Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Navigation

Complaint Arrow Questions or Comments:
ac@tceq.texas.gov
You are here: Home / Licensing / Licenses and Registration Information

Licenses and Registration Information

information on the different types of licenses and registrations.

Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester (BPAT)

How to obtain a license to test backflow prevention assembly on any water system.

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which will affect many licensing programs.

Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the Texas Water Code Chapter 37 Exit the TCEQ, Title 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 30 Exit the TCEQ and Chapter 290. 

Backflow Prevention Assembly (BPAT) Program

The Backflow Assembly Tester Program staff can answer routine operator inquiries. Below is the phone number and other means for contacting the program:

  • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
  • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding Exit the TCEQ holidays).
  • Phone number - 512/239-6133
    • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
    • Press #2 for Renewals
  • Fax - 512/239-6272
  • Email address - licenses@tceq.texas.gov
  • Mailing Address - TCEQ, Backflow Assembly Tester Program, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

Return to top

Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester

Return to top 

Why do I need a license?

In accordance with state law, Texas Water Code Chapter 37 Exit the TCEQ, Title 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 30 Exit the TCEQ and Chapter 290, a person who repairs or tests the installation or operation of backflow prevention assemblies must hold a license issued by the TCEQ.

How do I become licensed?

To become licensed as a Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training and pay an application fee.

Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester Licensing Information
License Type Validity Period Application Fee Education for Renewal Experience Required Training Credit Exam Required *
BPAT 3 Years $111 High School Diploma or GED 2 years 40 hours Yes
* The exam is given as part of the required 40 hour BPAT course.

Return to top of Operator Section 

What type of training must I complete for a license?

You must take a 40 hour Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester course (Course Code 1200). To view a list of approved training providers, click here.

Return to top of Operator Section 

What do I need to know about an application?

Return to top of Operator Section 

Where can I obtain an application?

Applications are available through the Training Provider, the TCEQ's BPAT Program in the Austin central office or at any TCEQ regional office. The application must be completed in full, signed, dated and submitted with the appropriate application fee (check or money order only). All fees are non-refundable.

Return to top of Application Section 

What do I need to provide with an application?

In addition to the standard information (name, address, social security number), you will need to submit supporting documentation such as:

  • Copy of certificate of completion for unverified training
  • Copy of college transcripts used for experience substitution
  • Copy of current out-of-state license (if applying for reciprocity)

All statements and qualifications provided by each applicant are subject to verification.

Return to top of Application Section 

When do I pay the application fee?

You must pay the application fee when you submit the application. The application fee is valid for one year.

Return to top of Application Section 

What if my application is deficient?

Applicants who are deficient after an initial review by the staff may be asked to submit supplemental information for consideration if the staff determines that the original application did not contain all relevant information. The applicant must submit this information within 120 days of notification of deficiency or the examination, application and fee will become invalid.

Application fees are not refundable. 

Return to top of Application Section 

What is acceptable experience?

Approved areas of work include:

  • Operating or maintaining a public drinking water system
  • Installing or repairing residential, commercial, or industrial drinking water treatment equipment
  • Installing or repairing lawn irrigation systems
  • Performing activities requiring a master or journeyman plumbing license
  • Installing or servicing fire suppression sprinkler systems and lines
  • Operating or maintaining a domestic wastewater treatment facility
  • Performing health inspections that requires a registered sanitarian
  • Performing duties approved by the executive director

Up to 1 year of the experience requirement may be substituted with 1 year of college (32 semester hours) or 20 hours of additional approved training credits.

Return to top of Operator Section 

If I hold a license in another state, can I transfer it to Texas?

Texas issues licenses of reciprocity on a case-by-case basis with all other states. To be considered for reciprocity:

  • You must hold a current BPAT license
  • Your license must have been obtained by exam
  • The license must be mandatory under the other state's laws
  • The equivalent education, training, experience, and fee requirements for the type and class of Texas license being applied for have been met.

Return to top of Operator Section

How do I renew my license?

You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using the Texas Online license renewal process.

If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or phone (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

Credit is given for attendance at TCEQ-approved training courses, correspondence courses, seminars and association meetings on the basis of one credit hour per hour of attendance.

To check how many credit hours you currently have on file, click here.

To renew this license class ...You must obtain this much continuing education ...You must pay a renewal fee of ...The license will remain valid for an additional ...
BPAT 24 Hours which include 8 hours of approved practical skills training $ 111 3 years

Renewal applications are mailed to the operator's address on file. The TCEQ is not responsible for undelivered mail.

Return to top of Operator Section 

What are some of my responsibilities to the TCEQ?

The operator is responsible for:

  • Notifying the Austin central office of any address changes
  • Maintaining personal training records, including:
    • Name of training course
    • Location of training course
    • Name of training provider and
    • Date of training course 

I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify whether you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

Return to top of Operator Section

    Customer Service Inspector (CSI)

    Information about obtaining a license to inspect for cross connections in water systems.

    The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which will affect many licensing programs.

    Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Title 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 290 Exit the TCEQ. 

    Customer Service Inspector (CSI) Licensing Program

    The Customer Service Inspector Licensing Program staff can answer routine operator inquiries. Below is the phone number and other means for contacting the program:

    • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
    • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding Exit the TCEQ holidays).
    • Phone number - 512/239-6133
      • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
      • Press #2 for Renewals
    • Fax - 512/239-6272
    • Email address - licenses@tceq.texas.gov
    • Mailing Address - TCEQ, Customer Service Inspector (CSI) Licensing Program, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

    Return to top 

    Customer Service Inspector

    Return to top 

    Why do I need a license?

    In accordance with state law, Title 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 290 Exit the TCEQ, a customer service inspection certificate shall be completed prior to providing continuous water service to new construction, or on any existing service when the water purveyor has reason to believe that cross-connections or other potential contaminant hazards exist, or after any material improvement, correction or addition to the private water distribution facilities has occurred. Individuals with the following credentials shall be recognized as capable of conducting a customer service inspection certification: Plumbing Inspectors or Water Supply Protection Specialists licensed by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners; or Customer Service Inspectors holding a valid license from the TCEQ.

    Return to top of Operator Section 

    How do I become licensed?

    To become licensed as a Customer Service Inspector, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training, pay an application fee, and pass the Customer Service Inspector (CSI) licensing examination. More information about this exam can be found under computer-based testing and general exam schedule.

    CSI Licensing Information
    License TypeValidity PeriodApplication or Renewal FeeEducation RequiredExperience RequiredTraining CreditExam Required
    CSI 3 years $105
    $111 Effective 01/01/2008
    High School Diploma or GED 2 years(1) 10 Hours Yes

    Return to top of Operator Section

    What type of training must I complete for a license?

    Required courses are available as classroom training.

    List of Approved Training Providers (PDF) 

    Return to top of Operator Section 

    What do I need to know about an application?

    Return to top of Operator Section 

    Where can I obtain an application?

    Applications are available through the TCEQ's Customer Service Inspector Program in the Austin central office or at any TCEQ regional office. The application must be completed in full, signed, dated, and submitted with the appropriate application fee (check or money order only). All fees are non-refundable.

    Return to top of Application Section 

    What do I need to provide with an application?

    In addition to the standard information (name, address, social security number), you will need to submit supporting documentation such as:

    • Copy of certificate of completion for unverified training
    • Copy of college transcripts used for experience substitution
    • Copy of current out-of-state license (if applying for reciprocity)

    All statements and qualifications provided by each applicant are subject to verification.

    Return to top of Application Section

    When do I pay the application fee?

    You must pay the application fee when you arrive to take the Customer Service Inspector exam. The application fee is valid for one year or four exams, whichever comes first.

    Return to top of Application Section 

    What if my application is deficient?

    Applicants who are deficient after an initial review by the staff may be asked to submit supplemental information for consideration if the staff determines that the original application did not contain all relevant information. The applicant must submit this information within 120 days of notification of deficiency or the examination, application and fee will become invalid.

    Application fees are not refundable. 

    What do I need to know for an exam?

    Return to top of Operator Section

    What do I need to study?

    Study materials for each type and level of licensing include:

    • Training manuals for the corresponding required training courses
    • The rules, Title 30 TAC Chapter 30, regulating licensing of public system personnel
    • The rules, Title 30 TAC Chapter 290, regulating the operation of public water systems

    Return to top of Exam Section 

    Where and when are exams held?

    Exams are regularly scheduled and administered in the Austin central office and TCEQ regional offices in accordance with an established exam schedule.

    Return to top of Exam Section 

    What is the minimum passing score?

    All applicants for licensing, except individuals applying for licensing by reciprocity, must pass the appropriate exam with a minimum score of 70 percent. Within four weeks of the exam, applicants can check their exam results on the web. In six weeks applicants will receive their examination results by mail.

    Return to top of Exam Section 

    If I fail, how many times may I retake the test?

    You may retake the test a maximum of three times within one year of the original examination date. You may retest as soon as you receive notice of failing the exam, provided TCEQ has an approved application and the testing center can accommodate the retest. After the fourth unsuccessful test in the one-year period, you will need to submit a new application and fee.

    Return to top of Exam Section 

    How long do I have to retake the test?

    You must retake the test within one year of the original examination date before submitting a new application and fee.

    Return to top of Exam Section 

    What is acceptable experience?

    Approved areas of work include:

    • Operation or maintenance of a public drinking water treatment or distribution system
    • Performing activities requiring a master or journeyman plumbing license
    • Conducting building or construction inspections or
    • Performing duties related to this profession approved by the executive director.

    1 year of college (32 semester hours) or an additional 20 hours of training credits may be substituted for up to 1 year of the experience requirement.

    Return to top of Operator Section

    If I hold a license in another state, can I transfer it to Texas?

    Texas issues licenses of reciprocity on a case-by-case basis with all other states. To be considered for reciprocity:

    • You must hold a current Customer Service Inspector license
    • Your license must have been obtained by exam
    • The license must be mandatory under the other state's laws
    • The equivalent education, training, experience, and fee requirements for the type and class of Texas license being applied for have been met.

    Return to top of Operator Section 

    How do I renew my license?

    You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using the Texas Online license renewal process.

    If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

    Credit is given for attendance at TCEQ-approved training courses, correspondence courses, seminars, and association meetings on the basis of one credit hour per hour of attendance.

    To check how many credit hours you currently have on file, click here.

    To renew this license class ...You must obtain this much continuing education ...You must pay a renewal fee of ...The license will remain valid for an additional ...
    Customer Service Inspector(CSI) 16 Hours $111 3 years

    Renewal applications are mailed to the operator's address on file. The TCEQ is not responsible for undelivered mail.

    Return to top of Operator Section

    What are some of my responsibilities to the TCEQ?

    The operator is responsible for:

    • Notifying the Austin central office of any address changes;
    • Maintaining personal training records, including:
      • Name of training course
      • Location of training course
      • Name of training provider and
      • Date of training course 

    I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

    To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify whether you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

    Return to top of Operator Section

      Landscape Irrigator, Technician and Inspector

      Information about the licensing of individuals who install, maintain or design landscape irrigation.

      Find a Licensed Irrigator in Your Area

      To find a licensed irrigator near you, use our Licensing Search page. Once you are there:

      1. For "Type and Level," select "Landscape Irrigator."
      2. Enter the city or county where you need an irrigator.
      3. Press "Search."

      Rules for Irrigation Program Licenses

      The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on June 26, 2008, which affected many licensing programs including the Landscape Irrigation Program. For example, effective January 1, 2010, installer licenses will no longer be valid (may be replaced by an irrigation technician license).

      Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter D: Landscape Irrigators and Installers, Irrigation Technicians and Irrigation Inspectors. Exit the TCEQ

      A person may not sell, design, install, maintain, alter, repair, service or inspect an irrigation system—or consult in these activities—in this state unless the person is licensed by the TCEQ. While connecting an irrigation system to a water supply, a licensed technician must be under the direct supervision of a licensed irrigator.

      When is a license not required?

      The license requirements do not apply to:

      • a person who is licensed by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners and is working within the scope provided by the plumbing laws;
      • a person who is registered or licensed as a professional engineer or architect or landscape architect if the work is related to the pursuit of the profession;
      • a person who is under the direct supervision of a licensed irrigator and assists in the installation, maintenance, alteration, repair, or service of an irrigation system; or
      • a person who is an owner of a business that employs a licensed irrigator to supervise the business' sale, design, consultation, installation, maintenance, alteration, repair, and service of irrigation systems. For the purpose of this subchapter, employs means steadily, uniformly, or habitually working in an employer-employee relationship with the intent to earn a livelihood, as opposed to working casually or occasionally;
      • irrigation or yard sprinkler work that is performed by a property owner in a building or on premises owned or occupied by the owner as the owner's home;
      • irrigation or yard sprinkler work other than extension of an existing irrigation or yard sprinkler system of a replacement system that is:
        • performed by a maintenance person who does not act as an irrigator or engage in yard sprinkler construction or maintenance for the public and
        • incidental to and on premises owned by the business in which the person is regularly employed or engaged;
        • irrigation or yard sprinkler work that is performed:
          • (A) by a regular employee of a railroad who does not act as an irrigator or engage in yard sprinkler construction or maintenance for the public; and
          • (B) on the premises or equipment of the railroad;
      • irrigation and yard sprinkler work that is performed on public property by a person who is regularly employed by a county, city, town, special district, or political subdivision of the state;
      • irrigation or yard sprinkler work that is performed by a person using a garden hose, hose sprinkler, hose-end product, including soaker hose, or agricultural irrigation system;
      • an activity that includes a commercial agricultural irrigation system;
      • irrigation or yard sprinkler work that is performed by an agriculturist, agronomist, horticulturist, forester, gardener, contract gardener, garden or lawn caretaker, nurseryman, or grader or cultivator of land on land owned by the individual performing the work;
      • irrigation or yard sprinkler work that is performed by a member of a property owners' association as defined by Property Code, §202.001, on real property owned by the association or in common by the members of the association if the irrigation or yard sprinkler system water real property that is less than ½ acre in size and is used for aesthetic or recreational purposes..

      Even though you may be exempt from licensing, you must comply with the standards established by Title 30 TAC Chapter 344 Exit the TCEQ. Irrigation system does not include a system used on or by an agricultural operation as defined in Section 251.002, Agricultural Code.

      Return to top 

      What does each license do?

      Licensed irrigators (LI) can sell, design, consult, install, maintain, alter, repair, or service an irrigation system including the connection of such system to a private or public, raw or potable water supply or any water supply. This includes water wells and unincorporated areas of the state.

      Licensed irrigation technicians (IT) can connect a landscape irrigation system to a water supply, including installing a backflow prevention device, and may maintain, alter, repair, service, or direct the installation of an irrigation system under the supervision of a licensed irrigator.

      Licensed irrigation inspectors (II) are responsible for verifying that permits have been obtained. They will be licensed to inspect the irrigation system, determine the irrigation system complies with the rule requirements, determine if the appropriate backflow prevention device is installed, tested and test results provided to the water purveyor, and investigate complaints.

      Return to top

      Obtaining a License

      Effective 01/01/2009

      To obtain this license ... You need this much classroom training ... You need this much experience ... Pay an application fee of ... And you must pass an examination, scoring at least a ...
      Licensed Irrigator (LI)
      Basic Irrigation Course
      0 years
      $111
      70% in each of the following sections: Installation, Backflow Prevention, Hydraulics and Design
      Irrigation Technician (IT)
      Irrigation Technician Course
      0 years
      $111.00
      70 %
      Irrigation Inspector
      Basic Irrigation Course; Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester; Water Conservation or Audit Course;or Irrigation Inspector Course
      0 years
      $111.00
      70 % 

      Return to top 

      How do I become a licensed irrigator?

      To become a Licensed Irrigator, you must complete the Basic Irrigator training course, submit an application with the appropriate fee, a copy of a certificate showing completion of an approved basic training course, and pass each section of the Irrigator exam (installation, backflow, hydraulics, and design). An approved application is valid for one year for the initial exam and/or three retests, whichever occurs first. Applications for an Irrigator license must be submitted to the Texas Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) at least 14 days before the scheduled examination and must be approved before taking a license exam. To obtain an application, approved list of training providers, license application/additional fees, and an exam schedule, you may contact TEEX at 1-800-SAFE-811 (800-723-3811).

      How do I become a licensed irrigation technician?

      To become a Licensed Irrigation Technician you must submit an application with the appropriate fee, attend an Irrigation Technician Training course, and pass the Irrigation Technician exam. An approved application is valid for one year for the initial exam and/or three retests, whichever occurs first. To obtain an application or to inquire about additional fees, contact the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality at (512) 239-6133.

      Irrigation Technician Vocabulary 

      How do I become a licensed irrigation inspector?

      To become a Licensed Irrigation Inspector, you must submit an application with the appropriate fee, an affidavit of compliance with 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 30, Subchapter D, §30.120(f), successfully complete a TCEQ approved Basic Landscape Irrigation Course, a Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester course (course code 1200), and a Water Conservation or Water Audit course or a TCEQ-approved Inspector course and pass the Irrigation Inspector exam. An approved application is valid for one year for the Irrigation Inspector exam and/or three retests, whichever occurs first.

      IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR ALL LICENSED IRRIGATION INSPECTORS

      Pursuant to 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 30, Subchapter D, §30.120(f), individuals who own an irrigation company, consult for an irrigation company, or work for an irrigation company cannot become an Irrigation Inspector.

      An individual can maintain both Irrigator and Irrigator Technician licenses and obtain an Inspector license; however, they cannot be used concurrently. If an individual chooses to use either their Irrigator or Irrigator Technician license, they must relinquish the Inspector License to the TCEQ.

      All Landscape Irrigators that have a current license with the TCEQ, apply for an Inspector license, and wish to keep both licenses current must complete an affidavit acknowledging that they will comply with 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 30, Subchapter D, §30.120(f) by only using the Irrigation Inspector License.

      To obtain an application contact the TCEQ at (512) 239-6133.

      Return to top 

      How long is my license valid?

      Licenses expire three years after they were issued on the last day of the month they were issued. All licenses must be renewed every three years in order to retain your license number.

      If you do not renew your license within 30 days after the expiration date, you will need to re-take and pass the examination for the license desired. For the irrigator license, you must have completed an Basic Irrigator training course since September 1, 1997. You will be assigned a new license number unless approval has been made by the Licensing Section for you to retain your old license number.

      Return to top 

      How do I renew a license?

      Return to top 

      Obtaining a renewal application

      A renewal postcard will be mailed to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. Follow the directions on the postcard and you can either renew your license online at Texas Online or you can request a printed renewal application.

