASSESSMENT OF EMISSIONS DUE TO EMISSIONS 

EVENTS. 

(a)  In this section: 

(1)  "Emissions event" means an upset event, or 

unscheduled maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity, from a 

common cause that results in the unauthorized emissions of air 

contaminants from one or more emissions points at a regulated 

entity. 
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(2)  "Regulated entity" means all regulated units, 

facilities, equipment, structures, or sources at one street 

address or location that are owned or operated by the same 

person.  The term includes any property under common ownership 

or control identified in a permit or used in conjunction with 

the regulated activity at the same street address or location. 

(a-1) Maintenance, startup, and shutdown activities shall 

not be considered unscheduled only if the activity will not and 

does not result in the emission of at least a reportable 

quantity of unauthorized emissions of air contaminants and the 

activity is recorded as may be required by commission rule, or 

if the activity will result in the emission of at least a 

reportable quantity of unauthorized emissions and: 

(1)  the owner or operator of the regulated entity 

provides any prior notice or final report that the commission, 

by rule, may establish; 

(2)  the notice or final report includes the 

information required in Subsection (b)(3); and 

(3)  the actual emissions do not exceed the estimates 

submitted in the notice by more than a reportable quantity. 

(b)  The commission shall require the owner or operator of 

a regulated entity that experiences emissions events: 

(1)  to maintain a record of all emissions events at 

the regulated entity in the manner and for the periods 

prescribed by commission rule; 

(2)  to notify the commission in a single report for 

each emissions event, as soon as practicable but not later than 

24 hours after discovery of the emissions event, of an emissions 

event resulting in the emission of a reportable quantity of air 

contaminants as determined by commission rule; and 

(3)  to report to the commission in a single report 

for each emissions event, not later than two weeks after the 

occurrence of an emissions event that results in the emission of 

a reportable quantity of air contaminants as determined by 

commission rule, all information necessary to evaluate the 

emissions event, including: 
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(A)  the name of the owner or operator of the 

reporting regulated entity; 

(B)  the location of the reporting regulated 

entity; 

(C)  the date and time the emissions began; 

(D)  the duration of the emissions; 

(E)  the nature and measured or estimated 

quantity of air contaminants emitted, including the method of 

calculation of, or other basis for determining, the quantity of 

air contaminants emitted; 

(F)  the processes and equipment involved in the 

emissions event; 

(G)  the cause of the emissions; and 

(H)  any additional information necessary to 

evaluate the emissions event. 

(c)  The owner or operator of a boiler or combustion 

turbine fueled by natural gas, coal, lignite, wood, or fuel oil 

containing hazardous air pollutants at concentrations of less 

than 0.02 percent by weight that is equipped with a continuous 

emission monitoring system that completes a minimum of one cycle 

per operation (sampling, analyzing, and data recording) for each 

successive 15-minute interval who is required to submit excess 

emission reports by other state or federal regulations, shall, 

by commission rule, be allowed to submit information from that 

monitoring system to meet the requirements under Subsection 

(b)(3) so long as the notice submitted under Subsection (b)(2) 

contains the information required under Subsection (b)(3).  Such 

excess emission reports shall satisfy the recordkeeping 

requirements of Subsection (b)(1) so long as the information in 

such reports meets commission requirements.  This subsection 

does not require the commission to revise the reportable 

quantity for boilers and combustion turbines. 

(d)  The commission shall centrally track emissions events 

and collect information relating to: 

(1)  inspections or enforcement actions taken by the 

commission in response to emissions events; and 
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(2)  the number of emissions events occurring in each 

commission region and the quantity of emissions from each 

emissions event. 

(e)  The commission shall develop the capacity for 

electronic reporting and shall incorporate reported emissions 

events into a permanent online centralized database for 

emissions events.  The commission shall develop a mechanism 

whereby the reporting entity shall be allowed to review the 

information relative to its reported emissions events prior to 

such information being included in the database.  The database 

shall be easily searchable and accessible to the public.  The 

commission shall evaluate information in the database to 

identify persons who repeatedly fail to report reportable 

emissions events.  The commission shall enforce against such 

persons pursuant to Section 382.0216(i).  The commission shall 

describe such enforcement actions in the report required in 

Subsection (g). 

(f)  An owner or operator of a regulated entity required by 

Section 382.014 to submit an annual emissions inventory report 

and which has experienced no emissions events during the 

relevant year must include as part of the inventory a statement 

that the regulated entity experienced no emissions events during 

the prior year.  An owner or operator of a regulated entity 

required by Section 382.014 to submit an annual emissions 

inventory report must include the total annual emissions from 

all emissions events in categories as established by commission 

rule. 

(g)  The commission annually, or at the request of a member 

of the legislature, shall assess the information received under 

this section, including actions taken by the commission in 

response to the emissions events, and shall include the 

assessment in the report required by Section 5.126, Water Code. 

(h)  The commission may allow operators of pipelines, 

gathering lines, and flowlines to treat all such facilities 

under common ownership or control in a particular county as a 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0216
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.014
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.014
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.126
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single regulated entity for the purpose of assessment and 

regulation of emissions events. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.01(a), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 728 (H.B. 2018), Sec. 9.0035(a), eff. 

September 1, 2005. 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1095 (H.B. 2129), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 780 (H.B. 1981), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 382.0216.  REGULATION OF EMISSIONS EVENTS.  (a)  In

this section, "emissions event" has the meaning assigned by 

Section 382.0215. 

(b) The commission shall establish criteria for

determining when emissions events are excessive.  The criteria 

must include consideration of: 

(1) the frequency of the facility's emissions events;

(2) the cause of the emissions event;

(3) the quantity and impact on human health or the

environment of the emissions event; 

(4) the duration of the emissions event;

(5) the percentage of a facility's total annual

operating hours during which emissions events occur; and 

(6) the need for startup, shutdown, and maintenance

activities. 

(c) The commission shall require a facility to take action

to reduce emissions from excessive emissions events.  Consistent 

with commission rules, a facility required to take action under 

this subsection must either file a corrective action plan or 

file a letter of intent to obtain authorization for emissions 

from the excessive emissions events, provided that the emissions 

are sufficiently frequent, quantifiable, and predictable.  If 

the intended authorization is a permit, a permit application 

shall be filed within 120 days of the filing of the letter of 

intent.  If the intended authorization is a permit by rule or 

standard exemption, the authorization must be obtained within 

120 days of the filing of the letter of intent.  If the 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02018F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02129F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB01981F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0215
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commission denies the requested authorization, within 45 days of 

receiving notice of the commission's denial, the facility shall 

file a corrective action plan to reduce emissions from the 

excessive emissions events. 

(d)  A corrective action plan filed under Subsection (c) 

must identify the cause or causes of each emissions event, 

specify the control devices or other measures that are 

reasonably designed to prevent or minimize similar emissions 

events in the future, and specify a time within which the 

corrective action plan will be implemented.  A corrective action 

plan must be approved by the commission.  A corrective action 

plan shall be deemed approved 45 days after filing, if the 

commission has not disapproved the plan; however, an owner or 

operator may request affirmative commission approval, in which 

case the commission must take final written action to approve or 

disapprove the plan within 120 days.  An approved corrective 

action plan shall be made available to the public by the 

commission, except to the extent information in the plan is 

confidential information protected under Chapter 552, Government 

Code.  The commission shall establish reasonable schedules for 

the implementation of corrective action plans and procedures for 

revision of a corrective action plan if the commission finds the 

plan, after implementation begins, to be inadequate to meet the 

goal of preventing or minimizing emissions and emissions events.  

The implementation schedule shall be enforceable by the 

commission. 

(e)  The rules may not exclude from the requirement to 

submit a corrective action plan emissions events resulting from 

the lack of preventive maintenance or from operator error, or 

emissions that are a part of a recurring pattern of emissions 

events indicative of inadequate design or operation. 

(f)  The commission by rule may establish an affirmative 

defense to a commission enforcement action if the emissions 

event meets criteria defined by commission rule.  In 

establishing rules under this subsection, the commission at a 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=552
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minimum must require consideration of the factors listed in 

Subsections (b)(1)-(6). 

(g) The burden of proof in any claim of a defense to

commission enforcement action for an emissions event is on the 

person claiming the defense. 

(h) A person may not claim an affirmative defense to a

commission enforcement action if the person failed to take 

corrective action under a corrective action plan approved by the 

commission within the time prescribed by the commission and an 

emissions event recurs because of that failure. 

(i) In the event the owner or operator of a facility fails

to report an emissions event, the commission shall initiate 

enforcement for such failure to report and for the underlying 

emissions event itself.  This subsection does not apply where an 

owner or operator reports an emissions event and the report was 

incomplete, inaccurate, or untimely unless the owner or operator 

knowingly or intentionally falsified the information in the 

report. 

(j) The commission shall account for and consider chronic

excessive emissions events and emissions events for which the 

commission has initiated enforcement in the manner set forth by 

the commission in its review of an entity's compliance history. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.01(a), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.022.  INVESTIGATIONS.  The executive director may 

make or require the making of investigations: 

(1) that the executive director considers advisable

in administering this chapter and the commission's rules, 

orders, and determinations, including investigations of 

violations and general air pollution problems or conditions; or 

(2) as requested or directed by the commission.

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 
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Sec. 382.023.  ORDERS.  (a)  The commission may issue 

orders and make determinations as necessary to carry out the 

purposes of this chapter.  Orders authorized by this chapter may 

be issued only by the commission unless expressly provided by 

this chapter. 

(b)  If it appears that this chapter or a commission rule, 

order, or determination is being violated, the commission, or 

the executive director if authorized by the commission or this 

chapter, may proceed under Sections 382.082-382.084, or hold a 

public hearing and issue orders on the alleged violation, or 

take any other action authorized by this chapter as the facts 

may warrant. 

(c)  In addition to the notice required by Chapter 2001, 

Government Code, the commission or the executive director shall 

give notice to such other interested persons as the commission 

or the executive director may designate. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(49), 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.024.  FACTORS IN ISSUING ORDERS AND 

DETERMINATIONS.  In issuing an order and making a determination, 

the commission shall consider the facts and circumstances 

bearing on the reasonableness of emissions, including: 

(1)  the character and degree of injury to or 

interference with the public's health and physical property; 

(2)  the source's social and economic value; 

(3)  the question of priority of location in the area 

involved; and 

(4)  the technical practicability and economic 

reasonableness of reducing or eliminating the emissions 

resulting from the source. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
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Sec. 382.025.  ORDERS RELATING TO CONTROLLING AIR 

POLLUTION.  (a)  If the commission determines that air pollution 

exists, the commission may order any action indicated by the 

circumstances to control the condition. 

(b)  The commission shall grant to the owner or operator of 

a source time to comply with its orders as provided for by 

commission rules.  Those rules must provide for time for 

compliance gauged to the general situations that the hearings on 

proposed rules indicate are necessary. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.149, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.026.  ORDERS ISSUED UNDER EMERGENCIES.  The 

commission may issue an order under an air emergency under 

Section 5.514, Water Code.  
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.150, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1997, 75th 

Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 41, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 382.027.  PROHIBITION ON COMMISSION ACTION RELATING TO 

AIR CONDITIONS EXISTING SOLELY IN COMMERCIAL AND INDUSTRIAL 

FACILITIES.  (a)  The commission may not adopt a rule, 

determination, or order that: 

(1)  relates to air conditions existing solely within 

buildings and structures used for commercial and industrial 

plants, works, or shops if the source of the offending air 

contaminants is under the control of the person who owns or 

operates the plants, works, or shops; or 

(2)  affects the relations between employers and their 

employees relating to or arising out of an air condition from a 

source under the control of the person who owns or operates the 

plants, works, or shops. 

(b)  This section does not limit or restrict the authority 

or powers granted to the commission under Sections 382.018 and 

382.021. 
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.514
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.018
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.021
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Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.151, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0275.  COMMISSION ACTION RELATING TO RESIDENTIAL 

WATER HEATERS.  (a)  In this section, "residential water heater" 

means a water heater that: 

(1)  is designed primarily for residential use; and 

(2)  has a maximum rated capacity of 75,000 British 

thermal units per hour (Btu/hr) or less. 

(b)  Repealed by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 49, Sec. 

2, eff. May 8, 2007. 

(c)  Repealed by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 49, Sec. 

2, eff. May 8, 2007. 

(d)  The commission may not adopt or enforce a rule, 

determination, or order that relates to emissions of residential 

water heaters that is below 40 nanograms of NOx per joule unless 

a lower standard is established by a federal statute or rule.  

Any commission rule, determination, or order existing on or 

before the effective date of this subsection related to emission 

specifications for residential water heaters that is more 

stringent than the 40 nanograms of NOx per joule standard is 

hereby repealed. 
 

Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 59 (H.B. 965), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 49 (S.B. 1665), Sec. 1, eff. May 8, 

2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 49 (S.B. 1665), Sec. 2, eff. May 8, 

2007. 

 

 

Sec. 382.028.  VARIANCES.  (a)  This chapter does not 

prohibit the granting of a variance. 

(b)  A variance is an exceptional remedy that may be 

granted only on demonstration that compliance with a provision 

of this chapter or commission rule or order results in an 

arbitrary and unreasonable taking of property. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.152, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB00965F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB01665F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB01665F.HTM
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Sec. 382.029.  HEARING POWERS.  The commission may call and 

hold hearings, administer oaths, receive evidence at a hearing, 

issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the 

production of papers and documents related to a hearing, and 

make findings of fact and decisions relating to administering 

this chapter or the rules, orders, or other actions of the 

commission. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.153, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0291.  PUBLIC HEARING PROCEDURES.  (a)  Any 

statements, correspondence, or other form of oral or written 

communication made by a member of the legislature to a 

commission official or employee during a public hearing 

conducted by the commission shall become part of the record of 

the hearing, regardless of whether the member is a party to the 

hearing. 

(b)  When a public hearing conducted by the commission is 

required by law to be conducted at a certain location, the 

commission shall determine the place within that location at 

which the hearing will be conducted.  In making that 

determination, the commission shall consider the cost of 

available facilities and the adequacy of a facility to 

accommodate the type of hearing and anticipated attendance. 

(c)  The commission shall conduct at least one session of a 

public hearing after normal business hours on request by a party 

to the hearing or any person who desires to attend the hearing. 

(d)  An applicant for a license, permit, registration, or 

similar form of permission required by law to be obtained from 

the commission may not amend the application after the 31st day 

before the date on which a public hearing on the application is 

scheduled to begin.  If an amendment of an application would be 

necessary within that period, the applicant shall resubmit the 

application to the commission and must again comply with notice 
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requirements and any other requirements of law or commission 

rule as though the application were originally submitted to the 

commission on that date. 

(e)  If an application for a license, permit, registration, 

or similar form of permission required by law is pending before 

the commission at a time when changes take effect concerning 

notice requirements imposed by law for that type of application, 

the applicant must comply with the new notice requirements. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 9.02, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.153, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.030.  DELEGATION OF HEARING POWERS.  (a)  The 

commission may delegate the authority to hold hearings called by 

the commission under this chapter to: 

(1)  one or more commission members; 

(2)  the executive director; or 

(3)  one or more commission employees. 

(b)  Except for hearings required to be held before the 

commission under Section 5.504, Water Code, the commission may 

authorize the executive director to: 

(1)  call and hold a hearing on any subject on which 

the commission may hold a hearing; and 

(2)  delegate the authority to hold any hearing called 

by the executive director to one or more commission employees. 

(c)  The commission may establish the qualifications for 

individuals to whom the commission or the executive director 

delegates the authority to hold hearings. 

(d)  An individual holding a hearing under this section may 

administer oaths and receive evidence at the hearing and shall 

report the hearing in the manner prescribed by the commission. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.153, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1997, 75th 

Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 42, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.504
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Sec. 382.031.  NOTICE OF HEARINGS.  (a)  Notice of a 

hearing under this chapter shall be published at least once in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the municipality in which 

the facility is located or is proposed to be located or in the 

municipality nearest to the location or proposed location of the 

facility.  The notice must be published not less than 30 days 

before the date set for the hearing. 

(b)  Notice of the hearing must describe briefly and in 

summary form the purpose of the hearing and the date, time, and 

place of the hearing. 

(c)  If notice of the hearing is required by this chapter 

to be given to a person, the notice shall be served personally 

or mailed to the person at the person's most recent address 

known to the commission not less than 30 days before the date 

set for the hearing.  If the party is not an individual, the 

notice may be given to an officer, agent, or legal 

representative of the party. 

(d)  The hearing body shall conduct the hearing at the time 

and place stated in the notice.  The hearing body may continue 

the hearing from time to time and from place to place without 

the necessity of publishing, serving, mailing, or otherwise 

issuing new notice.  If a hearing is continued and a time and 

place for the hearing to reconvene are not publicly announced by 

the hearing body at the hearing before it is recessed, a notice 

of any further setting of the hearing shall be served personally 

or mailed in the manner prescribed by Subsection (c) at a 

reasonable time before the new setting, but it is not necessary 

to publish a newspaper notice of the new setting.  In this 

subsection, "hearing body" means the individual or individuals 

that hold a hearing under this section. 

(e)  This section applies to all hearings held under this 

chapter except as otherwise specified by Section 382.017. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.04, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1995, 

74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.154, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 

1072, Sec. 43, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.017
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Sec. 382.032.  APPEAL OF COMMISSION ACTION.  (a)  A person

affected by a ruling, order, decision, or other act of the 

commission or of the executive director, if an appeal to the 

commission is not provided, may appeal the action by filing a 

petition in a district court of Travis County. 

(b) The petition must be filed in the time required by

Section 5.351, Water Code, unless the appeal relates to the 

commission's failure to take final action on an application for 

a federal operating permit, a reopening of a federal operating 

permit, a revision to a federal operating permit, or a permit 

renewal application for a federal operating permit in accordance 

with Section 382.0542(b), in which case the petition may be 

filed at any time before the commission or the executive 

director takes final action. 

(c) Service of citation on the commission must be

accomplished within 30 days after the date on which the petition 

is filed.  Citation may be served on the executive director or 

any commission member. 

(d) The plaintiff shall pursue the action with reasonable

diligence.  If the plaintiff does not prosecute the action

within one year after the date on which the action is filed, the

court shall presume that the action has been abandoned.  The

court shall dismiss the suit on a motion for dismissal made by

the attorney general unless the plaintiff, after receiving due

notice, can show good and sufficient cause for the delay.

(e) In an appeal of an action of the commission or

executive director other than cancellation or suspension of a 

variance, the issue is whether the action is invalid, arbitrary, 

or unreasonable. 

(f) An appeal of the cancellation or suspension of a

variance must be tried in the same manner as appeals from the 

justice court to the county court. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 5, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., 

ch. 76, Sec. 11.155, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Amended by:  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.351
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0542
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Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 174 (S.B. 211), Sec. 3, eff. September 

1, 2021. 

 

 

Sec. 382.033.  CONTRACTS; INSTRUMENTS.  The commission may 

execute contracts and instruments that are necessary or 

convenient to perform its powers or duties. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.155, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0335.  AIR CONTROL ACCOUNT.  (a)  The commission 

may apply for, solicit, contract for, receive, or accept money 

from any source to carry out its duties under this chapter. 

(b)  Money received by the commission under this section 

shall be deposited to the credit of the air control account, an 

account in the general revenue fund.  The commission may use 

money in the account for any necessary expenses incurred in 

carrying out commission duties under this chapter. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 333, Sec. 72, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 382.034.  RESEARCH AND INVESTIGATIONS.  The commission 

shall conduct or require any research and investigations it 

considers advisable and necessary to perform its duties under 

this chapter. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.155, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.035.  MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING.  The commission 

by rule shall adopt any memorandum of understanding between the 

commission and another state agency. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.155, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.036.  COOPERATION AND ASSISTANCE.  The commission 

shall: 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/87R/billtext/html/SB00211F.HTM


Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 41 

 
 

(1)  encourage voluntary cooperation by persons or 

affected groups in restoring and preserving the purity of the 

state's air; 

(2)  encourage and conduct studies, investigations, 

and research concerning air quality control; 

(3)  collect and disseminate information on air 

quality control; 

(4)  advise, consult, and cooperate with other state 

agencies, political subdivisions of the state, industries, other 

states, the federal government, and interested persons or groups 

concerning matters of common interest in air quality control;  

and 

(5)  represent the state in all matters relating to 

air quality plans, procedures, or negotiations for interstate 

compacts. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.155, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.037.  NOTICE IN TEXAS REGISTER REGARDING NATIONAL 

AMBIENT AIR QUALITY STANDARDS FOR OZONE.  (a)  This section 

applies only if: 

(1)  with respect to each active or revoked national 

ambient air quality standard for ozone referenced in 40 C.F.R. 

Section 81.344, the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency has, for each designated area referenced in that section: 

(A)  designated the area as attainment or 

unclassifiable/attainment; or 

(B)  approved a redesignation substitute making a 

finding of attainment for the area; and 

(2)  for each designated area described by Subdivision 

(1), with respect to an action of the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency described by Subdivision (1)(A) 

or (B): 
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(A) the action has been fully and finally upheld

following judicial review or the limitations period to seek 

judicial review of the action has expired; and 

(B) the rules under which the action was

approved by the agency have been fully and finally upheld 

following judicial review or the limitations period to seek 

judicial review of those rules has expired. 

(b) Not later than the 30th day after the date the

conditions described by Subsection (a) have been met, the 

commission shall publish notice in the Texas Register that, with 

respect to each active or revoked national ambient air quality 

standard for ozone referenced in 40 C.F.R. Section 81.344, the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency has, for each 

designated area referenced in that section: 

(1) designated the area as attainment or

unclassifiable/attainment; or 

(2) approved a redesignation substitute making a

finding of attainment for the area. 

Added by Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 755 (S.B. 1731), Sec. 8(b-1), eff. 

August 30, 2017. 

Sec. 382.040.  DOCUMENTS; PUBLIC PROPERTY.  All 

information, documents, and data collected by the commission in 

performing its duties are state property.  Subject to the 

limitations of Section 382.041, all commission records are 

public records open to inspection by any person during regular 

office hours. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Renumbered from 

Sec. 381.020 and amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 2, eff. June 

9, 1993.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.158, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995. 

Sec. 382.041.  CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION.  (a)  Except as 

provided by Subsection (b), a member, employee, or agent of the 

commission may not disclose information submitted to the 

commission relating to secret processes or methods of 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/SB01731F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.041
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manufacture or production that is identified as confidential 

when submitted. 

(b)  A member, employee, or agent of the commission may 

disclose information confidential under Subsection (a) to a 

representative of the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency on the request of a representative of that agency if: 

(1)  at the time of disclosure the member, employee, 

or agent notifies the representative that the material has been 

identified as confidential when submitted; and 

(2)  the commission, before the information is 

disclosed, has entered into an agreement with the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency that ensures that the agency 

treats information identified as confidential as though it had 

been submitted by the originator of the information with an 

appropriate claim of confidentiality under federal law. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Renumbered from 

Sec. 381.022 and amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 3, eff. June 

9, 1993.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.158, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER C. PERMITS 
 

Sec. 382.051.  PERMITTING AUTHORITY OF COMMISSION; RULES.  

(a)  The commission may issue a permit: 

(1)  to construct a new facility or modify an existing 

facility that may emit air contaminants; 

(2)  to operate an existing facility affected by 

Section 382.0518(g);  or 

(3)  to operate a federal source. 

(b)  To assist in fulfilling its authorization provided by 

Subsection (a), the commission may issue: 

(1)  special permits for certain facilities; 

(2)  a general permit for numerous similar sources 

subject to Section 382.054; 

(3)  a standard permit for similar facilities; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
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(4)  a permit by rule for types of facilities that 

will not significantly contribute air contaminants to the 

atmosphere; 

(5)  a single federal operating permit or 

preconstruction permit for multiple federal sources or 

facilities located at the same site; 

(6)  a multiple plant permit for existing facilities 

at multiple locations subject to Section 382.0518 or 382.0519; 

(7)  an existing facility permit or existing facility 

flexible permit under Section 382.05183; 

(8)  a small business stationary source permit under 

Section 382.05184; 

(9)  an electric generating facility permit under 

Section 382.05185 of this code and Section 39.264, Utilities 

Code; 

(10)  a pipeline facilities permit under Section 

382.05186;  or 

(11)  other permits as necessary. 

(c)  The commission may issue a federal operating permit 

for a federal source in violation only if the operating permit 

incorporates a compliance plan for the federal source as a 

condition of the permit. 

(d)  The commission shall adopt rules as necessary to 

comply with changes in federal law or regulations applicable to 

permits issued under this chapter. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.06, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 6, eff. June 9, 1993;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 

Sec. 11.159, eff. Sept. 1, 1995;  Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 2, eff. 

Aug. 30, 1999;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.02, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05101.  DE MINIMIS AIR CONTAMINANTS.  The 

commission may develop by rule the criteria to establish a de 

minimis level of air contaminants for facilities or groups of 

facilities below which a permit under Section 382.0518 or 

382.0519, a standard permit under Section 382.05195 or 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0519
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05183
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05184
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05185
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=UT&Value=39.264
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05186
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0519
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05195
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382.05198, or a permit by rule under Section 382.05196 is not 

required. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 3, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  Amended 

by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 361, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05102.  PERMITTING AUTHORITY OF COMMISSION; 

GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS. (a) In this section, "greenhouse gas 

emissions" means emissions of: 

(1)  carbon dioxide; 

(2)  methane; 

(3)  nitrous oxide; 

(4)  hydrofluorocarbons; 

(5)  perfluorocarbons; and 

(6)  sulfur hexafluoride. 

(b)  To the extent that greenhouse gas emissions require 

authorization under federal law, the commission may authorize 

greenhouse gas emissions in a manner consistent with Section 

382.051. 

(c)  The commission shall: 

(1)  adopt rules to implement this section, including 

rules specifying the procedures to transition to review by the 

commission any applications pending with the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency for approval under 40 C.F.R. 

Section 52.2305; and 

(2)  prepare and submit appropriate federal program 

revisions to the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

for approval. 

(d)  The permit processes authorized by this section are 

not subject to the requirements relating to a contested case 

hearing under this chapter, Chapter 5, Water Code, or 

Subchapters C-G, Chapter 2001, Government Code. 

(e)  If authorization to emit greenhouse gas emissions is 

no longer required under federal law, the commission shall: 

(1)  repeal the rules adopted under Subsection (c); 

and 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05198
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05196
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.051
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
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(2)  prepare and submit appropriate federal program 

revisions to the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

for approval. 
 

Added by Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 272 (H.B. 788), Sec. 2, eff. June 

14, 2013. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0511.  PERMIT CONSOLIDATION AND AMENDMENT.  (a)  

The commission may consolidate into a single permit any permits, 

special permits, standard permits, permits by rule, or 

exemptions for a facility or federal source. 

(b)  Consistent with the rules adopted under Subsection (d) 

and the limitations of this chapter, including limitations that 

apply to the modification of an existing facility, the 

commission may amend, revise, or modify a permit. 

(c)  The commission may authorize changes in a federal 

source to proceed before the owner or operator obtains a federal 

operating permit or revisions to a federal operating permit if: 

(1)  the changes are de minimis under Section 

382.05101;  or 

(2)  the owner or operator: 

(A)  has obtained a preconstruction permit or 

permit amendment required by Section 382.0518;  or 

(B)  is operating under: 

(i)  a standard permit under Section 

382.05195 or 382.05198; 

(ii)  a permit by rule under Section 

382.05196; or 

(iii)  an exemption allowed under Section 

382.057. 

(d)  The commission by rule shall develop criteria and 

administrative procedures to implement Subsections (b) and (c). 

(e)  When multiple facilities have been consolidated into a 

single permit under this section and the consolidated permit is 

reopened for consideration of an amendment relating to one or 

more facilities authorized by that permit, the permit is not 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB00788F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05195
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05198
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05196
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.057
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considered reopened with respect to facilities for which an 

amendment, revision, or modification is not sought unless this 

chapter specifically authorizes or requires that additional 

reopening in order to protect the public's health and physical 

property. 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 7, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.160, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1999, 

76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 4, eff. Aug. 30, 1999; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 

361, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Sec. 382.0512.  MODIFICATION OF EXISTING FACILITY.  (a)  

Except as provided in Subsection (b), in determining whether a 

proposed change at an existing facility is a modification, the 

commission may not consider the effect on emissions of: 

(1) any air pollution control method applied to a

source; or 

(2) any decreases in emissions from other sources.

(b) In determining whether a proposed change at an

existing facility that meets the criteria of Section 

382.003(9)(E) results in a net increase in allowable emissions, 

the commission shall consider the effect on emissions of: 

(1) any air pollution control method applied to the

facility; 

(2) any decreases in allowable emissions from other

facilities that have received a preconstruction permit or permit 

amendment no earlier than 120 months before the change will 

occur;  and 

(3) any decreases in actual emissions from other

facilities that meet the criteria of Section 382.003(9)(E)(i) or 

(ii). 

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit

the application of otherwise applicable state or federal 

requirements, nor shall this section be construed to limit the 

commission's powers of enforcement under this chapter. 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.161, eff. Sept. 1, 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.003
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.003
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1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 150, Sec. 2, eff. May 19, 1995; Acts 1999, 

76th Leg., ch. 62, Sec. 11.04(b), eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0513.  PERMIT CONDITIONS.  The commission may 

establish and enforce permit conditions consistent with this 

chapter.  Permit conditions of general applicability shall be 

adopted by rule. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 8, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.161, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0514.  SAMPLING, MONITORING, AND CERTIFICATION.  

The commission may require, at the expense of the permit holder 

and as a condition of the permit: 

(1)  sampling and monitoring of a permitted federal 

source or facility; 

(2)  certification of the compliance of the owner or 

operator of the permitted federal source with the terms and 

conditions of the permit and with all applicable requirements;  

and 

(3)  a periodic report of: 

(A)  the results of sampling and monitoring; and 

(B)  the certification of compliance. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 9, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.161, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0515.  APPLICATION FOR PERMIT.  A person applying 

for a permit shall submit to the commission: 

(1)  a permit application; 

(2)  copies of all plans and specifications necessary 

to determine if the facility or source will comply with 

applicable federal and state air control statutes, rules, and 

regulations and the intent of this chapter; and 

(3)  any other information the commission considers 

necessary. 
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Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.161, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05155.  EXPEDITED PROCESSING OF APPLICATION.  (a)  

An applicant, in a manner prescribed by the commission, may 

request the expedited processing of an application filed under 

this chapter if the applicant demonstrates that the purpose of 

the application will benefit the economy of this state or an 

area of this state. 

(b)  The executive director may grant an expedited 

processing request if the executive director determines that 

granting the request will benefit the economy of this state or 

an area of this state. 

(c)  The expediting of an application under this section 

does not affect a contested case hearing or applicable federal, 

state, and regulatory requirements, including the notice, 

opportunity for a public hearing, and submission of public 

comment required under this chapter. 

(d)  The commission by rule may add a surcharge to an 

application fee assessed under this chapter for an expedited 

application in an amount sufficient to cover the expenses 

incurred by the expediting, including overtime, costs of full-

time equivalent commission employees to support the expedited 

processing of air permit applications, contract labor, and other 

costs. The surcharge is considered part of the application fee 

and shall be deposited with the fee to the credit of the clean 

air account established under Section 382.0622(b). Money from 

the surcharge collected under this section may be used to 

support the expedited processing of air permit applications 

under this section. 

(e)  The commission may authorize the use of overtime, 

full-time equivalent commission employees to support the 

expedited processing of air permit applications, or contract 

labor to process expedited applications.  The overtime, full-

time equivalent commission employees, or contract labor 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0622
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authorized under this section is not included in the calculation 

of the number of full-time equivalent commission employees 

allotted under other law. 

(f)  The commission may pay for compensatory time, 

overtime, full-time equivalent commission employees supporting 

the expedited processing of air permit applications, or contract 

labor used to implement this section.  The commission is 

authorized to set the rate for overtime compensation for full-

time equivalent commission employees supporting the expedited 

processing of air permit applications. 

(g)  A rule adopted under this section must be consistent 

with Chapter 2001, Government Code.  A rule adopted under this 

section regarding notice must include a provision to require an 

indication that the application is being processed in an 

expedited manner. 
 

Added by Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 808 (S.B. 1756), Sec. 1, eff. June 

14, 2013. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 393 (S.B. 698), Sec. 1, eff. September 

1, 2019. 

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1173 (H.B. 3317), Sec. 16(a), eff. 

June 14, 2019. 

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 915 (H.B. 3607), Sec. 10.007, eff. 

September 1, 2021. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0516.  NOTICE TO STATE SENATOR, STATE 

REPRESENTATIVE, AND CERTAIN LOCAL OFFICIALS.  (a)  On receiving 

an application for a construction permit or an amendment to a 

construction permit, a special permit, or an operating permit 

for a facility that may emit air contaminants, the commission 

shall send notice of the application to the state senator and 

representative who represent the area in which the facility is 

or will be located. 

(b)  In addition to the notice required by Subsection (a), 

for an application that relates to an existing or proposed 

concrete batch plant, on receiving an application for a 

construction permit, an amendment to a construction permit, an 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/SB01756F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/SB00698F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/HB03317F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/87R/billtext/html/HB03607F.HTM
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operating permit, or an authorization to use a standard permit, 

the commission shall send notice of the application: 

(1)  to the county judge of the county in which the 

facility is or will be located; and 

(2)  if the facility is or will be located in a 

municipality or the extraterritorial jurisdiction of a 

municipality, to the presiding officer of the municipality's 

governing body. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 236, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.  

Renumbered from Sec. 382.0511 by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 

2.07, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 

11.161, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1327, Sec. 1, eff. 

Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 5.01, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0517.  DETERMINATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE COMPLETION 

OF APPLICATION.  The commission shall determine when an 

application filed under Section 382.054 or Section 382.0518 is 

administratively complete.  On determination, the commission by 

mail shall notify the applicant and any interested party who has 

requested notification.  If the number of interested parties who 

have requested notification makes it impracticable for the 

commission to notify those parties by mail, the commission shall 

notify those parties by publication using the method prescribed 

by Section 382.031(a). 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.161, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0518.  PRECONSTRUCTION PERMIT.  (a)  Before work 

is begun on the construction of a new facility or a modification 

of an existing facility that may emit air contaminants, the 

person planning the construction or modification must obtain a 

permit or permit amendment from the commission. 

(b)  The commission shall grant within a reasonable time a 

permit or permit amendment to construct or modify a facility if, 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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from the information available to the commission, including 

information presented at any hearing held under Section 

382.056(k), the commission finds: 

(1)  the proposed facility for which a permit, permit 

amendment, or a special permit is sought will use at least the 

best available control technology, considering the technical 

practicability and economic reasonableness of reducing or 

eliminating the emissions resulting from the facility; and 

(2)  no indication that the emissions from the 

facility will contravene the intent of this chapter, including 

protection of the public's health and physical property. 

(c)  In considering the issuance, amendment, or renewal of 

a permit, the commission may consider the applicant's compliance 

history in accordance with the method for using compliance 

history developed by the commission under Section 5.754, Water 

Code.  In considering an applicant's compliance history under 

this subsection, the commission shall consider as evidence of 

compliance information regarding the applicant's implementation 

of an environmental management system at the facility for which 

the permit, permit amendment, or permit renewal is sought.  In 

this subsection, "environmental management system" has the 

meaning assigned by Section 5.127, Water Code. 

(d)  If the commission finds that the emissions from the 

proposed facility will contravene the standards under Subsection 

(b) or will contravene the intent of this chapter, the 

commission may not grant the permit, permit amendment, or 

special permit and shall set out in a report to the applicant 

its specific objections to the submitted plans of the proposed 

facility. 

(e)  If the person applying for a permit, permit amendment, 

or special permit makes the alterations in the person's plans 

and specifications to meet the commission's specific objections, 

the commission shall grant the permit, permit amendment, or 

special permit.  If the person fails or refuses to alter the 

plans and specifications, the commission may not grant the 

permit, permit amendment, or special permit.  The commission may 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.754
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.127
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refuse to accept a person's new application until the 

commission's objections to the plans previously submitted by 

that person are satisfied. 

(f)  A person may operate a facility or source under a 

permit issued by the commission under this section if: 

(1)  the facility or source is not required to obtain 

a federal operating permit under Section 382.054;  and 

(2)  within the time and in the manner prescribed by 

commission rule, the permit holder demonstrates that: 

(A)  the facility complies with all terms of the 

existing preconstruction permit; and 

(B)  operation of the facility or source will not 

violate the intent of this chapter or standards adopted by the 

commission. 

(g)  Subsections (a)-(d) do not apply to a person who has 

executed a contract or has begun construction for an addition, 

alteration, or modification to a new or an existing facility on 

or before August 30, 1971, and who has complied with the 

requirements of Section 382.060, as it existed on November 30, 

1991.  To qualify for any exemption under this subsection, a 

contract may not have a beginning construction date later than 

February 29, 1972. 

(h)  Section 382.056 does not apply to an applicant for a 

permit amendment under this section if the total emissions 

increase from all facilities authorized under the amended permit 

will meet the de minimis criteria defined by commission rule and 

will not change in character.  For a facility affected by 

Section 382.020, Section 382.056 does not apply to an applicant 

for a permit amendment under this section if the total emissions 

increase from all facilities authorized under the permit 

amendment is not significant and will not change in character.  

In this subsection, a finding that a total emissions increase is 

not significant must be made as provided under Section 382.05196 

for a finding under that section. 

(i)  In considering a permit amendment under this section 

the commission shall consider any adjudicated decision or 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.020
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compliance proceeding within the five years before the date on 

which the application was filed that addressed the applicant's 

past performance and compliance with the laws of this state, 

another state, or the United States governing air contaminants 

or with the terms of any permit or order issued by the 

commission. 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.08, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.162, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 150, Sec. 3, eff. May 19, 1995; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 16.13, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 

1161, Sec. 6, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1327, Sec. 2, 

eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.25, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 382.05181.  PERMIT REQUIRED.  (a)  Any facility 

affected by Section 382.0518(g) that does not have an 

application pending for a permit under this chapter, other than 

a permit required under Section 382.054, and that has not 

submitted a notice of shutdown under Section 382.05182, may not 

emit air contaminants on or after: 

(1) September 1, 2003, if the facility is located in

the East Texas region; or 

(2) September 1, 2004, if the facility is located in

the West Texas region. 

(b) Any facility affected by Section 382.0518(g) that has

obtained a permit under this chapter, other than a permit under 

Section 382.054, and has not fully complied with the conditions 

of the permit pertaining to the installation of emissions 

controls or reductions in emissions of air contaminants, may not 

emit air contaminants on or after: 

(1) March 1, 2007, if the facility is located in the

East Texas region; or 

(2) March 1, 2008, if the facility is located in the

West Texas region. 

(c) The East Texas region:

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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(1)  contains all counties traversed by or east of 

Interstate Highway 35 north of San Antonio or traversed by or 

east of Interstate Highway 37 south of San Antonio; and 

(2)  includes Bexar, Bosque, Coryell, Hood, Parker, 

Somervell, and Wise counties. 

(d)  The West Texas region includes all counties not 

contained in the East Texas region. 

(e)  The commission promptly shall review each application 

for a permit under this chapter for a facility affected by 

Section 382.0518(g).  If the commission finds that necessary 

information is omitted from the application, that the 

application contains incorrect information, or that more 

information is necessary to complete the processing of the 

application, the commission shall issue a notice of deficiency 

and order the information to be provided not later than the 60th 

day after the date the notice is issued.  If the information is 

not provided to the commission on or before that date, the 

commission shall dismiss the application. 

(f)  The commission shall take final action on an 

application for a permit under this chapter for a facility 

affected by Section 382.0518(g) before the first anniversary of 

the date on which the commission receives an administratively 

complete application. 

(g)  An owner or operator of a facility affected by Section 

382.0518(g) that does not obtain a permit within the 12-month 

period may petition the commission for an extension of the time 

period for compliance specified by Subsection (b).  The 

commission may grant not more than one extension for a facility, 

for an additional period not to exceed 12 months, if the 

commission finds good cause for the extension. 

(h)  A permit application under this chapter for a facility 

affected by Section 382.0518(g) is subject to the notice and 

hearing requirements as provided by Section 382.05191. 

(i)  This section does not apply to a facility eligible for 

a permit under Section 382.05184. 
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Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05182.  NOTICE OF SHUTDOWN.  (a)  Any notice 

submitted in compliance with this section must be filed with the 

commission by the dates in Section 382.05181(a). 

(b)  A notice under this section shall include: 

(1)  the date the facility intends to cease operating; 

(2)  an inventory of the type and amount of emissions 

that will be eliminated when the facility ceases to operate; and 

(3)  any other necessary and relevant information the 

commission by rule deems appropriate. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05183.  EXISTING FACILITY PERMIT.  (a)  The owner 

or operator of a facility affected by Section 382.0518(g) may 

apply for a permit to operate the facility under this section. 

(b)  The commission shall grant a permit under this section 

if, from the information available to the commission, the 

commission finds that the facility will use a control method at 

least as beneficial as that described by Section 

382.003(9)(E)(ii), considering the age and the remaining useful 

life of the facility. 

(c)  The commission may issue an existing facility flexible 

permit for some or all of the facilities at a site affected by 

Section 382.0518(g) and facilities permitted under Section 

382.0519 in order to implement the requirements of this section.  

Permits issued under this subsection shall follow the same 

permit issuance, modification, and renewal procedures as 

existing facility permits. 

(d)  If the commission finds that the emissions from the 

facility will contravene the standards under Subsection (b) or 

the intent of this chapter, including protection of the public's 

health and physical property, the commission may not grant the 

permit under this section. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05181
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(e)  A person planning the modification of a facility 

previously permitted under this section must comply with Section 

382.0518 before modifying. 

(f)  The commission may adopt rules as necessary to 

implement and administer this section. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05184.  SMALL BUSINESS STATIONARY SOURCE PERMIT.  

(a)  Facilities affected by Section 382.0518(g) that are located 

at a small business stationary source, as defined by Section 

5.135, Water Code, and are not required by commission rule to 

report to the commission under Section 382.014 may apply for a 

permit under this section before September 1, 2004. 

(b)  Facilities affected by Section 382.0518(g) that are 

located at a small business stationary source that does not have 

an application pending for a permit under this chapter, other 

than a permit required under Section 382.054, and that has not 

submitted a notice of shutdown under Section 382.05182, may not 

emit air contaminants on or after March 1, 2008. 

(c)  The commission shall grant a permit under this section 

if, from the information available to the commission, the 

commission finds that there is no indication that the emissions 

from the facility will contravene the intent of this chapter, 

including protection of the public's health and physical 

property. 

(d)  If the commission finds that the emissions from the 

facility will not comply with Subsection (c), the commission may 

not grant the permit under this section. 

(e)  A person planning the modification of a facility 

previously permitted under this section must comply with Section 

382.0518 before modifying. 

(f)  A permit application under this section is not subject 

to notice and hearing requirements and is not subject to Chapter 

2001, Government Code.  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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(g)  The commission may adopt rules as necessary to 

implement and administer this section. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 728 (H.B. 2018), Sec. 9.0035(b), eff. 

September 1, 2005. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05185.  ELECTRIC GENERATING FACILITY PERMIT.  (a)  

An electric generating facility is considered permitted under 

this section with respect to all air contaminants if the 

facility is: 

(1)  a natural-gas-fired electric generating facility 

that has applied for or obtained a permit under Section 39.264, 

Utilities Code;  or 

(2)  an electric generating facility exempted from 

permitting under Section 39.264(d), Utilities Code. 

(b)  A coal-fired electric generating facility that is 

required to obtain a permit under Section 39.264, Utilities 

Code: 

(1)  shall be considered permitted under this section 

with respect to nitrogen oxides, sulphur dioxide, and, as 

provided by commission rules, for opacity if the facility has 

applied for or obtained a permit under Section 39.264, Utilities 

Code;  and 

(2)  is not considered permitted for criteria 

pollutants not described by Subsection (b)(1). 

(c)  The commission shall issue a permit for a facility 

subject to Subsection (b) for criteria pollutants not covered by 

Subsection (b)(1) if the commission finds that the emissions 

from the facility will not contravene the intent of this 

chapter, including protection of the public's health and 

physical property.  Upon request by the applicant, the 

commission shall include a permit application under this 

subsection with the applicant's pending permit application under 

Section 39.264, Utilities Code. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02018F.HTM
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(d) The owner or operator of an electric generating

facility with a permit or an application pending under Section 

39.264, Utilities Code, may apply for a permit under this 

section before September 1, 2002, for a facility located at the 

same site if the facility not permitted or without a pending 

application under Section 39.264, Utilities Code, is: 

(1) a generator that does not generate electric

energy for compensation and is used not more than 10 percent of 

the normal annual operating schedule; or 

(2) an auxiliary fossil-fuel-fired combustion

facility that does not generate electric energy and does not 

emit more than 100 tons of any air contaminant annually. 

(e) Emissions from facilities permitted under Subsection

(d) shall be included in the emission allowance trading program

established under Section 39.264, Utilities Code.  The 

commission may not issue new allowances based on a permit issued 

under this section. 

(f) A person planning the modification of a facility

previously permitted under this section must comply with Section 

382.0518 before modifying. 

(g) The commission may adopt rules as necessary to

implement and administer this section. 

(h) A permit application under this section is subject to

notice and hearing requirements as provided by Section 

382.05191. 

(i) For the purposes of this section, a natural-gas-fired

electric generating facility includes a facility that was 

designed to burn either natural gas or fuel oil of a grade 

approved by commission rule.  The commission shall adopt rules 

regarding acceptable fuel oil grades. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.05186.  PIPELINE FACILITIES PERMITS.  (a)  This 

section applies only to reciprocating internal combustion 

engines that are part of processing, treating, compression, or 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=UT&Value=39.264
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pumping facilities affected by Section 382.0518(g) connected to 

or part of a gathering or transmission pipeline.  Pipeline 

facilities affected by Section 382.0518(g) other than 

reciprocating internal combustion engines may apply for an 

existing facility permit or other applicable permit under this 

chapter other than a pipeline facilities permit. 

(b) The commission by rule shall:

(1) provide for the issuance of a single permit for

all reciprocating internal combustion facilities connected to or 

part of a gathering or transmission pipeline; 

(2) provide for a means for mandatory emissions

reductions for facilities permitted under this section to be 

achieved: 

(A) at one source; or

(B) by averaging reductions among more than one

reciprocating internal combustion facility connected to or part 

of a gathering or transmission pipeline; and 

(3) allow an owner or operator to apply for separate

permits under this section for discrete and separate 

reciprocating internal combustion facilities connected to or 

part of a gathering or transmission pipeline. 

(c) If the mandatory emissions reductions under this

section are to be achieved by averaging reductions among more 

than one source connected to or part of a gathering or 

transmission pipeline, the average may not include emissions 

reductions achieved in order to comply with other state or 

federal law. 

(d) If the mandatory emissions reductions under this

section are to be achieved at one source, the reduction may 

include emissions reductions achieved since January 1, 2001, in 

order to comply with other state or federal law. 

(e) The commission shall grant a permit under this section

for a facility or facilities located in the East Texas region 

if, from information available to the commission, the commission 

finds that the conditions of the permit will require a 50 

percent reduction of the hourly emissions rate of nitrogen 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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oxides, expressed in terms of grams per brake horsepower-hour.  

The commission may also require a 50 percent reduction of the 

hourly emissions rate of volatile organic compounds, expressed 

in terms of grams per brake horsepower-hour. 

(f)  The commission shall grant a permit under this section 

for facilities located in the West Texas region if, from 

information available to the commission, the commission finds 

that the conditions of the permit will require up to a 20 

percent reduction of the hourly emissions rate of nitrogen 

oxides, expressed in terms of grams per brake horsepower-hour.  

The commission may also require up to a 20 percent reduction of 

the hourly emissions rate of volatile organic compounds, 

expressed in terms of grams per brake horsepower-hour. 

(g)  A permit application under this section is subject to 

notice and hearing requirements as provided by Section 

382.05191. 

(h)  A person planning the modification of a facility 

previously permitted under this section must comply with Section 

382.0518 before modifying. 

(i)  The commission may adopt rules as necessary to 

implement and administer this section. 

(j)  A reciprocating internal combustion engine that is 

subject to this section and to a mass emissions cap as 

established by commission rule is considered permitted under 

this section with respect to all air contaminants if the 

facility is: 

(1)  located in an area designated nonattainment for 

an ozone national ambient air quality standard;  and 

(2)  achieving compliance with all state and federal 

requirements designated for that area. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1023, Sec. 3, eff. June 20, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 382.051865.  STATIONARY NATURAL GAS ENGINES USED IN 

COMBINED HEATING AND POWER SYSTEM.  (a)  In this section, 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05191
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"natural gas engine" includes a natural gas internal combustion 

engine, natural gas stationary internal combustion reciprocating 

engine, and natural gas turbine.  The term does not include a 

natural gas engine that powers a motor vehicle as defined by 

Section 382.003(9-a), Health and Safety Code. 

(b)  This section applies only to a stationary natural gas 

engine used in a combined heating and power system. 

(c)  The commission shall issue a standard permit or permit 

by rule for stationary natural gas engines used in a combined 

heating and power system that establishes emission limits for 

air contaminants released by the engines. 

(d)  The commission in adopting a standard permit or permit 

by rule under this section may consider: 

(1)  the geographic location in which a stationary 

natural gas engine may be used, including the proximity to an 

area designated as a nonattainment area; 

(2)  the total annual operating hours of a stationary 

natural gas engine; 

(3)  the technology used by a stationary natural gas 

engine; 

(4)  the types of fuel used to power a stationary 

natural gas engine; and 

(5)  other emission control policies of the state. 

(e)  The commission in adopting a standard permit or permit 

by rule under this section may not distinguish between the end-

use functions powered by a stationary natural gas engine. 

(f)  The commission must provide for the emission limits 

for stationary natural gas engines subject to this section to be 

measured in terms of air contaminant emissions per unit of total 

energy output.  The commission shall consider both the primary 

and secondary functions when determining the engine's emissions 

per unit of energy output. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1175 (H.B. 3268), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 
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Sec. 382.051866.  EMISSIONS REDUCTIONS INCENTIVES ACCOUNT.  

(a)  In this section, "affiliate" means a person that directly 

or indirectly controls, is controlled by, or is under common 

control with another person. 

(b)  The comptroller of public accounts shall establish an 

account within the clean air account to be known as the 

emissions reductions incentives account. 

(c)  The emissions reductions incentives account consists 

of money from: 

(1)  gifts, grants, or donations to the account for a 

designated or general use; 

(2)  money from any other source the legislature 

designates; and 

(3)  the interest earned on money in the emissions 

reductions incentives account. 

(d)  Money in the emissions reductions incentives account 

may be appropriated only to pay for emissions reduction project 

incentives under a program developed under Section 382.051867 

and administrative expenses associated with providing the 

incentives or the incentive program established under that 

section. 

(e)  Repealed by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1346, Sec. 

3, eff. June 15, 2007. 

(f)  The emissions reductions incentives account is exempt 

from the application of Section 403.095, Government Code. 
 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1023, Sec. 2, eff. June 20, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1346 (S.B. 2000), Sec. 1, eff. June 

15, 2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1346 (S.B. 2000), Sec. 3, eff. June 

15, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0519.  VOLUNTARY EMISSIONS REDUCTION PERMIT.  (a)  

Before September 1, 2001, the owner or operator of an existing, 

unpermitted facility not subject to the requirement to obtain a 

permit under Section 382.0518(g) may apply for a permit to 

operate that facility under this section. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=403.095
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(b)  The commission shall grant within a reasonable time a 

permit under this section if, from the information available to 

the commission, including information presented at any public 

hearing or through written comment: 

(1)  the commission finds that the facility will use 

an air pollution control method at least as beneficial as that 

described in Section 382.003(9)(E)(ii), considering the age and 

remaining useful life of the facility, except as provided by 

Subdivision (2);  or 

(2)  for a facility located in a near-nonattainment or 

nonattainment area for a national ambient air quality standard, 

the commission finds that the facility will use the more 

stringent of: 

(A)  a control method at least as beneficial as 

that described in Section 382.003(9)(E)(ii), considering the age 

and remaining useful life of the facility;  or 

(B)  a control technology that the commission 

finds is demonstrated to be generally achievable for facilities 

in that area of the same type that are permitted under this 

section, considering the age and remaining useful life of the 

facility. 

(c)  If the commission finds that the emissions from the 

facility will contravene the standards under Subsection (b) or 

the intent of this chapter, including protection of the public's 

health and physical property, the commission may not grant the 

permit under this section. 

(d)  A person planning the modification of a facility 

previously permitted under this section must comply with Section 

382.0518 before work is begun on the construction of the 

modification. 

(e)  A permit issued by the commission under this section 

may defer the implementation of the requirement of reductions in 

the emissions of certain air contaminants only if the applicant 

will make substantial emissions reductions in other specific air 

contaminants.  The deferral shall be based on a prioritization 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.003
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of air contaminants by the commission as necessary to meet 

local, regional, and statewide air quality needs. 

(f)  The commission shall give priority to the processing 

of applications for the issuance, amendment, or renewal of a 

permit for those facilities authorized under Section 382.0518(g) 

that are located less than two miles from the outer perimeter of 

a school, child day-care facility, hospital, or nursing home. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05191.  EMISSIONS REDUCTION PERMITS:  NOTICE AND 

HEARING.  (a)  An applicant for a permit under Section 

382.05183, 382.05185(c) or (d), 382.05186, or 382.0519 shall 

publish notice of intent to obtain the permit in accordance with 

Section 382.056. 

(b)  The commission may authorize an applicant for a permit 

for a facility that constitutes or is part of a small business 

stationary source as defined in Section 5.135, Water Code, to 

provide notice using an alternative means if the commission 

finds that the proposed method will result in equal or better 

communication with the public, considering the effectiveness of 

the notice in reaching potentially affected persons, cost, and 

consistency with federal requirements. 

(c)  The commission shall provide an opportunity for a 

public hearing and the submission of public comment and send 

notice of a decision on an application for a permit under 

Section 382.05183, 382.05185(c) or (d), 382.05186, or 382.0519 

in the same manner as provided by Sections 382.0561 and 

382.0562. 

(d)  A person affected by a decision of the commission to 

issue or deny a permit under Section 382.05183, 382.05185(c) or 

(d), or 382.05186 may move for rehearing and is entitled to 

judicial review under Section 382.032. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.04, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  
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Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 728 (H.B. 2018), Sec. 9.0035(c), eff. 

