>> Questions or Comments: pdws@tceq.texas.gov
You are here:

Outstanding Public Drinking Water System Award

Criteria for this award program, previous award recipients, how to qualify for this award, and the link to the application form.

This award recognizes overall excellence in all aspects of operating a public water system (PWS). To be recognized, a PWS must go above and beyond the minimum standards in protecting public health and ensuring reliable operation.


PWSs that receive the Outstanding Public Drinking Water System Award must meet the following criteria:

  • Met the criteria for being recognized as a superior or approved PWS. These criteria are established by rule in Title 30, Texas Administrative Code, Subsection 290.47(a), Appendix AExit the TCEQ.
  • Exceeded the capacity requirements for total storage and production or pressure storage.
  • Promoted year-round water conservation.
  • Implemented a source water protection program.
  • Comply with EPA Risk Management Plan requirementsExit the TCEQ - if not applicable state why. 
  • Had no major violations or enforcement actions against it for the recognition calendar year.
  • Had no Revised Total Coliform Rule violations for the last 24 months.
  • Implemented the following source water protection (SWP) activities:
    • Emergency Response Plan (Contingency Plan)
    • At least one other SWP best management practice (BMP)

Previous Award Recipients of the Outstanding Public Drinking Water System Award

  • Bartonville Water Supply Corporation
  • Benbrook Water and Sewer Authority
  • Bexar County Water Control and Improvement District 10 - Windcrest System
  • Bexar Metropolitan Water District - Castle Hills
  • Bexar Metropolitan Water District - Hill Country
  • Blue Ridge West Municipal Utility District
  • Central Texas Water Supply Corporation
  • City of Bedford
  • City of Cameron
  • City of Converse
  • City of Corinth
  • City of Clute
  • City of Deer Park
  • City of Elgin
  • City of Fort Stockton
  • City of Grapevine
  • City of Highland Village
  • City of Hondo
  • City of Hurst
  • City of Josephine
  • City of Katy
  • City of Kermit
  • City of Kilgore
  • City of Lake Jackson
  • City of Leon Valley
  • City of Live Oak
  • City of Lytle
  • City of Richland Hills
  • City of Richmond
  • City of Rockdale
  • City of Rosenberg
  • City of San Marcos
  • City of Schertz
  • City of Sealy
  • City of Silsbee
  • City of Stephenville
  • City of Sugarland
  • City of Sweeny
  • City of Universal City
  • Clear Lake City Water Authority
  • Fort Bend County Municipal Utility District No. 25
  • Green Valley Special Utility District
  • New Braunfels Utilities
  • Plainview Municipal Water System
  • Quail Valley Utility District
  • Salado Water Supply Corporation
  • West Cedar Creek MUD

Congratulations to each of these water systems!

How Can My PWS Become Eligible for This Award?

This award recognizes overall excellence in all aspects of operating a public water system.

If you would like to know more about how you can make your water system eligible, contact the Drinking Water Special Functions staff and ask to speak with the PWS Awards Recognition Program manager.

If you think your PWS should be considered for recognition, complete an application.