      If you are unable to renew online, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

      Follow the directions which accompany the application, and return it with the requested materials before your license expires.

      To maintain this license ...You need this much continuing education ...And you must pay an application fee of ...
      Licensed Irrigator (LI)
      24 hours
      $111.00
      Irrigation Technician 16 hours $111.00
      Irrigation Inspector 24 hours $111.00

      To check the current status of your license, click here. To obtain a list of approved training providers, click here.

      Return to renewal information 

      Licensed irrigator renewal procedures

      • Complete twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education;
      • Sign and date the application or renew online at Texas Online;
      • Pay a renewal fee of $111; and
      • Meet issues of compliance.

      After your license is renewed, you must obtain 8 hours of continuing education for each validity period of the license, before the license expiration date. 

      Irrigation Technician license renewal procedures

      • Complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education;
      • Sign and date the application;
      • Pay a renewal fee of $111; and
      • Meet issues of compliance.

      Return to renewal information 

      Irrigation Inspector license renewal procedures

      • Complete twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education;
      • Sign and date the application;
      • Pay a renewal fee of $111; and
      • Meet issues of compliance.

      Return to renewal information 

      Lost applications

      If you've lost your renewal notification or application or did not receive one, call (512) 239-6133 or e-mail licenses@tceq.texas.gov (Please make sure you include your name, contact information, license number or social security number) before your license expires to obtain a new application on an approved form.

      Return to renewal information 

      Issues of Compliance

      You must be in compliance with guaranteed student loans, child support payments, and TCEQ fees or penalties.

      If you are currently under enforcement, you are encouraged to resolve these issues before you renew to avoid delays in the renewal of your license.

      Return to renewal information 

      Late renewal

      License expired for less than 30 days?

      License expired for more than 30 days?

      Return to renewal information 

      If your license has been expired for less than 30 days:

      You must show proof that you have completed the required number of hours of approved continuing education training before your license expired.

      • If you lost or did not receive a renewal application, click here.
      • If you completed your continuing education beforeyour license expired:
        • You must submit your renewal application with the appropriate fee within 30 days after your license expired.
        • We will also review whether you are delinquent in paying student loans, and any penalties which may be owed to the TCEQ.
      • If you did not complete your continuing education beforeyour license expired, you cannot renew your license:
        • You will need to follow the same procedures as if your license was expired for more than 30 days.
        • You are not licensed and may be subject to penalties for performing irrigation services without a license.

      Return to Late Renewal 

      If your license has been expired for more than 30 days:

      You cannot renew your license. In order to obtain a new license, you must to the following:

      • call TEEX at 1-800-723-3811 for an irrigator application,
      • submit the application for approval at least 14 days before taking the exam,
      • pay an application fee,
      • provide proof you have completed an approved basic training course since September 1, 1997, and
      • pass the exam within 12 months of application approval. Once you pass the exam, you will be issued a NEW license number.
      • Call TCEQ for an irrigation technician or irrigator inspector application at (512) 239-6133.

      Return to Late Renewal 

      I've moved. How do I notify you of my new address or phone number?

      Within 10 days of the date you moved, you must notify us of changes in your address or phone number. The notification must be in writing and mailed to the TCEQ, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087; or faxed to (512)239-0533; or e-mailed to licenses@tceq.texas.gov. Mail from the TCEQ is NOT forwarded.

      Return to top

      I lost my license. How do I obtain a replacement?

      To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify whether you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

      Return to top 

      What are the relevant laws and rules for my license?

      The laws relevant to landscape irrigation are Chapter 1903 Exit the TCEQ of the Occupations Code and Chapter 37 Exit the TCEQ of the Texas Water Code.

      The state rules relating to licensing and standards are Title 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapters A & D Exit the TCEQ, and Title 30 TAC Chapter 344 Exit the TCEQ.

      The enforcement provisions relating to landscape irrigation are found in Texas Water Code, Chapter 7 Exit the TCEQ.

      Return to top 

      Who can I contact for more information?

      • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
      • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding Exit the TCEQ holidays).
      • Phone number - (512) 239-6133
        • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
        • Press #2 for Renewals
      • Fax - (512) 239-6272
      • Email address - licenses@tceq.texas.gov
      • Mailing Address - TCEQ, Landscape Irrigation Licensing Program, MC-178, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

      Return to top

      Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) Operator

      Information to obtain a Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor license.

      Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the new and revised rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter F: relating to Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisors, Rules 30.201 - 30.214 Exit the TCEQ effective January 5, 2011. 

       

      Why do I need a Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor license?

      In accordance with state law, Texas Water Code Chapter 37 Exit the TCEQ, Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 361.027 Exit the TCEQ and Title 30 Texas Administrative Code Chapters 30 and 330 rules Exit the TCEQ, by permit and registration, the licensing of a Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor may be mandatory for the operation of a municipal solid waste facility in the State of Texas, to include landfills, transfer stations, processing facilities, and recycling and resource recovery operation facilities. TCEQ is responsible for Licensing Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisors. The responsibilities of a Licensed Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor includes the proper acceptance of waste, processing, storage, and proper disposal of municipal solid waste.

      Return to top

      How do I become licensed?

      To become licensed as a Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training, submit an application with the appropriate application fee, and pass a qualifying exam.

      GED = General Equivalency Diploma
      HSD = High School Diploma

      MSW Facility Supervisor Licensing Information
      MSW License ClassValidity PeriodApplication Fee- New & RenewalExam RequiredEducation RequiredExperience RequiredNew License Training Course Required
      A 3 years $111 Yes HSD or GED*
      No HSD or GED
      4 years
      6 years**
      MSW "A" Course and MSW "B" Course; if applicable, specialized training***
      B 3 years $111 Yes HSD or GED*
      No HSD or GED
      2 years
      4 years**
      MSW "B" Course***
      *HSD or equivalent may be substituted by completing an additional 20 hours of MSW training.
      **An individual who applies for a Class B or A license, and relies on college credit hours as a substitute for meeting the experience requirements, must have those hours in chemistry, biology, engineering, soil science, geosciences, environmental science, or other similar discipline approved by the executive director.
      ***Individuals managing or supervising medical waste or compost facilities requiring an MSW registration or permit shall complete a TCEQ recognized or approved specialized training course that is applicable to that facility before being issued a standard class 'B' MSW Facility Supervisor license. Individuals completing the class 'B' MSW facility supervisor course, passing the examination, but not completing the specialized course will be issued a provisional class 'B' license. The completion of the specialized course must be before the expiration date of the provisional license.
      Class B - College credit hours obtained from an accredited institution may be substituted for experience on the basis of 32 hours of credit for one year of experience, up to a maximum of one year.
      Class A - College credit hours obtained from an accredited institution may be substituted for experience on the basis of 32 hours of credit for one year of experience, up to a maximum of two years.

      Applicants who hold a current "Manager of Landfill Operations" (MOLO) certification issued by Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) and complete the Class 'B' MSW Facility Supervisor Course and a TCEQ recognized Texas MSW regulation training course will not be required to complete the Class 'A' MSW Facility Supervisor course or take and pass the Class 'A' MSW Facility Supervisor licensing exam. However, the applicants must meet the required education and experience requirements outlined above.

      Return to top 

      Where do I get training for the Initial MSW license?

      • Amarillo College Exit the TCEQ (Provider Code: 0215)
        Area served: Amarillo area, "A" Class course only
        For more information, call 806/335-4350.
        Fax: 806/335-4351
        E-mail: rlfaulkner@actx.edu
        Ron Faulkner
        Director, Technical Training Solutions
        Amarillo College
        Washington Street Campus, Parcells Hall, Room 312
        PO Box 447, Amarillo, TX 79178

      Specialized Training

      Return to top

      How do I renew my license?

      You will be mailed a renewal notification to the most recent address provided to the executive director at least 60 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using the Texas Online license renewal process. You must also complete the required continuing education credit hours (16 hrs - B, 16 hrs -A) prior to the expiration of your license.

      If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 239-6719. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

      MSW Facility Supervisor Licensing Information
      To renew this license class...You must obtain this much education...You must pay a renewal fee of...The license will remain valid for an additional...
      A 16 Hours $111 3 Years
      B 16 Hours $111 3 Years 

      Return to top 

      Where do I get training for MSW renewals?

      Visit the TCEQ Municipal Solid Waster Operator Training webpage.

      Specialized Training

      Return to top 

      Are different classes of licenses required for the different classifications of MSW facilities?

      Each classification of a municipal solid waste (MSW) facility shall employ at least one licensed individual who supervises or manages the operations of a MSW facility. The class of license required for the different classifications of facilities is as follows:

      Type of MSW FacilityClass of License Required
      Landfill Facilities (Type I; Type IAE; Type IV; and Type IVAE Class A
      Type IX Landfill Mining Facilities Class A
      Type V Storage and Processing Facilities not otherwise specified Class A or Class B
      Type IX Energy or Material Recovery Facilities(other) Class A or Class B
      Permitted Compost Facilities Class A or Class B
      Type VI Demonstration Facilities Class A or Class B
      Registered Compost Facilities Class A or Class B

      Return to top 

      Are any MSW facilities exempt from the requirements to have a licensed MSW facility supervisor?

      The following municipal solid waste (MSW) facilities do not require a licensed supervisor:

      • Type IX Beneficial Landfill Gas Recovery Facilities;
      • Animal Crematories, dual chamber incinerators, and air curtain incinerators operating in accordance with an MSW permit by rule; and
      • MSW facilities exempt from permitting or registration, unless otherwise described in §30.210 of this title (relating to Qualifications for Initial License).

      The Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor program can provide you with license applications, instructions, and general information; training course schedules; training course lists; training, licensing, and renewal records; duplicate and provisional certificates; information on reciprocity; and licensed municipal solid waste facility supervisor lists.

      Remember to notify us of any address or telephone number changes to ensure your timely receipt of licenses, training records, and renewal notices.

      Return to top 

      I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

      To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify if you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

      Return to top  

      Contact Information

      For more information regarding licensing, please contact the Municipal Solid Waste Facility Supervisor licensing program at 512/239-6133.

      The MSW Facility Supervisor licensing program is located on the 1st floor in building D of the TCEQ complex, 12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin, Texas 78753.

        Sewage Systems (OSSFs), Including Septic Tanks

        Information about how to obtain an on-site sewage facility license as an Installer Class I and II, a Designated Representative, a Site Evaluator, an Apprentice, a Maintenance Provider or a Maintenance Technician.

         

        TOWA’s Advanced Aerobic Maintenance course required to obtain an OSSF Maintenance Provider license was completed and approved by TCEQ as of 03/15/2011. TOWA is currently registering individuals for upcoming courses. To register, please contact TOWA at 713-774-6694. The exam will also be available at computer-based testing centers throughout the state.

        The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which will affect many licensing programs.

        Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter A, and Subchapter G: On-Site Sewage Facilities Installers, Apprentices, Designated Representatives, Maintenance Providers, and Site Evaluators, Rules 30.231 - 30.247. Exit the TCEQ

        To operate as an On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) installer, apprentice, maintenance provider or maintenance technician in Texas, you must be licensed or registered by the TCEQ.

        To perform the duties of a designated representative, you must be licensed by the TCEQ and be employed by an authorized agent of the agency.

        To perform site evaluations, you must be licensed by the TCEQ or a licensed Professional Engineer. Exit the TCEQ 

        What work does each license level do?

        Installer Class I (OSI) is authorized to install standard OSSF systems (septic tanks, absorptive drainfields, unlined ET drainfields, leaching chambers, gravel-less pipe, and pumped effluent drainfields).

        Installer Class II (OSII) is authorized to install all types of OSSF systems.

        Designated Representatives (DR) work for an authorized agent of the TCEQ. They perform site evaluations (when it is part of their job duties), complaint investigations, system evaluations, and inspections of OSSFs that have been issued an authorization to construct to ensure the OSSF has been installed to the criteria established by the TCEQ, or the Authorized Agent Order approved by the TCEQ, whichever is more stringent.

        Site Evaluator (SE) is authorized to perform preconstruction site evaluations to determine a site's suitability for a particular OSSF system and to identify all features in the area where an OSSF is to be installed that could be contaminated by the OSSF or could prevent the proper operation of the system.

        Apprentices: Registered apprentices may not perform any services associated with OSSF installations except under the direct supervision of a licensed installer on the site, by radio, or other means of direct communication at all times. The apprentice may represent the supervising installer at the job site; however, the licensed installer must visit the job site at least once each work day to verify that the work of the registered apprentice is in accordance with State and/or Authorized Agent requirements.

        Maintenance Providers are authorized to provide service or maintenance to on-site disposal systems using aerobic treatment.

        Maintenance Technicians perform services associated with OSSF maintenance under the direct supervision and direction of the maintenance provider on-site or be in direct communication with the maintenance provider.

        Return to top 

        When is a license not required?

        You are not subject to training and licensing requirements:

        • when installing, constructing, altering, extending, or repairing an OSSF on a single-family residential propertythat you own.
          • However, you must contact the permitting authority before you install, construct, alter, extend, or repair the OSSF to inquire about permitting requirements; and
          • If you pay someone to construct any portion of an OSSF, the person performing the work must be a licensed installer, except when otherwise specified.
          • This provision does not apply to developers or to those who develop property for sale or lease.
        • when installing electrical components through a licensed electrician.
        • when delivering a treatment or pump tank.
        • when working under the direct supervision of and receiving compensation from a licensed installer or the installer's registered apprentice.
        • when a licensed professional engineer is conducting a site evaluation.

        Return to top 

        Obtaining a License

        To obtain this license level ...You will need classroom training ...With this much experience ...Pass an exam, scoring at least a ...And pay an application fee of ...
        Designated Representative (DR)
        Yes
        0 years
        70
        $111.00
        Installer Class I (OSI)
        Yes
        0 years
        70
        $111.00
        Installer Class II (OSII)
        Yes
        1 year as an OSI, or

        2 years as a registered Apprentice
        70
        $111.00
        Site Evaluator (SE)
        Yes
        0 years. However, you must possess a current OSII, DR, Professional Engineer, Professional Sanitarian, or Professional Geoscientist with a Soil Scientist discipline license.
        70
        $111.00
        Apprentice
        No
        None
        N/A
        $111.00
        Maintenance Provider
        Yes
        70
        $111.00
        Maintenance Technician
        Yes
        None
        N/A
        $111.00 

        Applications for a license must be approved before taking a license exam.

        Training courses and examinations are provided by the Texas Engineering Extension Service (TEEX). You may register for a course on-line by clicking here, or by calling 800/723-3811.

        Return to top 

        I am not licensed; what do I do?

        Return to top 

        Installer Class I license

        To qualify for an Installer Class I license, you must:

        • submit an application for approval at least three weeks before the basic training course,
        • pay an application fee,
        • complete the basic Installer I training course, and
        • pass the Installer I exam.

        Return to not licensed information

        Installer Class II license

        To qualify for an Installer Class II license, you must:

        • submit an application for approval at least three weeks before the basic training course;
        • pay an application fee;
        • complete the basic Installer II training course;
        • pass the Installer II exam;
        • meet the experience requirements. Applicants for an Installer II license must submit statements attesting to the individual's work experience. Such statements shall include a description of the type of on-site sewage facility (OSSF) work that was performed by the individual and the physical addresses where the activity occurred. The experience shall be actual work accomplished under the license or registration. The number of systems will not substitute for the time required; and
        • meet one of the following experience requirements:
          • held an Installer I license for at least one year,
          • held an apprentice registration for at least two years; or
          • previously possessed an Installer II license.

        Return to not licensed information 

        Designated Representative license

        To become licensed as a designated representative, you must:

        • submit an application for approval at least three weeks before the basic training course,
        • pay an application fee,
        • complete the basic training course, and
        • pass the exam.

        You shall not perform any Designated Representative duties until you are employed by an authorized agent.

        Return to not licensed information 

        Site Evaluator license

        To become licensed as a site evaluator, you must:

        • possess at least one of the following licenses:
          • Installer Class II
          • Designated Representative
          • Professional Engineer
          • Professional Sanitarian
          • Professional Geo-scientist with a Soil Scientist discipline
        • submit an application for approval at least three weeks before the basic training course,
        • pay an application fee,
        • complete the basic training course, and
        • pass the exam.

        Return to not licensed information 

        Apprentice registration

        To become and operate as a registered apprentice, you must:

        • Fill out the OSSF Apprentice Registration Form and a criminal history notification (attestation) as indicated on the appropriate notification web page;
        • Submit the completed forms with an appropriate application fee; and
        • After a registration has been issued and while it remains valid, perform services associated with on-site sewage facility (OSSF) construction under the direct supervision and direction of the installer on-site or be in direct communication with the installer.

        You must possess an apprentice registration for at least two years and complete at least six installations under the apprentice registration before you can qualify for an Installer Class II license.

        Return to not licensed information 

        Maintenance Provider license

        To become and operate as a Maintenance Provider (MP), the applicant must meet the following criteria:

        • Possess an OSSF Installer II license; or
        • Possess a Class 'C' or higher Wastewater Treatment Operator license; or
        • Have three years experience as a registered MP and/or Maintenance Technician (MT) registrant.

        Additionally, the applicant must:

        • Complete the Basic Maintenance Provider (BMP) course; and
        • Complete the Advanced Maintenance Provider (AMP) course; and
        • Submit an MP license application with the license fee; and
        • Pass the applicable licensing examination.

        A person that holds a current MP registration that performs maintenance to on-site sewage disposal systems using aerobic treatment shall be allowed to continue to perform maintenance provider duties until July 31, 2011. Effective August 1, 2011, those individuals shall either hold a:

        • maintenance provider license; or
        • maintenance technician registration.

        Individuals who meet any of the following criteria do not have to complete the AMP course or take the examination to receive an MP license conversion:

        • Individuals that had obtained an MP registration prior to December 31, 2009 and hold a current OSSF Installer II license and MP registration; or
        • Individuals that had obtained an MP registration prior to December 31, 2009 and hold a current Class 'C' or higher Wastewater Treatment Operator license and MP registration; or
        • Individuals that had three years of experience as a registered MP prior to December 31, 2009 and hold a current MP registration.

        All others not meeting the above criteria must take the AMP course and pass the licensing examination to receive an MP license.

        Return to not licensed information 

        Maintenance Technician Registration

        To become and operate as a registered Maintenance Technician, you must:

        • Complete the basic training course; and
        • Request an application form by contacting the occupational licensing section; and
        • Submit the completed form with an appropriate application fee.