September 1, 2005. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05192.  REVIEW AND RENEWAL OF EMISSIONS REDUCTION 

AND MULTIPLE PLANT PERMITS.  Review and renewal of a permit 

issued under Section 382.05183, 382.05185(c) or (d), 382.05186, 

382.0519, or 382.05194 shall be conducted in accordance with 

Section 382.055. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.05, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05193.  EMISSIONS PERMITS THROUGH EMISSIONS 

REDUCTION.  (a)  The commission may issue a permit under Section 

382.0519 for a facility: 

(1)  that makes a good faith effort to make equipment 

improvements and emissions reductions necessary to meet the 

requirements of that section; 

(2)  that, in spite of the effort, cannot reduce the 

facility's emissions to the degree necessary for the issuance of 

the permit; and 

(3)  the owner or operator of which acquires a 

sufficient number of emissions reduction credits to offset the 

facility's excessive emissions under the program established 

under Subsection (b). 

(b)  The commission by rule shall establish a program to 

grant emissions reduction credits to a facility if the owner or 

operator conducts an emissions reduction project to offset the 

facility's excessive emissions.  To be eligible for a credit to 

offset a facility's emissions, the emissions reduction project 

must reduce emissions in the airshed, as defined by commission 

rule, in which the facility is located. 

(c)  The commission by rule shall provide that an emissions 

reduction project must reduce net emissions from one or more 

sources in this state in an amount and type sufficient to 

prevent air pollution to a degree comparable to the amount of 

the reduction in the facility's emissions that would be 
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necessary to meet the permit requirement.  Qualifying emissions 

reduction projects must include: 

(1)  generation of electric energy by a low-emission 

method, including: 

(A)  wind power; 

(B)  biomass gasification power; and 

(C)  solar power; 

(2)  the purchase and destruction of high-emission 

automobiles or other mobile sources; 

(3)  the reduction of emissions from a permitted 

facility that emits air contaminants to a level significantly 

below the levels necessary to comply with the facility's permit; 

(4)  a carpooling or alternative transportation 

program for the owner's or operator's employees; 

(5)  a telecommuting program for the owner's or 

operator's employees; and 

(6)  conversion of a motor vehicle fleet operated by 

the owner or operator to a low-sulphur fuel or an alternative 

fuel approved by the commission. 

(d)  A permit issued under Section 382.0519 for a facility 

participating in the program established under this section must 

be conditioned on the successful and timely completion of the 

project or projects for which the facility owner or operator 

acquires the credits. 

(e)  To renew the permit of a facility permitted under 

Section 382.0519 with credits acquired under the program 

established under this section, the commission shall require the 

owner or operator of the facility to have: 

(1)  made equipment improvements and emissions 

reductions necessary to meet the permit requirements under that 

section for a new permit; or 

(2)  acquired additional credits under the program as 

necessary to meet the permit requirements under that section for 

a new permit. 

(f)  Emissions reduction credits acquired under the program 

established under this section are not transferrable. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0519
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Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

Sec. 382.05194.  MULTIPLE PLANT PERMIT.  (a)  The 

commission may issue a multiple plant permit for multiple plant 

sites that are owned or operated by the same person or persons 

under common control if the commission finds that: 

(1) the aggregate rate of emission of air

contaminants to be authorized under the permit does not exceed 

the total of: 

(A) for previously permitted facilities, the

rates authorized in the existing permits; and 

(B) for existing unpermitted facilities not

subject to the requirement to obtain a preconstruction 

authorization under Section 382.0518(g) or for facilities 

authorized under Section 382.0519, the rates that would be 

authorized under Section 382.0519;  and 

(2) there is no indication that the emissions from

the facilities will contravene the intent of this chapter, 

including protection of the public's health and physical 

property. 

(b) A permit issued under this section may not authorize

emissions from any of the facilities authorized under the permit 

that exceed the facility's highest historic annual rate or the 

levels authorized in the facility's most recent permit.  In the 

absence of records extending back to the original construction 

of the facility, best engineering judgment shall be used to 

demonstrate the facility's highest historic annual rate to the 

commission. 

(c) Emissions control equipment previously installed at a

facility permitted under this section may not be removed or 

disabled unless the action is undertaken to maintain or upgrade 

the control equipment or to otherwise reduce the impact of 

emissions authorized by the commission. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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(d)  The commission by rule shall establish the procedures 

for application and approval for the use of a multiple plant 

permit. 

(e)  For a multiple plant permit that applies only to 

existing facilities for which an application is filed before 

September 1, 2001, the issuance, amendment, or revocation by the 

commission of the permit is not subject to Chapter 2001, 

Government Code. 

(f)  The commission may adopt rules as necessary to 

implement and administer this section and may delegate to the 

executive director under Section 382.061 the authority to issue, 

amend, or revoke a multiple plant permit. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 935, Sec. 1, eff. June 14, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05195.  STANDARD PERMIT.  (a)  The commission may 

issue a standard permit for new or existing similar facilities 

if the commission finds that: 

(1)  the standard permit is enforceable; 

(2)  the commission can adequately monitor compliance 

with the terms of the standard permit; and 

(3)  for permit applications for facilities subject to 

Sections 382.0518(a)-(d) filed before September 1, 2001, the 

facilities will use control technology at least as effective as 

that described in Section 382.0518(b).  For permit applications 

filed after August 31, 2001, all facilities permitted under this 

section will use control technology at least as effective as 

that described in Section 382.0518(b). 

(b)  The commission shall publish notice of a proposed 

standard permit in the Texas Register and in one or more 

statewide or regional newspapers designated by the commission by 

rule that will, in the commission's judgment, provide reasonable 

notice throughout the state.  If the standard permit will be 

effective for only part of the state, the notice shall be 

published in a newspaper of general circulation in the area to 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.061
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be affected.  The commission by rule may require additional 

notice to be given.  The notice must include an invitation for 

written comments by the public to the commission regarding the 

proposed standard permit and must be published not later than 

the 30th day before the date the commission issues the standard 

permit. 

(c)  The commission shall hold a public meeting to provide 

an additional opportunity for public comment.  The commission 

shall give notice of a public meeting under this subsection as 

part of the notice described in Subsection (b) not later than 

the 30th day before the date of the meeting. 

(d)  If the commission receives public comment related to 

the issuance of a standard permit, the commission shall issue a 

written response to the comments at the same time the commission 

issues or denies the permit.  The response must be made 

available to the public, and the commission shall mail the 

response to each person who made a comment. 

(e)  The commission by rule shall establish procedures for 

the amendment of a standard permit and for an application for, 

the issuance of, the renewal of, and the revocation of an 

authorization to use a standard permit. 

(f)  A facility authorized to emit air contaminants under a 

standard permit shall comply with an amendment to the standard 

permit beginning on the date the facility's authorization to use 

the standard permit is renewed or the date the commission 

otherwise provides.  Before the date the facility is required to 

comply with the amendment, the standard permit, as it read 

before the amendment, applies to the facility. 

(g)  The adoption or amendment of a standard permit or the 

issuance, renewal, or revocation of an authorization to use a 

standard permit is not subject to Chapter 2001, Government Code. 

(h)  The commission may adopt rules as necessary to 

implement and administer this section. 

(i)  The commission may delegate to the executive director 

the authority to issue, amend, renew, or revoke an authorization 

to use a standard permit. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
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(j)  If a standard permit for a facility requires a 

distance, setback, or buffer from other property or structures 

as a condition of the permit, the determination of whether the 

distance, setback, or buffer is satisfied shall be made on the 

basis of conditions existing at the earlier of: 

(1)  the date new construction, expansion, or 

modification of a facility begins; or 

(2)  the date any application or notice of intent is 

first filed with the commission to obtain approval for the 

construction or operation of the facility. 

(k)  An application for the issuance of a standard permit 

under this section for a concrete plant that performs wet 

batching, dry batching, or central mixing, including a 

permanent, temporary, or specialty concrete batch plant, as 

defined by the commission, must include a plot plan that clearly 

shows: 

(1)  a distance scale; 

(2)  a north arrow; 

(3)  all property lines, emission points, buildings, 

tanks, and process vessels and other process equipment in the 

area in which the facility will be located; 

(4)  at least two benchmark locations in the area in 

which the facility will be located; and 

(5)  if the permit requires a distance, setback, or 

buffer from other property or structures as a condition of the 

permit, whether the required distance or setback will be met. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 422 (S.B. 1740), Sec. 2, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 159 (S.B. 952), Sec. 1, eff. September 

1, 2021. 

 

 

Sec. 382.05196.  PERMITS BY RULE.  (a)  Consistent with 

Section 382.051, the commission may adopt permits by rule for 

certain types of facilities if it is found on investigation that 

the types of facilities will not make a significant contribution 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB01740F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/87R/billtext/html/SB00952F.HTM
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of air contaminants to the atmosphere.  The commission may not 

adopt a permit by rule authorizing any facility defined as 

"major" under any applicable preconstruction permitting 

requirements of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 

7401 et seq.) or regulations adopted under that Act.  Nothing in 

this subsection shall be construed to limit the commission's 

general power to control the state's air quality under Section 

382.011(a). 

(b)  The commission by rule shall specifically define the 

terms and conditions for a permit by rule under this section. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 5, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 382.051961.  PERMIT FOR CERTAIN OIL AND GAS 

FACILITIES.  (a)  This section applies only to new facilities or 

modifications of existing facilities that belong to Standard 

Industrial Classification Codes 1311 (Crude Petroleum and 

Natural Gas), 1321 (Natural Gas Liquids), 4612 (Crude Petroleum 

Pipelines), 4613 (Refined Petroleum Pipelines), 4922 (Natural 

Gas Transmission), and 4923 (Natural Gas Transmission and 

Distribution). 

(b)  The commission may not adopt a new permit by rule or a 

new standard permit or amend an existing permit by rule or an 

existing standard permit relating to a facility to which this 

section applies unless the commission: 

(1)  conducts a regulatory analysis as provided by 

Section 2001.0225, Government Code; 

(2)  determines, based on the evaluation of credible 

air quality monitoring data, that the emissions limits or other 

emissions-related requirements of the permit are necessary to 

ensure that the intent of this chapter is not contravened, 

including the protection of the public's health and physical 

property; 

(3)  establishes any required emissions limits or 

other emissions-related requirements based on: 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.011
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(A)  the evaluation of credible air quality 

monitoring data; and 

(B)  credible air quality modeling that is not 

based on the worst-case scenario of emissions or other worst-

case modeling scenarios unless the actual air quality monitoring 

data and evaluation of that data indicate that the worst-case 

scenario of emissions or other worst-case modeling scenarios 

yield modeling results that reflect the actual air quality 

monitoring data and evaluation; and 

(4)  considers whether the requirements of the permit 

should be imposed only on facilities that are located in a 

particular geographic region of the state. 

(c)  The air quality monitoring data and the evaluation of 

that data under Subsection (b): 

(1)  must be relevant and technically and 

scientifically credible, as determined by the commission; and 

(2)  may be generated by an ambient air quality 

monitoring program conducted by or on behalf of the commission 

in any part of the state or by another governmental entity of 

this state, a local or federal governmental entity, or a private 

organization. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1080 (S.B. 1134), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.051962.  AUTHORIZATION FOR PLANNED MAINTENANCE, 

START-UP, OR SHUTDOWN ACTIVITIES RELATING TO CERTAIN OIL AND GAS 

FACILITIES.  (a)  In this section, "planned maintenance, start-

up, or shutdown activity" means an activity with emissions or 

opacity that: 

(1)  is not expressly authorized by commission permit, 

rule, or order and involves the maintenance, start-up, or 

shutdown of a facility; 

(2)  is part of normal or routine facility operations; 

(3)  is predictable as to timing; and 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01134F.HTM
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(4)  involves the type of emissions normally 

authorized by permit. 

(b)  The commission may adopt one or more permits by rule 

or one or more standard permits and may amend one or more 

existing permits by rule or standard permits to authorize 

planned maintenance, start-up, or shutdown activities for 

facilities described by Section 382.051961(a).  The adoption or 

amendment of a permit under this subsection must comply with 

Section 382.051961(b). 

(c)  An unauthorized emission or opacity event from a 

planned maintenance, start-up, or shutdown activity is subject 

to an affirmative defense as established by commission rules as 

those rules exist on the effective date of this section if: 

(1)  the emission or opacity event occurs at a 

facility described by Section 382.051961(a); 

(2)  an application or registration to authorize the 

planned maintenance, start-up, or shutdown activities of the 

facility is submitted to the commission on or before the earlier 

of: 

(A)  January 5, 2014; or 

(B)  the 120th day after the effective date of a 

new or amended permit adopted by the commission under Subsection 

(b); and 

(3)  the affirmative defense criteria in the rules are 

met. 

(d)  The affirmative defense described by Subsection (c) is 

not available for a facility on or after the date that an 

application or registration to authorize the planned 

maintenance, start-up, or shutdown activities of the facility is 

approved, denied, or voided. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1080 (S.B. 1134), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.051963.  AMENDMENT OF CERTAIN PERMITS.  (a)  A 

permit by rule or standard permit that has been adopted by the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.051961
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commission under this subchapter and is in effect on the 

effective date of this section may be amended to require: 

(1)  the permit holder to provide to the commission 

information about a facility authorized by the permit, including 

the location of the facility; and 

(2)  any facility handling sour gas to be a minimum 

distance from a recreational area, a residence, or another 

structure not occupied or used solely by the operator of the 

facility or by the owner of the property upon which the facility 

is located. 

(b)  The amendment of a permit under this section is not 

subject to Section 382.051961(b). 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1080 (S.B. 1134), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.051964.  AGGREGATION OF FACILITIES.  

Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the 

commission may not aggregate a facility that belongs to a 

Standard Industrial Classification code identified by Section 

382.051961(a) with another facility that belongs to a Standard 

Industrial Classification code identified by that section for 

purposes of consideration as an oil and gas site, a stationary 

source, or another single source in a permit by rule or a 

standard permit unless the facilities being aggregated: 

(1)  are under the control of the same person or are 

under the control of persons under common control; 

(2)  belong to the same first two-digit major grouping 

of Standard Industrial Classification codes; 

(3)  are operationally dependant; and 

(4)  are located not more than one-quarter mile from a 

condensate tank, oil tank, produced water storage tank, or 

combustion facility that: 

(A)  is under the control of the same person who 

controls the facilities being aggregated or is under the control 

of persons under common control; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.051961
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(B) belongs to the same first two-digit major

grouping of Standard Industrial Classification codes as the 

facilities being aggregated; and 

(C) is operationally dependant on the facilities

being aggregated. 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1080 (S.B. 1134), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

Sec. 382.05197.  MULTIPLE PLANT PERMIT:  NOTICE AND 

HEARING.  (a)  An applicant for a permit under Section 382.05194

shall publish notice of intent to obtain the permit in 

accordance with Section 382.056, except that the notice of a 

proposed multiple plant permit for existing facilities shall be 

published in one or more statewide or regional newspapers that 

provide reasonable notice throughout the state.  If the multiple 

plant permit for existing facilities will be effective for only 

part of the state, the notice shall be published in a newspaper 

of general circulation in the area to be affected.  The 

commission by rule may require that additional notice be given. 

(b) The commission may authorize an applicant for a permit

for an existing facility that constitutes or is part of a small 

business stationary source as defined in Section 5.135, Water 

Code, to provide notice using an alternative means if the 

commission finds that the proposed method will result in equal 

or better communication with the public, considering the 

effectiveness of the notice in reaching potentially affected 

persons, the cost, and the consistency with federal 

requirements. 

(c) The commission shall provide an opportunity for a

public hearing and the submission of public comment and send 

notice of a decision on an application for a permit under 

Section 382.05194 in the same manner as provided by Sections 

382.0561 and 382.0562. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01134F.HTM
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(d) A person affected by a decision of the commission to

issue or deny a multiple plant permit may move for rehearing and 

is entitled to judicial review under Section 382.032. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 935, Sec. 2, eff. June 14, 2001. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 728 (H.B. 2018), Sec. 9.0035(d), eff. 

September 1, 2005. 

Sec. 382.05198.  STANDARD PERMIT FOR CERTAIN CONCRETE 

PLANTS.  (a)  The commission shall issue a standard permit for a

permanent concrete plant that performs wet batching, dry 

batching, or central mixing and that meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) production records must be maintained on site

while the plant is in operation until the second anniversary of 

the end of the period to which they relate; 

(2) each cement or fly ash storage silo and weigh

hopper must be equipped with a fabric or cartridge filter or 

vented to a fabric or cartridge filter system; 

(3) each fabric or cartridge filter, fabric or

cartridge filter system, and suction shroud must be maintained 

and operated properly with no tears or leaks; 

(4) excluding the suction shroud filter system, each

filter system must be designed to meet a standard of at least 

0.01 outlet grain loading as measured in grains per dry standard 

cubic foot; 

(5) each filter system and each mixer loading and

batch truck loading emissions control device must meet a 

performance standard of no visible emissions exceeding 30 

seconds in a five-minute period as determined using United 

States Environmental Protection Agency Test Method 22 as that 

method existed on September 1, 2003; 

(6) if a cement or fly ash silo is filled during

nondaylight hours, the silo filter system exhaust must be 

sufficiently illuminated to enable a determination of compliance 

with the performance standard described by Subdivision (5); 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
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(7)  the conveying system for the transfer of cement 

or fly ash to and from each storage silo must be totally 

enclosed, operate properly, and be maintained without any tears 

or leaks; 

(8)  except during cement or fly ash tanker connection 

or disconnection, each conveying system for the transfer of 

cement or fly ash must meet the performance standard described 

by Subdivision (5); 

(9)  a warning device must be installed on each bulk 

storage silo to alert the operator in sufficient time for the 

operator to stop loading operations before the silo is filled to 

a level that may adversely affect the pollution abatement 

equipment; 

(10)  if filling a silo results in failure of the 

pollution abatement system or failure to meet the performance 

standard described by Subdivision (5), the failure must be 

documented and reported to the commission; 

(11)  each road, parking lot, or other area at the 

plant site that is used by vehicles must be paved with a 

cohesive hard surface that is properly maintained, cleaned, and 

watered so as to minimize dust emissions; 

(12)  each stockpile must be sprinkled with water or 

dust-suppressant chemicals or covered so as to minimize dust 

emissions; 

(13)  material used in the batch that is spilled must 

be immediately cleaned up and contained or dampened so as to 

minimize dust emissions; 

(14)  production of concrete at the plant must not 

exceed 300 cubic yards per hour; 

(15)  a suction shroud or other pickup device must be 

installed at the batch drop point or, in the case of a central 

mix plant, at the drum feed and vented to a fabric or cartridge 

filter system with a minimum capacity of 5,000 cubic feet per 

minute of air; 

(16)  the bag filter and capture system must be 

properly designed to accommodate the increased flow from the 



Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 79 

 
 

suction shroud and achieve a control efficiency of at least 99.5 

percent; 

(17)  the suction shroud baghouse exhaust must be 

located more than 100 feet from any property line; 

(18)  stationary equipment, stockpiles, and vehicles 

used at the plant, except for incidental traffic and vehicles as 

they enter and exit the site, must be located or operated more 

than 100 feet from any property line; and 

(19)  the central baghouse must be located at least 

440 yards from any building used as a single or multifamily 

residence, school, or place of worship at the time the 

application to use the permit is filed with the commission if 

the plant is located in an area that is not subject to municipal 

zoning regulation. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (a)(18), the commission 

shall issue a standard permit for a permanent concrete plant 

that performs wet batching, dry batching, or central mixing and 

does not meet the requirements of that subdivision if the plant 

meets the other requirements of Subsection (a) and: 

(1)  each road, parking lot, and other traffic area 

located within the distance of a property line provided by 

Subsection (a)(18) is bordered by dust-suppressing fencing or 

another barrier at least 12 feet high; and 

(2)  each stockpile located within the applicable 

distance of a property line is contained within a three-walled 

bunker that extends at least two feet above the top of the 

stockpile. 

(c)  An application for the issuance of a standard permit 

under this section must include a plot plan that meets the 

requirements of Section 382.05195(k). 
 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 361, Sec. 3, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 159 (S.B. 952), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2021. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05195
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Sec. 382.05199.  STANDARD PERMIT FOR CERTAIN CONCRETE BATCH 

PLANTS:  NOTICE AND HEARING.  (a)  A person may not begin 

construction of a permanent concrete plant that performs wet 

batching, dry batching, or central mixing under a standard 

permit issued under Section 382.05198 unless the commission 

authorizes the person to use the permit as provided by this 

section.  The notice and hearing requirements of Subsections 

(b)-(g) apply only to an applicant for authorization to use a 

standard permit issued under Section 382.05198.  An applicant 

for a permit for a concrete plant that does not meet the 

requirements of a standard permit issued under Section 382.05198 

must comply with: 

(1)  Section 382.058 to obtain authorization to use a 

standard permit issued under Section 382.05195 or a permit by 

rule adopted under Section 382. 05196; or 

(2)  Section 382.056 to obtain a permit issued under 

Section 382.0518. 

(b)  An applicant for an authorization to use a standard 

permit under Section 382.05198 must publish notice under this 

section not later than the earlier of: 

(1)  the 30th day after the date the applicant 

receives written notice from the executive director that the 

application is technically complete; or 

(2)  the 75th day after the date the executive 

director receives the application. 

(c)  The applicant must publish notice at least once in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the municipality in which 

the plant is proposed to be located or in the municipality 

nearest to the proposed location of the plant.  If the 

elementary or middle school nearest to the proposed plant 

provides a bilingual education program as required by Subchapter 

B, Chapter 29, Education Code, the applicant must also publish 

the notice at least once in an additional publication of general 

circulation in the municipality or county in which the plant is 

proposed to be located that is published in the language taught 

in the bilingual education program.  This requirement is waived 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05198
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if such a publication does not exist or if the publisher refuses 

to publish the notice. 

(d) The notice must include:

(1) a brief description of the proposed location and

nature of the proposed plant; 

(2) a description, including a telephone number, of

the manner in which the executive director may be contacted for 

further information; 

(3) a description, including a telephone number, of

the manner in which the applicant may be contacted for further 

information; 

(4) the location and hours of operation of the

commission's regional office at which a copy of the application 

is available for review and copying; and 

(5) a brief description of the public comment

process, including the time and location of the public hearing, 

and the mailing address and deadline for filing written 

comments. 

(e) The public comment period begins on the first date

notice is published under Subsection (b) and extends to the 

close of the public hearing. 

(f) Section 382.056 of this code and Chapter 2001,

Government Code, do not apply to a public hearing held under 

this section.  A public hearing held under this section is not 

an evidentiary proceeding.  Any person may submit an oral or 

written statement concerning the application at the public 

hearing.  The applicant may set reasonable limits on the time 

allowed for oral statements at the public hearing. 

(g) The applicant, in cooperation with the executive

director, must hold the public hearing not less than 30 days and 

not more than 45 days after the first date notice is published 

under Subsection (b).  The public hearing must be held in the 

county in which the plant is proposed to be located. 

(h) Not later than the 35th day after the date the public

hearing is held, the executive director shall approve or deny 

the application for authorization to use the standard permit.  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001


Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 82 

 
 

The executive director shall base the decision on whether the 

application meets the requirements of Section 382.05198.  The 

executive director shall consider all comments received during 

the public comment period and at the public hearing in 

determining whether to approve the application.  If the 

executive director denies the application, the executive 

director shall state the reasons for the denial and any 

modifications to the application that are necessary for the 

proposed plant to qualify for the authorization. 

(i)  The executive director shall issue a written response 

to any public comments received related to the issuance of an 

authorization to use the standard permit at the same time as or 

as soon as practicable after the executive director grants or 

denies the application.  Issuance of the response after the 

granting or denial of the application does not affect the 

validity of the executive director's decision to grant or deny 

the application.  The executive director shall: 

(1)  mail the response to each person who filed a 

comment; and 

(2)  make the response available to the public. 
 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 361, Sec. 3, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 382.052.  PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT OR MODIFY FACILITY 

WITHIN 3,000 FEET OF SCHOOL.  In considering the issuance of a 

permit to construct or modify a facility within 3,000 feet of an 

elementary, junior high, or senior high school, the commission 

shall consider possible adverse short-term or long-term side 

effects of air contaminants or nuisance odors from the facility 

on the individuals attending the school facilities. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.163, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.053.  PROHIBITION ON ISSUANCE OF CONSTRUCTION 

PERMIT FOR LEAD SMELTING PLANT AT CERTAIN LOCATIONS.  (a)  The 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05198
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commission may not grant a construction permit for a lead 

smelting plant at a site: 

(1)  located within 3,000 feet of an individual's 

residence; and 

(2)  at which lead smelting operations have not been 

conducted before August 31, 1987. 

(b)  This section does not apply to: 

(1)  a modification of a lead smelting plant in 

operation on August 31, 1987;  

(2)  a lead smelting plant or modification of a plant 

with the capacity to produce not more than 200 pounds of lead 

each hour; or 

(3)  a lead smelting plant that, when the plant began 

operation, was located more than 3,000 feet from the nearest 

residence. 

(c)  In this section, "lead smelting plant" means a 

facility operated as a smeltery for processing lead. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.164, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.054.  FEDERAL OPERATING PERMIT.  Subject to 

Section 382.0511(c), a person may not operate a federal source 

unless the person has obtained a federal operating permit from 

the commission under Section 382.0541, 382.0542, or 382.0543. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.09, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 10, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 

Sec. 11.165, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0541.  ADMINISTRATION AND ENFORCEMENT OF FEDERAL 

OPERATING PERMIT.  (a)  The commission may: 

(1)  require a federal source to obtain a permit under 

the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 et seq.); 

(2)  require an existing facility or source to use, at 

a minimum, any applicable maximum achievable control technology 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0511
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0541
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required by the commission or by the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency; 

(3)  require facilities or federal sources that are 

new or modified and are subject to Section 112(g) of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412) to use, at a minimum, the 

more stringent of: 

(A)  the best available control technology, 

considering the technical practicability and economic 

reasonableness of reducing or eliminating emissions from the 

proposed facility or federal source; or 

(B)  any applicable maximum achievable control 

technology (MACT), including any MACT developed pursuant to 

Section 112(g) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 

7412); 

(4)  establish maximum achievable control technology 

requirements in accordance with Section 112(j) of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412); 

(5)  issue initial permits with terms not to exceed 

five years for federal sources under Title V of the federal 

Clean Air Act, with terms not to exceed five years for all 

subsequently issued or renewed permits; 

(6)  administer the use of emissions allowances under 

Section 408 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 

7651g); 

(7)  reopen and revise an affected federal operating 

permit if: 

(A)  the permit has a term of three years or more 

remaining in order to incorporate requirements under the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 et seq.) adopted after the 

permit is issued; 

(B)  additional requirements become applicable to 

an affected source under the acid rain program; 

(C)  the federal operating permit contains a 

material mistake; 
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(D)  inaccurate statements were made in 

establishing the emissions standards or other terms or 

conditions of the federal operating permit;  or 

(E)  a determination is made that the permit must 

be reopened and revised to assure compliance with applicable 

requirements; 

(8)  incorporate a federal implementation plan as a 

condition of a permit issued by the commission; 

(9)  exempt federal sources from the obligation to 

obtain a federal operating permit; 

(10)  provide that all representations in an 

application for a permit under Title IV of the federal Clean Air 

Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7651-7651o) are binding on the applicant 

until issuance or denial of the permit; 

(11)  provide that all terms and conditions of any 

federal operating permit required under Title IV of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7651-7651o) shall be a 

complete and segregable section of the federal operating permit; 

and 

(12)  issue initial permits with fixed terms of five 

years for federal sources under Title IV of the federal Clean 

Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7651-7651o) with fixed five-year 

terms for all subsequently issued or renewed permits. 

(b)  The commission by rule shall provide for objection by 

the administrator to the issuance of any operating or general 

permit subject to Title V of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Sections 7661-7661f) and shall authorize the 

administrator to revoke and reissue, terminate, reopen, or 

modify a federal operating permit. 

(c)  This section does not affect the permit requirements 

of Section 382.0518, except that the commission may consolidate 

with an existing permit issued under this section a permit 

required by Section 382.0518. 

(d)  The commission promptly shall provide to the applicant 

notice of whether the application is complete.  Unless the 

commission requests additional information or otherwise notifies 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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the applicant that the application is incomplete before the 61st 

day after the commission receives an application, the 

application shall be deemed complete. 

(e)  Subsections (a)(3) and (4) do not prohibit the 

applicability of at least the best available control technology 

to a new or modified facility or federal source under Section 

382.0518(b)(1). 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.10.  Amended by Acts 

1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 11, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., 

ch. 76, Sec. 11.166, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0542.  ISSUANCE OF FEDERAL OPERATING PERMIT; 

APPEAL OF DELAY.  (a)  A federal source is eligible for a permit 

required by Section 382.054 if from the information available to 

the commission, including information presented at a hearing 

held under Section 382.0561, the commission finds that: 

(1)  the federal source will use, at a minimum, any 

applicable maximum achievable control technology required by the 

commission or by the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency; 

(2)  for a federal source that is new or modified and 

subject to Section 112(g) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Section 7412), the federal source will use, at a minimum, 

the more stringent of: 

(A)  the best available control technology, 

considering the technical practicability and economic 

reasonableness of reducing or eliminating the emissions from the 

proposed federal source; or 

(B)  any applicable maximum achievable control 

technology required by the commission or by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency; and 

(3)  the federal source will comply with the following 

requirements, if applicable: 

(A)  Title V of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Sections 7661-7661f) and the regulations adopted under 

that title; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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(B)  each standard or other requirement provided 

for in the applicable implementation plan approved or adopted by 

rule of the United States Environmental Protection Agency under 

Title I of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7401-

7515) that implements the relevant requirements of that Act, 

including any revisions to the plan; 

(C)  each term or condition of a preconstruction 

permit issued by the commission or the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency in accordance with rules adopted 

by the commission or the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency under Part C or D, Title I of the federal Clean Air Act 

(42 U.S.C. 7401-7515); 

(D)  each standard or other requirement 

established under Section 111 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Section 7411), including Subsection (d) of that section; 

(E)  each standard or other requirement 

established under Section 112 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Section 7412) including any requirement concerning 

accident prevention under Subsection (r)(7) of that section; 

(F)  each standard or other requirement of the 

acid rain program established under Title IV of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7651-7651o) or the regulations 

adopted under that title; 

(G)  each requirement established under Section 

504(b) or Section 114(a)(3) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 

U.S.C. Section 7661c or 7414); 

(H)  each standard or other requirement governing 

solid waste incineration established under Section 129 of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7429); 

(I)  each standard or other requirement for 

consumer and commercial products established under Section 

183(e) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7511b); 

(J)  each standard or other requirement for tank 

vessels established under Section 183(f) of the federal Clean 

Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7511b); 
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(K)  each standard or other requirement of the 

program to control air pollution from outer continental shelf 

sources established under Section 328 of the federal Clean Air 

Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7627); 

(L)  each standard or other requirement of 

regulations adopted to protect stratospheric ozone under Title 

VI of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7671-7671q) 

unless the administrator has determined that the standard or 

requirement does not need to be contained in a Title V permit; 

and 

(M)  each national ambient air quality standard 

or increment or visibility requirement under Part C of Title I 

of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7470-7492), but 

only as the standard, increment, or requirement would apply to a 

temporary source permitted under Section 504(e) of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7661c). 

(b)  The commission shall: 

(1)  take final action on an application for a permit, 

permit revision, or permit renewal within 18 months after the 

date on which the commission receives an administratively 

complete application; 

(2)  under an interim program, for those federal 

sources for which initial applications are required to be filed 

not later than one year after the effective date of the interim 

program, take final action on at least one-third of those 

applications annually over a period not to exceed three years 

after the effective date of the interim program; 

(3)  under the fully approved program, for those 

federal sources for which initial applications are required to 

be filed not later than one year after the effective date of the 

fully approved program, take final action on at least one-third 

of those applications annually over a period not to exceed three 

years after the effective date of the program; and 

(4)  take final action on a permit reopening not later 

than 18 months after the adoption of the requirement that 

prompted the reopening. 
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(c)  If the commission fails to take final action as 

required by Subsection (b)(1) or (4), a person affected by the 

commission's failure to act may obtain judicial review under 

Section 382.032 at any time before the commission takes final 

action.  A reviewing court may order the commission to act on 

the application without additional delay if it finds that the 

commission's failure to act is arbitrary or unreasonable. 

(d)  Subsection (a)(2) does not prohibit the applicability 

of at least the best available control technology to a new or 

modified facility or federal source under Section 

382.0518(b)(1). 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.10, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 12, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.167, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0543.  REVIEW AND RENEWAL OF FEDERAL OPERATING 

PERMIT.  (a)  In accordance with Section 382.0541(a)(5), a 

federal operating permit issued or renewed by the commission is 

subject to review at least every five years after the date of 

issuance to determine whether the authority to operate should be 

renewed. 

(b)  The commission by rule shall establish: 

(1)  the procedures for notifying a permit holder that 

the permit is scheduled for review in accordance with this 

section; 

(2)  a deadline by which the holder of a permit must 

submit an application for renewal of the permit that is between 

the date six months before expiration of the permit and the date 

18 months before expiration of the permit; 

(3)  the general requirements for an application; and 

(4)  the procedures for reviewing and acting on a 

renewal application. 

(c)  The commission promptly shall provide to the applicant 

notice of whether the application is complete.  Unless the 

commission requests additional information or otherwise notifies 

the applicant that the application is incomplete before the 61st 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
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day after the commission receives an application, the 

application shall be deemed complete. 

(d)  The commission shall take final action on a renewal 

application for a federal operating permit within 18 months 

after the date an application is determined to be 

administratively complete.  If the commission does not act on an 

application for permit renewal within 18 months after the date 

on which the commission receives an administratively complete 

application, a person who participated in the public 

participation process or a person affected by the commission's 

failure to act may obtain judicial review under Section 382.032 

at any time before the commission takes final action. 

(e)  In determining whether and under which conditions a 

permit should be renewed, the commission shall consider: 

(1)  all applicable requirements in Section 

382.0542(a)(3); and 

(2)  whether the federal source is in compliance with 

this chapter and the terms of the existing permit. 

(f)  The commission shall impose as terms and conditions in 

a renewed federal operating permit any applicable requirements 

under Title V of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 

7661-7661f).  The terms or conditions of the renewed permit must 

provide for compliance with any applicable requirement under 

Title V of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7661-

7661f).  The commission may not impose requirements less 

stringent than those of the existing permit unless the 

commission determines that a proposed change will meet the 

requirements of Section 382.0541. 

(g)  If the applicant submits a timely and complete 

application for federal operating permit renewal, but the 

commission fails to issue or deny the renewal permit before the 

end of the term of the previous permit: 

(1)  all terms and conditions of the permit shall 

remain in effect until the renewal permit has been issued or 

denied; and 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
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(2)  the applicant may continue to operate until the 

permit renewal application is issued or denied, if the applicant 

submits additional information that is requested in writing by 

the commission that the commission needs to process the 

application on or before the time specified in writing by the 

commission. 

(h)  This section does not affect the commission's 

authority to begin an enforcement action under Sections 382.082-

382.084. 
 

Added by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 13, eff. June 9, 1993.  Amended 

by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.167, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.055.  REVIEW AND RENEWAL OF PRECONSTRUCTION 

PERMIT.  (a)  A preconstruction permit issued or renewed by the 

commission is subject to review to determine whether the 

authority to operate should be renewed according to the 

following schedule: 

(1)  a preconstruction permit issued before December 

1, 1991, is subject to review not later than 15 years after the 

date of issuance; 

(2)  a preconstruction permit issued on or after 

December 1, 1991, is subject to review: 

(A)  every 10 years after the date of issuance; 

or 

(B)  on the filing of an application for an 

amendment to the permit, if: 

(i)  the applicant is subject to Section 

382.056; 

(ii)  the application is filed with the 

commission not more than three years before the date the permit 

is scheduled to expire; and 

(iii)  the applicant does not object to 

having the permit subjected to review at that time; and 

(3)  for cause, a preconstruction permit issued on or 

after December 1, 1991, for a facility at a nonfederal source 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
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may contain a provision requiring the permit to be renewed at a 

period of between five and 10 years. 

(b) The commission by rule shall establish:

(1) a deadline by which the holder of a

preconstruction permit must submit an application to renew the 

permit; 

(2) the general requirements for an application for

renewal of a preconstruction permit; and 

(3) the procedures for reviewing and acting on

renewal applications. 

(c) Not less than 180 days before the date on which the

renewal application is due, the commission shall provide written 

notice to the permit holder, by registered or certified mail or 

as provided by Subsection (c-1), that the permit is scheduled 

for review in accordance with this section.  The notice must 

include a description of the procedure for filing a renewal 

application and the information to be included in the 

application. 

(c-1) A notice under Subsection (c) may be sent by 

electronic communication if the commission develops a system 

that reliably replaces registered or certified mail as a means 

of verifying receipt of the notice. 

(d) In determining whether and under which conditions a

preconstruction permit should be renewed, the commission shall 

consider, at a minimum: 

(1) the performance of the owner or operator of the

facility according to the method developed by the commission 

under Section 5.754, Water Code;  and 

(2) the condition and effectiveness of existing

emission control equipment and practices. 

(e) The commission shall impose as a condition for renewal

of a preconstruction permit only those requirements the 

commission determines to be economically reasonable and 

technically practicable considering the age of the facility and 

the effect of its emissions on the surrounding area.  The 

commission may not impose requirements more stringent than those 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.754
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of the existing permit unless the commission determines that the 

requirements are necessary to avoid a condition of air pollution 

or to ensure compliance with otherwise applicable federal or 

state air quality control requirements.  The commission may not 

impose requirements less stringent than those of the existing 

permit unless the commission determines that a proposed change 

will meet the requirements of Sections 382.0518 and 382.0541. 

(f)  On or before the 180th day after the date on which an 

application for renewal is filed, the commission shall renew the 

permit or, if the commission determines that the facility will 

not meet the requirements for renewing the permit, shall: 

(1)  set out in a report to the applicant the basis 

for the commission's determination; and 

(2)  establish a schedule, to which the applicant must 

adhere in meeting the commission's requirements, that: 

(A)  includes a final date for meeting the 

commission's requirements; and 

(B)  requires completion of that action as 

expeditiously as possible. 

(g)  If the applicant meets the commission's requirements 

in accordance with the schedule, the commission shall renew the 

permit.  If the applicant does not meet those requirements in 

accordance with the schedule, the applicant must show in a 

contested case proceeding why the permit should not expire 

immediately.  The applicant's permit is effective until: 

(1)  the final date specified by the commission's 

report to the applicant; 

(2)  the existing permit is renewed; or 

(3)  the date specified by a commission order issued 

following a contested case proceeding held under this section. 

(h)  If the holder of a preconstruction permit to whom the 

commission has mailed or otherwise sent notice under this 

section does not apply for renewal of that permit by the date 

specified by the commission under this section, the permit shall 

expire at the end of the period described in Subsection (a). 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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(i)  This section does not affect the commission's 

authority to begin an enforcement action under Sections 382.082-

382.084. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.11, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 14, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 

Sec. 11.167, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 149, Sec. 1, eff. 

May 19, 1995; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 16.14, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 168 (S.B. 1673), Sec. 1, eff. May 22, 

2007. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 381 (H.B. 4181), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 382.056.  NOTICE OF INTENT TO OBTAIN PERMIT OR PERMIT 

REVIEW; HEARING.  (a)  Except as provided by Section 

382.0518(h), an applicant for a permit or permit amendment under 

Section 382.0518 or a permit renewal review under Section 

382.055 shall publish notice of intent to obtain the permit, 

permit amendment, or permit review not later than the 30th day 

after the date the commission determines the application to be 

administratively complete.  The commission by rule shall require 

an applicant for a federal operating permit under Section 

382.054 to publish notice of intent to obtain a permit, permit 

amendment, or permit review consistent with federal requirements 

and with the requirements of Subsection (b).  The applicant 

shall publish the notice at least once in a newspaper of general 

circulation in the municipality in which the facility or federal 

source is located or is proposed to be located or in the 

municipality nearest to the location or proposed location of the 

facility or federal source.  If the elementary or middle school 

nearest to the facility or proposed facility provides a 

bilingual education program as required by Subchapter B, Chapter 

29, Education Code, the applicant shall also publish the notice 

at least once in an additional publication of general 

circulation in the municipality or county in which the facility 

is located or proposed to be located that is published in the 

language taught in the bilingual education program.  This 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB01673F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/HB04181F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.055
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=ED&Value=29.051
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=ED&Value=29
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requirement is waived if such a publication does not exist or if 

the publisher refuses to publish the notice.  The commission by 

rule shall prescribe the form and content of the notice and when 

notice must be published.  The commission may require 

publication of additional notice.  The commission by rule shall 

prescribe alternative procedures for publication of the notice 

in a newspaper if the applicant is a small business stationary 

source as defined by Section 5.135, Water Code, and will not 

have a significant effect on air quality.  The alternative 

procedures must be cost-effective while ensuring adequate 

notice.  Notice required to be published under this section 

shall only be required to be published in the United States. 

(b) The notice must include:

(1) a description of the location or proposed

location of the facility or federal source; 

(2) the location at which a copy of the application

is available for review and copying as provided by Subsection 

(d); 

(3) a description, including a telephone number, of

the manner in which the commission may be contacted for further 

information; 

(4) a description, including a telephone number, of

the manner in which the applicant may be contacted for further 

information; 

(5) a description of the procedural rights and

obligations of the public, printed in a font style or size that 

clearly provides emphasis and distinguishes it from the 

remainder of the notice, that includes a statement that a person 

who may be affected by emissions of air contaminants from the 

facility, proposed facility, or federal source is entitled to 

request a hearing from the commission; 

(6) a description of the procedure by which a person

may be placed on a mailing list in order to receive additional 

information about the application; 

(7) the time and location of any public meeting to be

held under Subsection (e); and 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.135
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(8) any other information the commission by rule

requires. 

(c) At the site of a facility, proposed facility, or

federal source for which an applicant is required to publish 

notice under this section, the applicant shall place a sign 

declaring the filing of an application for a permit or permit 

review for a facility at the site and stating the manner in 

which the commission may be contacted for further information.  

The commission shall adopt any rule necessary to carry out this 

subsection. 

(d) The applicant shall make a copy of the application

available for review and copying at a public place in the county 

in which the facility or federal source is located or proposed 

to be located. 

(e) The applicant, in cooperation with the executive

director, may hold a public meeting in the county in which the 

facility or federal source is located or proposed to be located 

in order to inform the public about the application and obtain 

public input. 

(f) The executive director shall conduct a technical

review of and issue a preliminary decision on the application. 

(g) If, in response to the notice published under

Subsection (a) for a permit or permit amendment under Section 

382.0518 or a permit renewal review under Section 382.055, a 

person requests during the period provided by commission rule 

that the commission hold a public hearing and the request is not 

withdrawn before the date the preliminary decision is issued, 

the applicant shall publish notice of the preliminary decision 

in a newspaper, and the commission shall seek public comment on 

the preliminary decision.  The commission shall consider the 

request for public hearing under the procedures provided by 

Subsections (i)-(n).  The commission may not seek further public 

comment or hold a public hearing under the procedures provided 

by Subsections (i)-(n) in response to a request for a public 

hearing on an amendment, modification, or renewal that would not 

result in an increase in allowable emissions and would not 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.055
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result in the emission of an air contaminant not previously 

emitted. 

(g-1) The notice of intent required by Subsection (a) and 

the notice of the preliminary decision described by Subsection 

(g) may be consolidated into one notice if: 

(1)  not later than the 15th day after the date the 

application for which the notice is required is received, the 

commission determines the application to be administratively 

complete; and 

(2)  the preliminary decision and draft permit related 

to the application are available at the time of the commission's 

determination under Subdivision (1). 

(h)  If, in response to the notice published under 

Subsection (a) for a permit under Section 382.054, a person 

requests during the public comment period provided by commission 

rule that the commission hold a public hearing, the commission 

shall consider the request under the procedures provided by 

Section 382.0561 and not under the procedures provided by 

Subsections (i)-(n). 

(i)  The commission by rule shall establish the form and 

content of the notice, the manner of publication, and the 

duration of the public comment period.  The notice must include: 

(1)  the information required by Subsection (b); 

(2)  a summary of the preliminary decision; 

(3)  the location at which a copy of the preliminary 

decision is available for review and copying as provided by 

Subsection (j); 

(4)  a description of the manner in which comments 

regarding the preliminary decision may be submitted; and 

(5)  any other information the commission by rule 

requires. 

(j)  The applicant shall make a copy of the preliminary 

decision available for review and copying at a public place in 

the county in which the facility is located or proposed to be 

located. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0561


Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 98 

 
 

(k)  During the public comment period, the executive 

director may hold one or more public meetings in the county in 

which the facility is located or proposed to be located.  The 

executive director shall hold a public meeting: 

(1)  on the request of a member of the legislature who 

represents the general area in which the facility is located or 

proposed to be located; or 

(2)  if the executive director determines that there 

is substantial public interest in the proposed activity. 

(k-1) A permit applicant or the applicant's designated 

representative is required to attend a public meeting held under 

this section and must make a reasonable effort to respond to 

questions relevant to the permit application at the meeting. 

(l)  The executive director, in accordance with procedures 

adopted by the commission by rule, shall file with the chief 

clerk of the commission a response to each relevant and material 

public comment on the preliminary decision filed during the 

public comment period. 

(m)  The chief clerk of the commission shall transmit the 

executive director's decision, the executive director's response 

to public comments, and instructions for requesting that the 

commission reconsider the executive director's decision or hold 

a contested case hearing to: 

(1)  the applicant; 

(2)  any person who submitted comments during the 

public comment period; 

(3)  any person who requested to be on the mailing 

list for the permit action; and 

(4)  any person who timely filed a request for a 

public hearing in response to the notice published under 

Subsection (a). 

(n)  Except as provided by Section 382.0561, the commission 

shall consider a request that the commission reconsider the 

executive director's decision or hold a public hearing in 

accordance with the procedures provided by Sections 5.556 and 

5.557, Water Code. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0561
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.556
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.557
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(o)  Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, the 

commission may hold a hearing on a permit amendment, 

modification, or renewal if the commission determines that the 

application involves a facility for which the applicant's 

compliance history is classified as unsatisfactory according to 

commission standards under Sections 5.753 and 5.754, Water Code, 

and rules adopted and procedures developed under those sections. 

(p)  The commission by rule shall provide for additional 

notice, opportunity for public comment, or opportunity for 

public hearing to the extent necessary to satisfy a requirement 

to obtain or maintain delegation or approval of a federal 

program. 

(q)  The department shall establish rules to ensure that a 

permit applicant complies with the notice requirement under 

Subsection (a). 

(r)  This section does not apply to: 

(1)  the relocation or change of location of a 

portable facility to a site where a portable facility has been 

located at the proposed site at any time during the previous two 

years; 

(2)  a facility located temporarily in the right-of-

way, or contiguous to the right-of-way, of a public works 

project; or 

(3)  a facility described by Section 382.065(c), 

unless that facility is in a county with a population of 3.3 

million or more or in a county adjacent to such a county. 

(s)  For any permit application subject to this section, 

the measurement of distances to determine compliance with any 

location or distance restriction required by this chapter shall 

be taken toward structures that are in use as of the date that 

the application is filed with the commission. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.12, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 15, eff. June 9, 1993;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 

76, Sec. 11.167, eff. Sept. 1, 1995;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 149, Sec. 2, 

eff. May 19, 1995;  Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 6.42, eff. Sept. 1, 

1997;  Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 62, Sec. 11.04(c), eff. Sept. 1, 1999;  Acts 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.753
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.754
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.065
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1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 5, eff. Sept. 1, 1999;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., 

ch. 935, Sec. 4, eff. June 14, 2001;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 

2.02, 16.15, eff. Sept. 1, 2001;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1327, Sec. 3, 

eff. Sept. 1, 2001;  Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 226, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 

2003;  Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1054, Sec. 1, eff. June 20, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 728 (H.B. 2018), Sec. 9.0035(e), eff. 

September 1, 2005. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 809 (S.B. 1472), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.26, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1163 (H.B. 2702), Sec. 45, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 394 (S.B. 1045), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0561.  FEDERAL OPERATING PERMIT:  HEARING.  (a)  

Public hearings on applications for issuance, revision, 

reopening, or renewal of a federal operating permit shall be 

conducted under this section only and not under Chapter 2001, 

Government Code. 

(b)  On determination that an application for a federal 

operating permit under Sections 382.054-382.0542 or a renewal of 

a federal operating permit under Section 382.0543 is 

administratively complete and before the beginning of the public 

comment period, the commission or its designee shall prepare a 

draft permit. 

(c)  The commission or its designee shall hold a public 

hearing on a federal operating permit, a reopening of a federal 

operating permit, or renewal application before granting the 

permit or renewal if within the public comment period a person 

who may be affected by the emissions or a member of the 

legislature from the general area in which the facility is 

located requests a hearing.  The commission or its designee is 

not required to hold a hearing if the basis of the request by a 

person who may be affected is determined to be unreasonable. 

(d)  The following shall be available for public inspection 

in at least one location in the general area where the facility 

is located: 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02018F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/SB01472F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02702F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/SB01045F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0543
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(1)  information submitted by the application, subject 

to applicable confidentiality laws; 

(2)  the executive director's analysis of the proposed 

action; and 

(3)  a copy of the draft permit. 

(e)  The commission or its designee shall hold a public 

comment period on a federal operating permit application, a 

federal operating permit reopening application, or a federal 

operating permit renewal application under Sections 382.054-

382.0542 or 382.0543.  Any person may submit a written statement 

to the commission during the public comment period.  The 

commission or its designee shall receive public comment for 30 

days after the date on which notice of the public comment period 

is published.  The commission or its designee may extend or 

reopen the comment period if the executive director finds an 

extension or reopening to be appropriate. 

(f)  Notice of the public comment period and opportunity 

for a hearing under this section shall be published in 

accordance with Section 382.056. 

(g)  Any person may submit an oral or written statement 

concerning the application at the hearing.  The individual 

holding the hearing may set reasonable limits on the time 

allowed for oral statements at the hearing.  The public comment 

period extends to the close of the hearing and may be further 

extended or reopened if the commission or its designee finds an 

extension or reopening to be appropriate. 

(h)  Any person, including the applicant, who believes that 

any condition of the draft permit is inappropriate or that the 

preliminary decision of the commission or its designee to issue 

or deny a permit is inappropriate must raise all reasonably 

ascertainable issues and submit all reasonably available 

arguments supporting that position by the end of the public 

comment period. 

(i)  The commission or its designee shall consider all 

comments received during the public comment period and at the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0543
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
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public hearing in determining whether to issue the permit and 

what conditions should be included if a permit is issued. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.13, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 16, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(49), 11.168, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0562.  NOTICE OF DECISION.  (a)  The commission or 

its designee shall send notice of a proposed final action on a 

federal operating permit by first-class mail or electronic 

communication to the applicant and all persons who comment 

during the public comment period or at the public hearing.  The 

notice shall include a response to any comment submitted during 

the public comment period and shall identify any change in the 

conditions of the draft permit and the reasons for the change. 

(b)  The notice required by Subsection (a) shall: 

(1)  state that any person affected by the decision of 

the commission or its designee may petition the administrator in 

accordance with Section 382.0563 and rules adopted under that 

section; 

(2)  state the date by which the petition must be 

filed; and 

(3)  explain the petition process. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.13, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 17, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.169, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 381 (H.B. 4181), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0563.  PUBLIC PETITION TO THE ADMINISTRATOR.  (a)  

The commission by rule may provide for public petitions to the 

administrator in accordance with Section 505 of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7661d). 

(b)  The petition for review to the administrator under 

this section does not affect: 

(1)  a permit issued by the commission or its 

designee; or 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0563
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/HB04181F.HTM
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(2) the finality of the commission's or its

designee's action for purposes of an appeal under Section 

382.032. 

(c) The commission or its designee shall resolve any

objection that the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

makes and terminate, modify, or revoke and reissue the permit in 

accordance with the objection not later than the 90th day after 

the date the commission receives the objection. 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.13.  Amended by Acts 

1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 18, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., 

ch. 76, Sec. 11.169, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Sec. 382.0564.  NOTIFICATION TO OTHER GOVERNMENTAL 

ENTITIES.  The commission by rule may allow for notification of 

and review by the administrator and affected states of permit 

applications, revisions, renewals, or draft permits prepared 

under Sections 382.054-382.0543. 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.13, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 19, eff. June 9, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.169, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Sec. 382.0565.  CLEAN COAL PROJECT PERMITTING PROCEDURE.  

(a) The United States Department of Energy may specify the

FutureGen emissions profile for a project in that department's 

request for proposals or request for a contract.  If the United 

States Department of Energy does not specify in a request for 

proposals or a request for a contract the FutureGen emissions 

profile, the profile means emissions of air contaminants at a 

component of the FutureGen project, as defined by Section 5.001, 

Water Code, that equal not more than: 

(1) one percent of the average sulphur content of the

coal or coals used for the generation of electricity at the 

component; 

(2) 10 percent of the average mercury content of the

coal or coals used for the generation of electricity at the 

component; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.001
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(3)  0.05 pounds of nitrogen oxides per million 

British thermal units of energy produced at the component; and 

(4)  0.005 pounds of particulate matter per million 

British thermal units of energy produced at the component. 

(b)  As authorized by federal law, the commission by rule 

shall implement reasonably streamlined processes for issuing 

permits required to construct a component of the FutureGen 

project designed to meet the FutureGen emissions profile. 

(c)  When acting under a rule adopted under Subsection (b), 

the commission shall use public meetings, informal conferences, 

or advisory committees to gather the opinions and advice of 

interested persons. 

(d)  The permit processes authorized by this section are 

not subject to the requirements relating to a contested case 

hearing under this chapter, Chapter 5, Water Code, or 

Subchapters C-G, Chapter 2001, Government Code. 

(e)  This section does not apply to an application for a 

permit to construct or modify a new or existing coal-fired 

electric generating facility that will use pulverized or 

supercritical pulverized coal. 
 

Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1097 (H.B. 2201), Sec. 3, eff. June 18, 

2005. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0566.  ADVANCED CLEAN ENERGY PROJECT PERMITTING 

PROCEDURE.  (a)  As authorized by federal law, not later than 

nine months after the executive director declares an application 

for a permit under this chapter for an advanced clean energy 

project to be administratively complete, the executive director 

shall complete its technical review of the application. 

