Questions or Comments:
You are here:

2010 Texas Surface Water Quality Standards

This page provides information about the 2010 Texas Surface Water Quality Standards, background information, and information on effective dates and portions.

At the June 30, 2010 TCEQ Commission Agenda, the Commissioners adopted revisions to the “Texas Surface Water Quality Standards”, as codified by rule in the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 30, Chapter 307. The 2010 Standards became effective as a state rule on July 22, 2010.

The 2010 Standards revisions and supporting documentation were submitted to EPA for review and approval on August 4, 2010. EPA provides notice to TCEQ whenever approval or other actions are taken on portions of the revised standards. The EPA must approve the 2010 Standards in order for them to be used for federal permitting programs and other Clean Water Act purposes. During EPA’s review of the 2010 Standards, both the 1997 and 2000 Standards will continue to be used in federal permitting programs such as the TPDES program.

The 1997 Standards remain in effect for those portions of the 2000 Standards not approved by EPA. For non-federal programs, the 2010 standards are in effect unless specifically disapproved by EPA.

Back to the top of the page Back to top

2010 Standards Background Information

Back to the top of the page Back to top

EPA Review of the 2010 Standards

The EPA has finalized the fourth round of approvals and disapprovals of the 2010 Standards in an action letter dated November 2, 2018. This letter primarily covers EPA approvals of the 2018 revision to the Standards, but it also includes approval of the temperature criteria for Segment 0410 – Black Cypress Bayou, which was added during the 2010 revision of the Standards.

All of the revisions to the rule have been acted on by EPA with the exception of the following revisions to Appendix A regarding site-specific criteria for designated segments: revised temperature criteria for two segments (1811 and 1814) and revised dissolved minerals criteria for 19 segments (0307, 0410, 0507, 0803, 0812, 0821, 1206, 1227, 1238, 1240, 1241, 1411, 1412, 1413, 1421, 1426, 1433, 2106, and 2116).

A highlighted version of the 2010 Standards rule language has been provided to clearly demonstrate which sections of the standards the EPA has taken action on pursuant to the four action letters. A key is provided at the beginning of the document to specify what portions of the 2010 Standards the EPA has approved, disapproved, taken no action, or is still reviewing. This document will be updated as additional EPA action letters are received.

Information regarding additional EPA actions will be provided at this website as they are received.

Back to the top of the page Back to top

The 2010 Standards and Associated Documents

Staff Contacts

For more information on the Water Quality Standards (30 TAC Chapter 307), contact Debbie Miller at 512-239-1703 or You can also contact Ms. Miller by fax at 512-239-4410 or mail at TCEQ, MC-234, PO BOX 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087.

Back to the top of the page Back to top