Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Complaint Arrow Questions or Comments:
You are here: Home / Permits, Registrations, and Reporting / Interstate River Compact Commissions

Interstate River Compact Commissions

Texas is a member of five interstate river compacts. Texas is represented on each of these interstate commissions by one of five intrastate compact commissions.
  • The compacts are agreements (contracts) signed by the states involved and ratified by the legislature of each state and by Congress.
  • They establish how the water is apportioned between each of the compact states.
  • Each compact is administered by a commission comprised of representatives from each state and a representative of the federal government appointed by the President.

Texas Intrastate River Compact Commissions

The Texas Legislature established the following  five intrastate compact commissions as state agencies to represent Texas on the five interstate commissions. The TCEQ maintains the database of river flows, diversions, and other technical information to support these intrastate compact commissions.