>> Questions or Comments: wras@tceq.texas.gov
You are here:

Rio Grande Compact Commission

Description and function of the Rio Grande Compact Commission. Commissioners and TCEQ Interstate Compact Coordinator contact information. Contact information of the legal counsel assigned to the Rio Grande Compact Commission by the Texas Attorney General's Office. Dates of the annual meeting.


The Rio Grande Compact Commission administers the Rio Grande Compact to ensure that Texas receives its equitable share of quality water from the Rio Grande and its tributaries as apportioned by the Compact. The Compact includes the states of Colorado, New Mexico, and Texas.


Chapter 41 Texas Water Code


The Honorable Patrick R. Gordon
Rio Grande Compact Commissioner
401 East Franklin Avenue, Suite 560
El Paso, Texas 79901-1212
Telephone: (915) 834-7075 or (915) 545-1133
Fax: (915) 834-7080 or (915) 545-4433
Term expires: June 9, 2013
Email: pgordon@gordonmottpc.com


Technical: Suzy Valentine, P.E., CFM
P.O. Box 13087, MC-160, Austin, Texas 78711
Telephone: (512) 239-4730
Fax: (512) 239-2214
Email: suzy.valentine@tceq.texas.gov

Legal: Priscilla Hubenak
Office of the Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548
Austin, Texas, 78711
(512) 463-2012
(512) 320-0911
Email: priscilla.hubenak@texasattorneygeneral.gov

Meeting Dates:

The 79th annual meeting of the Rio Grande Compact Commission was held on Thursday, March 29, 2018, at 9:00 AM CT in the Texas State Capitol, Capitol Extension Auditorium, Level E1, Room E1.004, 1100 Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas, 78701. The agenda for the meeting can be found here.

Forgotten Rivers Study - Rio Grande from Fort Quitman, Texas downstream to Presidio, Texas. The Forgotten Rivers Study was conducted by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in response to concerns by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and Texas Water Development Board related to floodplain and riverine function, environmental resources, water quality, agriculture, and watershed hydrology. The study produced mapping of the area, a report on existing environmental and hydrologic conditions, and offers possible suggestions regarding concerns identified.

Information Links:

Rio Grande Compact

Compact Resolution of 1948

1906 Convention between the United States and Mexico

2015 Annual Report of the Rio Grande Compact Commission

New Mexico Interstate Stream Commission Exit the TCEQ

Lower Rio Grande Program Exit the TCEQ

U.S. Geological Survey Exit the TCEQ

return to top Return to top