        Return to not licensed information 

        How do I upgrade my Installer I license or apprentice registration?

        To qualify for an Installer Class II license, you must:

        • have possessed an Installer Class I license for at least one year or apprentice registration for at least two years,
        • have verified experience:
          • at least three installations under your Installer Class I license, or
          • at least six installations under your Apprentice Registration who directly supervised your installation;
        • submit an application for approval at least three weeks before the basic training course,
        • pay an application fee,
        • complete the Installer II basic training course, and
        • pass the Installer Class II exam.

        You must submit letters of reference with your application (30 TAC 30.240(b)(5)).

        To register for a basic training course, call the Texas Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) at 1-800-723-3811.

        Return to top 

        How soon do I need to renew?

        All licenses expire in three years. The expiration date will be on the last day of the month they were first issued.

        If you do not renew your license within 30 days after its expiration date, you will have to fill out a new application and re-take and pass the exam for the last license level you held. You will be assigned a new license number.

        Apprentice registrations will have a three year validity period.

        Applications for certain registrations, i.e., maintenance providers or maintenance companies, will not be accepted.

        Return to top 

        How do I renew?

        Return to top 

        Requirements

        To maintain this registration or license level ...You need this much continuing education ...And you must pay an application fee of ...
        Designated Representative (DR)
        24 hours
        $111.00

        Installer Class I (OSI)
        24 hours
        $111.00

        Installer Class II (OSII)
        24 hours
        $111.00

        Site Evaluator (SE)***
        24 hours
        $111.00
        Apprentice
        0 hours
        $111.00
        Maintenance Provider*
        24 hours
        $111.00
        Maintenance Technician
        0 hours
        $111.00
        * If your license expires before January 1, 2014 you will not be required to have any CEUs to renew you license. If your license expires after January 1, 2014 you will be required to have 24 hours to be eligible to renew your license.
        An individual renewing a license for site evaluator shall demonstrate possession of a current license specified in § 30.240(d)(2)(C) of this title (relating to Qualifications for Initial License) except for individuals who were granted a site evaluator license on the basis of holding either an Installer II or designated representative license.
        *** A Site Evaluator must maintain a current OSII, DR, Professional Sanitarian, Professional Engineer, or Professional Geoscientist with a Soil Science discipline license. 

        Obtain a list of approved training providers for completion of required CEU's towards license renewal.

        Check the status of your license. 

        Return to renewal information 

        Online Renewal

        If you have obtained your required training credits and your license has not been expired for more than 30 days, you can renew online at: TCEQ Occupational License and Registration Online Renewal.

        Return to renewal information 

        Obtaining a renewal application

        We will mail you a renewal notification at least 60 days before your license expires. The notification will go to the last known address we have on file for you. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using the Texas Online license renewal process.

        If you are unable to renew online, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or phone (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Follow the directions which accompany the application, and return it with the requested materials before your license expires.

        Remember, it is your responsibility to submit a renewal application in a timely manner.

        Return to renewal information 

        Lost Renewal Notifications or Applications

        If you've lost your renewal notification or application or did not receive one, you may request a new application before your license expires by phone (512-239-6133) or e-mail (licenses@tceq.texas.gov). Please make sure you include your name, contact information, and license number or social security number. You must submit your application on an approved form.

        Return to renewal information 

        Issues of Compliance

        You must be in compliance in regard to payment of guaranteed student loans, child support payments, and TCEQ fees or penalties in addition to the requirements summarized in the table above.

        If you are currently under enforcement, you are encouraged to resolve these issues before you renew to avoid delays in the renewal of your license.

        Return to renewal information 

        Delinquent Fees or Penalties

        Effective September 1, 2006, the TCEQ no longer issues, amends, or renews permits, registrations, certifications, or licenses to an entity or person who is delinquent on any penalties or fees.

        Return to renewal information 

        Late Renewal

        License expired for less than 30 days?

        License expired for more than 30 days?

        Return to renewal information 

        If your license has been expired for less than 30 days:

        You must show proof that you have completed the required number of hours of approved training before your license expired. If you lost or did not receive a renewal notification or application, click here.

        • If you completed your continuing education BEFORE your license expired:
          • You must submit your renewal application with the appropriate fee within 30 days after your license expired.
          • We will also review whether you are delinquent in the paying student loans, and penalties owed to the TCEQ.
        • If you did not complete your continuing education BEFORE your license expired:
          • You will need to follow the same procedures as if your license was expired for more than 30 days.
          • You will be assigned a new license number.

        Return to top 

        If your license has been expired for more than 30 days:

        You cannot renew your license. In order to obtain a new license, you must to the following:

        • submit an application for approval at least three weeks before taking the exam,
        • pay an application fee, and
        • retake and pass the exam of the license level you last held.

        To obtain an application and register for an exam, call the Texas Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) Exit the TCEQat 1-800-SAFE-811.

        Return to top 

        What if I change my address or phone number?

        You must notify us of changes in your address or phone number, in writing, by one of the following:

        • Mail - TCEQ, Operator Licensing Section, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087
        • Fax - 512/239-6272
        • E-mail - licenses@tceq.texas.gov

        Please make sure you include your name, contact information, license number or social security number.

        Return to top 

        How do I replace a lost or damaged license?

        To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify if you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

        Return to top 

        What laws and rules govern my license?

        The license requirements are listed in Chapter 366Exit the TCEQ of the Texas Health and Safety Code, Sections 366.014 & 366.071 and Chapter 37 Exit the TCEQof the Texas Water Code.

        The qualifications for each license level vary and can be found in more detail in the rules (30 TAC Chapter 30 Subchapters A & G).Exit the TCEQ

        The duties and responsibilities for each license level vary and can be found in more detail in the rules (30 TAC Chapter 285 Subchapter F).Exit the TCEQ

        The enforcement provisions of this program can be found in Texas Water Code, Chapter 7.Exit the TCEQ

        Return to top

        Smoke School: Visible Emissions Evaluators

        How to obtain a certificate to evaluate visible emissions from stationary sources.

        As set forth in: 40 CFR -- Protection of Environment, Chapter 1 -- Environmental Protection Agency, Subchapter C -- Air Programs, Part 51 -- Requirements for Preparation, Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans, Subpart I -- Review of New Sources and Modifications, each state accepting delegation of authority to prevent interference of attainment of National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) and the prevention of significant deterioration of air quality shall do so by placing legally enforceable procedures in its State Implementation Plan (SIP). One such procedure and its applicability is found in the Texas SIP in Title 30 of the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 111 Exit the TCEQ -- control of air pollution from visible emissions and particulate matter. This procedure is called Method 9 -- Visual Determination of Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources, and is found in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A. All stationary sources with the potential for emitting visible emissions are required by their permits to be read at prescribed times by certified Visible Emissions Evaluators.

        Training & Licensing

        All new students are required to attend the classroom lecture session before attempting field certification. If records support previous attendance at an approved classroom lecture session then the student does not need to attend again, but may do so if a refresher is desired. Students who have attended a classroom lecture session will have also met the requirements for being trained in Method 22- the Fugitive Emissions method.

        All new students must take one complete test run for training before being allowed to take a test run for certification. The student does not have to make a passing score on the training run, but must complete it and hand it in to the field instructor before being allowed to take the second run for actual certification. A student making a passing score on the training run cannot use it to claim certification.

        Notice: Provider Requirements are Now in the Rules

        The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which affect many licensing programs. One of these new rules stipulates the requirements that VE training providers must meet to obtain and retain approval for training/certifications in Texas. This means VE providers will no longer need a contract to train and certify VE students in Texas.

        The current TCEQ regulatory guidance document RG-373: "Approval of Training for Occupational Licensing", has been revised to reflect the new and revised rules covering "Operator Licensing and Registration". Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules. Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 30, Subchapter L: Visible Emissions Evaluator Training and Certification, Rules 30.500 - 30.508. Exit the TCEQ An application form has been developed within RG-373 that all training providers, including VE providers, will submit to apply for training approval.

        Please go to this link RG-373 to download the document and the application.

        All present providers and those wishing to become providers will have to apply for training approval under these new rules beginning January 2008.

        NOTE:The TCEQ has based its approval of the following providers on their proposed ability to delivery VE training/licensing using accepted standards and practices. The TCEQ will perform on-site audits to ensure that quality services are delivered. If attendees feel that services have not been delivered or have any complaints about the instructors' methods of delivery, please contact the TCEQ at 512/239-6300.

        Visible Emission Evaluator Training Providers

        1. Compliance Assurance Associates, Inc
        Telephone: 901-381-9960
        Fax number: 901-381-9958
        Contact: Arthur Eberle, President
        Email: arthur.eberle@compliance-assurance.com
        Exit the TCEQ compliance-assurance.com/

        2. Eastern Technical Associates (ETA).
        Located at: 3302 Anvil Place, Raleigh, NC 27603
        Mailing address is:
        Eastern Technical Associates
        PO Box 1009
        Garner, NC 27529-1009
        Phone number: 919-878-3188
        Fax number: 919-872-5199
        Exit the TCEQ eta-is-opacity.com

        3. Opacity Consultants, LLC (OC)
        Contact Person: Curtis Donatelli
        Email: curtis@opacityconsultants.com
        Phone number: 919-902-8602
        Exit the TCEQopacityconsultants.com

        4. Opaque Smoke School L.L.C.
        Contact Person: Anthony Ferro
        Located at: 12908 Larsen, Overland Park, KS 66213-3467
        Phone number: 913-825-3644
        Fax number: 913-825-1292
        Email: Anthony@opaquesmokeschool.com

         

        Please be aware that the Visible Emission Evaluator certification expires after six months; in order to maintain the certification, a Visible Emission Evaluator must subsequently pass the required field testing conducted by one of the approved providers every six months.

        Wastewater Operators

        Licensing information for wastewater operators and registration information for wastewater treatment plants and wastewater collection systems.

        The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which will affect many licensing programs.

        Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter J: Wastewater Operators and Operations Companies, Rules 30.331 - 30.355. Exit the TCEQ 

        Some documents linked from this page are in Portable Document Format (PDF). (Help with PDF.) 

        Wastewater Licensing Program

        Wastewater Licensing Program personnel can answer routine operator inquiries and questions about application review. Below is the phone number and other means of contacting the program.

        • Location—The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin.
        • Office Hours—8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding holidays Exit the TCEQ).
        • Phone number—512/239-6133
          • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
          • Press #2 for Renewals
        • Fax—512-239-6272
        • Email address—licenses@tceq.texas.gov
        • Mailing Address—TCEQ, Wastewater Operator Licensing Program, MC 178, TCEQ, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

        Return to top 

        Wastewater Treatment Facility Operations Companies

        Return to top 

        Who must register?

        If you are an individual, company, business, or any other nongovernmental organization and you contract to operate one or more domestic wastewater treatment facilities or collection systems, you are required to be registered with the TCEQ. If an operations company is bought or sold or a name change occurs, the "new" company must apply for a new registration.

        Return to top of Companies section 

        How does an operations company register with the TCEQ?

        Submit the registration form (PDF) with the required information and appropriate fee listed below.

        Number of Facilities ServedNew and Renewal FeesValidity Period
        0–4 $122 3 Years
        5–9 $240 3 Years
        10–19 $399 3 Years
        20 or More $636 3 Years

        Return to top of Companies section 

        How often must an operations company report to the TCEQ?

        When a wastewater operations company submits an application to obtain or renew a registration, it must submit a report to the executive director. For each wastewater treatment facility or wastewater collection system the report shall include:

        • the operations company name, location, and mailing address;
        • the permittee's name and mailing addresses;
        • the commission permit number, if applicable;
        • the dates of operation during the registration validity period;
        • the names and license numbers of all licensed operators employed by the operations company;
        • the name of the licensed chief operator for each facility; and
        • any additional information required by the executive director.

        Return to top of Companies section 

        Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators

        Return to top 

        Why do I need a wastewater treatment operator license?

        The law requires it. (30 TAC 30.331 Exit the TCEQ)

        Each category of facility must be operated for a minimum of five days per week by the licensed chief operator or an operator holding a license at the required level or higher; this operator must be available by telephone or pager seven days per week. The minimum license level for the chief operator depends on the category of the wastewater treatment facility.

        The amount of time to be spent at the plant each day is not specified in the rules.

        Further, each person engaged in the direct supervision of domestic wastewater collection system operation or maintenance crews is required to be either a licensed wastewater collection system operator or a licensed wastewater treatment plant operator. At least one collection supervisor must hold a license class equal to or higher than is required for that category of collection system.

        MGD = Million gallons per day


        Wastewater Treatment Facility Categories
        Treatment System1Permitted Daily Average FlowCategory2Minimum Chief Operator Level3
        No-Discharge Treatment Systems All flows with a disposal system other than a subsurface area drip dispersal system D4 D
        All flows with subsurface area drip dispersal systems C C
        Pond Systems Preceded by Imhoff Tanks, Primary Clarifiers, or Facultative Lagoons 1.0 MGD or less D4 D
        Greater than 1.0 MGD C C
        Activated Sludge (Extended Aeration Mode) and Oxidation Ditch Systems 0.10 MGD or less D4 D
        Greater than 0.10 MGD to 1.0 MGD C C
        Greater than 1.0 MGD to 10.0 MGD B B
        Greater than 10.0 MGD A A
        Activated Sludge (Modes Other Than Extended Aeration) 0.050 MGD or less D4 D
        Greater than 0.050 MGD to 1.0 MGD C C
        Greater than 1.0 MGD to 10.0 MGD B B
        Greater than 10.0 MGD A A
        Trickling Filter, Rotating Biological Contactor (RBC), or Other Fixed Film Processes 0.50 MGD or less D4 D
        Greater than 0.50 MGD to 2.0 MGD C C
        Greater than 2.0 MGD to 10.0 MGD B B
        Greater than 10.0 MGD A A
        1 A wastewater treatment facility having a combination of treatment processes that are in different categories will be assigned the higher category.

        2 The executive director may increase the treatment-facility category for facilities that include unusually complex processes or present unusual operation or maintenance conditions.

        3 Where shift operation is necessary, each shift that does not have the on-site supervision of the chief operator must be supervised by an operator in responsible charge who is licensed at not less than one level below the category of the facility.

        4 Category D wastewater treatment facilities will be reclassified as Category C facilities if any of the following conditions exist:
        • the facility incorporates anaerobic sludge digestion, except Imhoff tanks with sludge drawn off to drying beds;
        • the facility permits nutrient reduction; or
        • the facility permit requires the final effluent to meet a daily (five-day) average biochemical oxygen demand or total suspended solids concentration less than 10 mg/L.

        Return to top of Operator section 

        How do I become licensed as a wastewater treatment plant operator?

        To become licensed as a wastewater treatment plant operator, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training, pay an application fee, and pass an exam. More information about taking this exam can be found under computer-based testing and general exam schedule.

        GED = General Equivalency Diploma
        HS = High School Diploma

        To obtain this license class ...If you have this much education ...You need this many years of experience3 ...You need this much initial training credit4 ...You must pay an application fee of ...This license remains valid for ...
        A Master's Degree2
        Bachelor's Degree2
        HS or GED
        4 Years (0)*
        5 Years (0)*
        8 Years (2)*
        160 Hours $111 3 Years
        B Bachelor’s Degree2
        HS or GED
        2.5 Years (0)*
        5 Years (2)*
        100 Hours $111 3 Years
        C HS or GED 2 Years (1)* 60 Hours $111 3 Years
        D1 HS or GED None 20 hours $111 3 Years
        1 If you operate any activated sludge–type treatment facility of any size, any trickling filter or RBC facility with a permitted average daily flow of 100,000 gallons per day or greater or a facility that uses a subsurface area drip dispersal system for effluent disposal you cannot renew your Class D license.

        2
        Only college graduates with a major in chemistry, biology, engineering,microbiology, bacteriology, or another similar discipline as approved by the executive director.

        332 semester hours of college or an additional 40 hours of wastewater training may be substituted for one year of experience.

        16 semester hours of college or an additional 20 hours of wastewater training may be substituted for six months of experience.

        * The number in parentheses is the maximum number of years permitted for experience substitution.

        4Training credit—List of training courses that are required (R) and elective (E) for each class of wastewater licensing.

        Note: Class D and Class I licenses issued after 01/01/2008 will have a license term of three (3) years; application fee will be $111; CEUs required for renewal will be 30.

        Return to top of Operator section 

        What type of training must I complete for a wastewater treatment operator license?

        Required and elective courses are available as classroom training, on-line training, and correspondence training. Review the table below the next paragraph, and then you can find approved providers for the course(s) you need to take using the web page at:

        Wastewater Operator Courses and Providers

        The courses listed in the table below are 20-hour courses, except Intermediate Wastewater Laboratory, which is a 32-hour course and Wastewater Technology, which is a 40 hour course. These courses may also be applied toward credit hours for renewal, except for the Basic Wastewater Operations course, which will not apply toward renewal credit hours for Class A and Class B operators.

        R = Required
        E = Elective*
        N/R = Not Required as initial training requirement

        Training CourseLicense Class Level
        ABCD
        Advanced Management E N/R N/R N/R
        Basic Wastewater Operations N/R N/R R R
        Wastewater Treatment R R R N/R
        Wastewater Collection R R E N/R
        Wastewater Laboratory R R E N/R
        Water Utility Safety R R E N/R
        Water Utility Calculations E E E N/R
        Water Utility Management† R E N/R N/R
        Intermediate Wastewater Laboratory E E N/R N/R
        Wastewater Technology
        (40 hours)
        E N/R N/R N/R
        * For the Class A, B, and C licenses, the applicant must take at least one elective course shown in that column.

        Return to top of Operator section

        What do I need to know about an application?

        Return to top of Operator section

        Return to top of Collection section 

        Where can I obtain an application?

        Applications are available through the TCEQ’s program for wastewater operator licensing in the Austin central office or at any TCEQ Regional Office. The application must be completed in full, signed, dated, and submitted with the appropriate application fee (check or money order only). All fees are nonrefundable.

        Return to top of Application section 

        What do I need to supply along with an application?

        In addition to the standard information (name, address, Social Security number, training, and employment), you may need to submit, if requested, supporting documentation such as:

        • certificate of completion for correspondence courses
        • certificate of completion for unverified training
        • college transcripts used to substitute experience
        • copy of current out-of-state license (if applying for reciprocity)

        All statements and qualifications provided by each applicant are subject to verification.

        Return to top of Application section 

        When do I pay the application fee?

        You must pay the application fee when you arrive to take the exam except for a Class A license. The application fee is valid for one year or four exams, whichever comes first.