(b)  The commission shall issue a final order issuing or 

denying the permit not later than nine months after the 

executive director declares the application technically 

complete.  The commission may extend the deadline set out in 

this subsection up to three months if it determines that the 

number of complex pending applications for permits under this 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02201F.HTM
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chapter will prevent the commission from meeting the deadline 

imposed by this subsection without creating an extraordinary 

burden on the resources of the commission. 

(c)  The permit process authorized by this section is 

subject to the requirements relating to a contested case hearing 

under this chapter, Chapter 5, Water Code, or Subchapters C-G, 

Chapter 2001, Government Code, as applicable. 

(d)  The commission shall adopt rules to implement this 

section. 
 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1277 (H.B. 3732), Sec. 3, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 382.0567.  PROOF THAT TECHNOLOGY IS COMMERCIALLY 

FEASIBLE NOT REQUIRED; CONSIDERATION OF TECHNOLOGY TO BE 

ACHIEVABLE FOR CERTAIN PURPOSES PROHIBITED.  (a)  An applicant 

for a permit under this chapter for a project in connection with 

which advanced clean energy technology, federally qualified 

clean coal technology, or another technology is proposed to be 

used is not required to prove, as part of an analysis of whether 

the project will use the best available control technology or 

reduce emissions to the lowest achievable rate, that the 

technology proposed to be used has been demonstrated to be 

feasible in a commercial operation. 

(b)  The commission may not consider any technology or 

level of emission reduction to be achievable for purposes of a 

best available control technology analysis or lowest achievable 

emission rate analysis conducted by the commission under another 

provision of this chapter solely because the technology is used 

or the emission reduction is achieved by a facility receiving an 

incentive as an advanced clean energy project or new technology 

project, as described by Section 391.002. 
 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1277 (H.B. 3732), Sec. 3, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 4, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB03732F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=391.002
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Sec. 382.057.  EXEMPTION.  (a)  Consistent with Section 

382.0511, the commission by rule may exempt from the 

requirements of Section 382.0518 changes within any facility if 

it is found on investigation that such changes will not make a 

significant contribution of air contaminants to the atmosphere.  

The commission by rule shall exempt from the requirements of 

Section 382.0518 or issue a standard permit for the installation 

of emission control equipment that constitutes a modification or 

a new facility, subject to such conditions restricting the 

applicability of such exemption or standard permit that the 

commission deems necessary to accomplish the intent of this 

chapter.  The commission may not exempt any modification of an 

existing facility defined as "major" under any applicable 

preconstruction permitting requirements of the federal Clean Air 

Act or regulations adopted under that Act.  Nothing in this 

subsection shall be construed to limit the commission's general 

power to control the state's air quality under Section 

382.011(a). 

(b)  The commission shall adopt rules specifically defining 

the terms and conditions for an exemption under this section in 

a nonattainment area as defined by Title I of the federal Clean 

Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 et seq.). 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.14, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 20, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 

Sec. 11.169, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1125, Sec. 1, eff. 

Sept. 1, 1997; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 6, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 382.058.  NOTICE OF AND HEARING ON CONSTRUCTION OF 

CONCRETE PLANT UNDER PERMIT BY RULE, STANDARD PERMIT, OR 

EXEMPTION.  (a)  A person may not begin construction on any 

concrete plant that performs wet batching, dry batching, or 

central mixing under a standard permit under Section 382.05195 

or a permit by rule adopted by the commission under Section 

382.05196 unless the person has complied with the notice and 

opportunity for hearing provisions under Section 382.056. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0511
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.011
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05195
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05196
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
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(b)  This section does not apply to a concrete plant 

located temporarily in the right-of-way, or contiguous to the 

right-of-way, of a public works project. 

(c)  For purposes of this section, only those persons 

actually residing in a permanent residence within 440 yards of 

the proposed plant may request a hearing under Section 382.056 

as a person who may be affected. 

(d)  If the commission considers air dispersion modeling 

information in the course of adopting an exemption under Section 

382.057 for a concrete plant that performs wet batching, dry 

batching, or central mixing, the commission may not require that 

a person who qualifies for the exemption conduct air dispersion 

modeling before beginning construction of a concrete plant, and 

evidence regarding air dispersion modeling may not be submitted 

at a hearing under Section 382.056. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.169, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1999, 76th 

Leg., ch. 391, Sec. 1, 2, eff. Aug. 30, 1999; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, 

Sec. 7, eff. Aug. 30, 1999; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 10.002, eff. 

Sept. 1, 2001. 
 

 

 

 

For expiration of this section, see Subsection (g). 

 

Sec. 382.059.  HEARING AND DECISION ON PERMIT AMENDMENT 

APPLICATION OF CERTAIN ELECTRIC GENERATING FACILITIES.  (a)  

This section applies to a permit amendment application submitted 

solely to allow an electric generating facility to reduce 

emissions and comply with a requirement imposed by Section 112 

of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412) to use 

applicable maximum achievable control technology.  A permit 

amendment application shall include a condition that the 

applicant is required to complete the actions needed for 

compliance by the time allowed under Section 112 of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412). 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.057
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.056
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(b)  The commission shall provide an opportunity for a 

public hearing and the submission of public comment on the 

application in the manner provided by Section 382.0561. 

(c)  Not later than the 45th day after the date the 

application is received, the executive director shall issue a 

draft permit. 

(d)  Not later than the 30th day after the date of issuance 

of the draft permit under Subsection (c), parties may submit to 

the commission any legitimate issues of material fact regarding 

whether the choice of technology approved in the draft permit is 

the maximum achievable control technology required under Section 

112 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412) and 

may request a contested case hearing before the commission.  If 

a party requests a contested case hearing under this subsection, 

the commission shall conduct a contested case hearing and issue 

a final order issuing or denying the permit amendment not later 

than the 120th day after the date of issuance of the draft 

permit under Subsection (c). 

(e)  The commission shall send notice of a decision on an 

application for a permit amendment under this section in the 

manner provided by Section 382.0562. 

(f)  A person affected by a decision of the commission to 

issue or deny a permit amendment may move for rehearing and is 

entitled to judicial review under Section 382.032. 

(g)  This section expires on the sixth anniversary of the 

date the administrator adopts standards for existing electric 

generating facilities under Section 112 of the federal Clean Air 

Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7412), unless a stay of the rules is 

granted. 

(h)  The commission shall adopt rules to implement this 

section. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.27, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0561
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0562
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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Sec. 382.0591.  DENIAL OF APPLICATION FOR PERMIT; 

ASSISTANCE PROVIDED BY FORMER OR CURRENT EMPLOYEES.  (a)  The 

commission shall deny an application for the issuance, 

amendment, renewal, or transfer of a permit and may not issue, 

amend, renew, or transfer the permit if the commission 

determines that: 

(1)  a former employee participated personally and 

substantially as an employee in the commission's review, 

evaluation, or processing of the application before leaving 

employment with the commission; and 

(2)  after leaving employment with the commission, 

that former employee provided assistance to the applicant for 

the issuance, amendment, renewal, or transfer of the permit, 

including assistance with preparation or presentation of the 

application or legal representation of the applicant. 

(b)  The commission or the executive director may not issue 

a federal operating permit for a solid waste incineration unit 

if a member of the commission or the executive director is also 

responsible in whole or in part for the design and construction 

or the operation of the unit. 

(c)  The commission shall provide an opportunity for a 

hearing to an applicant before denying an application under this 

section. 

(d)  Action taken under this section does not prejudice any 

application other than an application in which the former 

employee provided assistance. 

(e)  In this section, "former employee" means a person: 

(1)  who was previously employed by the commission as 

a supervisory or exempt employee; and 

(2)  whose duties during employment with the 

commission included involvement in or supervision of the 

commission's review, evaluation, or processing of applications. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 140, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.  Amended 

by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 22, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th 

Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.170, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 
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Sec. 382.061.  DELEGATION OF POWERS AND DUTIES.  (a)  The 

commission may delegate to the executive director the powers and 

duties under Sections 382.051-382.0563 and 382.059, except for 

the adoption of rules. 

(b)  An applicant or a person affected by a decision of the 

executive director may appeal to the commission any decision 

made by the executive director, with the exception of a decision 

regarding a federal operating permit, under Sections 382.051-

382.055 and 382.059. 

(c)  Any person, including the applicant, affected by a 

decision of the executive director regarding federal operating 

permits may: 

(1)  petition the administrator in accordance with 

rules adopted under Section 382.0563;  or 

(2)  file a petition for judicial review under Section 

382.032. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.16, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 23, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 

Sec. 11.171, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 382.062.  APPLICATION, PERMIT, AND INSPECTION FEES.  

(a)  The commission shall adopt, charge, and collect a fee for: 

(1)  each application for: 

(A)  a permit or permit amendment, revision, or 

modification not subject to Title IV or V of the federal Clean 

Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7651 et seq. and 7661 et seq.); 

(B)  a renewal review of a permit issued under 

Section 382.0518 not subject to Title IV or V of the federal 

Clean Air Act; 

(2)  inspections of a federal source performed to 

enforce this chapter or rules adopted by the commission under 

this chapter until the federal source is required to obtain an 

operating permit under Section 382.054;  and 

(3)  inspections performed to enforce this chapter or 

rules adopted by the commission under this chapter at a facility 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.059
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.059
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0563
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
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not required to obtain an operating permit under Section 

382.054. 

(b)  The commission may adopt rules relating to charging 

and collecting a fee for an exemption, for a permit, for a 

permit by rule, for a voluntary emissions reduction permit, for 

a multiple plant permit, or for a standard permit and for a 

variance. 

(c)  For purposes of the fees, the commission shall treat 

two or more facilities that compose an integrated system or 

process as a single facility if a structure, device, item of 

equipment, or enclosure that constitutes or contains a given 

stationary source operates in conjunction with and is 

functionally integrated with one or more other similar 

structures, devices, items of equipment, or enclosures. 

(d)  A fee assessed under this section may not be less than 

$25 or more than $75,000. 

(e)  The commission by rule shall establish the fees to be 

collected under Subsection (a) in amounts sufficient to recover: 

(1)  the reasonable costs to review and act on a 

variance application and enforce the terms and conditions of the 

variance; and 

(2)  not less than 50 percent of the commission's 

actual annual expenditures to: 

(A)  review and act on permits or special 

permits; 

(B)  amend and review permits; 

(C)  inspect permitted, exempted, and specially 

permitted facilities; and 

(D)  enforce the rules and orders adopted and 

permits, special permits, and exemptions issued under this 

chapter, excluding rules and orders adopted and permits required 

under Title IV or V of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 

Sections 7651 et seq. and 7661 et seq.). 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.18, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 24, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.054
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Sec. 11.172, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 8, eff. 

Aug. 30, 1999. 

Sec. 382.0621.  OPERATING PERMIT FEE.  (a)  The commission

shall adopt, charge, and collect an annual fee based on 

emissions for each source that either: 

(1) is subject to permitting requirements of Title IV

or V of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 

101-549); or

(2) is based on plant operations, and the rate of

emissions at the time the fee is due would be subject to the 

permitting requirements if the requirements were in effect on 

that date. 

(b) Fees imposed under this section shall be at least

sufficient to cover all reasonably necessary direct and indirect 

costs of developing and administering the permit program under 

Titles IV and V of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 

(Pub.L. No. 101-549), including the reasonable costs of: 

(1) reviewing and acting on any application for a

Title IV or V permit; 

(2) implementing and enforcing the terms and

conditions of a Title IV or V permit, excluding any court costs 

or other costs associated with any enforcement action; 

(3) emissions and ambient monitoring;

(4) preparing generally applicable regulations or

guidance; 

(5) modeling, analyses, and demonstrations; and

(6) preparing inventories and tracking emissions.

(c) The commission by rule may provide for the automatic

annual increase of fees imposed under this section by the 

percentage, if any, by which the consumer price index for the 

preceding calendar year exceeds the consumer price index for 

calendar year 1989.  For purposes of this subsection: 

(1) the consumer price index for any calendar year is

the average of the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers 

published by the United States Department of Labor as of the 
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close of the 12-month period ending on August 31 of each 

calendar year; and 

(2)  the revision of the consumer price index that is 

most consistent with the consumer price index for calendar year 

1989 shall be used. 

(d)  Except as provided by this section, the commission may 

not impose a fee for any amount of emissions of an air 

contaminant regulated under the federal Clean Air Act Amendments 

of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549) in excess of 4,000 tons per year 

from any source.  On and after September 1, 2001, for a facility 

that is not subject to the requirement to obtain a permit under 

Section 382.0518(g) that does not have a permit application 

pending, the commission shall: 

(1)  impose a fee under this section for all 

emissions, including emissions in excess of 4,000 tons; and 

(2)  treble the amount of the fee imposed for 

emissions in excess of 4,000 tons each fiscal year. 

(e)  This section does not restrict the authority of the 

commission under Section 382.062 to impose fees on sources not 

subject to the permitting requirements of Title IV or V of the 

federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549). 

(f)  The commission may impose fees for emissions of 

greenhouse gas only to the extent the fees are necessary to 

cover the commission's additional reasonably necessary direct 

costs of implementing Section 382.05102. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.19, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.173, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 406, Sec. 9, eff. Aug. 30, 1999. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 272 (H.B. 788), Sec. 3, eff. June 14, 

2013. 
 

 

Sec. 382.0622.  CLEAN AIR ACT FEES.  (a)  Clean Air Act 

fees consist of: 

(1)  fees collected by the commission under Sections 

382.062, 382.0621, 382.202, and 382.302 and as otherwise 

provided by law; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.062
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.05102
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB00788F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.062
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0621
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.302
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(2)  $2 from the portion of each fee collected for 

inspections of vehicles other than mopeds and remitted to the 

state under Sections 548.501 and 548.503, Transportation Code; 

and 

(3)  fees collected that are required under Section 

185 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7511d). 

(b)  Except as provided by Subsection (b-1), Clean Air Act 

fees shall be deposited in the state treasury to the credit of 

the clean air account and shall be used to safeguard the air 

resources of the state. 

(b-1)  Fees collected under Section 382.0621(a) on or after 

September 1, 2003, shall be deposited in the state treasury to 

the credit of the operating permit fees account.  Fees collected 

under Section 382.0621(a) may not be commingled with any fees in 

the clean air account or with any other money in the state 

treasury. 

(b-2) Money in the operating permit fees account 

established under Subsection (b-1) may be appropriated to the 

commission only to cover the costs of developing and 

administering the federal permit programs under Title IV or V of 

the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7651 et seq. and 

Section 7661 et seq.). 

(b-3)  Section 403.095, Government Code, does not apply to 

the operating permit fees account established under Subsection 

(b-1), and any balance remaining in the operating permit fees 

account at the end of a fiscal year shall be left in the account 

and used in the next or subsequent fiscal years only for the 

purposes stated in Subsection (b-2). 

(c)  The commission shall request the appropriation of 

sufficient money to safeguard the air resources of the state, 

including payments to the Public Safety Commission for 

incidental costs of administering the vehicle emissions 

inspection and maintenance program, except that after the date 

of delegation of the state's permitting program under Title V of 

the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7661 et seq.), 

fees collected under Section 382.0621(a) may be appropriated 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.501
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.503
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0621
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0621
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=403.095
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0621
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only to cover costs of developing and administering the federal 

permit program under Titles IV and V of the federal Clean Air 

Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7651 et seq. and 7661 et seq.). 

(d)(1) Through the option of contracting for air pollution 

control services, including but not limited to compliance and 

permit inspections and complaint response, the commission may 

utilize appropriated money to purchase services from units of 

local government meeting each of the following criteria: 

(A) the unit of local government received

federal fiscal year 1990 funds from the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency pursuant to Section 105 of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7405) for the operation 

of an air pollution program by formal agreement; 

(B) the local unit of government is in a

federally designated nonattainment area subject to 

implementation plan requirements, including automobile emission 

inspection and maintenance programs, under Title I of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Sections 7401-7515); and 

(C) the local unit of government has not caused

the United States Environmental Protection Agency to provide 

written notification that a deficiency in the quality or 

quantity of services provided by its air pollution program is 

jeopardizing compliance with a state implementation plan, a 

federal program delegation agreement, or any other federal 

requirement for which federal sanctions can be imposed. 

(2) The commission may request appropriations of

sufficient money to contract for services of local units of 

government meeting the eligibility criteria of this subsection 

to ensure that the combination of federal and state funds 

annually available for an air pollution program is equal to or 

greater than the program costs for the operation of an air 

quality program by the local unit of government.  The commission 

is encouraged to fund an air pollution program operated by a 

local unit of government meeting the eligibility criteria of 

this subsection in a manner the commission deems an effective 

means of addressing federal and state requirements.  The 
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services to be provided by an eligible local unit of government 

under a contractual arrangement under this subsection shall be 

at least equal in quality and quantity to the services the local 

unit of government committed to provide in agreements under 

which it received its federal 1990 air pollution grant.  The 

commission and the local units of government meeting the 

eligibility criteria of this subsection may agree to more 

extensive contractual arrangements. 

(3) Nothing in this subsection shall prohibit a local

unit of government from voluntarily discontinuing an air 

pollution program and thereby relinquishing this responsibility 

to the state. 

(e) Repealed by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262, Sec.

1.10(1), eff. June 8, 2007. 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.20, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 25, eff. Sept. 1, 1993;  

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.174, eff. Sept. 1, 1995;  Acts 1997, 

75th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 30.209, eff. Sept. 1, 1997;  Acts 1997, 75th Leg., 

ch. 333, Sec. 74, eff. Sept. 1, 1997;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 

2, eff. Sept. 1, 2001;  Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 203, Sec. 2, eff. June 10, 

2003;  Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 552, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 958 (H.B. 1611), Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 2005. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.02, eff. June 8, 

2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.10(1), eff. June 

8, 2007. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 11, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1291 (H.B. 2305), Sec. 5, eff. March 

1, 2015. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 448 (H.B. 7), Sec. 21, eff. September 

1, 2015. 

Sec. 382.063.  ISSUANCE OF EMERGENCY ORDER BECAUSE OF 

CATASTROPHE.  (a)  The commission may issue an emergency order

because of catastrophe under Section 5.515, Water Code. 

(b) In this section, "catastrophe" means an unforeseen

event, including an act of God, an act of war, severe weather, 

explosions, fire, or similar occurrences beyond the reasonable 

control of the operator that makes a facility or its 

functionally related appurtenances inoperable. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB01611F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02305F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00007F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.515
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Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(49), 11.175, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 

1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 44, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 382.064.  INITIAL APPLICATION DATE.  An application 

for a federal operating permit is not required to be submitted 

to the commission before the approval of the Title V permitting 

program by the United States Environmental Protection Agency. 

Added by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 26, eff. June 9, 1993.  Amended 

by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.176, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Sec. 382.065.  CERTAIN LOCATIONS FOR OPERATING CONCRETE 

CRUSHING FACILITY PROHIBITED.  (a)  The commission by rule shall 

prohibit the operation of a concrete crushing facility within 

440 yards of a building in use as a single or multifamily 

residence, school, or place of worship at the time the 

application for a permit to operate the facility at a site near 

the residence, school, or place of worship is filed with the 

commission.  The measurement of distance for purposes of this 

subsection shall be taken from the point on the concrete 

crushing facility that is nearest to the residence, school, or 

place of worship toward the point on the residence, school, or 

place of worship that is nearest the concrete crushing facility. 

(b) Subsection (a) does not apply to a concrete crushing

facility: 

(1) at a location for which commission authorization

for the operation of a concrete crushing facility was in effect 

on September 1, 2001; 

(2) at a location that satisfies the distance

requirements of Subsection (a) at the time the application for 

the initial authorization for the operation of that facility at 

that location is filed with the commission, provided that the 

authorization is granted and maintained, regardless of whether a 

single or multifamily residence, school, or place of worship is 

subsequently built or put to use within 440 yards of the 

facility; or 
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(3) that:

(A) uses a concrete crusher:

(i) in the manufacture of products that

contain recycled materials; and 

(ii) that is located in an enclosed

building; and 

(B) is located:

(i) within 25 miles of an international

border; and 

(ii) in a municipality with a population of

not less than 6,100 but not more than 20,000. 

(c) Except as provided by Subsection (d), Subsection (a)

does not apply to a concrete crushing facility that: 

(1) is engaged in crushing concrete and other

materials produced by the demolition of a structure at the 

location of the structure and the concrete and other materials 

are being crushed primarily for use at that location; 

(2) operates at that location for not more than 180

days; 

(3) the commission determines will cause no adverse

environmental or health effects by operating at that location; 

and 

(4) complies with conditions stated in commission

rules, including operating conditions. 

(d) Notwithstanding Subsection (c), Subsection (a) applies

to a concrete crushing facility in a county with a population of 

3.3 million or more or in a county adjacent to such a county. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.07, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1054, Sec. 2, eff. June 20, 2003. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1089 (S.B. 1250), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1163 (H.B. 2702), Sec. 46, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 382.066.  SHIPYARD FACILITIES.  (a)  In this section,

"shipyard" means a shipbuilding or ship repair operation. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01250F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02702F.HTM
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(b) In determining whether to issue, or in conducting a

review of, a permit or other authorization issued or adopted 

under this chapter for a shipyard, the commission: 

(1) may not require and may not consider air

dispersion modeling results predicting ambient concentrations of 

noncriteria pollutants over coastal waters of the state; and 

(2) shall determine compliance with noncriteria

ambient air pollutant standards and guidelines according to the 

land-based off-property concentrations of air contaminants. 

(c) This section does not limit the commission's authority

to take an enforcement action in response to a condition that 

constitutes a nuisance. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1166, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Renumbered from Health & Safety Code Sec. 382.065 by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., 

ch. 1275, Sec. 2(94), eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Sec. 382.068.  POULTRY FACILITY ODOR; RESPONSE TO 

COMPLAINTS.  (a)  In this section, "poultry facility" and 

"poultry litter" have the meanings assigned by Section 26.301, 

Water Code. 

(b) The commission shall respond and investigate not later

than 18 hours after receiving: 

(1) a second complaint against a poultry facility

concerning odor associated with: 

(A) the facility; or

(B) the application of poultry litter to land by

the poultry facility; or 

(2) a complaint concerning odor from a poultry

facility at which the commission has substantiated odor nuisance 

conditions in the previous 12 months. 

(c) If after the investigation the commission determines

that a poultry facility is violating the terms of its air 

quality authorization or is creating a nuisance, the commission 

shall issue a notice of violation. 

(d) The commission by rule or order shall require the

owner or operator of a poultry facility for which the commission 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.301
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has issued three notices of violation under this section during 

a 12-month period to enter into a comprehensive compliance 

agreement with the commission.  The compliance agreement must 

include an odor control plan that the executive director 

determines is sufficient to control odors. 

(e)  The owner or operator of a new poultry facility shall 

complete a poultry facility training course on the prevention of 

poultry facility odor nuisances from the poultry science unit of 

the Texas AgriLife Extension Service not later than the 90th day 

after the date the facility first accepts poultry to raise.  The 

owner or operator of a new poultry facility shall maintain 

records of the training and make the records available to the 

commission for inspection. 

(f)  The poultry science unit of the Texas AgriLife 

Extension Service may charge an owner or operator of a poultry 

facility a training fee to offset the direct cost of providing 

the training. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1386 (S.B. 1693), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER D. PENALTIES AND ENFORCEMENT 
 

Sec. 382.085.  UNAUTHORIZED EMISSIONS PROHIBITED.  (a)  

Except as authorized by a commission rule or order, a person may 

not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the emission of any air 

contaminant or the performance of any activity that causes or 

contributes to, or that will cause or contribute to, air 

pollution. 

(b)  A person may not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the 

emission of any air contaminant or the performance of any 

activity in violation of this chapter or of any commission rule 

or order. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.180, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1997, 75th 

Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 45, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/SB01693F.HTM
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SUBCHAPTER E. AUTHORITY OF LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Sec. 382.111.  INSPECTIONS; POWER TO ENTER PROPERTY.  (a)  

A local government has the same power and is subject to the same 

restrictions as the commission under Section 382.015 to inspect 

the air and to enter public or private property in its 

territorial jurisdiction to determine if: 

(1) the level of air contaminants in an area in its

territorial jurisdiction and the emissions from a source meet 

the levels set by: 

(A) the commission; or

(B) a municipality's governing body under

Section 382.113;  or 

(2) a person is complying with this chapter or a

rule, variance, or order issued by the commission. 

(b) A local government shall send the results of its

inspections to the commission when requested by the commission. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.187, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Sec. 382.112.  RECOMMENDATIONS TO COMMISSION.  A local 

government may make recommendations to the commission concerning 

a rule, determination, variance, or order of the commission that 

affects an area in the local government's territorial 

jurisdiction.  The commission shall give maximum consideration 

to a local government's recommendations. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.187, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Sec. 382.113.  AUTHORITY OF MUNICIPALITIES.  (a)  Subject 

to Section 381.002, a municipality has the powers and rights as 

are otherwise vested by law in the municipality to: 

(1) abate a nuisance; and

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.015
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.113
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(2) enact and enforce an ordinance for the control

and abatement of air pollution, or any other ordinance, not 

inconsistent with this chapter or the commission's rules or 

orders. 

(b) An ordinance enacted by a municipality must be

consistent with this chapter and the commission's rules and 

orders and may not make unlawful a condition or act approved or 

authorized under this chapter or the commission's rules or 

orders. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.187, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

Sec. 382.115.  COOPERATIVE AGREEMENTS.  A local government 

may execute cooperative agreements with the commission or other 

local governments: 

(1) to provide for the performance of air quality

management, inspection, and enforcement functions and to provide 

technical aid and educational services to a party to the 

agreement; and 

(2) for the transfer of money or property from a

party to the agreement to another party to the agreement for the 

purpose of air quality management, inspection, enforcement, 

technical aid, and education. 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.189, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

SUBCHAPTER G. VEHICLE EMISSIONS 

Sec. 382.201.  DEFINITIONS.  In this subchapter: 

(1) "Affected county" means a county with a motor

vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance program established 

under Section 548.301, Transportation Code. 

(2) "Commercial vehicle" means a vehicle that is

owned or leased in the regular course of business of a 

commercial or business entity. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.301
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(3)  "Fleet vehicle" means a motor vehicle operated as 

one of a group that consists of more than 10 motor vehicles and 

that is owned and operated by a public or commercial entity or 

by a private entity other than a single household. 

(4)  "Participating county" means an affected county 

in which the commissioners court by resolution has chosen to 

implement a low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and 

accelerated vehicle retirement program authorized by Section 

382.209. 

(5)  "Retrofit" means to equip, or the equipping of, 

an engine or an exhaust or fuel system with new, emissions-

reducing parts or equipment designed to reduce air emissions and 

improve air quality, after the manufacture of the original 

engine or exhaust or fuel system, so long as the parts or 

equipment allow the vehicle to meet or exceed state and federal 

air emissions reduction standards. 

(6)  "Retrofit equipment" means emissions-reducing 

equipment designed to reduce air emissions and improve air 

quality that is installed after the manufacture of the original 

engine or exhaust or fuel system. 

(7)  "Vehicle" includes a fleet vehicle. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.202.  VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE 

PROGRAM.  (a)  The commission by resolution may request the 

Public Safety Commission to establish a vehicle emissions 

inspection and maintenance program under Subchapter F, Chapter 

548, Transportation Code, in accordance with this section and 

rules adopted under this section.  The commission by rule may 

establish, implement, and administer a program requiring 

emissions-related inspections of motor vehicles to be performed 

at inspection facilities consistent with the requirements of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 et seq.) and its 

subsequent amendments. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.301
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548
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(b) The commission by rule may require emissions-related

inspection and maintenance of land vehicles, including testing 

exhaust emissions, examining emission control devices and 

systems, verifying compliance with applicable standards, and 

other requirements as provided by federal law or regulation. 

(c) If the program is established under this section, the

commission: 

(1) shall adopt vehicle emissions inspection and

maintenance requirements for certain areas as required by 

federal law or regulation; and 

(2) shall adopt vehicle emissions inspection and

maintenance requirements for counties not subject to a specific 

federal requirement in response to a formal request by 

resolutions adopted by the county and the most populous 

municipality within the county according to the most recent 

federal decennial census. 

(d) On adoption of a resolution by the commission and

after proper notice, the Department of Public Safety of the 

State of Texas shall implement a system that requires, as a 

condition of obtaining a passing vehicle inspection report 

issued under Subchapter C, Chapter 548, Transportation Code, in 

a county that is included in a vehicle emissions inspection and 

maintenance program under Subchapter F of that chapter, that the 

vehicle, unless the vehicle is not covered by the system, be 

annually or biennially inspected under the vehicle emissions 

inspection and maintenance program as required by the state's 

air quality state implementation plan.  The Department of Public 

Safety shall implement such a system when it is required by any 

provision of federal or state law, including any provision of 

the state's air quality state implementation plan. 

(d-1)  The commission may adopt rules providing for the 

inclusion on a vehicle inspection report for a vehicle inspected 

in a county that is included in a vehicle emissions inspection 

and maintenance program under Subchapter F, Chapter 548, 

Transportation Code, of notification regarding whether the 

vehicle is subject to a safety recall for which the vehicle has 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.301
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548
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not been repaired or the repairs are incomplete.  The commission 

may accept gifts, grants, and donations from any source, 

including private and nonprofit organizations, for the purpose 

of providing the notification described by this subsection. 

(e)  The commission may assess fees for vehicle emissions-

related inspections performed at inspection or reinspection 

facilities authorized and licensed by the commission in amounts 

reasonably necessary to recover the costs of developing, 

administering, evaluating, and enforcing the vehicle emissions 

inspection and maintenance program.  If the program relies on 

privately operated or contractor-operated inspection or 

reinspection stations, an appropriate portion of the fee as 

determined by commission rule may be retained by the station 

owner, contractor, or operator to recover the cost of performing 

the inspections and provide for a reasonable margin of profit.  

Any portion of the fee collected by the commission is a Clean 

Air Act fee under Section 382.0622. 

(f)  The commission: 

(1)  shall, no less frequently than biennially, review 

the fee established under Subsection (e); and 

(2)  may use part of the fee collected under 

Subsection (e) to provide incentives, including financial 

incentives, for participation in the testing network to ensure 

availability of an adequate number of testing stations. 

(g)  The commission shall: 

(1)  use part of the fee collected under Subsection 

(e) to fund low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and 

accelerated vehicle retirement programs created under Section 

382.209;  and 

(2)  to the extent practicable, distribute available 

funding created under Subsection (e) to participating counties 

in reasonable proportion to the amount of fees collected under 

Subsection (e) in those counties or in the regions in which 

those counties are located. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0622
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
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(h)  Regardless of whether different tests are used for 

different vehicles as determined under Section 382.205, the 

commission may: 

(1)  set fees assessed under Subsection (e) at the 

same rate for each vehicle in a county or region; and 

(2)  set different fees for different counties or 

regions. 

(i)  The commission shall examine the efficacy of annually 

inspecting diesel vehicles for compliance with applicable 

federal emission standards, compliance with an opacity or other 

emissions-related standard established by commission rule, or 

both and shall implement that inspection program if the 

commission determines the program would minimize emissions.  For 

purposes of this subsection, a diesel engine not used in a 

vehicle registered for use on public highways is not a diesel 

vehicle. 

(j)  The commission may not establish, before January 1, 

2004, vehicle fuel content standards to provide for vehicle fuel 

content for clean motor vehicle fuels for any area of the state 

that are more stringent or restrictive than those standards 

promulgated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

applicable to that area except as provided in Subsection (o) 

unless the fuel is specifically authorized by the legislature. 

(k)  The commission by rule may establish classes of 

vehicles that are exempt from vehicle emissions inspections and 

by rule may establish procedures to allow and review petitions 

for the exemption of individual vehicles, according to criteria 

established by commission rule.  Rules adopted by the commission 

under this subsection must be consistent with federal law.  The 

commission by rule may establish fees to recover the costs of 

administering this subsection.  Fees collected under this 

subsection shall be deposited to the credit of the clean air 

account, an account in the general revenue fund, and may be used 

only for the purposes of this section. 

(l)  Except as provided by this subsection, a person who 

sells or transfers ownership of a motor vehicle for which a 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.205
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passing vehicle inspection report has been issued is not liable 

for the cost of emission control system repairs that are 

required for the vehicle subsequently to receive a passing 

report.  This subsection does not apply to repairs that are 

required because emission control equipment or devices on the 

vehicle were removed or tampered with before the sale or 

transfer of the vehicle. 

(m)  The commission may conduct audits to determine 

compliance with this section. 

(n)  The commission may suspend the emissions inspection 

program as it applies to pre-1996 vehicles in an affected county 

if: 

(1)  the department certifies that the number of pre-

1996 vehicles in the county subject to the program is 20 percent 

or less of the number of those vehicles that were in the county 

on September 1, 2001; and 

(2)  an alternative testing methodology that meets or 

exceeds United States Environmental Protection Agency 

requirements is available. 

(o)  The commission may not require the distribution of 

Texas low-emission diesel as described in revisions to the State 

Implementation Plan for the control of ozone air pollution prior 

to February 1, 2005. 

(p)  The commission may consider, as an alternative method 

of compliance with Subsection (o), fuels to achieve equivalent 

emissions reductions. 

(q)  Repealed by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262, Sec. 

1.10(2), eff. June 8, 2007. 

(r)  Repealed by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262, Sec. 

1.10(2), eff. June 8, 2007. 
 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 678, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1989.  Amended by Acts 

1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.25, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1993, 

73rd Leg., ch. 547, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1993;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 1, 

Sec. 1, eff. Jan. 31, 1995;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 34, Sec. 1, 9(1), (3), 

eff. May 1, 1995;  Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.157, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995;  Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 30.207, eff. Sept. 1, 1997;  Acts 

1997, 75th Leg., ch. 333, Sec. 73, eff. Sept. 1, 1997;  Acts 1997, 75th Leg., 

ch. 1069, Sec. 1, eff. June 19, 1997.  Renumbered from Health & Safety Code 
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Sec. 382.037 and amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. 

Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 10.008(a), eff. Sept. 1, 

2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 958 (H.B. 1611), Sec. 2, eff. June 18, 2005. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.10(2), eff. June 

8, 2007. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1291 (H.B. 2305), Sec. 6, eff. March 

1, 2015. 

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 971 (S.B. 711), Sec. 1, eff. September 

1, 2019. 

 

 

Sec. 382.203.  VEHICLES SUBJECT TO PROGRAM; EXEMPTIONS.  

(a)  The inspection and maintenance program applies to any 

gasoline-powered vehicle that is: 

(1)  required to be registered in and is primarily 

operated in an affected county; and 

(2)  at least two and less than 25 years old; or 

(3)  subject to test-on-resale requirements under 

Section 548.3011, Transportation Code. 

(b)  In addition to a vehicle described by Subsection (a), 

the program applies to: 

(1)  a vehicle with United States governmental plates 

primarily operated in an affected county; 

(2)  a vehicle operated on a federal facility in an 

affected county; and 

(3)  a vehicle primarily operated in an affected 

county that is exempt from motor vehicle registration 

requirements or eligible under Chapter 502, Transportation Code, 

to display an "exempt" license plate. 

(c)  The Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas 

by rule may waive program requirements, in accordance with 

standards adopted by the commission, for certain vehicles and 

vehicle owners, including: 

(1)  the registered owner of a vehicle who cannot 

afford to comply with the program, based on reasonable income 

standards; 

(2)  a vehicle that cannot be brought into compliance 

with emissions standards by performing repairs; 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB01611F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02305F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/SB00711F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.3011
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=502
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(3) a vehicle:

(A) on which at least $100 has been spent to

bring the vehicle into compliance; and 

(B) that the department:

(i) can verify was driven fewer than 5,000

miles since the last safety inspection; and 

(ii) reasonably determines will be driven

fewer than 5,000 miles during the period before the next safety 

inspection is required; and 

(4) a vehicle for which parts are not readily

available. 

(d) The program does not apply to a:

(1) motorcycle;

(2) slow-moving vehicle as defined by Section

547.001, Transportation Code;  or 

(3) vehicle that is registered but not operated

primarily in a county or group of counties subject to a motor 

vehicle emissions inspection program established under 

Subchapter F, Chapter 548, Transportation Code. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1069, Sec. 2, eff. June 19, 1997.  

Renumbered from Sec. 382.0372 and amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, 

Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.204.  REMOTE SENSING PROGRAM COMPONENT.  (a)   The

commission and the Department of Public Safety of the State of 

Texas jointly shall develop a program component for enforcing 

vehicle emissions testing and standards by use of remote or 

automatic emissions detection and analysis equipment. 

(b) The program component may be employed in any county

designated as a nonattainment area within the meaning of Section 

107(d) of the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7407) and its 

subsequent amendments, in any affected county, or in any county 

adjacent to an affected county. 

(c) If a vehicle registered in a county adjacent to an

affected county is detected under the program component 

authorized by this section as operating and exceeding acceptable 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=547.001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.301
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548
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emissions limitations in an affected county, the department 

shall provide notice of the violation under Section 548.306, 

Transportation Code. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1069, Sec. 2, eff. June 19, 1997.  

Renumbered from Sec. 382.0373 and amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, 

Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.205.  INSPECTION EQUIPMENT AND PROCEDURES.  (a)   

The commission by rule may adopt: 

(1) standards and specifications for motor vehicle

emissions testing equipment; 

(2) recordkeeping and reporting procedures; and

(3) measurable emissions standards a vehicle must

meet to pass the inspection. 

(b) In adopting standards and specifications under

Subsection (a), the commission may require different types of 

tests for different vehicle models.  

(c) In consultation with the Department of Public Safety

of the State of Texas, the commission may contract with one or 

more private entities to provide testing equipment, training, 

and related services to inspection stations in exchange for part 

of the testing fee.  A contract under this subsection may apply 

to one specified area of the state or to the entire state.  The 

commission at least once during each year shall review each 

contract entered into under this subsection to determine whether 

the contracting entity is performing satisfactorily under the 

terms of the contract.  Immediately after completing the review, 

the commission shall prepare a report summarizing the review and 

send a copy of the report to the speaker of the house of 

representatives, the lieutenant governor, and the governor. 

(d) The Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas

by rule shall adopt: 

(1) testing procedures in accordance with motor

vehicle emissions testing equipment specifications; and 

(2) procedures for issuing a vehicle inspection

report following an emissions inspection and submitting 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.306
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information to the inspection database described by Section 

548.251, Transportation Code, following an emissions inspection. 

(e) The commission and the Department of Public Safety of

the State of Texas by joint rule may adopt procedures to 

encourage a stable private market for providing emissions 

testing to the public in all areas of an affected county, 

including: 

(1) allowing facilities to perform one or more types

of emissions tests; and 

(2) any other measure the commission and the

Department of Public Safety consider appropriate. 

(f) Rules and procedures under this section must ensure

that approved repair facilities participating in a low-income 

vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle 

retirement program established under Section 382.209 have access 

to adequate testing equipment. 

(g) Subject to Subsection (h), the commission and the

Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas by rule may 

allow alternative vehicle emissions testing if: 

(1) the technology provides accurate and reliable

results; 

(2) the technology is widely and readily available to

persons interested in performing alternative vehicle emissions 

testing; and 

(3) the use of alternative testing is not likely to

substantially affect federal approval of the state's air quality 

state implementation plan. 

(h) A rule adopted under Subsection (g) may not be more

restrictive than federal regulations governing vehicle emissions 

testing. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1069, Sec. 2, eff. June 19, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1189, Sec. 42, eff. Sept. 1, 1999.  Renumbered 

from Sec. 382.0374 and amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, 

eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1291 (H.B. 2305), Sec. 7, eff. March 

1, 2015. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.251
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02305F.HTM
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Sec. 382.206.  COLLECTION OF DATA; REPORT.  (a)  The 

commission and the Department of Public Safety of the State of 

Texas may collect inspection and maintenance information derived 

from the emissions inspection and maintenance program, 

including: 

(1)  inspection results; 

(2)  inspection station information; 

(3)  information regarding vehicles operated on 

federal facilities; 

(4)  vehicle registration information; and 

(5)  other data the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency requires. 

(b)  The commission shall: 

(1)  report the information to the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency; and 

(2)  compare the information on inspection results 

with registration information for enforcement purposes. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1069, Sec. 2, eff. June 19, 1997.  

Renumbered from Sec. 382.0375 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. 

Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.207.  INSPECTION STATIONS; QUALITY CONTROL AUDITS.  

(a)  The Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas by 

rule shall adopt standards and procedures for establishing 

vehicle emissions inspection stations authorized and licensed by 

the state. 

(b)  A vehicle emissions inspection may be performed at a 

decentralized independent inspection station or at a centralized 

inspection facility operated or licensed by the state.  In 

developing the program for vehicle emissions inspections, the 

Department of Public Safety shall make all reasonable efforts to 

preserve the present decentralized system. 

(c)  After consultation with the Texas Department of 

Transportation, the commission shall require state and local 

transportation planning entities designated by the commission to 
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prepare long-term projections of the combined impact of 

significant planned transportation system changes on emissions 

and air quality.  The projections shall be prepared using air 

pollution estimation methodologies established jointly by the 

commission and the Texas Department of Transportation.  This 

subsection does not restrict the Texas Department of 

Transportation's function as the transportation planning body 

for the state or its role in identifying and initiating specific 

transportation-related projects in the state. 

(d)  The Department of Public Safety may authorize 

enforcement personnel or other individuals to remove, 

disconnect, adjust, or make inoperable vehicle emissions control 

equipment, devices, or systems and to operate a vehicle in the 

tampered condition in order to perform a quality control audit 

of an inspection station or other quality control activities as 

necessary to assess and ensure the effectiveness of the vehicle 

emissions inspection and maintenance program. 

(e)  The Department of Public Safety shall develop a 

challenge station program to provide for the reinspection of a 

motor vehicle at the option of the owner of the vehicle to 

ensure quality control of a vehicle emissions inspection and 

maintenance system. 

(f)  The commission may contract with one or more private 

entities to operate a program established under this section. 

(g)  In addition to other procedures established by the 

commission, the commission shall establish procedures by which a 

private entity with whom the commission has entered into a 

contract to operate a program established under this section may 

agree to perform: 

(1)  testing at a fleet facility or dealership using 

mobile test equipment; 

(2)  testing at a fleet facility or dealership using 

test equipment owned by the fleet or dealership but calibrated 

and operated by the private entity's personnel; or 
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(3)  testing at a fleet facility or dealership using 

test equipment owned and operated by the private entity and 

installed at the fleet or dealership facility. 

(h)  The fee for a test conducted as provided by Subsection 

(g) shall be set by the commission in an amount not to exceed 

twice the fee otherwise provided by law or by rule of the 

commission.  An appropriate portion of the fee, as determined by 

the commission, may be remitted by the private entity to the 

fleet facility or dealership. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.26, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 547, Sec. 2, eff. Aug. 30, 1993; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 34, Sec. 3, eff. May 1, 1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., 

ch. 76, Sec. 11.158, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 

22(41), eff. Sept. 1, 1995.  Renumbered from Sec. 382.038 by Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.208.  ATTAINMENT PROGRAM.  (a)  Except as provided 

by Section 382.202(j) or another provision of this chapter, the 

commission shall coordinate with federal, state, and local 

transportation planning agencies to develop and implement 

transportation programs and other measures necessary to 

demonstrate and maintain attainment of national ambient air 

quality standards and to protect the public from exposure to 

hazardous air contaminants from motor vehicles. 

(b)  Participating agencies include the Texas Department of 

Transportation and metropolitan planning organizations 

designated by the governor. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.26, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.158, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 22(42), eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 15.03, eff; Sept. 1, 2001.  Renumbered from 

Sec. 382.039 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch; 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; 

Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 10.008(c), eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 382.209.  LOW-INCOME VEHICLE REPAIR ASSISTANCE, 

RETROFIT, AND ACCELERATED VEHICLE RETIREMENT PROGRAM.  (a)  The 

commission and the Public Safety Commission by joint rule shall 

establish and authorize the commissioners court of a 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
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participating county to implement a low-income vehicle repair 

assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement program 

subject to agency oversight that may include reasonable periodic 

commission audits. 

(b)  The commission shall provide funding for local low-

income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated 

vehicle retirement programs with available funds collected under 

Section 382.202, 382.302, or other designated and available 

funds.  The programs shall be administered in accordance with 

Chapter 783, Government Code.  Program costs may include call 

center management, application oversight, invoice analysis, 

education, outreach, and advertising.  Not more than 10 percent 

of the money provided to a local low-income vehicle repair 

assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement program 

under this section may be used for the administration of the 

programs, including program costs. 

(c)  The rules adopted under Subsection (a) must provide 

procedures for ensuring that a program implemented under 

authority of that subsection does not apply to a vehicle that 

is: 

(1)  registered under Section 504.501 or 504.502, 

Transportation Code; and 

(2)  not regularly used for transportation during the 

normal course of daily activities. 

(d)  Subject to the availability of funds, a low-income 

vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle 

retirement program established under this section shall provide 

monetary or other compensatory assistance for: 

(1)  repairs directly related to bringing certain 

vehicles that have failed a required emissions test into 

compliance with emissions requirements; 

(2)  a replacement vehicle or replacement assistance 

for a vehicle that has failed a required emissions test and for 

which the cost of repairs needed to bring the vehicle into 

compliance is uneconomical; and 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.302
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=783
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=504.501
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=504.502
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(3) installing retrofit equipment on vehicles that

have failed a required emissions test, if practically and 

economically feasible, in lieu of or in combination with repairs 

performed under Subdivision (1).  The commission and the 

Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas shall 

establish standards and specifications for retrofit equipment 

that may be used under this section. 

(e) A vehicle is not eligible to participate in a low-

income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated 

vehicle retirement program established under this section 

unless: 

(1) the vehicle is capable of being operated;

(2) the registration of the vehicle:

(A) is current; and

(B) reflects that the vehicle has been

registered in the county implementing the program for at least 

12 of the 15 months preceding the application for participation 

in the program; 

(3) the commissioners court of the county

administering the program determines that the vehicle meets the 

eligibility criteria adopted by the commission, the Texas 

Department of Motor Vehicles, and the Public Safety Commission; 

(4) if the vehicle is to be repaired, the repair is

done by a repair facility recognized by the Department of Public 

Safety, which may be an independent or private entity licensed 

by the state; and 

(5) if the vehicle is to be retired under this

subsection and Section 382.213, the replacement vehicle is a 

qualifying motor vehicle. 

(f) A fleet vehicle, a vehicle owned or leased by a

governmental entity, or a commercial vehicle is not eligible to 

participate in a low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, 

and accelerated vehicle retirement program established and 

implemented under this section. 

(g) A participating county may contract with any

appropriate entity, including the regional council of 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.213
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governments or the metropolitan planning organization in the 

appropriate region, or with another county for services 

necessary to implement the participating county's low-income 

vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle 

retirement program.  The participating counties in a 

nonattainment region or counties participating in an early 

action compact under Subchapter H may agree to have the money 

collected in any one county be used in any other participating 

county in the same region.  

(h)  Participation by an affected county in a low-income 

vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle 

retirement program is not mandatory.  To the extent allowed by 

federal law, any emissions reductions attributable to a low-

income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated 

vehicle retirement program in a county that are attained during 

a period before the county is designated as a nonattainment 

county shall be considered emissions reductions credit if the 

county is later determined to be a nonattainment county. 

(i)  Notwithstanding the vehicle replacement requirements 

provided by Subsection (d)(2), the commission by rule may 

provide monetary or other compensatory assistance under the low-

income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated 

vehicle retirement program, subject to the availability of 

funds, for the replacement of a vehicle that meets the following 

criteria: 

(1)  the vehicle is gasoline-powered and is at least 

10 years old; 

(2)  the vehicle owner meets applicable financial 

eligibility criteria; 

(3)  the vehicle meets the requirements provided by 

Subsections (e)(1) and (2); and 

(4)  the vehicle has passed a Department of Public 

Safety motor vehicle safety inspection or safety and emissions 

inspection within the 15-month period before the application is 

submitted. 
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(j)  The commission may provide monetary or other 

compensatory assistance under the low-income vehicle repair 

assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement program 

for a replacement vehicle or replacement assistance for a pre-

1996 model year replacement vehicle that passes the required 

United States Environmental Protection Agency Start-Up 

Acceleration Simulation Mode Standards emissions test but that 

would have failed the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency Final Acceleration Simulation Mode Standards emissions 

test or failed to meet some other criterion determined by the 

commission; provided, however, that a replacement vehicle under 

this subsection must be a qualifying motor vehicle. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 958 (H.B. 1611), Sec. 3, eff. June 18, 2005. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.03, eff. June 8, 

2007. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 933 (H.B. 3097), Sec. 3F.01, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 91 (S.B. 1303), Sec. 12.004, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 347 (H.B. 3272), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.210.  IMPLEMENTATION GUIDELINES AND REQUIREMENTS.  

(a)  The commission by rule shall adopt guidelines to assist a 

participating county in implementing a low-income vehicle repair 

assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement program 

authorized under Section 382.209.  The guidelines at a minimum 

shall recommend: 

(1)  a minimum and maximum amount for repair 

assistance; 

(2)  a minimum and maximum amount toward the purchase 

price of a replacement vehicle qualified for the accelerated 

retirement program, based on vehicle type and model year, with 

the maximum amount not to exceed: 

(A)  $3,000 for a replacement car of the current 

model year or the previous three model years, except as provided 

by Paragraph (C); 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB01611F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB03097F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01303F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB03272F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209


Appendix B.1: Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 382 Page 139 

(B) $3,000 for a replacement truck of the

current model year or the previous two model years, except as 

provided by Paragraph (C); and 

(C) $3,500 for a replacement vehicle of the

current model year or the previous three model years that: 

(i) is a hybrid vehicle, electric vehicle,

or natural gas vehicle; or 

(ii) has been certified to meet federal

Tier 2, Bin 3 or a cleaner Bin certification under 40 C.F.R. 

Section 86.1811-04, as published in the February 10, 2000, 

Federal Register; 

(3) criteria for determining eligibility, taking into

account: 

(A) the vehicle owner's income, which may not

exceed 300 percent of the federal poverty level; 

(B) the fair market value of the vehicle; and

(C) any other relevant considerations;

(4) safeguards for preventing fraud in the repair,

purchase, or sale of a vehicle in the program; and 

(5) procedures for determining the degree and amount

of repair assistance a vehicle is allowed, based on: 

(A) the amount of money the vehicle owner has

spent on repairs; 

(B) the vehicle owner's income; and

(C) any other relevant factors.

(b) A replacement vehicle described by Subsection (a)(2)

must: 

(1) except as provided by Subsection (c), be a

vehicle in a class or category of vehicles that has been 

certified to meet federal Tier 2, Bin 5 or a cleaner Bin 

certification under 40 C.F.R. Section 86.1811-04, as published 

in the February 10, 2000, Federal Register; 

(2) have a gross vehicle weight rating of less than

10,000 pounds; 

(3) have an odometer reading of not more than 70,000

miles; and 
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(4)  be a vehicle the total cost of which does not 

exceed: 

(A)  for a vehicle described by Subsection 

(a)(2)(A) or (B), $35,000; or 

(B)  for a vehicle described by Subsection 

(a)(2)(C), $45,000. 

(c)  The commission may adopt any revisions made by the 

federal government to the emissions standards described by 

Subsection (b)(1). 

(d)  A participating county shall provide an electronic 

means for distributing vehicle repair or replacement funds once 

all program criteria have been met with regard to the repair or 

replacement.  The county shall ensure that funds are transferred 

to a participating dealer under this section not later than the 

10th business day after the date the county receives proof of 

the sale and any required administrative documents from the 

participating dealer. 

(e)  In rules adopted under this section, the commission 

shall require a mandatory procedure that: 

(1)  produces a document confirming that a person is 

eligible to purchase a replacement vehicle in the manner 

provided by this chapter, and the amount of money available to 

the participating purchaser; 

(2)  provides that a person who seeks to purchase a 

replacement vehicle in the manner provided by this chapter is 

required to have the document required by Subdivision (1) before 

the person enters into negotiation for a replacement vehicle in 

the manner provided by this chapter; and 

(3)  provides that a participating dealer who relies 

on a document issued as required by Subdivision (1) has no duty 

to otherwise confirm the eligibility of a person to purchase a 

replacement vehicle in the manner provided by this chapter. 

(f)  In this section, "total cost" means the total amount 

of money paid or to be paid for the purchase of a motor vehicle 

as set forth as "sales price" in the form entitled "Application 

for Texas Certificate of Title" promulgated by the Texas 
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Department of Motor Vehicles.  In a transaction that does not 

involve the use of that form, the term means an amount of money 

that is equivalent, or substantially equivalent, to the amount 

that would appear as "sales price" on the Application for Texas 

Certificate of Title if that form were involved. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.04, eff. June 8, 

2007. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 933 (H.B. 3097), Sec. 3F.02, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 12, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 347 (H.B. 3272), Sec. 3, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 382.211.  LOCAL ADVISORY PANEL.  (a)  The 

commissioners court of a participating county may appoint one or 

more local advisory panels consisting of representatives of 

automobile dealerships, the automotive repair industry, safety 

inspection facilities, the public, antique and vintage car 

clubs, local nonprofit organizations, and locally affected 

governments to advise the county regarding the operation of the 

county's low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and 

accelerated vehicle retirement program, including the 

identification of a vehicle make or model with intrinsic value 

as an existing or future collectible. 

(b) The commissioners court may delegate all or part of

the administrative and financial matters to one or more local 

advisory panels established under Subsection (a). 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.212.  EMISSIONS REDUCTION CREDIT.  (a)  In this

section, "emissions reduction credit" means an emissions 

reduction certified by the commission that is: 

(1) created by eliminating future emissions,

quantified during or before the period in which emissions 

reductions are made; 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB03097F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB03272F.HTM
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(2) expressed in tons or partial tons per year; and

(3) banked by the commission in accordance with

commission rules relating to emissions banking. 

