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This document is a summary of suggested 
guidelines from TCEQ and the Texas Animal 
Health Commission (TAHC) for disposal of 
farm or ranch animals. It does not explain 
requirements that apply to veterinarians, 
commercial poultry operations, or exotic 
livestock or fowl operations. For rules that 
apply to veterinarians disposing of carcasses, 
refer to Title 30, Texas Administrative Code  
(30 TAC), Section 111.209(3). 

For information about the disposal of 
carcasses from commercial poultry operations, 
see TCEQ publication RG-326, Handling and 
Disposal of Carcasses from Poultry Operations. 
For additional information about the disposal 
of exotic livestock or fowl, see Title 4, Texas 
Administrative Code (4 TAC), Section 59.12.

By planning in advance how you will 
dispose of carcasses, your facility will be better 
prepared to deal with environmental and health 
issues. Emergency cases may be handled 
differently. Contact your regional TCEQ office in 
the event of an emergency. 

This guide identifies the requirements for the disposal 
of animal carcasses; it does not supersede or replace 
any state or federal law, regulation, or rule. It is the 
responsibility of the owner to know the guidelines and 
regulations and to remain abreast of changes. Please 
refer to “References” and “Recommended Resources” 
for more specific information. 
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Why is disposal of carcasses regulated?
Disposal of dead animals on your property should always 
be carried out in a manner that protects public health and 
safety, does not create a nuisance, prevents the spread of 
disease, and prevents adverse effects on water quality.

Who is responsible for making sure the 
carcasses are properly disposed of?
The owner or operator of the property, farm, or facility is 
responsible for disposal in a timely and sanitary manner. 
30 TAC Section 335.4 prohibits the collection, handling, 
storage, processing, or disposal of solid waste so as  
to cause:

	■ discharges into or adjacent to water in the state
	■ the creation or maintenance of nuisance  
conditions; or

	■ the endangerment of public health and welfare.

How soon must carcasses be disposed of?
4 TAC Section 59.12 requires that animals that die from 
a disease recognized as communicable by the veterinary 
profession must be disposed of within 24 hours by burial 
or burning. Animals dying from anthrax or ornithosis must 
be killed, then burned on-site within 24 hours.

Non-diseased carcasses must be collected within 
24 hours of death and properly disposed of within three 
days of death, per Texas Water Code, Section 26.303; 
Texas Agriculture Code, Section 161.004; Texas Health 
and Safety Code, Section 361.090; and 30 TAC Sections 
335.4–335.6, unless otherwise provided for by TCEQ.

How can I dispose of the carcasses?
There are several options including on-site burial, com-
posting, or sending the carcass to a municipal solid waste 
landfill, renderer, or commercial waste incinerator. Title 
40, Code of Federal Regulations (40 CFR), Subsection 
122.42(e)(1)(ii) prohibits disposal in a liquid manure, storm 
water, or process wastewater storage or treatment system 
that is not specifically designed to treat animal mortalities.

Disposal of diseased animals must be conducted in 
accordance with Texas Agriculture Code Section 161.004 
and 4 TAC Sections 31.3 (specific to anthrax), 58.31(b), 
and 59.12. Also see the section Who is responsible. 

Landfilling Carcasses
One of the preferred ways to dispose of animal carcasses 
is as special waste in a landfill that is authorized to accept 

them. In legal terms this would be at a Type I or Type IAE 
landfill, as long as the disposal is in accordance with 30 TAC 
Subsection 330.171(c)(2).

Onsite Burial
Where and how can I bury the carcasses?
If you decide to bury carcasses on your property, we 
recommend using the following guidelines for carcass 
burial based on TCEQ rules for the disposal of household 
garbage, sludge, and wastewater:

	■ Locate the site at least 50ft from the nearest public 
well, 150ft from the nearest private well, and located 
outside the 100-year floodplain.

	■ Locate the site at least 50ft from the nearest creek, 
stream, pond, lake, or river.

	■ Make sure the site is at least 50ft from adjacent  
property lines; 200 feet or more is recommended.