        Return to top of Application section

        If I qualify for a higher-level license, must I apply for all levels first?

        No, it is not necessary to apply for a lower-level license if you satisfy the requirements for a higher level. However, to apply for licensing as a Class A Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator, you must be pre-approved after submitting your application and fee to the Austin central office before taking the exam.

        Return to top of Application section 

        What do I need to know for an exam?

        Return to top of Operator section

        Return to top of Collection section 

        What does the exam cover?

        Return to top of Exam section 

        What do I need to study?

        Study materials for each type and license level include:

        • training manuals for the corresponding required training courses,
        • the rules Exit the TCEQ regulating licensing of wastewater system personnel, and
        • the rules regulating the operation of public wastewater treatment or collection systems.

        Return to top of Exam section 

        What are the special considerations for Class A operator exams?

        Class A exams must be scheduled by the applicant through the Austin central office after the application has been approved. Class A exams are conducted in the Austin central office or at the TWUA’s Exit the TCEQ annual school and regional schools.

        Return to top of Exam section 

        Where and when are exams held?

        Exams are regularly scheduled and administered in the Austin Central Office and TCEQ regional offices in accordance with an established exam schedule.

        Return to top of Exam section 

        What is the minimum passing score?

        All applicants for licensing, except individuals applying for licensing by reciprocity, must pass the appropriate exam with a minimum score of 70 percent. Applicants will be mailed their examination results and an analysis within 45 days after the exam is administered.

        Return to top of Exam section 

        If I fail the test, how many times may I retake it?

        You may retake the test a maximum of three times within one year of the original examination date. You may retest as soon as you receive notice of failing the exam, provided TCEQ has an approved application and the testing center can accommodate the retest. After the fourth unsuccessful test in the one-year period, you will need to submit a new application and fee.

        Return to top of Exam section 

        How long do I have to retake the test?

        You must retake the test within one year of the original exam date. After the year has expired, you will need to submit a new application and fee.

        Return to top of Exam section 

        What is acceptable experience?

        One-half of the experience requirement for the Class A, B, and C levels of wastewater treatment plant operator must be in actual wastewater treatment plant operation or maintenance, or performance of on-site wastewater laboratory duties.

        Related experience, which involves tasks similar to those required for operation of wastewater treatment facilities, will count at a rate of 50% toward meeting the total experience requirement.

        Return to top of Operator section

        What if my experience is deficient?

        Applicants who are deficient in experience after an initial review by the staff may be asked to submit supplemental information for consideration if the staff determines that the original application did not contain all relevant information. The applicant must submit this information within 120 days of notification of deficiency, or the examination and application will become invalid. Application fees are not refundable.

        Return to top of Operator section

        Return to top of Collection section 

        If I hold a license in another state, can I transfer it to Texas?

        Texas issues licenses case by case reciprocally with other state or national programs.

        To be considered for reciprocity:

        • You must hold a current license,
        • your license must have been obtained by exam,
        • the license must be mandatory under the other state or country’s laws, and
        • the experience and educational requirements in that state or country must be at least as stringent as those in Texas. Your experience is not taken into consideration—only the other state or country’s requirements.

        Return to top of Operator section

        Return to top of Collection section 

        How do I renew my wastewater treatment operator license?

        You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. Provided we have your email address, you will also received a email notification 90 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using Texas Online license renewal process.

        If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or phone (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

        You may renew your operator license, provided it has not been revoked or replaced by a higher class of license. You must renew using the Texas Online license renewal process or submit a completed application and pay the appropriate fee within 30 days of the license’s expiration date. Additionally, you must have completed the appropriate number of continuing education training credit hours (10 hours for each year the license has been in effect) during the life of the license. A & B wastewater operators may complete a self-attestation form as verification they completed the continuing education requirement for renewal of their license.

        Credit is given for attendance at TCEQ-approved training courses, on-line and correspondence courses, seminars, and association meetings on the basis of one credit hour per hour of attendance.

        You may take the appropriate licensing exam in lieu of completing the continuing education training.

        Check how many credit hours you currently have on file

        To renew this license class ...You must obtain this much continuing education ...You must pay a renewal fee of ...The license will remain valid for an additional ...
        A 30 Hours1 $111 3 Years
        B 30 Hours1 $111 3 Years
        C 30 Hours $111 3 Years
        D2 30 Hours $111 3 Years
        1 Class A or B operators may not use the Basic Wastewater Operation course for renewal credit hours.

        2 If you operate any activated sludge–type treatment facility of any size, any trickling filter or RBC facility with a permitted average daily flow of 100,000 gallons per day or greater, or wastewater facility that disposes of treated effluent through a subsurface area drip dispersal system, you cannot renew your Class D license.

        The agency mails renewal notifications to the operator’s address on file. The TCEQ is not responsible for undelivered mail.

        Return to top of Operator section 

        I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

        To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify if you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

        Return to top of Operator section

        Return to top of Collection section 

        What are some of my responsibilities to the TCEQ?

        The individual is responsible for:

        • Notifying the Austin central office of any address or employment changes;
        • Maintaining personal training records, including:
          • name of class,
          • location,
          • name of provider, and
          • date of training.

        Return to top of Operator section

        Return to top of Collection section 

        Wastewater Collection System Operators

        Return to top 

        Why would I need a wastewater collection system license?

        The law requires it. (30 TAC 30.331 Exit the TCEQ)

        Each person who directly supervises wastewater collection system operation or maintenance crews is required to be either a licensed wastewater collection system operator or a licensed wastewater treatment plant operator. At least one collection supervisor must hold a license class equal to or higher than that category of collection system. All other supervisors must hold a valid license.

        GPD = Gallons per day
        MGD = Million gallons per day

        Wastewater Collection System Categories
        Collection SystemDaily Average FlowMinimum License Class Required
        Category I Less than 100,000 GPD I (collection) or
        D (treatment)
        Category II 100,000 gpd to 1 MGD II (collection) or
        C (treatment)
        Category III Greater than 1.0 MGD III (collection) or
        B (treatment)

        Return to top of Collection section 

        How do I obtain a wastewater collection system license?

        To obtain a wastewater collection system operator license, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training, pay an application fee, and pass an exam. More information about taking this exam can be found under computer-based testing and general exam schedule.

        GED = General Equivalency Diploma
        HS = High School Diploma

        To obtain this license class ...If you have this much education ...You need this many years of experience2 ...You need this much initial training credit3 ...You must pay an application fee of ...This license remains valid for ...
        III Bachelor’s Degree1
        HS or GED
        2.5 Years (0)*
        5 Years (2)*
        100 Hours $111 3 Years
        II HS or GED 2 Years (1)* 60 Hours $111 3 Years
        I HS or GED None 20 Hours $111 3 Years
        1 Only college degrees with a major in an engineering discipline eligible for registration as a professional engineer in Texas or in chemistry, biology, bacteriology, or similar disciplines.

        232 semester hours of college or an additional 40 hours of wastewater training may be substituted for one year of experience.
        16 semester hours of college or an additional 20 hours of wastewater training may be substituted for six months of experience.

        * The number in parentheses is the maximum number of years permitted for experience substitution.

        3Training creditList of training courses that are required (R) and elective (E) for each class of wastewater license.

        Return to top of Collection section 

        What type of training must I complete for a wastewater collection system license?

        All courses listed below are 20-hour courses. These training courses may also be applied towards renewal credit hours.

        R = Required
        E = Elective*
        N/R = Not Required as initial training requirement

        Training CourseLicense Class
        IIIIII
        Basic Wastewater Operations R R N/R
        Wastewater Collection R R R
        Water Utility Safety R E N/R
        Water Utility Calculations E N/R N/R
        Water Utility Management E N/R N/R
        Pump & Motor Maintenance R E N/R
        Pretreatment Facility Inspection E N/R N/R
        Intermediate Wastewater Laboratory E N/R N/R
        * For the Class III and II licenses, the applicant must take at least one elective course shown in that column.

        Return to top of Collection section

        What is acceptable wastewater collection system experience?

        The experience requirement for Class II and Class III levels of wastewater collection system operator must be in actual collection system operation or maintenance duties.

        Credit for related experience not directly connected with collection system operation or maintenance may be approved at a reduced rate.

        Return to top of Collection section 

        How do I renew my wastewater collection license?

        You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. Provided we have your email address, you will also received a email notification 90 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using Texas Online license renewal process.

        If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 239-0170. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

        You may renew your operator license, provided it has not been revoked or replaced by a higher class of license. You must renew using the Texas Online license renewal process or submit a completed application and pay the appropriate fee within 30 days of the license’s expiration date. Additionally, you must have completed the appropriate number of continuing education training credit hours (10 hours for each year the license has been in effect) during the life of the license. For wastewater operators, this would equal 30 CEUs for a three year license. A & B wastewater operators may complete a self-attestation form as verification they completed the continuing education requirement for renewal of their license.

        Credit is given for attendance at TCEQ-approved training courses, on-line and correspondence courses, seminars, and association meetings on the basis of one credit hour per hour of attendance.

        You may take the appropriate licensing exam in lieu of the continuing education training.

        To renew this license class ...You must obtain this much continuing education ...You must pay a renewal fee of ...The license will remain valid for an additional ...
        III 30 Hours $111 3 Years
        II 30 Hours $111 3 Years
        I 30 Hours $111 3 Years Effective 01/01/2008

        A Renewal Notification is mailed to the license holder’s address on file. The TCEQ is not responsible for undelivered mail.

        Return to top of Collection section

        Water Operators

        Required registration for water operation companies and licensing for water operators.

         

        Water Operator Licensing Program

        The Water Operator Licensing Program staff can answer routine operator inquiries. Below is the phone number and other means for contacting the program:

        • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
        • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding Exit the TCEQ holidays).
        • Phone number - 512/239-6133
          • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
          • Press #2 for Renewals
        • Fax - 512/239-6272
        • Email address - licenses@tceq.texas.gov
        • Mailing Address - TCEQ, Water Operator Licensing Program, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

        Return to top 

        Public Water System Operations Companies

        Return to top 

        How does an operations company register with the TCEQ?

        Submit the registration form (PDF) (Help with PDF) with the appropriate fee listed below. If an operations company is bought or sold or a name change occurs, the "new" company must apply for a new registration.

        Number of Public Water Systems ServedNew and Renewal FeesValidity Period
        0 - 4 $122 3 years
        5 - 9 $240 3 Years
        10 - 19 $399 3 Years
        20 or More $636 3 Years

        Return to top of Companies Section 

        How often must an operations company report to the TCEQ?

        When a public water system operating company submits an application to obtain or renew a registration, it must submit a report (PDF) (Help with PDF) to the executive director. Governmental entities or quasi-governmental entities, such as river authorities, that contract to operate a public water system must also submit a yearly report. The report must include:

        • the public water system operating company name, registration number, location, and mailing address
        • the public water system identification number and name for each system operated
        • the dates of operation during the reporting period
        • the names and license numbers of all licensed operators employed by the operations company
        • the names of the licensed chief operators and licensed supervisors
        • any additional information required by the executive director

        Return to top of Companies Section 

        Public Water System Operators

        Return to top 

        Why do I need a license?

        To assure the public that their drinking water is safe; meets all drinking water quality standards; and is properly produced, treated, and distributed by a competent public water system operator.

        Additionally, the law requires it. Please see this link for facility staffing requirements: Title 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 290.46(e)(1) Exit the TCEQ

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        How do I become licensed?

        To become licensed as a public water system operator, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training, pay an application fee, and pass an exam. More information about taking this exam can be found under computer-based testing and general exam schedule.

        GED = General Equivalency Diploma
        HS = High School Diploma

        To obtain this license class ...If you have this much education ...You need this many years of experience3 ...You need this much basic training credit ...You must pay an application fee of ...This license remains valid for ...
        A
        (waterworks)
        Master's Degree2
        Bachelor's Degree 2
        HS or GED

        4 Years

        5 Years
        8 Years (2)*
        164 Hours $111 3 Years
        B
        (surface water, groundwater, or distribution)
        Bachelor's Degree2
        HS or GED

        2.5 Years
        5 Years (2) *
        100 Hours
        Groundwater
        and
        Distribution

        124 Hours
        Surface Water
        $111 3 Years
        C
        (surface water, groundwater, or distribution)
        HS or GED 2 Years (1) *
        60 Hours Groundwater and Distribution

        64 Hours Surface Water
        $111 3 Years
        D 1
        (water)
        HS or GED None
        20 Hours Basic Water
        $111 3 Years
        1 Class D Water Operator Licenses are not renewable for surface water treatment plant operators, operators of groundwater production facilities under the influence of surface water, operators of groundwater production facilities with 250 or more connections, or more than 750 population, operators working as supervisors in a distribution system with 250 or more connections, or for individuals who operate multiple systems where the total number of connections for all systems combined is 250 or more.

        2 Only college graduates with a major in chemistry, biology, engineering, microbiology, bacteriology, or another similar discipline as approved by the executive director.

        3 One year of college (32 semester hours), an additional 40 hours of training credit, or experience in a related field may be substituted for each year of experience.

        Individuals may substitute college credits or additional approved training for work experience.

        * The number in parentheses in the table above indicates the maximum number of years permitted for substituting experience.

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        What type of training must I complete for a license?

        Required and elective courses are available as classroom training, on-line training, and correspondence training. Review the table below the next paragraph, and then you can find approved providers for the course(s) you need to take using the web page at:

        Water Operator Courses and Providers

        All courses listed below are 20-hour courses, except Intermediate Water Laboratory, which is a 32-hour course and Water Technology which is a 40 hour course.

        R = Required for initial license
        E = Elective for initial license
        N/R = Not Required for initial license, but will apply toward total training hours


        These training courses may also be applied toward continuing education (CEU's) credit hours for renewal, except for the Basic Water Operations course, which will not apply toward renewal continuing education (CEU's) credit hours for Class A and Class B operators.

        License Type & Class --->DC DistributionC GroundC SurfaceB DistributionB GroundB SurfaceA
        Training Course Name
        Basic Waterworks Operation* R R R R N/R N/R N/R N/R
        Water Distribution* N/R R E N/R R R R R
        Groundwater Production* N/R N/R R N/R N/R R N/R R
        Surface Water Production I N/R N/R N/R R N/R N/R R R
        Surface Water Production II N/R N/R N/R R N/R N/R R R
        Water Laboratory N/R E E N/R E R R R
        Water Utility Safety N/R E E N/R R R R R
        Water Utility Calculations N/R E E N/R E E N/R N/R
        Water Utility Management*@ N/R N/R N/R N/R E E R R
        Pump & Motor Maintenance N/R E E N/R R E N/R N/R
        Valve & Hydrant Maintenance N/R E E N/R R E N/R N/R
        Chlorinator Maintenance N/R E E N/R E E N/R N/R
        Water Technology (40 Hours) N/R N/R N/R N/R N/R N/R N/R N/R
        * Course is available by correspondence.

        @ Management Training by Correspondence from California State University - On June 27, 2002, TCEQ notified California State University at Sacramento that its water and wastewater operator training course "Utility Management" was re-evaluated and its approval was changed from 20 hours to eight (8) hours of general licensing credit. Persons who completed this course since November 1998 or who registered for the course before June 27, 2002 and later completed it will still receive 20 hours of management training credit. However, they should be aware that this course may not have provided them with all the knowledge and skills necessary for Class A or B operators to adequately manage a treatment facility. They should consider supplementing their management training with additional material as needed. Questions should be directed to (512) 239-6133.

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        What do I need to know about an application?

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        Where can I obtain an application?

        Applications are available through the TCEQ's Water Operator Licensing Program in the Austin central office or at any TCEQ regional office. The application must be completed in full, signed, dated, and submitted with the appropriate application fee (check or money order only). All fees are non-refundable. 

        What do I need to provide with an application?

        In addition to the standard information (name, address, social security number), you will need to submit supporting documentation such as:

        • copy of certificate of completion for each correspondence course
        • copy of certificate of completion for unverified training
        • copy of college transcripts used for experience substitution
        • copy of current out-of-state license (if applying for reciprocity)

        All statements and qualifications provided by each applicant are subject to verification. 

        When do I pay the application fee?

        You must pay the application fee when you arrive to take the water operator exam. The application fee is valid for one year or four exams, whichever comes first. 

        If I qualify for a higher level of license, must I apply for all lower levels first?

        No, it is not necessary to apply for a lower level license if the requirements of a higher level are satisfied. However, to apply for licensing as a Class A Water Operator, you must be pre-approved by our Austin central office program staff before taking the exam. 

        What if my application is deficient?

        Applicants who are deficient after an initial review by the staff may be asked to submit supplemental information for consideration if the staff determines that the original application did not contain all relevant information. The applicant must submit this information within 120 days of notification of deficiency, or the examination, application and fee will become invalid.

        Application fees are not refundable. 

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        What do I need to know for an exam?

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        What does the exam cover?

        Return to top of Exam Section 

        What do I need to study?

        Study materials for each type and level of licensing include:

        • training manuals for the corresponding required training courses
        • the rules,  30 TAC Chapter 30, regulating licensing of public system personnel
        • the rules,  30 TAC Chapter 290, regulating the operation of public water systems

        Return to top of Exam Section 

        What are the special considerations for Class A water operator exams?

        Class A exams must be scheduled by the applicant through the Austin central office after their application for licensing has been approved. Class A exams are conducted in the Austin central office or at the Exit the TCEQTWUA annual and regional schools.

        Return to top of Exam Section

        Where and when are exams held?

        Exams are regularly scheduled and administered in the Austin central office and TCEQ regional offices in accordance with an established exam schedule.

        Return to top of Exam Section 

        What is the minimum passing score?

        All applicants for licensing, except individuals applying for licensing by reciprocity, must pass the appropriate exam with a minimum score of 70 percent. Within four weeks of the exam, applicants can check their exam results on the web. In six weeks applicants will receive their examination results by mail.

        Return to top of Exam Section 

        If I fail, how many times may I retake the test?

        You may retake the test a maximum of three times within one year of the original examination date. You may retest as soon as you receive notice of failing the exam, provided TCEQ has an approved application and the testing center can accommodate the retest. After the fourth unsuccessful test in the one-year period, you will need to submit a new application and fee.

        Return to top of Exam Section 

        How long do I have to retake the test?

        You must retake the test within one year of the original examination date before submitting a new application and fee.

        Return to top of Exam Section 

        What is acceptable experience?

