Skip to Content
Questions or Comments:

About TEEA

The state's highest environmental honor since 1993.
About our Program

HOTThe TCEQ application process for the 2025 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards is now open. 

Congratulations to the 2024 Winners and Finalists

The Texas Environmental Excellence Awards is an annual awards program that honors achievements in environmental preservation and protection. There are ten diverse award categories that provide citizens, communities, businesses, and organizations an opportunity to obtain the state’s highest environmental honor and be recognized for their environmental projects. 


Since 1993, we have honored more than 250 successful environmental projects and efforts. By honoring these winners, the TCEQ hopes to encourage others to initiate like-minded projects and reinforce a spirit of environmental stewardship.

If you are interested in applying, visit our How to Apply page for details on the application process. 


  • Agriculture: Successful projects on agricultural land

  • Civic/Community: Community partner projects that come together for the environment

  • Education: Projects highlighting environmental educations programs

  • Environmental Educator of the Year: A stand-out educator who highlights environmental education

  • Individual: A person who is known for their environmental achievements

  • Innovative Operations/Management: Changes in operation or management that benefit the environment

  • Pollution Prevention: Projects that reduce or eliminate pollution at its source

  • Technical/Technology: A new technology or technical approach that benefits the environment

  • Water Conservation: Innovative water-saving techniques or solutions

  • Youth: Projects led by the young and environmentally minded 

For more information please see the General Instructions on our How to Apply page!

Blue Ribbon Committee

The Blue Ribbon Committee members review and score selected applications from the ten award categories and then meet once. Their recommendations are then considered by the TCEQ commissioners and the Governor. Visit our BRC page for the list of our 2024 members.