	■ The burial site should be in soil that will retain the  
carcasses and their decomposition by-products  
within the excavation. High permeability soils such  
as sand or gravel may not be suitable for carcass  
burial without first lining the burial pit.

	■ Bury carcasses at least 3 feet below the natural  
surface of the ground and cover with at least 3 feet  
of earthen material.

	■ Construct the burial pit in a manner to minimize the  
risk of caving in.

	■ Cover carcasses as soon as practicable after placing  
in the pit, ideally the same day.

	■ Note the location of the burial site by recording the 
GPS coordinates or the location of the pit based on 
metes and bounds of the property. 

What should I do before I dig?
Before selecting a burial site, be sure to know the location 
of any utility lines. If you do not know the location of utility 
lines, call 811 from any phone in Texas. 

If disposing of 10 or more carcasses, it is recommend-
ed that you call the TCEQ regional office that serves your 
county and ask for guidance.

CALL BEFORE YOU DIG
Call 811 or visit www.call811.com to make 
sure you will not accidentally hit a gas or utility 
line on your property when digging a hole to 
bury animal carcasses.

http://www.call811.com
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Burning Carcasses
TCEQ and TAHC rules allow animals to be burned when 
burning is the most effective means to control the spread 
of a communicable disease. The animal must be burned 
until the carcass is thoroughly consumed. Some diseases 
are reportable, and you are required to contact the TAHC 
at 800-550-8242 before disposing of animals with these 
diseases. The TAHC can also supply a list of reportable 
animal diseases.

Where can I burn the carcasses?
The Outdoor Burning Rule (30 TAC Section 111.201–
111.221) first prohibits outdoor burning anywhere in Texas; 
however, it allows exceptions for specific situations in 
which burning is necessary or does not pose a threat to 
the environment. The rule also prescribes conditions that 
must be met to protect the environment and avoid other 
adverse impacts when burning is allowed. (30 TAC  
Section 111.219)

If burning seems necessary, but the situation does  
not fit an exception stated in the rule, it is possible to 
request a special authorization from TCEQ to conduct 
burning, as long as it does not create a nuisance or  
traffic hazard. (30 TAC Section 111.215) To request  
such an authorization please contact your local TCEQ 
regional office. 

What are the suggested  
setbacks for burning?

	■ Adjacent properties: Downwind of, or at least  
300 feet (90 meters) from occupied structures. 

	■ Weather conditions: If possible, burn during the  
day when the wind speed is more than 6 or less  
than 23 mph. Monitor the fire and complete the  
burn the same day.

Who should I notify?
Notify TCEQ by letter1 if you expect to burn or bury  
animal carcasses on your property.2 Include your full  
name and address, the type of animals, and a short 
description of each location where the carcasses will be 
burned or buried. Include information on the anticipated 
capacity of the areas as well as the daily and final  
application of cover material, and a map showing the 

general location of the area. Mail your notification letter to 
the address below. 

Once you notify us, do not send additional letters. 
However, if more than 10 animals die at one time, and you 
plan to dispose of them on-site, contact the TCEQ region-
al office nearest you. Multiple mortalities are handled on a 
case-by-case basis. If the burn or burial location changes, 
or if you add more areas after initially notifying us, you 
must submit an updated notification letter to TCEQ.

Send notification for on-site burning or burial of  
carcasses to: 

Industrial and Hazardous Waste Permits Section, MC-130 
TCEQ 

PO Box 13087 
Austin TX 78711-3087

Phone: 512-239-2335  •  Fax: 512-239-2007

References
Find the sections that govern these requirements in  
30 TAC rules:

Disposal of industrial waste – 30 TAC Sections 
335.4 and 335.6. 
Outdoor burning of animal carcasses – 30 TAC 
Subsection 111.209(2), “Exception for Disposal Fires.” 
Poultry disposal – 30 TAC Section 335.25,  
“Handling, Storing, Processing, Transporting,  
and Disposing of Poultry Carcasses.”
Outdoor burning for veterinarians –  
30 TAC 111.209(3).
Concentrated animal feeding operations and 
CAFO-related air nuisance rules – 30 TAC  
Chapter 321, Subchapter B; and 30 TAC 321.31(b).
Composting operations – 30 TAC Chapter 332. 
Municipal solid waste (MSW) landfills –  
30 TAC Chapter 330.
Air nuisance – 30 TAC Section 101.4.

