Questions or Comments:

Sabine River Compact Commission

Description and history of the Sabine River Compact Commission. Commissioners and TCEQ Interstate Compact Coordinator contact information. Contact information of the legal counsel assigned to the Sabine River Compact Commission by the Texas Attorney General's Office. Date of the annual meeting.


The Texas intrastate Sabine River Compact Commission (SRCC) represents Texas on the interstate Sabine River Compact Administration (SRCA) to ensure that Texas receives its equitable share of quality water from the Sabine River and its tributaries as apportioned by the Sabine River Compact. The Compact includes the states of Louisiana and Texas. In addition, the SRCC cooperates with Louisiana for programs to increase the quantity and improve the quality of water available to Texas.


The Sabine River Compact Commission is authorized by Chapter 44 of the Texas Water Code. The Sabine River Compact was ratified in 1953 after being signed by Texas, Louisiana, and the President on January 26, 1953. Thus, the Compact represents both state and federal law. The SRCA includes two commissioners appointed by the governor of each state and a federal commissioner appointed by the President. The Texas commissioners hold terms of office for six years, with the term of one member expiring every three years.


Chapter 44 Texas Water CodeExit the TCEQ


The Honorable Jerry F. Gipson
Sabine River Compact Commissioner
40 Oak Creek Ridge Drive
Longview, Texas 75605
Fax: 903-759-0088
Term expires July 12, 2022

The Honorable Michael H. Lewis
Sabine River Compact Commissioner
704 East Street
Newton, Texas 75966
Term expires July 12, 2019


Technical: Scott Van Winkle, Ph.D.
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 13087, MC-160
Austin, Texas 78711
Fax: 512-239-2214

Legal: Heather Hunziker
Office of the Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548
Austin, Texas 78711
Fax: 512-320-0052

Meeting Dates

HOT The 137th Sabine River Compact Administration meeting (Agenda Adobe Acrobat PDF Document), will be held Friday, October 29, 2021, 9:00 AM at Barron Creek Inn, 308 South Washington Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624.

Information Links

Sabine River Compact

Sabine River Compact Administration By-Laws and Rules

Sabine River Authority of TexasExit the TCEQ

Sabine River Authority - LouisianaExit the TCEQ

U.S. Geological SurveyExit the TCEQ

Texas Water Development Board, Sabine River BasinExit the TCEQ

Sabine River Compact Administration 2017 Annual Report

Back to the top of the page Back to top