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        Class A Experience

        • must be in public water system operations
          • If you are a college graduate:
            • with a masters degree, all four years must be "hands-on" experience.
            • with a bachelors degree, all five years must be "hands-on" experience.
          • If you are a high school graduate or obtained a GED:
            • at least six years of the eight years required must be "hands-on" experience.
            • two years of experience may be substituted with:
              • additional TCEQ approved water operator training
              • college hours
        • For laboratory experience to be fully acceptable towards operator licensing, the laboratory must be owned and operated by the public water system and the laboratory personnel must consult on a daily basis with a public water system's licensed operator personnel.

        Return to top of Experience 

        Class B Experience

        • must be in public water system operations
        • must be in the same field as the license (e.g., surface water experience for the surface water field) applied for:
          • If you are a college graduate:
            • all two and one-half years must be "hands-on" experience.
          • If you are a high school graduate or obtained a GED:
            • at least three years of the five years required must be "hands-on" experience.
            • two years of experience may be substituted with:
              • related experience (e.g., groundwater experience for the surface water field)
              • additional TCEQ approved water operator training
              • college hours
        • For laboratory experience to be fully acceptable toward operator licensing, the laboratory must be owned and operated by the public water system and the laboratory personnel must consult on a daily basis with a public water system's licensed operator personnel.

        Return to top of Experience 

        Class C Experience

        • must be in public water system operations
        • must be in the same field as the license (e.g., surface water experience for the surface water field) applied for:
          • at least one year of the two years required must be "hands-on" experience
          • one year of experience may be substituted with:
            • related experience (e.g., groundwater experience for the surface water field)
            • additional TCEQ approved water operator training
            • college hours
        • For laboratory experience to be fully acceptable toward operator licensing, the laboratory must be owned and operated by the public water system and the laboratory personnel must consult on a daily basis with a public water system's licensed operator personnel.

        Return to top of Experience

        What is not considered as acceptable experience?

        Experience will not count for:

        • The following support personnel (unless they conduct routine, on-site operational activities for a public water system):
          • secretaries
          • utility relations staff
          • meter readers
          • radio dispatchers
          • bookkeepers
        • Administrative officials (unless they conduct routine, on-site operational activities for a public water system):
          • mayors
          • city managers
          • utility board members

        Return to top of Experience

        How will my experience be verified?

        You will need to provide references on your application who are involved with routine, on-site operation of a public water system.

        The following are NOT ACCEPTABLE references (unless they conduct routine, on-site operational activities for a public water system):

        • secretaries
        • utility relations staff
        • meter readers
        • radio dispatchers
        • bookkeepers
        • mayors
        • city managers
        • utility board members

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        If I hold a license in another state, can I transfer it to Texas?

        Texas issues licenses of reciprocity on a case-by-case basis with all other states.

        To be considered for reciprocity:

        • You must hold a current water operator license
        • Your license must have been obtained by exam
        • The license must be mandatory under the other state's laws
        • The equivalent education, training, experience, and fee requirements for the type and class of Texas license being applied for have been met.

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        How do I renew my license?

        You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. Provided we have your email address, you will also received a email notification 90 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using the Texas Online license renewal process.

        If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

        Credit is given for attendance at TCEQ approved training courses, correspondence courses, seminars, and association meetings on the basis of one credit hour per hour of attendance. You must have completed the appropriate number of continuing education training credit hours (10 hours for each year the license has been in effect) during the life of the license. A & B water operators may complete a self-attestation form as verification they completed the continuing education requirement for renewal of their license.

        To check how many credit hours you currently have on file, click here.

        To renew this license class ...You must obtain this much continuing education ...You must pay a renewal fee of ...The license will remain valid for an additional ...
        A 30 Hours* $111 3 Years
        B 30 Hours* $111 3 Years
        C 30 Hours $111 3 Years
        D** 30 Hours $111 3 Years
        * Class A or B operators may not use the "Basic Water" course for renewal credit hours.

        ** Class D Water Operator Licenses are not renewable for surface water treatment plant operators, operators of groundwater production facilities under the influence of surface water, operators of groundwater production facilities with 250 or more connections or more than 750 population, operators working as supervisors in a distribution system with 250 or more connections, or for individuals who operate multiple systems where the total number of connections for all systems combined is 250 or more.

        Renewal applications are mailed to the operator's address on file. The TCEQ is not responsible for undelivered mail.

        Return to top of Operator Section 

        What are some of my responsibilities to the TCEQ?

        The operator is responsible for:

        • Notifying the Austin central office of any address changes;
        • Maintaining personal training records, including:
          • Name of training course
          • Location of training course
          • Name of training provider and
          • Date of training course 

        The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated revised rules on September 27, 2007.

        See 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K: 30.381 - 30.402. Exit the TCEQ

        I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

        To replace your lost license, you can download the request form or contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 to have the form faxed, emailed or mailed. The replacement license is $20.00. You must mail in the completed form with your payment (check or money order made payable to TCEQ). Payments cannot be taken over the phone.

        Return to top of Operator Section

         

        Water Treatment Specialist Licensing

        Information about obtaining a license to install water treatment equipment such as water softeners.

        The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which will affect many licensing programs.

        Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter H: Water Treatment Specialists, Rules 30.261 - 30.279. Exit the TCEQ 

        Water Treatment Specialist (WTS) Licensing Program

        The Water Treatment Specialist Program staff can answer routine operator inquiries. Below is the phone number and other means for contacting the program:

        • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
        • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding Exit the TCEQ holidays).
        • Phone number - 512/239-6133
          • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
          • Press #2 for Renewals
        • Fax - 512/239-6272
        • Email address - licenses@tceq.texas.gov
        • Mailing Address - TCEQ, Water Treatment Specialist Licensing Program, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

        Return to top

        Water Treatment Specialist

        Return to top

        Why do I need a license?

        In accordance with state law, Texas Water Code Chapter 37 and Texas Occupations Code Chapter 1904.052 Exit the TCEQ, any individual who installs and services fixed or portable equipment in public or private systems in the State of Texas for the analysis and treatment of potable water to alter or purify the water or to add or remove a mineral, chemical, or bacterial content must be a Licensed Water Treatment Specialist.

        Return to top of Operator Section

        How do I become licensed?

        To become licensed as a Water Treatment Specialist, you must have the required education and experience, complete the related training, pay an application fee, and pass the corresponding Water Treatment Specialist (WTS) licensing examination. More information about taking these exams can be found under computer-based testing and general exam schedule.

        Water Treatment Specialist License Information
        Water Treatment Specialist License Type & Level Validity Period Application Fee Education Required Experience Required Training Required Exam Required
        Class I Water Treatment Specialist 3 Years $111 None None None Yes
        Class II Water Treatment Specialist 3 Years $111 Less than High School Diploma
        High School diploma or GED
        1 Year of College
        3 Years





        2 Years




        1 Year
        Basic Water Conditioning Course Yes
        Class III Water Treatment Specialist 3 Years $111 High School Diploma or GED
        2 years of College
        Bachelor's Degree
        3 Years





        2 Years




        1 Year
        Basic Water Conditioning Course and the Advanced Water Conditioning Course Yes

        Return to top of Operator Section

        What type of training must I complete for a license?

        Required courses are available through TCEQ-approved Training Providers.

        Return to top of Operator Section

        What do I need to know about an application?

        Return to top of Operator Section

        Where can I obtain an application?

        Applications are available through the TCEQ's Water Treatment Specialist Program in the Austin central office or at any TCEQ regional office. The application must be completed in full, signed, dated, and submitted with the appropriate application fee (check or money order only). All fees are non-refundable.

        Return to top of Application Section

        What do I need to provide with an application?

        In addition to the standard information (name, address, social security number), you will need to submit supporting documentation such as:

        • copy of certificate of completion for unverified training
        • copy of college transcripts used for experience substitution
        • copy of current out-of-state license (if applying for reciprocity)

        All statements and qualifications provided by each applicant are subject to verification.

        Return to top of Application Section

        When do I pay the application fee?

        You must pay the application fee when you arrive to take the Water Treatment Specialist exam. The application fee is valid for one year or four exams, whichever comes first.

        Return to top of Application Section

        If I qualify for a higher level of license, must I apply for all lower levels first?

        No, you may apply for any level of license, as long as you meet the requirements.

        What if my application is deficient?

        Applicants who are deficient after an initial review by the staff may be asked to submit supplemental information for consideration if the staff determines that the original application did not contain all relevant information. The applicant must submit this information within 120 days of notification of deficiency, or the examination, application and fee will become invalid.

        Application fees are not refundable.

        What do I need to know for an exam?

        Return to top of Operator Section

        What do I need to study?

        Study materials for each type and level of licensing include:

        Return to top of Exam Section

        Where and when are exams held?

        Exams are regularly scheduled and administered in the Austin central office and TCEQ regional offices in accordance with an established exam schedule.

        Return to top of Exam Section

        What is the minimum passing score?

        All applicants for licensing, except individuals applying for licensing by reciprocity, must pass the appropriate exam with a minimum score of 70 percent. Within four weeks of the exam, applicants can check their exam results on the web. In six weeks, applicants will receive their examination results by mail.

        Return to top of Exam Section

        If I fail, how many times may I retake the test?

        You may retake the test a maximum of three times within one year of the original examination date. You may retest as soon as you receive notice of failing the exam, provided TCEQ has an approved application and the testing center can accommodate the retest. After the fourth unsuccessful test in the one-year period, you will need to submit a new application and fee.

        Return to top of Exam Section

        How long do I have to retake the test?

        You must retake the test within one year of the original examination date before submitting a new application and fee.

        Return to top of Exam Section

        What is acceptable experience?

        Approved areas of work include installation and/or servicing water treatment appliances.

        Return to top of Operator Section

        If I hold a license in another state, can I transfer it to Texas?

        Texas issues licenses of reciprocity on a case-by-case basis with all other states.

        To be considered for reciprocity:

        • You must hold a current Water Treatment Specialist license
        • Your license must have been obtained by exam
        • The license must be mandatory under the other state's laws
        • The equivalent education, training, experience, and fee requirements for the type and class of Texas license being applied for have been met.

        Return to top of Operator Section

        How do I renew my license?

        You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license using the Texas Online license renewal process.

        If you are unable to renew on-line, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to timely submit a renewal application.

        Credit is given for attendance at TCEQ-approved training courses, correspondence courses, seminars, and association meetings on the basis of one credit hour per hour of attendance.

        To check how many credit hours you currently have on file, click here.

        To renew this license class ... You must obtain this much continuing education ... You must pay a renewal fee of ... The license will remain valid for an additional ...
        Water Treatment Specialist I,II and III 12 Hours $ 111 3 years

        Renewal applications are mailed to the operator's address on file. The TCEQ is not responsible for undelivered mail.

        Return to top of Operator Section

        What are some of my responsibilities to the TCEQ?

        The operator is responsible for:

        • Notifying the Austin central office of any address changes;
        • Maintaining personal training records, including:
          • Name of training course
          • Location of training course
          • Name of training provider and
          • Date of training course

        I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

        To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify if you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

        Return to top of Operator Section

        Public Water System Operators: What Applicants for Licensing Need to Know

        Preparing for the licensing exams for public water system operators.

        This page will assist you in preparing for your licensing exam and your daily job activities. Select the class and type of license you are applying for in the list below to find the information you should know before taking the licensing exam.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class D Water Operators
        SubjectThe Class D Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Be familiar with the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A Exit the TCEQ), Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter D Exit the TCEQ), and Drinking Water Standards ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ), for systems serving less than 250 connections.
        Safety Be able to identify safety hazards in the work environment; know proper safety procedures and uses of safety equipment.
        General Know: the major responsibilities of licensed operators in relation to public-health principles and goals; the types of potential waterborne diseases; the procedures and requirements for bacteriological sampling; proper public and customer relations procedures; definitions of the types of physical and chemical characteristics of water; the hydrologic cycle; sources of drinking water; types of required recordkeeping activities; general types of contaminants of drinking water; the requirements for conducting customer service inspections.
        Groundwater Know: sources of well contamination and general methods of well protection; major components of wells and each component’s function; general knowledge of well pumps and motors; general purposes of various groundwater treatment processes.
        Surface Water Know: sources of surface water and characteristics of good-quality water; major components of a surface water plant and the treatment processes used in treating surface water
        Storage/Distribution Know: purposes of various types of storage reservoirs; components of distribution system; types and general purposes of various meters, pumps, motors, valves and pipes; be familiar with various types of cross-connections and have general knowledge of backflow-prevention assemblies.
        Disinfection Know: startup, shutdown, and safety procedures for chlorinators and other disinfection equipment, the various forms, uses, hazards, characteristics and types of storage of chlorine; basic reactions of chlorine in water; first aid procedures for victims of chlorine gas; how to test for chlorine residual.
        Math Know how to: use common conversion units from a table of equivalents; solve basic water utility math problems using area, volume, and chemical dosage formulas.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class C Water Distribution Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class D Criteria, the Class C Water Distribution System Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Be familiar with the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A Exit the TCEQ), Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter D Exit the TCEQ), and Drinking Water Standards ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ),for public water supplies; know the objectives of public health laws ( Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 341 Exit the TCEQ), rules, and regulations.
        Safety Know: safe procedures for self and other employees engaged in waterworks operations; basic first-aid procedures; traffic-control safety procedures; trench-safety procedures.
        General Know: diseases caused by waterborne organisms; basic chemistry concepts related to distribution systems; sources and significance of physical, chemical and biological characteristics of surface water and groundwater; requirements for recordkeeping and reporting activities; sanitation and disinfection requirements related to distribution system construction; methods of preventing cross connections; bacteriological and chemical sampling requirements. Interpret lab results for bacteriological analyses.
        Distribution Compare various types of storage; know purposes of storage; maintenance, inspection and disinfection procedures for storage and distribution facilities; know causes and effects of corrosion in storage and distribution systems; operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, and safety procedures for the following: meters, flushing equipment, hydrants, construction and installation equipment, pumps, motors and generators, pipes and joints, valves and fittings, backflow-prevention devices; leak-detection procedures; critical safeguards of distribution systems.
        Disinfection Know: steps involved in sampling for coliform bacteria; relationship between chlorine dosage, demand, and residual and significance of each; hazards of chlorine gas; operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, startup and shutdown procedures and safety procedures for chlorinators and other disinfection equipment.
        Math Know how to solve problems involving dosage; detention time; construction and maintenance activities.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class C Groundwater Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class D Criteria, the Class C Groundwater Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Be familiar with the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A Exit the TCEQ), Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter D Exit the TCEQ), and Drinking Water Standards ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ), for public water supplies; know the objectives of public health laws ( Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 341 Exit the TCEQ), rules and regulations.
        Safety Know: safe procedures for self and other employees engaged in waterworks operations; basic first-aid procedures; traffic-control safety procedures, trench safety procedures.
        General Know: diseases caused by waterborne organisms; basic chemistry concepts related to groundwater treatment; sources and significance of physical, chemical and biological characteristics of groundwater; basic hydraulic concepts related to groundwater movement and wells; requirements for record-keeping and reporting activities; sanitation and disinfection requirements related to well construction and development; methods of preventing cross connections; bacteriological and chemical sampling requirements.
        Production/Treatment Know: objectives and methods used in production/treatment of groundwater; purpose, components, safety procedures, operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, and startup and shutdown procedures for the following: aerators, chemical feeders, chlorinators, fluoridation equipment, pumps, motors, and instrumentation. Study should include well-construction and development procedures and techniques.
        Storage/Distribution Compare various types of storage; know purposes of storage; maintenance, inspection and disinfection procedures for storage and distribution facilities; causes and effects of corrosion in storage and distribution systems; operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, and safety procedures for the following: meters, flushing equipment, hydrants, construction and installation equipment, pumps, motors and generators pipes and joints, valves and fittings; leak detection procedures; critical safeguards of distribution systems.
        Disinfection Know: steps involved in sampling for coliform bacteria; relationship between chlorine dosage, demand, and residual and significance of each; hazards of chlorine gas; operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, startup and shutdown procedures and safety procedures for chlorinators and other disinfection equipment.
        Math Know how to solve problems involving dosage; detention time; static, pumping, and drawdown levels; construction and maintenance activities.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class C Surface Water Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class D Criteria, the Class C Surface Water Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Be familiar with the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A Exit the TCEQ), Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter D Exit the TCEQ), and Drinking Water Standards ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ), for public water supplies; know the objectives of public health laws ( Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 341 Exit the TCEQ), rules and regulations.
        Safety Know safe procedures for self and other employees engaged in waterworks operations; basic first-aid procedures; traffic-control safety procedures; trench safety procedures.
        General Know: diseases caused by waterborne organisms; basic chemistry concepts related to surface water treatment; sources and significance of physical, chemical and biological characteristics of surface water; requirements for record-keeping and reporting activities; sanitation and disinfection requirements related to surface water production; methods of preventing cross connections; methods of water softening; bacteriological and chemical sampling requirements.
        Treatment/Production Know: objectives and methods used in treating surface water; factors affecting pretreatment, taste and odor formation, coagulation and flocculation, jar tests, turbidity, sedimentation, filtration, disinfection and trihalomethane formation; the purpose, components, safety procedures, operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures and startup and shutdown procedures for the following: aerators, chemical feeders, flocculating equipment, sedimentation basins, filtration equipment, fluoridation equipment, pumps, motors and instrumentation; proper sludge disposal methods.
        Storage/Distribution Compare various types of storage; know: purposes of storage; maintenance, inspection and disinfection procedures for storage and distribution facilities; causes and effects of corrosion in storage and distribution systems; operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, and safety procedures for the following: meters, flushing equipment, hydrants, construction and installation equipment, pumps, motors and generators, pipes and joints, valves and fittings; leak detection procedures; critical safeguards of distribution systems.
        Disinfection Know: steps involved in sampling for coliform bacteria; relationship between chlorine dosage, demand and residual; and significance of each; hazards of chlorine gas; operating procedures, preventive and corrective maintenance procedures, startup and shutdown procedures and safety procedures for chlorinators and other disinfection equipment.
        Math Know how to solve problems involving dosage, detention time, filter rates, construction and maintenance activities.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class B Water Distribution Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class C Water Distribution Criteria, the Class B Water Distribution Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Have a thorough knowledge of the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A Exit the TCEQ), Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter D Exit the TCEQ), and Drinking Water Standards ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ), with emphasis on distribution systems. Be familiar with proposed EPA rules Exit the TCEQ and regulations.
        Safety Be able to implement a safety program in the workplace, conduct tailgate safety sessions, be familiar with the (Texas Hazard Communication Act Exit the TCEQ); know lab hazards, lab precautions, traffic, confined spaces, and shoring safety.
        General Know basic concepts regarding employee supervision and requirements for maintenance of a distribution system.
        Laboratory Know steps in performing basic chemical-laboratory analyses; be able to interpret results of the lab tests and make proper adjustments; be familiar with methods used in bacteriological examinations.
        Storage/Distribution Be able to diagnose and correct complex problems regarding storage and distribution. Have a basic knowledge of meters, valves, and how pumps operate.
        Disinfection Be able to optimize chlorine usage in the distribution system and have a thorough understanding of chlorine properties, chlorine reactions in water, and factors affecting disinfection.
        Math Know how to solve more difficult problems regarding dosage, flow rates, construction and maintenance activities, horsepower, and laboratory calculations.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class B Groundwater Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class C Groundwater Criteria, the Class B Groundwater Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Have a thorough knowledge of the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A Exit the TCEQ), Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems and Drinking Water Standards ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ). Be familiar with proposed EPA rules Exit the TCEQ and regulations.
        Safety Be able to implement a safety program in the workplace; conduct tailgate safety sessions; be familiar with the (Texas Hazard Communication Act Exit the TCEQ); know lab hazards and lab precautions; know shoring requirements.
        General Know: basic concepts regarding employee supervision; well construction requirements and well development procedures; causes of unstable water, methods of measuring corrosiveness, and procedures used to control corrosion.
        Treatment/Production Be able to diagnose and correct complex problems in groundwater treatment processes.
        Laboratory Know steps in performing basic chemical laboratory analyses; be able to interpret results of lab tests and make proper adjustments to treatment processes; be familiar with methods used in bacteriological examinations.
        Storage/Distribution Be able to diagnose and correct complex problems regarding storage and distribution.
        Disinfection Be able to optimize chlorine usage in the water system; have a thorough understanding of chlorine properties, chlorine reactions in water, and factors affecting disinfection; have a thorough understanding of chlorinator components.
        Math Know how to solve more difficult problems regarding dosage, detention time, flow rates, horsepower and laboratory calculations.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class B Surface Water Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class C Surface Water Criteria, the Class B Surface Water Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Have a thorough knowledge of the rules and regulations regarding licensing ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter A ( Exit the TCEQ), "Public Water System Operators and Operations Companies" ( 30 TAC Chapter 30, Subchapter K Exit the TCEQ), "Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems" ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter D Exit the TCEQ), and "Drinking Water Standards" ( 30 TAC Chapter 290, Subchapter F Exit the TCEQ). Be familiar with proposed (EPA rules Exit the TCEQ) EPA rules and regulations.
        Safety Be able to implement a safety program in the workplace; conduct tailgate safety sessions; be familiar with the (Texas Hazard Communication Act Exit the TCEQ); know lab hazards and lab precautions, know shoring requirements.
        General Know: basic concepts regarding employee supervision; causes of unstable water, methods of measuring corrosiveness, and procedures used to control corrosion; problems associated with thermal stratification and how to correct them.
        Treatment/Production Be able to diagnose and correct complex problems in surface water treatment processes.
        Laboratory Know steps in performing basic chemical laboratory analyses; be able to interpret results of lab tests and make proper adjustments to treatment processes; be familiar with methods used in bacteriological examinations.
        Storage/Production Be able to diagnose and correct complex problems regarding storage and distribution.
        Disinfection Be able to optimize chlorine usage in the water system; have a thorough understanding of chlorine properties, chlorine reactions in water, and factors affecting disinfection; have a thorough understanding of chlorinator components.
        Math Know how to solve more difficult problems regarding dosage, detention time, flow rates, horsepower and laboratory calculations.

