Skip to Content
Questions or Comments:

Canadian River Compact Commission

Description and history of the Canadian River Compact Commission. Commissioners and TCEQ Interstate Compact Coordinator contact information. Contact information of the legal counsel assigned to the Canadian River Compact Commission by the Texas Attorney General's Office. Date of the annual meeting.


The Texas Canadian River Compact Commission represents Texas on the interstate Canadian River Commission to ensure that Texas receives its equitable share of quality water from the Canadian River and its tributaries as apportioned by the Compact. The Compact includes the states of New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.


The Canadian River Commission administers the Canadian River Compact which includes the states of New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Signed in 1950 by the member states, the Compact was subsequently ratified by the respective state legislatures, approved by Congress, and was signed into law by the President in 1952. The interstate Canadian River Commission includes one state commissioner appointed by the governor of each member state and one federal commissioner appointed by the President.


Chapter 43 Texas Water Code


The Honorable Roger S. Cox
Canadian River Compact Commissioner
P.O. Box 1750
Amarillo, Texas, 79105-1750
(806) 242-9651

Term expires on December 31, 2027



Scott Van Winkle, Ph.D.
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
P. O. Box 13087, MC-160
Austin, Texas, 78711-3087
(512) 239-4696
Fax (512) 239-2214


Ixchel Parr
Office of the Attorney General
P. O. Box 12548, MC-066
Austin, Texas, 78711-1248
(512) 975-1548
Fax (512) 320-0911

Information Links:

U.S. Geological Survey Gages in Texas

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Canadian River Project

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Canadian River Basin

Canadian River Basin, New Mexico Interstate Stream Commission

Texas Water Development Board, Regional Water Planning

Texas Water Development Board, Canadian River Basin Reservoirs

Canadian River Compact.

Canadian Amended Supreme Court Decree, 1993.