(b) To the extent allowable under federal law, the

commission by rule shall authorize: 

(1) the assignment of a percentage of emissions

reduction credit to a private, commercial, or business entity 

that purchases, for accelerated retirement, a qualified vehicle 

under a low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and 

accelerated vehicle retirement program; 

(2) the transferability of an assigned emissions

reduction credit; 

(3) the use of emissions reduction credit by the

holder of the credit against any state or federal emissions 

requirements applicable to a facility owned or operated by the 

holder of the credit; 

(4) the assignment of a percentage of emissions

reduction credit, on the retirement of a fleet vehicle, a 

vehicle owned or leased by a governmental entity, or a 

commercial vehicle, to the owner or lessor of the vehicle; and 

(5) other actions relating to the disposition or use

of emissions reduction credit that the commission determines 

will benefit the implementation of low-income vehicle repair 

assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement 

programs established under Section 382.209. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.213.  DISPOSITION OF RETIRED VEHICLE.  (a)  Except

as provided by Subsection (c) and Subdivision (5) of this 

subsection, a vehicle retired under an accelerated vehicle 

retirement program authorized by Section 382.209 may not be 

resold or reused in its entirety in this or another state.  

Subject to the provisions of Subsection (i), the automobile 

dealer who takes possession of the vehicle must submit to the 

program administrator proof, in a manner adopted by the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
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commission, that the vehicle has been retired.  The vehicle must 

be: 

(1) destroyed;

(2) recycled;

(3) dismantled and its parts sold as used parts or

used in the program; 

(4) placed in a storage facility of a program

established under Section 382.209 and subsequently destroyed, 

recycled, or dismantled and its parts sold or used in the 

program; or 

(5) repaired, brought into compliance, and used as a

replacement vehicle under Section 382.209(d)(2). 

(a-1) The commission shall establish a partnership with 

representatives of the steel industry, automobile dismantlers, 

and the scrap metal recycling industry to ensure that: 

(1) vehicles retired under Section 382.209 are

scrapped or recycled; and 

(2) proof of scrapping or recycling is provided to

the commission. 

(b) Not more than 10 percent of all vehicles eligible for

retirement under this section may be used as replacement 

vehicles under Subsection (a)(5). 

(c) A vehicle identified by a local advisory panel as an

existing or future collectible vehicle under Section 382.211 may 

be sold to an individual if the vehicle: 

(1) is repaired and brought into compliance;

(2) is removed from the state;

(3) is removed from an affected county; or

(4) is stored for future restoration and cannot be

registered in an affected county except under Section 504.501 or 

504.502, Transportation Code. 

(d) Notwithstanding Subsection (a)(3), the dismantler of a

vehicle shall scrap the emissions control equipment and engine.  

The dismantler shall certify that the equipment and engine have 

been scrapped and not resold into the marketplace.  A person who 

causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of this 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.211
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=504.501
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=504.502
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subsection or of a rule adopted under this section is subject to 

a civil penalty under Subchapter D, Chapter 7, Water Code, for 

each violation.  For purposes of this subsection, a separate 

violation occurs with each fraudulent certification or 

prohibited resale. 

(e) Notwithstanding Subsection (d), vehicle parts not

related to emissions control equipment or the engine may be 

resold in any state.  The only cost to be paid by a recycler for 

the residual scrap metal of a vehicle retired under this section 

shall be the cost of transportation of the residual scrap metal 

to the recycling facility. 

(f) Any dismantling of vehicles or salvaging of steel

under this section must be performed at a facility located in 

this state. 

(g) In dismantling a vehicle under this section, the

dismantler shall remove any mercury switches in accordance with 

state and federal law. 

(h) The commission shall adopt rules:

(1) defining "emissions control equipment" and

"engine" for the purposes of this section; and 

(2) providing a procedure for certifying that

emissions control equipment and vehicle engines have been 

scrapped or recycled. 

(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section,

and except as provided by this subsection, a dealer is in 

compliance with this section and incurs no civil or criminal 

liability as a result of the disposal of a replaced vehicle if 

the dealer produces proof of transfer of the replaced vehicle by 

the dealer to a dismantler.  The defense provided by this 

subsection is not available to a dealer who knowingly and 

intentionally conspires with another person to violate this 

section. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.05, eff. June 8, 

2007. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
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Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 91 (S.B. 1303), Sec. 12.005, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 347 (H.B. 3272), Sec. 4, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 382.214.  SALE OF VEHICLE WITH INTENT TO DEFRAUD.  (a)  

A person who with intent to defraud sells a vehicle in an 

accelerated vehicle retirement program established under Section 

382.209 commits an offense that is a third degree felony. 

(b) Sale of a vehicle in an accelerated vehicle retirement

program includes: 

(1) sale of the vehicle to retire the vehicle under

the program; and 

(2) sale of a vehicle purchased for retirement under

the program. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.215.  SALE OF VEHICLE NOT REQUIRED.  Nothing in 

this subchapter may be construed to require a vehicle that has 

failed a required emissions test to be sold or destroyed by the 

owner. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 382.216.  INCENTIVES FOR VOLUNTARY PARTICIPATION IN 

VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE PROGRAM.  The 

commission, the Texas Department of Transportation, and the 

Public Safety Commission may, subject to federal limitations: 

(1) encourage counties likely to exceed federal clean

air standards to implement voluntary: 

(A) motor vehicle emissions inspection and

maintenance programs; and 

(B) low-income vehicle repair assistance,

retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement programs; 

(2) establish incentives for counties to voluntarily

implement motor vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01303F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB03272F.HTM
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programs and low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and 

accelerated vehicle retirement programs; and 

(3)  designate a county that voluntarily implements a 

motor vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance program or a 

low-income vehicle repair assistance, retrofit, and accelerated 

vehicle retirement program as a "Clean Air County" and give 

preference to a county designated as a Clean Air County in any 

federal or state clean air grant program. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1075, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 382.218.  REQUIRED PARTICIPATION BY CERTAIN COUNTIES.  

(a)  This section applies only to a county with a population of 

800,000 or more that borders the United Mexican States. 

(b)  A county that was at any time required, because of the 

county's designation as a nonattainment area under Section 

107(d) of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7407), to 

participate in the vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance 

program under this subchapter and Subchapter F, Chapter 548, 

Transportation Code, shall continue to participate in the 

program even if the county is designated as an attainment area 

under the federal Clean Air Act. 
 

Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 958 (H.B. 1611), Sec. 4, eff. June 18, 

2005. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1163 (H.B. 2702), Sec. 47, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.219.  PURCHASE OF REPLACEMENT VEHICLE; AUTOMOBILE 

DEALERSHIPS.  (a)  An amount described by Section 382.210(a)(2) 

may be used as a down payment toward the purchase of a 

replacement vehicle. 

(b)  An automobile dealer that participates in the 

procedures and programs offered by this chapter must be located 

in the state.  No dealer is required to participate in the 

procedures and programs provided by this chapter. 
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.301
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB01611F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02702F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.210
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Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.06, eff. June 

8, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 382.220.  USE OF FUNDING FOR LOCAL INITIATIVE 

PROJECTS.  (a)  Money that is made available to participating 

counties under Section 382.202(g) or 382.302 may be appropriated 

only for programs administered in accordance with Chapter 783, 

Government Code, to improve air quality.  A participating county 

may agree to contract with any appropriate entity, including a 

metropolitan planning organization or a council of governments 

to implement a program under Section 382.202, 382.209, or this 

section. 

(b)  A program under this section must be implemented in 

consultation with the commission and may include a program to: 

(1)  expand and enhance the AirCheck Texas Repair and 

Replacement Assistance Program; 

(2)  develop and implement programs or systems that 

remotely determine vehicle emissions and notify the vehicle's 

operator; 

(3)  develop and implement projects to implement the 

commission's smoking vehicle program; 

(4)  develop and implement projects in consultation 

with the director of the Department of Public Safety for 

coordinating with local law enforcement officials to reduce the 

use of counterfeit registration insignia and vehicle inspection 

reports by providing local law enforcement officials with funds 

to identify vehicles with counterfeit registration insignia and 

vehicle inspection reports and to carry out appropriate actions; 

(5)  develop and implement programs to enhance 

transportation system improvements; or 

(6)  develop and implement new air control strategies 

designed to assist local areas in complying with state and 

federal air quality rules and regulations. 

(c)  Money that is made available for the implementation of 

a program under Subsection (b) may not be expended for local 

government fleet or vehicle acquisition or replacement, call 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.302
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=783
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
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center management, application oversight, invoice analysis, 

education, outreach, or advertising purposes. 

(d) Fees collected under Sections 382.202 and 382.302 may

be used in an amount not to exceed $7 million per fiscal year 

for projects described by Subsection (b), of which $2 million 

may be used only for projects described by Subsection (b)(4).  

The remaining $5 million may be used for any project described 

by Subsection (b).  The fees shall be made available only to 

counties participating in the low-income vehicle repair 

assistance, retrofit, and accelerated vehicle retirement 

programs created under Section 382.209 and only on a matching 

basis, whereby the commission provides money to a county in the 

same amount that the county dedicates to a project authorized by 

Subsection (b).  The commission may reduce the match requirement 

for a county that proposes to develop and implement independent 

test facility fraud detection programs, including the use of 

remote sensing technology for coordinating with law enforcement 

officials to detect, prevent, and prosecute the use of 

counterfeit registration insignia and vehicle inspection 

reports. 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.07, eff. June 

8, 2007. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 13, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1038 (H.B. 2859), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2013. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1291 (H.B. 2305), Sec. 8, eff. March 

1, 2015. 

SUBCHAPTER H. VEHICLE EMISSIONS PROGRAMS IN CERTAIN COUNTIES 

Sec. 382.301.  DEFINITIONS.  In this subchapter: 

(1) "Early action compact" means an agreement entered

into before January 1, 2003, by the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency, the commission, the governing body of a 

county that is in attainment of the one-hour national ambient 

air quality standard for ozone but that has incidents 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.202
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.302
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02859F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02305F.HTM
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approaching, or monitors incidents that exceed, the eight-hour 

national ambient air quality standard for ozone, and the 

governing body of the most populous municipality in that county 

that results in the submission of: 

(A)  an early action plan to the commission that 

the commission finds to be adequate; and 

(B)  a state implementation plan revision to the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency on or before 

December 31, 2004, that provides for attainment of the eight-

hour national ambient air quality standard for ozone on or 

before December 31, 2007. 

(2)  "Participating county" means a county that is a 

party to an early action compact. 
 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 203, Sec. 1, eff. June 10, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 382.302.  INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE PROGRAM.  (a)  A 

participating county whose early action plan contains provisions 

for a motor vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance program 

and has been found adequate by the commission may formally 

request the commission to adopt motor vehicle emissions 

inspection and maintenance program requirements for the county.  

The request must be made by a resolution adopted by the 

governing body of the participating county and the governing 

body of the most populous municipality in the county. 

(b)  After approving a request made under Subsection (a), 

the commission by resolution may request the Public Safety 

Commission to establish motor vehicle emissions inspection and 

maintenance program requirements for the participating county 

under Subchapter F, Chapter 548, Transportation Code, in 

accordance with this section and rules adopted under this 

section.  The motor vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance 

program requirements for the participating county may include 

exhaust emissions testing, emissions control devices and systems 

inspections, or other testing methods that meet or exceed United 

States Environmental Protection Agency requirements, and a 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548.301
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TN&Value=548
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remote sensing component as provided by Section 382.204.  The 

motor vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance program 

requirements adopted for the participating county may apply to 

all or to a defined subset of vehicles described by Section 

382.203. 

(c) The commission may assess a fee for a vehicle

inspection performed in accordance with a program established 

under this section.  The fee must be in an amount reasonably 

necessary to recover the costs of developing, administering, 

evaluating, and enforcing the participating county's motor 

vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance program.  An 

appropriate part of the fee as determined by commission rule may 

be retained by the station owner, contractor, or operator to 

recover the cost of performing the inspection and provide for a 

reasonable margin of profit. 

(d) The incentives for voluntary participation established

under Section 382.216 shall be made available to a participating 

county. 

(e) A participating county may participate in the program

established under Section 382.209. 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 203, Sec. 1, eff. June 10, 2003. 

SUBCHAPTER I.  PROGRAMS TO ENCOURAGE THE USE OF 

INNOVATIVE TECHNOLOGIES 

Sec. 382.401.  ALTERNATIVE LEAK DETECTION TECHNOLOGY.  (a)  

In this section, "alternative leak detection technology" means 

technology, including optical gas imaging technology, designed 

to detect leaks and emissions of air contaminants. 

(b) The commission by rule shall establish a program that

allows the owner or operator of a facility regulated under this 

chapter to use voluntarily as a supplemental detection method 

any leak detection technology that has been incorporated and 

adopted by the United States Environmental Protection Agency 

into a program for detecting leaks or emissions of air 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.204
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.203
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.216
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.209
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contaminants.  The program must provide regulatory incentives to 

encourage voluntary use of the alternative leak detection 

technology at a regulated facility that is capable of detecting 

leaks or emissions that may not be detected by methods or 

technology approvable under the commission's regulatory program 

for leak detection and repair in effect on the date the 

commission adopts the program.  The incentives may include: 

(1) on-site technical assistance; and

(2) to the extent consistent with federal

requirements: 

(A) inclusion of the facility's use of

alternative leak detection technology in the owner or operator's 

compliance history and compliance summaries; 

(B) consideration of the implementation of

alternative leak detection technology in scheduling and 

conducting compliance inspections; and 

(C) credits or offsets to the facility's

emissions reduction requirements based on the emissions 

reductions achieved by voluntary use of alternative leak 

detection technology. 

(c) The owner or operator of a facility using an

alternative leak detection technology shall repair and record an 

emission or leak of an air contaminant from a component subject 

to the commission's regulatory program for leak detection and 

repair that is detected by the alternative technology as 

provided by the commission's leak detection and repair rules in 

effect at the time of the detection.  A repair to correct an 

emission or leak detected by the use of alternative leak 

detection technology may be confirmed using the same technology. 

(d) As part of the program of incentives adopted under

Subsection (b), the commission shall: 

(1) ensure that the owner or operator of a facility

records and repairs, if possible and within a reasonable period, 

any leak or emission of an air contaminant at the facility that 

is detected by the voluntary use of alternative leak detection 
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technology from a component not subject to commission rules for 

leak detection and repair in effect on the date of detection; 

(2)  establish the reasonable period allowed for the 

repair of a component causing a leak or emission in a way that 

includes consideration of the size and complexity of the repair 

required; 

(3)  subject to commission reporting requirements only 

those components that are not repairable within the reasonable 

time frame established by the commission; and 

(4)  exempt from commission enforcement a leak or 

emission that is repaired within the reasonable period 

established by the commission. 

(e)  To the extent consistent with federal requirements, 

the commission may not take an enforcement action against an 

owner or operator of a facility participating in the program 

established under this section for a leak or an emission of an 

air contaminant that would otherwise be punishable as a 

violation of the law or of the terms of the permit under which 

the facility operates if the leak or emission was detected by 

using alternative technology and it would not have been detected 

under the commission's regulatory program for leak detection and 

repair in effect on the date of the detection. 
 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 870 (H.B. 1526), Sec. 1, eff. June 

15, 2007. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER J.  FEDERAL GREENHOUSE GAS REPORTING RULE 
 

Sec. 382.451.  DEVELOPMENT OF FEDERAL GREENHOUSE GAS 

REPORTING RULE.  (a)  The commission and the Railroad Commission 

of Texas, the Department of Agriculture, and the Public Utility 

Commission of Texas shall jointly participate in the federal 

government process for developing federal greenhouse gas 

reporting requirements and the federal greenhouse gas registry 

requirements. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB01526F.HTM
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(b)  The commission shall adopt rules as necessary to 

comply with any federal greenhouse gas reporting requirements 

adopted by the federal government for private and public 

facilities eligible to participate in the federal greenhouse gas 

registry.  In adopting the rules, the commission shall adopt and 

incorporate by reference rules implementing the federal 

reporting requirements and the federal registry. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 29, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code, Section 382.501 by Acts 2011, 82nd 

Leg., R.S., Ch. 91 (S.B. 1303), Sec. 27.001(29), eff. September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 382.452.  VOLUNTARY ACTIONS INVENTORY.  The commission 

shall: 

(1)  establish an inventory of voluntary actions taken 

by businesses in this state or by state agencies since September 

1, 2001, to reduce carbon dioxide emissions; and 

(2)  work with the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency to give credit for early action under any 

federal rules that may be adopted for federal greenhouse gas 

regulation. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 29, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code, Section 382.502 by Acts 2011, 82nd 

Leg., R.S., Ch. 91 (S.B. 1303), Sec. 27.001(29), eff. September 1, 2011. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER K.  OFFSHORE GEOLOGIC STORAGE OF CARBON DIOXIDE 
 

Sec. 382.501.  DEFINITIONS.  In this subchapter: 

(1)  "Board" means the School Land Board. 

(2)  "Bureau" means the Bureau of Economic Geology at 

The University of Texas at Austin. 

(3)  "Carbon dioxide repository" means an offshore 

deep subsurface geologic repository for the storage of 

anthropogenic carbon dioxide. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.501
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01303F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
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(4) "Land commissioner" means the commissioner of the

General Land Office. 

(5) "Offshore" has the meaning assigned by Section

27.040, Water Code. 

(6) "Railroad commission" means the Railroad

Commission of Texas. 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 460 (H.B. 1284), Sec. 1, eff. June 9, 

2021. 

Sec. 382.502.  RULES; ENFORCEMENT.  (a)  The railroad 

commission by rule may adopt standards for the location, 

construction, maintenance, monitoring, and operation of a carbon 

dioxide repository. 

(b) If the United States Environmental Protection Agency

issues requirements regarding carbon dioxide sequestration, the 

railroad commission shall ensure that the construction, 

maintenance, monitoring, and operation of the carbon dioxide 

repository under this subchapter comply with those requirements. 

(c) Subchapter F, Chapter 27, Water Code, applies to the

civil, administrative, or criminal enforcement of a rule adopted 

by the railroad commission under this section in the same manner 

as Subchapter F, Chapter 27, Water Code, applies to the civil, 

administrative, or criminal enforcement of a rule adopted by the 

railroad commission under Chapter 27, Water Code. 

(d) A penalty collected under this section shall be

deposited to the credit of the anthropogenic carbon dioxide 

storage trust fund established under Section 121.003, Natural 

Resources Code. 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 460 (H.B. 1284), Sec. 2, eff. June 9, 

2021. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=27.040
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/87R/billtext/html/HB01284F.HTM
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Sec. 382.503.  STUDY; SELECTION OF LOCATION.  (a)  The land 

commissioner shall contract with the bureau to conduct a study 

of state-owned offshore submerged land to identify potential 

locations for a carbon dioxide repository. 

(b)  The land commissioner shall recommend suitable sites 

for carbon dioxide storage to the board based on the findings of 

the study. 

(c)  The board shall make the final determination of 

suitable locations for carbon dioxide storage. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

Sec. 382.504.  CONTRACT FOR NECESSARY INFRASTRUCTURE AND 

OPERATION.  (a)  Once the location has been established for the 

carbon dioxide repository, the board may issue requests for 

proposals for the lease of permanent school fund land for the 

construction of any necessary infrastructure for the 

transportation and storage of carbon dioxide to be stored in the 

carbon dioxide repository. 

(b)  The board may contract for construction or operational 

services for the repository. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

Sec. 382.505.  ACCEPTANCE OF CARBON DIOXIDE FOR STORAGE; 

FEES AND CARBON CREDITS.  (a)  Once the carbon dioxide 

repository is established, the board may accept carbon dioxide 

for storage. 

(b)  The board by rule may establish a fee for the storage 

of carbon dioxide in the carbon dioxide repository. If this 

state participates in a program that facilitates the trading of 

carbon credits, a fee under this subsection may be established 

as a percentage of the carbon credits associated with the 

storage. 
 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
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Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

Sec. 382.506.  MEASURING, MONITORING, AND VERIFICATION; 

ROLE OF BUREAU.  (a)  The railroad commission by rule may 

establish standards for the measurement, monitoring, and 

verification of the permanent storage status of the carbon 

dioxide in the carbon dioxide repository. 

(b)  The bureau shall review any measurement, monitoring, 

and verification of the permanent storage status of carbon 

dioxide in the carbon dioxide repository performed by another 

person at the direction of the state. 

(c)  The bureau shall serve as a scientific advisor for the 

measuring, monitoring, and permanent storage status verification 

of the carbon dioxide repository. 

(d)  The bureau shall provide to the board data relating to 

the measurement, monitoring, and verification of the permanent 

storage status of the carbon dioxide in the carbon dioxide 

repository, as determined by the board. 

(e)  The board may use revenue from the fee authorized by 

Section 382.505 to contract with the bureau to perform the 

functions described by this section. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 460 (H.B. 1284), Sec. 3, eff. June 9, 

2021. 

 

 

Sec. 382.507.  OWNERSHIP OF CARBON DIOXIDE.  (a)  The board 

shall acquire title to carbon dioxide stored in the carbon 

dioxide repository on a determination by the board that 

permanent storage has been verified and that the storage 

location has met all applicable state and federal requirements 

for closure of carbon dioxide storage sites. 

(b)  The right, title, and interest in carbon dioxide 

acquired under this section are the property of the permanent 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
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school fund and shall be administered and controlled by the 

board. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

Sec. 382.508.  LIABILITY.  (a)  The transfer of title to 

the state under Section 382.507 does not relieve a producer of 

carbon dioxide of liability for any act or omission regarding 

the generation of stored carbon dioxide performed before the 

carbon dioxide was stored. 

(b)  On the date the permanent school fund, under Section 

382.507, acquires the right, title, and interest in carbon 

dioxide, the producer of the carbon dioxide is relieved of 

liability for any act or omission regarding the carbon dioxide 

in the carbon dioxide repository. 

(c)  This section does not relieve a person who contracts 

with the board under Section 382.504(b) of liability for any act 

or omission regarding the construction or operation, as 

applicable, of the carbon dioxide repository. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

Sec. 382.509.  RATES FOR TRANSPORTATION.  Neither the 

railroad commission nor the board may establish or regulate the 

rates charged for the transportation of carbon dioxide to the 

carbon dioxide repository. 
 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 460 (H.B. 1284), Sec. 4, eff. June 9, 

2021. 

 

 

Sec. 382.510.  ANNUAL REPORT.  The land commissioner shall 

issue annually a report regarding the carbon dioxide repository.  

The report may be submitted electronically by posting on the 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
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General Land Office's Internet website.  The report must include 

information regarding: 

(1) the total volume of carbon dioxide stored;

(2) the total volume of carbon dioxide received for

storage during the year; and 

(3) the volume of carbon dioxide received from each

producer of carbon dioxide. 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1125 (H.B. 1796), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

SUBCHAPTER L.  REGULATION OF HYDROFLUOROCARBONS 

Text of section effective on January 01, 2023 

Sec. 382.551.  SUBSTITUTES FOR HYDROFLUOROCARBON 

REFRIGERANTS APPLICABLE TO COMMERCIAL OR RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS 

OR CONSTRUCTION.  A building code or other requirement 

applicable to commercial or residential buildings or 

construction may not prohibit the use of a substitute 

refrigerant authorized pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 7671k. 

Added by Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 100 (S.B. 1210), Sec. 1, eff. 

January 1, 2023. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB01796F.HTM
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APPENDIX B.2 

WATER CODE 

TITLE 2. WATER ADMINISTRATION 

SUBTITLE A. EXECUTIVE AGENCIES 

CHAPTER 5.  TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY1 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

Sec. 5.001.  DEFINITIONS.  In this chapter: 

(1) "Board" means the Texas Water Development Board.

(2) "Commission" means the Texas Commission on

Environmental Quality. 

(3) "Executive director" means the executive director

of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. 

(4) "Clean coal project" means the installation of

one or more components of the coal-based integrated 

sequestration and hydrogen research project to be built in 

partnership with the United States Department of Energy, 

commonly referred to as the FutureGen project.  The term 

includes the construction or modification of a facility for 

electric generation, industrial production, or the production of 

steam as a byproduct of coal gasification to the extent that the 

facility installs one or more components of the FutureGen 

project. 

(5) "Coal" has the meaning assigned by Section

134.004, Natural Resources Code. 

(6) "Component of the FutureGen project" means a

process, technology, or piece of equipment that: 

(A) is designed to employ coal gasification

technology to generate electricity, hydrogen, or steam in a 

manner that meets the FutureGen project profile; 

1 Text downloaded from https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/ on February 10, 2022, as current through the 87th 3rd 

Called Legislative Session, 2021.  Minor formatting changes made for easier reading. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=NR&Value=134.004
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/
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(B) is designed to employ fuel cells to generate

electricity in a manner that meets the FutureGen project 

profile; 

(C) is designed to employ a hydrogen-fueled

turbine to generate electricity where the hydrogen is derived 

from coal in a manner that meets the FutureGen project profile; 

(D) is designed to demonstrate the efficacy at

an electric generation or industrial production facility of a 

carbon dioxide capture technology in a manner that meets the 

FutureGen project profile; 

(E) is designed to sequester a portion of the

carbon dioxide captured from an electric generation or 

industrial production facility in a manner that meets the 

FutureGen project profile in conjunction with appropriate 

remediation plans and appropriate techniques for reservoir 

characterization, injection control, and monitoring; 

(F) is designed to sequester carbon dioxide as

part of enhanced oil recovery in a manner that meets the 

FutureGen project profile in conjunction with appropriate 

techniques for reservoir characterization, injection control, 

and monitoring; 

(G) qualifies for federal funds designated for

the FutureGen project; 

(H) is required to perform the sampling,

analysis, or research necessary to submit a proposal to the 

United States Department of Energy for the FutureGen project; or 

(I) is required in a final United States

Department of Energy request for proposals for the FutureGen 

project or is described in a final United States Department of 

Energy request for proposals as a desirable element to be 

considered in the awarding of the project. 

(7) "FutureGen project profile" means a standard or

standards relevant to a component of the FutureGen project, as 

provided in a final or amended United States Department of 

Energy request for proposals or contract. 
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Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.001, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1097 (H.B. 2201), Sec. 6, eff. June 18, 

2005. 

Sec. 5.002.  SCOPE OF CHAPTER.  The powers and duties 

enumerated in this chapter are the general powers and duties of 

the commission and those incidental to the conduct of its 

business.  The commission has other specific powers and duties 

as prescribed in other sections of this code and other laws of 

this state. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ORGANIZATION OF THE TEXAS NATURAL RESOURCE 

CONSERVATION COMMISSION 

Sec. 5.011.  PURPOSE OF CHAPTER.  It is the purpose of this 

chapter to provide an organizational structure for the 

commission that will provide more efficient and effective 

administration of the conservation of natural resources and the 

protection of the environment in this state and to define the 

duties, responsibilities, authority, and functions of the 

commission and the executive director. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.003, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

Sec. 5.012.  DECLARATION OF POLICY.  The commission is the 

agency of the state given primary responsibility for 

implementing the constitution and laws of this state relating to 

the conservation of natural resources and the protection of the 

environment. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.004, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02201F.HTM
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Sec. 5.013.  GENERAL JURISDICTION OF COMMISSION. 

(a)  The commission has general jurisdiction over: 

(1)  water and water rights including the issuance of 

water rights permits, water rights adjudication, cancellation of 

water rights, and enforcement of water rights; 

(2)  continuing supervision over districts created 

under Article III, Sections 52(b)(1) and (2), and Article XVI, 

Section 59, of the Texas Constitution; 

(3)  the state's water quality program including 

issuance of permits, enforcement of water quality rules, 

standards, orders, and permits, and water quality planning; 

(4)  the determination of the feasibility of certain 

federal projects; 

(5)  the adoption and enforcement of rules and 

performance of other acts relating to the safe construction, 

maintenance, and removal of dams; 

(6)  conduct of the state's hazardous spill prevention 

and control program; 

(7)  the administration of the state's program 

relating to inactive hazardous substance, pollutant, and 

contaminant disposal facilities; 

(8)  the administration of a portion of the state's 

injection well program; 

(9)  the administration of the state's programs 

involving underground water and water wells and drilled and 

mined shafts; 

(10)  the state's responsibilities relating to 

regional waste disposal; 

(11)  the responsibilities assigned to the commission 

by Chapters 361, 363, 382, 401, 505, 506, and 507, Health and 

Safety Code; and 

(12)  any other areas assigned to the commission by 

this code and other laws of this state. 

(b)  The rights, powers, duties, and functions delegated to 

the Texas Department of Water Resources by this code or by any 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=CN&Value=3.52
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=CN&Value=16.59
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=363
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=505
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=506
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=507
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other law of this state that are not expressly assigned to the 

board are vested in the commission. 

(c)  This section allocates among various state agencies 

statutory authority delegated by other laws.  This section does 

not delegate legislative authority. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985;  

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 14, Sec. 284(75), eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 1991, 

72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.005, eff. Aug. 12, 1991;  Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 376, Sec. 3.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, 

Sec. 1.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001;  Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1067, Sec. 22, eff. 

Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1323 (S.B. 1436), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 170 (H.B. 1600), Sec. 2.01, eff. 

September 1, 2013. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 171 (S.B. 567), Sec. 1, eff. September 

1, 2013. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 515 (H.B. 942), Sec. 32, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 5.014.  SUNSET PROVISION.  The Texas Commission on 

Environmental Quality is subject to Chapter 325, Government Code 

(Texas Sunset Act).  Unless continued in existence as provided 

by that chapter, the commission is abolished and this chapter 

expires September 1, 2023. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985;  

Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 167, Sec. 2.20(46), eff. Sept. 1, 1987;  Acts 1991, 

72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.006, eff. Aug. 12, 1991;  Acts 1991, 72nd 

Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 17, Sec. 5.19(a), eff. Nov. 12, 1991;  Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.02, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., 1st C.S., Ch. 2 (S.B. 2), Sec. 1.12, eff. July 

10, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 1.02, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.015.  CONSTRUCTION OF TITLE.  This title shall be 

liberally construed to allow the commission and the executive 

director to carry out their powers and duties in an efficient 

and effective manner. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB01436F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB01600F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/SB00567F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00942F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=325
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/811/billtext/html/SB00002F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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SUBCHAPTER C. TEXAS NATURAL RESOURCE CONSERVATION COMMISSION 
 

 

Sec. 5.051.  COMMISSION.  The Texas Natural Resource 

Conservation Commission is created as an agency of the state. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.008, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.052.  MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION; APPOINTMENT.  (a)  

The commission is composed of three members who are appointed by 

the governor with the advice and consent of the senate to 

represent the general public. 

(b)  The governor shall make the appointments in such a 

manner that each member is from a different section of the 

state. 

(c)  Appointments to the commission shall be made without 

regard to the race, color, disability, sex, religion, age, or 

national origin of the appointees. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 485, Sec. 1, eff. June 9, 1993; Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.053.  ELIGIBILITY FOR MEMBERSHIP.  (a)  A person may 

not be a member of the commission if the person or the person's 

spouse: 

(1)  is registered, certified, licensed, permitted, or 

otherwise authorized by the commission; 

(2)  is employed by or participates in the management 

of a business entity or other organization regulated by the 

commission or receiving money from the commission; 

(3)  owns or controls, directly or indirectly, more 

than a 10 percent interest in a business entity or other 

organization regulated by or receiving funds from the 

commission; or 
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(4)  uses or receives a substantial amount of tangible 

goods, services, or money from the commission other than 

compensation or reimbursement authorized by law for commission 

membership, attendance, or expenses. 

(b)  In addition to the eligibility requirements in 

Subsection (a) of this section, persons who are appointed to 

serve on the commission for terms which expire after August 31, 

2001, must comply at the time of their appointment with the 

eligibility requirements established under 33 U.S.C. Sections 

1251-1387, as amended. 

(c)  Subsection (a)(2) does not apply to an employee of a 

political subdivision of this state.  If the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency determines that there will be a 

negative impact on the State of Texas' National Pollution 

Discharge Elimination Systems delegation, this subsection does 

not apply. 
 

Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 310, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1995.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.04, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1278 (H.B. 3769), Sec. 1, eff. June 

15, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 5.0535.  REQUIRED TRAINING PROGRAM FOR COMMISSION 

MEMBERS.  (a)  A person who is appointed to and qualifies for 

office as a member of the commission may not vote, deliberate, 

or be counted as a member in attendance at a meeting of the 

commission until the person completes a training program that 

complies with this section. 

(b)  The training program must provide the person with 

information regarding: 

(1)  the legislation that created the commission; 

(2)  the programs operated by the commission; 

(3)  the role and functions of the commission; 

(4)  the rules of the commission, with an emphasis on 

the rules that relate to disciplinary and investigatory 

authority; 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB03769F.HTM
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(5)  the current budget for the commission; 

(6)  the results of recent significant internal and 

external audits of the commission; 

(7)  the requirements of: 

(A)  the open meetings law, Chapter 551, 

Government Code; 

(B)  the public information law, Chapter 552, 

Government Code; 

(C)  the administrative procedure law, Chapter 

2001, Government Code; and 

(D)  other laws relating to public officials, 

including conflict-of-interest laws; and 

(8)  any applicable ethics policies adopted by the 

commission or the Texas Ethics Commission. 

(c)  A person appointed to the commission is entitled to 

reimbursement, as provided by the General Appropriations Act, 

for the travel expenses incurred in attending the training 

program regardless of whether the attendance at the program 

occurs before or after the person qualifies for office. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.05, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.054.  REMOVAL OF COMMISSION MEMBERS.  (a)  It is a 

ground for removal from the commission that a member: 

(1)  does not have at the time of taking office the 

qualifications required by Section 5.053(b); 

(2)  does not maintain during the service on the 

commission the qualifications required by Section 5.053(b); 

(3)  is ineligible for membership under Section 

5.053(a), 5.059, or 5.060; 

(4)  cannot, because of illness or disability, 

discharge the member's duties for a substantial part of the 

member's term; or 

(5)  is absent from more than one-half of the 

regularly scheduled commission meetings that the member is 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=551
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=552
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.053
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.053
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.053
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.059
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.060
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eligible to attend during each calendar year without an excuse 

approved by a majority vote of the commission. 

(b)  The validity of an action of the commission is not 

affected by the fact that it is taken when a ground for removal 

of a member of the commission exists. 

(c)  If the executive director or a member has knowledge 

that a potential ground for removal exists, the executive 

director or member shall notify the presiding officer of the 

commission of the potential ground.  The presiding officer shall 

then notify the governor and the attorney general that a 

potential ground for removal exists.  If the potential ground 

for removal involves the presiding officer, the executive 

director or another member of the commission shall notify the 

member of the commission with the most seniority, who shall then 

notify the governor and the attorney general that a potential 

ground for removal exists. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.06, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.055.  OFFICERS OF STATE; OATH.  Each member of the 

commission is an officer of the state as that term is used in 

the constitution, and each member shall qualify by taking the 

official oath of office. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.056.  TERMS OF OFFICE.  (a)  The members of the 

commission hold office for staggered terms of six years, with 

the term of one member expiring every two years.  Each member 

holds office until his successor is appointed and has qualified. 

(b)  A person appointed to the commission may not serve for 

more than two six-year terms. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 
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Sec. 5.057.  FULL-TIME SERVICE.  Each member of the 

commission shall serve on a full-time basis. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.058.  OFFICERS; MEETINGS.  (a)  The governor shall 

designate a member of the commission as the presiding officer of 

the commission to serve in that capacity at the pleasure of the 

governor. 

(b)  The presiding officer may designate another 

commissioner to act for the presiding officer in the presiding 

officer's absence. 

(c)  The presiding officer shall preside at the meetings 

and hearings of the commission. 

(d)  The commission shall hold regular meetings and all 

hearings at times specified by a commission order and entered in 

its minutes.  The commission may hold special meetings at the 

times and places in the state that the commission decides are 

appropriate for the performance of its duties.  The presiding 

officer or acting presiding officer shall give the other members 

reasonable notice before holding a special meeting. 

(e)  A majority of the commission is a quorum. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.07, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.059.  CONFLICT OF INTEREST.  (a)  In this section, 

"Texas trade association" means a cooperative and voluntarily 

joined association of business or professional competitors in 

this state designed to assist its members and its industry or 

profession in dealing with mutual business or professional 

problems and in promoting their common interest. 

(b)  A person may not be a member of the commission and may 

not be a commission employee employed in a "bona fide executive, 

administrative, or professional capacity," as that phrase is 

used for purposes of establishing an exemption to the overtime 



Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 12 

 

provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 

U.S.C. Section 201 et seq.) and its subsequent amendments, if: 

(1)  the person is an officer, employee, or paid 

consultant of a Texas trade association in an industry regulated 

by the commission; or 

(2)  the person's spouse is an officer, manager, or 

paid consultant of a Texas trade association in an industry 

regulated by the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.08, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.060.  LOBBYIST PROHIBITION.  A person may not be a 

member of the commission or act as general counsel to the 

commission if the person is required to register as a lobbyist 

under Chapter 305, Government Code, because of the person's 

activities for compensation on behalf of a profession related to 

the operation of the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 167, Sec. 2.19(24), eff. Sept. 1, 1987; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.08, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.061.  PROHIBITION ON ACCEPTING CAMPAIGN 

CONTRIBUTIONS.  A member of the commission may not accept a 

contribution to a campaign for election to an elected office.  

If a member of the commission accepts a campaign contribution, 

the person is considered to have resigned from the office and 

the office immediately becomes vacant.  The vacancy shall be 

filled in the manner provided by law. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 1.03, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER D. GENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COMMISSION 
 

Sec. 5.101.  SCOPE OF SUBCHAPTER.  The powers and duties 

provided by this subchapter are the general powers and duties of 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=305
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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the commission and those incidental to the conduct of its 

business.  The commission has other specific powers and duties 

as prescribed in other sections of the code and other laws of 

this state. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.102.  GENERAL POWERS.  (a)  The commission has the 

powers to perform any acts whether specifically authorized by 

this code or other law or implied by this code or other law, 

necessary and convenient to the exercise of its jurisdiction and 

powers as provided by this code and other laws. 

(b)  The commission may call and hold hearings, receive 

evidence at hearings, administer oaths, issue subpoenas to 

compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of papers 

and documents, and make findings of fact and decisions with 

respect to its jurisdiction under this code and other laws and 

rules, orders, permits, licenses, certificates, and other 

actions adopted, issued, or taken by the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.103.  RULES.  (a)  The commission shall adopt any 

rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under this 

code and other laws of this state. 

(b)  The commission shall adopt reasonable procedural rules 

to be followed in a commission hearing.  The executive director 

may recommend to the commission for its consideration any rules 

that he considers necessary. 

(c)  Rules shall be adopted in the manner provided by 

Chapter 2001, Government Code.  As provided by that Act, the 

commission must adopt rules when adopting, repealing, or 

amending any agency statement of general applicability that 

interprets or prescribes law or policy or describes the 

procedure or practice requirements of an agency.  The commission 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001


Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 14 

 

shall follow its own rules as adopted until it changes them in 

accordance with that Act. 

(d)  The commission shall include as a part of each rule 

the commission adopts, and each proposed rule for adoption after 

the effective date of this subsection, a citation to the statute 

that grants the specific regulatory authority under which the 

rule is justified and a citation of the specific regulatory 

authority that will be exercised.  If no specific statutory 

authority exists and the agency is depending on this section, 

citation of this section, or Section 5.102 or 5.013, is 

sufficient.  A rule adopted in violation of this subsection is 

void. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 802, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th 

Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(49), eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 

965, Sec. 1.09, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1031.  NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING AND ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE 

RESOLUTION.  (a)  The commission shall develop and implement a 

policy to encourage the use of: 

(1)  negotiated rulemaking procedures under Chapter 

2008, Government Code, for the adoption of commission rules; and 

(2)  appropriate alternative dispute resolution 

procedures under Chapter 2009, Government Code, to assist in the 

resolution of internal and external disputes under the 

commission's jurisdiction. 

(b)  The commission's procedures relating to alternative 

dispute resolution must conform, to the extent possible, to any 

model guidelines issued by the State Office of Administrative 

Hearings for the use of alternative dispute resolution by state 

agencies. 

(c)  The commission shall: 

(1)  coordinate the implementation of the policy 

adopted under Subsection (a); 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.102
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.013
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2008
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2009
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(2)  provide training as needed to implement the 

procedures for negotiated rulemaking or alternative dispute 

resolution; and 

(3)  collect data concerning the effectiveness of 

those procedures. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 1.04, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1035.  RULES REGARDING DRINKING-WATER STANDARDS.  

Before adopting rules regarding statewide drinking-water 

standards, the commission shall hold public meetings, if 

requested, at its regional offices to allow municipalities, 

water supply corporations, and other interested persons to 

submit data or comments concerning the proposed drinking-water 

standards. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1010, Sec. 4.41, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.104.  MEMORANDA OF UNDERSTANDING.  (a)  The 

commission and board by rule shall develop memoranda of 

understanding as necessary to clarify and provide for their 

respective duties, responsibilities, or functions on any matter 

under the jurisdiction of the commission or board that is not 

expressly assigned to either the commission or board. 

(b)  The commission may enter into a memorandum of 

understanding with any other state agency and shall adopt by 

rule any memorandum of understanding between the commission and 

any other state agency. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.105.  GENERAL POLICY.  Except as otherwise 

specifically provided by this code, the commission, by rule, 

shall establish and approve all general policy of the 

commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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Sec. 5.106.  BUDGET APPROVAL.  The commission shall examine 

and approve all budget recommendations for the commission that 

are to be transmitted to the legislature. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.107.  ADVISORY COMMITTEES, WORK GROUPS, AND TASK 

FORCES.  (a)  The commission or the executive director may 

create and consult with advisory committees, work groups, or 

task forces, including committees, work groups, or task forces 

for the environment, for public information, or for any other 

matter that the commission or the executive director may 

consider appropriate. 

(b)  The commission shall identify affected groups of 

interested persons for advisory committees, work groups, and 

task forces and shall make reasonable attempts to have balanced 

representation on all advisory committees, work groups, and task 

forces.  This subsection does not require the commission to 

ensure that all representatives attend a scheduled meeting.  A 

rule or other action may not be challenged because of the 

composition of an advisory committee, work group, or task force. 

(c)  The commission shall monitor the composition and 

activities of advisory committees, work groups, and task forces 

appointed by the commission or formed at the staff level and 

shall maintain that information in a form and location that is 

easily accessible to the public, including making the 

information available on the Internet. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.10, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.108.  EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR.  (a)  The commission shall 

appoint an executive director to serve at the will of the 

commission. 

(b)  The board shall exercise the powers of appointment 

which the Texas Water Rights Commission had the authority to 
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exercise on August 30, 1977, except for those powers of 

appointment expressly provided to the Texas Water Rights 

Commission in Chapters 50 through 63 inclusive, of the Water 

Code, which are delegated to the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.109.  CHIEF CLERK.  (a)  The commission shall 

appoint a chief clerk who shall serve at the will of the 

commission. 

(b)  The chief clerk shall assist the commission in 

carrying out its duties under this code and other law. 

(c)  The chief clerk shall issue notice of public hearings 

held under the authority of the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.009, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.110.  GENERAL COUNSEL.  (a)  The commission shall 

appoint a general counsel who shall serve at the will of the 

commission. 

(b)  The general counsel is the chief legal officer for the 

commission. 

(c)  The general counsel must be an attorney licensed to 

practice law in this state. 

(d)  The general counsel shall perform the duties and may 

exercise the powers specifically authorized by this code or 

delegated to the general counsel by the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.111.  STANDARDS OF CONDUCT.  The commission shall 

provide to its members, appointees, and employees as often as is 

necessary information regarding their qualifications under this 

code and their responsibilities under applicable laws relating 

to standards of conduct for state officers or employees. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=50
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=63
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Sec. 5.112.  PUBLIC TESTIMONY POLICY.  The commission shall 

develop and implement policies that will provide the public with 

a reasonable opportunity to appear before the commission and to 

speak on any issue under the jurisdiction of the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 977, Sec. 1, eff. June 19, 1987. 

 

 

Sec. 5.113.  COMMISSION AND STAFF RESPONSIBILITY POLICY.  

The commission shall develop and implement policies that clearly 

separate the respective responsibilities of the commission and 

the staff. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.114.  APPLICATIONS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS.  

Applications and other documents to be filed with the commission 

for final action under this code shall be filed with the 

executive director and handled in the manner provided by this 

code. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.115.  PERSONS AFFECTED IN COMMISSION HEARINGS; 

NOTICE OF APPLICATION.  (a)  For the purpose of an 

administrative hearing held by or for the commission involving a 

contested case, "affected person," or "person affected," or 

"person who may be affected" means a person who has a personal 

justiciable interest related to a legal right, duty, privilege, 

power, or economic interest affected by the administrative 

hearing.  An interest common to members of the general public 

does not qualify as a personal justiciable interest. 

(a-1) The commission shall adopt rules specifying factors 

which must be considered in determining whether a person is an 

affected person in any contested case arising under the air, 

waste, or water programs within the commission's jurisdiction 
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and whether an affected association is entitled to standing in 

contested case hearings.  For a matter referred under Section 

5.556, the commission: 

(1)  may consider: 

(A)  the merits of the underlying application, 

including whether the application meets the requirements for 

permit issuance; 

(B)  the likely impact of regulated activity on 

the health, safety, and use of the property of the hearing 

requestor; 

(C)  the administrative record, including the 

permit application and any supporting documentation; 

(D)  the analysis and opinions of the executive 

director; and 

(E)  any other expert reports, affidavits, 

opinions, or data submitted on or before any applicable deadline 

to the commission by the executive director, the applicant, or a 

hearing requestor; and 

(2)  may not find that: 

(A)  a group or association is an affected person 

unless the group or association identifies, by name and physical 

address in a timely request for a contested case hearing, a 

member of the group or association who would be an affected 

person in the person's own right; or 

(B)  a hearing requestor is an affected person 

unless the hearing requestor timely submitted comments on the 

permit application. 

(b)  At the time an application for a permit or license 

under this code is filed with the executive director and is 

administratively complete, the commission shall give notice of 

the application to any person who may be affected by the 

granting of the permit or license.  A state agency that receives 

notice under this subsection may submit comments to the 

commission in response to the notice but may not contest the 

issuance of a permit or license by the commission.  For the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.556
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purposes of this subsection, "state agency" does not include a 

river authority. 

(c)  At the time an application for any formal action by 

the commission that will affect lands dedicated to the permanent 

school fund is filed with the executive director or the 

commission and is administratively complete, the commission 

shall give notice of the application to the School Land Board.  

Notice shall be delivered by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, addressed to the deputy commissioner of the asset 

management division of the General Land Office.  Delivery is not 

complete until the return receipt is signed by the deputy 

commissioner of the asset management division of the General 

Land Office and returned to the commission. 

(d)  The commission shall adopt rules for the notice 

required by this section.  The rules must provide for the notice 

required by this section to be posted on the Internet by the 

commission. 

(e)  The notice must state: 

(1)  the identifying number given the application by 

the commission; 

(2)  the type of permit or license sought under the 

application; 

(3)  the name and address of the applicant; 

(4)  the date on which the application was submitted;  

and 

(5)  a brief summary of the information included in 

the permit application. 

(f)  The notice to the School Land Board under this section 

shall additionally: 

(1)  state the location of the permanent school fund 

land to be affected;  and 

(2)  describe any foreseeable impact or effect of the 

commission's action on permanent school fund land. 

(g)  A formal action or ruling by the commission on an 

application affecting permanent school fund land that is made 

without the notice required by this section is voidable by the 
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School Land Board as to any permanent school fund lands affected 

by the action or ruling. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.010, eff. Aug. 12, 1991; Acts 

1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 991, Sec. 6, eff. Sept. 1, 1993; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., 

ch. 882, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 1, 

eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 10.01, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 116 (S.B. 709), Sec. 2, eff. September 

1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 5.116.  HEARINGS; RECESS.  The commission may recess 

any hearing or examination from time to time and from place to 

place. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.117.  MANDATORY ENFORCEMENT HEARING.  (a)  The 

executive director shall monitor compliance with all permits and 

licenses issued by the commission under this code, and if the 

evidence available to the executive director through this 

monitoring process indicates that a permittee or licensee is in 

substantial noncompliance with his permit or license for a 

period of four months, or for a shorter period of time if the 

executive director considers an emergency to exist, the 

executive director shall report this fact to the commission 

together with the information relating to the noncompliance. 

(b)  On receiving a report from the executive director 

under Subsection (a) of this section, the commission shall call 

and hold a hearing to determine whether the permittee or 

licensee who is the subject of the executive director's report 

has been in substantial noncompliance with his permit or 

license. 

(c)  At the conclusion of the hearing, the commission shall 

issue one of the following orders stating that: 

(1)  no violation of the permit or license has 

occurred; 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/SB00709F.HTM
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(2)  a violation of the permit or license has occurred 

but has been corrected and no further action is necessary to 

protect the public interest; 

(3)  the executive director is authorized to enter 

into a compliance agreement with the permittee or licensee; 

(4)  a violation of the permit or license has occurred 

and an administrative penalty is assessed as provided by this 

code; or 

(5)  a violation of the permit or license has 

occurred, and the executive director is directed to have 

enforcement proceedings instituted against the permittee or 

licensee. 

(d)  A compliance agreement under Subsection (c)(3) of this 

section is not effective unless it is approved by the 

commission.  If the commission determines at a hearing that a 

permittee or licensee has not complied with the terms of the 

compliance agreement, the commission may direct the executive 

director to institute enforcement proceedings. 

(e)  The executive director, on receiving an order from the 

commission directing institution of enforcement proceedings, 

shall take all necessary steps to have enforcement proceedings 

instituted. 

(f)  The commission may compel the attendance of the 

governing body or any other officer of any permittee or licensee 

at any hearing held under this section. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.011, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1175.  PAYMENT OF PENALTY BY INSTALLMENT.  (a)  The 

commission by rule may allow a person who owes a monetary civil 

or administrative penalty imposed for a violation of law within 

the commission's jurisdiction or for a violation of a license, 

permit, or order issued or rule adopted by the commission to pay 

the penalty in periodic installments.  The rule must provide a 
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procedure for a person to apply for permission to pay the 

penalty over time. 

(b)   The rule may vary the period over which the penalty 

may be paid or the amount of the periodic installments according 

to the amount of the penalty owed and the size of the business 

that owes the penalty.  The period over which the penalty may be 

paid may not exceed 36 months. 
 

Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 112, Sec. 1, eff. May 17, 1995. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1386 (S.B. 1693), Sec. 4, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

 

 

Sec. 5.118.  POWER TO ADMINISTER OATHS.  Each member of the 

commission, the chief clerk, or a hearings examiner may 

administer oaths in any hearing or examination on any matter 

submitted to the commission for action. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.119.  COMMISSION TO BE KNOWLEDGEABLE.  The 

commission shall be knowledgeable of the watercourses and 

natural resources of the state and of the needs of the state 

concerning the use, storage and conservation of water and the 

use and conservation of other natural resources and of the need 

to maintain the quality of the environment in the state. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.012, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1191.  RESEARCH MODEL.  (a)  In this section, 

"research model" means a mechanism for developing a plan to 

address the commission's practical regulatory needs.  The 

commission's plan shall be prioritized by need and shall 

identify short-term, medium-term, and long-term research goals.  

The plan may address preferred methods of conducting the 

identified research. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/SB01693F.HTM
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(b)  The commission shall develop a research model.  The 

commission may appoint a research advisory board to assist the 

commission in providing appropriate incentives to encourage 

various interest groups to participate in developing the 

research model and to make recommendations regarding research 

topics specific to this state.  The research advisory board must 

include representatives of the academic community, 

representatives of the regulated community, and public 

representatives of the state at large. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.11, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1192.  COORDINATION OF RESEARCH.  (a)  The 

commission shall facilitate and coordinate environmental 

research in the state according to the research model developed 

under Section 5.1191. 

(b)  The commission shall explore private and federal 

funding opportunities for research needs identified in the 

research model.  The commission may conduct, direct, and 

facilitate research to implement the commission's research model 

by administering grants or by contracting for research if money 

is appropriated to the commission for those purposes. 

(c)  To the degree practicable, the commission, through the 

research model, shall coordinate with or make use of any 

research activities conducted under existing state initiatives, 

including research by state universities, the Texas Higher 

Education Coordinating Board, the United States Department of 

Agriculture, the Texas Department of Agriculture, and other 

state and federal agencies as appropriate. 

(d)  This section does not authorize the commission to 

initiate or direct the research efforts of another entity except 

under the terms of a grant or contract. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.11, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.1191
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Sec. 5.1193.  REPORT.  The commission shall include in the 

reports required by Section 5.178 a description of cooperative 

research efforts, an accounting of money spent on research, and 

a review of the purpose, implementation, and results of 

particular research projects conducted. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.11, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.120.  CONSERVATION AND QUALITY OF ENVIRONMENT.  The 

commission shall administer the law so as to promote the 

judicious use and maximum conservation and protection of the 

quality of the environment and the natural resources of the 

state. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.013, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.121.  PUBLIC INFORMATION.  (a)  The commission shall 

comply with Section 2001.004, Government Code, by indexing and 

making available for public inspection all rules and all other 

written statements of policy or interpretations formulated, 

adopted, or used by the commission in the discharge of its 

functions. 

(b)  The commission shall comply with Section 2001.004, 

Government Code, by indexing and making available for public 

inspection all of the commission's final orders, decisions, and 

opinions. 
 

Added by Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 638, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1987.  Amended 

by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(71), (72), eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 5.122.  DELEGATION OF UNCONTESTED MATTERS TO EXECUTIVE 

DIRECTOR.  (a)  The commission by rule or order may delegate to 

the executive director the commission's authority to act on an 

application or other request to issue, renew, reopen, transfer, 

amend, extend, withdraw, revoke, terminate, or modify a permit, 

license, certificate, registration, or other authorization or 

approval if: 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.178
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001.004
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001.004
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(1)  required notice of the application or request for 

the authorization or approval has been given; 

(2)  the holder of or applicant for the authorization 

or approval agrees in writing to the action to be taken by the 

executive director; and 

(3)  the application or request: 

(A)  is uncontested and does not require an 

evidentiary hearing; 

(B)  has become uncontested before parties are 

named because each person who requested a contested case hearing 

within the time allowed by law has: 

(i)  withdrawn the request for a contested 

case hearing without condition; 

(ii)  withdrawn the request for a contested 

case hearing conditioned only on the withdrawal of all other 

hearing requests; or 

(iii)  agreed in writing to allow the 

executive director to make a final decision on the matter; or 

(C)  has become uncontested because all parties 

have agreed in writing to the action to be taken by the 

executive director. 

(b)  A person affected by an action the executive director 

takes on a matter delegated under this section may appeal the 

executive director's action to the commission unless the action 

is a decision: 

(1)  regarding a federal operating permit under 

Subchapter C, Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code;  or 

(2)  specified as final and appealable by the 

commission rule that delegates the decision to the executive 

director. 

