>> Questions or Comments: siprules@tceq.texas.gov
You are here:

San Antonio: Latest Ozone Planning Activities

Latest events and activities related to the San Antonio area’s compliance with the National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for ground-level ozone.

New Proposed Bexar County 2015 Eight-Hour Ozone Nonattainment Area Federal Clean Air Act (FCAA), §179B Demonstration State Implementation Plan (SIP) Revision

On January 15, 2020, the commission approved proposal of the Bexar County 2015 Eight-Hour Ozone Nonattainment Area FCAA, §179B Demonstration SIP Revision (Non-Rule Project No. 2019-106-SIP-NR). The proposed SIP revision would demonstrate that the Bexar County marginal ozone nonattainment area would attain the 2015 eight-hour ozone NAAQS by its attainment deadline “but for” anthropogenic emissions emanating from outside the United States. 

The public comment period will open on January 17, 2020 and close on February 19, 2020. A public hearing on the proposed SIP revision will be held on February 18, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. at the Alamo Area Council of Governments Board Room, 8700 Tesoro Drive, San Antonio.

San Antonio Attains the 1997 Eight-Hour Ozone Standard

On April 2, 2008, the EPA issued final action to designate San Antonio, along with 12 other Early Action Compact areas, as attainment for the eight-hour ozone standard, as the area met all milestones of the EAC program and demonstrated attainment of the 1997 eight-hour ozone standard by December 31, 2007 (73 FR 17897Exit the TCEQ). The effective date of this final action is April 15, 2008. Additionally, the one-hour ozone standard was revoked for the San Antonio area effective April 15, 2009.

Designating the San Antonio area as attainment for the 1997 eight-hour ozone standard means that there are no further state implementation plan requirements for the 1997 eight-hour ozone standard as long as the area continues to monitor attainment for the standard.