Skip to Content
Questions or Comments:

Border 2025: The Texas-Tamaulipas-Nuevo Leon-Coahuila Regional Workgroup

The U.S.-Mexico Border 2025 Environmental Program, a partnership among the U.S. EPA, Mexico’s SEMARNAT (counterpart to EPA), the ten border states in the two countries, and U.S. border tribes, has four Regional Workgroups. One of those is the Texas-Tamaulipas-Nuevo Leon-Coahuila Regional Workgroup (or "Four-State Regional Workgroup"), which has three sub-regional task forces.

The Four-State Region extends from the Coahuila border in Mexico to the Gulf of Mexico.

Special News

◊ The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and the U.S.-México Border Health Commission (BHC) have signed an agreement to leverage their collective resources to address public health and environmental challenges along the U.S.-Mexico Border.

As in the other regions, the Four-State Regional Workgroup has four co-chairs: one from each of the two federal environmental agencies, and one from a state environmental agency on each side of the border.

Regional Co-Chairs

Federal Co-Chairs

United States

Dr. Earthea Nance

Regional Administrator

U.S. EPA/Region 6


Ing. Horacio del Angel

in the State of Tamaulipas

State Co-Chairs

United States

Bobby Janecka
Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality


Arq. Karina Lizeth Saldivar Lartigue 
Secretary of Urban Development
and the Environment,
State of Tamaulipas


Q.B.P Diana Susana Estens De La Garza
Secretary of the Environment,
State of Coahuila


Dr. Alfonso Martinez,                                                                          Secretary of Sustainable Development,
State of Nuevo León

The Regional Workgroup's Task Forces

Because this is a large geographic region with numerous cities, it has been divided geographically into three task forces ( see map):

The Amistad Task Force — Val Verde, Kinney, and Maverick Counties in Texas and the Cities of Nava, Acuña, and Piedras Negras in Coahuila

The Falcon Task Force — Webb and Zapata Counties in Texas, the Municipio of Nuevo Laredo in Tamaulipas, and the Cities of Anáhuac and Sabinas Hidalgo in Nuevo León

The Gulf Task Force — Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy, and Starr Counties in Texas and the Cities of Matamoros, Valle Hermoso, Reynosa, Rio Bravo, Miguel Alemán, and Camargo in Tamaulipas

Each task force has co-leaders from both sides of the border and has committees that focus on specific environmental issues (water, waste, etc.). See each task force for additional information, including priorities and projects.

Progress Report and Publications 

Other Regional Information