(c)  A person affected by a decision of the executive 

director on a matter delegated under this section that regards a 

federal operating permit under Subchapter C, Chapter 382, Health 

and Safety Code, may: 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.051
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.051
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
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(1)  petition the administrator of the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency in accordance with rules adopted 

under Section 382.0563, Health and Safety Code;  or 

(2)  file a petition for judicial review under Section 

382.032, Health and Safety Code. 

(d)  The commission's authority under this section is 

cumulative of the commission's authority to delegate its powers, 

duties, or rights under any other law. 
 

Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 860, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1995.  Amended 

by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 302, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1065 (H.B. 3177), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 5.124.  AUTHORITY TO AWARD GRANTS.  (a)  With the 

consent of the commission, the executive director may award 

grants for any purpose regarding resource conservation or 

environmental protection in accordance with this section. 

(b)  The commission by rule shall establish procedures for 

awarding a grant, for making any determination related to 

awarding a grant, and for making grant payments. 

(c)  Each activity funded by a grant must directly relate 

to a purpose specified in the grant.  A grant may be awarded 

only for a purpose consistent with the commission's jurisdiction 

and purposes under law, including: 

(1)  the development or implementation of a 

comprehensive conservation and management plan under Section 

320, Federal Water Pollution Control Act (33 U.S.C. Section 

1330), for a designated national estuary in this state; 

(2)  a demonstration project that involves new 

techniques for pollution prevention, energy or resource 

conservation, or waste management; 

(3)  an environmental purpose identified in a federal 

grant that is intended as a pass-through grant; 

(4)  development or improvement of monitoring or 

modeling techniques for water or air quality; 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0563
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.032
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/HB03177F.HTM
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(5)  support of a local air pollution program; or 

(6)  a study or program related to efforts to prevent 

an area that is near nonattainment with federal air quality 

standards from reaching nonattainment status. 

(d)  A grant may be awarded to any person that meets the 

eligibility requirements of the grant.  The executive director 

shall establish eligibility requirements for each grant 

appropriate to the purposes of and activities under the grant 

and the method of selecting the recipient. 

(e)  Selection of grant recipients must be by solicitation 

of a proposal or application except as provided by Subsections 

(f) and (g).  The executive director may specify any selection 

criterion the executive director considers relevant to the 

grant.  Selection criteria must address: 

(1)  evaluation and scoring of: 

(A)  fiscal controls; 

(B)  project effectiveness; 

(C)  project cost; and 

(D)  previous experience with grants and 

contracts; and 

(2)  the possibility and method of making multiple 

awards. 

(f)  A grant may be made by direct award only if: 

(1)  the executive director determines that: 

(A)  selection of recipients by the solicitation 

of proposals or applications is not feasible; and 

(B)  awarding the grant directly is in the best 

interest of the state; 

(2)  eligibility for the grant is limited to: 

(A)  an agency or political subdivision of this 

state or of another state; 

(B)  a state institution of higher learning of 

this state or of another state, including any part or service of 

the institution; or 

(C)  an agency of the United States; or 
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(3)  the grant is awarded to a person established or 

authorized to develop or implement a comprehensive conservation 

and management plan under Section 320, Federal Water Pollution 

Control Act (33 U.S.C. Section 1330), for a national estuary in 

this state. 

(g)  If a solicitation of a proposal is made for the 

purpose of identifying a partner for a joint application for a 

federal grant that is subsequently awarded to the commission, 

the executive director is not required to make an additional 

solicitation for entering into a pass-through grant with an 

identified partner. 

(h)  The executive director shall publish information 

regarding a solicitation related to a grant to be awarded under 

this section on the commission's electronic business daily in 

the manner provided by Section 2155.074, Government Code, as 

added by Section 1, Chapter 508, Acts of the 75th Legislature, 

Regular Session, 1997. 

(i)  For a grant awarded under this section, the commission 

may use: 

(1)  money appropriated for grant-making purposes; 

(2)  federal money granted for making pass-through 

grants; and 

(3)  state or federal grant money appropriated for a 

purpose that the executive director determines is consistent 

with a purpose of the grant from the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 404, Sec. 28, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 5.125.  COST-SHARING FOR ENVIRONMENTAL COMPLIANCE 

ASSESSMENTS BY CERTAIN BUSINESSES.  (a)  In this section, 

"environmental compliance assessment" means an environmental 

compliance audit, pollution prevention assessment, or 

environmental management system audit performed by a small 

business.  The term does not include an audit conducted under 

Chapter 1101, Health and Safety Code. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2155.074
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=1101
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(b)  The commission may implement cost-sharing to assist 

with payment of costs for an environmental compliance assessment 

performed by a business subject to regulation by the commission 

that employs at least 100 but not more than 250 individuals. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 104, Sec. 2, eff. May 17, 1999. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 324 (S.B. 1488), Sec. 20.002(d), eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 5.126.  REPORT ON ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS.  (a)  Not later 

than December 1 of each year, the commission shall: 

(1)  prepare an electronic report on its enforcement 

actions for the preceding fiscal year, including a comparison 

with its enforcement actions for each of the preceding five 

fiscal years; and 

(2)  provide the report to the governor, lieutenant 

governor, and speaker of the house of representatives. 

(b)  The report shall separately describe the enforcement 

actions for each type of regulatory program, including programs 

under Chapters 26 and 27 of this code and Chapters 361, 382, and 

401, Health and Safety Code. 

(c)  The description of enforcement actions for each type 

of regulatory program shall include: 

(1)  the number of inspections; 

(2)  the number of notices of violations; 

(3)  the number of enforcement actions; 

(4)  the type of enforcement actions; 

(5)  the amount of penalties assessed, deferred, or 

collected; and 

(6)  any other information the commission determines 

relevant. 

(d)  As soon as possible after the end of each fiscal year, 

the attorney general shall provide the commission information on 

enforcement actions referred by the commission to the attorney 

general that were resolved during the preceding fiscal year or 

are pending at the end of that fiscal year. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/SB01488F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=27
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401
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Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 304, Sec. 1, eff. May 26, 1997; Acts 1997, 

75th Leg., ch. 1082, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. Renumbered from Sec. 5.123 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 21.001(112), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.127.  ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS.  (a)  In 

this section, "environmental management system" means a 

documented management system to address applicable environmental 

regulatory requirements that includes organizational structure, 

planning activities, responsibilities, practices, procedures, 

processes, and resources for developing, implementing, 

achieving, reviewing, and maintaining an environmental policy 

directed toward continuous improvement. 

(b)  The commission by rule shall adopt a comprehensive 

program that provides regulatory incentives to encourage the use 

of environmental management systems by regulated entities, state 

agencies, local governments, and other entities as determined by 

the commission. The incentives may include: 

(1)  on-site technical assistance; 

(2)  accelerated access to information about programs; 

and 

(3)  to the extent consistent with federal 

requirements: 

(A)  inclusion of information regarding an 

entity's use of an environmental management system in the 

entity's compliance history and compliance summaries; and 

(B)  consideration of the entity's implementation 

of an environmental management system in scheduling and 

conducting compliance inspections. 

(c)  The rules must provide that an environmental 

management system, at a minimum, must require the entity 

implementing the system to: 

(1)  adopt a written environmental policy; 

(2)  identify the environmental aspects and impacts of 

the entity's activities; 

(3)  set priorities, goals, and targets for continuous 

improvement in environmental performance and for ensuring 
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compliance with environmental laws, regulations, and permit 

terms applicable to the facility; 

(4)  assign clear responsibilities for implementation, 

training, monitoring, and corrective action and for ensuring 

compliance with environmental laws, regulations, and permit 

terms applicable to the facility; 

(5)  document implementation of procedures and 

results; and 

(6)  evaluate and refine implementation over time to 

improve attainment of environmental goals and targets and the 

system itself. 

(d)  The commission shall: 

(1)  integrate the use of environmental management 

systems into its regulatory programs, including permitting, 

compliance assistance, and enforcement; 

(2)  develop model environmental management systems 

for small businesses and local governments; and 

(3)  establish environmental performance indicators to 

measure the program's performance. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1161, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.128.  ELECTRONIC REPORTING TO COMMISSION; ELECTRONIC 

TRANSMISSION OF INFORMATION BY COMMISSION; REDUCTION OF 

DUPLICATE REPORTING. 

(a)  The commission shall encourage the use of electronic 

reporting through the Internet, to the extent practicable, for 

reports required by the commission.  Notwithstanding any other 

law, the commission may adjust fees as necessary to encourage 

electronic reporting and the use of the commission's electronic 

document receiving system.  An electronic report must be 

submitted in a format prescribed by the commission.  The 

commission may consult with the Department of Information 

Resources on developing a simple format for use in implementing 

this subsection. 



Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 33 

 

(a-1) Notwithstanding any other law, the commission may 

utilize electronic means of transmission of information, 

including notices, orders, and decisions issued or sent by the 

commission. 

(a-2) The commission shall utilize electronic means of 

transmission for any notice issued or sent by the commission to 

a state senator or representative, unless the senator or 

representative has requested to receive notice by mail. 

(a-3) If the notice issued or sent under Subsection (a-2) 

concerns a permit for a facility, the notice must include an 

Internet link to an electronic map indicating the location of 

the facility. 

(b)  The commission shall strive to reduce duplication in 

reporting requirements throughout the agency. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.12, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 664 (H.B. 1254), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 962 (H.B. 3544), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 108 (H.B. 610), Sec. 1, eff. September 

1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.129.  SUMMARY FOR PUBLIC NOTICES.  (a)  The 

commission by rule shall provide for each public notice issued 

or published by the commission or by a person under the 

jurisdiction of the commission as required by law or by 

commission rule to include at the beginning of the notice a 

succinct statement of the subject of the notice.  The rules must 

provide that a summary statement must be designed to inform the 

reader of the subject matter of the notice without having to 

read the entire text of the notice. 

(b)  The summary statement may not be grounds for 

challenging the validity of the proposed action for which the 

notice was published. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.12, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB01254F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB03544F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB00610F.HTM
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Sec. 5.130.  CONSIDERATION OF CUMULATIVE RISKS.  The 

commission shall: 

(1)  develop and implement policies, by specific 

environmental media, to protect the public from cumulative risks 

in areas of concentrated operations; and 

(2)  give priority to monitoring and enforcement in 

areas in which regulated facilities are concentrated. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.12, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.132.  CREATION OF PERFORMANCE MEASURES FOR 

INNOVATIVE REGULATORY PROGRAMS.  The commission shall work with 

the Legislative Budget Board to create performance measures that 

assess the improvements in environmental quality achieved by 

innovative regulatory programs implemented by the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1483, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Renumbered from Water Code Sec. 5.127 by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1275, Sec. 

2(138), eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 5.133.  ACTIONS IN MEXICO.  The commission may take 

and finance any action in Mexico, in cooperation with 

governmental authorities of Mexico, that in the opinion of the 

commission: 

(1)  is necessary or convenient to accomplish a duty 

of the commission imposed by law; and 

(2)  will yield benefits to the environment in this 

state. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 728, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Renumbered from Water Code Sec. 5.127 by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1275, Sec. 

2(139), eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 5.134.  USE OF ENVIRONMENTAL TESTING LABORATORY DATA 

AND ANALYSIS.  (a)  The commission may accept environmental 

testing laboratory data and analysis for use in commission 

decisions regarding any matter under the commission's 

jurisdiction relating to permits or other authorizations, 
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compliance matters, enforcement actions, or corrective actions 

only if the data and analysis is prepared by an environmental 

testing laboratory accredited by the commission under Subchapter 

R or an environmental testing laboratory described in Subsection 

(b) or (e). 

(b)  The commission may accept for use in commission 

decisions data and analysis prepared by: 

(1)  an on-site or in-house environmental testing 

laboratory if the laboratory: 

(A)  is periodically inspected by the commission; 

or 

(B)  is located in another state and is 

accredited or periodically inspected by that state; 

(2)  an environmental testing laboratory that is 

accredited under federal law; or 

(3)  if the data and analysis are necessary for 

emergency response activities and the required data and analysis 

are not otherwise available, an environmental testing laboratory 

that is not accredited by the commission under Subchapter R or 

under federal law. 

(c)  The commission by rule may require that data and 

analysis used in other commission decisions be obtained from an 

environmental testing laboratory accredited by the commission 

under Subchapter R. 

(d)  The commission shall periodically inspect on-site or 

in-house environmental testing laboratories described in 

Subsection (b). 

(e)  The commission may accept for use in commission 

decisions data from an on-site or in-house laboratory if the 

laboratory is performing the work: 

(1)  for another company with a unit located on the 

same site; or 

(2)  without compensation for a governmental agency or 

a charitable organization if the laboratory is periodically 

inspected by the commission. 
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Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.12, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Renumbered from Water Code Sec. 5.127 by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1275, Sec. 

2(140), eff. Sept. 1, 2003.  Amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 912, Sec. 

1, eff. Sept. 1, 2005. 

 

 

Sec. 5.135.  SMALL BUSINESS COMPLIANCE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.  

(a)  The commission shall establish a small business compliance 

assistance program. 

(b)  The program shall include: 

(1)  mechanisms to develop, collect, and coordinate 

information about compliance methods and technologies for small 

businesses and to encourage cooperation between those small 

businesses and other persons to achieve compliance with 

applicable air quality, water quality, and solid waste laws; 

(2)  mechanisms to assist small businesses with 

pollution prevention and the prevention and detection of 

accidental releases, including information about alternative 

technologies, process changes, products, and methods of 

operation to reduce air pollution, water pollution, and improper 

disposal of solid waste; 

(3)  an ombudsman to help small businesses meet the 

requirements of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 

(Pub.L. No. 101-549), as amended, the Federal Water Pollution 

Control Act (33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq.), as amended, and 

the federal Solid Waste Disposal Act (42 U.S.C. Section 6901 et 

seq.), as amended; 

(4)  a compliance assistance program to help small 

businesses identify the requirements for and obtain required 

permits in a timely and efficient manner; 

(5)  notification procedures to assure that small 

businesses receive notice of their rights and obligations under 

the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-

549), as amended, the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (33 

U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq.), as amended, and the federal Solid 

Waste Disposal Act (42 U.S.C. Section 6901 et seq.), as amended, 

in time to identify applicable requirements and evaluate and 

implement appropriate compliance methods; 
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(6)  auditing services or referrals for small business 

stationary source operations to determine compliance with the 

federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549), 

as amended; and 

(7)  procedures for considering a request by a small 

business to modify work practices, technological compliance 

methods, or an implementation schedule requirement that precedes 

a compliance date, taking into account the technological and 

financial capability of that source. 

(c)  The program shall include a small business compliance 

assistance advisory panel that consists of the following seven 

members: 

(1)  two members who are not owners or representatives 

of owners of small business stationary sources, selected by the 

governor to represent the public; 

(2)  two members who are owners or who represent 

owners of small business stationary sources, selected by the 

speaker of the house of representatives; 

(3)  two members who are owners or who represent 

owners of small business stationary sources, selected by the 

lieutenant governor; and 

(4)  one member selected by the chairman of the 

commission to represent the commission. 

(d)  The small business compliance assistance advisory 

panel shall: 

(1)  give advisory opinions on the effectiveness of 

the program, the difficulties of implementing the program, and 

the incidence and severity of enforcement; 

(2)  report periodically to the administrator 

regarding the program's compliance with requirements of the 

Paperwork Reduction Act of 1980 (Pub.L. No. 96-511), as amended, 

the Regulatory Flexibility Act (5 U.S.C. Section 601 et seq.), 

as amended, and the Equal Access to Justice Act (Pub.L. No. 96-

481), as amended; 
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(3)  review information the program provides to small 

businesses to assure the information is understandable to 

nonexperts; and 

(4)  distribute opinions, reports, and information 

developed by the panel. 

(e)  The commission shall enter into a memorandum of 

understanding with the Texas Department of Economic Development 

to coordinate assistance to any small business in applying for 

permits from the commission. 

(f)  The commission may adopt rules reasonably necessary to 

implement this section.  Rules relating to air pollution must 

comply with Section 507 of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 

Section 7661f), as added by Section 501 of the federal Clean Air 

Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549), as amended, and 

regulations adopted under that Act. 

(g)  In this section: 

(1)  "Program" means the small business compliance 

assistance program. 

(2)  "Small business" means: 

(A)  a small business stationary source;  or 

(B)  a business that employs at least 100 but not 

more than 250 individuals. 

(3)  "Small business stationary source" has the 

meaning assigned by Section 507(c) of the federal Clean Air Act 

(42 U.S.C. Section 7661f), as added by Section 501 of the 

federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Pub.L. No. 101-549), 

as amended. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 2.05, eff. Sept. 1, 

1991.  Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 11.156, eff. Sept. 1, 

1995; Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 104, Sec. 3, eff. May 17, 1999.  Renumbered 

from Health & Safety Code, Sec. 382.0365 and amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., 

ch. 81, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 
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SUBCHAPTER E. ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS FOR COMMISSION 
 

Sec. 5.171.  AUDIT.  The financial transactions of the 

commission are subject to audit by the state auditor in 

accordance with Chapter 321, Government Code. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 584, Sec. 73, eff. Sept. 1, 1989. 

 

 

Sec. 5.172.  FUNDS FROM OTHER STATE AGENCIES.  Any state 

agency that has statutory responsibilities for environmental 

pollution or environmental quality control and that receives a 

legislative appropriation for these purposes may transfer to the 

commission any amount mutually agreed on by the commission and 

the agency, subject to the approval of the governor. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.014, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.173.  PUBLIC INFORMATION RELATING TO COMMISSION.  

The commission shall prepare information of public interest 

describing the functions of the commission and describing the 

commission's procedures by which complaints are filed with and 

resolved by the commission.  The commission shall make the 

information available to the general public and the appropriate 

state agencies. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1733.  ELECTRONIC POSTING OF INFORMATION.  The 

commission shall post public information on its website.  Such 

information shall include but not be limited to the minutes of 

advisory committee meetings, pending permit and enforcement 

actions, compliance histories, and emissions inventories by 

county and facility name. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.13, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=321
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Sec. 5.174.  COPIES OF DOCUMENTS, PROCEEDINGS, ETC.  (a)  

Except as otherwise specifically provided by this code and 

subject to the specific limitations provided by this code, on 

application of any person the commission shall furnish certified 

or other copies of any proceeding or other official record or of 

any map, paper, or document filed with the commission.  A 

certified copy with the seal of the commission and the signature 

of the presiding officer of the commission or the executive 

director or chief clerk is admissible as evidence in any court 

or administrative proceeding. 

(b) The commission shall provide in its rules the fees

that will be charged for copies and is authorized to furnish 

copies, certified or otherwise, to a person without charge when 

the furnishing of the copies serves a public purpose.  Other 

statutes concerning fees for copies of records do not apply to 

the commission, except that the fees set by the commission for 

copies prepared by the commission may not exceed those 

prescribed in Chapter 603, Government Code. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(13), eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 16.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 5.175.  INSPECTION OF WATER POLLUTION RECORDS.  (a)  

All information, documents, and data collected by the commission 

in the performance of its duties are the property of the state. 

(b) Except as provided by Subsection (c) of this section,

records, reports, data, or other information obtained relative 

to or from sources or potential sources of discharges of water 

pollutants shall be available to the public during regular 

office hours. 

(c) If a showing satisfactory to the executive director is

made by any person that those records, reports, data, or other 

information, other than effluent data, would divulge methods or 

processes entitled to protection as trade secrets, the 

commission shall consider those records, reports, data, or other 

information as confidential. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=603
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(d)  This chapter may not be construed to make confidential 

any effluent data, including effluent data in records, reports, 

or other information, and including effluent data in permits, 

draft permits, and permit applications. 

(e)  Records, data, or other information considered 

confidential may be disclosed or transmitted to officers, 

employees, or authorized representatives of the state or of the 

United States with responsibilities in water pollution control.  

However, this disclosure or transmittal may be made only after 

adequate written assurance is given to the executive director 

that the confidentiality of the disclosed or transmitted 

records, data, or other information will be afforded all 

reasonable protection allowed by law by the receiving officer, 

employee or authorized representative on behalf of, and under 

the authority of, the receiving agency or political entity. 

(f)  The executive director may not disclose or transmit 

records, data, or other information considered confidential if 

he has reason to believe the recipient will not protect their 

confidentiality to the most reasonable extent provided by law. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, 1.168; Acts 1991, 72nd 

Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.016, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.176.  COMPLAINT FILE.  (a)  The commission shall 

maintain a file on each written complaint filed with the 

commission about a matter within the commission's regulatory 

jurisdiction. The file must include: 

(1)  the name of the person who filed the complaint, 

unless the person has specifically requested anonymity; 

(2)  the date the complaint is received by the 

commission; 

(3)  the subject matter of the complaint; 

(4)  the name of each person contacted in relation to 

the complaint; 

(5)  a summary of the results of the review or 

investigation of the complaint; and 
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(6)  an explanation of the reason the file was closed, 

if the agency closed the file without taking action other than 

to investigate the complaint. 

(b)  The commission shall establish and implement 

procedures for receiving complaints submitted by means of the 

Internet and orally and shall maintain files on those complaints 

as provided by Subsection (a). 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.15, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1765.  PUBLICATION OF INFORMATION REGARDING 

COMPLAINT PROCEDURES AND POLICIES.  The commission shall 

establish a process for educating the public regarding the 

commission's complaint policies and procedures.  As part of the 

public education process, the commission shall make available to 

the public in pamphlet form an explanation of the complaint 

policies and procedures, including information regarding and 

standards applicable to the collection and preservation of 

credible evidence of environmental problems by members of the 

public. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.14, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.177.  NOTICE OF COMPLAINT PROCEDURES; NOTICE OF 

INVESTIGATION STATUS.  (a)  The agency shall provide to the 

person filing the complaint about a matter within the 

commission's regulatory jurisdiction and to each person who is 

the subject of the complaint a copy of the commission's policies 

and procedures relating to complaint investigation and 

resolution. 

(b)  The commission, at least quarterly until final 

disposition of the complaint, shall notify the person filing the 

complaint and each person who is a subject of the complaint of 

the status of the investigation unless the notice would 

jeopardize an undercover investigation. 
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(c)  The commission is not required to provide the 

information described in Subsection (a) or (b) to a complainant 

who files an anonymous complaint or provides inaccurate contact 

information. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.15, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1771.  COORDINATION OF COMPLAINT INVESTIGATIONS WITH 

LOCAL ENFORCEMENT OFFICIALS:  TRAINING.  (a)  The commission 

shall share information regarding a complaint about a matter 

within the commission's regulatory jurisdiction made to the 

commission with local officials with authority to act on the 

complaint in the county or municipality in which the alleged 

action or omission that is the subject of the complaint occurred 

or is threatening to occur. 

(b)  On request, the commission shall provide training for 

local enforcement officials in investigating complaints and 

enforcing environmental laws relating to matters under the 

commission's jurisdiction under this code or the Health and 

Safety Code.  The training must include, at a minimum: 

(1)  procedures for local enforcement officials to use 

in addressing citizen complaints if the commission is 

unavailable or unable to respond to the complaint; and 

(2)  an explanation of local government authority to 

enforce state laws and commission rules relating to the 

environment. 

(c)  The commission may charge a reasonable fee for 

providing training to local enforcement officials as required by 

Subsection (b) in an amount sufficient to recover the costs of 

the training. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.16, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1772.  AFTER-HOURS RESPONSE TO COMPLAINTS.  (a)  The 

commission shall adopt and implement a policy to provide timely 
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response to complaints during periods outside regular business 

hours. 

(b)  This section does not: 

(1)  require availability of field inspectors for 

response 24 hours a day, seven days a week, in all parts of the 

state; or 

(2)  authorize additional use of overtime. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.16, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1773.  COMPLAINT ASSESSMENT.  (a)  The commission 

annually shall conduct a comprehensive analysis of the 

complaints it receives, including analysis by the following 

categories: 

(1)  air; 

(2)  water; 

(3)  waste; 

(4)  priority classification; 

(5)  region; 

(6)  commission response; 

(7)  enforcement action taken; and 

(8)  trends by complaint type. 

(b)  In addition to the analysis required by Subsection 

(a), the commission shall assess the impact of changes made in 

the commission's complaint policy. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.16, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.178.  BIENNIAL REPORTS.  (a)  On or before December 

1 of each even-numbered year, the commission shall file with the 

governor and the members of the legislature a written report 

that includes a statement of the activities of the commission 

during the preceding fiscal biennium. 

(b)  The report due by December 1 of an even-numbered year 

shall include, in addition: 
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(1)  the commission's recommendations for necessary 

and desirable legislation; and 

(2)  the following reports: 

(A)  the assessments and reports required by 

Section 361.0219(c), Health and Safety Code; 

(B)  the reports required by Section 26.0135(d) 

and Section 5.02, Chapter 133, Acts of the 69th Legislature, 

Regular Session, 1985;  and 

(C)  a summary of the analyses and assessments 

required by Section 5.1773. 

(c)  Repealed by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., 3rd C.S., ch. 3, 

Sec. 7.04(b). 

(d)  Repealed by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1083, Sec. 

25(164), eff. June 17, 2011. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1082, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997; Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.17, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., 3rd C.S., 

ch. 3, Sec. 7.02, 7.03, 7.04(b), eff. Jan. 11, 2004. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1083 (S.B. 1179), Sec. 25(164), eff. 

June 17, 2011. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 161 (S.B. 1093), Sec. 21.001, eff. 

September 1, 2013. 

 

 

Sec. 5.1781.  APPLICATION REQUIREMENT FOR COLONIAS 

PROJECTS.  (a)  In this section, "colonia" means a geographic 

area that: 

(1)  is an economically distressed area as defined by 

Section 17.921; 

(2)  is located in a county any part of which is 

within 62 miles of an international border; and 

(3)  consists of 11 or more dwellings that are located 

in close proximity to each other in an area that may be 

described as a community or neighborhood. 

(b)  Repealed by Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 573 (S.B. 

241), Sec. 3.01(6), eff. September 1, 2019. 

(c)  Repealed by Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 573 (S.B. 

241), Sec. 3.01(6), eff. September 1, 2019. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.0219
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.0135
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.1773
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http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/SB01093F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=17.921
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(d)  Regarding any projects funded by the commission that 

provide assistance to colonias, the commission shall require an 

applicant for the funds to submit to the commission a colonia 

classification number, if one exists, for each colonia that may 

be served by the project proposed in the application.  If a 

colonia does not have a classification number, the commission 

may contact the secretary of state or the secretary of state's 

representative to obtain the classification number.  On request 

of the commission, the secretary of state or the secretary of 

state's representative shall assign a classification number to 

the colonia. 
 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 341 (S.B. 99), Sec. 12, eff. June 

15, 2007. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 573 (S.B. 241), Sec. 2.13, eff. 

September 1, 2019. 

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 573 (S.B. 241), Sec. 2.14, eff. 

September 1, 2019. 

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 573 (S.B. 241), Sec. 3.01(6), eff. 

September 1, 2019. 

 

 

Sec. 5.179.  SEAL.  The commission shall have a seal 

bearing the words Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission 

encircling the oak and olive branches common to other official 

seals. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.017, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER F. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 
 

Sec. 5.221.  GENERAL RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE EXECUTIVE 

DIRECTOR.  The executive director shall manage the 

administrative affairs of the commission subject to this code 

and other laws and under the general supervision and direction 

of the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00099F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/SB00241F.HTM
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Sec. 5.222.  DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S AUTHORITY 

OR DUTY.  The executive director may delegate to the executive 

director's staff any authority or duty assigned to the executive 

director unless the statute, rule, or order assigning or 

delegating the authority or duty specifies otherwise. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 302, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.238 by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 62, Sec. 19.01(109), 

eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 5.223.  ADMINISTRATIVE ORGANIZATION OF COMMISSION.  

Subject to approval of the commission, the executive director 

may organize and reorganize the administrative sections and 

divisions of the commission in a manner and in a form that will 

achieve the greatest efficiency and effectiveness. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.224.  INFORMATION REQUEST TO BOARD.  (a)  With 

regard to any matter pending before the commission, the 

executive director may obtain from the board information 

relating to that matter. 

(b)  On receiving a request from the executive director, 

the board should make the requested information available within 

30 days after the information is requested and shall make the 

requested information available not later than 90 days after the 

information is requested. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.225.  CAREER LADDER PROGRAM.  The executive director 

or his designee shall develop an intraagency career ladder 

program, one part of which shall require the intraagency posting 

of all nonentry level positions concurrently with any public 

posting. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 
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Sec. 5.226.  MERIT PAY.  The executive director or his 

designee shall develop a system of annual performance 

evaluations based on measurable job tasks.  All merit pay for 

commission employees must be based on the system established 

under this section. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.227.  EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY POLICY.  (a)  The 

executive director or his designee shall prepare and maintain a 

written policy statement that implements a program of equal 

employment opportunity to ensure that all personnel decisions 

are made without regard to race, color, disability, sex, 

religion, age, or national origin. 

(b)  The policy statement must include: 

(1)  personnel policies, including policies relating 

to recruitment, evaluation, selection, training, and promotion 

of personnel, that show the intent of the commission to avoid 

the unlawful employment practices described by Chapter 21, Labor 

Code;  and 

(2)  a comprehensive analysis of the extent to which 

the composition of the commission's personnel is in accordance 

with state and federal law and a description of reasonable 

methods to achieve compliance with state and federal law. 

(c)  The policy statement must: 

(1)  be updated annually; 

(2)  be reviewed by the state Commission on Human 

Rights for compliance with Subsection (b)(1); and 

(3)  be filed with the governor's office. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.18, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.228.  APPEARANCES AT HEARINGS.  (a)  The position of 

and information developed by the commission shall be presented 

by the executive director or his designated representative at 

hearings of the commission and the hearings held by federal, 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=LA&Value=21
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state, and local agencies on matters affecting the public's 

interest in the state's environment and natural resources, 

including matters that have been determined to be policies of 

the state. 

(b)  The executive director shall be named a party in 

hearings before the commission in a matter in which the 

executive director bears the burden of proof. 

(c)  The executive director shall participate as a party in 

contested case permit hearings before the commission or the 

State Office of Administrative Hearings to: 

(1)  provide information to complete the 

administrative record; and 

(2)  support the executive director's position 

developed in the underlying proceeding, unless the executive 

director has revised or reversed that position. 

(d)  In a contested case hearing relating to a permit 

application, the executive director or the executive director's 

designated representative may not rehabilitate the testimony of 

a witness unless the witness is a commission employee. 

(e)  Repealed by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021, Sec. 

10.04, eff. September 1, 2011. 

(f)  The fact that the executive director is not named as a 

party in a hearing before the commission is not grounds for 

appealing a commission decision. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.018, eff. Aug. 12, 1991; Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.20, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 10.02, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 10.04, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 116 (S.B. 709), Sec. 3, eff. September 

1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 5.229.  CONTRACTS.  (a)  The executive director, on 

behalf of the commission, may negotiate with and with the 

consent of the commission enter into contracts with the United 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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States or any of its agencies for the purpose of carrying out 

the powers, duties, and responsibilities of the commission. 

(b)  The executive director, on behalf of the commission, 

may negotiate with and with the consent of the commission enter 

into contracts or other agreements with states and political 

subdivisions of this state or any other entity for the purpose 

of carrying out the powers, duties, and responsibilities of the 

commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.2291.  SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SERVICES.  (a)  In 

this section, "scientific and technical environmental services" 

means services, other than engineering services, of a scientific 

or technical nature the conduct of which requires technical 

training and professional judgment.  The term includes modeling, 

risk assessment, site characterization and assessment, studies 

of the magnitude, source, and extent of contamination, 

contaminant fate and transport analysis, watershed assessment 

and analysis, total maximum daily load studies, scientific data 

analysis, and similar tasks, to the extent those tasks are not 

defined as the "practice of engineering" under Chapter 1001, 

Occupations Code. 

(b)  Except as provided by Section 5.2292, the procurement 

of a contract for scientific and technical environmental 

services shall be conducted under the procedures for 

professional services selection provided in Subchapter A, 

Chapter 2254, Government Code. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.21, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 14A.842, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 1.05, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.2292.  CONTRACTS FOR SERVICES UNDER PETROLEUM 

STORAGE TANK STATE-LEAD PROGRAM. (a) The executive director may 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=OC&Value=1001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.2292
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2254.001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2254
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directly award a contract for scientific and technical 

environmental services to a person if: 

(1)  the contract is for the performance of services 

related to the remediation of a site that has been placed in the 

state-lead program under Section 26.3573(r-1); 

(2)  the person has registered to perform corrective 

action under Section 26.364; 

(3)  the person is eligible to receive a contract 

award from the state; 

(4)  the person was performing related work at the 

site on or before July 1, 2011; and 

(5)  the contract includes all contract provisions 

required for state contracts. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Section 2254.004, Government Code, the 

executive director may directly award a contract for engineering 

services to a person if: 

(1)  the contract is for the performance of services 

related to the remediation of a site that has been placed in the 

state-lead program under Section 26.3573(r-1); 

(2)  the person is licensed under Chapter 1001, 

Occupations Code; 

(3)  the person has registered to perform corrective 

action under Section 26.364; 

(4)  the person is eligible to receive a contract 

award from the state; 

(5)  the person was performing related work at the 

site on or before July 1, 2011; and 

(6)  the contract includes all contract provisions 

required for state contracts. 

(c)  Nothing in Subsection (a) or (b) requires the 

executive director to make an award at a site or prevents the 

executive director from negotiating additional contract terms, 

including qualifications. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 1.06, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.3573
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.364
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2254.004
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Sec. 5.230.  ENFORCEMENT.  On approval of the commission, 

the executive director may enforce the terms and conditions of 

any permit, certified filing, certificate of adjudication, 

order, standard, or rule by injunction or other appropriate 

remedy in a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.231.  TRAVEL EXPENSES.  The executive director is 

entitled to receive actual and necessary travel expenses.  Other 

employees of the commission are entitled to receive travel 

expenses as provided in the General Appropriations Act. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.232.  EMPLOYEE MOVING EXPENSES.  If provided by 

legislative appropriation, the commission may pay the costs of 

transporting and delivering the household goods and effects of 

employees transferred by the executive director from one 

permanent station to another when, in the judgment of the 

executive director, the transfer will serve the best interest of 

the state. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

 

 

Sec. 5.233.  GIFTS AND GRANTS.  The executive director may 

apply for, request, solicit, contract for, receive, and accept 

money and other assistance from any source to carry out the 

powers and duties under this code and other law. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.019, eff. Aug. 12, 1991. 

 

 

Sec. 5.234.  APPLICATIONS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS.  (a)  An 

application, petition, or other document requiring action of the 

commission shall be presented to the executive director and 
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handled as provided by this code or other law and in the rules 

adopted by the commission. 

(b)  After an application, petition, or other document is 

processed, it shall be presented to the commission for action as 

required by law and rules of the commission.  If, in the course 

of reviewing an application and preparing a draft permit, the 

executive director has required changes to be made to the 

applicant's proposal, the executive director shall prepare a 

summary of the changes that were made to increase protection of 

public health and the environment. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.020, eff. Aug. 12, 1991; Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.22, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.236.  GROUNDWATER CONTAMINATION REPORTS.  (a)  If 

the executive director acquires information that confirms that a 

potential public health hazard exists because usable groundwater 

has been or is being contaminated, the executive director, not 

later than the 30th day after the date on which the executive 

director acquires the information confirming contamination, 

shall give written notice of the contamination to the following 

persons: 

(1)  the county judge and the county health officer, 

if any, in each county in which the contamination has occurred 

or is occurring; 

(2)  any person under the commission's jurisdiction 

who is suspected of contributing to the contamination; 

(3)  any other state agency with jurisdiction over any 

person who is suspected of contributing to the contamination; 

and 

(4)  a groundwater conservation district, if the 

contamination has occurred or is occurring in the jurisdiction 

of the district. 

(b)  The executive director shall give the notice in the 

manner and form, and include the information, required by rule 

of the commission. 
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Added by Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 393, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1987. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 607 (S.B. 430), Sec. 1, eff. September 

1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.237.  OPERATING FUND.  (a)  The Texas Natural 

Resource Conservation Commission Operating Fund is established 

in the treasury.  At the request of the commission, the 

comptroller is authorized to transfer to an account in the 

operating fund any appropriations made to the commission for the 

purpose of making expenditures.  After expenditures have been 

made from the operating fund and proper line-item appropriations 

identified, the commission shall submit periodic adjustments to 

the comptroller in summary amounts to record accurate cost 

allocations to the appropriate funds and accounts.  Periodic 

adjustments under this section shall be made at least quarterly. 

(b)  The commission will establish and maintain accounting 

records adequate to support the periodic reconciliation of 

operating fund transfers and document expenditures from each 

fund or account.  All expenditures shall be made consistent with 

provisions of law relating to the authorized use of each fund or 

account from which appropriations are made to the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 746, Sec. 2, eff. Aug. 30, 1993. 

 

 

Sec. 5.238.  ADMINISTRATIVE ACCOUNT.  The commission 

administrative account is an account in the general revenue 

fund.  The account consists of reimbursements to the commission 

for services provided by the commission and other sources 

specified by law and authorized by legislative appropriation. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 333, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.239.  PUBLIC EDUCATION AND ASSISTANCE.  (a)  The 

executive director shall ensure that the agency is responsive to 

environmental and citizens' concerns, including environmental 

quality and consumer protection. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB00430F.HTM
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(b)  The executive director shall develop and implement a 

program to: 

(1)  provide a centralized point for the public to 

access information about the commission and to learn about 

matters regulated by the commission; 

(2)  identify and assess the concerns of the public in 

regard to matters regulated by the commission; and 

(3)  respond to the concerns identified by the 

program. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 3.01, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER G. OFFICE OF PUBLIC INTEREST COUNSEL 
 

Sec. 5.271.  CREATION AND GENERAL RESPONSIBILITY OF THE 

OFFICE OF PUBLIC INTEREST COUNSEL.  The office of public 

interest counsel is created to ensure that the commission 

promotes the public's interest.  The primary duty of the office 

is to represent the public interest as a party to matters before 

the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 708, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1989. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 3.02, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.272.  PUBLIC INTEREST COUNSEL.  The office shall be 

headed by a public interest counsel appointed by the commission.  

The executive director may submit the names and qualifications 

of candidates for public interest counsel to the commission. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 708, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1989. 

 

 

Sec. 5.2725.  ANNUAL REPORT; PERFORMANCE MEASURES.  (a)  

The office of public interest counsel shall report to the 

commission each year in a public meeting held on a date 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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determined by the commission to be timely for the commission to 

include the reported information in the commission's reports 

under Sections 5.178(a) and (b) and in the commission's biennial 

legislative appropriations requests as appropriate: 

(1)  an evaluation of the office's performance in 

representing the public interest in the preceding year; 

(2)  an assessment of the budget needs of the office, 

including the need to contract for outside expertise; and 

(3)  any legislative or regulatory changes recommended 

under Section 5.273. 

(b)  The commission and the office of public interest 

counsel shall work cooperatively to identify performance 

measures for the office. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 3.03, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.273.  DUTIES OF THE PUBLIC INTEREST COUNSEL.  (a)  

The counsel shall represent the public interest and be a party 

to all proceedings before the commission. 

(b)  The counsel may recommend needed legislative and 

regulatory changes.  
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 708, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1989; Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.23, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.274.  STAFF; OUTSIDE TECHNICAL SUPPORT.  (a)  The 

office shall be adequately staffed to carry out its functions 

under this code. 

(b)  The counsel may obtain and use outside technical 

support to carry out its functions under this code. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 708, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1989; Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.23, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.275.  APPEAL.  A ruling, decision, or other act of 

the commission may not be appealed by the counsel. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.178
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http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM


Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 57 

 

 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; 

Acts 1989, 71st Leg., ch. 708, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1989. 

 

 

Sec. 5.276.  FACTORS FOR PUBLIC INTEREST REPRESENTATION.  

(a)  The commission by rule, after consideration of 

recommendations from the office of public interest counsel, 

shall establish factors the public interest counsel must 

consider before the public interest counsel decides to represent 

the public interest as a party to a commission proceeding. 

(b)  Rules adopted under this section must include: 

(1)  factors to determine the nature and extent of the 

public interest; and 

(2)  factors to consider in prioritizing the workload 

of the office of public interest counsel. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 3.04, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER H. DELEGATION OF HEARINGS 
 

Sec. 5.311.  DELEGATION OF RESPONSIBILITY.  (a)  The 

commission may delegate to an administrative law judge of the 

State Office of Administrative Hearings the responsibility to 

hear any matter before the commission. 

(b)  Except as provided in Subsection (a), the 

administrative law judge shall report to the commission on the 

hearing in the manner provided by law. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985.  

Renumbered from Water Code Sec. 5.313 and amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., 

ch. 106, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1995.  Amended by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 

1010, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 170 (H.B. 1600), Sec. 2.02, eff. 

September 1, 2013. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 171 (S.B. 567), Sec. 2, eff. September 

1, 2013. 
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Sec. 5.312.  TIME LIMIT FOR ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF PERMITS.  

(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (b), all permit decisions 

shall be made within 180 days of the receipt of the permit 

application or application amendment or the determination of 

administrative completeness, whichever is later. 

(b)  This section does not apply to permits issued under 

federally delegated or approved programs unless allowed under 

that program. 
 

Added by Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.022, eff. Aug. 12, 

1991.  Renumbered from Water Code Sec. 5.314 by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 

106, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 5.313.  HEARING EXAMINERS REFERENCED IN LAW.  Any 

reference in law to a hearing examiner who has a duty related to 

a case pending before the commission means an administrative law 

judge of the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
 

Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 106, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. 

 

 

Sec. 5.315.  DISCOVERY IN CASES USING PREFILED WRITTEN 

TESTIMONY.  In a contested case hearing delegated by the 

commission to the State Office of Administrative Hearings that 

uses prefiled written testimony, all discovery must be completed 

before the deadline for the submission of that testimony. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 10.03, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 853 (S.B. 1148), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER I. JUDICIAL REVIEW 
 

Sec. 5.351.  JUDICIAL REVIEW OF COMMISSION ACTS.  (a)  A 

person affected by a ruling, order, decision, or other act of 

the commission may file a petition to review, set aside, modify, 

or suspend the act of the commission. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/SB01148F.HTM
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(b)  A person affected by a ruling, order, or decision of 

the commission must file a petition within 30 days after the 

effective date of the ruling, order, or decision.  A person 

affected by an act other than a ruling, order, or decision must 

file a petition within 30 days after the date the commission 

performed the act. 

(c)  Notwithstanding Subsection (b) or another provision of 

law to the contrary, a person affected by a ruling, order, or 

decision on a matter delegated to the executive director under 

Section 5.122 or other law may, after exhausting any 

administrative remedies, file a petition to review, set aside, 

modify, or suspend the ruling, order, or decision not later than 

the 30th day after: 

(1)  the effective date of the ruling, order, or 

decision; or 

(2)  if the executive director's ruling, order, or 

decision is appealed to the commission as authorized by Section 

5.122(b) or other law, the earlier of: 

(A)  the date the commission denies the appeal; 

or 

(B)  the date the appeal is overruled by 

operation of law in accordance with commission rules. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1065 (H.B. 3177), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

Acts 2021, 87th Leg., R.S., Ch. 174 (S.B. 211), Sec. 4, eff. September 

1, 2021. 

 

 

Sec. 5.352.  REMEDY FOR COMMISSION OR EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 

INACTION.  A person affected by the failure of the commission or 

the executive director to act in a reasonable time on an 

application to appropriate water or to perform any other duty 

with reasonable promptness may file a petition to compel the 

commission or the executive director to show cause why it should 

not be directed by the court to take immediate action. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.122
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.122
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Sec. 5.353.  DILIGENT PROSECUTION OF SUIT.  The plaintiff 

shall prosecute with reasonable diligence any suit brought under 

Section 5.351 or 5.352 of this code.  If the plaintiff does not 

secure proper service of process or does not prosecute his suit 

within one year after it is filed, the court shall presume that 

the suit has been abandoned.  The court shall dismiss the suit 

on a motion for dismissal made by the attorney general unless 

the plaintiff after receiving due notice can show good and 

sufficient cause for the delay. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

Sec. 5.354.  VENUE.  A suit instituted under Section 5.351 

or 5.352 of this code must be brought in a district court in 

Travis County. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

Sec. 5.355.  APPEAL OF DISTRICT COURT JUDGMENT.  A judgment 

or order of a district court in a suit brought for or against 

the commission is appealable as are other civil cases in which 

the district court has original jurisdiction. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

Sec. 5.356.  APPEAL BY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR PRECLUDED.  A 

ruling, order, decision, or other act of the commission may not 

be appealed by the executive director. 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

Sec. 5.357.  LAW SUITS; CITATION.  Law suits filed by and 

against the commission or executive director shall be in the 

name of the commission.  In suits against the commission or 

executive director, citation may be served on the executive 

director. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.351
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.352
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.351
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.352
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Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985. 

SUBCHAPTER J. CONSOLIDATED PERMIT PROCESSING 

Sec. 5.401.  CONSOLIDATED PERMIT PROCESSING.  (a) If a

plant, facility, or site is required to have more than one 

permit issued by the commission and the applications for all 

permits required by the commission are filed within a 30-day 

period, the commission, on request of the applicant, shall 

conduct coordinated application reviews and one consolidated 

permit hearing on all permits requested to be consolidated by 

the applicant and may issue one consolidated permit.  On request 

of the applicant, the commission shall issue one consolidated 

permit. 

(b) The executive director shall designate one permit

program as the lead program for coordination, and that program 

is the point of contact regarding the consolidated permit. 

(c) The executive director may require separate processing

of consolidated applications or may return to the applicant 

parts of an application if the executive director determines 

that the applicant has submitted an incomplete application or if 

the applicant does not respond as requested to notices of 

deficiency. 

(d) A federal operating permit governed by the

requirements of Sections 382.054-382.0543, Health and Safety 

Code, may not be consolidated with other permits under this 

subchapter. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1373, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 5.402.  REQUEST FOR SEPARATE PROCESSING.  (a)  At any

time before the public notice of the opportunity to request a 

hearing on a permit application, the applicant may request that 

consolidated applications be processed separately as determined 

by the executive director.  The executive director shall process 
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the applications separately if the applicant submits a timely 

request under this subsection. 

(b)  At any time after the notice of opportunity to request 

a hearing but before referral of the matter to the State Office 

of Administrative Hearings, the executive director may separate 

the applications for processing on a showing of good cause by 

the applicant that the applications should be processed 

separately.  For purposes of this subsection, "good cause" 

includes a change in the statutory or regulatory requirements 

governing a permit or a substantial change in the factual 

circumstances surrounding the applications for permits. 

(c)  After an application has been referred to the State 

Office of Administrative Hearings, the applicant may have the 

applications processed separately only on a showing of 

compliance with commission procedural rules regarding the 

withdrawal of applications. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1373, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.403.  RENEWAL PERIOD FOR CONSOLIDATED PERMIT.  The 

renewal period for a consolidated permit issued under this 

subchapter is the shortest term set by any state or federal 

statute or rule governing one or more of the authorizations 

sought in the consolidated permit. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1373, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.404.  RENEWAL OF PERMITS.  A permit issued under 

this subchapter or a permit issued before and effective on 

September 1, 1997, that authorizes more than one permit program 

may be renewed, amended, or modified as a consolidated permit or 

may be separated by program and the permits may be processed 

separately and subject to the renewal, amendment, or 

modification requirements of applicable law governing operations 

at the facility, plant, or site. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1373, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 5.405.  FEES.  (a)  Except as provided by Subsection 

(b), the fee for a consolidated permit shall be computed as if 

the permits consolidated had been processed separately. 

(b)  The commission by rule may reduce the fee for a 

consolidated permit below the total amount that the applicant 

would have paid for processing the applications separately if 

the commission finds that consolidated processing results in 

savings to the agency. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1373, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.406.  RULES.  The commission may adopt rules to 

effectuate the purposes of this subchapter, including rules 

providing for: 

(1)  combined public notices of permits issued under 

the authority of this section;  or 

(2)  procedures for the processing and issuing of 

consolidated permits. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1373, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER L. EMERGENCY AND TEMPORARY ORDERS 
 

Sec. 5.501.  EMERGENCY AND TEMPORARY ORDER OR PERMIT;  

TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OR AMENDMENT OF PERMIT CONDITION.  (a)  For 

the purposes and in the manner provided by this subchapter, the 

commission: 

(1)  may issue a temporary or emergency mandatory, 

permissive, or prohibitory order; and 

(2)  by temporary or emergency order may: 

(A)  issue a temporary permit; or 

(B)  temporarily suspend or amend a permit 

condition. 

(b)  The commission may issue an emergency order under this 

subchapter after providing the notice and opportunity for 

hearing that the commission considers practicable under the 
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circumstances or without notice or hearing.  Except as provided 

by Section 5.506, notice must be given not later than the 10th 

day before the date set for a hearing if the commission requires 

notice and hearing before issuing the order.  The commission 

shall give notice not later than the 20th day before the date 

set for a hearing on a temporary order. 

(c)  The commission by order or rule may delegate to the 

executive director the authority to: 

(1)  receive applications and issue emergency orders 

under this subchapter and Section 13.041(h); and 

(2)  authorize, in writing, a representative or 

representatives to act on the executive director's behalf under 

this subchapter and Section 13.041(h). 

(d)  Chapter 2001, Government Code, does not apply to the 

issuance of an emergency order under this subchapter without a 

hearing. 

(e)  A law under which the commission acts that requires 

notice of hearing or that sets procedures for the issuance of 

permits does not apply to a hearing on an emergency order issued 

under this subchapter unless the law specifically requires 

notice for an emergency order.  The commission shall give the 

general notice of the hearing that the commission considers 

practicable under the circumstances. 

(f)  An emergency or temporary order issued under this 

subchapter does not vest in the permit holder or recipient any 

rights and expires in accordance with its terms. 

(g)  The commission may prescribe rules and adopt fees 

necessary to carry out and administer this subchapter. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2019, 86th Leg., R.S., Ch. 967 (S.B. 700), Sec. 12, eff. 

September 1, 2019. 

 

 

Sec. 5.502.  APPLICATION FOR EMERGENCY OR TEMPORARY ORDER.  

A person other than the executive director or the executive 

director's representative who desires an emergency or temporary 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.506
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13.041
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13.041
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/86R/billtext/html/SB00700F.HTM
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order under this subchapter must submit a sworn written 

application to the commission.  The application must: 

(1)  describe the condition of emergency or other 

condition justifying the issuance of the order; 

(2)  allege facts to support the findings required 

under this subchapter; 

(3)  estimate the dates on which the proposed order 

should begin and end; 

(4)  describe the action sought and the activity 

proposed to be allowed, mandated, or prohibited; and 

(5)  include any other statement or information 

required by this subchapter or by the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.503.  NOTICE OF ISSUANCE.  Notice of the issuance of 

an emergency order shall be provided in accordance with 

commission rules. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.504.  HEARING TO AFFIRM, MODIFY, OR SET ASIDE ORDER.  

(a)  If the commission, the executive director, or the executive 

director's representative issues an emergency order under this 

subchapter without a hearing, the order shall set a time and 

place for a hearing to affirm, modify, or set aside the 

emergency order to be held before the commission or its designee 

as soon as practicable after the order is issued. 

(b)  At or following the hearing required under Subsection 

(a), the commission shall affirm, modify, or set aside the 

emergency order. 

(c)  A hearing to affirm, modify, or set aside an emergency 

order shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 2001, 

Government Code, and commission rules.  Commission rules 

concerning a hearing to affirm, modify, or set aside an 

emergency order must provide for presentation of evidence by the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
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applicant under oath, presentation of rebuttal evidence, and 

cross-examination of witnesses. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.505.  TERM OF ORDER.  An emergency or temporary 

order issued under this subchapter must be limited to a 

reasonable time specified by the order.  Except as otherwise 

provided by this subchapter, the term of an emergency order may 

not exceed 180 days.  An emergency order may be renewed once for 

a period not to exceed 180 days. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.506.  EMERGENCY SUSPENSION OF PERMIT CONDITION 

RELATING TO, AND EMERGENCY AUTHORITY TO MAKE AVAILABLE WATER SET 

ASIDE FOR, BENEFICIAL INFLOWS TO AFFECTED BAYS AND ESTUARIES AND 

INSTREAM USES.  (a)  The commission by emergency or temporary 

order may suspend a permit condition relating to beneficial 

inflows to affected bays and estuaries and instream uses if the 

commission finds that an emergency exists that cannot 

practicably be resolved in another way. 

(a-1)  State water that is set aside by the commission to 

meet the needs for freshwater inflows to affected bays and 

estuaries and instream uses under Section 11.1471(a)(2) may be 

made available temporarily for other essential beneficial uses 

if the commission finds that an emergency exists that cannot 

practically be resolved in another way. 

(b)  The commission must give written notice of the 

proposed action to the Parks and Wildlife Department before the 

commission suspends a permit condition under Subsection (a) or 

makes water available temporarily under Subsection (a-1).  The 

commission shall give the Parks and Wildlife Department an 

opportunity to submit comments on the proposed action for a 

period of 72 hours from receipt of the notice and must consider 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11.1471
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those comments before issuing an order implementing the proposed 

action. 

(c)  The commission may suspend a permit condition under 

Subsection (a) or make water available temporarily under 

Subsection (a-1) without notice except as required by Subsection 

(b). 

(d)  The commission shall notify all affected persons 

immediately by publication. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1351 (H.B. 3), Sec. 1.01, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1351 (H.B. 3), Sec. 1.02, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1430 (S.B. 3), Sec. 1.01, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1430 (S.B. 3), Sec. 1.02, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 5.507.  EMERGENCY ORDER FOR OPERATION OF UTILITY THAT 

DISCONTINUES OPERATION OR IS REFERRED FOR APPOINTMENT OF 

RECEIVER.  The commission may issue an emergency order 

appointing a willing person to temporarily manage and operate a 

utility under Section 13.4132.  Notice of the action is adequate 

if the notice is mailed or hand delivered to the last known 

address of the utility's headquarters. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 170 (H.B. 1600), Sec. 2.03, eff. 

