Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Questions or Comments:
You are here: Home / Air Quality / SIP / DFW SIP / Dallas-Fort Worth: Current Attainment Status

Dallas-Fort Worth: Current Attainment Status

Compliance of Dallas-Fort Worth (DFW) area counties with the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS).

DFW Area: Attainment Status by Pollutant




Primary NAAQS


Averaging Period






Attainment Deadline

Ozone (O3)*

0.075 ppm (2008 standard)


Moderate Nonattainment

Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Wise

July 20, 2018

0.08 ppm (1997 standard)


Serious Nonattainment

Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant

June 15, 2013

Lead (Pb)

0.15 µg/m3
(2008 standard)

Rolling 3-Month Average


Portion of Collin

December 31, 2015

1.5 µg/m3
(1978 standard)

Quarterly Average

Attainment (Maintenance)

Portion of Collin


Carbon Monoxide (CO)

9 ppm


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



35 ppm


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2)

0.053 ppm


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



100 ppb


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



Particulate Matter (PM10)

150 µg/m3


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



Particulate Matter (PM2.5)

12.0 µg/m3(2012 standard)

Annual (Arithmetic Mean)




15.0 µg/m3(1997 standard)

Annual (Arithmetic Mean)

Attainment/ Unclassifiable



35 µg/m3


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



Sulfur Dioxide (SO2)

0.03 ppm**

Annual (Arithmetic Mean)

Attainment/ Unclassifiable



0.14 ppm**


Attainment/ Unclassifiable



75 ppb


Governor's Recommendation: Attainment

Dallas, Ellis, Kaufman


*The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revoked the one-hour ozone standard in all areas, although some areas have continuing obligations under the standard. See ozone history for more information.

**The standard is scheduled to be revoked one year after the effective date of final designations for the 75 ppb standard.

DFW Nonattainment Areas

2008 Eight-Hour Ozone Standard Designations: Moderate Nonattainment, effective July 20, 2012 (77 FR 30088) Exit the TCEQ
On March 27, 2008, the EPA lowered the primary and secondary eight-hour ozone NAAQS to 0.075 parts per million (73 FR 16436) Exit the TCEQ. A ten-county DFW area including Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, and Wise Counties was designated nonattainment and classified moderate under the 2008 eight-hour ozone NAAQS, effective July 20, 2012. The DFW area includes the nine counties that were designated nonattainment under the 1997 eight-hour ozone standard in addition to Wise County. The attainment deadline for the DFW moderate nonattainment area is December 31, 2018.

1997 Eight-Hour Ozone Standard Designations: Serious Nonattainment, effective January 19, 2011 (75 FR 79302) Exit the TCEQ
A nine-county DFW area was originally designated a moderate nonattainment area under the 1997 eight-hour ozone NAAQS and was subsequently reclassified as a serious nonattainment area in 2011. Counties included are Dallas, Denton, Collin, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, and Tarrant.
Fact Sheet: Dallas–Fort Worth SIP Revision (PDF)
Status: Based on monitoring data from 2007 through 2009, DFW did not attain the 1997 eight-hour ozone standard by its deadline of June 15, 2010. As a result, the area was reclassified from moderate to serious, with a new attainment deadline of June 15, 2013, and the state is required to submit new attainment demonstration and reasonable further progress SIP revisions for the area and implement the previously adopted contingency measures for the area. TCEQ staff has begun working on these SIP revisions, and the commission implemented the area's contingency measures through a notice in the May 21, 2010, edition of the Texas Register.

2008 Lead Standard Designation: Nonattainment, effective December 31, 2010 (75 FR 71033) Exit the TCEQ
In the November 22, 2010, Federal Register, the EPA published a determination that an area in Collin County, Texas surrounding Exide Technologies battery recycling plant was not meeting the 2008 lead standard. Texas is required to submit a lead attainment demonstration SIP revision by June 30, 2012, and Collin County must attain the lead standard before the December 31, 2015, attainment date.

1978 Lead Standard Designation: Attainment, October 13, 1999 (64 FR 55421) Exit the TCEQ
All Texas counties are currently in attainment of the EPA’s 1978 lead standard. Collin County was designated attainment in 1999. A second 10-year maintenance plan for Collin County was adopted by the TCEQ on August 26, 2009, and has been submitted to the EPA for review.

National Ambient Air Quality Standards

The EPA has set National Ambient Air Quality Standards Exit the TCEQ(NAAQS) for six principal criteria pollutants: ground-level ozone, lead, carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, sulfur dioxide, and particulate matter.

No later than one year after promulgation of a new or revised NAAQS for any pollutant, the governor must submit designation recommendations to the EPA for all areas of the state. The EPA must then promulgate the designations within two years of promulgation of the revised NAAQS. Areas that do not meet (or contribute to ambient air quality in a nearby area that does not meet) the NAAQS are designated nonattainment. Areas that meet the NAAQS are designated attainment; and areas that cannot be classified based on the available information, unclassifiable.

For ozone, the Federal Clean Air Act establishes nonattainment area classifications ranked according to the severity of the area’s air pollution problem. These classifications—marginal, moderate, serious, severe, and extreme—translate to varying requirements with which Texas and nonattainment areas must comply.