>> Questions or Comments: internship@tceq.texas.gov
You are here:

The Mickey Leland Environmental Internship Program Advisory Board

The Mickey Leland Advisory Board promotes the mission and objectives of the internship program as well as offers ideas and suggestions for continued enhancements of program services.

About the Advisory Board

The Advisory Board for the Mickey Leland Environmental Internship Program consists of individuals from the private and public sector whose involvement and support create opportunities to enhance work force diversity in environmental related professional careers.

Purpose of the Advisory Board

The specific objectives and purpose of this advisory board are (1) commitment to heighten the awareness and encourage the participation of minorities, women, and economically disadvantaged college/university students regarding environmental-related issues and policies; and (2) to develop a diversified work force within Texas’ environmental agencies and private corporations through paid internships for students exploring professional opportunities in the environmental fields; and (3) to train and equip students for future careers as environmental professionals; and (4) to increase participation of interns in non-government entities.

The responsibilities of board members include:

  • Attend advisory board meetings
  • Participate in discussions to enhance program services
  • Serve on ad hoc committee when needed
  • Commit to a two-year term of service
  • Share resources to enhance the quality and quantity of the internship program
    • sponsor an intern
    • provide resource materials
    • arrange facility tours
    • host advisory board meeting
  • Support intern and sponsor recruitment and placement activities
  • Participate in planning and executing annual intern conference
  • Attend the annual conference and network with sponsors and interns
  • Enjoy the company of private and public individuals whose involvement and support create opportunities to enhance work force diversity in environmental related professional careers

List of Advisory Board Members

  • Ray Averitt, MLEIP Board Chair
    Senior Director of Risk Management
    Oncor Electric Delivery
  • Alison Leland, J.D.
  • Professor of Political Science, The Honors College
  • University of Houston
  • Benjamin Rhem
    Partner, Austin
    Jackson Walker, L.L.P.
  • Brandi N. Harrison Trotter
    Business Development Supervisor
    North Central Texas Council of Governments
  • Deb Mamula
    Sr. Policy Advisor- Natural Resources
    Office of Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick
    State Capitol
  • Diana Rader, P.G.
    Regional Manager
    W&M Environmental Group, Inc.
  • Leonard H. O. Spearman, Jr.
    Director, Office of Community Relations (retired)
    Texas Southern University
  • L’Oreal Stepney, P.E.
    Deputy Director, Office of Water
    Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
  • Melvin G. Wrenn
    LCM Capital Markets Group (Adapt Companies)
  • Michele Rockelein, SHRM-CP, PHR
    Manager, Staffing, Classification, Organizational Development
    Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Honorary Member

  • The Honorable Rodney Ellis
    Texas Senate, District 13-Houston