        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for
        Class A Water Operators
        SubjectIn Addition to Knowledge of the Class B Groundwater, Water Distribution, and Surface Water Criteria, the Class A Water Operator Should:
        Rules/Regulations Be knowledgeable of proposed and current (EPA rules Exit the TCEQ) and their implications for public water systems.
        Safety Be able to develop safety programs for waterworks operators. Know responsibilities of employer and employee in regard to safety in the work place.
        General Know: the health significance of various chemicals when found in water in excess of required or recommended limits: how to plan, organize and implement corrosion control programs; how to plan, organize and implement an emergency management program related to disaster preparedness; how to develop and implement energy and water conservation programs; types of water-borne diseases infectious agents, modes of transmission and methods of control; how to interpret pump curves.
        Management Know techniques used in managing a water system and supervising its employees. Be able to plan, organize, staff, direct and control the operations of a public water system.
        Treatment/Production Know how to implement special treatment process related to fluoridation, stabilization, softening, desalination, iron and manganese problems, control of trace organics, and taste and odor control.
        Disinfection Know alternative methods of disinfection of public water supplies.
        Math Know how to solve all types of calculation problems encountered in water system operations.

        Return to top.

        Leaking Petroleum Storage Tank (LPST) Corrective Action Specialist and Project Manager

        How to become a leaking petroleum storage tank corrective action specialist or project manager.

        Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter E: Leaking Petroleum Storage Tank Corrective Action Project Managers and Specialists, Rules 30.171 - 30.195. Exit the TCEQ

        What does the law require?

        In accordance with state law, Exit the TCEQ Texas Water Code Chapter 37 and Title 30 Texas Administrative Code, Chapters 30 and 334, Subchapter J rules, any entity who performs or coordinates regulated LPST corrective action services in the State of Texas must be registered with the TCEQ as an LPST Corrective Action Specialist. Additionally, any individual who supervises any corrective action required on an LPST site in the State of Texas must be licensed with the TCEQ as an LPST Corrective Action Project Manager. Corrective action services include measures to determine and report the extent of a release in progress, to halt and prevent future releases of regulated substances, site cleanup of surface and subsurface contamination, site closure, and post-remediation monitoring or any other action reasonably necessary to protect public health and environmental safety. 

        Am I on the latest registration/license list?

        View the latest list of registered LPST Corrective Action Specialists or licensed LPST Corrective Action Project Managers.

        Remember to notify us of any address change to ensure your timely receipt of licenses, registrations, and renewal notices. 

        How do I register?

        LPST Corrective Action Specialist Registration form

        LPST Corrective Action Registration or Licensing Information
        To obtain this Registration or License Type & LevelYou must have this much education ...You must have this much experience ...Pay an application fee of ...Exam Required? ...Registration or License will be valid for ...
        LPST Corrective Action Specialist* None 2 Years $232 No 3 years
        LPST Corrective Action Project Manager Bachelor of Science Degree
        No Bachelor of Science Degree


        2 Years
        4 Years
        $111 Effective 01/01/2008 Yes 3 Years
        LPST Corrective Action Project Manager for the Professional Engineer Bachelor of Science Degree in Associated P.E. Field Experience associated with P.E. License None No Current with Associated P.E. License
        LPST Corrective Action Project Manager for the Professional Geoscientists Bachelor of Science Degree in Associated P.G. Field Experience associated with P.G. License None No Current with Associated P.G. License
        * Registered LPST Corrective Action Specialists are required to submit a financial statement indicating a minimum net worth of $25,000 and a certificate of insurance for $1,000,000 minimum general liability coverage. 

        Examinations are offered in Austin once each month.

        The Registered LPST Corrective Action Specialist & Licensed LPST Project Manager program is located on the 1st floor in Building D of the TCEQ complex, 12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin, Texas 78753. 

        How do I renew my registration?

        You will be mailed a renewal notification to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your registration expires. The notification will give you instructions for renewing your registration using the Texas Online renewal process. 

        How do I renew my license?

        Online renewal for licenses are not available yet, so you will be mailed a renewal application to the last known address on file at least 60 days before your license expires.

        You may renew your license or registration, provided it has not been revoked or been expired for more than 30 days. You must renew by submitting a completed application and pay the appropriate fee (within 30 days of the license's expiration date). Additionally, you must provide proof of completing the required 32 credit hours of continuing education (if applicable) before your license's expiration date by submitting a copy of your training certificates with your renewal application if renewing mail or fax copies of your course completion certificates to (512) 239-6272. You may click here to see a list of approved training providers. 

        I lost my license or pocket card. How do I replace it?

        To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify whether you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card). 

        Additional Program Information

        The Registered LPST Corrective Action Specialist & Licensed LPST Project Manager program can provide you with: registration and license applications; training provider lists; license and renewal records; duplicate certificates; information on reciprocity for Professional Engineers; and Professional Geoscientists.

        The Registered LPST Corrective Action Specialist and Licensed LPST Project Manager program is located on the 1st floor in Building D of the TCEQ complex, 12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin, Texas 78753.

        Contact: For more information regarding registration, please call 512/239-6133, licenses@tceq.texas.gov

        Stage II Vapor Recovery Facility Representative & Approved Training Providers

        Training information for gas station employees about Stage II Vapor Recovery Rules on gas pumps in high ozone areas.

        Gas stations operating in areas where ozone levels have exceeded federal limits must have at least one worker who has been trained by an approved TCEQ training provider to operate and maintain an appropriate Stage II vapor recovery system. This training is required by the Texas Health and Safety Code Exit the TCEQ Chapter 382 and 30 TAC, Chapter 115, Subchapter C. 

        About the Stage II Vapor Recovery Facility Representative Program

        The Stage II Vapor Recovery Facility Representative Program can answer routine questions regarding required training. Below is the contact information for the program:

        • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
        • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding holidays Exit the TCEQ).
        • Phone - 512/239-6133
        • Fax - 512/239-0533
        • Mailing Address - TCEQ, Stage II Vapor Recovery Facility Representative Program, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087.
        • E-mail - licenses@tceq.texas.gov 

        Return to top 

        Where in Texas is Stage II training required?

        Stage II training is required in the following counties. The counties are known as "non-attainment areas" because ground level ozone levels there have exceeded federal limits. Gas stations in these areas must have Stage II vapor recovery systems installed at the pumps and must have at least one worker trained by a TCEQ approved training provider to operate and maintain a Stage II vapor recovery system.

        Area of StateCounties Affected
        Houston/Galveston Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, and Waller
        Beaumont/Port Arthur Hardin, Jefferson, and Orange
        El Paso El Paso
        Dallas/Fort Worth Collin, Dallas, Denton, and Tarrant 

        Return to top 

        How do I become approved as a Stage II Vapor Recovery Representative?

        Stage II Vapor Recovery Licensing Type & LevelValidity periodEducation RequiredExperience RequiredTraining Credit
        Stage II Vapor Recovery Facility Representative Indefinite None None Training Providers*
        * TCEQ approved training providers are required per course guidelines to administer a written examination or written documentation/worksheet of the participant's general understanding of the course materials and presentation. Participants must meet the requirements before obtaining a certificate of course completion. 

        Return to top 

        What is a Stage II Vapor Recovery Representative responsible for?

        TCEQ approved facility representatives are responsible for:

        • ensuring that every employee is aware of the purposes and correct operating procedures of the system,
        • ensuring that the performance criteria is proper to the Stage II system equipment being operated and maintained, and
        • successfully completing approved training within three months of the departure of the previous approved facility representative. 

        Return to top 

        Stage II Vapor Recovery Training

        If you have a gas station in an area where ground-level ozone exceeds federal limits, then you must have at least one worker at that station trained and certified to operate and maintain a Stage II vapor recovery system. To register for this required Stage II facility representative training, contact one of the TCEQ-approved training providers listed below.

        If you have more than one station that each need a Stage II facility representative, then you have two options:

        • Send at least one employee from each station to a TCEQ-approved training provider for the "Representative" course.
          –or–
        • Have one of your employees take the "Trainer" course from a TCEQ-approved training provider. This employee may then train each of the other Stage II facility representatives you need. (Their Stage II facility representative certifications will be valid at only your stations and only if they remain your employee.)

        This list is subject to change at any time. To verify this information, call our Stage II Facility Representative Training Program in Austin at 512/239-6133 or e-mail licenses@tceq.texas.gov. For information about fees, schedules, locations, or other aspects of a particular course, contact the training provider. 

        TCEQ-Approved Training Providers

        Provider Number Organization Instructors Date Authorized
        0011 Monarch Assoc.
        3439 Meadow Creek
        Sachse, TX 75048
        214-929-6595
        Bob Leigh-Manuell (0011-02)
        William Vincent Bader (0011-04)
        10/23/1995
        3 hrs
        09/28/2000
        CD-ROM (self-paced), or
        CD-ROM (online)
        Web-based
        Exit the TCEQ (Representative)
        0015 G & B Petroleum
        Route 9, 7516 Shady Ln
        Beaumont, TX 77713
        409-866-6001
        Jeffrey McNeel (0015-01)
        Bill Ballard (0015-02)
        03/21/1996
        3 hrs (Representative)
        0016 Training and Services Corp.
        501 Bains Street, #113
        Brookshire, TX 77423
        281-934-3839
        Mike Treat (0016-01) 01/06/1998
        3.5 hrs (Representative)
        0019 Tanknology
        8501 N Mopac, Ste 400
        Austin, TX 78759
        1-800-964-1270
        Brad Hoffman (0019-02) 12/10/2001
        4 hrs (Representative)
        0020 Ivy Associates
        18668 E Mazatzazl Circle
        Rio Verde, AZ 85263
        480-215-0539
        Rick Gabardy (0020-01) 03/25/1997
        Web-based
        Exit the TCEQ
        0022 Bennett & Associates
        875 N Eldridge Parkway # 201
        Houston, TX 77079
        713-521-7758
        James C. Westfall (0022-02) 713/521-7758 05/18/1998
        (Representative)
        Self-Study, or (one-on-one training at your facility)
        0023 D&H Petroleum & Environmental Services
        PO Box 17969
        El Paso, TX 79917-0969
        915-859-8150
        Victor H. Ayala (0023-01) 06/15/1999
        4 hrs (Representative)
        0025 Pump Tex, Inc.
        PO Box 22936
        Beaumont, TX 77720
        409-842-9301
        Gary Everett (0025-01) 07/19/2000
        4 hrs (Representative)
        03/22/2001
        8 hrs (Trainer)
        0027 ECS, Inc.
        720-L Lakeview Plaza Blvd
        Worthington, OH 43085
        614-433-0170
        Megan Hubenthal (0027-03) 03/16/2006
        By manual, or
        By CD-ROM, or
        Web-based
        Exit the TCEQ (Representative)
        0028 JMM Management Group, LLC
        2496 Technology Dr
        Elgin, IL 60124
        847-888-0276
        Jon M Marinas (0028-01) 01/21/2003
        By CD-ROM, or
        Web-based
        Exit the TCEQ (Representative)
        0029 American Training Center, Inc., formally: Jusair Group Inc/Jusair Consultants
        PO Box 121201
        Arlington, TX 76012
        817-344-8256
        Ibrahim Abdulrazzaq (0029-01) 07/24/2003
        Paper-based or
        Technology-based
        (Representative)
        0030 Buell Consulting Co
        PO Box 23002
        Beaumont, TX 77720
        409-540-7020
        Jeffrey A Buell (0030-01) 10/07/2003
        4 hrs (Representative)
        8 hrs (Trainer)
        07/23/2004
        0031 B&J Equipment
        PO Box 6004
        Longview, TX 75608
        903-806-2182
        Jeffrey A Buell (0031-01) 9/26/2006
        4 hrs (Representative)
        8 hrs (Trainer)
        0032 USS Stage II Maintenance & Service
        26917 Crowns Cove Ln
        Kingwood, TX 77339
        832-814-6665
        M. Sadiq Durrani (0032-01) 7/15/2008
        4 hrs (Representative)
        8 hrs (trainer)
        02/26/2013
        0033 Lacey Templin
        14074 Overlook Ln
        Forney, TX 75126
        214-649-9337
        Lacey Templin (0033-01) 1/15/2009
        4 hrs (Representative)
        8 hrs (Trainer)
        2019 Harper Maintenance Service
        2809 Singleton St
        Rowlett, TX 75088
        972-475-1803
        Kevin Pyron(2019-01) 12/18/2007
        4 hrs (Representative)
        2021 Texas Stage II
        2210 Pech Road
        Houston, TX 77373
        713-463-5412
        Tommy McNicholas(2021-01) 2/19/2010
        4 hrs (Representative)
        2025 STR Stage II Testing LLC
        PO Box 681656
        Houston, TX 78268
        713-296-9745
        Mansoor A Bukhari(2025-01) 9/17/2012
        4 hrs (Representative)

        Return to top

        Underground Storage Tank Contractors and On-Site Supervisors

        Information about licensing of individuals involved in the installation or maintenance of underground storage tanks.

        The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) promulgated new and revised rules on September 27, 2007 which will affect many licensing programs.

        Please review the URL below to become acquainted with the newly adopted Chapter 30 rules for Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 30, Subchapter I: Underground Storage Tank contractors and On-Site Supervisors, Rules 30.301 - 30.319. Exit the TCEQ

        Any entity who engages in the business of underground storage tank installation, repair, or removal in Texas must be registered with the TCEQ.

        Individuals who supervise the installation, repair, or removal of an underground storage tank must be licensed by the TCEQ. 

        UST Licensing Program

        The UST Program staff can answer routine operator inquiries. Below is the phone number and other means for contacting the program:

        • Location - The first floor in building D of the TCEQ complex located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.
        • Office Hours - 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday (excluding Exit the TCEQ holidays).
        • Phone number - 512/239-6133
          • Press #1 for New Applications or Exams
          • Press #2 for Renewals
        • Fax - 512/239-6272
        • Email address - licenses@tceq.texas.gov
        • Mailing Address - TCEQ, UST Program, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-3087

        Return to top  

        UST Licensees

        Return to top  

        What work does each license or registration level do?

        UST Contractors are authorized to install, repair, or remove underground storage tank systems.

        On-site Supervisor -- License A is authorized to install and repair underground storage tank systems.

        On-site Supervisor -- License B is authorized to remove underground storage tank systems.

        On-site Supervisor -- License A+B is authorized to install, repair, or remove underground storage tanks systems.

        Return to top 

        When is a license or registration not required?

        In some instances, you are not subject to training and licensing requirements. (Please note that the links in the list below point off the TCEQ Web site. Exit the TCEQ):

        • A license is not required for an on-site supervisor who installs, repairs, or removes underground storage tank (UST) systems when such systems are completely exempt from regulation under 30 TAC §334.3(a) Exit the TCEQ or completely excluded from regulation under 30 TAC §334.4(a) Exit the TCEQ. An on-site supervisor who installs, repairs, or removes UST systems regulated under Chapter 213 of this title (relating to Edwards Aquifer) is not exempt from the licensing requirements.
        • A license is not required for an individual who helps install, repair or remove UST systems and is under the direct on-site supervision of a licensed on-site supervisor.
        • A registration is not required for a person who installs, repairs or removes UST systems that are completely exempt from regulation under 30 TAC §334.3(a) Exit the TCEQ, or completely excluded from regulation under 30 TAC §334.4(a) Exit the TCEQ. A person who installs, repairs or removes UST systems regulated under Chapter 213 of this title is not exempt from the contractor registration requirements of this subchapter.