September 1, 2013. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 171 (S.B. 567), Sec. 3, eff. September 

1, 2013. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 853 (S.B. 1148), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 5.509.  TEMPORARY OR EMERGENCY ORDER RELATING TO 

DISCHARGE OF WASTE OR POLLUTANTS.  (a)  The commission may issue 

an emergency or temporary order relating to the discharge of 

waste or pollutants into or adjacent to water in the state if: 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB00003F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB00003F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00003F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00003F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13.4132
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB01600F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/SB00567F.HTM
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(1)  the order is necessary to enable action to be 

taken more expeditiously than is otherwise provided by Chapter 

18 or 26, as applicable, to effectuate the policy and purposes 

of that chapter; and 

(2)  the commission finds that: 

(A)  the discharge is unavoidable to: 

(i)  prevent loss of life, serious injury, 

or severe property damage; 

(ii)  prevent severe economic loss or 

ameliorate serious drought conditions, to the extent consistent 

with the requirements for United States Environmental Protection 

Agency authorization of a state permit program; or 

(iii)  make necessary and unforeseen repairs 

to a facility; 

(B)  there is no feasible alternative to the 

proposed discharge; 

(C)  the discharge will not cause significant 

hazard to human life and health, unreasonable damage to the 

property of persons other than the applicant, or unreasonable 

economic loss to persons other than the applicant; and 

(D)  the discharge will not present a significant 

hazard to the uses that will be made of the receiving water 

after the discharge. 

(b)  A person desiring a temporary or emergency order under 

this section must submit an application under Section 5.502 

that, in addition to complying with that section: 

(1)  states the volume and quality of the proposed 

discharge; 

(2)  explains the measures proposed to minimize the 

volume and duration of the discharge; and 

(3)  explains the measures proposed to maximize the 

waste treatment efficiency of units not taken out of service or 

facilities provided for interim use. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=18
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.502
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Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 756 (H.B. 2031), Sec. 2, eff. June 17, 

2015. 

 

 

Sec. 5.510.  EMERGENCY ORDER CONCERNING UNDERGROUND OR 

ABOVEGROUND STORAGE TANKS.  (a)  The commission may issue an 

emergency order to the owner or operator of an underground or 

aboveground storage tank regulated under Chapter 26 prohibiting 

the owner or operator from allowing or continuing a release or 

threatened release and requiring the owner or operator to take 

the actions necessary to eliminate the release or threatened 

release, if the commission finds that: 

(1)  there is an actual or threatened release of a 

regulated substance; and 

(2)  more expeditious action than is otherwise 

provided under Chapter 26 is necessary to protect the public 

health or safety or the environment from harm. 

(b)  An emergency order issued under this section must be: 

(1)  mailed by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to each person identified in the order; 

(2)  hand delivered to each person identified in the 

order; or 

(3)  on failure of service by certified mail or hand 

delivery, served by publication one time in the Texas Register 

and one time in a newspaper with general circulation in each 

county in which any of the persons identified in the order has a 

last known address. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.511.  EMERGENCY ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER CONCERNING 

IMMINENT AND SUBSTANTIAL ENDANGERMENT.  The commission or the 

executive director may issue an emergency administrative order 

under Section 361.272, Health and Safety Code, in the manner 

provided by this subchapter. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB02031F.HTM
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Sec. 5.512.  EMERGENCY ORDER CONCERNING ACTIVITY OF SOLID 

WASTE MANAGEMENT.  The commission may issue an emergency order 

concerning an activity of solid waste management under the 

commission's jurisdiction, even if that activity is not covered 

by a permit, if the commission finds that an emergency requiring 

immediate action to protect the public health and safety exists. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.513.  EMERGENCY ORDER CONCERNING ON-SITE SEWAGE 

DISPOSAL SYSTEM.  (a)  The commission may issue an emergency 

order suspending the registration of the installer of an on-site 

sewage disposal system, regulating an on-site sewage disposal 

system, or both, if the commission finds that an emergency 

exists and that the public health and safety is endangered 

because of the operation of an on-site sewage disposal system 

that does not comply with Chapter 366, Health and Safety Code, 

or a rule adopted under that chapter. 

(b)  If an order issued under this section is adopted 

without notice or hearing, the order must set a time, not more 

than 30 days after the order is issued, for a hearing to affirm, 

modify, or set aside the order. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.514.  ORDER ISSUED UNDER AIR EMERGENCY.  (a)  If the 

commission finds that a generalized condition of air pollution 

exists that creates an emergency requiring immediate action to 

protect human health or safety, the commission, with the 

concurrence of the governor, may issue an emergency order 

requiring a person causing or contributing to the air pollution 

to immediately reduce or discontinue the emission of air 

contaminants. 

(b)  If the commission finds that emissions from one or 

more sources are causing imminent danger to human health or 

safety but that there is not a generalized condition of air 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=366
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pollution under Subsection (a), the commission may issue an 

emergency order requiring the persons responsible for the 

emissions to immediately reduce or discontinue the emissions. 

(c)  Notwithstanding Section 5.504, the commission shall 

affirm, modify, or set aside an order issued under this section 

not later than 24 hours after the hearing under that section 

begins and without adjournment of the hearing. 

(d)  This section does not limit any power that the 

governor or another officer may have to declare an emergency and 

to act on that declaration if the power is conferred by law or 

inheres in the office. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 5.5145.  EMERGENCY ORDER CONCERNING OPERATION OF ROCK 

CRUSHER OR CONCRETE PLANT WITHOUT PERMIT.  The commission may 

issue an emergency order under this subchapter suspending 

operations of a rock crusher or a concrete plant that performs 

wet batching, dry batching, or central mixing and is required to 

obtain a permit under Section 382.0518, Health and Safety Code, 

and is operating without the necessary permit. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 5.08(a), eff. Sept. 1, 2001 and 

Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1271, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1072 (S.B. 1003), Sec. 2, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.5146.  EMERGENCY ORDER CONCERNING OPERATION OF 

CERTAIN TREATMENT FACILITIES WITHOUT PERMIT.  The commission may 

issue an emergency order under this subchapter suspending 

operations of a treatment facility that: 

(1)  handles waste and wastewater from humans or 

household operations; 

(2)  is required to obtain a permit from the 

commission; and 

(3)  is operating without the required permit. 
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.504
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
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Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 806 (H.B. 3264), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 5.515.  EMERGENCY ORDER BECAUSE OF CATASTROPHE.  (a)  

The commission may issue an emergency order authorizing 

immediate action for the addition, replacement, or repair of 

facilities or control equipment or the repair or replacement of 

roads, bridges, or other infrastructure improvements 

necessitated by a catastrophe occurring in this state and the 

emission of air contaminants during the addition, replacement, 

or repair of those facilities, that equipment, or those 

improvements if the actions and emissions are otherwise 

precluded under Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code. 

(b)  An order issued under this section: 

(1)  may authorize action only: 

(A)  on property on which a catastrophe has 

occurred; 

(B)  on other property that is owned by the owner 

or operator of the damaged facility and that produces the same 

intermediates, products, or by-products; or 

(C)  for a public works project needed to repair 

or replace a damaged road, bridge, or other infrastructure 

improvement destroyed during a catastrophe; and 

(2)  must contain a schedule for submitting a complete 

application for a permit under Section 382.0518, Health and 

Safety Code. 

(c)  The person applying for an emergency order must 

demonstrate that there will be no more than a de minimis 

increase in the predicted concentration of air contaminants at 

or beyond the property line of the other property on which 

action is authorized under Subsection (b)(1)(B).  The commission 

shall review and act on an application submitted as provided by 

Subsection (b)(2) without regard to construction activity under 

an order under this section. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB03264F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
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(d)  An applicant desiring an emergency order under this 

section must submit an application under Section 5.502 that, in 

addition to complying with that section: 

(1)  describes the catastrophe; 

(2)  states that: 

(A)  the construction and emissions are essential 

to prevent loss of life, serious injury, severe property damage, 

loss of a critical transportation thoroughfare, or severe 

economic loss not attributable to the applicant's actions and 

are necessary for the addition, replacement, or repair of a 

facility or control equipment or the repair or replacement of a 

road, bridge, or other infrastructure improvement necessitated 

by the catastrophe; 

(B)  there is no practicable alternative to the 

proposed construction and emissions; and 

(C)  the emissions will not cause or contribute 

to air pollution; 

(3)  estimates the dates on which the proposed 

construction or emissions, or both, will begin and end; 

(4)  estimates the date on which the facility, 

equipment, or infrastructure improvement will begin operation; 

and 

(5)  describes the quantity and type of air 

contaminants proposed to be emitted. 

(e)  In this section, "catastrophe" means an unforeseen 

event, including an act of God, an act of war, severe weather, 

explosions, fire, or similar occurrences beyond the reasonable 

control of the applicant, that makes a facility or its related 

appurtenances or a road, bridge, or other infrastructure 

improvement inoperable. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 158 (H.B. 2949), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.502
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Sec. 5.516.  EMERGENCY ORDER UNDER SECTION 401.056, HEALTH 

AND SAFETY CODE.  The commission may issue an emergency order 

under Section 401.056, Health and Safety Code, in the manner 

provided by this subchapter. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER M. ENVIRONMENTAL PERMITTING PROCEDURES 
 

Sec. 5.551.  PERMITTING PROCEDURES; APPLICABILITY.  (a)  

This subchapter establishes procedures for providing public 

notice, an opportunity for public comment, and an opportunity 

for public hearing under Subchapters C-H, Chapter 2001, 

Government Code, regarding commission actions relating to a 

permit issued under Chapter 26 or 27 of this code or Chapter 

361, Health and Safety Code.  This subchapter is procedural and 

does not expand or restrict the types of commission actions for 

which public notice, an opportunity for public comment, and an 

opportunity for public hearing are provided under Chapter 26 or 

27 of this code or Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code. 

(a-1)  Notwithstanding Section 18.002, this subchapter does 

not apply to a permit issued under Section 18.005(c)(2) if the 

point of discharge is not located within three miles of any 

point located on the coast of this state. 

(b)  The commission by rule shall provide for additional 

notice, opportunity for public comment, or opportunity for 

hearing to the extent necessary to satisfy a requirement for 

United States Environmental Protection Agency authorization of a 

state permit program. 

(c)  In this subchapter, "permit" means a permit, approval, 

registration, or other form of authorization required by law for 

a person to engage in an action. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 756 (H.B. 2031), Sec. 3, eff. June 17, 

2015. 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401.056
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401.056
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=27
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=27
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=18.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=18.005
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB02031F.HTM


Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 75 

 

 

Sec. 5.552.  NOTICE OF INTENT TO OBTAIN PERMIT.  (a)  The 

executive director shall determine when an application is 

administratively complete. 

(b)  Not later than the 30th day after the date the 

executive director determines the application to be 

administratively complete: 

(1)  the applicant shall publish notice of intent to 

obtain a permit at least once in the newspaper of largest 

circulation in the county in which the facility to which the 

application relates is located or proposed to be located or, if 

the facility to which the application relates is located or 

proposed to be located in a municipality, at least once in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the municipality; and 

(2)  the chief clerk of the commission shall mail 

notice of intent to obtain a permit to: 

(A)  the state senator and representative who 

represent the general area in which the facility is located or 

proposed to be located; 

(B)  the mayor and health authorities of the 

municipality in which the facility is located or proposed to be 

located; 

(C)  the county judge and health authorities of 

the county in which the facility is located or proposed to be 

located; and 

(D)  the river authority in which the facility is 

located or proposed to be located if the application is under 

Chapter 26, Water Code. 

(c)  The commission by rule shall establish the form and 

content of the notice.  The notice must include: 

(1)  the location and nature of the proposed activity; 

(2)  the location at which a copy of the application 

is available for review and copying as provided by Subsection 

(e); 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
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(3)  a description, including a telephone number, of 

the manner in which a person may contact the commission for 

further information; 

(4)  a description, including a telephone number, of 

the manner in which a person may contact the applicant for 

further information; 

(5)  a description of the procedural rights and 

obligations of the public, printed in a font style or size that 

clearly provides emphasis and distinguishes it from the 

remainder of the notice; 

(6)  a description of the procedure by which a person 

may be placed on a mailing list in order to receive additional 

information about the application; 

(7)  the time and location of any public meeting to be 

held under Subsection (f); and 

(8)  any other information the commission by rule 

requires. 

(d)  In addition to providing notice under Subsection 

(b)(1), the applicant shall comply with any applicable public 

notice requirements under Chapters 26 and 27 of this code, 

Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code, and rules adopted under 

those chapters. 

(e)  The applicant shall make a copy of the application 

available for review and copying at a public place in the county 

in which the facility is located or proposed to be located. 

(f)  The applicant, in cooperation with the executive 

director, may hold a public meeting in the county in which the 

facility is located or proposed to be located in order to inform 

the public about the application and obtain public input. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1999.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 679, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.553.  PRELIMINARY DECISION; NOTICE AND PUBLIC 

COMMENT.  (a)  The executive director shall conduct a technical 

review of and issue a preliminary decision on the application. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
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(b)  The applicant shall publish notice of the preliminary 

decision in a newspaper. 

(c)  The commission by rule shall establish the form and 

content of the notice, the manner of publication, and the 

duration of the public comment period.  The notice must include: 

(1)  the information required by Sections 5.552(c)(1)-

(5); 

(2)  a summary of the preliminary decision; 

(3)  the location at which a copy of the preliminary 

decision is available for review and copying as provided by 

Subsection (e); 

(4)  a description of the manner in which comments 

regarding the preliminary decision may be submitted; and 

(5)  any other information the commission by rule 

requires. 

(d)  In addition to providing notice under this section, 

the applicant shall comply with any applicable public notice 

requirements under Chapters 26 and 27 of this code, Chapter 361, 

Health and Safety Code, and rules adopted under those chapters. 

(e)  The applicant shall make a copy of the preliminary 

decision available for review and copying at a public place in 

the county in which the facility is located or proposed to be 

located. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 5.554.  PUBLIC MEETING.  During the public comment 

period, the executive director may hold one or more public 

meetings in the county in which the facility is located or 

proposed to be located.  The executive director shall hold a 

public meeting: 

(1)  on the request of a member of the legislature who 

represents the general area in which the facility is located or 

proposed to be located; or 

(2)  if the executive director determines that there 

is substantial public interest in the proposed activity. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.552
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Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 5.555.  RESPONSE TO PUBLIC COMMENTS.  (a)  The 

executive director, in accordance with procedures provided by 

commission rule, shall file with the chief clerk of the 

commission a response to each relevant and material public 

comment on the preliminary decision filed during the public 

comment period. 

(b)  The chief clerk of the commission shall transmit the 

executive director's decision, the executive director's response 

to public comments, and instructions for requesting that the 

commission reconsider the executive director's decision or hold 

a contested case hearing to: 

(1)  the applicant; 

(2)  any person who submitted comments during the 

public comment period; and 

(3)  any person who requested to be on the mailing 

list for the permit action. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 5.5553.  NOTICE OF DRAFT PERMIT.  (a)  This section 

applies only to a permit application that is eligible to be 

referred for a contested case hearing under Section 5.556 or 

5.557. 

(b)  Notwithstanding any other law, not later than the 30th 

day before the date the commission issues a draft permit in 

connection with a permit application, the executive director 

shall provide written notice to the state senator and state 

representative of the area in which the facility that is the 

subject of the permit is located. 
 

Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 116 (S.B. 709), Sec. 4, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.556
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Sec. 5.556.  REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION OR CONTESTED CASE 

HEARING.  (a)  A person may request that the commission 

reconsider the executive director's decision or hold a contested 

case hearing.  A request must be filed with the commission 

during the period provided by commission rule. 

(b)  The commission shall act on a request during the 

period provided by commission rule. 

(c)  The commission may not grant a request for a contested 

case hearing unless the commission determines that the request 

was filed by an affected person as defined by Section 5.115. 

(d)  The commission may not refer an issue to the State 

Office of Administrative Hearings for a hearing unless the 

commission determines that the issue: 

(1)  involves a disputed question of fact; 

(2)  was raised during the public comment period; and 

(3)  is relevant and material to the decision on the 

application. 

(e)  If the commission grants a request for a contested 

case hearing it shall: 

(1)  limit the number and scope of the issues to be 

referred to the State Office of Administrative Hearings for a 

hearing; and 

(2)  consistent with the nature and number of the 

issues to be considered at the hearing, specify the maximum 

expected duration of the hearing. 

(f)  This section does not preclude the commission from 

holding a hearing if it determines that the public interest 

warrants doing so. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1350, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 5.557.  DIRECT REFERRAL TO CONTESTED CASE HEARING.  

(a)  Immediately after the executive director issues a 

preliminary decision on an application under Section 5.553, the 

commission, on the request of the applicant or the executive 

director, shall refer the application directly to the State 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.115
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Office of Administrative Hearings for a contested case hearing 

on whether the application complies with all applicable 

statutory and regulatory requirements. 

(b)  Sections 5.554, 5.555, and 5.556 of this code and 

Sections 2003.047(e) and (f), Government Code, do not apply to 

an application referred for a hearing under Subsection (a). 

(c)  Notwithstanding Subsection (b), the commission by rule 

shall provide for public comment and the executive director's 

response to public comment to be entered into the administrative 

record of decision on an application. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 935, Sec. 3, eff. June 14, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.558.  CLEAN COAL PROJECT PERMITTING.  (a)  As 

authorized by federal law, the commission by rule shall 

implement reasonably streamlined processes for issuing permits 

required to construct a component of the FutureGen project 

designed to meet the FutureGen emissions profile as defined by 

Section 382.0565, Health and Safety Code. 

(b)  When acting under a rule adopted under Subsection (a), 

the commission shall use public meetings, informal conferences, 

or advisory committees to gather the opinions and advice of 

interested persons. 

(c)  The permit processes authorized by this section are 

not subject to the requirements relating to a contested case 

hearing under this chapter, Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, 

or Subchapters C-G, Chapter 2001, Government Code. 

(d)  This section does not apply to an application for a 

permit to construct or modify a new or existing coal-fired 

electric generating facility that will use pulverized or 

supercritical pulverized coal. 
 

Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1097 (H.B. 2201), Sec. 7, eff. June 18, 

2005. 

 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.554
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.555
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.556
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2003.047
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0565
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02201F.HTM


Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 81 

 

SUBCHAPTER N. ESTUARY MANAGEMENT PLANS 
 

Sec. 5.601.  DEFINITIONS.  In this subchapter: 

(1)  "Approved implementation program" means an 

implementation plan identified as part of an approved 

comprehensive conservation and management plan. 

(2)  "Approved comprehensive conservation and 

management plan" means an estuary management plan that is 

prepared through the efforts of citizens, organizations, 

industries, local governments, and state and national agencies 

working together as part of the National Estuary Program to 

develop long-term comprehensive conservation and management 

plans (CCMPs) and that has been approved by the governor of 

Texas and the administrator of the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency to protect the environment and the economies 

of the state and of the regions with estuaries.  The term 

includes the plans for Galveston Bay and the Coastal Bend 

estuaries. 

(3)  "Implementing agency" means the entity identified 

for day-to-day administration of an estuary program.  An 

implementing agency may be a state agency or other local or 

regional entity, as identified in an approved estuary management 

plan. 

(4)  "National Estuary Program" means the cooperative 

estuary management program authorized by and developed under 

Section 320 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (33 

U.S.C. Section 1330), as amended. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.551 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec.  

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.602.  RECOGNITION OF NATIONAL SIGNIFICANCE OF 

ESTUARIES OF TEXAS COAST.  The state recognizes the state and 

national significance of estuaries on the Texas coast and that 

the cooperative efforts created by the National Estuary Program 

serve a public and state purpose.  By virtue of that state 
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purpose, an approved implementation program established under 

the National Estuary Program is eligible to receive state funds 

through a grant program administered by the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.552 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.603.  FINDING OF BENEFIT AND PUBLIC PURPOSE.  The 

state recognizes the importance of implementing estuary 

management plans by protecting and improving water quality and 

restoring estuarine habitat that makes the bays and estuaries 

productive, protecting the economies of those areas, and 

continuing the involvement of the public and the many interests 

who use and appreciate the estuarine resources of Texas.  State 

and local government participation in estuary programs to 

protect natural resources serves a public use and benefit.  The 

state and the implementing agencies recognize the prerogatives 

of local governments and the sanctity of private property 

rights.  No action by an estuary program is intended to usurp 

the authority of any local government.  A local government's 

participation in or withdrawal from an estuary program is at the 

sole discretion of the local government and is subject only to 

the local government's obligation to complete any financial 

commitment it has made. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.553 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.604.  LEAD STATE AGENCY.  The commission is the lead 

state agency for the implementation of approved comprehensive 

conservation and management plans developed under the National 

Estuary Program.  The commission may accept federal grants for 

purposes of this subchapter and may award grants and enter into 

contracts with an implementing agency for the implementation of 

approved plans under this subchapter. 
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Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.554 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.605.  STATE AGENCY PARTICIPATION.  (a)  The 

following state agencies shall participate and provide 

assistance to the estuary programs in implementing approved 

comprehensive conservation and management plans: 

(1)  the General Land Office; 

(2)  the Parks and Wildlife Department; 

(3)  the Texas Department of Transportation; 

(4)  the Railroad Commission of Texas; 

(5)  the State Soil and Water Conservation Board; 

(6)  the Texas Water Development Board; and 

(7)  the Texas Department of Health. 

(b)  Other state agencies may participate as necessary or 

convenient. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.555 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.606.  ESTUARY PROGRAM OFFICES.  To accomplish the 

purposes of this subchapter, the estuary program office of any 

estuary of the state included in the National Estuary Program 

and for which the commission is the implementing agency shall be 

maintained in the region of the estuary involved. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.556 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.607.  IMPLEMENTATION FUNDING.  Funding for the 

implementation of approved comprehensive conservation and 

management plans is to be shared by the state, local governments 

in the area of the estuaries, the federal government, and other 

participants. 
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Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.557 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 5.608.  ELIGIBILITY FOR STATE FUNDING.  A 

comprehensive conservation and management plan is eligible for 

state funding to assist in implementation of the plan if: 

(1) the estuary involved has been designated jointly

by the governor and the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency as an estuary of national significance in accordance with 

Section 320 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (33 

U.S.C. Section 1330), as amended; and 

(2) the comprehensive conservation and management

plan for the estuary involved, together with the accompanying 

implementation plan, has been completed and approved. 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.558 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 5.609.  ADMINISTRATION.  The commission, as the lead 

state agency for administering the state's share of funds, and 

any state agency designated as an implementing agency for an 

approved comprehensive conservation and management plan may 

accept and make grants and enter into contracts to accomplish 

the actions identified in the approved plan and to further the 

purposes of this subchapter. 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 287, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1999.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.559 by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1420, Sec. 

21.001(114), eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

SUBCHAPTER P. FEES 

Sec. 5.701.  FEES.  (a)  The executive director shall 

charge and collect the fees prescribed by law.  The executive 

director shall make a record of fees prescribed when due and 

shall render an account to the person charged with the fees.  

Each fee is a separate charge and is in addition to other fees 
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unless provided otherwise.  Except as otherwise provided, a fee 

assessed and collected under this section shall be deposited to 

the credit of the water resource management account. 

(1)  Notwithstanding other provisions, the commission 

by rule may establish due dates, schedules, and procedures for 

assessment, collection, and remittance of fees due the 

commission to ensure the cost-effective administration of 

revenue collection and cash management programs. 

(2)  Notwithstanding other provisions, the commission 

by rule shall establish uniform and consistent requirements for 

the assessment of penalties and interest for late payment of 

fees owed the state under the commission's jurisdiction.  

Penalties and interest established under this section shall not 

exceed rates established for delinquent taxes under Sections 

111.060 and 111.061, Tax Code. 

(b)  Except as otherwise provided by law, the fee for 

filing an application or petition is $100 plus the cost of any 

required notice.  The fee for a by-pass permit shall be set by 

the commission at a reasonable amount to recover costs, but not 

less than $100. 

(c)  The fee for filing a water permit application is $100 

plus the cost of required notice. 

(d)  The fee for filing an application for fixing or 

adjusting rates is $100 plus the cost of required notice. 

(e)  A person who files with the commission a petition for 

the creation of a water district or addition of sewage and 

drainage powers or a resolution for a water district conversion 

must pay a one-time nonrefundable application fee.  The 

commission by rule may establish the application fee in an 

amount sufficient to cover the costs of reviewing and processing 

the application, plus the cost of required notice.  The 

commission may also use the application fee to cover other costs 

incurred to protect water resources in this state, including 

assessment of water quality, reasonably related to the 

activities of any of the persons required to pay a fee under the 

statutes listed in Subsection (p).  This fee is the only fee 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TX&Value=111.060
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TX&Value=111.061
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that the commission may charge with regard to the processing of 

an application for creation of a water district, addition of 

sewage or drainage powers, or conversion under this code. 

(f)  A person who files a bond issue application with the 

commission must pay an application fee set by the commission.  

The commission by rule may set the application fee in an amount 

not to exceed the costs of reviewing and processing the 

application, plus the cost of required notice.  If the bonds are 

approved by the commission, the seller shall pay to the 

commission a percentage of the bond proceeds not later than the 

seventh business day after receipt of the bond proceeds.  The 

commission by rule may set the percentage of the proceeds in an 

amount not to exceed 0.25 percent of the principal amount of the 

bonds actually issued.  Proceeds of the fees shall be used to 

supplement any other funds available for paying expenses of the 

commission in supervising the various bond and construction 

activities of the districts filing the applications. 

(g)  The fee for recording an instrument in the office of 

the commission is $1.25 per page. 

(h)  The fee for the use of water for irrigation is 50 

cents per acre to be irrigated. 

(i)  The fee for impounding water, except under Section 

11.142 of this code, is 50 cents per acre-foot of storage, based 

on the total holding capacity of the reservoir at normal 

operating level. 

(j)  The fee for other uses of water not specifically named 

in this section is $1 per acre-foot, except that no political 

subdivision may be required to pay fees to use water for 

recharge of underground freshwater-bearing sands and aquifers or 

for abatement of natural pollution.  A fee is not required for a 

water right that is deposited into the Texas Water Trust. 

(k)  A fee charged under Subsections (h) through (j) of 

this section for one use of water under a permit from the 

commission may not exceed $50,000. The fee for each additional 

use of water under a permit for which the maximum fee is paid 

may not exceed $10,000. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11.142
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(l)  The fees prescribed by Subsections (h) through (j) of 

this section are one-time fees, payable when the application for 

an appropriation is made.  However, if the total fee for a 

permit exceeds $1,000, the applicant shall pay one-half of the 

fee when the application is filed and one-half within 180 days 

after notice is mailed to him that the permit is granted.  If 

the applicant does not pay all of the amount owed before 

beginning to use water under the permit, the permit is annulled. 

(m)  If a permit is annulled, the matter reverts to the 

status of a pending, filed application and, on the payment of 

use fees as provided by Subsections (h) through (l) of this 

section together with sufficient postage fees for mailing notice 

of hearing, the commission shall set the application for hearing 

and proceed as provided by this code. 

(n)(1) Each provider of potable water or sewer utility 

service shall collect a regulatory assessment from each retail 

customer as follows: 

(A)  A public utility as defined in Section 

13.002 shall collect from each retail customer a regulatory 

assessment equal to one percent of the charge for retail water 

or sewer service. 

(B)  A water supply or sewer service corporation 

as defined in Section 13.002 shall collect from each retail 

customer a regulatory assessment equal to one-half of one 

percent of the charge for retail water or sewer service. 

(C)  A district as defined in Section 49.001 that 

provides potable water or sewer utility service to retail 

customers shall collect from each retail customer a regulatory 

assessment equal to one-half of one percent of the charge for 

retail water or sewer service. 

(2)  The regulatory assessment may be listed on the 

customer's bill as a separate item and shall be collected in 

addition to other charges for utility services. 

(3)  The assessments collected under this subsection 

may be appropriated by a rider to the General Appropriations Act 

to an agency with duties related to water and sewer utility 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=49.001
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regulation or representation of residential and small commercial 

consumers of water and sewer utility services solely to pay 

costs and expenses incurred by the agency in the regulation of 

districts, water supply or sewer service corporations, and 

public utilities under Chapter 13. 

(4)  The commission shall annually use a portion of 

the assessments to provide on-site technical assistance and 

training to public utilities, water supply or sewer service 

corporations, and districts.  The commission shall contract with 

others to provide the services. 

(5)  The commission by rule may establish due dates, 

collection procedures, and penalties for late payment related to 

regulatory assessments under this subsection.  The executive 

director shall collect all assessments from the utility service 

providers. 

(6)  Repealed by Acts 2017, 85th Leg., 1st C.S., Ch. 6 

(S.B. 6), Sec. 55(c), eff. December 1, 2017. 

(7)  The regulatory assessment does not apply to water 

that has not been treated for the purpose of human consumption. 

(o)  A fee imposed under Subsection (j) of this section for 

the use of saline tidal water for industrial processes shall be 

$1 per acre-foot of water diverted for the industrial process, 

not to exceed a total fee of $5,000. 

(p)  Notwithstanding any other law, fees collected for 

deposit to the water resource management account under the 

following statutes may be appropriated and used to protect water 

resources in this state, including assessment of water quality, 

reasonably related to the activities of any of the persons 

required to pay a fee under: 

(1)  Subsection (b), to the extent those fees are paid 

by water districts, and Subsections (e), (f), and (n); or 

(2)  Section 54.037(c). 

(q)  Notwithstanding any other law, fees collected for 

deposit to the water resource management account under the 

following statutes may be appropriated and used to protect water 

resources in this state, including assessment of water quality, 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/851/billtext/html/SB00006F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=54.037
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reasonably related to the activities of any of the persons 

required to pay a fee under: 

(1)  Subsections (b) and (c), to the extent those fees 

are collected in connection with water use or water quality 

permits; 

(2)  Subsections (h)-(l); 

(3)  Section 11.138(g); 

(4)  Section 11.145; 

(5)  Section 26.0135(h); 

(6)  Sections 26.0291, 26.044, and 26.0461; or 

(7)  Sections 341.041, 366.058, 366.059, 371.024, 

371.026, and 371.062, Health and Safety Code. 

(r)  Repealed by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021, Sec. 

2.07, eff. September 1, 2011. 
 

Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 239, Sec. 38, eff. Sept. 1, 1985.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.182 and amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 

1.001, eff. Sept. 1, 1985.  Amended by Acts 1987, 70th Leg., ch. 399, Sec. 1, 

eff. Sept. 1, 1987;  Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., ch. 710, Sec. 10, eff. Aug. 26, 

1991;  Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 1.021, eff. Aug. 12, 1991;  

Acts 1991, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 1991;  Acts 

1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 564, Sec. 1.02, eff. June 11, 1993;  Acts 1993, 73rd 

Leg., ch. 746, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1993;  Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 772, 

Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1993;  Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 333, Sec. 1, eff. 

Sept. 1, 1997;  Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1010, Sec. 4.42, eff. Sept. 1, 

1997;  Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 966, Sec. 4.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001.  

Redesignated from Sec. 5.235 and amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, 

Sec. 3.02, eff. Sept. 1, 2001;  Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 200, Sec. 6(a), 

eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1351 (H.B. 3), Sec. 1.03, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1430 (S.B. 3), Sec. 1.03, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1316 (H.B. 2667), Sec. 4, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 2.07, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 6.03, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 733 (S.B. 1105), Sec. 6, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 867 (H.B. 2771), Sec. 3, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., 1st C.S., Ch. 6 (S.B. 6), Sec. 55(c), eff. 

December 1, 2017. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11.138
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11.145
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.0135
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.0291
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.044
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.0461
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=341.041
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=366.058
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=366.059
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371.024
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371.026
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371.062
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB00003F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00003F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/HB02667F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/SB01105F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/HB02771F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/851/billtext/html/SB00006F.HTM
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Sec. 5.702.  PAYMENT OF FEES REQUIRED WHEN DUE.  (a)  A fee 

due the commission under this code or the Health and Safety Code 

shall be paid on the date the fee is due, regardless of whether 

the fee is billed by the commission to the person required to 

pay the fee or is calculated and paid to the commission by the 

person required to pay the fee. 

(b)  A person required to pay a fee to the commission may 

not dispute the assessment of or amount of a fee before the fee 

has been paid in full. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.703.  FEE ADJUSTMENTS.  (a)  The commission may not 

consider adjusting the amount of a fee due the commission under 

this code or the Health and Safety Code: 

(1)  before the fee has been paid in full; or 

(2)  if the request for adjustment is received after 

the first anniversary of the date on which the fee was paid in 

full. 

(b)  A person who pays an amount that exceeds the amount of 

the fee due because the commission incorrectly calculated the 

fee or the person made a duplicate payment may request a refund 

of the excess amount paid before the fourth anniversary of the 

date on which the excess amount was paid. 

(c)  A request for a refund or credit in an amount that 

exceeds $5,000 shall be forwarded for approval to the commission 

fee audit staff, together with an explanation of the grounds for 

the requested refund or credit.  Approval of a refund or credit 

does not prevent the fee audit staff from conducting a 

subsequent audit of the person for whom the refund or credit was 

approved. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.704.  NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PAYMENT PROCEDURE.  The 

commission shall promptly notify each person required to pay a 
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commission fee under this code or the Health and Safety Code of 

any change in fee payment procedures. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.705.  NOTICE OF VIOLATION.  (a)  The commission may 

issue a notice of violation to a person required to pay a 

commission fee under this code or the Health and Safety Code for 

knowingly violating reporting requirements or knowingly 

calculating the fee in an amount less than the amount actually 

due.  

(b)  The executive director may modify audit findings 

reported by a commission fee auditor only if the executive 

director provides a written explanation showing good cause for 

the modification. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.706.  PENALTIES AND INTEREST ON DELINQUENT FEES.  

(a)  Except as otherwise provided by law, the commission may 

collect, for a delinquent fee due the commission under this code 

or the Health and Safety Code: 

(1)  a penalty in an amount equal to five percent of 

the amount of the fee due, if the fee is not paid on or before 

the day on which the fee is due; and 

(2)  an additional penalty in an amount equal to five 

percent of the amount due, if the fee is not paid on or before 

the 30th day after the date on which the fee was due. 

(b)  Unless otherwise required by law interest accrues, 

beginning on the 61st day after the date on which the fee was 

due, on the total amount of fee and penalties that have not been 

paid on or before the 61st day after the date on which the fee 

was due.  The yearly interest rate is the rate of interest 

established for delinquent taxes under Section 111.060, Tax 

Code. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=TX&Value=111.060
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(c) The executive director may modify a penalty or

interest on a fee and penalties authorized by this section if 

the executive director provides a written explanation showing 

good cause for the modification. 

(d) Penalties and interest collected by the commission

under this section or under other law, unless that law otherwise 

provides, shall be deposited to the credit of the fund or 

account to which the fee is required to be deposited. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 5.707.  TRANSFERABILITY OF APPROPRIATIONS AND FUNDS 

DERIVED FROM FEES.  Notwithstanding any law that provides 

specific purposes for which a fund, account, or revenue source 

may be used and expended by the commission and that restricts 

the use of revenues and balances by the commission, the 

commission may transfer a percentage of appropriations from one 

appropriation item to another appropriation item consistent with 

the General Appropriations Act for any biennium authorizing the 

commission to transfer a percentage of appropriations from one 

appropriation item to another appropriation item.  The use of 

funds in dedicated accounts under this section for purposes in 

addition to those provided by statutes restricting their use may 

not exceed seven percent or $20 million, whichever is less, of 

appropriations to the commission in the General Appropriations 

Act for any biennium.  A transfer of $500,000 or more from one 

appropriation item to another appropriation item under this 

section must be approved by the commission at an open meeting 

subject to Chapter 551, Government Code. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 5.708.  PERMIT FEE EXEMPTION FOR CERTAIN RESEARCH 

PROJECTS.  (a)  In this section:

(1) "Institution of higher education" has the meaning

assigned by Section 61.003, Education Code. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=551
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=ED&Value=61.003
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(2)  "State agency" has the meaning assigned by 

Section 572.002, Government Code. 

(b)  If a permit issued by the commission is required for a 

research project by an institution of higher education or a 

state agency, payment of a fee is not required for the permit. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER Q. PERFORMANCE-BASED REGULATION 
 

Sec. 5.751.  APPLICABILITY.  This subchapter applies to 

programs under the jurisdiction of the commission under Chapters 

26, 27, and 32 of this code and Chapters 361, 375, 382, and 401, 

Health and Safety Code.  It does not apply to occupational 

licensing programs under the jurisdiction of the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.01, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.752.  DEFINITIONS.  In this subchapter: 

(1)  "Applicable legal requirement" means an 

environmental law, regulation, permit, order, consent decree, or 

other requirement. 

(2)  "Innovative program" means: 

(A)  a program developed by the commission under 

this subchapter, Chapter 26 or 27 of this code, or Chapter 361, 

382, or 401, Health and Safety Code, that provides incentives to 

a person in return for benefits to the environment that exceed 

benefits that would result from compliance with applicable legal 

requirements under the commission's jurisdiction; 

(B)  the flexible permit program administered by 

the commission under Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code; 

(C)  the regulatory flexibility program 

administered by the commission under Section 5.758; or 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=572.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=27
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=32
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=27
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.758
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(D)  a program established under Section 382.401, 

Health and Safety Code, to encourage the use of alternative 

technology for detecting leaks or emissions of air contaminants. 

(3)  "Permit" includes a license, certificate, 

registration, approval, permit by rule, standard permit, or 

other form of authorization issued by the commission under this 

code or the Health and Safety Code. 

(4)  "Region" means a region of the commission's field 

operations division or that division's successor. 

(5)  "Strategically directed regulatory structure" 

means a program that is designed to use innovative programs to 

provide maximum environmental benefit and to reward compliance 

performance. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 870 (H.B. 1526), Sec. 2, eff. June 15, 

2007. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.02, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.753.  STANDARDS FOR EVALUATING AND USING COMPLIANCE 

HISTORY.  (a)  Consistent with other law and the requirements 

necessary to maintain federal program authorization, the 

commission by rule shall develop standards for evaluating and 

using compliance history that ensure consistency.  In developing 

the standards, the commission may account for differences among 

regulated entities. 

(b)  The components of compliance history must include: 

(1)  enforcement orders, court judgments, and criminal 

convictions of this state relating to compliance with applicable 

legal requirements under the jurisdiction of the commission; 

(2)  notwithstanding any other provision of this code, 

orders issued under Section 7.070; 

(3)  to the extent readily available to the 

commission, enforcement orders, court judgments, consent 

decrees, and criminal convictions relating to violations of 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.401
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB01526F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.070
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environmental rules of the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency; and 

(4)  changes in ownership. 

(c)  The set of components must also include any 

information required by other law or any requirement necessary 

to maintain federal program authorization. 

(d)  Except as provided by this subsection, notices of 

violation must be included as a component of compliance history 

for a period not to exceed one year from the date of issuance of 

each notice of violation.  The listing of a notice of violation 

must be preceded by the following statement prominently 

displayed:  "A notice of violation represents a written 

allegation of a violation of a specific regulatory requirement 

from the commission to a regulated entity.  A notice of 

violation is not a final enforcement action nor proof that a 

violation has actually occurred."   A notice of violation 

administratively determined to be without merit may not be 

included in a compliance history.  A notice of violation that is 

included in a compliance history shall be removed from the 

compliance history if the commission subsequently determines the 

notice of violation to be without merit. 

(d-1) For purposes of listing compliance history, the 

commission may not include as a notice of violation information 

received by the commission as required by Title V of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7661 et seq.) unless the 

commission issues a written notice of violation.  Final 

enforcement orders or judgments resulting from self-reported 

Title V deviations or violations may be considered as compliance 

history components for purposes of determining compliance 

history. 

(e)  Except as required by other law or any requirement 

necessary to maintain federal program authorization, the 

commission by rule shall establish a period for compliance 

history. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  
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Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.03, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.04, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 5.754.  CLASSIFICATION AND USE OF COMPLIANCE HISTORY.  

(a) The commission by rule shall establish a set of standards

for the classification of a person's compliance history as a 

means of evaluating compliance history. The commission may 

consider the person's classification when using compliance 

history under Subsection (e). 

(b) Rules adopted under Subsection (a):

(1) must, at a minimum, provide for three

classifications of compliance history in a manner adequate to 

distinguish among: 

(A) unsatisfactory performers, or regulated

entities that in the commission's judgment perform below minimal 

acceptable performance standards established by the commission; 

(B) satisfactory performers, or regulated

entities that generally comply with environmental regulations; 

and 

(C) high performers, or regulated entities that

have an above-satisfactory compliance record; 

(2) may establish a category of unclassified

performers, or regulated entities for which the commission does 

not have adequate compliance information about the site; and 

(3) must take into account both positive and negative

factors related to the operation, size, and complexity of the 

site, including whether the site is subject to Title V of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7661 et seq.). 

(c) In classifying a person's compliance history, the

commission shall: 

(1) determine whether a violation of an applicable

legal requirement is of major, moderate, or minor significance; 

(2) establish criteria for classifying a repeat

violator, giving consideration to the size and complexity of the 

site at which the violations occurred, and limiting 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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consideration to violations of the same nature and the same 

environmental media that occurred in the preceding five years; 

and 

(3)  consider: 

(A)  the significance of the violation and 

whether the person is a repeat violator; 

(B)  the size and complexity of the site, 

including whether the site is subject to Title V of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7661 et seq.); and 

(C)  the potential for a violation at the site 

that is attributable to the nature and complexity of the site. 

(d)  The commission by rule may require a compliance 

inspection to determine an entity's eligibility for 

participation in a program that requires a high level of 

compliance. 

(e)  The commission by rule shall provide for the use of 

compliance history in commission decisions regarding: 

(1)  the issuance, renewal, amendment, modification, 

denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit; 

(2)  enforcement; 

(3)  the use of announced inspections; and 

(4)  participation in innovative programs. 

(e-1) The amount of the penalty enhancement or escalation 

attributed to compliance history may not exceed 100 percent of 

the base penalty for an individual violation as determined by 

the commission's penalty policy. 

(f)  The assessment methods shall specify the circumstances 

in which the commission may revoke the permit of a repeat 

violator and shall establish enhanced administrative penalties 

for repeat violators. 

(g)  Rules adopted under Subsection (e) for the use of 

compliance history shall provide for additional oversight of, 

and review of applications regarding, facilities owned or 

operated by a person whose compliance performance is classified 

as unsatisfactory according to commission standards. 
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(h) The commission by rule shall, at a minimum, prohibit a

person whose compliance history is classified as unsatisfactory 

according to commission standards from  obtaining or renewing a 

flexible permit under the program administered by the commission 

under Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, or participating in 

the regulatory flexibility program administered by the 

commission under Section 5.758. 

(i) The commission shall consider the compliance history

of a regulated entity when determining whether to grant the 

regulated entity's application for a permit or permit amendment 

for any activity under the commission's jurisdiction to which 

this subchapter applies.  Notwithstanding any provision of this 

code or the Health and Safety Code relating to the granting of 

permits or permit amendments by the commission, the commission, 

after an opportunity for a hearing, shall deny a regulated 

entity's application for a permit or permit amendment if the 

regulated entity's compliance history is unacceptable based on 

violations constituting a recurring pattern of conduct that 

demonstrates a consistent disregard for the regulatory process, 

including a failure to make a timely and substantial attempt to 

correct the violations. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.05, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 5.755.  STRATEGICALLY DIRECTED REGULATORY STRUCTURE.  

(a) The commission by rule shall develop a strategically

directed regulatory structure to provide incentives for enhanced 

environmental performance. 

(b) The strategically directed regulatory structure shall

offer incentives based on: 

(1) a person's compliance history; and

(2) any voluntary measures undertaken by the person

to improve environmental quality. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.758
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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(c)  An innovative program offered as part of the 

strategically directed regulatory structure must be consistent 

with other law and any requirement necessary to maintain federal 

program authorization. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.06, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.756.  COLLECTION AND ANALYSIS OF COMPLIANCE 

PERFORMANCE INFORMATION.  (a)  The commission shall collect data 

on: 

(1)  the results of inspections conducted by the 

commission; and 

(2)  whether inspections are announced or unannounced. 

(b)  The commission shall collect data on and make 

available to the public on the Internet: 

(1)  the number and percentage of all violations 

committed by persons who previously have committed the same or 

similar violations; 

(2)  the number and percentage of enforcement orders 

issued by the commission that are issued to entities that have 

been the subject of a previous enforcement order; 

(3)  whether a violation is of major, moderate, or 

minor significance, as defined by commission rule; 

(4)  whether a violation relates to an applicable 

legal requirement pertaining to air, water, or waste; and 

(5)  the region in which the facility is located. 

(c)  The commission annually shall prepare a comparative 

analysis of data evaluating the performance, over time, of the 

commission and of entities regulated by the commission. 

(d)  The commission shall include in the annual enforcement 

report required by Section 5.126 the comparative performance 

analysis required by Subsection (c), organized by region and 

regulated medium. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.126


Appendix B.2: Texas Water Code, Chapter 5  Page 100 

 

(e)  Before compliance performance information about a site 

may be placed on the Internet under this subchapter, the 

information must be evaluated through a quality assurance and 

control procedure, including a 30-day period for the owner or 

operator of the site to review and comment on the information. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 728 (H.B. 2018), Sec. 22.001, eff. September 

1, 2005. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.07, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

Sec. 5.757.  COORDINATION OF INNOVATIVE PROGRAMS.  (a)  The 

commission shall designate a single point of contact within the 

agency to coordinate all innovative programs. 

(b)  The coordinator shall: 

(1)  inventory, coordinate, and market and evaluate 

all innovative programs; 

(2)  provide information and technical assistance to 

persons participating in or interested in participating in those 

programs; and 

(3)  work with the pollution prevention advisory 

committee to assist the commission in integrating the innovative 

programs into the commission's operations, including: 

(A)  program administration; 

(B)  strategic planning; and 

(C)  staff training. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 4.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.758.  REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY.  (a)  The commission 

by order may exempt an applicant from a requirement of a statute 

or commission rule regarding the control or abatement of 

pollution if the applicant proposes to control or abate 

pollution by an alternative method or by applying an alternative 

standard that is: 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02018F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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(1)  as protective of the environment and the public 

health as the method or standard prescribed by the statute or 

commission rule that would otherwise apply; and 

(2)  not inconsistent with federal law. 

(b)  The commission may not exempt an applicant under this 

section unless the applicant can present to the commission 

evidence that the alternative the applicant proposes is as 

protective of the environment and the public health as the 

method or standard prescribed by the statute or commission rule 

that would otherwise apply. 

(c)  The commission by rule shall specify the procedure for 

obtaining an exemption under this section.  The rules must 

provide for public notice and for public participation in a 

proceeding involving an application for an exemption under this 

section. 

(d)  The commission's order must provide a description of 

the alternative method or standard and condition the exemption 

on compliance with the method or standard as the order 

prescribes. 

(e)  The commission by rule may establish a reasonable fee 

for applying for an exemption under this section. 

(f)  A violation of an order issued under this section is 

punishable as if it were a violation of the statute or rule from 

which the order grants an exemption. 

(g)  This section does not authorize exemptions to statutes 

or regulations for storing, handling, processing, or disposing 

of low-level radioactive materials. 

(h)  In implementing the program of regulatory flexibility 

authorized by this section, the commission shall: 

(1)  promote the program to businesses in the state 

through all available appropriate media; 

(2)  endorse alternative methods that will clearly 

benefit the environment and impose the least onerous 

restrictions on business; 
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(3)  fix and enforce environmental standards, allowing 

businesses flexibility in meeting the standards in a manner that 

clearly enhances environmental outcomes; and 

(4)  work to achieve consistent and predictable 

results for the regulated community and shorter waits for permit 

issuance. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1203, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  

Renumbered from Sec. 5.123 and amended by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 

4.02, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.08, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER R. ACCREDITATION OF ENVIRONMENTAL TESTING 

LABORATORIES 
 

Sec. 5.801.  DEFINITION.  In this subchapter, 

"environmental testing laboratory" means a scientific laboratory 

that performs analyses to determine the chemical, molecular, or 

pathogenic components of environmental media for regulatory 

compliance purposes. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 447, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1999.  

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code Sec. 421.001 and amended by Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.802.  ADMINISTRATION BY COMMISSION.  The commission 

shall adopt rules for the administration of the voluntary 

environmental testing laboratory accreditation program 

established by this chapter.  The program must be consistent 

with national accreditation standards approved by the National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 447, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1999.  

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code Sec. 421.002 and amended by Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.803.  APPLICATION; FEE.  (a)  To be accredited under 

the accreditation program adopted under this subchapter, an 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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environmental testing laboratory must submit an application to 

the commission on a form prescribed by the commission, 

accompanied by the accreditation fee.  The application must 

contain the information that the commission requires. 

(b)  The commission by rule shall establish a schedule of 

reasonable accreditation fees designed to recover the costs of 

the accreditation program, including the costs associated with: 

(1)  application review; 

(2)  initial, routine, and follow-up inspections by 

the commission; and 

(3)  preparation of reports. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 447, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1999.  

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code Sec. 421.003 and amended by Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.804.  ISSUANCE OF ACCREDITATION; RECIPROCITY.  (a)  

The commission may accredit an environmental testing laboratory 

that complies with the commission requirements established under 

this subchapter. 

(b)  The commission by rule may provide for the 

accreditation of an environmental testing laboratory that is 

accredited or licensed in another state by an authority that is 

approved by the National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Program. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 447, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1999.  

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code Sec. 421.004 and amended by Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.805.  RULES; MINIMUM STANDARDS.  The commission 

shall adopt rules to implement this subchapter and minimum 

performance and quality assurance standards for accreditation of 

an environmental testing laboratory. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 447, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1999.  

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code Sec. 421.005 and amended by Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 
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Sec. 5.806.  DISCIPLINE.  After notice and an opportunity 

for hearing, the commission may suspend or revoke the 

accreditation of an environmental testing laboratory that does 

not comply with the minimum performance and quality assurance 

standards established under this subchapter. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 447, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 1999.  

Redesignated from Health and Safety Code Sec. 421.006 and amended by Acts 

2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 5.807.  ENVIRONMENTAL TESTING LABORATORY ACCREDITATION 

ACCOUNT.  All fees collected under this subchapter shall be 

deposited to the credit of the environmental testing laboratory 

accreditation account and may be appropriated to the commission 

only for paying the costs of the accreditation program. 
 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 6.01, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 
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APPENDIX B.3 
      

WATER CODE 

TITLE 2. WATER ADMINISTRATION 

SUBTITLE A. EXECUTIVE AGENCIES 

CHAPTER 7. ENFORCEMENT1 
 

 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

Sec. 7.001.  DEFINITIONS.  In this chapter: 

(1)  "Commission" means the Texas Natural Resource 

Conservation Commission. 

(2)  "Permit" includes a license, certificate, 

registration, approval, or other form of authorization.  This 

definition does not apply to Subchapter G. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.002.  ENFORCEMENT AUTHORITY.  The commission may 

initiate an action under this chapter to enforce provisions of 

this code and the Health and Safety Code within the commission's 

jurisdiction as provided by Section 5.013 of this code and rules 

adopted under those provisions.  The commission or the executive 

director may institute legal proceedings to compel compliance 

with the relevant provisions of this code and the Health and 

Safety Code and rules, orders, permits, or other decisions of 

the commission.  The commission may delegate to the executive 

director the authority to issue an administrative order, 

including an administrative order that assesses penalties or 

orders corrective measures, to ensure compliance with the 

provisions of this code and the Health and Safety Code within 

the commission's jurisdiction as provided by Section 5.013 of 

this code and rules adopted under those provisions. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

 
1 Text downloaded from https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/ on February 10, 2022, as current through the 87th 3rd 

Called Legislative Session, 2021.  Minor formatting changes made for easier reading. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.013
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=5.013
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/


Appendix B.3: Texas Water Code, Chapter 7 Page 3 

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1386 (S.B. 1693), Sec. 5, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Sec. 7.0025.  INITIATION OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION USING 

INFORMATION PROVIDED BY PRIVATE INDIVIDUAL.  (a)  The commission 

may initiate an enforcement action on a matter under its 

jurisdiction under this code or the Health and Safety Code based 

on information it receives from a private individual if that 

information, in the commission's judgment, is of sufficient 

value and credibility to warrant the initiation of an 

enforcement action. 

(b) The executive director or the executive director's

designated representative may evaluate the value and credibility 

of information received from a private individual and the merits 

of any proposed enforcement action based on that information. 

(c) The commission by rule may adopt criteria for the

executive director to use in evaluating the value and 

credibility of information received from a private individual 

and for use of that information in an enforcement action. 

(d) A private individual who submits information on which

the commission relies for all or part of an enforcement case may 

be called to testify in the enforcement proceedings and is 

subject to all sanctions under law for knowingly falsifying 

evidence.  If the commission relies on the information submitted 

by a private individual to prove an enforcement case, any 

physical or sampling data must have been collected or gathered 

in accordance with commission protocols. 

Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 1.24, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Sec. 7.00251.  INITIATION OF CERTAIN CLEAN AIR ACT 

ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS USING INFORMATION PROVIDED BY A PERSON.  If 

the commission determines that there are multiple violations 

based on information it receives as required by Title V of the 

federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7661 et seq.) from a 

person, as defined in Section 382.003, Health and Safety Code, 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/SB01693F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.003
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only those that require initiation of formal enforcement will be 

included in any proposed enforcement action.  For all other 

violations that do not require initiation of formal enforcement, 

the commission may not include in the enforcement action the 

following: 

(1)  violations that are not repeat violations due to 

the same root cause from two consecutive investigations within 

the most recent five-year period; or 

(2)  violations that have been corrected within the 

time frame specified by the commission or for which the facility 

has not had the time specified by the commission to correct the 

violations. 
 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 6.01, eff. June 

8, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 7.0026.  SUSPENSION OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION AGAINST 

CERTAIN REGIONAL WATER, SEWER, OR SOLID WASTE SERVICES.  If a 

water supply, sewer, wastewater treatment, or solid waste 

disposal service operated by or for a municipality or county is 

being integrated into a regional water supply, sewer, wastewater 

treatment, or solid waste disposal service, the commission may 

enter into a compliance agreement with the regional service 

under which the commission will not initiate an enforcement 

action against the regional service for existing or anticipated 

violations resulting from the operation by the regional service 

of the service being integrated.  A compliance agreement under 

this section must include provisions necessary to bring the 

service being integrated into compliance. 
 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1115, Sec. 1, eff. June 20, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 7.003.  ENFORCEMENT REPORT.  (a)  The commission shall 

report at least once each month on enforcement actions taken by 

the commission or others and the resolution of those actions. 