Additional References
Public-health rules – Texas Health and Safety Code,  
Sections 81.081–81.0955.
Texas Animal Health Commission – Title 4 Texas  
Administrative Code, Part 2. Find rules and publications  
at Texas Animal Health Commission.
TCEQ regional offices – TCEQ Region Directory.

1This letter will be considered as your compliance with 30 TAC Section 
335.6 and will be acknowledged by TCEQ
2If your facility has a certified water quality management plan under Texas 
Agriculture Code, Section 201.026(f), you are not required to notify us.

https://www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/TAC30
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/?link=HS
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=4&pt=2
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=4&pt=2
https://www.tahc.texas.gov/regs/code.html
https://www.tceq.texas.gov/agency/directory/region/reglist.html
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Recommended Resources
TCEQ publication RG-326 How to Dispose of Carcasses 
from Poultry Operations (Explains carcass-disposal rules 
and options for anyone who hatches, raises, or keeps 
chickens or ducks for profit). 

Catastrophic Animal Mortality Management (Burial  
Method) Technical Guidance (pdf) (USDA/Natural  
Resources Conservation Service/Texas State Soil  
and Water Conservation Board).

Natural Resources Conservation Service, Conservation 
Practice Standards, Code 316, Animal Mortality Manage-
ment (pdf) (United States Department of Agriculture).

Trenching and Excavation Safety (pdf) (Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration [OSHA]). 

Texas Water Code, Section 26.302, Regulation of  
Poultry Facilities.

Texas Agriculture Code, Section 201.026, Nonpoint 
Source Pollution.

Texas Occupations Code, Section 801.361, Disposal  
of Animal Remains.

Disaster-Related Carcass Disposal (pdf) (Texas Animal 
Health Commission).

Anthrax (pdf) (Texas Animal Health Commission).

FEMA Public Assistance for Animal Carcass Removal  
and Disposal (pdf) (Federal Emergency Management 
Agency).

TCEQ publication RG-049 Outdoor Burning (pdf).

TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
How is our customer service? www.tceq.texas.gov/customersurvey

TCEQ is an equal opportunity employer. The agency does not allow discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation, or veteran status. In 
compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this document may be requested in alternate formats by contacting TCEQ at 512-239-0010, 800-RELAY-TX (TDD), or by writing P.O. Box 13087, 
Austin, TX 78711-3087. 						       

https://www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/rg326
https://www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/rg326
http://agrilifecdn.tamu.edu/tammi/files/2014/04/burialguidance.pdf
http://agrilifecdn.tamu.edu/tammi/files/2014/04/burialguidance.pdf
https://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/references/public/TX/AnimalMortalityFacility316TXCPS2017cer.pdf
https://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/references/public/TX/AnimalMortalityFacility316TXCPS2017cer.pdf
https://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/references/public/TX/AnimalMortalityFacility316TXCPS2017cer.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/sites/default/files/publications/osha2226.pdf
https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._water_code_section_26.302
https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._water_code_section_26.302
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/AG/htm/AG.201.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/AG/htm/AG.201.htm
https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._occ._code_section_801.361
https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._occ._code_section_801.361
https://www.tahc.texas.gov/emergency/pdf/CARP-CarcassDisposal.pdf
https://www.tahc.texas.gov/news/brochures/TAHCFactsheet_Anthrax.pdf
https://www.tahc.texas.gov/emergency/pdf/FEMAPublicAssistanceAnimalCarcassRemovalDisposal.pdf
https://www.tahc.texas.gov/emergency/pdf/FEMAPublicAssistanceAnimalCarcassRemovalDisposal.pdf
https://www.tceq.texas.gov/assets/public/comm_exec/pubs/rg/rg-049.pdf