        Return to top  

        I am not licensed or registered; what do I do?

        Return to top 

        UST Contractor

        To qualify for an UST Contractor registration, you must:

        • submit an application for approval;
        • provide proof of commercial liability insurance designating the commission as the certificate holder in an amount of not less than $1,000,000 and of a type approved by the executive director;
        • provide a financial statement (balance sheet) prepared in conformity with accounting principles as defined by the American Institute of Public Accountants, documenting an applicant's current net worth of not less than $25,000; or a letter from a certified public accountant who is not employed by the applicant or does not receive payment from the applicant on a regular basis verifying that the applicant's current net worth is not less than $25,000;
        • provide documentation of at least one year of quality underground storage tank construction, public underground utility work or engineered construction from at least three clients; and
        • pay an application fee. 

        On-site Supervisor License A

        To become licensed as a On-site Supervisor License A, you must:

        • be at least 18 years old,
        • complete 28 hours of training and education courses in the installation, and repair of USTs,
        • have at least two years of verified experience in the form of four sworn statements, see 30 TAC 30.310(a)(4) Exit the TCEQ,
        • submit a completed application for approval at least three weeks before taking the exam,
        • pay an application fee, and
        • pass the On-site Supervisor License A exam. 

        To register for an initial training course, contact an approved training provider.

        Return to not licensed information 

        On-site Supervisor License B

        To become licensed as a On-site Supervisor License B, you must:

        • be at least 18 years old,
        • complete 12 hours of training and education courses in the removal of USTs,
        • have at least two years of verified experience in the form of four sworn statements, see 30 TAC 30.310(a)(4) Exit the TCEQ,
        • submit a completed application for approval at least three weeks before taking the exam,
        • pay an application fee, and
        • pass the On-site Supervisor License B exam. 

        To register for an initial training course, contact an approved training provider.

        Return to not licensed information 

        On-site Supervisor License A & B combination

        To qualify for an On-site Supervisor License A and B combination license, you must:

        • be at least 18 years old,
        • complete 40 hours of training and education courses in the installation, repair, and removal of USTs,
        • have at least two years of verified experience in the form of four sworn statements, see 30 TAC 30.310(a)(4) Exit the TCEQ,
        • submit a completed application for approval at least three weeks before taking the exam,
        • pay an application fee, and
        • pass the On-site Supervisor License A and B exams. 

        To register for an initial training course, contact an approved training provider.

        Return to not licensed information 

        How do I obtain a license or registration?

        All licenses or registrations issued by the TCEQ are valid for two years (three years effective 01/01/2008).

        To obtain this license level ...You will need this much experience ...With this much classroom training ...Pass an exam, scoring at least a ...And pay an application fee of ...
        Underground Storage Tank Contractor1
        1 year
        None
        N/A
        $232.00
        UST On-site Supervisor License A
        2 years
        28 hours
        70
        $111.00
        UST On-site Supervisor License B
        2 years
        12 hours
        70
        $111.00
        UST On-Site Supervisor License A+B Combination
        2 years
        40 hours
        70
        $111.00
        1 Registered Underground Storage Tank Contractors are required to submit a financial statement indicating a minimum net worth of $25,000 and a certificate of insurance for $1,000,000 minimum general liability coverage.

         Applications for a license must be approved before taking a license exam.

        Training courses are provided by approved training providers.

        Examinations are offered in Austin at 12100 Park 35 Circle, once each month.

        Return to top 

        How do I upgrade my On-site Supervisor License A or License B license?

        To qualify for an On-site Supervisor License A and B combination, you must:

        • be at least 18 years old,
        • complete 40 hours of training and education courses in the installation, repair, and removal of USTs,
        • have at least two years of verified experience:
        • in the form of four sworn statements, see 30 TAC 30.310(a)(4)Exit the TCEQ.
        • submit a completed application for approval at least three weeks before taking the exam,
        • pay an application fee, and
        • pass the On-site Supervisor License A and B exams.

        Return to top 

        How soon do I need to renew?

        All new licenses and registrations (first time issued) expire in three years (two years if issued before 01/01/2008) from the date they were first issued, and will need to be renewed every three years in order to retain your license or registration number.

        If you do not renew your license on time, you will need to re-take the exam and you will be assigned a new license number.

        Return to top 

        How do I renew?

        Return to top 

        Renewal Summary

        You will need to address issues of compliance before you renew.

        To maintain this license level ...You need this much continuing education ...Provide proof of ...And you must pay an application fee of ...
        Contractor Registration
        None
        Net worth of $25,000 and $1,000,000 general liability insurance will be maintained
        $232.00
        On-Site Supervisor Licenses
        8 hours per license held
        N/A
        $111.00 

        Check the status of your license or registration.

        Obtain a list of approved training providers.

        Return to renewal information 

        Obtaining a renewal notification or application

        A renewal notification will be mailed to you at the last known address we have on file for you at least 60 days before your license or registration expires. This notification will give you instructions for renewing your license or registration using the Texas Online renewal process.

        If you are unable to renew online, please contact our office immediately to receive a printed renewal application. You can contact the TCEQ Licensing Section at licenses@tceq.texas.gov or by phone at 512/239-6133. Please be sure to include your full name and license number with your request. Remember, it is your responsibility to submit a renewal application in a timely manner.

        Follow the directions which accompany the application, and return it with the requested materials before your license or registration expires.

        Return to renewal information 

        Lost applications

        If you've lost your renewal notification or application or did not receive one, call 512/239-6133 or e-mail licenses@tceq.texas.gov before your license or registration expires to obtain a new application.

        Return to renewal information 

        Issues of Compliance

        You must be in compliance in regard to payment of guaranteed student loans, child support payments, and TCEQ fees or penalties in addition to the requirements summarized in the table above.

        If you are currently under enforcement, you are encouraged to resolve these issues before you renew to avoid delays in the renewal of your license.

        Return to renewal information 

        Late Renewal

        Return to renewal information 

        If your license has been expired for less than 30 days:

        If you completed your continuing education before your license expired, you can renew using the Texas Online renewal process. You must show proof that you have completed the required number of hours of training before your license expired.

        We will also review whether you are delinquent in the paying student loans, and penalties owed to the TCEQ.

        If you DID NOT complete your continuing education your license expired, you will need to follow the same procedures as if your license was expired for more than 30 days, and you will be assigned a new license number.

        Return to Late Renewal 

        If your registration has been expired for less than 30 days:

        If you lost or did not receive a renewal application, click here.

        You must submit your renewal application with the appropriate fee within 30 days after your registration expired:

        • Certify the company will maintain the required net worth of at least $25,000 and the $1,000,000 general liability insurance policy throughout the period the company holds the certificate of registration.
        • Sign and date the application.
        • Pay the renewal application fee.

        Return to Late Renewal 

        If your license has been expired for more than 30 days:

        Your old license number cannot be renewed. You will need to submit a new application for approval at least three weeks before taking the exam, and you will be assigned a new license number.

        To obtain an application and register for an exam, contact the UST Licensing Program at 512/239-6133 or by email at licenses@tceq.texas.gov.

        Return to Late Renewal 

        If your registration has been expired for more than 30 days:

        Your old registration number cannot be renewed. You will need to submit an new application for approval, and you will be assigned a new registration number.

        Return to Late Renewal 

        What if I change my address or phone number?

        You can notify us of changes in your address or phone number, in writing, by:

        • Mail - TCEQ, MC-178, PO Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087,
        • Fax - 512/239-0533, or
        • E-mail - licenses@tceq.texas.gov.

        Return to top 

        How do I replace a lost license or registration?

        To replace your lost license, you can contact the licensing section at (512) 239-6133 or download the request form. The replacement license is $20.00. Be certain to specify if you are ordering a wall certificate or pocket card (license card).

        Return to top 

        What laws and rules govern my license or registration?

        The license requirements are listed in 30 TAC 334 Subchapter I Exit the TCEQ and Chapter 37 Exit the TCEQ of the Texas Water Code.

        The qualifications for each license level vary and can be found in more detail in the rules 30 TAC Chapter 30 Subchapters A & I Exit the TCEQ.

        The enforcement provisions of this program can be found in Texas Water Code, Chapter 7 Exit the TCEQ.

        Return to top 

        UST Registered Contractors/Licensed On-Site Supervisors General Complaint Form (PDF)

        Download PDF: 10532.pdf (58k)

        For more information about downloading, viewing, and printing PDF files view the PDF Help Page.

        Return to top

        Wastewater Operators: What Applicants for Licensing Need to Know

        Preparing for the licensing exams for wastewater treatment plant and collection system operators.

        This page will assist you in preparing for your licensing exam and your daily job activities. Select the class and type of license you are applying for in the list below to find the information you should know before taking the licensing exam.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class D Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of CategoryThe Class D Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know the basic laws and rules that grant authority to the TCEQ to protect waters of the state by issuing waste discharge permits and licensing wastewater operators.
        Permits Requirements of the TCEQ’s system for waste discharge permits and self-reporting. Know the basic provisions of a typical domestic waste discharge permit. Know the basic permit definitions of wastewater flow and quality parameters.
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Be aware that there are design criteria for sewerage systems in Texas which set minimum standards for design and construction of wastewater collection, pumping, treatment, and disposal systems.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment personnel. Recognize hazards for wastewater collection and treatment personnel, and be able to work safely without constant supervision.
        Laboratory Wastewater monitoring, sampling, testing, analysis, instrumentation, equipment and techniques. Know general purpose and function of adequate laboratory testing for proper control of wastewater treatment processes.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied in the wastewater utility discipline. Recognize need for management skills in the wastewater collection and treatment utility. Also recognize appropriate management decisions when presented in typical work situations.
        General Knowledge General characteristics of wastewater and its effects on public health and the environment. Know definition, source, estimated quantity, basic physical and chemical composition, reasons for collection and treatment, and basic effects of untreated or partially treated effluents on receiving streams.
        Collection Wastewater collection system facility components, materials of construction, construction practices, operation and maintenance. Know general purpose and function of various collection system components and appurtenances. Recognize attendant safety hazards.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps and motors, pumping installations, operation and maintenance. Know the purpose and function of various types of wastewater pumps and pumping installations. Recognize attendant safety hazards.
        Preliminary Treatment Wastewater preliminary treatment facilities, operation and maintenance. Know general purpose and function of various preliminary treatment facilities, such as bar screens, comminutors, and grit removal methods and equipment. Recognize attendant safety hazards.
        Primary Treatment Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of primary treatment processes and equipment. (Includes Imhoff tanks.) Know general purpose and function of various primary treatment facilities, including Imhoff tanks.
        Ponds Characteristics, biology, operation and maintenance of various types of wastewater lagoons and treatment ponds. Know general purpose and function of various types of wastewater treatment ponds and lagoons.
        Trickling Filters Characteristics, operation and maintenance of various types of trickling filters and RBC units. Know basic components, general purpose, and function of trickling filters and RBC units.
        Activated Sludge Characteristics, operation and maintenance of various modes of activated sludge treatment processes. Know general features (flow patterns and comparative detention times) of various modes of activated sludge wastewater treatment processes.
        Process Control Process control of various modes of wastewater treatment. Be familiar with sampling and testing techniques utilized to control various modes of wastewater treatment. Be aware of the TCEQ’s recommended minimum process-control tests for domestic wastewater treatment facilities.
        Disinfection Characteristics of chlorination and dechlorination processes and equipment, and alternative methods of disinfection. Know the purpose, various uses, hazards, and important effects of chlorine in wastewater treatment. Be aware of reasons and need for dechlorination of treated wastewater effluents. Know pros and cons of various other methods of wastewater disinfection.
        Sludge Digestion Characteristics, operation and maintenance of aerobic and anaerobic sludge-digestion processes. Know the general purpose and function of both aerobic and anaerobic digestion. Be aware of safety hazards.
        Biosolids Disposal Methods of thickening, dewatering, and stabilization of wastewater sludges. Characteristics of digested biosolids, and methods of disposal or alternative use. Sampling and analysis requirements and procedures for sludges, biosolids, and soil samples. Know the general purpose and function of various processes for wastewater sludge treatment and disposal of biosolids.
        Effluent Disposal Characteristics of treated wastewater effluents from secondary processes, methods of disposal or reuse, sampling and testing requirements and procedures for disposal by irrigation or to surface waters of the state. Includes an introduction to advanced wastewater treatment (tertiary treatment) of secondary effluents. Know the general purpose and function of various alternative methods of treated effluent disposal or reuse.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic math calculations related to wastewater flow, collection, pumping, and treatment. Exhibit ability to solve one- or two-step geometry and algebraic problems involving area, volume, flow rate, dosage rate, etc. as related to wastewater flow, collection, and treatment situations.


        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class C Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of CategoryIn Addition to Thorough Knowledge of All Need-to-Know Criteria for Lower Levels,
        the Class C Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know who must be a licensed wastewater treatment plant operator, and the minimum requirements for licensing at various levels.
        Permits Requirements of the TCEQ’s system for waste discharge permits and self-reporting. Know basic wastewater flow and quality parameters which are measured, recorded, and reported through the TCEQ Self-reporting system. Know authority of TCEQ personnel to visit or inspect permittees’ facilities.
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Know design criteria relative to minimum detention times in various wastewater treatment units and systems.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment personnel. Know safe procedures for self and other employees engaged in wastewater treatment.
        Laboratory Wastewater monitoring, sampling, testing, analysis, instrumentation, equipment and techniques. Know proper procedures for collection and preservation of samples of treatment process for laboratory analysis. Be generally familiar with methods of analysis.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied in the wastewater utility discipline. Recognize duties and responsibilities of various levels of management team.
        General Knowledge General characteristics of wastewater and its effects on public health and the environment. Know possible effects on environment and public health of inadequate treatment of wastewater.
        Collection Wastewater collection system facility components, materials of construction, construction practices, operation and maintenance. Recognize influence of collection system operation and maintenance on quantity and quality of raw wastewater received at the treatment plant.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps and motors, pumping installations, operation and maintenance. Know how various pumps operate, and basic maintenance procedures for both pumps and motors. Recognize how pumps and pumping installations affect treatment plant operation.
        Preliminary Treatment Wastewater preliminary treatment facilities, operation and maintenance. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of various preliminary treatment equipment and processes.
        Primary Treatment Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of primary treatment processes and equipment. (Includes Imhoff tanks.) Know operational characteristics and maintenance of various primary treatment facilities.
        Ponds Characteristics, biology, operation, and maintenance of various types of wastewater lagoons and treatment ponds. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of various types of wastewater treatment ponds and lagoons.
        Trickling Filters Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of various types of trickling filters and RBC units. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of trickling filters and RBC units.
        Activated Sludge Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of various modes of activated sludge treatment processes. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of various modes of activated sludge wastewater treatment processes.
        Process Control Process control of various modes of wastewater treatment. Know recommended monitoring, sampling, and testing procedures for small (1.0–5.0 MGD) wastewater treatment facilities, and recognize applications of various laboratory tests to optimize solids monitoring and control.
        Disinfection Characteristics of chlorination and dechlorination processes and equipment, and alternative methods of disinfection. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of various chlorination systems including basic safety practices. Know interrelationship between chlorine demand, dosage, and residual.
        Sludge Digestion Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of aerobic and anaerobic sludge-digestion processes. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of both aerobic and anaerobic sludge-digestion processes including basic safety practices.
        Biosolids Disposal Methods of thickening, dewatering, and stabilization of wastewater sludges. Characteristics of digested biosolids and methods of disposal or alternative use. Sampling and analysis requirements and procedures for sludges, biosolids, and soil samples. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of sludge conditioning and dewatering equipment. Know basic procedures and alternative methods of disposal or reuse of stable biosolids.
        Effluent Disposal Characteristics of treated wastewater effluents from secondary processes, methods of disposal or reuse, sampling and testing requirements and procedures for disposal by irrigation or to surface waters of the state. Includes an introduction to advanced wastewater treatment (tertiary treatment) of secondary effluents. Know operational characteristics and maintenance of various treated effluent disposal and/or reuse facilities.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic math calculations related to wastewater flow, collection, pumping, and treatment. Exhibit ability to solve two- or three-step geometric and algebraic problems involving area, volume, flow rate, dosage rate, etc. as related to wastewater flow, collection, and treatment situations.