(b)  The report shall be an item for commission discussion 

at a meeting of the commission for which public notice is given. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM


Appendix B.3: Texas Water Code, Chapter 7  Page 5 

 

(c)  If an enforcement action involves a suit filed for 

injunctive relief or civil penalties, or both, the report shall 

state the actual or projected time for resolution of the suit.  

A copy of the report and of the minutes of the meeting 

reflecting commission action relating to the report shall be 

filed with the governor and the attorney general. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.004.  REMEDIES CUMULATIVE.  The remedies under this 

chapter are cumulative of all other remedies.  Nothing in this 

chapter affects the right of a private corporation or individual 

to pursue any available common law remedy to abate a condition 

of pollution or other nuisance, to recover damages to enforce a 

right, or to prevent or seek redress or compensation for the 

violation of a right or otherwise redress an injury. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.005.  EFFECT ON OTHER LAW.  This chapter does not 

exempt a person from complying with or being subject to other 

law. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.006.  ENFORCEMENT POLICIES.  (a)  The commission by 

rule shall adopt a general enforcement policy that describes the 

commission's approach to enforcement. 

(b)  The commission shall assess, update, and publicly 

adopt specific enforcement policies regularly, including 

policies regarding the calculation of penalties and deterrence 

to prevent the economic benefit of noncompliance. 

(c)  The commission shall make the policies available to 

the public, including by posting the policies on the 

commission's Internet website. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.09, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
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SUBCHAPTER B. CORRECTIVE ACTION AND INJUNCTIVE RELIEF 
 

Sec. 7.031.  CORRECTIVE ACTION RELATING TO HAZARDOUS WASTE.  

(a)  The commission shall require corrective action for a 

release of hazardous waste or hazardous waste constituents from 

a solid waste management unit at a solid waste processing, 

storage, or disposal facility that is required to obtain a 

permit for the management of hazardous waste and whose permit is 

issued after November 8, 1984, regardless of when the waste is 

placed in the unit. 

(b)  The commission shall establish schedules for 

compliance for the corrective action if the corrective action 

cannot be completed before permit issuance and shall require 

assurances of financial responsibility for completing the 

corrective action. 

(c)  If the commission determines that there is or has been 

a release of hazardous waste into the environment from a 

facility required to obtain a permit in accordance with an 

approved state program under Section 3006 of the federal Solid 

Waste Disposal Act, as amended by the Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act of 1976, as amended (42 U.S.C. Section 6901 et 

seq.), the commission may: 

(1)  issue an order requiring corrective action or 

other response measures considered necessary to protect human 

health or the environment; or 

(2)  institute a civil action under Subchapter D. 

(d)  An order issued under this section: 

(1)  may include a suspension or revocation of 

authorization to operate; 

(2)  must state with reasonable specificity the nature 

of the required corrective action or other response measure; and 

(3)  must specify a time for compliance. 
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(e)  If a person named in the order does not comply with 

the order, the commission may assess an administrative penalty 

or seek a civil penalty in accordance with this chapter. 

(f)  Nothing in this section limits the authority of the 

commission, consistent with federal law, to issue an order for 

the closure, post-closure care, or other remediation of 

hazardous waste or hazardous waste constituents from a solid 

waste management unit at a solid waste processing, storage, or 

disposal facility. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, Sec. 9.07, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

 

 

Sec. 7.032.  INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.  (a)  The executive 

director may enforce a commission rule or a provision of a 

permit issued by the commission by injunction or other 

appropriate remedy. 

(b)  If it appears that a violation or threat of violation 

of a statute within the commission's jurisdiction or a rule 

adopted or an order or a permit issued under such a statute has 

occurred or is about to occur, the executive director may have a 

suit instituted in district court for injunctive relief to 

restrain the violation or threat of violation. 

(c)  The suit may be brought in the county in which the 

defendant resides or in the county in which the violation or 

threat of violation occurs. 

(d)  In a suit brought under this section to enjoin a 

violation or threat of violation described by Subsection (b), 

the court may grant the commission, without bond or other 

undertaking, any prohibitory or mandatory injunction the facts 

may warrant, including a temporary restraining order and, after 

notice and hearing, a temporary injunction or permanent 

injunction. 

(e)  On request of the executive director, the attorney 

general or the prosecuting attorney in a county in which the 

violation occurs shall initiate a suit in the name of the state 
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for injunctive relief.  The suit may be brought independently of 

or in conjunction with a suit under Subchapter D. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.033.  RECOVERY OF SECURITY FOR CHAPTER 401, HEALTH 

AND SAFETY CODE, VIOLATION.  The commission shall seek 

reimbursement, either by a commission order or by a suit filed 

under Subchapter D by the attorney general at the commission's 

request, of security from the radiation and perpetual care 

account used by the commission to pay for actions, including 

corrective measures, to remedy spills or contamination by 

radioactive material resulting from a violation of Chapter 401, 

Health and Safety Code, relating to an activity under the 

commission's jurisdiction or a rule adopted or a license, 

registration, or order issued by the commission under that 

chapter. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 580, Sec. 12, eff. Sept. 1, 2003; Acts 2003, 

78th Leg., ch. 1067, Sec. 23, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

Sec. 7.034.  DEFERRAL OF PENALTY FOR CERTAIN UTILITY 

FACILITIES.  (a)  In this section: 

(1)  "District" means any district or authority 

created under either Article III, Section 52, or Article XVI, 

Section 59, of the Texas Constitution, regardless of how 

created.  The term "district" shall not include any navigation 

district or port authority created under general or special law 

or any conservation and reclamation district governed by Chapter 

36 unless a special law creating the district or amending the 

law creating the district states that Chapter 49 applies to the 

district. 

(2)  "Municipally owned utility" and "water supply or 

sewer service corporation" have the meanings assigned by Section 

13.002. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=CN&Value=3.52
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=CN&Value=16.59
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=36
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=49
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13.002
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(b)  The commission may allow a municipally owned utility, 

a water supply or sewer service corporation, or a district to 

defer the payment of all or part of an administrative penalty 

imposed under Subchapter C for a violation on the condition that 

the entity complies with all provisions for corrective action in 

a commission order to address the violation. 

(c)  In determining whether deferral of a penalty under 

this section is appropriate, the commission shall consider the 

factors to be considered under Section 7.053 and the following 

factors: 

(1)  the financial position of the entity and its 

ability to reasonably pay the costs of corrective action under 

the terms of a commission order; 

(2)  risks to public health and the environment of any 

delay in addressing the corrective actions as a result of 

limited financial resources; 

(3)  alternatives reasonably available to the entity 

for paying both the costs of corrective action and the penalty; 

and 

(4)  potential effects of the payment of the penalty 

on other essential public health and safety services for which 

the entity is responsible. 

(d)  At the discretion of the commission, any penalty 

deferred under this section becomes due and payable on a 

commission determination that the entity is not in compliance 

with a provision for corrective action in a commission order to 

address the violation. 
 

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1005 (H.B. 147), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

 

 

Sec. 7.035.  INJUNCTION AND ENFORCEMENT RELATING TO CERTAIN 

TREATMENT FACILITIES.  (a)  Except as provided by Subsection 

(b), if the commission determines that a treatment facility that 

handles waste and wastewater from humans or household operations 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.053
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB00147F.HTM
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is operating without a permit required by the commission, the 

commission shall: 

(1)  issue an order: 

(A)  enjoining further operation of the facility 

until the commission issues the required permit; and 

(B)  imposing an administrative penalty under 

this chapter; or 

(2)  institute a civil action under Subchapter D to: 

(A)  enjoin further operation of the facility 

until the commission issues the required permit; and 

(B)  impose a civil penalty. 

(b)  If the commission determines there is no feasible 

alternative treatment or disposal option for the wastewater 

being sent to the treatment facility, including the option of 

hauling the wastewater to a permitted facility, the commission 

is not required to enjoin the operation of the facility under 

Subsection (a) and may impose other applicable penalties under 

this chapter. 
 

Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 806 (H.B. 3264), Sec. 2, eff. June 

17, 2015. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER C. ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES 
 

Sec. 7.051.  ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY.  (a)  The commission 

may assess an administrative penalty against a person as 

provided by this subchapter if: 

(1)  the person violates: 

(A)  a provision of this code or of the Health 

and Safety Code that is within the commission's jurisdiction; 

(B)  a rule adopted or order issued by the 

commission under a statute within the commission's jurisdiction; 

or 

(C)  a permit issued by the commission under a 

statute within the commission's jurisdiction; and 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB03264F.HTM
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(2) a county, political subdivision, or municipality

has not instituted a lawsuit and is not diligently prosecuting 

that lawsuit under Subchapter H against the same person for the 

same violation. 

(b) This subchapter does not apply to violations of

Chapter 11, 12, 13, 16, or 36 of this code, or Chapter 341, 

Health and Safety Code. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.052.  MAXIMUM PENALTY.  (a)  The amount of the 

penalty for a violation of Chapter 37 of this code, Chapter 366, 

371, or 372, Health and Safety Code, or Chapter 1903, 

Occupations Code, may not exceed $5,000 a day for each 

violation. 

(b) Except as provided by Subsection (b-3), the amount of

the penalty for operating a rock crusher or a concrete plant 

that performs wet batching, dry batching, or central mixing, 

that is required to obtain a permit under Section 382.0518, 

Health and Safety Code, and that is operating without the 

required permit is $10,000.  Each day that a continuing 

violation occurs is a separate violation. 

(b-1)  The amount of the penalty assessed against a 

manufacturer that does not label its computer equipment or 

covered television equipment or adopt and implement a recovery 

plan as required by Section 361.955, 361.975, or 361.978, Health 

and Safety Code, as applicable, may not exceed $10,000 for the 

second violation or $25,000 for each subsequent violation.  A 

penalty under this subsection is in addition to any other 

penalty that may be assessed for a violation of Subchapter Y or 

Z, Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code. 

(b-2)  Except as provided by Subsection (b-1), the amount 

of the penalty for a violation of Subchapter Y or Z, Chapter 

361, Health and Safety Code, may not exceed $1,000 for the 

second violation or $2,000 for each subsequent violation.  A 

penalty under this subsection is in addition to any other 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=12
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=16
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=36
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=341
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=37
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=366
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=372
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=OC&Value=1903
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382.0518
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.955
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.975
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.978
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
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penalty that may be assessed for a violation of Subchapter Y or 

Z, Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code. 

(b-3) If a person operating a facility as described by 

Subsection (b) holds any type of permit issued by the commission 

other than the permit required for the facility, the commission 

may assess a penalty under Subsection (b) or (c). 

(b-4)  The amount of the penalty against a facility 

operator who violates Chapter 505, Health and Safety Code, or a 

rule adopted or order issued under that chapter may not exceed 

$500 a day for each day a violation continues with a total not 

to exceed $5,000 for each violation.  The amount of a penalty 

against a facility operator who violates Chapter 506 or 507, 

Health and Safety Code, or a rule adopted or order issued under 

those chapters may not exceed $50 a day for each day a violation 

continues with a total not to exceed $1,000 for each violation. 

(c)  The amount of the penalty for all other violations 

within the jurisdiction of the commission to enforce may not 

exceed $25,000 a day for each violation. 

(d)  Except as provided by Subsection (b), each day that a 

continuing violation occurs may be considered a separate 

violation.  The commission may authorize an installment payment 

schedule for an administrative penalty assessed under this 

subchapter, except for an administrative penalty assessed under 

Section 7.057. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 376, Sec. 3.02, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 880, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 

965, Sec. 5.08(b), eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 1271, Sec. 

2, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 14A.843, eff. 

Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 333 (S.B. 739), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 902 (H.B. 2714), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 605 (S.B. 329), Sec. 2, eff. September 

1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.10, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1072 (S.B. 1003), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=505
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=506
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=507
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.057
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB00739F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB02714F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB00329F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB01003F.HTM
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Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 515 (H.B. 942), Sec. 33, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 7.0525.  PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS RELATED TO CERTAIN 

DRY CLEANING FACILITIES.  (a)  Except as provided by Subsection 

(b), the amount of the penalty for a violation of Section 

374.252, Health and Safety Code, may not exceed $5,000. 

(b)  The amount of the penalty for a violation of Section 

374.252(a)(3), Health and Safety Code, may not exceed $10,000. 

(c)  In assessing an administrative penalty under this 

section, the commission shall consider, in addition to the 

factors prescribed by Section 7.053, the following factors, if 

applicable:   

(1)  the extent to which the violation has or may have 

an adverse effect on the environment; and  

(2)  the amount of the reasonable costs incurred by 

this state in detection and investigation of the violation. 
 

Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 540, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1110 (H.B. 2376), Sec. 18, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

 

 

Sec. 7.053.  FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED IN DETERMINATION OF 

PENALTY AMOUNT.  In determining the amount of an administrative 

penalty, the commission shall consider: 

(1)  the nature, circumstances, extent, duration, and 

gravity of the prohibited act, with special emphasis on the 

impairment of existing water rights or the hazard or potential 

hazard created to the health or safety of the public; 

(2)  the impact of the violation on: 

(A)  air quality in the region; 

(B)  a receiving stream or underground water 

reservoir; 

(C)  instream uses, water quality, aquatic and 

wildlife habitat, or beneficial freshwater inflows to bays and 

estuaries; or 

(D)  affected persons; 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00942F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=374.252
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=374.252
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.053
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/HB02376F.HTM
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(3)  with respect to the alleged violator: 

(A)  the history and extent of previous 

violations; 

(B)  the degree of culpability, including whether 

the violation was attributable to mechanical or electrical 

failures and whether the violation could have been reasonably 

anticipated and avoided; 

(C)  the demonstrated good faith, including 

actions taken by the alleged violator to rectify the cause of 

the violation and to compensate affected persons; 

(D)  economic benefit gained through the 

violation; and 

(E)  the amount necessary to deter future 

violations; and 

(4)  any other matters that justice may require. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.054.  REPORT OF VIOLATION.  If, after examination of 

a possible violation and the facts surrounding that possible 

violation, the executive director concludes that a violation has 

occurred, the executive director may issue a preliminary report 

in accordance with commission rules that includes 

recommendations regarding any penalty or corrective action. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.055.  NOTICE OF REPORT.  Not later than the 10th day 

after the date on which the report of a violation is issued, the 

executive director shall give written notice of the report, in 

accordance with commission rules, to the person charged with the 

violation. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.056.  CONSENT.  Not later than the 20th day after 

the date on which notice is received, the person charged may 
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give to the commission written consent to the executive 

director's report, including the recommended penalty, or make a 

written request for a hearing. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.057.  DEFAULT.  If the person charged with the 

violation consents to the penalty recommended by the executive 

director or does not timely respond to the notice, the 

commission by order shall assess the penalty or order a hearing 

to be held on the recommendations in the executive director's 

report.  If the commission assesses the penalty, the commission 

shall give written notice of its decision to the person charged. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.058.  HEARING.  If the person charged requests or 

the commission orders a hearing, the commission shall order and 

shall give notice of the hearing.  The commission by order may 

find that a violation has occurred and may assess a penalty, may 

find that a violation has occurred but that a penalty should not 

be assessed, or may find that a violation has not occurred.  In 

making a penalty decision, the commission shall analyze each 

factor prescribed by Section 7.053.  All proceedings under this 

section are subject to Chapter 2001, Government Code. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept.1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.059.  NOTICE OF DECISION.  The commission shall give 

notice of its decision to the person charged.  If the commission 

finds that a violation has occurred and assesses a penalty, the 

commission shall give written notice to the person charged of: 

(1)  the commission's findings; 

(2)  the amount of the penalty; 

(3)  the right to judicial review of the commission's 

order; and 

(4)  other information required by law. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.053
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
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Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.060.  NOTICE OF PENALTY.  If the commission is 

required to give notice of a penalty under Section 7.057 or 

7.059, the commission shall publish notice of its decision in 

the Texas Register not later than the 10th day after the date on 

which the decision is adopted. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.061.  PAYMENT OF PENALTY; PETITION FOR REVIEW.  

Within the 30-day period immediately following the date on which 

the commission's order is final, as provided by Section 

2001.144, Government Code, the person charged with the penalty 

shall: 

(1)  pay the penalty in full; 

(2)  pay the first installment penalty payment in 

full; 

(3)  pay the penalty and file a petition for judicial 

review, contesting either the amount of the penalty or the fact 

of the violation or contesting both the fact of the violation 

and the amount of the penalty; or 

(4)  without paying the penalty, file a petition for 

judicial review contesting the occurrence of the violation and 

the amount of the penalty. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.062.  STAYS.  Within the 30-day period described by 

Section 7.061, a person who acts under Section 7.061(3) may: 

(1)  stay enforcement of the penalty by: 

(A)  paying the amount of the penalty to the 

court for placement in an escrow account; or 

(B)  giving to the court a supersedeas bond that 

is approved by the court for the amount of the penalty and that 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.057
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.059
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001.144
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.061
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.061
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is effective until all judicial review of the commission's order 

is final; or 

(2)  request the court to stay enforcement of the 

penalty by: 

(A)  filing with the court a sworn affidavit of 

the person stating that the person is financially unable to give 

the supersedeas bond; and 

(B)  sending a copy of the affidavit to the 

executive director by certified mail. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.063.  CONSENT TO AFFIDAVIT.  If the executive 

director receives a copy of an affidavit under Section 7.062(2), 

the executive director may file with the court, within five days 

after the date the copy is received, a contest to the affidavit.  

The court shall hold a hearing on the facts alleged in the 

affidavit as soon as practicable and shall stay the enforcement 

of the penalty on finding that the alleged facts are true.  The 

person who files an affidavit has the burden of proving that the 

person is financially unable to pay the penalty or give the 

supersedeas bond. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.064.  JUDICIAL REVIEW.  Judicial review of the order 

or decision of the commission assessing the penalty is under 

Subchapter G, Chapter 2001, Government Code. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.065.  PENALTY REDUCED OR NOT ASSESSED.  (a)  If the 

person paid the penalty and if the penalty is reduced or not 

assessed by the court, the executive director shall remit to the 

person charged the appropriate amount plus accrued interest if 

the penalty has been paid or shall execute a release of the bond 

if a supersedeas bond has been posted. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.062
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
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(b) The accrued interest on amounts remitted by the

executive director under this section shall be paid at a rate 

equal to the rate charged on loans to depository institutions by 

the New York Federal Reserve Bank and shall be paid for the 

period beginning on the date the penalty is paid to the 

executive director under Section 7.061 and ending on the day the 

penalty is remitted. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.066.  REFERRAL TO ATTORNEY GENERAL.  A person who 

does not comply with Section 7.061 waives the right to judicial 

review, and the commission or the executive director may refer 

the matter to the attorney general for enforcement. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.067.  SUPPLEMENTAL ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECTS.  (a)  The

commission may compromise, modify, or remit, with or without 

conditions, an administrative penalty imposed under this 

subchapter.  In determining the appropriate amount of a penalty 

for settlement of an administrative enforcement matter, the 

commission may consider a respondent's willingness to contribute 

to supplemental environmental projects that are approved by the 

commission, giving preference to projects that benefit the 

community in which the alleged violation occurred.  The 

commission may encourage the cleanup of contaminated property 

through the use of supplemental environmental projects.  The 

commission may approve a supplemental environmental project with 

activities in territory of the United Mexican States if the 

project substantially benefits territory in this state in a 

manner described by Subsection (b).  Except as provided by 

Subsection (a-1), the commission may not approve a project that 

is necessary to bring a respondent into compliance with 

environmental laws, that is necessary to remediate environmental 

harm caused by the respondent's alleged violation, or that the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.061
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.061
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respondent has already agreed to perform under a preexisting 

agreement with a governmental agency. 

(a-1) For a respondent that is a local government, the 

commission: 

(1)  may approve a supplemental environmental project 

that is necessary to bring the respondent into compliance with 

environmental laws or that is necessary to remediate 

environmental harm caused by the local government's alleged 

violation; and 

(2)  shall approve a supplemental environmental 

project described by Subdivision (1) if the local government: 

(A)  has not previously committed a violation at 

the same site with the same underlying cause in the preceding 

five years, as documented in a commission order; and 

(B)  did not agree, before the date that the 

commission initiated the enforcement action, to perform the 

project. 

(a-2) The commission shall develop a policy to prevent 

regulated entities from systematically avoiding compliance 

through the use of supplemental environmental projects under 

Subsection (a-1)(1), including a requirement for an assessment 

of: 

(1)  the respondent's financial ability to pay 

administrative penalties; 

(2)  the ability of the respondent to remediate the 

harm or come into compliance; and 

(3)  the need for corrective action. 

(b)  In this section: 

(1)  "Local government" means a school district, 

county, municipality, junior college district, river authority, 

water district or other special district, or other political 

subdivision created under the constitution or a statute of this 

state. 

(2)  "Supplemental environmental project" means a 

project that prevents pollution, reduces the amount of 

pollutants reaching the environment, enhances the quality of the 



Appendix B.3: Texas Water Code, Chapter 7 Page 20 

environment, or contributes to public awareness of environmental 

matters. 

(c) The commission may allow a local government or an

organization exempt from federal income taxation under Section 

501(a), Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as an organization 

described by Section 501(c)(3) of that code, that receives money 

from a respondent to implement a supplemental environmental 

project under this section to use a portion of the money, not to 

exceed 10 percent of the direct cost of the project, for 

administrative costs, including overhead costs, personnel salary 

and fringe benefits, and travel and per diem expenses, 

associated with implementing the project.  Money used for 

administrative costs under this subsection must be used in 

accordance with Chapter 783, Government Code. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 290, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1999; Acts 2001, 77th 

Leg., ch. 483, Sec. 7, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 965, 

Sec. 4.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 1021 (H.B. 2694), Sec. 4.11, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Acts 2013, 83rd Leg., R.S., Ch. 350 (H.B. 2290), Sec. 1, eff. June 14, 

2013. 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 1145 (S.B. 394), Sec. 1, eff. June 19, 

2015. 

Sec. 7.068.  FULL AND COMPLETE SATISFACTION.  Payment of an 

administrative penalty under this subchapter is full and 

complete satisfaction of the violation for which the penalty is 

assessed and precludes any other civil or criminal penalty for 

the same violation. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.069.  DISPOSITION OF PENALTY.  (a)  Except as 

provided by Subsection (b), a penalty collected under this 

subchapter shall be deposited to the credit of the general 

revenue fund. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=783
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/HB02694F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/83R/billtext/html/HB02290F.HTM
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(b) A penalty collected under Section 7.052(b-1) or (b-2)

shall be paid to the commission and deposited to the credit of 

the waste management account. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 902 (H.B. 2714), Sec. 3, eff. 

September 1, 2007. 

Sec. 7.070.  FINDINGS OF FACT NOT REQUIRED; RESERVATIONS.  

Notwithstanding any other provision to the contrary, the 

commission is not required to make findings of fact or 

conclusions of law other than an uncontested finding that the 

commission has jurisdiction in an agreed order compromising or 

settling an alleged violation of a statute within the 

commission's jurisdiction or of a rule adopted or an order or a 

permit issued under such a statute.  An agreed administrative 

order may include a reservation that: 

(1) the order is not an admission of a violation of a

statute within the commission's jurisdiction or of a rule 

adopted or an order or a permit issued under such a statute; 

(2) the occurrence of a violation is in dispute;  or 

(3) the order is not intended to become a part of a

party's or a facility's compliance history. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.071.  INADMISSIBILITY.  An agreed administrative 

order issued by the commission under this subchapter is not 

admissible against a party to that order in a civil proceeding 

unless the proceeding is brought by the attorney general's 

office to: 

(1) enforce the terms of that order; or

(2) pursue a violation of a statute within the

commission's jurisdiction or of a rule adopted or an order or a 

permit issued under such a statute. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.052
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/HB02714F.HTM
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Sec. 7.072.  RECOVERY OF PENALTY.  An administrative 

penalty owed under this subchapter may be recovered in a civil 

action brought by the attorney general at the request of the 

commission. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.073.  CORRECTIVE ACTION.  If a person violates any 

statute or rule within the commission's jurisdiction, the 

commission may: 

(1)  assess against the person an administrative 

penalty under this subchapter; and 

(2)  order the person to take corrective action. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.074.  HEARING POWERS.  The commission may exercise 

under this subchapter the hearing powers authorized by Section 

26.020. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.075.  PUBLIC COMMENT.  (a)  Before the commission 

approves an administrative order or proposed agreement to settle 

an administrative enforcement action initiated under this 

subchapter to which the commission is a party, the commission 

shall allow the public to comment in writing on the proposed 

order or agreement.  Notice of the opportunity to comment shall 

be published in the Texas Register not later than the 30th day 

before the date on which the public comment period closes. 

(b)  The commission shall promptly consider any written 

comments and may withdraw or withhold consent to the proposed 

order or agreement if the comments disclose facts or 

considerations that indicate that the consent is inappropriate, 

improper, inadequate, or inconsistent with the requirements of 

this subchapter, another statute within the commission's 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.020
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jurisdiction, or a rule adopted or an order or a permit issued 

under such a statute.  Further notice of changes to the proposed 

order or agreement is not required to be published if those 

changes arise from comments submitted in response to a previous 

notice. 

(c)  This section does not apply to: 

(1)  a criminal enforcement proceeding; or 

(2)  an emergency order or other emergency relief that 

is not a final order of the commission. 

(d)  Chapter 2001, Government Code, does not apply to 

public comment under this section. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER D. CIVIL PENALTIES 
 

Sec. 7.101.  VIOLATION.  A person may not cause, suffer, 

allow, or permit a violation of a statute within the 

commission's jurisdiction or a rule adopted or an order or 

permit issued under such a statute. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.102.  MAXIMUM PENALTY.  A person who causes, 

suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a statute, rule, 

order, or permit relating to Chapter 37 of this code, Chapter 

366, 371, or 372, Health and Safety Code, Subchapter G, Chapter 

382, Health and Safety Code, or Chapter 1903, Occupations Code, 

shall be assessed for each violation a civil penalty not less 

than $50 nor greater than $5,000 for each day of each violation 

as the court or jury considers proper.  A person who causes, 

suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a statute, rule, 

order, or permit relating to any other matter within the 

commission's jurisdiction to enforce, other than violations of 

Chapter 11, 12, 13, 16, or 36 of this code, or Chapter 341, 

Health and Safety Code, shall be assessed for each violation a 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=37
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=366
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=372
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=OC&Value=1903
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=12
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=13
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=16
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=36
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=341
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civil penalty not less than $50 nor greater than $25,000 for 

each day of each violation as the court or jury considers 

proper.  Each day of a continuing violation is a separate 

violation. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 376, Sec. 3.03, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 880, Sec. 3, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 

1276, Sec. 14A.844, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 262 (S.B. 12), Sec. 1.09, eff. June 8, 

2007. 

 

 

Sec. 7.1021.  MAXIMUM CIVIL PENALTY:  VIOLATION OF 

COMMUNITY RIGHT-TO-KNOW LAWS.  (a)  A person who knowingly 

discloses false information or negligently fails to disclose a 

hazard as required by Chapter 505 or 506, Health and Safety 

Code, is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $5,000 for 

each violation. 

(b)  This section does not affect any other right of a 

person to receive compensation under other law. 
 

Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 515 (H.B. 942), Sec. 34, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 7.103.  CONTINUING VIOLATIONS.  If it is shown on a 

trial of a defendant that the defendant has previously been 

assessed a civil penalty for a violation of a statute within the 

commission's jurisdiction or a rule adopted or an order or a 

permit issued under such a statute within the year before the 

date on which the violation being tried occurred, the defendant 

shall be assessed a civil penalty not less than $100 nor greater 

than $25,000 for each subsequent day and for each subsequent 

violation.  Each day of a continuing violation is a separate 

violation. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.104.  NO PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO PAY CERTAIN FEES.  A 

civil penalty may not be assessed for failure to: 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/80R/billtext/html/SB00012F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=505
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=506
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00942F.HTM
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(1) pay a fee under Section 371.062, Health and

Safety Code;  or 

(2) file a report under Section 371.024, Health and

Safety Code. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.105.  CIVIL SUIT.  (a)  On the request of the 

executive director or the commission, the attorney general shall 

institute a suit in the name of the state for injunctive relief 

under Section 7.032, to recover a civil penalty, or for both 

injunctive relief and a civil penalty. 

(b) The commission, through the executive director, shall

refer a matter to the attorney general's office for enforcement 

through civil suit if a person: 

(1) is alleged to be making or to have made an

unauthorized discharge of waste into or adjacent to the waters 

in the state at a new point of discharge without a permit in 

violation of state law; 

(2) has been the subject of two or more finally

issued administrative penalty orders for violations of Chapter 

26 occurring at the same wastewater management system or other 

point of discharge within the two years immediately preceding 

the date of the first alleged violation currently under 

investigation at that site; 

(3) is alleged to be operating a new solid waste

facility, as defined in Section 361.003, Health and Safety Code, 

without a permit in violation of state law; 

(4) has been the subject of two or more finally

issued administrative penalty orders for violations of Chapter 

361, Health and Safety Code, occurring at the same facility 

within the two years immediately preceding the date of the first 

alleged violation currently under investigation at that site; 

(5) is alleged to be constructing or operating a

facility at a new plant site without a permit required by 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371.062
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371.024
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.032
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.003
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361
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Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, in violation of state law;  

or 

(6)  has been the subject of two or more finally 

issued administrative penalty orders for violations of Chapter 

382, Health and Safety Code, for violations occurring at the 

same plant site within the two years immediately preceding the 

date of the first alleged violation currently under 

investigation at that site. 

(c)  The suit may be brought in Travis County, in the 

county in which the defendant resides, or in the county in which 

the violation or threat of violation occurs. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.106.  RESOLUTION THROUGH ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER.  The 

attorney general's office and the executive director may agree 

to resolve any violation, before or after referral, by an 

administrative order issued under Subchapter C by the commission 

with the approval of the attorney general. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.107.  DIVISION OF CIVIL PENALTY.  Except in a suit 

brought for a violation of Chapter 28 of this code or of Chapter 

401, Health and Safety Code, a civil penalty recovered in a suit 

brought under this subchapter by a local government shall be 

divided as follows: 

(1)  the first $4.3 million of the amount recovered 

shall be divided equally between: 

(A)  the state; and 

(B)  the local government that brought the suit; 

and 

(2)  any amount recovered in excess of $4.3 million 

shall be awarded to the state. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=28
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=401
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Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 543 (H.B. 1794), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

 

 

Sec. 7.108.  ATTORNEY'S FEES.  If the state prevails in a 

suit under this subchapter it may recover reasonable attorney's 

fees, court costs, and reasonable investigative costs incurred 

in relation to the proceeding. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.109.  PARKS AND WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT JURISDICTION.  

(a)  If it appears that a violation or a threat of violation of 

Section 26.121 or a rule, permit, or order of the commission has 

occurred or is occurring that affects aquatic life or wildlife, 

the Parks and Wildlife Department, in the same manner as the 

commission under this chapter, may have a suit instituted in a 

district court for injunctive relief or civil penalties, or 

both, as authorized by this subchapter, against the person who 

committed or is committing or threatening to commit the 

violation. 

(b)  In a suit brought under this section for a violation 

that is the proximate cause of injury to aquatic life or 

wildlife normally taken for commercial or sport purposes or to 

species on which this life is directly dependent for food, the 

Parks and Wildlife Department is entitled to recover damages for 

the injury.  In determining damages, the court may consider the 

valuation of the injured resources established in rules adopted 

by the Parks and Wildlife Department under Subchapter D, Chapter 

12, Parks and Wildlife Code, or the replacement cost of the 

injured resources.  Any recovery of damages for injury to 

aquatic life or wildlife shall be deposited to the credit of the 

game, fish, and water safety account under Section 11.032, Parks 

and Wildlife Code, and the Parks and Wildlife Department shall 

use money recovered in a suit brought under this section to 

replenish or enhance the injured resources. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB01794F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=26.121
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=PW&Value=12
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=PW&Value=11.032
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(c)  The actual cost of investigation, reasonable 

attorney's fees, and reasonable expert witness fees may also be 

recovered, and those recovered amounts shall be credited to the 

same operating accounts from which expenditures occurred. 

(d)  This section does not limit recovery for damages 

available under other laws. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.110.  COMMENTS.  (a)  Before the commission approves 

an agreed final judgment, consent order, voluntary settlement 

agreement, or other voluntary settlement agreement, or other 

voluntary agreement that would finally settle a civil 

enforcement action initiated under this chapter to which the 

State of Texas is a party or before the court signs a judgment 

or other agreement settling a judicial enforcement action other 

than an enforcement action under Section 113 or 120 or Title II 

of the federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. Section 7401 et seq.), 

the attorney general shall permit the public to comment in 

writing on the proposed order, judgment, or other agreement. 

(b)  Notice of the opportunity to comment shall be 

published in the Texas Register not later than the 30th day 

before the date on which the public comment period closes. 

(c)  The attorney general shall promptly consider any 

written comments and may withdraw or withhold consent to the 

proposed order, judgment, or other agreement if the comments 

disclose facts or considerations that indicate that the consent 

is inappropriate, improper, inadequate, or inconsistent with the 

requirements of this chapter, the statutes within the 

commission's jurisdiction, or a rule adopted or an order or a 

permit issued under such a statute.  Further notice of changes 

to the proposed order, judgment, or other agreement is not 

required to be published if those changes arise from comments 

submitted in response to a previous notice. 
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(d) The attorney general may not oppose intervention by a

person who has standing to intervene as provided by Rule 60, 

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(e) This section does not apply to:

(1) criminal enforcement proceedings; or

(2) proposed temporary restraining orders, temporary

injunctions, emergency orders, or other emergency relief that is 

not a final judgment or final order of the court or commission. 

(f) Chapter 2001, Government Code, does not apply to

public comment under this section. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.111.  RECOVERY OF SECURITY FOR CHAPTER 401, HEALTH 

AND SAFETY CODE, VIOLATION.  On request by the commission, the 

attorney general shall file suit to recover security under 

Section 7.033. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

SUBCHAPTER E. CRIMINAL OFFENSES AND PENALTIES 

Sec. 7.141.  DEFINITIONS.  In this subchapter: 

(1) "Appropriate regulatory agency" means the

commission, the Texas Department of Health, or any other agency 

authorized to regulate the handling and disposal of medical 

waste. 

(2) "Corporation" and "association" have the meanings

assigned by Section 1.07, Penal Code, except that the terms do 

not include a government. 

(3) "Large quantity generator" means a person who

generates more than 50 pounds of medical waste each month. 

(4) "Medical waste" has the meaning assigned by

Section 361.003, Health and Safety Code. 

(5) "Serious bodily injury" has the meaning assigned

by Section 1.07, Penal Code. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=GV&Value=2001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.033
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=PE&Value=1.07
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.003
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=PE&Value=1.07
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(6) "Small quantity generator" means a person who

generates 50 pounds or less of medical waste each month. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by: 

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 407 (H.B. 2244), Sec. 3, eff. June 10, 

2015. 

Sec. 7.142.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO UNLAWFUL USE OF STATE 

WATER.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person violates:

(1) Section 11.081;

(2) Section 11.083;

(3) Section 11.084;

(4) Section 11.087;

(5) Section 11.088;

(6) Section 11.089;

(7) Section 11.090;

(8) Section 11.091;

(9) Section 11.092;

(10) Section 11.093;

(11) Section 11.094;

(12) Section 11.096;

(13) Section 11.203;  or 

(14) Section 11.205.

(b) An offense under Subsection (a)(9), (a)(10), or

(a)(14) is punishable under Section 7.187(1)(A) or Section 

7.187(2)(B) or both. 

(c) An offense under Subsection (a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(4),

(a)(6), (a)(7), or (a)(8) is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(A) or Section 7.187(2)(C) or both. 

(d) An offense under Subsection (a)(3) or (a)(11) is

punishable under Section 7.187(1)(A) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(e) An offense under Subsection (a)(5) is punishable under

Section 7.187(1)(A) or Section 7.187(2)(E) or both. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB02244F.HTM
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11.081
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(f) Possession of state water when the right to its use

has not been acquired according to Chapter 11 is prima facie 

evidence of a violation of Section 11.081. 

(g) Possession or use of water on a person's land by a

person not entitled to the water under this code is prima facie 

evidence of a violation of Section 11.083. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.143.  VIOLATION OF MINIMUM STATE STANDARDS OR MODEL 

POLITICAL SUBDIVISION RULES.  (a)  A person commits an offense 

if the person knowingly or intentionally violates a rule adopted 

under Subchapter J, Chapter 16. 

(b) An offense under this section is a Class A

misdemeanor. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.145.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING UNAUTHORIZED DISCHARGE.  

(a) A person commits an offense if the person, acting

intentionally or knowingly with respect to the person's conduct, 

discharges or allows the discharge of a waste or pollutant: 

(1) into or adjacent to water in the state that

causes or threatens to cause water pollution unless the waste or 

pollutant is discharged in strict compliance with all required 

permits or with an order issued or a rule adopted by the 

appropriate regulatory agency; or 

(2) from a point source in violation of Chapter 26 or

of a rule, permit, or order of the appropriate regulatory 

agency. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(F) or 

both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 934, Sec. 1, eff. June 14, 2001. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=11
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Sec. 7.147.  UNAUTHORIZED DISCHARGE.  (a)  A person commits 

an offense if the person discharges or allows the discharge of 

any waste or pollutant into any water in the state that causes 

or threatens to cause water pollution unless the waste or 

pollutant: 

(1)  is discharged in strict compliance with all 

required permits or with a valid and currently effective order 

issued or rule adopted by the appropriate regulatory agency; or 

(2)  consists of used oil and the concentration of 

used oil in the waste stream resulting from the discharge as it 

enters water in the state is less than 15 parts per million 

following the discharge and the person is authorized to 

discharge storm water under a general permit issued under 

Section 26.040. 

(b)  An offense under this section may be prosecuted 

without alleging or proving any culpable mental state. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(d)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(C). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 366 (S.B. 1297), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

 

 

Sec. 7.148.  FAILURE TO PROPERLY USE POLLUTION CONTROL 

MEASURES.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

intentionally or knowingly tampers with, modifies, disables, or 

fails to use pollution control or monitoring devices, systems, 

methods, or practices required by Chapter 26 or a rule adopted 

or a permit or an order issued under Chapter 26 by the 

commission or one of its predecessor agencies unless done in 

strict compliance with the rule, permit, or order. 
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(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.149.  FALSE STATEMENT.  (a)  A person commits an 

offense if the person intentionally or knowingly makes or causes 

to be made a false material statement, representation, or 

certification in, or omits or causes to be omitted material 

information from, an application, notice, record, report, plan, 

or other document, including monitoring device data, filed or 

required to be maintained by Chapter 26 or by a rule adopted or 

a permit or an order issued by the appropriate regulatory agency 

under Chapter 26. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.150.  FAILURE TO NOTIFY OR REPORT.  (a)  A person 

commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly 

fails to notify or report to the commission as required under 

Chapter 26 or by a rule adopted or a permit or an order issued 

by the appropriate regulatory agency under Chapter 26. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.151.  FAILURE TO PAY FEE.  (a)  A person commits an 

offense if the person intentionally or knowingly fails to pay a 

fee required by Chapter 26 or by a rule adopted or a permit or 

an order issued by the appropriate regulatory agency under 

Chapter 26. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(H) or Section 7.187(2)(B) or 

both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(H). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.152.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING UNAUTHORIZED DISCHARGE 

AND KNOWING ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an offense if 

the person, acting intentionally or knowingly, discharges or 

allows the discharge of a waste or pollutant into or adjacent to 

water in the state and by that action knowingly places another 

person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily injury, 

unless the discharge is made in strict compliance with all 

required permits or with an order issued or rule adopted by the 

appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b)  For purposes of Subsection (a), in determining whether 

a defendant who is an individual knew that the violation placed 

another person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily 

injury, the defendant is responsible only for the defendant's 

actual awareness or actual belief possessed.  Knowledge 

possessed by a person other than the defendant may not be 

attributed to the defendant.  To prove a defendant's actual 

knowledge, circumstantial evidence may be used, including 

evidence that the defendant took affirmative steps to be 

shielded from relevant information. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(G) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 
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section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the individual may be punished under Section 7.187(1)(E) 

or Section 7.187(2)(I) or both. 

(d) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the person may be punished under Section 

7.187(1)(F). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.153.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING UNAUTHORIZED DISCHARGE 

AND ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the 

person, acting intentionally or knowingly with respect to the 

person's conduct, discharges or allows the discharge of a waste 

or pollutant into or adjacent to water in the state and by that 

action places another person in imminent danger of death or 

serious bodily injury, unless the discharge is made in strict 

compliance with all required permits or with a valid and 

currently effective order issued or rule adopted by the 

appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(F) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 

section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the individual may be punished under Section 7.187(1)(E) 

or Section 7.187(2)(G) or both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the person may be punished under Section 

7.187(1)(F). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.154.  RECKLESS UNAUTHORIZED DISCHARGE AND 

ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person, 

acting recklessly with respect to the person's conduct, 

discharges or allows the discharge of a waste or pollutant into 

or adjacent to water in the state and by that action places 

another person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily 

injury, unless the discharge is made in strict compliance with 

all required permits or with a valid and currently effective 

order issued or rule adopted by the appropriate regulatory 

agency. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 

section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the individual may be punished under Section 7.187(1)(D) 

or Section 7.187(2)(F) or both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the person may be punished under Section 

7.187(1)(E). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.155.  VIOLATION RELATING TO DISCHARGE OR SPILL.  (a)  

A person commits an offense if the person: 

(1)  operates, is in charge of, or is responsible for 

a facility or vessel that causes a discharge or spill as defined 

by Section 26.263 and does not report the spill or discharge on 

discovery;  or 

(2)  knowingly falsifies a record or report concerning 

the prevention or cleanup of a discharge or spill. 

(b)  An offense under Subsection (a)(1) is a Class A 

misdemeanor. 
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(c)  An offense under Subsection (a)(2) is a felony of the 

third degree. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.156.  VIOLATION RELATING TO UNDERGROUND STORAGE 

TANK.  (a)  A person or business entity commits an offense if: 

(1)  the person or business entity engages in the 

installation, repair, or removal of an underground storage tank 

and the person or business entity: 

(A)  does not hold a registration under Section 

26.452;  and 

(B)  is not under the substantial control of a 

person or business entity who holds a registration under Section 

26.452; 

(2)  the person or business entity: 

(A)  authorizes or allows the installation, 

repair, or removal of an underground storage tank to be 

conducted by a person or business entity who does not hold a 

registration under Section 26.452;  or 

(B)  authorizes or allows the installation, 

repair, or removal of an underground storage tank to be 

performed or supervised by a person or business entity who does 

not hold a license under Section 26.456;  or 

(3)  the conduct of the person or business entity 

makes the person or business entity responsible for a violation 

of Subchapter K, Chapter 26, or of a rule adopted or order 

issued under that subchapter. 

(b)  A person commits an offense if the person performs or 

supervises the installation, repair, or removal of an 

underground storage tank unless: 

(1)  the person holds a license under Section 26.456;  

or 

(2)  another person who holds a license under Section 

26.456 is substantially responsible for the performance or 

supervision of the installation, repair, or removal. 
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(c)  A person commits an offense if the person is an owner 

or operator of an underground storage tank regulated under 

Chapter 26 into which any regulated substance is delivered 

unless the underground storage tank has been issued a valid, 

current underground storage tank registration and certificate of 

compliance under Section 26.346. 

(d)  An offense under this section is a Class A 

misdemeanor. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1441, Sec. 4, eff. Sept. 1, 1999; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 880, Sec. 4, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 722 (S.B. 485), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1256 (H.B. 1987), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

 

 

Sec. 7.1565.  PRESUMPTION.  If in the exercise of good 

faith a person depositing or causing to be deposited a regulated 

substance into an underground storage tank regulated under 

Chapter 26 receives a certificate of compliance for that 

underground storage tank under Section 26.346, the receipt of 

the certificate of compliance shall be considered prima facie 

evidence of compliance with this section. 
 

Added by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1441, Sec. 5, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

 

 

Sec. 7.157.  VIOLATION RELATING TO INJECTION WELLS.  (a)  A 

person commits an offense if the person knowingly or 

intentionally violates Chapter 27 or a rule adopted or an order 

or a permit issued under Chapter 27. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable under 

Section 7.187(1)(B). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.158.  VIOLATION RELATING TO PLUGGING WELLS.  (a)  A 

person commits an offense if the person is the owner of a well 
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that is required to be cased or plugged by Chapter 28 and the 

person: 

(1)  fails or refuses to case or plug the well within 

the 30-day period following the date of the commission's order 

to do so; or 

(2)  fails to comply with any other order issued by 

the commission under Chapter 28 within the 30-day period 

following the date of the order. 

(b)  An offense under this section is a misdemeanor and is 

punishable under Section 7.187(1)(A). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.159.  VIOLATION RELATING TO WATER WELLS OR DRILLED 

OR MINED SHAFTS.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

knowingly or intentionally violates Chapter 28 or a commission 

rule adopted or an order or a permit issued under that chapter. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable under 

Section 7.187(1)(B). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.160.  VIOLATION RELATING TO CERTAIN SUBSURFACE 

EXCAVATIONS.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

knowingly or intentionally violates Chapter 31 or a commission 

rule adopted or an order or a permit issued under that chapter. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable under 

Section 7.187(1)(B). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.161.  VIOLATION RELATING TO SOLID WASTE IN ENCLOSED 

CONTAINERS OR VEHICLES.  (a)  An operator of a solid waste 

facility or a solid waste hauler commits an offense if the 

operator or hauler disposes of solid waste in a completely 

enclosed container or vehicle at a solid waste site or operation 

permitted as a Type IV landfill: 
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(1)  without having in possession the special permit 

required by Section 361.091, Health and Safety Code; 

(2)  on a date or time not authorized by the 

commission; or 

(3)  without a commission inspector present to verify 

that the solid waste is free of putrescible, hazardous, and 

infectious waste. 

(b)  An offense under this section is a Class B 

misdemeanor. 

(c)  This section does not apply to: 

(1)  a stationary compactor that is at a specific 

location and that has an annual permit under Section 361.091, 

Health and Safety Code, issued by the commission, on 

certification to the commission by the generator that the 

contents of the compactor are free of putrescible, hazardous, or 

infectious waste;  or 

(2)  an enclosed vehicle of a municipality if the 

vehicle has a permit issued by the commission to transport brush 

or construction-demolition waste and rubbish on designated 

dates, on certification by the municipality to the commission 

that the contents of the vehicle are free of putrescible, 

hazardous, or infectious waste. 

(d)  In this section, "putrescible waste" means organic 

waste, such as garbage, wastewater treatment plant sludge, and 

grease trap waste, that may: 

(1)  be decomposed by microorganisms with sufficient 

rapidity as to cause odors or gases; or 

(2)  provide food for or attract birds, animals, or 

disease vectors. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.162.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO HAZARDOUS WASTE.  (a)  

A person commits an offense if the person, acting intentionally 

or knowingly with respect to the person's conduct: 
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(1) transports, or causes or allows to be

transported, for storage, processing, or disposal, any hazardous 

waste to any location that does not have all required permits; 

(2) stores, processes, exports, or disposes of, or

causes to be stored, processed, exported, or disposed of, any 

hazardous waste without all permits required by the appropriate 

regulatory agency or in knowing violation of any material 

condition or requirement of a permit or of an applicable interim 

status rule or standard; 

(3) omits or causes to be omitted material

information or makes or causes to be made any false material 

statement or representation in any application, label, manifest, 

record, report, permit, plan, or other document filed, 

maintained, or used to comply with any requirement of Chapter 

361, Health and Safety Code, applicable to hazardous waste; 

(4) generates, transports, stores, processes, or

disposes of, or otherwise handles, or causes to be generated, 

transported, stored, processed, disposed of, or otherwise 

handled, hazardous waste, whether the activity took place before 

or after September 1, 1981, and who knowingly destroys, alters, 

conceals, or does not file, or causes to be destroyed, altered, 

concealed, or not filed, any record, application, manifest, 

report, or other document required to be maintained or filed to 

comply with the rules of the appropriate regulatory agency 

adopted under Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code; 

(5) transports without a manifest, or causes or

allows to be transported without a manifest, any hazardous waste 

required by rules adopted under Chapter 361, Health and Safety 

Code, to be accompanied by a manifest; 

(6) tampers with, modifies, disables, or fails to use

required pollution control or monitoring devices, systems, 

methods, or practices, unless done in strict compliance with 

Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code, or with an order, rule, or 

permit of the appropriate regulatory agency; 

(7) releases, causes, or allows the release of a

hazardous waste that causes or threatens to cause pollution, 
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unless the release is made in strict compliance with all 

required permits or an order, rule, or permit of the appropriate 

regulatory agency; or 

(8)  does not notify or report to the appropriate 

regulatory agency as required by Chapter 361, Health and Safety 

Code, or by a rule adopted or an order or a permit issued by the 

appropriate regulatory agency under that chapter. 

(b)  An offense under Subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) is 

punishable for an individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or 

Section 7.187(2)(G) or both.  An offense under Subsection 

(a)(3), (a)(4), or (a)(5) is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(B) or Section 7.187(2)(E) or both.  An offense 

under Subsection (a)(6), (a)(7), or (a)(8) is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(c)  If it is shown on the trial of an individual that the 

individual has been previously convicted of an offense under 

this section, an offense under Subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) is 

punishable for an individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or 

Section 7.187(2)(G) or both, and an offense under Subsection 

(a)(3), (a)(4), or (a)(5) is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(F) or both. 

(d)  An offense under Subsection (a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(3), 

(a)(4), or (a)(5) is punishable for a person other than an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D).  If it is shown on the 

trial of a person other than an individual that the person 

previously has been convicted of an offense under Subsection 

(a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4), or (a)(5), the offense is 

punishable under Section 7.187(1)(E).  An offense under 

Subsection (a)(6), (a)(7), or (a)(8) is punishable for a person 

other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.163.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO HAZARDOUS WASTE AND 

ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an offense if: 
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(1)  acting intentionally or knowingly, the person 

transports, processes, stores, exports, or disposes of, or 

causes to be transported, processed, stored, exported, or 

disposed of, hazardous waste in violation of Chapter 361, Health 

and Safety Code, and by that action knowingly places another 

person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily injury; 

(2)  acting intentionally or knowingly with respect to 

the person's conduct, transports, processes, stores, exports, or 

disposes of, or causes to be transported, processed, stored, 

exported, or disposed of, hazardous waste in violation of 

Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code, and by that action places 

another person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily 

injury, unless the conduct charged is done in strict compliance 

with all required permits or with an order issued or a rule 

adopted by the appropriate regulatory agency; 

(3)  acting intentionally or knowingly with respect to 

the person's conduct, releases or causes or allows the release 

of a hazardous waste into the environment and by that action 

places another person in imminent danger of death or serious 

bodily injury, unless the release is made in strict compliance 

with all required permits or an order issued or a rule adopted 

by the appropriate regulatory agency;  or 

(4)  acting recklessly with respect to the person's 

conduct, releases or causes or allows the release of a hazardous 

waste into the environment and by that action places another 

person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily injury, 

unless the release is made in strict compliance with all 

required permits or an order issued or a rule adopted by the 

appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b)  An offense under Subsection (a)(1) is punishable for 

an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(H) 

or both.  An offense under Subsection (a)(1) is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(F).  If 

an offense committed by an individual under Subsection (a)(1) 

results in death or serious bodily injury to another person, the 

individual may be punished under Section 7.187(1)(F) or Section 
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7.187(2)(J) or both.  If an offense committed by a person other 

than an individual under Subsection (a)(1) results in death or 

serious bodily injury to another person, the person may be 

punished under Section 7.187(1)(G).  For purposes of Subsection 

(a)(1), in determining whether a defendant who is an individual 

knew that the violation placed another person in imminent danger 

of death or serious bodily injury, the defendant is responsible 

only for the defendant's actual awareness or actual belief 

possessed.  Knowledge possessed by a person other than the 

defendant may not be attributed to the defendant.  To prove a 

defendant's actual knowledge, circumstantial evidence may be 

used, including evidence that the defendant took affirmative 

steps to be shielded from relevant information. 

(c)  An offense under Subsection (a)(2) is punishable for 

an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(F) 

or both.  An offense under Subsection (a)(2) is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed under Subsection (a)(2) results in death or 

serious bodily injury to another person, an individual may be 

punished under Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(G) or 

both.  If an offense committed by a person other than an 

individual under Subsection (a)(2) results in death or serious 

bodily injury to another person, the person may be punished 

under Section 7.187(1)(F). 

