Skip to Content
Questions or Comments:

Waste Designation Decision Matrix - Completed Determination

This is the waste designation decision matrix provided by the Small Business and Local Government Assistance Program to aid businesses in deciding how certain wastes must be handled.

This matrix is provided only as a tool. It cannot be used as a substitute for following applicable city, state, and federal laws.

You have now completed the waste determination process per RCRA. If you have applied any of the codes (P, U, F, K, or D-characteristic) then your waste is hazardous for the associated code. For example,

  • D001 is hazardous for ignitability characteristic
  • U002 is hazardous for Acetone Listing
  • P051 is hazardous for Endrin Listing
  • K061 is hazardous for Steel Kiln Dust
  • F002 is hazardous for Trichlorethylene Listing
Summarize the codes you have assigned to this point.

Additional classification beyond RCRA may be required. Check 30 TAC 335 .

For more information about how to handle your hazardous waste check Advanced Topics.

Check land disposal restrictions regarding proper disposal of your waste.

Test your waste determination knowledge.

Return to the beginning of the matrix.