        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class B Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of CategoryIn Addition to Thorough Knowledge of All Need-to-Know Criteria for Lower Levels,
        the Class B Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ’s authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know the TCEQ categorization system for domestic wastewater treatment facilities in Texas, and class of licensed operator required at each category facility. Know authority of TCEQ to revoke a license or otherwise censure operators for violations of TCEQ rules.
        Permits Requirements of the TCEQ’s system for waste discharge permits and self-reporting. Be able to determine violation of specific waste discharge permit limits from wastewater flow and quality data records.
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Know design criteria relating to minimum sizes of wastewater collection system components, materials of construction, construction practices, flow velocities, etc.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment personnel. Know safe procedures for self and other employees engaged in wastewater collection and treatment.
        Laboratory Wastewater monitoring, sampling, testing, analysis, instrumentation, equipment and techniques. Know steps in performing basic laboratory analyses. Be able to interpret results of various laboratory tests, and make proper adjustments to treatment processes.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied in the wastewater utility discipline. Be able to implement management techniques under direction of a city manager or director of public works.
        General Knowledge General characteristics of wastewater and its effects on public health and the environment. Know effects of infiltration and inflow and industrial wastes on various collection and treatment processes. Recognize the need for adequate pretreatment of industrial wastes to reduce costs and protect domestic wastewater collection and treatment systems.
        Collection Wastewater collection system facility components, materials of construction, construction practices, operation, and maintenance. Know materials of construction, construction practices, and operation and maintenance procedures for collection systems.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps and motors, pumping installations, operation and maintenance. Know how various pumping installations operate. Know interrelationship of discharge vs. capacity for centrifugal pumps.
        Preliminary Treatment Wastewater preliminary treatment facilities, operation and maintenance. Recognize evidence of inadequate preliminary treatment processes, and know methods of remediation.
        Primary Treatment Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of primary treatment processes and equipment. (Includes Imhoff tanks.) Recognize operational malfunctions, understand physical and biological reasons for malfunctions, and know methods of remediation.
        Ponds Characteristics, biology, operation and maintenance of various types of wastewater lagoons and treatment ponds. Recognize operational malfunctions, understand physical and biological reasons for malfunctions, and know methods of remediation.
        Trickling Filters Characteristics, operation and maintenance of various types of trickling filters and RBC units. Recognize operational malfunctions, understand physical and biological reasons for malfunctions, and know methods of remediation.
        Activated Sludge Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of various modes of activated sludge treatment processes. Recognize operational malfunctions, understand physical and biological reasons for malfunctions, and know methods of remediation.
        Process Control Process control of various modes of wastewater treatment. Know recommended minimum process control tests for medium-sized (5.0–10.0 MGD) wastewater treatment facilities. Exhibit ability to select appropriate operational data and make use of various techniques of solids control to optimize the various treatment processes.
        Disinfection Characteristics of chlorination and dechlorination processes and equipment, and alternative methods of disinfection. Exhibit ability to utilize interrelationship between chlorine demand, dosage, and residual to optimize chlorine usage within the wastewater treatment system.
        Sludge Digestion Characteristics, operation and maintenance of aerobic and anaerobic sludge digestion processes. Know how to diagnose problems of sludge-digestion processes, and propose corrective actions.
        Biosolids Disposal Methods of thickening, dewatering, and stabilization of wastewater sludges. Characteristics of digested biosolids, and methods of disposal or alternative use. Sampling and analysis requirements and procedures for sludges, biosolids, and soil samples. Know how to diagnose problems of sludge conditioning and dewatering equipment and propose corrective actions. Know various alternative methods of disposal or reuse of biosolids.
        Effluent Disposal Characteristics of treated wastewater effluents from secondary processes, methods of disposal or reuse, sampling and testing requirements and procedures for disposal by irrigation or to surface waters of the state. Includes an introduction to advanced wastewater treatment (tertiary treatment) of secondary effluents. Know how to diagnose problems with various effluent disposal and/or reuse systems. Know sampling and testing requirements soils and receiving streams used for effluent disposal.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic math calculations related to wastewater flow, collection, pumping, and treatment. Exhibit ability to solve geometric or algebraic problems with three or more steps involving area, volume, flow rate, dosage rate, etc. as related to wastewater collection and treatment systems.


        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class A Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of CategoryIn Addition to Thorough Knowledge of All Need-to-Know Criteria for Lower Levels,
        the Class A Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know the authority of TCEQ to enforce its rules, and assess monetary penalties on permittees and operators for violations of Texas Water Code.
        Permits Requirements of the TCEQ’s system for waste discharge permits and self-reporting. Know more detailed provisions of domestic waste discharge permits such as the “75-90 Rule.”
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Know more complex Design Criteria Requirements relating to wastewater collection, pumping, and treatment.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment personnel. Be able to develop safety training programs for wastewater collection and treatment personnel.
        Laboratory Wastewater monitoring, sampling, testing, analysis, instrumentation, equipment and techniques. Know limitations of various laboratory analyses, and possible distortion of laboratory results by faulty sampling techniques, faulty testing procedures, stale reagents, etc.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied in the wastewater utility discipline. Know management techniques, and be prepared to serve in position of upper management in a city or other utility.
        General Knowledge General characteristics of wastewater and its effects on public health and the environment. Know methods of reducing infiltration and inflow. Be able to devise and implement industrial pretreatment plans.
        Collection Wastewater collection system facility components, materials of construction, construction practices, operation, and maintenance. Understand basic concepts of gravity- and pressure-flow design. Be able to use various graphs, nomographs, and charts that predict gravity- and pressure-flow phenomena in circular conduits.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps and motors, pumping installations, operation and maintenance. Be able to use centrifugal pump curves in combination with system head curves to calculate pump discharge capacity for both single- and multiple-pump installations.
        Preliminary Treatment Wastewater preliminary treatment facilities, operation, and maintenance. Diagnose operational problems, and recommend solutions by modification of treatment regime or facilities.
        Primary Treatment Characteristics, operation, and maintenance of primary treatment processes and equipment. (Includes Imhoff tanks.) Diagnose operational problems, and recommend solutions by modification of treatment regime or facilities.
        Ponds Characteristics, biology, operation and maintenance of various types of wastewater lagoons and treatment ponds. Diagnose operational problems, and recommend solutions by modification of treatment regime or facilities.
        Trickling Filters Characteristics, operation and maintenance of various types of trickling filters and RBC units. Diagnose operational problems, and recommend solutions by modification of treatment regime or facilities.
        Activated Sludge Characteristics, operation and maintenance of various modes of activated sludge treatment processes. Diagnose operational problems, and recommend solutions by modification of treatment regime or facilities.
        Process Control Process control of various modes of wastewater treatment. Know recommended minimum operational control tests for large (> 10 MGD) wastewater treatment facilities. Know operational capabilities to prepare various treatment processes to absorb either hydraulic or organic “shock loads” through proper management of biomass.
        Disinfection Characteristics of chlorination and dechlorination processes and equipment, and alternative methods of disinfection. Know details of various alternative methods of disinfection and dechlorination.
        Sludge Digestion Characteristics, operation and maintenance of aerobic and anaerobic sludge-digestion processes. Know relative merits of both aerobic and anaerobic digestion processes and equipment.
        Biosolids Disposal Methods of thickening, dewatering, and stabilization of wastewater sludges. Characteristics of digested biosolids, and methods of disposal or alternative use. Sampling and analysis requirements and procedures for sludges, biosolids, and soil samples. Know relative merits of various sludge treatment and disposal methods and equipment. Know various alternative methods of disposal or reuse of biosolids.
        Effluent Disposal Characteristics of treated wastewater effluents from secondary processes, methods of disposal or reuse, sampling and testing requirements and procedures for disposal by irrigation or to surface waters of the state. Includes an introduction to advanced wastewater treatment (tertiary treatment) of secondary effluents. Know relative merits of various treated effluent disposal or reuse methods and equipment. Know sampling and testing requirements for both soils and receiving stream analysis.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic math calculations related to wastewater flow, collection, pumping, and treatment. Exhibit ability to solve both geometric and algebraic problems with extraneous data in problem statement in applications to wastewater flow, pumping, and treatment situations.


        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class III Wastewater Collection System Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of CategoryIn Addition to Thorough Knowledge of All Need-to-Know Criteria for Lower Levels,
        the Class III Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know TCEQ Rules regarding categorization of wastewater collection and treatment systems, who must be licensed, and staffing requirements for various categories of collection and treatment systems.
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Know alternative materials and construction methods which must be used when minimum clearances cannot be maintained between potable water and wastewater lines. Know minimum and recommended flow velocities for wastewater collection systems.
        Wastewater Characteristics Source, volume, physical and chemical characteristics of domestic wastewater. Know how to estimate wastewater volumes for both dry-weather and wet-weather flows.
        Wastewater Treatment Identification and general function of various domestic wastewater treatment facilities. Know methods, facilities, and procedures used to control quantity and quality of wastewater at the wastewater treatment facility.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment system personnel. Be able to design and conduct safety training programs for personnel engaged in maintenance and/or operation of wastewater collection, pumping, and treatment systems.
        Traffic Control Devices Identification, function and proper use of various traffic control devices. Know preparation of safe traffic control plans for job sites including proper setup procedures and recommended spacing of traffic-control devices.
        Collection System Facilities Identification and function of various wastewater collection system facility components. Know purpose and function of more advanced wastewater collection components such as inverted siphons, interceptor tunnels, force mains, flow equalization controls, and SCADA systems.
        System Construction Materials of construction, and construction, repair, and rehabilitation practices for wastewater collection system facility components. Be able to budget and/or estimate materials, equipment, and personnel needed for construction, repair, and rehabilitation of wastewater collection system facilities.
        System Inspection Inspection equipment and practices for both new and existing wastewater collection system facility components. Be able to budget and/or estimate materials, equipment and personnel needed to inspect both existing and new collection system facilities.
        System Operation Operation and maintenance equipment and practices for wastewater collection system facilities. Be able to budget and/or estimate various equipment, chemicals and procedures to determine most appropriate method of cleaning and maintenance of collection system facilities.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps, motors, and pumping installations. Be able to use various pump curves, flow nomographs, head-loss tables and graphs to determine expected flow from an individual pump or multiple pumps in series or parallel.
        Equipment Maintenance Maintenance of wastewater collection system equipment including pumps, motors, construction, inspection, and cleaning equipment. Be able to design and implement preventive-maintenance programs.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied to the wastewater utility discipline. Be able to implement management techniques under direction of a city manager or director of public works.
        General Information General effects of untreated or partially treated wastewater on human health, safety and the environment. Be able to design and conduct long-term stream monitoring surveys to determine effects of WWTP effluent discharge.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic problems relating to wastewater flow, transport, pumping, system construction, operation and maintenance. Be able to apply various formulas and conversion factors to the solution of two or more step sample math problems relating to wastewater system construction and operation.


        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class II Wastewater Collection System Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of CategoryIn Addition to Thorough Knowledge of All Need-to-Know Criteria for Lower Levels,
        the Class II Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know TCEQ Rules regarding categorization of wastewater collection systems, who must be licensed, and staffing requirements for various categories of collection systems.
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Know the minimum clearances that should be maintained between potable water and wastewater lines. Know recommended minimum pipe sizes and pressure classifications of materials of construction.
        Wastewater Characteristics Source, volume, physical and chemical characteristics of domestic wastewater. Know causes of septic wastewater and potential hazards to both personnel and facilities. Know methods to prevent or correct septic conditions in collection system when they occur.
        Wastewater Treatment Identification and general function of various domestic wastewater treatment facilities. Know how both the quantity and quality of wastewater can effect treatment processes at the wastewater treatment facility.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment system personnel. Be able to conduct safety training programs for personnel engaged in maintenance and/or operation of wastewater collection and pumping systems.
        Traffic Control Devices Identification, function and proper use of various traffic-control devices. Interpret and implement traffic control plans for job sites including proper setup procedures and recommended spacing of traffic control devices.
        Collection System Facilities Identification and function of various wastewater collection system facility components. Know purpose and function of more advanced wastewater collection components such as inverted siphons, interceptor tunnels, force mains, and flow-equalization controls.
        System Construction Materials of construction, and construction, repair and rehabilitation practices for wastewater collection system facility components. Be able to compare materials of construction, different construction equipment and methods to determine the most appropriate method of construction, repair, and rehabilitation of wastewater collection system facilities.
        System Inspection Inspection equipment and practices for both new and existing wastewater collection system facility components. Be able to compare various methods and equipment, and select the most appropriate method to inspect both existing and new collection system facilities.
        System Operation Operation and maintenance equipment and practices for wastewater collection system facilities. Be able to compare various kinds of equipment, chemicals, and procedures to determine the most appropriate method of cleaning and maintenance of collection system facilities.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps, motors, and pumping installations. Be able to use various pump curves, flow nomographs, head-loss tables and graphs to determine expected flow from an individual pump.
        Equipment Maintenance Maintenance of wastewater collection system equipment, including pumps, motors, construction, inspection, and cleaning equipment. Be able to diagnose causes of various maintenance problems and recommend corrective actions.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied to the wastewater utility discipline. Recognize duties and responsibilities of various members of management team.
        General Information General effects of untreated or partially treated wastewater on human health, safety, and the environment. Know effects of untreated or partially treated wastewater discharges on public health and the environment.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic problems relating to wastewater flow, transport, pumping, system construction, operation, and maintenance. Be able to apply various formulas and conversion factors to the solution of sample math problems with two or more steps relating to wastewater system construction and operation.


        Return to top.

        Need-to-Know Criteria for Class I Wastewater Collection System Operators

        Subject CategoryScope of Categorythe Class I Operator Should:
        Statutes and Rules Statutes and rules relating to the TCEQ authority to control wastewater discharges to the waters of the state. Know the basic laws and rules that grant authority to the TCEQ to protect waters of the state by issuing waste discharge permits and licensing wastewater operators.
        Design Criteria TCEQ “Design Criteria for Sewerage Systems” (30 TAC Chapter 217) Exit the TCEQ Be aware that there are criteria for sewerage systems in Texas which set minimum standards for design and construction of wastewater collection, pumping, treatment, and disposal systems.
        Wastewater Characteristics Source, volume, physical and chemical characteristics of domestic wastewater. Know definition, sources, estimated quantity, physical and chemical characteristics of wastewater.
        Wastewater Treatment Identification and general function of various domestic wastewater treatment facilities. Know basic reasons for collection and treatment of wastewater. Know basic principles of various wastewater treatment processes such as ponds, trickling filters, and activated sludge systems.
        Safety Safety practices for wastewater collection and treatment system personnel. Recognize physical, chemical and biological hazards for personnel engaged in maintenance and/or operation of wastewater collection and pumping systems. Know safe procedures for collection and maintenance system personnel.
        Traffic Control Devices Identification, function, and proper use of various traffic-control devices. Know various traffic control devices and their correct use in controlling both pedestrian and vehicular traffic around construction sites.
        Collection System Facilities Identification and function of various wastewater collection system facility components. Know purpose and function of various components of typical gravity wastewater collection system.
        System Construction Materials of construction, and construction, repair and rehabilitation practices for wastewater collection system facility components. Know materials of construction, equipment used, and standard practices utilized during construction, repair, and rehabilitation of wastewater collection system facility components.
        System Inspection Inspection equipment and practices for both new and existing wastewater collection system facility components. Know various methods and equipment used to inspect both existing and new collection system facilities.
        System Operation Operation and maintenance equipment and practices for wastewater collection system facilities. Know various equipment, chemicals, and procedures used during cleaning and maintenance of collection system components.
        Pumping Wastewater pumps, motors, and pumping installations. Know characteristics of various wastewater pumps and pumping installations including lift stations.
        Equipment Maintenance Maintenance of wastewater collection system equipment including pumps, motors, construction, inspection, and cleaning equipment. Know tools, lubricants, techniques, and procedures used for maintenance and repair of wastewater collection equipment.
        Management Management theory and techniques as applied to the wastewater utility discipline. Recognize need for management skills in the wastewater utility field. Recognize appropriate management decisions when presented in typical work situations.
        General Information General effects of untreated or partially treated wastewater on human health, safety and the environment. Know effects of untreated or partially treated wastewater discharges on public health and the environment.
        Math Problems Geometric and algebraic problems relating to wastewater flow, transport, pumping, system construction, operation and maintenance. Be able to apply various formulas and conversion factors to the solution of one or two step sample math problems relating to wastewater system construction and operation.

        Wastewater-Operator Licensing: Required Experience

        The TCEQ issues licenses for operators of wastewater-treatment plants and wastewater-collection systems. This page explains the experience that is required.

        Applications

        We review all applications as consistently and fairly as possible based on the information in your application. It is your responsibility to ensure you meet the experience and educational requirements before taking the test for a license. Complete each application in full, with correct dates of employment and complete, factual descriptions of duties and responsibilities. If you’ve had changes in duties, promotions, or breaks in employment, please note them clearly on your application.

        Wastewater-Treatment-Plant Experience (Class A, B, C, D)

        30 TAC Subchapter J Exit the TCEQ requires that half the total required experience for Class A, B, and C licensing must be in actual hands-on operation or maintenance of domestic (biological) wastewater-treatment facilities, such as:

        • wastewater-plant operator, superintendent, or foreman;
        • wastewater-plant maintenance mechanic or instrument technician, or
        • laboratory analyst or technician (provided that the analyst works at a lab primarily doing analyses for water utilities, so that the analyst consults daily with wastewater-operations personnel).

        Related experience may be used to fulfill the remainder of the experience requirement at a rate of 50 percent. For example, one year of collection-system experience will count for six months toward a treatment-plant license. Acceptable related experience may include duties such as:

        • installation, maintenance, or repair of wastewater collection systems
        • design or construction of wastewater treatment plants and collection systems
        • inspection and sampling of industrial wastewater treatment systems by municipal employees as part of their municipal pretreatment program
        • laboratory analysis of wastewater samples by contract or off-site laboratory personnel

        No experience is required for Class D licensing. (Renewability of Class D licenses)

        Return to top

        Wastewater-Collection-System Experience (Class I, II, III)

        • Components on residential property normally installed or repaired by a plumber are not considered to be part of a wastewater-collection system and will not count as experience for any level of wastewater-collection licensing.
        • Experience must be in actual wastewater-collection-system operation or maintenance duties, such as:
          • installation or maintenance of mains, laterals, trunk sewers, lift stations, and manholes
          • repair of wastewater-collection systems
        • Credit for experience not directly connected with collection-system operation or maintenance will be approved at a rate of 50 percent if the experience involves tasks that are similar to those required for the operation and maintenance of collection systems. This includes duties such as:
          • inspection and sampling of industrial wastewater treatment systems by municipal employees as part of their municipal pre-treatment program
          • design or construction of wastewater-collection systems
          • wastewater-treatment-plant operation or maintenance

        Return to top

        Industrial Wastewater Experience

        A separate industrial wastewater operator’s license is not available at this time. However, if work experience is gained operating a wastewater-treatment system at an industry with a large plant incorporating biological wastewater treatment, that experience will count towards wastewater-treatment-plant experience (for Class A, B, and C licenses). Industrial pretreatment where limited treatment is used, such as pH adjustments, will not count as experience for licensing. We may request a more detailed description of industrial experience, including volumes treated and a schematic of the treatment units, so we can accurately evaluate the applicable experience.

        Return to top

        Experience Maintaining On-Site Aerobic Treatment Units

        Experience in maintenance of on-site aerobic treatment units does not apply toward the requirements for wastewater operator licensing. A Class D license is renewable if it is a license to perform maintenance on on-site aerobic treatment units.

        Return to top

        Other Applicable Experience

        Full-time water-utility personnel who have both water and wastewater duties in approximately equal amounts will be credited with 100 percent of their time of employment as applicable toward wastewater-operator licensing. Persons whose duties primarily involve potable water distribution or treatment with occasional wastewater-collection-system or treatment-plant duties will be credited with a proportional amount of wastewater experience.

        Return to top

        For More Information

        For questions about experience qualifications, contact the Wastewater Operator Licensing Program in Austin at 512-239-0176, fax 512-239-6272, or write to us at:

        Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
        Compliance Support Division
        Wastewater Operator Licensing Program, MC 178
        P.O. Box 13087
        Austin, TX 78711-3087

        Return to top