Skip to Content
>> Questions or Comments:
You are here:


Texas belongs to the Central Regional Air Planning Association and Central States Air Resource Agencies—eight states that work together reducing regional haze.

Central Regional Air Planning Association

Five regional planning organizations in the U.S. work together to reduce regional haze. Texas belongs to the Central Regional Air Planning Association  and CenSARAExit the TCEQ which includes eight states—Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, and Louisiana. Minnesota left CenSARA  and joined LADCO.

Map of Regional Planning Organizations
Geographical Areas of Regional Planning Organizations
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Regional-Haze SIP Consultation Meetings

The TCEQ held three SIP-related consultation meetings on regional haze by conference call and invited participation from the following authorities:

  • federal land manager for the Texas Class I areas at Big Bend and Guadalupe Mountains national parks
  • federal land managers in Class I areas of adjacent states, including personnel of National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and U.S. Forest Service
  • tribes in Texas and adjacent states
  • other surrounding states that may have an impact on Texas Class I areas
  • the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

The three consultation meetings from July 2007 have been summarized. Invited participants are listed. The purpose of the calls was to consult with state, federal, and tribal authorities to further develop the Texas Regional Haze SIP revision. Through anouncements on the BART and SIP e-mail notification system, other interested parties such as the general public, environmental groups, and industry, were invited to listen in to the conference calls and submit comments and questions by e-mail.