(d)  An offense under Subsection (a)(3) is punishable for 

an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(F) 

or both.  An offense under Subsection (a)(3) is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by an individual under Subsection (a)(3) 

results in death or serious bodily injury to another person, the 

individual may be punished under Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 

7.187(2)(G) or both.  If an offense committed by a person other 

than an individual under Subsection (a)(3) results in death or 

serious bodily injury to another person, the person may be 

punished under Section 7.187(1)(F). 
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(e)  An offense under Subsection (a)(4) is punishable for 

an individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) 

or both.  An offense under Subsection (a)(4) is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by an individual under Subsection (a)(4) 

results in death or serious bodily injury to another person, the 

individual may be punished under Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 

7.187(2)(E) or both.  If an offense committed by a person other 

than an individual under Subsection (a)(4) results in death or 

serious bodily injury to another person, the person may be 

punished under Section 7.187(1)(F). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.164.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO MEDICAL WASTE:  LARGE 

GENERATOR.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person is a 

large quantity generator and the person, acting intentionally or 

knowingly with respect to the person's conduct: 

(1)  generates, collects, stores, processes, exports, 

or disposes of, or causes or allows to be generated, collected, 

stored, processed, exported, or disposed of, any medical waste 

without all permits required by the appropriate regulatory 

agency or in knowing violation of a material condition or 

requirement of a permit or of an applicable interim status rule 

or standard; or 

(2)  generates, collects, stores, treats, transports, 

or disposes of, or causes or allows to be generated, collected, 

stored, treated, transported, or disposed of, or otherwise 

handles any medical waste, and knowingly destroys, alters, 

conceals, or does not file a record, report, manifest, or other 

document required to be maintained or filed under rules adopted 

by the appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or Section 7.187(2)(G) or 

both.  If it is shown on the trial of an individual that the 

individual has been previously convicted of an offense under 
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this section, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(I) or both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(B).  If 

it is shown on the trial of a person other than an individual 

that the person has been previously convicted of an offense 

under this section, the offense is punishable by Section 

7.187(1)(C). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.165.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO MEDICAL WASTE:  SMALL 

GENERATOR.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person is a 

small quantity generator and the person, acting intentionally or 

knowingly with respect to the person's conduct: 

(1) generates, collects, stores, processes, exports,

or disposes of, or causes or allows to be generated, collected, 

stored, processed, exported, or disposed of, any medical waste 

without all permits required by the appropriate regulatory 

agency or in knowing violation of any material condition or 

requirement of a permit or of an applicable interim status rule 

or standard; or 

(2) generates, collects, stores, treats, transports,

or disposes of, or causes or allows to be generated, collected, 

stored, treated, transported, or disposed of, or otherwise 

handles any medical waste, and knowingly destroys, alters, 

conceals, or does not file a record, report, manifest, or other 

document required to be maintained or filed under rules adopted 

by the appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(A).  If it is shown on the 

trial of an individual that the individual has been previously 

convicted of an offense under this section, the offense is 

punishable for an individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or 

Section 7.187(2)(C) or both. 
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(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(B).  If 

it is shown on the trial of a person other than an individual 

that the person has been previously convicted of an offense 

under this section, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(C). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.166.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO TRANSPORTATION OF 

MEDICAL WASTE.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person,

acting intentionally or knowingly with respect to the person's 

conduct: 

(1) transports, or causes or allows to be

transported, for storage, processing, or disposal, any medical 

waste to a location that does not have all required permits; 

(2) transports without a manifest, or causes or

allows to be transported without a manifest, any medical waste 

required to be accompanied by a manifest under rules adopted by 

the appropriate regulatory agency; or 

(3) operates a vehicle that is transporting medical

waste, or that is authorized to transport medical waste, in 

violation of a rule adopted by the appropriate regulatory 

agency, including cleaning and safety regulations, that 

specifically relates to the transportation of medical waste. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both.  If it is shown on the trial of an individual that the 

individual has been previously convicted of an offense under 

this section, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(E) or both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

it is shown on the trial of a person other than an individual 

that the person has been previously convicted of an offense 
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under this section, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(F). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.167.  FALSE STATEMENTS RELATING TO MEDICAL WASTE.  

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly:

(1) makes a false material statement, or knowingly

causes or knowingly allows to be made a false material 

statement, to a person who prepares a regulated medical waste 

label, manifest, application, permit, plan, registration, 

record, report, or other document required by an order or a rule 

of the appropriate regulatory agency; or 

(2) omits material information, or causes or allows

material information to be omitted, from a regulated medical 

waste label, manifest, application, permit, plan, registration, 

record, report, or other document required by an order or a rule 

of the appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both.  If it is shown on the trial of an individual that the 

individual has been previously convicted of an offense under 

this section, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(E) or both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(B).  If 

it is shown on the trial of a person other than an individual 

that the person has been previously convicted of an offense 

under this section, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(C). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.168.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING VIOLATION RELATING TO 

MEDICAL WASTE AND KNOWING ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits

an offense if the person, acting intentionally or knowingly, 
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transports, processes, stores, exports, or disposes of, or 

causes to be transported, processed, stored, exported, or 

disposed of, medical waste in violation of Chapter 361, Health 

and Safety Code, and by that action knowingly places another 

person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily injury. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(H) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 

section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(F) or Section 7.187(2)(J) or both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(F).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(G). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.169.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING VIOLATION RELATING TO 

MEDICAL WASTE AND ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an 

offense if the person, acting intentionally or knowingly with 

respect to the person's conduct, transports, processes, stores, 

exports, or disposes of medical waste in violation of Chapter 

361, Health and Safety Code, and by that action places another 

person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily injury, 

unless the conduct charged is done in strict compliance with all 

required permits or with an order issued or rule adopted by the 

appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(F) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 

section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(G) or both. 
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(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(F). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.170.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING RELEASE OF MEDICAL 

WASTE INTO ENVIRONMENT AND ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits 

an offense if the person, acting intentionally or knowingly with 

respect to the person's conduct, releases or causes or allows 

the release of a medical waste into the environment and by that 

action places another person in imminent danger of death or 

serious bodily injury, unless the release is done in strict 

compliance with all required permits or an order issued or rule 

adopted by the appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(G) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 

section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(G) or both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(F). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.171.  RECKLESS RELEASE OF MEDICAL WASTE INTO 

ENVIRONMENT AND ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an offense

if the person, acting recklessly with respect to a person's 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187


Appendix B.3: Texas Water Code, Chapter 7  Page 51 

 

conduct, releases or causes or allows the release of a medical 

waste into the environment and by that action places another 

person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily injury, 

unless the release is made in strict compliance with all 

required permits or an order issued or rule adopted by the 

appropriate regulatory agency. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both.  If an offense committed by an individual under this 

section results in death or serious bodily injury to another 

person, the offense is punishable for an individual under 

Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(E) or both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E).  If 

an offense committed by a person other than an individual under 

this section results in death or serious bodily injury to 

another person, the offense is punishable under Section 

7.187(1)(F). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.172.  FAILURE OF SEWAGE SYSTEM INSTALLER TO 

REGISTER.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

violates Section 366.071, Health and Safety Code. 

(b)  Except as provided by this subsection, an offense 

under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.  If it is shown on 

the trial of the defendant that the defendant has been 

previously convicted of an offense under this section, the 

offense is punishable under Section 7.187(1)(A) or Section 

7.187(2)(A) or both. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1. 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.173.  VIOLATION RELATING TO SEWAGE DISPOSAL.  (a)  A 

person commits an offense if the person violates a rule adopted 

by the commission under Chapter 366, Health and Safety Code, or 
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an order or resolution adopted by an authorized agent under 

Subchapter C, Chapter 366, Health and Safety Code. 

(b) Except as provided by this subsection, an offense

under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.  If it is shown on 

the trial of the defendant that the defendant has been 

previously convicted of an offense under this section, the 

offense is punishable under Section 7.187(1)(A) or Section 

7.187(2)(A) or both. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 824, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

Sec. 7.1735.  VIOLATION RELATING TO MAINTENANCE OF SEWAGE 

DISPOSAL SYSTEM.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

knowingly violates an order or resolution adopted by an 

authorized agent under Section 366.0515, Health and Safety Code. 

(b) An offense under this section is a Class C

misdemeanor. 

Added by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1129 (H.B. 2510), Sec. 3, eff. September 

1, 2005. 

Sec. 7.174.  VIOLATION OF SEWAGE DISPOSAL SYSTEM PERMIT 

PROVISION.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

begins to construct, alter, repair, or extend an on-site sewage 

disposal system owned by another person before the owner of the 

system obtains a permit to construct, alter, repair, or extend 

the on-site sewage disposal system as required by Subchapter D, 

Chapter 366, Health and Safety Code. 

(b) Except as provided by this subsection, an offense

under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.  If it is shown on 

the trial of the defendant that the defendant has previously 

been convicted of an offense under this section, the offense is 

punishable under Section 7.187(1)(A) or Section 7.187(2)(A) or 

both. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.175.  EMERGENCY REPAIR NOT AN OFFENSE.  An emergency 

repair to an on-site sewage disposal system without a permit in 

accordance with the rules adopted under Section 

366.012(a)(1)(C), Health and Safety Code, is not an offense 

under Section 7.172, 7.173, or 7.174 if a written statement 

describing the need for the repair is provided to the commission 

or its authorized agent not later than 72 hours after the repair 

is begun. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.176.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO HANDLING OF USED OIL.  

(a)  A person commits an offense if the person: 

(1)  intentionally discharges used oil into: 

(A)  a sewer or septic tank; or 

(B)  a drainage system, surface water or 

groundwater, a watercourse, or marine water unless the 

concentration of used oil in the waste stream resulting from the 

discharge as it enters water in the state is less than 15 parts 

per million following the discharge and the person is authorized 

to discharge storm water under a general permit issued under 

Section 26.040; 

(2)  knowingly mixes or commingles used oil with solid 

waste that is to be disposed of in landfills or directly 

disposes of used oil on land or in landfills, unless the mixing 

or commingling of used oil with solid waste that is to be 

disposed of in landfills is incident to and the unavoidable 

result of the dismantling or mechanical shredding of motor 

vehicles, appliances, or other items of scrap, used, or obsolete 

metals; 

(3)  knowingly transports, treats, stores, disposes 

of, recycles, causes to be transported, or otherwise handles any 

used oil within the state: 

(A)  in violation of standards or rules for the 

management of used oil; or 
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(B)  without first complying with the 

registration requirements of Chapter 371, Health and Safety 

Code, and rules adopted under that chapter; 

(4)  intentionally applies used oil to roads or land 

for dust suppression, weed abatement, or other similar uses that 

introduce used oil into the environment; 

(5)  violates an order of the commission to cease and 

desist an activity prohibited by this section or a rule 

applicable to a prohibited activity; or 

(6)  intentionally makes a false statement or 

representation in an application, label, manifest, record, 

report, permit, or other document filed, maintained, or used for 

purposes of program compliance. 

(b)  It is an exception to the application of this section 

that a person unknowingly disposes into the environment any used 

oil that has not been properly segregated or separated by the 

generator from other solid wastes. 

(c)  It is an exception to the application of Subsection 

(a)(2) that the mixing or commingling of used oil with solid 

waste that is to be disposed of in landfills is incident to and 

the unavoidable result of the dismantling or mechanical 

shredding of motor vehicles, appliances, or other items of 

scrap, used, or obsolete metals. 

(d)  Except as provided by this subsection, an offense 

under this section is punishable under Section 7.187(1)(B) or 

Section 7.187(2)(F), or both.  If it is shown on the trial of 

the defendant that the defendant has been previously convicted 

of an offense under this section, the offense is punishable 

under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(H) or both. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 38 (S.B. 1299), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 366 (S.B. 1297), Sec. 2, eff. September 1, 

2005. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=371
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.187
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB01299F.HTM
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/79R/billtext/html/SB01297F.HTM


Appendix B.3: Texas Water Code, Chapter 7  Page 55 

 

Sec. 7.177.  VIOLATIONS OF CLEAN AIR ACT.  (a)  A person 

commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly, 

with respect to the person's conduct, violates: 

(1)  Section 382.0518(a), Health and Safety Code; 

(2)  Section 382.054, Health and Safety Code; 

(3)  Section 382.056(a), Health and Safety Code; 

(4)  Section 382.058(a), Health and Safety Code;  or 

(5)  an order, permit, or exemption issued or a rule 

adopted under Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(B) or Section 7.187(2)(C) or 

both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(C). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.178.  FAILURE TO PAY FEES UNDER CLEAN AIR ACT.  (a)  

A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or 

knowingly does not pay a fee required by Chapter 382, Health and 

Safety Code, or by a rule adopted or an order issued under that 

chapter. 

(b)  An offense under this section is punishable for an 

individual under Section 7.187(1)(H) or Section 7.187(2)(B) or 

both. 

(c)  An offense under this section is punishable for a 

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(H). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.179.  FALSE REPRESENTATIONS UNDER CLEAN AIR ACT.  

(a)  A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or 

knowingly makes or causes to be made a false material statement, 

representation, or certification in, or omits material 

information from, or knowingly alters, conceals, or does not 

file or maintain a notice, application, record, report, plan, or 
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other document required to be filed or maintained by Chapter 

382, Health and Safety Code, or by a rule adopted or a permit or 

order issued under that chapter. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.180.  FAILURE TO NOTIFY UNDER CLEAN AIR ACT.  (a) A

person commits an offense if the person intentionally or 

knowingly does not notify or report to the commission as 

required by Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, or by a rule 

adopted or a permit or order issued under that chapter. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.181.  IMPROPER USE OF MONITORING DEVICE.  (a)  A 

person commits an offense if the person intentionally or 

knowingly tampers with, modifies, disables, or fails to use a 

required monitoring device;  tampers with, modifies, or disables 

a monitoring device;  or falsifies, fabricates, or omits data 

from a monitoring device, unless the act is done in strict 

compliance with Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, or a 

permit, variance, or order issued or a rule adopted by the 

commission. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(C) or Section 7.187(2)(D) or 

both. 
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(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(D). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.182.  RECKLESS EMISSION OF AIR CONTAMINANT AND 

ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person 

recklessly, with respect to the person's conduct, emits an air 

contaminant that places another person in imminent danger of 

death or serious bodily injury, unless the emission is made in 

strict compliance with Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, or a 

permit, variance, or order issued or a rule adopted by the 

commission. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 7.187(2)(F) or 

both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(E). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.183.  INTENTIONAL OR KNOWING EMISSION OF AIR 

CONTAMINANT AND KNOWING ENDANGERMENT.  (a)  A person commits an 

offense if the person intentionally or knowingly, with respect 

to the person's conduct, emits an air contaminant with the 

knowledge that the person is placing another person in imminent 

danger of death or serious bodily injury unless the emission is 

made in strict compliance with Chapter 382, Health and Safety 

Code, or a permit, variance, or order issued or a rule adopted 

by the commission. 

(b) An offense under this section is punishable for an

individual under Section 7.187(1)(E) or Section 7.187(2)(F) or 

both. 

(c) An offense under this section is punishable for a

person other than an individual under Section 7.187(1)(F). 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.1831.  VIOLATION OF LOCALLY ENFORCED MOTOR VEHICLE 

IDLING LIMITATIONS.  (a) A person commits an offense if the 

person violates a rule adopted by the commission concerning 

locally enforced motor vehicle idling limitations. 

(b) Notwithstanding any other law, an offense under this

section is a Class C misdemeanor. 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 294 (H.B. 1906), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2011. 

Sec. 7.184.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE 

WASTE.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person:

(1) intentionally or knowingly violates a provision

of Chapter 401, Health and Safety Code, other than the offense 

described by Subdivision (2);  or 

(2) intentionally or knowingly receives, processes,

concentrates, stores, transports, or disposes of low-level 

radioactive waste without a license issued under Chapter 401, 

Health and Safety Code. 

(b) Except as provided by this subsection, an offense

under Subsection (a)(1) is a Class B misdemeanor.  If it is 

shown on the trial of the person that the person has previously 

been convicted of an offense under Subsection (a)(1), the 

offense is a Class A misdemeanor. 

(c) Except as provided by this subsection, an offense

under Subsection (a)(2) is a Class A misdemeanor.  If it is 

shown on the trial of the person that the person has previously 

been convicted of an offense under Subsection (a)(2), the 

offense is punishable under Section 7.187(1)(D) or Section 

7.187(2)(D) or both. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1367, Sec. 38, eff. Sept. 1, 1999. 

Sec. 7.185.  KNOWING OR INTENTIONAL UNAUTHORIZED DISPOSAL 

OF LEAD-ACID BATTERIES.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the

person knowingly or intentionally disposes of a lead-acid 
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battery other than as provided by Section 361.451, Health and 

Safety Code. 

(b) An offense under this section is a Class A

misdemeanor. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.1851.  VIOLATIONS RELATING TO COMMUNITY RIGHT-TO-

KNOW LAWS.  (a)  A person who proximately causes an occupational 

disease or injury to an individual by knowingly disclosing false 

information or knowingly failing to disclose hazard information 

as required by Chapter 505 or 506, Health and Safety Code, 

commits an offense punishable by a fine of not more than 

$25,000. 

(b) This section does not affect any other right of a

person to receive compensation under other law. 

Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 515 (H.B. 942), Sec. 35, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

Sec. 7.186.  SEPARATE OFFENSES.  Each day a person engages 

in conduct proscribed by this subchapter constitutes a separate 

offense. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.187.  PENALTIES.  (a)  Except as provided by 

Subsection (b), a person convicted of an offense under this 

subchapter is punishable by: 

(1) a fine, as imposed under the section creating the

offense, of: 

(A) not more than $1,000;

(B) not less than $1,000 or more than $50,000;

(C) not less than $1,000 or more than $100,000;

(D) not less than $1,000 or more than $250,000;

(E) not less than $2,000 or more than $500,000;
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(F) not less than $5,000 or more than

$1,000,000; 

(G) not less than $10,000 or more than

$1,500,000; or 

(H) not more than twice the amount of the

required fee; 

(2) confinement for a period, as imposed by the

section creating the offense, not to exceed: 

(A) 30 days;

(B) 90 days;

(C) 180 days;

(D) one year;

(E) two years;

(F) five years;

(G) 10 years;

(H) 15 years;

(I) 20 years; or

(J) 30 years; or

(3) both fine and confinement, as imposed by the

section creating the offense. 

(b) Notwithstanding Section 7.177(a)(5), conviction for an

offense under Section 382.018, Health and Safety Code, is 

punishable as: 

(1) a Class C misdemeanor if the violation is a first

violation and does not involve the burning of heavy oils, 

asphaltic materials, potentially explosive materials, or 

chemical wastes; 

(2) a Class B misdemeanor if the violation is a

second or subsequent violation and: 

(A) the violation does not involve the burning

of: 

(i) substances described by Subdivision

(1); or 

(ii) insulation on electrical wire or

cable, treated lumber, plastics, non-wood construction or 
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demolition materials, furniture, carpet, or items containing 

natural or synthetic rubber; or 

(B)  the violation involves the burning of 

substances described by Paragraph (A)(ii) and none of the prior 

violations involved the burning of substances described by 

Subdivision (1) or Paragraph (A)(ii); or 

(3)  a Class A misdemeanor if the violation: 

(A)  involves the burning of substances described 

by Subdivision (1); or 

(B)  is a second or subsequent violation and 

involves the burning of substances described by Subdivision 

(2)(A)(ii) and one or more of the prior violations involved the 

burning of substances described by Subdivision (1) or 

(2)(A)(ii). 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 1264 (H.B. 857), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 145 (H.B. 1619), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 7.188.  REPEAT OFFENSES.  If it is shown at the trial 

of the defendant that the defendant has previously been 

convicted of the same offense under this subchapter, the maximum 

punishment is doubled with respect to both the fine and 

confinement, unless the section creating the offense specifies 

otherwise. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.189.  VENUE.  Venue for prosecution of an alleged 

violation under this subchapter is in: 

(1)  the county in which the violation is alleged to 

have occurred; 

(2)  the county where the defendant resides; 

(3)  if the alleged violation involves the 

transportation of a discharge, waste, or pollutant, any county 
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to which or through which the discharge, waste, or pollutant was 

transported; or 

(4)  Travis County. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.190.  DISPOSITION OF FINES.  A fine recovered 

through a prosecution brought under this subchapter shall be 

divided equally between the state and any local government 

significantly involved in prosecuting the case, except that if 

the court determines that the state or the local government bore 

significantly more of the burden of prosecuting the case, the 

court may apportion up to 75 percent of the fine to the 

government that predominantly prosecuted the case. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.191.  NOTICE OF CONVICTION.  In addition to a 

sentence that may be imposed under this subchapter, a person 

other than an individual that has been adjudged guilty of an 

offense may be ordered by the court to give notice of the 

conviction to any person the court considers appropriate. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.192.  JUDGMENT OF CONVICTION.  On conviction under 

this subchapter, the clerk of the court in which the conviction 

is returned shall send a copy of the judgment to the commission. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.193.  PEACE OFFICERS.  For purposes of this 

subchapter, the authorized agents and employees of the Parks and 

Wildlife Department are peace officers.  Those agents and 

employees are empowered to enforce this subchapter the same as 

any other peace officer and for that purpose have the powers and 
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duties of peace officers assigned by Chapter 2, Code of Criminal 

Procedure. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.194.  ALLEGATIONS.  In alleging the name of a 

defendant private corporation, it is sufficient to state in the 

complaint, indictment, or information the corporate name or to 

state any name or designation by which the corporation is known 

or may be identified.  It is not necessary to allege that the 

defendant was lawfully incorporated. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.195.  SUMMONS AND ARREST.  (a)  After a complaint is 

filed or an indictment or information presented against a 

private corporation under this subchapter, the court or clerk 

shall issue a summons to the corporation.  The summons shall be 

in the same form as a capias except that: 

(1)  it shall summon the corporation to appear before 

the court named at the place stated in the summons; 

(2)  it shall be accompanied by a certified copy of 

the complaint, indictment, or information; and 

(3)  it shall provide that the corporation appear 

before the court named at or before 10 a.m. of the Monday next 

after the expiration of 20 days after it is served with summons, 

except when service is made on the secretary of state, in which 

instance the summons shall provide that the corporation appear 

before the court named at or before 10 a.m. of the Monday next 

after the expiration of 30 days after the secretary of state is 

served with summons. 

(b)  No individual may be arrested upon a complaint, 

indictment, or information against a private corporation. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.196.  SERVICE OF SUMMONS.  (a)  A peace officer 

shall serve a summons on a private corporation by personally 

delivering a copy of it to the corporation's registered agent 

for service.  If a registered agent has not been designated or 

cannot with reasonable diligence be found at the registered 

office, the peace officer shall serve the summons by personally 

delivering a copy of it to the president or a vice president of 

the corporation. 

(b)  If the peace officer certifies on the return that the 

peace officer diligently but unsuccessfully attempted to effect 

service under Subsection (a) or if the corporation is a foreign 

corporation that has no certificate of authority, the peace 

officer shall serve the summons on the secretary of state.  On 

receipt of the summons copy, the secretary of state shall 

immediately forward it by certified or registered mail, return 

receipt requested, addressed to the defendant corporation at its 

registered office or, if it is a foreign corporation, at its 

principal office in the state or country under whose law it was 

incorporated. 

(c)  The secretary of state shall keep a permanent record 

of the date and time of receipt and the disposition of each 

summons served under Subsection (b) together with the return 

receipt. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.197.  ARRAIGNMENT AND PLEADINGS.  In any criminal 

action instituted against a private corporation under this 

subchapter: 

(1)  appearance is for the purpose of arraignment; and 

(2)  the corporation has 10 full days after the day 

the arraignment takes place and before the day the trial begins 

to file written pleadings. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.198.  APPEARANCE.  (a)  A defendant private 

corporation appears through counsel or its representative. 

(b)  If a private corporation does not appear in response 

to summons or appears but does not plead, the corporation is 

considered to be present in person for all purposes, and the 

court shall enter a plea of not guilty on the corporation's 

behalf and may proceed with trial, judgment, and sentencing. 

(c)  After appearing and entering a plea in response to 

summons, if a private corporation is absent without good cause 

at any time during later proceedings, the corporation is 

considered to be present in person for all purposes, and the 

court may proceed with trial, judgment, or sentencing. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.199.  FINE TREATED AS JUDGMENT IN CIVIL ACTION.  If 

a person other than an individual is found guilty of a violation 

of this subchapter and a fine is imposed, the fine shall be 

entered and docketed by the clerk of the court as a judgment 

against the person, and the fine shall be of the same force and 

effect and be enforced against the person in the same manner as 

if the judgment were recovered in a civil action. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.200.  EFFECT ON CERTAIN OTHER LAWS.  Conduct 

punishable as an offense under this subchapter that is also 

punishable under another law may be prosecuted under either law. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.201.  DEFENSE EXCLUDED.  It is not a defense to 

prosecution under this subchapter that the person did not know 

of or was not aware of a rule, order, or statute. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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Sec. 7.202.  PROOF OF KNOWLEDGE.  In determining whether a 

defendant who is an individual knew that the violation placed 

another person in imminent danger of death or serious bodily 

injury under Section 7.168, 7.169, 7.170, or 7.171, the 

defendant is responsible only for the defendant's actual 

awareness or actual belief possessed.  Knowledge possessed by a 

person other than the defendant may not be attributed to the 

defendant.  To prove a defendant's actual knowledge, however, 

circumstantial evidence may be used, including evidence that the 

defendant took affirmative steps to be shielded from relevant 

information. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.203.  CRIMINAL ENFORCEMENT REVIEW.  (a)  This 

section is applicable to criminal prosecution of alleged 

environmental violations of this code, of the Health and Safety 

Code, or of any other statute, rule, order, permit, or other 

decision of the commission that is within the commission's 

jurisdiction committed by a defendant holding a permit issued by 

the commission or a defendant employed by a person holding such 

a permit and that is related to the activity for which the 

permit was issued.  This section does not apply to an alleged 

environmental violation that clearly involves imminent danger of 

death or bodily injury under an endangerment offense specified 

in Section 7.252.  Nothing in this section limits the power of a 

peace officer to arrest a person for an alleged offense. 

(b)  Before a peace officer, as that term is defined in 

Section 7.193 or Chapter 2, Code of Criminal Procedure, may 

refer any alleged criminal environmental violation by a person 

holding a permit issued by the commission or an employee of that 

person of this code, of the Health and Safety Code, or of any 

other statute, rule, order, permit, or other decision of the 

commission that is within the commission's jurisdiction to a 

prosecuting attorney for criminal prosecution, the peace officer 

shall notify the commission in writing of the alleged criminal 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.168
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environmental violation and include with the notification a 

report describing the facts and circumstances of the alleged 

criminal environmental violation.  This section does not 

prohibit a peace officer from issuing a citation or making an 

arrest. 

(c)  As soon as practicable and in no event later than the 

45th day after receiving a notice and report under Subsection 

(b), the commission shall evaluate the report and determine 

whether an alleged environmental violation exists and whether 

administrative or civil remedies would adequately and 

appropriately address the alleged environmental violation.  In 

making its evaluation and determination, the commission shall 

consider the factors prescribed in Section 7.053.  If the 

commission does not make a determination within the 45-day 

period required by this subsection: 

(1)  the appropriate prosecuting attorney may bring an 

action for criminal prosecution; and 

(2)  notwithstanding Subsection (e), the commission or 

the state is not entitled to receive any part of an amount 

recovered through a prosecution brought by that prosecuting 

attorney. 

(d)  If the commission determines that an alleged 

environmental violation exists and that administrative or civil 

remedies are inadequate or inappropriate to address the 

violation, the commission shall notify the peace officer in 

writing of the reasons why administrative or civil remedies are 

inadequate or inappropriate and recommending criminal 

prosecution, and the prosecuting attorney may proceed with the 

criminal prosecution of the alleged violation.  In all other 

cases, the commission shall issue written notification to the 

peace officer that the alleged environmental violation is to be 

resolved through administrative or civil means by the 

appropriate authorities and the reasons why administrative or 

civil remedies are adequate or appropriate.  A prosecuting 

attorney may not prosecute an alleged violation if the 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.053
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commission determines that administrative or civil remedies are 

adequate and appropriate. 

(e)  Any fine, penalty, or settlement recovered through a 

prosecution subject to this section and brought in the name and 

by authority of the State of Texas, whether recovered through 

any form of pretrial resolution, plea agreement, or sentencing 

after trial, shall be apportioned 70 percent to the state to 

cover the costs of instituting the procedures and requirements 

of Subsections (a)-(d) and 30 percent to any local government 

significantly involved in prosecuting the case.  In a case where 

the procedures described in this section do not apply, the 

provisions of Section 7.190 apply. 
 

Added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 937, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER F. DEFENSES 
 

Sec. 7.251.  ACT OF GOD.  If a person can establish that an 

event that would otherwise be a violation of a statute within 

the commission's jurisdiction or a rule adopted or an order or a 

permit issued under such a statute was caused solely by an act 

of God, war, strike, riot, or other catastrophe, the event is 

not a violation of that statute, rule, order, or permit. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 
 

 

Sec. 7.252.  DEFENSES TO ENDANGERMENT OFFENSES.  It is an 

affirmative defense to prosecution under Section 7.152, 7.153, 

7.154, 7.163, 7.168, 7.169, 7.170, 7.171, 7.182, or 7.183 that: 

(1)  the conduct charged was freely consented to by 

the person endangered and that the danger and conduct charged 

were reasonably foreseeable hazards of the person's occupation, 

business, or profession or a medical treatment or medical or 

scientific experimentation conducted by professionally approved 

methods and the person endangered had been made aware of the 

risks involved before giving consent; or 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.190
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.152
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.153
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(2)  the person charged was an employee who was 

carrying out the person's normal activities and was acting under 

orders from the person's employer, unless the person charged 

engaged in knowing and wilful violations. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.253.  DEFENSES AVAILABLE TO PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR 

SOLID WASTE VIOLATIONS.  (a)  For purposes of an enforcement 

action initiated under this chapter, a person responsible for 

solid waste under Section 361.271, Health and Safety Code, is 

liable for a violation of a statutory or regulatory prohibition 

against releasing or creating an imminent threat of releasing 

solid waste unless the person can establish by a preponderance 

of the evidence that the release or threatened release was 

caused solely by an act or omission of a third person and that 

the defendant: 

(1)  exercised due care concerning the solid waste, 

considering the characteristics of the solid waste, in light of 

all relevant facts and circumstances; and 

(2)  took precautions against foreseeable acts or 

omissions of the third person and the consequences that could 

foreseeably result from those acts or omissions. 

(b)  The defense under Subsection (a) does not apply if the 

third person: 

(1)  is an employee or agent of the defendant; or 

(2)  has a direct or indirect contractual relationship 

with the defendant and the act or omission of the third person 

occurred in connection with the contractual relationship.  The 

term "contractual relationship" includes land contracts, deeds, 

or other instruments transferring title or possession of real 

property. 

(c)  A defendant who enters into a contractual relationship 

as provided by Subsection (b)(2) is not liable under a statute 

or rule within the commission's jurisdiction if: 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=361.271
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(1)  the sole contractual relationship is acceptance 

for rail carriage by a common carrier under a published tariff; 

or 

(2)  the defendant acquired the real property on which 

the facility requiring the remedial action is located after the 

disposal or placement of the hazardous substance on, in, or at 

the facility, and the defendant establishes by a preponderance 

of the evidence that: 

(A)  the defendant exercised due care concerning 

the solid waste, considering the characteristics of the solid 

waste, in light of all relevant facts and circumstances; and 

(B)  the defendant took precautions against 

foreseeable acts or omissions of the third person and the 

consequences that could foreseeably result from those acts or 

omissions; or 

(C)  at the time the defendant acquired the 

facility the defendant did not know and had no reason to know 

that a hazardous substance that is the subject of the release or 

threatened release was disposed of on, in, or at the facility; 

(D)  the defendant is a governmental entity that 

acquired the facility by escheat, by other involuntary transfer 

or acquisition, or by the exercise of the power of eminent 

domain; or 

(E)  the defendant acquired the facility by 

inheritance or bequest. 

(d)  To demonstrate the condition under Subsection 

(c)(2)(C), the defendant must have made, at the time of 

acquisition, appropriate inquiry into the previous ownership and 

uses of the property consistent with good commercial or 

customary practice in an effort to minimize liability.  In 

deciding whether the defendant meets this condition, the court 

shall consider: 

(1)  any specialized knowledge or experience of the 

defendant; 

(2)  the relationship of the purchase price to the 

value of the property if the property were uncontaminated; 
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(3)  commonly known or reasonably ascertainable 

information about the property; 

(4)  the obvious presence or likely presence of 

contamination of the property; and 

(5)  the defendant's ability to detect the 

contamination by appropriate inspection. 

(e)  This section does not decrease the liability of a 

previous owner or operator of a facility who is liable under a 

statute or rule within the commission's jurisdiction.  If the 

defendant obtained actual knowledge of the release or threatened 

release of a hazardous substance at a facility at the time the 

defendant owned the real property on which the facility is 

located and subsequently transferred ownership of the property 

to another person without disclosing that knowledge, the 

defendant is liable and a defense under this section is not 

available to the defendant. 

(f)  Subsections (c), (d), and (e) do not affect the 

liability, under a statute or rule within the commission's 

jurisdiction, of a defendant who, by an act or omission, caused 

or contributed to the release or threatened release of a 

hazardous substance that is the subject of the action concerning 

the facility. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.254.  DEFENSE TO USED OIL OFFENSES.  It is an 

affirmative defense to prosecution under Section 7.176 that the 

person unknowingly disposed of used oil into the environment 

because the used oil had not been properly segregated or 

separated by the generator from other solid wastes. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.255.  DEFENSE EXCLUDED.  Unless otherwise provided 

by this chapter, the fact that a person holds a permit issued by 

the commission does not relieve that person from liability for 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.176
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the violation of a statute within the commission's jurisdiction 

or a rule adopted or an order or a permit issued under such a 

statute. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.256.  COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY 

AND HEALTH STANDARDS.  If a person can establish that an act or 

event that otherwise would be a violation of a statute within 

the commission's jurisdiction or a rule adopted or an order or 

permit issued by the commission under such a statute was caused 

solely by compliance with the general duty clause of the federal 

Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (29 U.S.C. Section 

654), the act or event is not a violation of that statute, rule, 

order, or permit. 

Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 513 (S.B. 1080), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2009. 

Sec. 7.257.  DEFENSE TO NUISANCE OR TRESPASS.  (a)  A 

person, as defined by Section 382.003, Health and Safety Code, 

who is subject to an administrative, civil, or criminal action 

brought under this chapter for nuisance or trespass arising from 

greenhouse gas emissions has an affirmative defense to that 

action if the person's actions that resulted in the alleged 

nuisance or trespass were authorized by a rule, permit, order, 

license, certificate, registration, approval, or other form of 

authorization issued by the commission or the federal government 

or an agency of the federal government and: 

(1) the person was in substantial compliance with

that rule, permit, order, license, certificate, registration, 

approval, or other authorization while the alleged nuisance or 

trespass was occurring; or 

(2) the commission or the federal government or an

agency of the federal government exercised enforcement 

discretion in connection with the actions that resulted in the 

alleged nuisance or trespass. 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/81R/billtext/html/SB01080F.HTM
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(b)  This section does not apply to nuisance actions solely 

based on a noxious odor. 
 

Added by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., Ch. 909 (S.B. 875), Sec. 1, eff. June 

17, 2011. 

 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER G. REVOCATION AND SUSPENSION OF PERMITS, LICENSES, 

CERTIFICATES, AND REGISTRATIONS 
 

Sec. 7.301.  DEFINITION.  In this subchapter: 

(1)  "License," "certificate," "registration," and 

"exemption" have the meanings assigned by commission rule. 

(2)  "Permit holder" or "holder of a permit" includes 

each member of a partnership or association and, with respect to 

a corporation, each officer and the owner or owners of a 

majority of the corporate stock, provided such partner or owner 

controls at least 20 percent of the permit holder. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

 

 

Sec. 7.302.  GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF 

PERMIT.  (a)  This section applies to a permit or exemption 

issued by the commission under: 

(1)  Section 18.005 of this code; 

(2)  Chapter 26, 27, 28, or 31 of this code; 

(3)  Subchapter C or R, Chapter 361, Health and Safety 

Code; 

(4)  Subchapter D, Chapter 366, Health and Safety 

Code; 

(5)  Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code; or 

(6)  a rule adopted under any of those provisions. 

(b)  After notice and hearing, the commission may revoke, 

suspend, or revoke and reissue a permit or exemption on any of 

the following grounds: 

(1)  violating any term or condition of the permit, 

and revocation, suspension, or revocation and reissuance is 

necessary in order to maintain the quality of water or the 

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/82R/billtext/html/SB00875F.HTM
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quality of air in the state, or to otherwise protect human 

health and the environment consistent with the objectives of the 

statutes or rules within the commission's jurisdiction; 

(2)  having a record of environmental violations in 

the preceding five years at the permitted or exempted site; 

(3)  causing a discharge, release, or emission 

contravening a pollution control standard set by the commission 

or contravening the intent of a statute or rule described in 

Subsection (a); 

(4)  including a material mistake in a federal 

operating permit issued under Chapter 382, Health and Safety 

Code, or making an inaccurate statement in establishing an 

emissions standard or other term or condition of a federal 

operating permit; 

(5)  misrepresenting or failing to disclose fully all 

relevant facts in obtaining the permit or misrepresenting to the 

commission any relevant fact at any time; 

(6)  a permit holder being indebted to the state for 

fees, payment of penalties, or taxes imposed by the statutes or 

rules within the commission's jurisdiction; 

(7)  a permit holder failing to ensure that the 

management of the permitted facility conforms or will conform to 

the statutes and rules within the commission's jurisdiction; 

(8)  the permit is subject to cancellation or 

suspension under Section 26.084; 

(9)  abandoning the permit or operations under the 

permit; or 

(10)  the commission finds that a change in conditions 

requires elimination of the discharge authorized by the permit. 
 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 376, Sec. 3.04, eff. Sept. 1, 2001. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 756 (H.B. 2031), Sec. 4, eff. June 17, 

2015. 

 

 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=HS&Value=382
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Sec. 7.303.  GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF 

LICENSE, CERTIFICATE, OR REGISTRATION.  (a)  This section 

applies to a license, certificate, or registration issued: 

(1)  by the commission under: 

(A)  Section 26.0301; 

(B)  Chapter 37; 

(C)  Section 361.0861, 361.092, or 361.112, 

Health and Safety Code; 

(D)  Chapter 366, 371, or 401, Health and Safety 

Code;  or 

(E)  Chapter 1903, Occupations Code; 

(2)  by a county under Subchapter E, Chapter 361, 

Health and Safety Code; or 

(3)  under a rule adopted under any of those 

provisions. 

(b)  After notice and hearing, the commission may suspend 

or revoke a license, certificate, or registration the commission 

or a county has issued, place on probation a person whose 

license, certificate, or registration has been suspended, 

reprimand the holder of a license, certificate, or registration, 

or refuse to renew or reissue a license, certificate, or 

registration on any of the following grounds: 

(1)  having a record of environmental violations in 

the preceding five years; 

(2)  committing fraud or deceit in obtaining the 

license, certificate, or registration; 

(3)  demonstrating gross negligence, incompetency, or 

misconduct while acting as holder of a license, certificate, or 

registration; 

(4)  making an intentional misstatement or 

misrepresentation of fact in information required to be 

maintained or submitted to the commission by the holder of the 

license, certificate, or registration; 

(5)  failing to keep and transmit records as required 

by a statute within the commission's jurisdiction or a rule 

adopted under such a statute; 
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(6) being indebted to the state for a fee, payment of

a penalty, or a tax imposed by a statute within the commission's 

jurisdiction or a rule adopted under such a statute; 

(7) with respect to a license or registration issued

under Section 26.0301 or Chapter 37, violating a discharge 

permit of a sewage treatment plant, unless: 

(A) the holder of the license or registration is

unable to properly operate the sewage treatment or collection 

facility due to the refusal of the permit holder to authorize 

necessary expenditures to operate the sewage treatment or 

collection facility properly; or 

(B) failure of the sewage treatment or

collection facility to comply with its discharge permit results 

from faulty design of the facility; 

(8) with respect to a license or registration issued

under Chapter 37 of this code or Chapter 366, Health and Safety 

Code, violating either chapter or a rule adopted under either 

chapter;  or 

(9) with respect to a license issued under Subchapter

E, Chapter 361, Health and Safety Code, violating that chapter 

or another applicable law or a commission rule governing the 

processing, storage, or disposal of solid waste. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 376, Sec. 3.05, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2001, 

77th Leg., ch. 880, Sec. 5, eff. Sept. 1, 2001; Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 

1276, Sec. 18.001, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Sec. 7.304.  SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION OR REIMBURSEMENT 

PAYMENT ISSUED UNDER WASTE TIRE RECYCLING PROGRAM.  

Notwithstanding Sections 7.303, 7.305, and 7.306, the commission 

may suspend a registration of or reimbursement payment to a 

waste tire processor, waste tire transporter, waste tire 

generator, waste tire recycling facility, or waste tire energy 

recovery facility, without notice or hearing, on the initiation 

of an enforcement proceeding under this chapter and while the 

proceeding is pending for a violation of Subchapter P, Chapter 
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361, Health and Safety Code, or a rule adopted or order issued 

under that subchapter. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept.1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.305.  PROCEDURES.  The commission by rule shall 

establish procedures for public notice and any public hearing 

under this subchapter.  The procedures shall provide for notice 

to a county that issued a license, certificate, or registration 

that is the subject of the hearing. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.306.  HEARINGS.  A hearing under this subchapter 

shall be conducted in accordance with the hearing rules adopted 

by the commission and the applicable provisions of Chapter 2001, 

Government Code. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.307.  CONSENT.  If the holder of a permit, license, 

certificate, or registration requests or consents to the 

revocation or suspension of the permit, license, certificate, or 

registration, the executive director may revoke or suspend the 

permit, license, exemption, certificate, or registration without 

a hearing. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.308.  OTHER RELIEF.  A proceeding brought by the 

commission under this subchapter does not affect the 

commission's authority to bring suit for injunctive relief or 

penalty or both under this chapter. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.309.  PROBATION REQUIREMENTS.  If a license, 

certificate, or registration suspension is probated, the 
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commission may require the holder of the license, certificate, 

or registration: 

(1) to report regularly to the commission on matters

that are the basis of the probation; 

(2) to limit activities to the areas prescribed by

the commission; or 

(3) to continue or renew professional education until

the registrant attains a degree of skill satisfactory to the 

commission in those areas that are the basis of the probation. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.310.  REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION BY COUNTY.  With 

respect to a license, certificate, or registration issued by a 

county under a statute or rule within the commission's 

jurisdiction, the issuing county may suspend or revoke the 

license, certificate, or registration on the grounds provided 

under Section 7.303. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

SUBCHAPTER H. SUIT BY OTHERS 

Sec. 7.351.  CIVIL SUITS.  (a) Subject to Section 7.3511,

if it appears that a violation or threat of violation of Chapter 

16, 26, or 28 of this code, Chapter 361, 371, 372, or 382, 

Health and Safety Code, a provision of Chapter 401, Health and 

Safety Code, under the commission's jurisdiction, or Chapter 

1903, Occupations Code, or a rule adopted or an order or a 

permit issued under those chapters or provisions has occurred or 

is occurring in the jurisdiction of a local government, the 

local government or, in the case of a violation of Chapter 401, 

Health and Safety Code, a person affected as defined in that 

chapter, may institute a civil suit under Subchapter D in the 

same manner as the commission in a district court by its own 

attorney for the injunctive relief or civil penalty, or both, as 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=7.303
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authorized by this chapter against the person who committed, is 

committing, or is threatening to commit the violation. 

(b) Subject to Section 7.3511, if it appears that a

violation or threat of violation of Chapter 366, Health and 

Safety Code, under the commission's jurisdiction or a rule 

adopted or an order or a permit issued under that chapter has 

occurred or is occurring in the jurisdiction of a local 

government, an authorized agent as defined in that chapter may 

institute a civil suit under Subchapter D in the same manner as 

the commission in a district court by its own attorney for the 

injunctive relief or civil penalty, or both, as authorized by 

this chapter against the person who committed, is committing, or 

is threatening to commit the violation. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 193, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1999; Acts 2003, 78th 

Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 14A.845, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Amended by:  

Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 857 (H.B. 2533), Sec. 1, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

Sec. 7.3511.  PROCEDURE FOR CIVIL PENALTY; REQUIRED NOTICE.  

(a) In this section:

(1) "Authorized agent" has the meaning assigned by

Section 366.002, Health and Safety Code. 

(2) "Person affected" has the meaning assigned by

Section 401.003, Health and Safety Code. 

(b) This section applies only to a claim for a civil

penalty in a civil suit under this subchapter for a violation of 

a statute, rule, order, or permit described by Section 7.351. 

(c) Before instituting any claim described by Subsection

(b), a local government, a person affected, or an authorized 

agent shall provide to the attorney general and the executive 

director of the commission written notice of each alleged 

violation, the facts in support of the claim, and the specific 

relief sought. 

(d) A local government, a person affected, or an

authorized agent may institute a claim described by Subsection 
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(b) on or after the 90th day after the date the attorney general 

and the executive director of the commission receive the notice 

required by Subsection (c) unless before the 90th day after the 

date the notice is received the commission has commenced a 

proceeding under Subchapter C or the attorney general has 

commenced a civil suit under Subchapter D concerning at least 

one of the alleged violations set forth in the notice. 

(e)  If a local government, a person affected, or an 

authorized agent discovers a violation that is within 120 days 

of the expiration of the limitations period described in Section 

7.360, the local government, person affected, or authorized 

agent may institute a claim described by Subsection (b) on or 

after the 45th day after the date the attorney general and the 

executive director of the commission receive the notice required 

by Subsection (c) unless before the 45th day after the date the 

notice is received the commission has commenced a proceeding 

under Subchapter C or the attorney general has commenced a civil 

suit under Subchapter D concerning at least one of the alleged 

violations set forth in the notice.  In the circumstances 

described by this subsection, in addition to providing the 

notice required by Subsection (c), the local government, person 

affected, or authorized agent must: 

(1)  provide a copy of the notice by certified mail or 

hand delivery to the chief of the division of the attorney 

general's office responsible for handling environmental 

enforcement claims; and 

(2)  include with the copy of the notice under 

Subdivision (1) a statement providing that the copy of the 

notice is being provided pursuant to this subsection. 
 

Added by Acts 2017, 85th Leg., R.S., Ch. 857 (H.B. 2533), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2017. 

 

 

Sec. 7.352.  RESOLUTION REQUIRED.  In the case of a 

violation of Chapter 26 of this code or Chapter 382, Health and 

Safety Code, a local government may not exercise the enforcement 
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power authorized by this subchapter unless its governing body 

adopts a resolution authorizing the exercise of the power. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.353.  COMMISSION NECESSARY PARTY.  In a suit brought 

by a local government under this subchapter, the commission is a 

necessary and indispensable party. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.354.  COSTS AND FEES.  A penalty collected in a suit 

under this subchapter for a violation of Chapter 28 of this code 

or Chapter 401, Health and Safety Code, shall be paid to the 

state.  If the suit is brought by a local government or, in the 

case of a violation of Chapter 401, Health and Safety Code, a 

person affected as defined in that chapter, the court shall 

include in any final judgment in favor of the local government 

or affected person an award to cover reasonable costs and 

attorney's fees. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.355.  COMPLAINTS.  In the case of a violation of 

Chapter 401, Health and Safety Code, a local government or 

person affected may file with the commission a written complaint 

and may request an investigation of an alleged violation by a 

person who holds a permit subject to the commission's 

jurisdiction. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.356.  COMMISSION REPLY.  The commission shall reply 

to the local government or person affected who filed a complaint 

under Section 7.355 in writing not later than the 60th day after 

the complaint is received and shall provide a copy of any 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=WA&Value=28
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investigation report relevant to the complaint together with a 

determination of whether the alleged violation was committed. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997. 

Sec. 7.358.  OTHER REQUIREMENTS.  In the case of a 

violation of Chapter 1903, Occupations Code, the regulatory 

authority of any local government may require compliance with 

any reasonable inspection requirements or ordinances or 

regulations designed to protect the public water supply and pay 

any reasonable fees imposed by the local government relating to 

work performed within its jurisdiction. 

Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1072, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1997.  Amended 

by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 14A.846, eff. Sept. 1, 2003. 

Sec. 7.359.  FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED IN DETERMINING AMOUNT 

OF CIVIL PENALTY.  In determining the amount of a civil penalty 

to be assessed in a suit brought by a local government under 

this subchapter, the trier of fact shall consider the factors 

described by Section 7.053. 

Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 543 (H.B. 1794), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 

Sec. 7.360.  LIMITATIONS.  A suit for a civil penalty that 

is brought by a local government under this subchapter must be 

brought not later than the fifth anniversary of the earlier of 

the date the person who committed the violation: 

(1) notifies the commission in writing of the

violation; or 

(2) receives a notice of enforcement from the

commission with respect to the alleged violation. 

Added by Acts 2015, 84th Leg., R.S., Ch. 543 (H.B. 1794), Sec. 2, eff. 

September 1, 2015. 
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APPENDIX B.4 

ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OPINION 

On August 23, 1993, the commission adopted 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 122, Federal 

Operating Permits.  On September 17, 1993, the commission submitted its request for approval of its 

federal operating permits program.  The commission submitted the first Attorney General’s statement to 

the EPA on November 12, 1993 (the 1993 statement).  On June 7, 1995, (June 7, 1995 notice) EPA 

published a proposal to give the commission’s program interim approval, 60 Federal Register 30037.  On 

June 25, 1996, 61 Federal Register 32693, the EPA promulgated its final interim approval of the 

commission’s federal operating permit program (June 25, 1996 notice).1   The June 25, 1996 notice stated 

that requirements for approval in §70.4(b) included §112(l) requirements for approval of a program for 

delegation of § 112 for emission standards for hazardous air pollutants promulgated by the EPA that 

apply to sources subject to 40 CFR Part 70.  The commission’s program was approved for the 

implementation and enforcement of the emission standards for hazardous air pollutants for sources 

subject to 40 C.F.R. Part 70.   The commission is now seeking approval of its program for 

implementation and enforcement of the emission standards for hazardous air pollutants for area sources. 

Pursuant to my authority as Attorney General and in accordance with Section 112(l) of the Federal 

Clean Air Act (FCAA), as amended, (42 U.S.C. §7401, et seq.), and 40 CFR. §63.91(b)(1), it is my

1On October 15, 1997, the commission adopted revisions to Chapter 122.  On June 2, 1998, the 

TNRCC submitted a revised Title 30 TAC Chapter 122 and requested revised interim approval for the 

State of Texas to administer the Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations Part 70 (40 CFR Part 70) 

Federal Operating Permit Program.  On August 6, 1998, the TNRCC submitted a supplement to the 1993 

statement (the 1998 statement issued by Attorney General Dan Morales, dated August 3, 1998) in support 

of the October 15, 1997 revisions to Chapter 122. 

On May 6, 1996, the TNRCC submitted a supplemental Attorney General’s statement (the 1996 

statement issued by Attorney General Dan Morales, dated May 6, 1996) and a letter of commitment by 

the agency’s Executive Director and General Counsel. This statement addressed the changes to §5.115 of 

the Texas Water Code by Senate Bill 1546 during the 1995 legislative session.  The opinions in that 

statement are not changed by the opinions in this current statement. 
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opinion that the laws of the State of Texas provide adequate authority to implement all aspects of the 

program submitted by the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (TNRCC) to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency for approval to administer and enforce the emission standards for 

hazardous air pollutants listed for regulation under §112(b) for area sources under title I of the FCAA.  

The laws and the program regulate, at a minimum, the same sources as the FCAA, and do so with 

standards that are no less stringent than those specified by the FCAA.  The specific authorities provided, 

which are contained in statutes, regulations, or other legal authorities lawfully adopted, and which shall 

be fully effective by the time the program is approved or are provided by judicial decisions issued at the 

time this Statement is signed. 

I. Enforcement of Emission Standards.

Section 63.91(b)(1)(i) requires that state law provide civil and criminal enforcement authority consistent 

with 40 CFR Part 70, §70.11, Requirements for Enforcement Authority.  The commission’s authority to 

implement the requirements of §70.11 was discussed in the 1993 statement and the 1998 statement.  The 

commission has the authority to implement the requirements of §70.11.  The statutory authority for 

enforcement under the Texas Clean Air Act (TCAA) was revised by Texas Senate Bill 1876 (1997), 

consolidating many enforcement provisions into Tex.Water Code Ann. Chapter 7.  A chart showing the 

disposition of old TCAA enforcement provisions is included in the Revised Texas Federal Operating 

Permits Program Submittal, Appendix for Submittal Elements Section 70.4(b)(2), “Statutory and 

Regulatory Authority.” 

II. Compliance Status.

Section 63.91(b)(1)(ii) requires that state law provide the authority to request information from regulated 

sources concerning their compliance status.  382.016, Monitoring Requirements; Examination of 

Records, authorizes the commission to have reasonable requirements for measuring and monitoring 

emissions of air contaminants and to require owners or operators of sources to make and maintain records 

on the measuring and monitoring of emissions. Section 382.021, Sampling Methods and Procedures, 

allows the commission to prescribe sampling methods and procedures to be used to determine violations 

of and compliance with, the commissions rules and orders.  Section 382.0514, Sampling, Monitoring and 
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Certification, allows the commission to require permit holders to sample and monitor, require compliance 

certifications and to provide periodic reports of the results of the sampling or monitoring and the 

certifications. 

Sections in 30 TAC Chapter 122 that relate to requesting information from regulated sources concerning 

their compliance status are: §122.132, Application and Required Information for Initial Permit Issuance, 

Reopening, Renewal, or General Operating Permits; §122.134, Complete Application; §122.136 

Application Deficiencies; §122.142, Permit Content Requirements; §122.143, General Terms and 

Conditions; §122.144, Recordkeeping Terms and Conditions; §122.145 Reporting Terms and Conditions; 

§122.146, Compliance Certification Terms and Conditions and §122.165, Certification by Responsible 

Official. 

Sections in 30 TAC Chapter 101, General Rules that relate to requesting information from regulated 

sources concerning their compliance status are: §101.8, Sampling and §101.9, Sampling Ports. 

III. Inspection and Entry Authority.

Section 63.91(b)(1)(iii) requires the state to have authority to inspect sources and any records required to 

determine a source’s compliance status.  382.015, Power to Enter Property allows a member, employee 

or agent of the commission to enter public or private property (other than property designed for and used 

exclusively as a private residence housing not more than three families) at a reasonable time to inspect 

and investigate conditions relating to emissions of air contaminants or the concentration of air 

contaminants in the atmosphere.  382.016, Monitoring Requirements; Examination of Records also 

provides that a member, employee or agent of the commission may examine during regular business 

hours any records or memoranda relating to the operation of any air pollution or emission control 

equipment or facility or relating to emission of air contaminants.  Section 382.022 authorizes the TNRCC 

executive director to conduct investigations considered advisable in order to administer the provisions of 

the TCAA and any of the commission’s rule, orders and determinations, including investigations of 

violations and general air pollution problems or conditions.   
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Sections in 30 TAC Chapter 122 that relate to the commission’s authority to inspect sources and any 

records required to determine a source’s compliance status are: §122.143, General Terms and Conditions 

§122.144, Recordkeeping Terms and Conditions.

IV. Delegation of Enforcement to Local Agency.

Section 63.91(b)(1)(iv) requires the state to retain enforcement authority unless the local agency has 

authorities that meet the requirements of §70.11. 

Section 382.111, Inspections; Power to Enter Property, limits local governments to the same powers and 

restrictions as the commission has under §382.015 to inspect the air and to enter public or private 

property in its territorial jurisdiction.  The local government can do inspections to determine if the 

emissions from a source meet the emission limits determined by the commission or to determine 

compliance with an order, rule, or variance issued by the commission. 

Section 382.113, Authority of Municipalities, provides that a municipality has the powers that are 

provided by law to municipalities to abate a nuisance and to enact and enforce ordinances for the control 

and abatement of air pollution, or any other ordinance that is consistent with the TCAA or the 

commission’s rules or orders.  Ordinances must be consistent with the TCAA and commission rules and 

orders and may not make a condition or act approved or authorized by the TCAA or the commissions 

rules or orders unlawful. 
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